Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Admiral 3 stars

8, rue Pellegrino Rossi, Paquis, 1201 Geneva, Switzerland

#92 of 95 hotels in Geneva

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1007 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    PROPERTY IS BIT OLD. NEED SOME MAKEOVER

    SIZE OF THE ROOM. FECILITIES WERE OK. LOCATION WAS THOUGH CLOSE TO REDLIGHT DISTRICT BUT WAS GOOD. NO PROBLEM. BREAKFAST WAS GOOD.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was alot of noise in the night time as there was an adult store just next to the hotel. It was quite hot in the night and sadly the hotel could not provide any table fans.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    A great-value centrally-located hotel, not far from the lake and good base for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning but we had a fan in the room.

    We thought the hotel was great value, especially for Geneva. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. We arrived on bicycles which were labelled up and looked after for us. The buffet breakfast, which was included in the price of our stay, was very comprehensive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street was very noisy, tráfico, people talking, bars, etc. There Easton no airconditioner, so we had to keep the window open.

    Good breakfast. Nice staff. Thank you David.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.4
    Great location, but at a cost.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late at night during a heatwave to find our air conditioning unit broken and no available alternatives to cool down our room. The unit wasn’t fixed until after 8pm the next night, only to be broken again by the morning and proving to be unreliable throughout our stay. The room was shabby and grubby around the edges. One night I came back to the room in the evening to find it half clean, cleaning products left in the room, and no sight of the cleaner. The walls between the rooms are very thin, so be prepared to know what your neighbours are up to at all hours of the day and night.

    The location is great, halfway between the lake and the train station. The included breakfast has a wide variety of options and helps keeps costs down - definitely a winner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Grat time in a nice city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbourhood was a bit questionable with working girls on the street corners.

    Clenliness of hotel was great, as was proximity to station and the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.0
    Hotel good for one night stay, pity about the area it is in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in a dodgy area. Prostitutes hanging on the corner and the hotel is situated on top of a sex shop if you care about these kind of things. We also think we saw a couple of guys dealing in a shop. It wasn't the prostitutes or sex shop that we were concerned about but the characters they and the area attract. I wouldn't of felt comfortable if i was travelling on my own. Not a very welcoming place which is a pity for the hotel. Our room was also directly under a red light. They have tried their best to cover it but it still comes through. Walls are very thin, you can hear everything. Room didn't smell very good.

    Bed was comfortable and staff are friendly. Room seemed clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some it may be too noisy but the proximity to UN, swimming, old town etc was worth it.

    Excellently located close to Bains de Pacquis (swimming in the lake) and walking distance to restaurants. We also walked to old town and the jet and the Geneva beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly and the room was a good size...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the physical proximity to other things is great, the location is next to a Sexy Shop and strip club. I believe this is an up and coming area so perhaps that type of business will go away. I didn’t experience any problems per se, but some of the noise at night was bothersome. The hotel does not support this clientele. Also—the room was hot. I should have asked for a fan. I had my windows open which helped, but also let in the street noise. Finally—the room was overall very clean, but there was mold growing in the corners in the shower.

    The staff were very friendly and the room was a good size and comfortable. The location is within walking distance to the river and main attractions in Geneva, and a very short walk to the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Location was interesting.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so very helpful and attentive! They are what makes the place.

    Location was interesting. I love being in all the action so being on this street was all part of getting to know the real Geneva.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    Try elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room being single room when I booked and paid for a double Red light district - though I was not bothered I come to Geneva to relax and not to have to see unpleasantness everyday.

    I booked a double room for two even though I travel alone. When the hotel knew this on my arrival I believed they switched and gave me a single room but put a double bed in. Hence long wait to check in. The receptionist had said earlier all the rooms facing the back were single rooms and my room faced the back. This is why I suspected a switch - its unfair and dishonest!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room smelled pretty bad on arrival: opening the windows sorted it out. Very expensive for what it is. In the heart of Geneva's red light district though this is not the fault of the hotel and it is very safe anyway.

    Perfect location close to the central station. Functional rooms. Nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Easy walk to station and lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was close to the railway station and the lake but slap bang in the middle of the red light district. This didn’t worry me at all but may concern some travellers.

    The hotel was great for a one night stay. The room was small but perfectly adequate and the bed was comfy. The window could be opened... yeah!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    All in all, it was fine .... reasonable value for Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was described as lively ... I thought that perhaps it's in the student quarter. No, it was 30 m from an obviously busy red light area. The parking is off site, but only 100m away. Although the cost was quoted as 58 CHF/24 hours, with the discount voucher provided by the hotel, the cost for 43 hrs was amore reasonable (although still dear) 42 CHF (38€)

    The breakfast was good ... lot more choice than I expected

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    convenient for Geneva main railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    located in a rather seedy district problematic room safe, attended to by hotel staff but couldn't be used with any confidence

    convenient for Geneva main railway station excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Very nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very friendly, the location was excellent and the hotel was very easy to find from the central station. It was also very close to the lake and the centre of the city. The room was very clean and I really liked the shampoo and body wash as I am usually allergic to most of the cosmetics, but didn't have problems with these ones. I also appreciate the fact that I was given a free public transportation card that could be used all over the city, including the train to the airport. The breakfast was better than I expected and the lady that was taking care of it was very friendly. I would totally recommend the place to anyone having a short trip to Geneva.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Central location , clean rooms and bathroom , helpful staff ...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central location , clean rooms and bathroom , helpful staff , excellent breakfast. Rooms are small but not smaller than what you would normally need. 100% worth what I paid. Very reasonable price/night for a city like Geneva.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.6
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very unfriendly and kept me standing at reception for 10 mins (3 times) as they continue to talk personal calls. During check in, getting my key to enter my room, and during check out. Breakfast was the worst I’ve ever experienced

    I really enjoy falling asleep

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.3
    Our overall stay in Geneva was enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been much better if it was not in the Red Light area next to a Sex Shop none of which from the info when booking we were aware of

    The Hotel was in an ideal position for transport and access in to Geneva shopping areas

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable stay, centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not the most scenic part of the city with the surroundings being very run down. However don’t let this put you off what is a very good value for money, clean and comfortable hotel.

    The room was comfortable and really quiet thanks to double glazed windows. Windows had black out curtains making the room super dark for sleep. Staff are friendly and the breakfast was decent and fresh. The hotel is clean and well maintained overall. The location was great for a variety of restaurants including some great authentic Swiss restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.4
    easy going.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the price. overpriced. it needs renovation.

    Clean even though old. Very good matress even though small room. Hot temperature in the room which I like. Well situated near the lake though near the red light district.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    Very happy and would go back again on business for short trips.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that needs to be improved is the quality of the breakfast.

    The location is amazing, the price of the room is very good and it is a great business choice for a hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was extremely hard to understand. Strong accent in French as well as in English. Elevator did not work. Prostitution etc going on in that part of the street. Felt unsafe at night.

    Good breakfast choices. Friendly staff. Clean. Close to lake.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Convenient, comfortable budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Superb shower, great bed, convenient to bus and train station, friendly staff. Breakfast included in reasonable price for Geneva. Parfums de Beyrouth restaurant nearby had tasty Lebanese food. Tea/ coffe facilities. Felt safe despite being in obvious red light district.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an adult shop next door to the hotel and what appears to be working girls on the corners close by. It didn’t feel unsafe however there were people on the corners 24/7 and it was very noisy throughout the night.

    The staff were lovely and the hotel is very central, clean and a very good price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, location was very close to all attractions and transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located near to Geneva’s small red light district but we never felt unsafe. In fact, the police HQ is only a 2 minute walk from the hotel!

    Location was a prime factor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    5.8
    Very disappointing and will not stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were extremely unfriendly and rude, and were not aware of common customer service etiquettes. There was no phone in the room, we had to go down to reception every time we needed something. There were no toiletries provided, we had to go down to reception to get a shower cap which was locked up in a glass cupboard near reception, and the reception staff made us feel we were troubling them unnecessarily by requesting these common services. There was no extra pillow, sugar or milk given with tea and coffee facilities. We were informed breakfast was from 7am to 11 am but when we got there at 10.15 everything was cleared away, and when we started eating the few croissants that were left, the reception staff immediately made sure it was cleared away so that we did not even have that. Having stayed in so many hotels in Europe in the last 6 weeks, this place was highly disappointing and will never be visited by us ever again.

    N/A

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    5.0
    Bad breakfast, bad service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask me to depoit by 50 sf. This is the first time that I meet this situation. All the room price had been paid by card on booking app, but they still ask me to depoist. I have to suffer from the losing of transaction fee from pounds to SF, because my debit card is based on UK. And I strongly suspect that they dont ask other traveller to depoist, only ask asian people to do it. It is racial discriminate, isnt it?

    I have to say there is nothing satisfying. Narrow space, damn food. However the restaurant in the opposition is very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    Very good breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    RED LIGHT DISTRICT During the day not much is happening, but I was feeling quite unsafe walking around in the evening (9 pm). I do not recommend it to single traveling woman as myself.

    Very good breakfast! Nice and clean room with good bathroom. The elevator was working just fine. Super close to the train and tram station (4 minutes)! Having the room from the street site was not a problem, it was still quiet during the night (5th floor)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Easy walk from train station, cute hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was perfect for our 2-night stay in Geneva. It was an easy walk from the train station, a delicious falafel restaurant across the street, and many other restaurants/bars in easy walking distance. The bed was incredibly comfortable, great, clean bathroom and cool view from the window. We loved it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Hotel in red light district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy due to being red light district music playing loudly outside. Breakfast need to explain to people that the eggs need boiling

    Pleasant staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Good location, not too far from the train station and within walking distance of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the window was open there was lots of noise outside until 5 in the morning.

    The bed was very comfortable and the range of food at breakfast was vast and the quality was very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    5.8
    Would not use it in future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You must advise your clients that this hotel is situated right in the centre of the red light district where prostitution and drug dealing and taking goes on 24 hours a day. We have stayed in some noisy hotels but this is by far the worst. The noise coming from the street was so bad that windows could not be opened to provide some ventilation.

    friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    4.6
    Incomppetence and Indifference
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived as a g roup of 24. A roooming list was sent in previously, as requested. When we arrived the desk clear had no idea where rooming list was. As a result, check in took almost 90 minutes, and many mistakes were made, Single people were put in twin romos, and vice versa, causing some unrelated people to have to share a bed! As it was very late and we were very tired, we just lived with this mess, untuil the next morning. In the morning the rooming list was found. WHen we said the evenig cleark agreed to give us a discount,(waiver of room tax) we were told this could not be sone. A formal wirtten complaint was made, with no response. The arrogance and indifference of managment make this a total non-choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    Staff were really lovely and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From pictures, etc.no indication it is next door to a rather large, bright pink sex shop. Might be attractive for some, but I am a middle-aged woman travelling alone - not good! Had a colleague ensure I got in ok at night - on my own would have been very vulnerable.

    Staff were really lovely and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    3.3
    The Breakfast was ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I received a smoker room (i didn't thought about to specifically asked for a non-smokers room in a non-smoker hotel). When i complained the personal was neither friendly nor helpful. Bad service!

    The Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.4
    The hotel is close to the most important attractions of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very nice, but the exception is the cafe housekeeper, (Mrs Saveta) who is unprepared to work with people. She is totally rude!

    The hotel is close to the most important attractions of Geneva and near to the bus and train stations

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Best breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con didn't work well but we didn't chase this up as we were just of the plane and tired from 4 flights of stairs as elevator was being fixed. We slept with window open but was very noisy due to noisy street and all night activities.

    It was close to train and bus station. The staff were nice. Breakfast was awesome. It was fine for an overnight stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    It was okay since we were only for a night for our early train schedule.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since it is located near busy Geneva train station, the surroundings are little dirty and uncomfortable.

    The hotel was close to Geneva train station. 5 minutes walk. There was no elevator or lift of any kind, we had to bring our heavy luggage to 5th floor. Room was tiny, I understand it was located in downtown but too tiny. Rooms were clean since it looks remodeled recently. Breakfast was sort of continental, there were no hot meal such as eggs, sausage and bacon. Be aware to parents who's bribing children, a sex shop is right next to the property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.6
    Proximity to transport
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy especially at nights. The staff were unobliging, any small requests , for example an additional pillow, were treated as an inconvenience with tge staff verbally statng their displeasure. This behaviour was unique to Geneva. In all of our travel across Europe over the past 3 and a half month we never encountered such unobliging hotel staff. To top it all it was one of the most expensive hotel to date & we had expected much better service for a such a highly regarded city. A total disappointment.

    Proximity to transport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    2.5
    It was horrible from the moment I entered the hotel to even after I left it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took us more than 40 minutes to get the check in done, because of the lack of experience and basic knowledge of their staff. Additionally, even thought they are posted as a non smoking property it had smoking smell and even lots of smoke entering my room. I was luck I had booked using bookings.com so they had to ask for their intervention to get my money back. The hotel is old, dirty, with no maintenance and a terrible smell.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.3
    Recommended for a short holiday only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Negative: The road is noisy at night time. .

    positive: hotel very close to all amenities, to all tourist places. Many restaurants with different cuisines in close by area. Staff are fluent in English, helpful and nice. Breakfast was very good with many items to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    Close to railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to renovations the lift wasn't working. Also air conditioning wasn't working. We had a room that faced on to the street so it was very noisy as there is brothel and sex shop next door.

    Close to train station and can easily walk to lake and city centre. Breakfast was good, very friendly staff. Room clean and bed comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    The location was excellent, we didn't have to avail of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downsides were the smell of the room when you walk in which was a bit musky and the fact that the elevator didn't work.

    The location was excellent, we didn't have to avail of public transport at all during our stay. We arrived to Geneva by train and the hotel was only a few minute walk from the train station. Some may argue that it's located in Geneva's so called red light district but this didn't affect our stay at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.8
    close to railway station, I got freshly renovated room...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shabby, no elevator, small room, renovation process

    close to railway station, I got freshly renovated room despite it was very basic renovation but better than rest ones

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.0
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is really old, shabby, air-conditioning was really noisy and didn't work properly (turned off every 5 minutes). Funny smell in the bathroom. I stayed for 4 nights and the sheets were never changed.

    Close to the lake, close to the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.8
    For the price you pay it's not to bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the 4th floor with with our 1.5 year old and the elevator was not working. Also the area is a bit doggy.

    For the price you pay it's not to bad.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    3.3
    We didn't stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located between 2 sex shops and a small supermarket, lift not working, small dark room. We took one look and found somewhere else even though we lost our money

    Nothing much. We ran.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.8
    Inside the redlight action.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in the room and even worse smell out of the air conditioner. Open window does not help because pimps shout in the street too laud for the whole night (girls work right on the nearest corner).

    Not far from everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.5
    Geneva by train
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    although the location is good, there is noise from outside and there are less than desirable people hanging about on the same street

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Very good hotel , ig do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevatornis not working and my roomnwas in the fifth floor

    The man in the desk very cain, the brekfast was excelent, the roomnand the bath arenbig and pretty

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    4.2
    This hotel is close to the city red light district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is close to the city red light district. There were prostitutes standing at the next street corner and there were peoples streaming on the street the entire night.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A/C was not easy to control

    Breakfast was good. General location is central, near to lake and near to train station and business areas, though the specific spot of the hotel is right next to red-light district. On only 1 direction can one go out without passing it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.2
    DO NOT TAKE A ROOM AT ADMIRAL HOTEL, GENEVA
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the check-in I discovered that the elevator was out of order (since a long time), without notice at the time of reservation, because of renovation works. For this reason, the clerk at the reception told me that, for compensation, the minibar was free of charge (indeed, there was water only). Once back home I discovered they charged the water from the minibar on my credit card. Upon my claim for reimbursement they did not reply. Regardless the small amount for the water (about 10 CHF) the behavior of the hotel management staff is really incredible and deplorable !

    The position close to the railway station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.7
    Location is very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was on renovation. Scaffolding all around the hotel, and in front of our windows. Lift did not work. Average breakfast.

    Location is very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    3.8
    Nothing much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a start, the hotel turned out to be in the Red Light district. The building also had scaffolding in front of its facade, which made it difficult to locate. Dodging prostitutes and pimps (at 3pm!) whilst trying to find the place was not a good start. The room was very small and uninviting and the breakfast poor. We couldn't wait to leave.

    Nothing much.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.3
    Lots of prostitues standing around the hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of prostitutes standing around the hotel day and night! Sex shop is next door! Hotel has no lift so got to walk up and down ! I went with my 75 years old aunty and she got to climb up and down 3 floors!!

    Near train station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    Nice little hotel close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed is very soft, which was a problem for one of us. Due to the location, it is quite loud at night, so you can't really have windows open if it is out the front. There is no air conditioning in the rooms. The hotel is currently under renovations, which leads to no elevator being available (they will carry your luggage to/from the room though).

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is located very close to the train station and lake. Even though it's at the edge of the red light district, this didn't bother us (you can access it from the other side if you want to feel safer).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    4.6
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was being replaced. This is a MUST to inform guest in advance. My husband who often joins me and who uses a stick would NOT have been able to manage the stairs. Room was dark and tiny and as was a double would have been Impossible for two people to navigate. There were TWO hangers in the wardrobe for a woman on a 6 day business trip? I asked in advance about iron and board and was told there were irons and boards. However the receptionist had to hunt for one iron and board and I carried it to the room. Only leaving the hotel a while later for dinner I had to give them back as another guest was in need. The carpet for an entire week had the same fluff balls. The coffee was not replenished on the second day and the same receptionist gave me coffee for two days but on my return the next evening ,the 'extra' had been removed. The air on unit is under the window BUT the net curtains and the out curtains go down to the floor. So your choice is have air conditioning on and be overlooked/no privacy or sweat in private. On the last evening I came home to find the bed was not made other than the outer pillow lifted and the duvet put underneath. Never again

    Saving grace was the Portuguese gentleman at Reception who was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    2.5
    I like booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like booking.com the hotels correctly. For example you have to have the real situation of hotel. Admiral hotel liked check in for us room whitout elevator.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    5.5
    Avoid this place!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is undergoing renovations as of May 2017. The elevator was not working. We had to climb three flights of stair to get to our room with a TV that did not work. The phone instructions say "dial room number" to contact our traveling companions, but those instructions are incorrect.

    Good location near the train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    6.3
    Serviceable hotel, ridiculous price!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ridiculous price of €250 per night for a small single room, but that's Geneva I suppose. About 6 prostitutes in the street every evening, shabby surroundings, poor selection of restaurants nearby, rough part of town even though in the very centre near the main station. Next time I will stay in France

    The people were nice, breakfast plenty of it and variety; near the main station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    3.8
    one of the worst hotels i have ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is next to a sex shop and to brothels. the elevator was not working and the window of our room was broken. the breakfast was ok

    the hotel is really close to the main train station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    2.5
    Do not book
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the 5th floor without a lift, if you have a twisted ankle like I do or a heavy luggage good luck! Decoration was outdated and badly maintained, for example you can see on the walls a mark of a paint that used to be there. There's a skyfolding covering the facade of the entire building. The worst is that I unfortunately couldn't stay in Geneva and needed to cancel my two nights, this was non refoundable prior the days passed even speaking with the manager.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.3
    Location is excellent and price is high but average for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work going on outside our room, cleanliness was OK but not sure room was actually cleaned.

    Location is excellent and price is high but average for the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    A very good, not extremely expensive place to stay, with small disadvantages but excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator was not working, so we had to climb the spiral staircase up to 5th floor each time. The window couldn't be hermetically closed, so it was a bit chilly in the room, the heating panel was not hot enough.

    Excellent location, very close to train and bus stations and 5 minutes walking to the lake. Close to all the main points of interest in the city. In addition to that a very good breakfast and nice helpful staff. Very good and warming blankets and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    4.6
    Couldnt use the shower because scaldig hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldnt use the shower because scaldig hot. Pillows were ridiculously thick and gave me a neck ache. Hotel is right in the middle of the red light district.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Six days at Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At weekend the district was noisy or the room has not perfect sound-proofing.

    The hotel is in the citycenter. It means the lake is only five minutes On foot. The railway station is also five minutes. The breakfast was very good. There is a kettle in the room so You Can drink a tea or Coffee.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Staff were friendly and generally helpful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No plug in the wash hand basin in my room - still not there on 2nd night despite telling staff.

    Staff were friendly and generally helpful; breakfast was acceptable. The building work to add another storey was unnoticeable and did not affect my stay. The location is close to the lake and the famous water jet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.4
    Avoid it ...!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst place in Geneva. Area full of hookers and sex shops. Street full of prostitutes and their "managers" 24h a day. Smell around the street is terrible...

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Pricey hotel in the heart of Geneva's RLD
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located in the heart of Geneva's RLD. I had been warned previously not to walk these streets with a phone on display so locating the hotel using a printed out map proved challenging, not least because the entire hotel facade was covered in scaffolding that obscured their sign. This wouldn't be so bad apart from having to run the gauntlet of about 20 female prostitutes* who ply their trade in this area. It was a relief to find the hotel and a pleasant surprise that I wasn't asked how many hours I wanted the room for. Most of the room's TV chanels don't work but I was disinclined to seek entertainment elsewhere. * One tall blonde might have been transsexual

    Friendly staff and quiet room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location with breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot so we had to open the window which was a little noisy.

    We liked that breakfast was included and the variety of choices for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    5.4
    Close to Geneva bus station where excursion takes place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't recommend taking kids to this hotel as round the corner girls waiting to be picked....Search the area first. Mirror glass was broken in the room, hairdryer wasn't working properly

    Close to Geneva bus station where excursion takes place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially it was difficult to find. The entrance was blocked by the upgrading work.

    Location. Close to train station. Walking distance to places of attraction.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    2.5
    Red Light Nightmare!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Drug dealers and prostitutes outside the door and in the adjacent streets. Staff who treated me as if I was as criminal as those poor unfortunates and nasty pimps outside. It is a disgrace that this hotel is allowed on Booking.com They charged over 700CH per night for an absolute hovel! Other customers complaining at reception of black mould and lack of response. Directrice of hotel fails to come to hotel to speak to the disaffected. Everyone I met unhappy. I left early even though I had paid in advance. They insisted on taking my credit card details in an insecure way over the internet. Get this awful hotel off Booking.com

    Absolutely Nothing!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: