Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alpha 2 stars

Zähringerstrasse 24, 6003 Luzern, Switzerland

#43 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1464 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    I highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Th neighborhood where the hotel is located is very quiet. The walk into Lucerne was no more than 10 minutes. The breakfast was more than ample in a beautiful, bright, and spacious dining room. The facilities were super clean and if you shared a toilet/shower, you never had to wait for either. I would absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money for solo traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in and check-out timings are rigid...

    The staff was courteous...breakfast buffet has small spread but is good enough for 10 chf...location is walkable distance from Luzern train station..also chapel bridge is very close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The hotel was very clean and contemporary. Staff were lovely and helpful. The breakfast was great with plenty of options. The room was small, very clean and functional. We also had a lovely little balcony, which beautiful to sit on after a day of sightseeing. The wifi was super fast, it didn’t drop out and we could stream Netflix etc. Shared bathroom was super clean and I did not see anyone else in there for the 3 days we stayed. Location was good and easily accessible to everything. For it’s comparable low cost to other accommodation, it was excellent and good value, we are extremely satisfied with our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Clean and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locker of the room door is old type and difficult to lock or unlock the door

    quiet location and the house is with lift. Clean room and the clean shower room. The hotel will provide city card for free taking buses in the town while the staff didn’t provide unless you ask for it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is located in a quiet block and easy to be found.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the soundproofing is not very good and you have to walk carefully and slowly at night as it makes noise to disturb your downstairs neighbor.

    The hotel is located in a quiet block and easy to be found. Some distance to the railway station and main attractions but the free bus ticket is very helpful. The room is clean and has a good view. The bath is shared but very clean and not busy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean and nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the younger lady at the reception is more friendlier . The lady who recieves us in the morning offer better service.

    Well maintained toilets unlike the hostel i stay in London. Spacious room. Location is not too bad , able to take bus if needed. Breakfast is good too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really.

    Rooms were clean, bright, spacious. There were many special rooms that felt like home, very comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast in the morning was good and sufficient to start the day right.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    This is a great choice in Lucerne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great choice in Lucerne! It has a great location but is also on a quiet corner so it’s easy to get a good nights sleep. The hotel is extremely clean and well maintained. Breakfast was great as well, and the staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff was really nice and the location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sometimes it smelled like cigarette, that was a bit unpleasant.

    The staff was really nice and the location was great. Only maybe 5-10 min walk from the train station. The room itself was pretty basic but the price was really good, so I felt it was still good value for money. If you're not expecting anything fancy and/or you're on a budget, this is a great option. Free wi-fi and free breakfast :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the cost at all. Please don't pick
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was way too expensive for the facilities they offered. No tea coffee in the room. Shared washrooms and really small rooms and crazy price.

    Nothing really, staff was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    On a lovely residential street convenient to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The playground across the street can be noisy, even late into the evening in the summer.

    On a lovely residential street convenient to the train station and the Old Town. For the rooms with shared bathrooms, facilities are sufficient that there is never a wait. Rooms are furnished simply but have everything that you need. The price is very good (for Switzerland).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was good, especially the strawberry yogurt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    On each floor there is one bathroom (1 WC and two showers) for men and one for women on each floor. The floor was creaking whenever someone was passing. There was neither a TV, nor a fridge in the room. For this kind of money I expected more from the room.

    The breakfast was good, especially the strawberry yogurt.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room

    Spacious and clean room. Shared bathrooms and toilets are clean and bright. 15 minutes walk from station or 5 minutes walk to bus stop. Free transport card that allows you to take bus n train within certain zone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Hotel Alpha was A+ in my book
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    One is always leary about a shared bath, but let me assure you this is a quiet and extremely clean bed and bath. Our room was spacious and welcoming. We had our own private balcony where we ate while watching the kids play at the school across the way. There is a sink and mirror in the room. The beds were comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. The hotel gave us a free bus pass and password to use the town's wifi. It was a short walk to the bus. Breakfast had breads, meat, cheeses, cereal, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee, other hot beverages, fruit and many spreads. I would highly recommend Hotel Alpha.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Good budget hotel near city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The alley in front of the room creaks when people walk.

    Very nice hotel with excellent breakfast. The room was quite spacious and we even got a room with balcony. Although the bathroom and toilet was shared with others but everything was clean and no need to wait.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    great value for lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi reception wasnt great but sufficient for research. could do with more than one toilet per floor.

    it was very good value for switzerland. i was wary of the shared bathroom aspect but it worked out ok - they still only have 1 toilet (and 2 showers) per gender on each floor, but everything is clean and on the one occassion occupancy was an issue i just went to another floor and it was fine. requested a pilatus view room and got it, even had my own balcony and the view was excellent!! there is also a sink in the room which is very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    If you are looking for a no frills hotel close to the city centre, I would definitely recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was quite basic as I expected, but did have a wash basin and a desk. There was nothing I did not like.

    This hotel was great value for money and was clean, well run and an easy walk to the city centre. You also have the use of free city public transport with all hotel bookings. The room was basic with no TV, but there were communal lounges. You could ask for a kettle if you wanted to make drinks in the room and there was an ironing room in the basement. The buffet breakfast had a reasonable choice. My room was not en suite, but some rooms were, for slightly more money. However, the communal facilities were fine. The surrounding area seemed to have a school and some medical practices, so it seemed quite safe to return to late at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Great value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were one of the only hotels in Europe that offers a fan. It’s a shared bathroom but there were 3 of us and we never had to wait for a shower and maybe only one or twice for the toilet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Great Single Room w/o Bath
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a single room without bath. It had the most storage I've ever seen in a single room. So nice to have more than enough room to put things. I also appreciated that it had a basin in the room. As there were plenty of toilets and showers, availability was never an issue.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Had a good stay comfortable bed and lovely staff, very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were comfy and the shared bathroom was fine. The room was a lot larger than I thought it would be. Breakfast was good. The walk to the train station took 15 minutes, great for catching any train. It was quiet for a Saturday night I slept on the first floor facing the street and had my window open all night!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    so far we didn't have any dislike everything was ok and acceptable for us and for what we paid for.

    breakfast was good, location is quite good also, still walking distance to the central station and but the surrounding of the hotel is quiet. Our room is a shared bathroom but lucky us the bathroom just across our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location in the city center , 10 mins walk from train station, still very quiet; clean room and bathroom, good Wifi connection, breakfast is medium but good , staff is very friendly and available for your needs; I recommend this location for visiting Luzern and hiking in mount Pilatus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    I am happy with my overall experience of staying for a couple of days at the Hotel Alpha in Luzern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is close to a school I believe and hence is a little noisy around. Also the first night there was quite some commotion on the street below with people talking loudly, playing music and shouting. Also, the hotel is not very close to the city center and the train station. You will have to walk 5-8 minutes from the hotel to the nearest bus-stop and from there its another 5-7 minutes bus ride. The good thing is that the bus frequency is very good.

    My overall experience was good for my stay. The hotel - Rooms, Bobby and Breakfast areas are very clean and tidy. The Hotel has shared washrooms and showers, surprisingly they are also very clean and maintained. Usually, with common areas, you would assume that they are difficult to get, but that's not at all the case here, the toilets were relatively free as there is one separate for Male/Females on each floor. I will surely recommend anyone visiting Luzern to stay at the Hotel Alpha. The Hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, affordable hotel in quiet part of Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very pleased with everything.

    Hotel Alpha was a lovely, affordable place to stay in Lucerne. The room is large with nice big windows, a small table, and a sink in the room. The shower/toilets are shared but very clean. In the morning there was a lovely breakfast that is included. The hotel is 15-20 min walk to Chapel Bridge, and close to restaurants/shops. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic friendly stay!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were spacious and bed very comfy. Bathroom facilities very good and with breakfast included this was one very good deal for the money we pay. No so far from the station in a lovely neighborhood. What more can you ask for? I'm very happy with my choice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy when walking on the floor.

    Good location close to the old town, very friendly staff and the breakfast. The shared shower and WC is continent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Pricey, pretty standard, but no major complaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pricey. Location was nice, but not great (15min walk to the centre). Bring your own soap/shampoo as they don't provide (small bottles cost 2CHF at the Hotel). Breakfast was pretty mediocre. Car parking is 15CHF per day and there's not way to get around it, as all of Lucerne is paid parking area 24/7.

    It was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice & clean place... just too less toilet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too less toilet. It has just only one shared toilet per floor so it s quite congested in the morning. And there s no either shampoo or soap in the shared shower room. If have small refrigerator in the room... will be better.

    The location quite nice.. about 10 mins walk from the trainstation. The room is clean with the tap water and mirror inside and also wide enough. The breakfast is good with various things

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Visit Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needs a TV

    Excellent location. A nice balcony with a nice view of the amazing Mount Pilatus. Close to the train station and bus stop with excellent transport facilities. A very nice area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff really friendly and helpful and offered a free bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel that there should be more than 1 toilet on each floor. Quite a wait in the morning. Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay

    Staff really friendly and helpful and offered a free bus pass to guests

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    The lady on reception was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady on reception was lovely. The breakfast was so good, there was a good variety of choice, and the lady running breakfast was very friendly. My room was super clean, very comfortable and it had an awesome view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    I love Luzern and hope to back here again, I recommended this city for everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    at here doesn't have TV in my room

    Great Hotel in Old town, It's stay at good condition in Luzern, not too cloud and peaceful. beautiful road and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    The place is near a neighbourhood which is quiet and away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a walking distance to the town and the bus & train station.

    The place is near a neighbourhood which is quiet and away from the buzzing sound of the busy street. The room is always cleaned even the shared bathroom. Breakfast is also good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Very clean shared bathroom, good breakfast, offered limited parking slots, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a room with 3 small beds, as a double bed was not available, also a bit walk to Lion statute, but not that far to main train station though.

    Very clean shared bathroom, can book a car parking slot in advance (fees apply), good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast. Room is very good.it’s luckily that our room 203 can see Pilatus Mountain. Good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to walk about 300 m from bus stop Pilatusplaz.

    Good breakfast. Enough for us. It can make us have energy to travel until next meal. For asian people, take your traditional jam to make your breakfast in good taste. I have take “Nam Prig=Chilli” it’ a very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Just as I needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Wonderful lady on checkin was very friendly and gave a lot of useful information about the hotel and the city. Comfortable and clean room. Very nice breakfast with big choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Great deal for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Great value for your money if you are looking for something that is basic and spacious and willing to walk an extra 10 minutes from the main streets.

    Breakfast was great! Rooms and showers were clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really cosy, comfortable and clean rooms. Even the separate bathrooms didn’t bother us which were very clean and I hardly ever saw someone else in them. Nice lounge area on the 2nd floor which we were able to wait in after we’d checked out and whilst waiting for our train. Good location, about 8-10 mins walk from the station and main area. Decent breakfast and helpful staff. Would stay again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast buffet was good, with a variety of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls are very thin so it can be quite noisy, bring earplugs.

    The breakfast buffet was good, with a variety of meat/cheeses, bread, cereals, fresh fruit and boiled eggs. The staff were friendly and check in was efficient. The location is great, less than a 10 minute walk from the train station with luggage. The shared bathroom was clean and I never had to wait to use it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel and I cannot fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattress could have been a little softer, which is my preference, and the pillows could have been a bit firmer.

    Reception staff are very friendly and helpful, efficient also. The shared showers are very clean and modern and the shower pressure is great! Breakfast is good too. The property as a whole was a pleasure to stay in and I will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    The location was excellent and the facilities were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent and the facilities were spotlessly clean. Comfortable beds, great showers and bathroom facilities. Hair dryer was a bonus and fab breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The chambermaids were always smiling and created a lovely atmosphere. I enjoyed my stay very McG.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is very clean and tidy, my room was very spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'd love to see some vegetables for breakfast.

    The hotel is very clean and tidy, my room was very spacious and there was a lot of light. In the room there is also a washing annex with sink. Althought the bathrooms are outside of the room, they are very clean and arranged in a practical way. I seldom stay in hotels where bathroom is not in the room, so I was a bit stressed, but no worries - everything is fine and clean here. The location is also very good, 10 minutes walk from train station and old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Easy access & quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room located at the corner which comes with lots of windows that have nice view. We even get to watch the New Year Day fireworks from the room. It's easy to find and 10 minutes walking distance from the train station. It's located in the quiet housing area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Very good (yet still very expensive) for our short stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The original booking had no bathroom but a shared bathroom with other guests. This should've been portrayed more clearly. We had to upgrade when we found out.

    Very comfortable beds and fantastic bircher muesli!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    What I love most is hotel provide me the pass for free bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room almost has no soundproof, I can hear the noise from upstairs very clear

    What I love most is hotel provide me the pass for free bus and tram - Excellent!!!. Besides, room is good, shared toilets are clean, bed was comfortable, breakfast has many varieties to try

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast was exceptional- but you do have a lady...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was absolutely painful. Completely nonexistent in my room... half available in the common areas... the only place I was able to get a full signal was right at reception... I don't think that's acceptable for the price I paid, and I mentioned it to the front desk with little or no sympathy offered... this may be okay for some, but it took hours for me to complete simple tasks that one should be able to accomplish in a few minutes when they are paying for decent internet to be provided... :-/

    The breakfast was exceptional- but you do have a lady swarming around making sure no one is taking anything with them... from one standpoint, this is understandable, but keep it within reason... if someone has something small ok their plate that they don't finish, should they take it with them or leave it so you can throw it in the trash? Come on. Comfy beds... nice facilities...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    Quiet and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed 2 nights but the reception staff gave me just one night wifi password!

    Quiet and private even it's shared bathroom and toilet. Seems that I was only who use them. Breakfast were excellent for both 2 nights I stayed. The room was so clean and facilities were more than enough for solo traveler. Staff at breakfast room was very nice and kind. The room was clean and big. The location is close to Luzern station, 10 min by walk or 2 stops by bus and walk 3 mins.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location, fast WiFi and great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is rather ordinary. No choice for eggs other than hard boiled eggs.

    Location is within 10 minutes walking distance following the main road WiFi was fast and our room had a view of Mt Pilatus. There were multiple bathing cubicles and separate toilet for the shared bathrooms. We never had to wait and the rooms very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay, convenient location and yummy breakfast make this a valued choice.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was pretty bad in our room, and I would have liked a screen for the window so that we could have kept it open (without bug issues) as it was very hot.

    Lots of basic breakfast options, bread was crispy, and yogurt was yummy topped with muesli. Bedroom was super basic but nice, the shared bathrooms were very clean and not an issue.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Great value, comfortable, great location, breakfast & wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent hard working staff . Willing to give tips on places to see and how to get there. Extremely clean. Bathroom down the hall but very clean, never an issue taking a shower. Great location. Great value we stayed twice during our trip and happy both time. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was very small. No TV.

    Small room but very clean as were bathroom facilities. By Swiss standards this hotel was very good value for money. It was within reasonable walking distance of the station, staff were friendly and helpful and let us leave our bags till the afternoon after we'd checked out. We would recommend the Hotel Alpha.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    I would recommend this budget hotel and would use it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first I was concerned that there was no ensuite but it was better using the shared ones. Always clean and available. I actually preferred not having an ensuite. There was never any waiting to use them

    Convenient location, friendly, efficient staff, central location for the whole of Switzerland. Day manager very obliging. Great breakfast included in price. Stephan very helpful in providing information on what attractions and cities one can visit. The base of the shower warmed up as it was used. The heating of the room was perfect. Cannot fault the place and the price was perfect for our 10 day stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Amazing stay at Hotel Alpha - I cannot recommended it enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no self-serve tea and coffee facilities. In addition, I was not aware that I could ask for coffee from reception, and that a kettle could be made available for my room - it would have been easier if this was highlighted in the booklet!

    I can't fault anything about Hotel Alpha. It was such a great price by Swiss standards, and the facilities were absolutely top notch. The room was spacious, clean, well maintained and comfortable. The bathrooms (separate from the room) were always clean and airy. The staff were more than helpful, making sure that I was well taken care of and gave me any local advice that I needed. However, the best part about my stay were the breakfasts. Food in Switzerland is expensive but the breakfast that was included in the rate was plentiful, delicious, fulfilling and fresh.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    internet wasn't working at all in my room, even in common areas it was saying "too many concurrent users", hair in the bathroom, wouldn't recommend

    location is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    A good bargain, quiet neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurants or food nearby.

    Nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood. Walking distance from the old city. The room was very neat, efficient, clean. Definitely "no frills", but not bad at all. The bathroom is shared by the floor but there is a men's and a women's with two showers in each.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are stuffy at night in summer even with the windows open.

    Lifts are available which is helpful for those carrying lots of luggages. Rooms are spacious. Shared toilets are clean and showers are powerful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.3
    Decent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are like those in a down-market boarding-school: rather Spartan, although they have everything you need (unless you need tv).

    Decent breakfast. Very well-maintained.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location, substantial breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was disappointed in that I had assumed I would share a bath with the single room next to mine, rather than with the entire female population of the floor. I would not recommend this shared situation to seniors or anyone who would be disturbed with walking over 20 steps to a bathroom, or having to wait.

    Good location, substantial breakfast. A very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Excellent location and friendly staff. Superb public transport connections and loads of great trips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There is an outdoor area just around the corner from the hotel which was used by people partying/playing games late into the night which meant we had to keep our window closed as there was a lot of noise from it.

    The breakfast selection was excellent and the room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect. Especially staffs are really friendly and helpful. The complimentary Breakfast was really nice. And they provide free bus ticket which was really good for me. Because I didn't have a Swiss pass. I highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.3
    Basic but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be improved.

    The hotel was basic, breakfast was average but for the price it was fine. We parked outside the hotel and had pre-booked the parking spot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    Great value for backpackers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no aircon in rooms, it was really hot especially in August.

    Great location, it is only 10min walk from the train station and old town. The staff is very helpful and informative. They provided us microwaveoven to use and gave us advises of how to heat the food. Since we were a group of 5 and booked 3 double rooms, they gave us some discount for the last room. You can also purchase discount tickets for Rigi Mountain day pass at the reception. The breakfast is simple, but you know, it is in Switzerland, things are expensive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Super nice hotel with reasonable price in the center of Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I was there, I forgot to bring my bathroom sandals. So, I was barefoot run to the bathroom. Its fine because the bathroom is in front of my room, but it would be nice if the hotel also can provide the bathrooms sandals.

    The staff is really nice and gave me many information about the city. The property location itself is in very calm neighborhoods, but don't worry about the food. There are many good restaurants around the hotel. The room is really clean and even though we used share bathroom, but it also clean. The other things that I like is the breakfast. The dining room is clean and comfortable, with good quality of food (the hotel rate is included the breakfast, and its worth).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    The toilets was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air ventilation in the room. Could have at least put a fan in the room. It's gonna get hotter every summer. I felt the toilet was even cooler than the room for at least there was air ventilation. It's difficult to be sleep at night. There was too much noise from the neighboring house. Ppl were playing radio songs at 6 in the morning!!! Sometimes smelt smoke too.

    The toilets was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.0
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was overwhelmingly hot and there was no air circulation. Fans should be provided during the summer. Sleeping was impossible and the room was incredibly hot until about 1-2 am.

    Clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    The location was perfect.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom and shower was something that disappointed. It didn't say any of that in the booking. The breakfast could use a little vegetables or fruit.

    The location was perfect. Plus for the busticket you got when you checked in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    The little balcony is cute, breakfast is great full of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little balcony is cute, breakfast is great full of choices, and they are really sweet putting a candy on the pillow for your arrival. They store luggages for free that's very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay except for the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be quite noisy during late evening, including sounds of people running from the floor above, as well as loud talking and music from neighbouring units.

    Convenient location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed our stay at the Alpha. Great room with comfortable bed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location to old town centre. Love to go back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    A clean, simple hotel in a good location, with helpful and unobtrusive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing I can think of that's bad at this price and in such a convenient location.

    Good value for a clean hotel in 5min walking distance of the town. Staff are friendly and helpful. There's a good range of food for breakfast, which is served until 10am.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    It's less than a kilometer from the train station but in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning or a fan. Can get hot in summer but have big windows for airflow.

    It's less than a kilometer from the train station but in a quiet neighborhood. Friendly staff. Best if you're looking just for the stay. Has a smoking room and a restaurant that's okay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay close to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great with the hotel, room and bathrooms were very clean. Unfortunately, we had some people on the street outside our window naming noise all night. Certainly not an issue with the hotel, but it was difficult to sleep.

    Breakfast was good, bed was comfy, staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    Only for staying. Can't expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the hotel room in Lucerne is very expensive. The one I booked cost 129 per night. With no private wash room, no tv, no fridge, no shampoo, plus 15 min walk from train station, it is too expensive. But I can't find cheaper one.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Very clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound isolation was very poor even I can hear the guest in the adjacent room turning on his bed , no air conditioner nor central cooling system for the room and the area is very calm except from 10 pm till 12 am filled with noise from adjacent bars and the opposite side park .

    The staff were welcomed ,upgraded my booking for free , the room was clean and comfortable with good size room and the view through the window was fantastic also the breakfast was good and staff were smiling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Budget hotel was airy and light, staff professional and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Budget hotel was airy and light, staff professional and willing to help in any way. Single room was immaculately clean and spacious: well-furnished in modern style with everything you will need. Perfect location - station is 10-15 mins walk in a straight line! Breakfast is excellent: lots of choice, all items constantly replenished so everything is fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: