Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Guests' House 3 stars

Doeltschihalde 49, Wiedikon, 8055 Zürich, Switzerland

#93 of 121 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1717 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very adequate for our stay, bed were comfortable but rooms slightly dated but at the same time, it was good value.

    It was good value for Zurich and a pleasant short train journey from the City. It was in a residential area and surrounded by mountains and was very adequate for our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Passcode is needed to enter the Guests House after 10pm. We arrived late due to the delay in our flight. The receptionist was there but she couldnt help us as we need to call their emergency helpline. I made 3 overseas calls to no avail. Only to find out that the telephone number posted in the notice was not updated. We were thankful with the lady receptionist that night. We were Asian, teas our first time in Zurich. She was very helpful even if the old man who’s with her already told her not to help us, she insisted on performing her duty.

    The location is very near the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we felt pretty safe, the area at night is a bit dark (some might feel a certain level of insecurity). Room was a bit old-looking

    Nice, remote location with easy access to the S10 (= 15 minutes to city center) Friendly staff Parking space Good price (for Zurich)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is awful at the hotel because you always have to be online to be connected. You write your date of birth and room number all times you want to log on. This is very tiring! When you put your phone on the desk no internet connection! Keep logging on again and again all day!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet went out the first night, but the stay was still great.

    Really easy to travel to Zurich from the Hotel. 10 minute train ride, easy to use, and close to tallest point in Zurich. Really easy to get around, clean area, and they had parking for our vehicles. Also pet friendly location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi barely working, properties in Zurich really pricey, uncomfortable bed, open window for a night and get wasp in the room, finding restaurant nearby is hard, you have to go few stops closer to center to find any restaurant or shop

    Close to train stop, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of a mistake on writing our information, the police came to our door at 6.15, to check our documents. We choose this hotel, also because of the parking, but as said in the description, it was busy. We had to upark on public parking. The day after, the other part of the staff was very nice.

    The rooms were clean. The staff was welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited number of parking The WiFi was not work for 2 days The hair dryer dos not work properly The Hotel reception was not responsible for the problems

    Room Cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant think of anything

    The receptionist was sweet and helpful about all information we asked her. The hotel rooms were comfy and had all facilities that were needed. Free parking on site! Dont forget to pick up some free brochures at the entrance, very informative! The rooms were quiet and peaceful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a great deal on the weekend (Pfingstwochenende), only a few minutes' walk from Triemli (S-Bahn), great natural environment, very quiet and safe. arrived in the morning and checked in before noon, really smooth procedures.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of the Hotel, the Hotel is located in a rural setting and is blocked, it is difficult to find and come to it.

    Nothing, the hotel is not even a single star

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old SOFT BED , after asking the nice receptionist for a wooden support, I was told that they had only 2 and both in use . Was sleeping on the floor for 100 CHF

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive for the room however all of Zurich pricing is incredibly expensive. Not ideal for people trying to travel on a budget.

    This hotel is very close to S10 metro station & has signs to direct you to the property (handy!). The receptionists were very kind & helpful. The room was small but functional, having a fridge is nice. The bathroom light was finicky to turn on but did work. Good shower pressure & bathroom space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some problems with the parking space (difficult to find a free space, since it is in the middle of the residential area), room could be a little cleaner. Floor carpet and textile on the chairs were extremely dirty. Bathroom was though OK.

    Nice hotel, quiet location, GREAT staff, extremely friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to tram to city. Runs very regularly and only 10 minute ride. Staff are amazing. So helpful with late check in and booking day tour. Highly recommend this guest house.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged the reservasion and the hotel as well... but they said the reservasion charge will get taken out in a few days. Also the room was a bit more expensive than expected ( city tax )

    The thing is this is very good value for money. The hotel is very well connected to the S10 train with connection to Zurich Main central station, and also the view on top of the hill - Uetliberg. Daily 24 pass is 9 euros, train, bus, tram, boat and funicular. The breakfast was one of the most luxurious and well picked ones that I ever had at a hotel. Free private parking !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was cosy, suitable for resting after a long day walking around Zurich and other cities nearby. Breakfast was nice. The hotel was really close to the train station Triemli, which could be reached in ten minutes from the Central Station. The staff gave us all support about the city and the reservation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad internet: connection disconnects if you put the phone aside for 2 minutes, and the real problem that you have to enter the login data again to re-connect. I think the hotel staff should increase the session time to at least 1 day

    Good location Free parking: but you have to not be late at night, other wiseno chance to find apark lot

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay at Zurich. Very nice and quite place. Room was very nice and clean. Rest of facilities were very nice. Transport to there it’s easy by train

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom on the small side but great value for money in Switzerland.

    Very easy and safe parking for a big car, plenty of spaces for hotel guests. Room quiet and clean, double room also had a small sofa. Friendly and smiling receptionist, very good breakfast with boiled eggs, ham, cheese, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, croissants..... Hotel very close to train for 10 min ride into Zurich. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shuttle Service from Airport to Hotel, not just Hotel to Airport Firmer mattress

    The mattress was a little too soft for my taste but room was great. The only complaint is that they did not have shuttle service from the Airport. When selecting a hotel in Zurich this was one of my criterias, I paid as much for the taxi as for the night!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the biggest of issues but the Wi-fi connection is not good.

    Great location just out of Zürich city. Train station is a 5 minute walk from hotel and a 10 minute ride into town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was clean and silent.Good area.There is playground for kids near. The hotel rooms are old and need a little renovation.How ever they clean everyday.Lovely place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is in a relatively far residential area. It can be nice if you have a car. Also, house keeping began entering rooms too early causing lots of noise.

    Staff were friendly and nice. The room was very comfortable, spacious and modern. the best I had in 4 hotels in Switzerland during my trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    quite far from the city and everything else

    Best Value for money! One of the cheapest options in Zurich, but surprisingly was very clean, comfortable and the free parking is a plus

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was Dirty. And a lot of noise. Bathroom was dirty. Room smelled funny. 17chf for the breakfast and not a lot of choice.

    The hotel was near the metro station which took us right into the city. There was an Italian restaurant which delivered pizza right in front of our hotel door so it was quite handy. The staff was very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Any bad reviews you read about this place, believe them, I wish I had before booking.... The WiFi didn’t work, apparently it isn’t on at night, which is when I needed it after getting back from work. Parking is scarce, the breakfast was terrible. The staff were barely friendly except for the girl when we arrived.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No facilities slippers, i hope one day this hotel can more add kind facilities

    Stuff very friendly, i'm very comfortable. I can good sleep with comfort bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If 0 is an option, I will give a 0. They will not give you the code or contact you, if you did not arrive after 10. They only speak German and the lady at the reception desk is sucks! She even do not have the basic understand ability. I asked check out and she thought I wanna book an extra night. WORST experience ever! Cannot believe it is a hotel and score 8 on booking. DON’T BOOK this hotel.

    nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit removed from city centre. But with good public transportation that more than made up for it.

    The hotel staff were helpful, friendly and equally professional. The room was warm and cozy. I enjoyed the stay. It was near trains to the city centre. Great place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power plug was not suitable for my phone. There is a need for converter.

    The hotel is a little far from city center but it can be reachable by train from main station (using S10 - 20 min) Also we can reach Uetliberg using the same train. Hotel price is optimal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time stayed there. The first time was five years ago. Very good memories. The room itself is normal, but very clean. Its location is also very good. It totally worth the money we paid. Highly recommended if you have a limited budget like us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very old, there were stains on the carpet, the chair and the bed. it did not look at all like the pictures. i was very disappointed with the room.

    There was nothing that i liked about the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing negative to report

    great value for money in an expensive city delicious breakfast (though not included) free parking with easy and fast train connection into the city residential calm green area friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed 3 nights in the hotel and there was no cleaning at all. Cleaning service visited us at 9 a.m. when we were still in the room. We left at 10-12 and placed "Please, clean up the room" sign, but noone came back. The garbage was not taken out, the towels were not changed, the tea bags were not renovated and the room was not cleaned. Such service does not match 3 stars hotel.

    It was very nice to have a kettle in the room. The beds were good. Location is convenient to access public transport. Good price for Zurich.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a guest house: so the sound proofing isn't comparable with a hotel: you may hear other guests in the corridors/breakfast room.

    Host is extremely friendly and will make you feel at home. All very professional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room in general was very old and needs renovation asap! I would say the cleaning is not great either. I had allergy during our stay and we had bed bug bites. The housekeeping staff was a bit rude. They were continuously knocking our door even if we told them we would check out at 12.

    The location is great if you travel with your car. The parking is free and it is right in front of the hotel. To go to the city center you have a train 5 min walking from the hotel and it takes only 10 minutes to get there. The staff in the reception desk is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given that I am also a hotel owner operating with this portal, I perfectly know rules and interactions with the website. However, I always prefer not to mention my experience or to ask for special discounts. I had reserved for a 2-nights stay and then had to extend for another night on the spot. Not only I was not proposed for a discounted price (booking commissions were not due by the hotel), I was offered a price higher than the one displayed on-line. When I kindly asked to apply the same price, the director, while discussing in german to the receptionist (that differently was very kind with me) from behind tried to update the price using a back-end PC. I felt a bit discriminated. You have a good price-competitive hotel, with some renovations (and some other parking slots, you could ask for a paid service) you surely would not need to risk your good reputation for such a small gain over unexperienced clients.

    The neighborhood is very calm and easy to reach, the hotel is surrounded by parks, hospitals and schools (unfortunately not by enough parking slots). Prices are competitive compared to Zurich averages. The receptionist was nice and cheerful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel, very comfortable. The Brazilian receptionist was extremely friendly, helpful, efficient and charming, a real asset to the Hotel, well done!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing was "extra" it was my most terrible stay in a long time. Rude stuff, froze security deposit on my account and did not unblock it until the day of writing of this comment ie 3 weeks later. Room was very old. Bathroom terrible. Never again. Parking disorganized, they were supposed to provide parking slots but outside everything looked like a private parking of surrounding residences, nobody was at the reception desk after 22:00

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view rom the window was not so good as it`s described.

    Good place to stay in Zurich if you are traveling by car. The room has everything to prepare tea or coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A part of the parking next to the hotel is not a property of the hotel. This is hard to see, certainly in the middle of the night where most of the lots are already occupied. The next day your car will be towed away because the neighbours will call immediately and it will costs approx. € 800,-.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small, but it was functional and not too hot or cold.

    The staff here were exceptionally helpful. We ordered a pizza in and they called the restaurant for us to make sure it was being delivered to the right place - since we don't speak any german! They were helpful in getting us whatever we needed. It is also extremely close to a tram stop that goes to the main station in 5 minutes! We really enjoyed our time here, especially because of the staff and the tv had channels in multiple languages so we could enjoy english shows and movies in the evening.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff makes noise as if they are trying to destroy the hotel, slamming doors and throwing things around, even in the weekend early in the morning. After alerted, they say it has to be like that and tell the guest to complain an the reception. Sounds like something is wrong with management practices when the cleaning staff has such attitudes. What could have been a good stay is turned to a bad to regular one. Add to that, that the walls are quite thin.

    Decent hotel in a good location with factors cited below that devalue it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was so deep inside & there is no grocery or mart near to that property we should walk 20 min to go to the market area..

    Because the view from this location is like heaven & the greenery was quite perfect, the volves spund in the night time was scary & excited too 😀 & the staff, cleaning, room, loby was so much perfect ❤️❤️

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture showed alot of wear. Our Fridge did not work. The "hair dryer" was a box on the wall that blew hot air from a short hose. Ceiling and higher walls in the shower were dirty though tub/shower otherwise was clean

    Staff were prompt and polite. Breakfast was very plentiful and tasty. Location was in a quiet area that allowed walking, away from traffic noise. A hot water kettle and tea/coffee fixings with real cream was nice in the bathroom due to limited space I presume.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One flat pillow per person and no extras available when we asked at reception. Slightly shabby feel.

    Wonderful Swiss muesli and delicious breakfast. Friendly staff. Good value in an expensive city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    People were smoking in other rooms and it was going to mine through the air ventilation and in the corridors. Nobody in the hotel were able to do anything about it.

    The room was conformable and cozy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wake up service was fail !! And i almost loose my flight !!! To bad informations about this service and doest work. Who wake up me ?? THE TAXI DRIVER AT MY DOOR !! BEALIVE !!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't as clean as we would have liked.

    The receptionist was EXCEPTIONAL- above and beyond when we realised we had left something behind! (Thanks too to the couple in room 306 the night after we stayed who allowed me in to retrieve our essential electrical stuff!) Reasonably good value for Zurich. Very close to train station for access to Zurich.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    5 minutes away from train station yet rooms aren't clean, towels with spots seemed that nobody change them and shower with mold... I won't suggest this place just base on cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit cold, the central heating was not working. And maybe more tea/coffee in the room would have been nice. For the rest, it was perfect.

    Very clean and comfortable. Only spent one night there, as we went to a concert in Letzigund-Stadion and all hotels around were fully booked. The location is not ideal, there is really not much around, but is a quiet area and seems to be safe. The shower was good, hot water working well and very clean too. We arrived over midnight and they left the key in a locked box and did the check-in for us, which was awesome because we were tired and just needed to pick up the key and go straight to the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all i didn't like the way booking.com changed my criteria(I searched for 4 people in 2 twin rooms but booking.com finally ended up the reservation for 2 people in 2 twin rooms). That was totally a crap from booking.com. I suggest all the guys to be careful while making a confirmation(I would rather say don't book from booking.com, use expedia instead) When we arrived i got to know that the reservation was made only for 2 people in 2 twin rooms. The receptionist was so harsh at us in speaking as if we are going to stay there for free. She added extra money for the other 2 people(approx 50 euros!!!). She was not at all friendly, I never came across such a harsh receptionist!!!! Coming to room comfort, Its a old building with all old furnitures and facilities. The comfort was not upto the mark. I won't recommend this hotel for anyone, Its not a value for money you pay. We ended up paying nearly 70 euros extra apart from the money we paid while doing reservation. Final Verdict Be careful with this booking.com site. I won't suggest this hotel for any one.

    I Liked only the breakfast and the friendliness of the person in Kitchen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated rooms. The rooms are not well sound isolated from each other.

    Quiet, but well connected location, if you walk 5 mins to the hospital nearby. Free parking. Nice pizza place near the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms a little dated. Pricey for basic accommodation, but probably partly due to location. Breakfast additional cost.

    Good location and OK accomodation. Clean. Friendly staff. Parking included.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not that good WiFi signal, no air conditioner.

    Location is perfect, 200m from train station. Also direction tables by the road are very good located, receptionists are very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately this "No Smoking" hotel is very much a smoker's hotel. Apart from the guests who congregate right at the front door, encouraged by the cigarette vending machine just inside it the my floor's corridor and my room especially smelt of cigarette smoke. Fortunately it was summer and I could open the window to air the room but just a few hours after closing it the smell from the carpet and curtains permeated the air again. Such a shame. A lovely place in a great location at a good price with such friendly staff. Andy Redman

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Saturday(!) morning at 8 the cleaning services started. very loud in the corridors etc. Won't stay here again if i've the chance to sleep in..

    prima locaties

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price, but i think for switZerland this is ok!

    It has a free parking and is near the tram 14 which takes you directly in the city center. Area is very quiet. The rooms are clean but look a little outdated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They double charged me. No over night staff. Hot room. No screens on windows. No real parking area. Public parking too far away and costly.

    The room was comparatively large.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite far away from the city, and the public transport isn't really cheap. Other than that there were only minor things, such as the pillows being absolutely massive and not comfortable. Cleaners also start very early, so expect to be woken between 08:00 and 08:30 if you forget the 'do not disturb' sign.

    Clean room with a spacious bathroom. Staff is very friendly! Really enjoyed our stay here. Close to the Uetliberg as well, so it's very easy to hike up there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit warm in the height of summer. You have to be really careful after 10PM as if you need assistance you'll be charged 120 Swiss francs, because the desk isn't staffed overnight.

    A clean, comfortable room. The staff was nice and helpful. The location between the city centre and mountain, with regular trains. To get there, take a train from platform 22, for five stops, when you get off the train turn right, and look for the small, yellow signs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain, really. It's a cheap stay for Zurich standards but clean and easy to access.

    Second time staying at this hotel. Great location close to Uetliberg (easy to hike to the top) but also not far from city centre. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very far from city, no market place nearby, far away from facilities.

    The Hotel was good value for money, good service, Nice staff, Comfortable stay. but too far from centre.. It looks like 5 kms from lake Zuerich but its not connected by trams. its a 14 min from tram bus stop, but train station is 6 mins walk which will take to Zurich HB in 15 mins Also, i a apologise to hotel that i by mistake got the 2nd Access card in my luggage. i found it later when i unpacked my stuff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 floor room was quite hot even with open window.

    Location is just near train line going 10 mins to main train station which is in the centre. Easy to access Utlieberg as one of the sightseings - nice panoramic view over Zurich and lake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no guarantee that you find a parking spot around the hotel. We were lucky to get the last available spot.

    1 min walk to the train station and 15 minutes altogether by train to the downtown Zurich.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fridge didn't work properly. Travelling with little children this is very important. The hairdryer broke when I just started to use it. No A/C (it was +33). Without a car, the hotel is situated in the middle of nowhere.

    It's a decent hotel for a short stay in Zurich. Clean, has everything you may need in the room. I would say it's more like B&B than a 3* hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are some insects in the room and not so close to the city centre but still quite accessible.

    The staffs are quite nice and helpful. The hotel has everything you need in a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    broken bathroom door knob - the locked door couldn't be opened from the bathroom. We reported it but the staff didn't manage to repair it during our 3 night stay.

    + We love the location: easily going for a hike, a few minutes walk to the S-bahn station. + quiet, good sound isolation + The room is clean although it's quite old. + good price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person answering the telephone after reception closed was unfriendly and treating the clients in bad way' but the lady working in the reception very polite and cooperative

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think they can include the breakfast in the package! It is too expensive to buy it separately!

    The receptionists were very friendly and were all available to give good info about the city and tours! Special thanks to Dandara! Hotel is very well located with few meters from train station to Zurich downtown!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Nothing.

    Good location. Very conveniently located relative to Zurich centre. Hotel location was quiet. Really nice and helpful staff. Hotel was clean and very practical. Staff spoke very good English and helped me with local travel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I forgot to check if the room has air conditioning and it was a mistake. Room was so hot. I sweated whole night and if other guests do that too I can only imagine how the pillows look in UV lightning. I found a table fan which was covered with dust so it was bit disgusting to turn it on. There were also a lot of dust / spider net or what ever in the toilet roof. Bedroom walls were tearing off. Minibar smelled really bad and old so I didn't want to use it at all. I also found the carpet floor bit disgusting. Pillow, loose as it can be, no support for neck at all. Probably one of the worst hotel rooms I have stayed if hostels are left out. I wonder how it can have three stars. Also there is no ventilation on toilet and there was a sign that asks to keep the door closed during shower so the fire alarm doesn't turn on, and because there is no ventilation the toilet starts to remind a turkish sauna. On top of that when you finally open the door, your room is already hot and then all the steam flows in, probably 30 degrees inside the room after shower... Maybe its better in winter. Also all the noise from cleaners start around 8.00 in the morning and can be heard in the room, so it was not a very relaxing night.

    Probably one of the cheapest hotels in zurich. Price was lower than on other hotels. Staff was really nice, helpful and superb english. Everything went smoothly. There were plenty of parking space outside and reserved for guests. Had no problem to find parking place. Hotel is bit outside the city so its easy to arrive by car. From hotel there goes train to the city center every 15min during daytime and 30min evening / night time. Travel time is 10 minutes. One way ticket is around 4.50chf and 24h ticket is double, so its a good idea to get 24h ticket. 24h ticket can be also used on the river boats, then you only have to pay 5chf / person and the ticket is valid whole day. Train station is only couple minutes from the hotel. There is also couple of hundred meters away from hotel a decent pizzeria / bar for evening meal. For example I arrived late and wanted food quickly and it was fine. Shower pressure was good. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the reception was extremely unfriendly and rude.

    The location and the surroundings of the hotel are very beautiful, nice calm neughbourhood and great views over Zürich. The hotel accepts dogs, which is a plus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very green and quiet area. Very close to the public transportation. 10min from the central train station by public transportation. Room and the bathroom was very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Guests' House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: