Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel De la Paix 3 stars

Museggstrasse 2, 6000 Luzern, Switzerland

#42 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 720 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    would pick them again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only had breakfast, so din't use main restaurant. Very clean. Staff was friendly & very helpful in explaining some travel options. Quiet location, easy walk from train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    The hotel offers one day bus ticket for all of us through...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is small and bathroom is a bit dark. Noisy at morning as it's located on a junction of roads.

    The hotel offers one day bus ticket for all of us through email before we arrived and also welcome drinks. The staff is helpful. About 10 minutes walking distance from train station and walking distance to all popular spots.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Great cental Lucerne location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC but they provided a fan. Didnt have ice bucket so we used bowl from connected sister hotel.

    Hotel is right next to buses that goto train station. In the mix of central shooping area, near lion monument, perfect location. Room is clean , Balcony. Plenty of USB ports to charge items. Bathroom had large tub and shower. Some hanging closet space and shelves , no drawers. Basic european breakfast included: Breads, jellies, cold cuts, coffee and juices. Room didnt face main street so it wasnt noisy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Good location with bus stop just outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a small fridge in the room but that is the only thing I would change.

    Good location with bus stop just outside. The rooms were very clean and the staff were always helpful when approached. I had a single room and found there was ample room. I would certainly stay there again if I was ever lucky enough to go back to the beautiful city of Lucerne.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location is a bit far away to train station, around 15mins walk and maybe 20-25mins if you go with your suitcase. (there is bus operating in between ) except the medium size spiders with its home at the top of the balcony is a bit scared :)

    All good. the breakfast is excellence!!! also the view from the balcony is nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    A comfortable stay in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps coffee and tea arrangements in the rooms can be provided, as in many other hotels.

    A very well managed hotel in the city centre. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A welcome drink on arrival was a pleasant gesture.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    -Cosy and comfortable for solo traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -If you have heavy luggage, bus from train station is recommended. -Quite high price for solo-traveler, however it’s really worth!

    -Cosy and comfortable for solo traveler -Ice lemon tea available at the lobby, also with voucher of welcome drink -Good location: 6-minute walk to lion monument, 7-minute walk to old wall of Lucerne(but with up-hill), 12-minute walk from train station (but you will be offered Luzern card which is valid with bus from train station to hotel), restaurant at ground floor of hotel+coop just 3-minute walk

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.5
    We like the position of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no air conditioning in the room. They provide fan, but the sound is very noisy. I can’t sleep. We also need to open a door in the night, so we get enough fresh air.

    We like the position of the hotel. The food on breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning 没有空调

    Very friendly staff. We left luggage in the hotel due to we arrived in the morning. By the time we went back to the hotel. All luggages were in the room already. (We had 6 suitcases) Very clean rooms and great breakfast from 7AM Great location to everything. 30 sec to bus stop. 近一切 30秒到公车站 很多公车到Luzern总站

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not aware of the visitor pass concept but on the last day, reception gave us the visitor pass which was free of cost. If we would have known this then we would have gone to various places in Lucerne by bus instead of walking. Suggestions from the reception was very useful on the last day.

    Location is excellent. Quick walking distance from Lucerne. Front desk was very useful on all days and specially on the last day when they suggested us to go and visit chocolate factory .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    Very well located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of Air conditioning on a 32c day. However, a fan was provided as standard, which a lot of other hotels we stayed in lately in Scandi or Europe didn't have available at all.

    Very well located near city center. Breakfast good. Room good. Bed good. Easy access to most things. Short walk to lake. Easy access to paid parking next door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay and would definitly book again in cooler weather. ;)
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet fan or air conditioning.

    Everything was great except no air conditioning, resulting in Sauna climate in the room with 30 C outside. Fan is way too loud when you want to sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room pretty small and bathroom smaller but this is really common in Europe so it was to be expected.

    Beds were comfy and we had a nice corner room with views in both directions with balconies. Breakfast was nice and served until 11am which is nice because we are not really morning people. Location was excellent and within walking distance to everything we needed including restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC - up on top floor makes things toasty. Room cleaning never changed drinking glasses or replaced used plastic cups, internet failed in the mornings due to full house of guests - only came in well on ground floor.

    Location was good. Restaurant Le Lapin presented a good breakfast. Room was fair-sized.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c, it was pretty hot and the fan we had in the room was old and tired. Sleeper sofa as the third bed was pretty uncomfortable, not sure it counts as a bed really. Pillows need to be replaced, however we asked for additional pillows and got them right away. Buy breakfast somewhere else. The included one was pretty basic.

    Great location. Staff super nice and helpful. Shower was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room with three beds however the third bad was a sofa chair which made sleeping very unconforrtable. Moreover, there was no airco and the room was terribly hot.

    location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.0
    Location is good and the rest are very basic. The restaurant downstairs is very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not cleaned on our second day stay. The room was too small for a family of three. The breakfast buffet was very basic.

    Location, free Visitor Card to use public transportation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    Ok hotel for a quick stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dated and I really disliked the dirty grout on the tile in bathroom but It was not so bad that you could not use the facilities- they could use an upgrade soon. The double beds are two single beds put together and they are not the most comfortable. However the biggest issue was NO A/C- I understand that is Switzerland and they only use it for a small portion of the year but it made sleeping very difficult. We tried opening the windows and we could hear all the cars outside and the provided fan is not enough. So really consider somewhere else if you are staying in the middle of summer.

    The hotel is located very close to everything and you could walk to train station if you do not have a lot of luggage. All the Lucerne attractions are at walking distance and they give you a bus pass and a discount card to use around town. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was big enough and comfortable for the three of us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    The location is great, very close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator is very slow and small. We used the stairs but this might be a problem for guests with limited mobility.

    The location is great, very close to everything. The room was huge and we had everything we needed. We liked having a fan to cool the room off, which no other hotel offered during our travels. I liked having a later breakfast available next door on the days we were running late.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Location is brilliant for Lucerne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room didn't have aircon but was fine when we were there at the end of June.

    Location in Lucerne is fantastic with all the main sights within a few minutes walk. Older building so expect the quirks that brings. Later breakfast was available in the sister property which shares a courtyard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    Being a three star hotel (as they claim) does not have tea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a three star hotel (as they claim) does not have tea coffee maker in the room. Does not change bed linen every day, when I asked reply was their hotel is three star , so they don’t change bed linen every day, but for information I would like to share that in Interlaken I stayed there in two star hotel( post Hardarmanlii) where there was tea coffee maker in every room and they change bed linen everyday. At the breakfast the serving lady had a grumpy face. She could give a pleasant appearance on her face. Nobody would like to see grumpy face in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Very convenient position, easy walk to the old town and lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was in need of refurbishment.. No Air Con and it was on a busy road so hard to sleep with windows open..

    Very convenient position, easy walk to the old town and lake..the room was clean and the staff were helpful. At The restaurant Lepin downstairs The Breakfast and meals were great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this hotel if staying in Lucerne. Great 2 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Facilities excellent. Iced tea available on arrival and during stay. Free tea and coffee available at anytime. Excellent breakfast. Fantastic staff. Very clean hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.4
    It was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the breakfast alright but not amazing so the price to comfort ratio could have been better.

    The location was very central and good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.0
    Good Location, No View, small and not so clean rooms. Staff was not helpful on our complaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are not big as they show. We booked a room for 2 Adults and 2 children. They charged us for 4 . one king size bed and a sofa bed but the room was very small. There was no AC and the windows had no mesh so we couldnt open the windows and it went very stuffy. We found insect on the bed and the staff was not supportive they said they couldnt do much, changed the beddings later. Even the staff that cleaned the rooms was not very efficient.

    The location is good but there is no view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Average stay but improvements can me made
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms. Majority of the staff was good however some were a bit rude and even asked to pay for using microwave oven. No electric kettles in the room might be the hotel policy but with small kids heating milk was an issue.

    Excellent location cleanliness food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Location is very excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Triple bed for my room was just one double bed and one sofa bed which was not comfortable with poor pillow that i had to ask to change.

    Location , staff and restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    A Pleasant Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Good location 2) Breakfast spread was good and delicious 3) We are thankful to the hotel for acceding to our request for an early check in and extra pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced and don't cater for food intolerances
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing to eat at breakfast for gluten and lactose intolerant guests - we asked for something and they said we should have phoned ahead. Not acceptable in the current times when so many people have intolerances and especially when you've paid for a breakfast and all you got was coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Good Stay at Hotel De La Paix
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room. I wish they could lend one. Every morning I had to fetch hot water from the kitchen.

    Located in/near middle of old town Lucerne. Can walk to Lake Lucerne within 5 mins.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Luzern means a stay at De la ...for leisure,travel, couple ,shopping and all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is always to help u in all ways

    The location is excellent and u will find the best nearby for all ages,Station,Lake,Market everything u want for a tour

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money in expensive Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed was a little old and not the most comfortable but with an extra pillow it was fine. The bed head of the sofa could have done with a vacuum, I guess as it hadn’t been used in a while. Overall the place was clean.

    I stayed with my parents in a double room with a sofa bed. Compared to other hotels, the hotel was great value for money. It is basic but comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Parking available at a fair rate (chf15 per day).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs a refurb but otheriwse functions well.

    Parking available at a fair rate (chf15 per day). Hotel is basic but fine for an overnight stay and is located fairly centrally.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Very conveniently located, friendly budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over-bed, reading light did not work Flimsy standing lamp too Hairdryer positioned poorly/ too high. Made using it awkward; especially as spring-loaded “on” button needed to be constantly held during use Not an attractive room

    Excellent receptionist welcomed me Friendly hotel Welcome drink & bus pass Good housekeeping of room Average choice at breakfast 7-minute (picturesque & easy) walk to/from train station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    My Luzern stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea coffee in the room.

    Great location. The room was very spacious. Very warm and friendly staff. The free Bus tickets were handy. Restaurants, shops, pubs were all nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Awesome location, and the staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome location, and the staff was wonderful. They gave me a double room instead, with the same price as the single one so that I could check in early. I was very grateful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent stay in Lucerne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good service from the hotel staff and they offered useful advice on attractions to visit. Also a positive about Lucerne is free travel around the city with your hotel booking!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Good location, bit overpriced for the room size and look
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been slightly bigger and more carefully decorated given the price, it felt pretty empty and basic instead.

    The hotel restaurant Lapin was cozy, and breakfast was simple but very nice. Our room was on the 5th floor and had a nice view on the roof tops.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    Basic rooms, great location & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were very basic, nothing much to write home about. The sofa cum bed when extended gobbled up a lot of space. The bathroom was tiny (albeit clean). Overall the rooms could be spruced up and made a lot more cosier.

    Friendly, courteous staff. Took the pains to explain in detail the excursion options and guided us properly. The breakfast spread was good, coffee was great. Location was a plus as well, walking distance to Lion monument.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Just book it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast timings are 7 to 9 and after that its in hotel ambassador which is owned by the same hotel and is to it. There is a staff named sambra or sandra in the breakfast area. She was very very rude and mean to us. We asked her for eggs and fruits which were finished, she refused stating it's finished. It was just 9:15am, after asking that the timing is till 11 am she said ok with mean tone. I dont know why she was behaving in such a way. She was giving us angry looks and was very hateful. We spoke about this to the manager at the time of checkout. In short: The hotel is great with no complaints. Just an experience which i had and thought to share. Enjoy switzerland guys.

    The property location is excellent. Lowenplatz bus stop as well as the shopping district is just on the exit. The property is well maintained and cleaned. The manager of the hotel is a gem of a person.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    It was a money,s worth stay which was quite comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moving on to the Ambassodor Hotel for ironing a shirt.Reception being closed till 7.00am

    The bed was comfortable .I found a good spread at the breakfast.The staff was very accommodating and prompt.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont expect a large room or bathroom

    Natalie was really freindly and helpful We treated ourselves to dinner in the resturant...well worth the expense and delicious. Our room had a small balcony with glimpses of Lake Lucerne Easy to get trams etc Not a 5 star hotel but great value and enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    The Welcome smiley on the bathroom mirror was a fun and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Welcome smiley on the bathroom mirror was a fun and memorable touch! Room was compact but very clean and perfect for a couple of nights whilst sightseeing around Lucerne. Breakfast spread was excellent too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom could have AC. The restaurant is a little bit expensive. It is possible to eat bit cheaper in the city.

    Location. Good breakfast. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.9
    Overall we enjoyed our stay, location was good, and most importantly service crew were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress is a tad too thin.

    All basic essentials needed for a good night's stay. Front desk service was welcoming, full of smiles facilitating our check-ins, and filling us in lots of information ensuring a comfortable stay. Rooms decor and space was simply comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot in room and fan although helped to some extent it was noisy. Bed was quite hard but ok when I slept on top of duvet. Pillow much too soft.

    Location and friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Staff are very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is very noisy - a problem at night. The staff did offer to change our rooms but we chose to stay put. Would stay there again - in a quieter room.

    Staff are very helpful and friendly. A generous continental breakfast with excellent croissants. Good eating at the Lapin Restaurant attached to the hotel. Within easy walking distance from the old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Generally its a nice compact room with all essentials needed in a good location, but preferably with a firmer thick...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress is too soft and thin...its bad for our back, so much I have to visit my chiropractor after every Europe trip, for an overhaul.!

    Simple yet contemporary its room design. I love it..the basic necessities for any traveler you can ask for in one room with sufficient space. Service staff were so helpful and friendly, thanks to the 'Helen Mirren' lady at front desk who checked us in with all essential info and kind hospitality. And to the strong young lady who stowed our luggage solo...strong and friendly she was managing our stash of swiss chocolates.☺

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Convenient, very clean and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a bit more info about area dining ... but we all have smart phones so not really a big deal.

    Exceptionally clean. Room was ready even a little early. Walkable to everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.3
    Great Location and Nice Facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was hot in Lucerne, and the one fan was not enough to keep the room cool. We opened the windows some, but couldn't keep them open to sleep because of the noise. We tried taking the comforters out of the covers and just having the covers as sheets, too, but on the last night, it was just too hot to sleep.

    We loved the breakfast. It was large and had a good variety. The coffee was very good as was the fresh bread. Our room was large and clean with a modern, though small, bathroom with an excellent shower. The staff was responsive to needs, particularly filling water bottles with ice from the restaurant or getting a pot of hot water for tea. In spite of being on a busy street corner, the room was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.0
    The rooms were poorly furnished and looked old.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were poorly furnished and looked old. It was very hot that day but there was no air conditioner, just a ventilator with which I couldn't sleep while it was switched on.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.3
    Not the hotel of peace, overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was ok. The variety was limited. The quantities were continually running out. We had to ask three times for three different food items as they kept running out. Our concerns were met however we were told that the food comes from their other hotel not in the same premises. No privacy in the room, looks out directly into residential apartments in the same complex. We had to have curtains closed for privacy which made the room dark with no fresh air. The room has a upfright fan but no air conditioning. The blocked toilet that other booking.com reviews had mention previously is still the same, blocked. Not good. Way over priced for what we got. The most expensive accommodation over our 6 week holiday in 4 countries.

    Although we had complained about a few things, see other comments, the staff were quick to respond to try to rectify the problems.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice little message on the mirror, beautiful wooden floor,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pull out sofa bed (3 people room) wasn't the most comfortable

    Nice little message on the mirror, beautiful wooden floor, staff were especially nice, super clean and new looking room and a small balcony. They even provided a fan to help us deal with the heat

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    The staff were very helpful and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very helpful and friendly! Our room was small but clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast that was included in our stay was very good. It is just continental but my husband and I were able to enjoy a good, filing, breakfast before starting our day (breads, cheese, meat, fruit, jams, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, juice). The coffee was good and also in the lobby there was always iced tea for guests, the variety changed daily. An extra perk, which we appreciated, was the complimentary bus pass that we were given to use during our stay. Although we walked most places, this pass made it easy (and free!) to get to Mt. Pilatus the day we decided to go up the mountain.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent week-end in Lucerne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a group of (almost) elderly ladies, we would have preferred real twin beds in the double rooms - but at least beds were big and had separate mattresses and separate duvets, it turned out Ok.

    Very warm welcome with cool drinks in the lobby on a hot day. We were a group or 15 women and I had some last minute changes to make and the staff was very friendly and helpful with this. All our special requests have been executed with a smile. Restaurant included in the hotel served excellent food. Nice breakfast buffet. Excellent central location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    Good, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large comfortable room. Like a lot of European hotels, there is no air conditioning but fans are provided, it was quite hot the day we arrived but the nights were cool enough for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was simple but nice, the girl we had the first morning was quite abrupt but the next morning, the waitress was much nicer. Hotel is close to restaurants, shops and access to get to the tourist sites.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel experience in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    An extra pillow would have been nice. I only had one pillow, it was very, very soft, so it felt like sleeping with my head on the mattress even though my head was on the pillow. I use 2 or 3 pillows on my bed at home and they are much firmer to keep my head higher off the mattress. Maybe I should have asked for more pillows. I recommend the hotel put a spare pillow in the cupboard in each room, so guests can use it if they need it. It's not the hotel's fault, but I wish there were more things to do in Lucerne on rainy/cloudy days. It's not worth going up the mountains when the weather is cloudy because there are no views, and a boat trip on Lake Lucerne on a cloudy day is not recommended unless you like taking photos of dark grey skies and dreary-looking landscapes. The Transport Museum was very good, but many of the other indoor attractions (Kunstmuseum/Museum of Art, Alpineum Museum, Natur-Museum, Bourbaki Panorama, Glacier Garden) have very mixed reviews on Tripadvisor so I didn't go. No photos allowed in the Sammlung Rosengart Art Museum, so I didn't go in there. I was in Lucerne for 4 days, but because of the weather I was only able to go up 1 mountain (Mt. Rigi), I'll have to go back some day to go up Mt. Pilatus. Either book your flights in advance to save money and HOPE the weather is going to be good (like I did), or book last minute and pay for an expensive flight when you KNOW the weather is going to be good (though booking last minute may mean that the hotel you want may be fully booked).

    Excellent staff, very helpful. Very good breakfast. Very good location, away from the hustle and bustle, but not too far away - only 7 min. walk from Chapel Bridge. The hotel gave me a free 5-day bus pass which was completely unexpected - excellent, you can use it to get to the Transport Museum, Mt. Pilatus, and the train station upon departure. The bus stop is only 50 metres from the hotel and the buses run very frequently. The hotel have a PC in reception for guests to use - I didn't know this before arriving, it's not advertised on Booking.com - I don't have a smart phone or tablet, so getting onto the internet using the hotel's PC was very helpful - the Hotel should advertise it on Booking.com and on the Hotel's own website.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.8
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are much poorer than expected.

    Location is good. Walk or bus from the station. Near the lake front. Hotel room was much smaller than expected. Rooms & carpets in the hallway looked old. Booked for 3 beds, got 2 beds + sofa bed. No kettle in the room, stop gap arrangement to walk to adjoining hotel to have coffee. Breakfast was average, only boiled eggs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.8
    Need to Shape Up
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Food - almost all of it is non vegetarian with the exception of fruits and a single type of bread. Indians make up 2/3rd of the tourists who travel to your country then why not have some non egg and vegetarian options for them. Are people who love to visit your country expected to go hungry or live only on chocolates and cheese? There were hundreds of senior citizens during this period who probably have ailments like cholestrol and cannot eat cheese - what about them? 2. Room size and shape - were strangely not regular plus windows opened onto a service balcony sort of thing - is that a view? 3. No air conditioning in the warm temperatures - it was above 25 degrees celsius

    Except the friendly people at the reception, there isn't much to write home about. And yes, there is an elevator to reach your room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Well located hotel in Luzern
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was really small and quite hot. However a fan was provided.

    Personnel was very friendly. The location of the hotel is excellent, with very easy access to the landmarks of Luzern and the shopping streets. Breakfast was also nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fabulous- right on the edge of the old town, an easy easy walk to all sights. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was great. A wonderful way to spend our first night of the trip!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    Walking distance from the train
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our ensuite was very tiny. Your knees hit the bath when on the toilet.

    Walking distance from main station and a short walk from lion monument and historical bridges. Very snuggly comfortable bed. Property with character.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Very friendly and courteous staff and especially Valentina .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and courteous staff and especially Valentina . Hotel property is a lovely heritage building , centrally located in Lucerne and well geared for tourism activities . Super Clean and good breakfast. Loved our stay and will definitely stay with them again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Charming staff, comfortable rooms and very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rather limited clothing space - an extra drawer or two would have helped. Okay for one person, we were two! Fresh fruit could have been a little riper - kiwi fruit hard as nails. However, these are minor points and we would happily return.

    Hotel five minutes walk from the station (or taxi on a very wet night!). Very central for old town and lakeside with easy public transport. Very comfortable room with small but clean and pleasant bathroom. Lots of hot water and easy to operate shower! Excellent restaurant attached to hotel (Le Lapin). Breakfast good and varied but dinner was really delicious. Ate there first time as too tired to look elsewhere and it looked reasonable and interesting. It was so good we didn't bother to look elsewhere our last night. Staff very pleasant and very helpful. If we ever return to Lucerne this is where we would stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Hotel De la Paix
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a one night stay, nowhere near long enough.

    The hotel is in a great location in the middle of the old town, close to the city walls, cathedral and the lion statue and a short walk from the Chapel Bridge and Lake Luzern. Friendly, efficient staff, very helpful at check-in, providing a free public transport card (this was an unexpected bonus as it wasn't mentioned in the description when I booked) Very good breakfast with a choice of restaurants in the morning. I received a voucher for a free welcome drink to use at the Lapin Restaurant on the ground floor as well as a bottle of water in my room. I would definitely stay here again, hopefully for a longer trip next time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    Great location and support staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the location and support from front staff. They gave us tips on shopping, food, and how to plan our day trip to Mt. Pilatus. We would definitEly stay here again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location, close to all local sights, lovely 10 mins...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea/coffee facilities - hot water had to be asked for in the restaurant below but staff were very friendly in this instance. Stayed in family room - shower design was peculiar as water tended to be spilled everywhere

    Amazing location, close to all local sights, lovely 10 mins walk to train station. Free bus/tram pass was provided for the duration of our stay. Great value for money. Breakfast was lovely and standard, no hot food though

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location next to the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was rather expensive like everywhere in Switzerland. Perhaps having smth hot for breakfast could be nice

    Big room with a sofa bed, perfect location next to the city centre, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.5
    Location and breakfast
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During check in, the staff asked my credit card and noted the details of the card. Which was not done before when I stayed in Zurich. I hope it will not be misused.

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Very centrally located hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought I had ordered a room with a double bed however it was just two twin bed next to each other.

    Really nice duvet's and comfy mattress. Loved that they give you a free bus pass to tour the city for the length of your stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not quoted anywhere when you book that you need to pay a 'city tax' when you leave. I'd paid in full before we went but we still had to pay this - fine but it could be advertised. (14 francs if I remember.) There were times when the reception wasn't manned which we didn't particularly like as any one could just walk in and you just didn't quite get the personable touch we had in our other hotels (we've been across Switzerland in a week).

    The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the main train station and very close to tourist attractions and the lake which is great. The room was nice and clean and a good size - wifi had a good connection and there were English TV channels. Breakfast was probably the highlight! So much choice we were really pleased.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Hotel is located in a prime location near to any attractions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have more cooked food or varieties. But maybe that's just how swiss usually eat their breakfast!

    Hotel is located in a prime location near to any attractions and shops. Very easy to get by. The hotel staff were very efficient and top-notch! Lastly, thanks for giving us the room from 5th floor with a great view of the city and glaciers!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.3
    Simple and friendly for the no-fuss traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, could have had better amenities and more substantial breakfast.

    The staff was extremely friendly and the hotel was well-kept and in a nice location. It had everything I needed for a quick weekend stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    10 out of 10. Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    What a fantastic hotel. Staff were so friendly and helpful, location was excellent with a short walk to all major attractions. We tried the adjoining restaurant for dinner on the first night and the food was so good that we ate there also on the next two nights of our stay. We had two rooms which were a good size and very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.2
    Good Swiss Hotel, Centrally-Located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In this case, it was noisy at times. I think this was because there were guests in the hotel who had a business event. But that was it.

    I chose this hotel because my husband and I stayed here 10 years ago, and we had a wonderful time. Location is great, an easy walk to the train station. Breakfast is plentiful and very satisfactory. And the restaurant, Le Lapin, is excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: