Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel du Marché

Rue Pré-du-Marché 42, 1004 Lausanne, Switzerland

#34 of 50 hotels in Lausanne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1265 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet and shower in the hall not in the room. Had a wifi code in a welcome envelop. On the said it was available for the day but at 22:00 it was not working any more.

    Room, bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind personeel ,in the hart of the city ,'savond een drankje op de terass is great en not to forget the early mornings seeings all the ppls passing by .we love it 😍😍😍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very basic room with no toilet or shower (single one of each in the corridor). You have a kitchen sink however. No safe parking. Location ok but in the middle of a depressed neighborhood, many ppl standing around on streecorners drinking, dirty, graffiti etc.

    Clean, quiet, close to center, staff nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shared bathroom is quite small, a small toilet and adjacent shower room at the end of the corridor. Some cracks on the tiles, though clean. The room smelled a bit, not sure whether this was the disinfectant. There is space and a sofa in the hallway near reception and also seating area outside the property, but otherwise the common areas could be freshened up and improved to make them more attractive for guests..

    The size of the room was good and fridge and table and chair present. The view is onto other buildings as in a residential area in the old town. Good to have soap provided in room and bathrooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is closed from 12 pm to 2 pm. Had to ‘risk’ leaving bag in a room just off reception area.

    Walk to the old town and easy access to the metro. Basic, no frills accommodation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was a bit late - but the receptionist was willing to keep our stuff safe behind the counter so we didn't have to carry it around the city.

    Beautiful room, excellent location, and they gave us a free pass to use the public transport system in Lausanne, which was a pleasant surprise!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathroom, very small and not very user friendly as it has toilet and shower in different rooms.

    The position and the free provided ticket for public transportations

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very small, no bathroom, no cleaning for the 4 days we were there and no change of towels. I would have been happy to pay extra for a bathroom didn’t realise it when I was booking.

    Price was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain. They enjoy the accommodation.

    Location exactly in the city center, 5 min by walk far from the Cathedral. Really cheap, compared to the position. We like the chance to park the car to the Hotel for free. Recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the fact that reception is not open at all times and that there is no phone to reach them is inconvenient. if you need something after 8PM you will have to wait until 8am even if it is an Emergency

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared toilet and shower room appalling. 80 cm wide, very 70's. Clean ness so and so.

    Breakfast, bedding and quietness: top notch! Brekkie in particular: homemade jam, freshly squeezed orange juice, excellent bread and fresh fruits.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom facilities were terrible. They were clean but tiny. Shared facilities - there was one shower and 2 toilets for a whole floor of people. The shower room is so tiny it is near impossible to dry yourself. The hooks are useless for keeping things off the floor. We were not allowed a plug for our sink in the kitchenette - made doing the dishes near to impossible.

    The staff were lovely and the place was clean. It was quite nice from the 4th floor to look out. Happy that it was clean but we won't stay there again because of the lack of bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very grating floors, on morning each step of neighbors above was very loud

    Very central location, clean sanitary facilities although in the floor. Nice breakfast room. Even free parking lot for 5 cars (if you will be lucky). Very cosy hotel. Bus/metro ticket for the whole stay was provided from the hotel for free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    that i broke with my boyfriend just in front of the hotel when we left. We argued about the shower: he liked the tiles, i hated them. Watch out the shower, don’t talk about the tiles. never.

    quite a lot

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really this is an old building turned into a modern hotel and has everything I needed

    Good hotel in the heart of Lausanne close to Riponne Maurice Bergat metro. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some strange smell in the room, I think from a kitchen, very uncomfortable one. Heating was bad, the night i stayed there was like -10C and it wasn’t that warm in the room. In the morning it was really fresh and radiator was just warm.

    Very good location and good price. Comfy bed, fast WiFi. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In your website is showing no pets are allowed, however in the third night not only one but three dogs were allowed in barking during the night and in the following morning we had to share the little breakfast room with all of them, barking obviously. We were appalled.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave the car keys overnight at reception. Understand it’s for security reasons and in case they need to move a car since some are double Parked, but, it feels a little odd not to have it. Can always call the number provided if you do need it before the morning though. Tub/Shower was cramped - you can’t stand up to shower since the roof slopes really low. But, it was great to have it en suite and not share.

    Location was great! Lovely breakfast. Croissant, cheese, eggs, bacon, sausage, fresh squeezed juice, homemade jams...-and more. Agnes at he knin have us a city transport card. Parking was included based on availability. Elevator to top floors. Our room for 4 was spacious. We were graciously allowed to park till later than check-out if we needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you enter the hotel it seem a bit old, but inside is good.

    Very close to the center of the city. Spacius room for 4 persons in the 4th floor. Clean and warm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the sharing bathroom,but I knew it,so was ok.

    It's close to the train station,to centre. Also they give you free travel card which is great. Love it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The curtain didn't close totally, so the light came in and I couldn't sleep comfortably

    The hotel lies in the center of the city. The structure is clean and the staff is very kind and efficent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom might have been a bit larger (but still OK), and I don't like to have to give the keys of the car and looking at the big size of my car places were kinda small

    Very good breakfast, very good bed, WIFI OK, parking included, great value for money, nice room, silent, very close to city center yet easy to reach (by car or public transport)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a shared bathroom, shared toilet which was very tiny. At the reception there was only a machine with coins to buy drinks, snacks

    The bed was very comfortable, not far from the centre, the hotel gave us a free travel card, good value for the price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small showers. Couldn't check in until 3pm which is quite late

    Great location. Rooms are fairly big which is great and comfortable. It is a room you can relax in for hours if you like and so close to the city centre for the price. Parking was easy and convenient especially so close to the centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel provided garret to my family that was unsatisfaction. Its bathroom is quite old. It was easy to slide after shower because of unwell drainage. The light in the room was not enough for us.

    There is common kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit too simple, 1 croissant, 1 coffe and juice. for second coffee I had to pay extra. it's not about the money, but it was a bit a pity.

    Very good location, in the center. Parking on site is available even if really tight (parking outside super difficult). Staff is very nice andhelpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shared toilets and showers in the corridor. Don't like that in the best of times but these were extremely small. Barely able to wash hands after toilet, an d then dry hands on a dirty rag. Sorry, don't like any of that. Bed was not very comfortable, breakfast minimal. Overall comfort barely more than minimal. Not impressed. Maybe cheaper than most Lausanne hotels but still not cheap anyway.

    Actually there was not much that I did like.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and ensuite were on the small side in need of updating.

    Tidy hotel close to Cathedral and Old Town. Free on-site parking and good wifi. Helpful staff checked us in a couple of hours early. Good for short stop over. Elevator helpful with heavy bags.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn not like the shared bathroom, my room smell cigarretes and the building is very old

    I Like the place in downtown and the staff Was very atencious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    (Free) Parking is very limited in quantity (5 in front and another 2 or 3 at the back of the hotel) and space (car could be blocked by another one to prevent movement but hotel staff keep all keys to move the cars if necessary).

    Quiet, location close to city center, good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short time for reception from 7. Am until 9.30 pm but we were by car and we had to find a public car parking In the morning the reception was opened from 8 am and thanks to a young officer we were able to depart before that hour

    Breakfast was complete but we had to go away and it was taken completely only after 7.30 and there was written 7.00

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely small shower and got the floor wet.

    It was beautifully maintained and pretty. Staff was friendly. Free onsite parking a big plus. Provided free transit cards.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the "express breakfast" for 5 Swiss francs (coffee, croissant, orange jus), children for free. It was served in a cosy room, very friendly staff. The room is simple but nice, with an traditional french balcony. Huge bed and very quiet at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking in the backyard is not fully safe, during the night our car got damaged/scratched and the morning after, we didn't get the assistance we expected from the hotel manager .

    Friendly staff, very nice room, good location for exploring Lausanne, the hotel gave us a public transport card for free for all the duration of our stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive the price for the express breakfast, but I think in line with Swiss prices which are high

    Good location near public transportation and city centre. The hotel offered a free transportation card for the whole duration of stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The separate toilet and shower shared facility in the corridor were narrow and small and definitely not enough between five - six rooms. There were cracked wall tiles in the shower facility around the shower taps so attention had to be made where you put your hand. The opening hours of the hotel reception were limited in the evening (closing at 9.30pm) and after the one member of staff left, guests did not have access to any rooms on the ground floor.

    I liked the studio bedroom that I had booked. The room was very spacious and I could eat and relax in the same space very comfortably. I also was very happy with the close proximity of the main city square, the metro station and the cathedral to the Hotel. There were plenty of shops and supermarkets less than 10 minutes away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    PARKING was a disaster. We booked the hotel specifically because parking was promised onsite, but they only have three spots and if you come late, you are told to park on the street and walk back. I wasn't sure if it was safe to walk back late at night, so I parked illegally on the sidewalk. The "shared bathroom" is one closet with a shower and one closet with a toilet for a whole hallway! It should be clearly indicated that this is a youth hostel, so adults are not tricked into staying here.

    The bed was comfortable and the room was large, but NO BATHROOM and almost NO PARKING.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing I dislike, I did not take the breakfast just because the price was expensive, but this is the general theme in Swizerland

    friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was full when we got there (only a small lot) and the public parking was a bit far after a long travel day. We didn't realize at the time of booking that our room did not have an ensuite. The floor shared a small bathroom and 1 shower, not terrible as the hotel was not fully booked but I would assume might be difficult if the whole floor was full to get a shower in when you wanted it.

    We enjoyed our stay, rooms were spacious and clean. Staff were friendly, location was fine. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi not working properly; shower and lavatory in the corridor - which would not matter if they were not so tiny!

    Very cheap for Switzerland but this is more a youth hostel than a hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room with a shared bathroom and the WC was really small. You had to squeeze in because there was no room.

    The staff were very friendly. The room was comfortable. Very good wi fi. There were two options for breakfast. A buffet for 15 chf and express (hot beverage juice and croissant) for5 chf. Great idea

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cheap breakfast. Small shared toilet. Could barely turn around. Same with the shower. Way too small. And I'm a small girl (5'4" and 110 lbs.). Can't imagine what this would be like for someone bigger.

    Bed was nice. Good internet. Close to sights and transportation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was nice

    Very nice staff and personal at redemption was really nice. Everything what we need we have. Clean and tidy. I would recommend this hotel , it's very simple, not luxury, for this money in Lausanne it's a very good variant . Close to the center ( actually Lausanne is very small) , close to tap. At the reception we get a free ticket for social transport during our stay at the hotel. That was a nice extra service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower box is very small.

    The hotel provides excellent value for money. The staff cannot guarantee a parking spot, as they have a limited supply, but luckily we managed to get one and so also saved on parking. The hotel is very centrally located, and so is very convenient for someone visiting Lausanne.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a bit limited, so you might have to leave your car key with the staffs. We went in June, rooms are super hot and uncomfortable, staffs was helpful in providing extra fan and amenities. Bathrooms are a bit small.

    Very strong wifi. Extremely friendly and helpful staffs. Great location, walkable to the old town areas and attractions. They also provide free public transport cards.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 27 nights

    Very good service; Clean rooms; Very fast elevator! Fast internet connection, Perfect location close (3 minutes of walking distance) to the metro station and old town. I recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like that at the reception, they had a small mess with the info what they had referring to quests, as somebody came in the morning time and opened the door and closed it .... it was a person from the reception....but it that was kind of scary that somebody opens a room like that .....

    Hello, this is an old building ...so there is an old common toilette on the floor and the shower -is an old type and-small, rooms are big and with kitchenette. This is the 2 stars hotel so you cant expect to much, but in general is really ok, clean, beds are big and comfortable, but just no toilets in the room, though for that price, what they are offering is ok to stay there. Is just no romantic place ...just in case you are travelling with your man for a romantic weekend, than is rather not recommended, however in general good place to stay if you don't want to spend to much money for the place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shared bathroom was quite small (1mx1.5m maybe), and there was only one for 4 or 5 rooms (8-10 persons). Even though during my stay at the hotel there were no many people, I think that it could be rather uncomfortable if the hotel is packed.

    The room was bigger than expected, with a respectably-equipped kitchenette, a table and a three-seater sofa. Everything was perfectly clean and tidy. The location is great, a five-minute walk to the cathedral. There are many shops, supermarket and bars nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    15 CHF breakfast let me down a bit

    Close to city centre and lots of restaurants, ease of access to public transport, free local public transport tickets

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The very small shared shower and the shared WC.

    The room was very spacious and the house is interesting. Although the street is not marked from all directions, the location is great (really close to the center but not too much).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shared bathroom was very small and old, though perfectly functional. The only thing we disliked.

    The location, 2 min from Rippone Square is just fantastic. You can go anywhere within Lausanne by walk. We do not know if it is always the case, but the hotel provided us with a daily public transport pass for as many days as we stayed, which made moving around extremely easy and inexpensive. // The room was big, clean, comfortable and warm. Having a small kitchen in our room + fridge, greatly helped keeping the visit to Lausanne within budget. // We will repeat next time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps parking possibilities.

    Staff were particularly helpful. We asked if we could have a refrigerator and a small one (perfect) was brought to our room. While room was small the location is fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For those who like a decently priced stay that is close to the center but enjoys some peace and quiet, this is for you. The residence is located in a quaint street in Lausanne - the architecture has got french character. The rooms are simple and well equipped. Really recommended!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so so nice. They helped us with all our questions about the area, gave us a Lausanne FREE public transport card, facilitated a late check in when they were closed. I was really impressed. It was such a tidy, sleek room. My husband and I were very pleased. Even with a shared bathroom, we have no complaints. Maybe the hotel hadn't booked other rooms on our floor, but whatever the case, we never bumped into anyone or had to wait for the toilet or shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly Staff- happy to help and provide information. Lovely attic room for 4, lots of space, cleaned thoroughly daily. Small kitchenette with fridge and kettle- very useful! Photos on booking.com don't do justice, much nicer in person. Very central Location! Free travel card on arrival, very useful if you don't fancy the hills! Lovely town! Highly Recommend!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Studio with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Questions to cleanliness of shower. Not enough space to move in the room.

    The best price-quality ratio at that time. Nice place, close to all sights and points of interest you needed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    really basic and old bathroom (i booked a room with private bathroom). no hairdryer, although i had requested one at booking. reception was already closed when i realized there was none

    comfortable bed, spacious room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towel smelled like smoking. A lot. It made the whole room smell badly. Fortunately it was possible to open a window.. but still - would be nice to have non smoking rooms and non smelling towels.

    The room itself was better than I expected (from photos and description). Furniture seemed new, having a TV and fridge was nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were perhaps recently painted and the smell was very strong. The shower floor was damaged. I thought that the value for money is not great, the improvements can be a little more in the details. (tables, bathroom maintenance,etc)

    Quiet place even though it was at the heart of the city. Coffee/tea in the room. free wi-fi available Price in relation with other properties around the area were lower. confortable bed, nice and clean staff really nice and accommodating. I APPRECIATE the effort done with a comfortable an nice bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower are not enjoyable. Too tiny and curtain is sticking your body while you are taking a shower. A water mixer could be also a better option than 2 taps (cold and hot).

    Very comfy bed, silent room, perfect cleaness. Staff are really kind

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Studio with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some problem with fire alarm. Once it was ringing during the night but nothing happend.

    Lovely time in Lausanne! Hotel is very good, exactly in the center but hidden in place that you don't hear any street noise. Comfortable sleeping area and very helpful staff. They have some turistic brochures, maps, event guides and if you need anything else, you just have to ask and they will bring you. Fast WiFi, extra towels or pillows are in the room. Worthy to visit ;)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They need to provide some basic needs of the day. No toothpaste, tissue papers, one or two extra towels, body conditioners, etc. I felt somewhat needful of these.

    The staff is excellent. They do take care of the customers. While I was late by 4 hrs I could find my letter on the desk. Overall Its satisfactory to stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect. Friendly staff. Value for money is unbeatable for Lausanne. Sure the bathroom would need to be revamped but it's clean and does the job.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is very small.

    Very nice welcoming by the receptionist. Particularly appreciated that we could leave the room later and have a shower early afternoon after running the Lausanne Marathon. Nice surprise: we were given free public transportation tickets.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom wasn't well-ventilated, so it smelled a bit moldy and was damp, even though we left the door open and opened the window to our room.

    The staff was lovely and helpful, and the room was impeccably tidy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shared bathroom made the hotel feel less like a hotel.

    Individual rooms and privacy. Bed was very comfortable. Having a sink in the room made things more convenient, requiring me to go out to the shared bathroom less.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful private bathroom!! It was sooo tiny .. espessially shower itself!! Shower - it was just shower base with fabric shower curtain around. Shower head takes half of the space.. so basically no room for you... maybe for a kid only. Shower curtain clings to your body in a second when you start showering.. water goes outside ...so, after shower you have to wipe floor.. actually a lot!!! Plus - no fan at all!! Tried to use shared bathroom.. They have separate shower room and toilet.. Room with toilet is suitable only for midsize peoples... so small. So, book room with shared bathroom.. better and cheaper. Also very limited parking and very small spots, suitable only for small cars...

    Location, very friendly and helpful stuff!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower is too small and old fashioned, a wooden clean floor. its a big bed for a small room.

    its nice near the centre an old building but good modern inside. its simple but ok to sleep a short period. it has a good working wifi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location excellent, just 350 metres from a metro station (which is one stop from the central railway station). Staff very helpful. The shared bathrooms were very clean and I never had to wait. Everything that I needed. I'll stay there if/when I return to Lausanne. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good to have a choice of two levels of breakfast - a basic continental and a more comprehensive one. And extremely helpful English-speaking staff. Location brilliant; near the cathedral, and only a couple of hundred yards away from the superb Metro, which is a real leg-saver! Bedroom not en-suite, but having a toilet and shower five yards away was no problem at all.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few minor repairs needed here and there--nothing that seriously interfered with my needs.

    Utilitarian but contained everything I needed; extremely helpful staff. Outstanding, nutritious breakfast. The decor is slightly reminiscent of a college dorm, but if you are looking for an economical stay with a comfortable bed, it is highly satisfactory. Short walk to everything I needed, public transport within a few blocks.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very convenient location, just 350 from a metro station that is 2 stops from the main railway station. Very clean. Helpful staff. Very reasonable considering cost of hotels in Lausanne. Bonus is a travel card (for central zones in Lausanne).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good staff Caroline who offered good care and information to me during my stay in the hotel. Close to the heart of city, convienent on site parking and free transport city pass are extremely good for city sighting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was roasting hot (we were in a quad room on the top floor). The reception was closed all day Sunday and they mailed us with a door code to enter, with an envelope with our room key. Bathroom is clean but looks awful due to dated, tatty finish.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lausanne is lovely city and I lived there in the past for over 2 years. However, the hotel had failed to disclose before we arrive that major construction work is being carried out in the whole of its premises. The work involved large pipes and hoses being laid on the floors in most of the communal areas. Entrances to and exits from strategic places and points of interest to the residents of the hotel were obstructed at all times ( lifts, reception area, communal area in all floors etc) . We booked and paid in full for our stay 6 months in advance , as a courtesy they could at least have given us the heads up that the hotel is a construction site where running water runs brown when you first open taps and showers. I know that was just the result of the general pipe sanitisation work that was going on while we were there. The hotel offered compensation only after we complained with booking.com days after our holiday is over. I am not sure if this is how things are done in Switzerland or if it was just an isolated case to this hotel, However, the hotel has very poor approach to heath and safety. Things such as step-free access, none - obstruction of fire exits and points of interest such as elevators, stairs etc , all that, literally, do not exist. If you are travelling with crawly little babies simply forget it, that hotel is not for you , even though the hotel tried to accommodate by providing a baby crib. There are uncovered electric outlets all over the rooms, and we had few rooms during our 7 days stay with them, which are in very poor condition. My 10 month-old was gunning to put his tiny fingers in these holes of death. The sink above one of the electricity sockets was leaking and there was a puddle of water right in front of the unsafe and poorly maintained socket. All a baby has to do to get electrocuted was crawl into the puddle , get his hands wet and touch the socket .

    Members of staff were helpful .

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hôtel du Marché traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: