Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Eden Palace au Lac 4 stars

11, Rue du Théâtre, 1820 Montreux, Switzerland

#27 of 50 hotels in Montreux

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1413 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    5.4
    Weekend in Montreux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looked better outside than inside, uncomfortable bed, and very bizarre duvet setup. Overall room lacked that luxury vibe that the eden palace is going for. I believe it needs to reinvest in furniture and interior decoration.

    Nice location and late 19th century theme on the exterior and belle epoch salon.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.3
    The only good thing is the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is bad, the stuff as well. Everywhere stairs no Ramps no elevator you have to carry your stroller each time. The bad was terrible.

    The only good thing is the location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    A great place to stay when visiting Montreux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom layout was odd, although navigable. Stairs on main staircase were of unequal height, causing me to trip - worth taking the lift !

    Superb location and wonderful views, especially at sunset. Lakeside restauarnt was particularly pleasant. Staff were friendly and all arrangements were honoured, including reservation of one of the 9 parking places.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs renovation and some refurnishing, especially the carpets and some wall and ceil paintings. Needs also more soundproof in the rooms. You can easily hear when someone walks above you or speak in the nearby room.

    Great location. Amazing view. Very clean although old. Rich breakfast. Friendly staff. Available parking. Spacious Room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Great location, clean room.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    1- Private parking is not always possible on site, as stated, since there are only 9 street-parking spaces. The hotel did not reply to our email for confirmation and we wrongly thought that we were ok for a parking space for our minivan. There is also a parking garage near the hotel, but it has a height specification for normal height cars, so it was not possible for us to use it. We asked the reception if we could use one of the two empty spaces we could see, their reply was that they were already booked, but by the time we left next morning, the spaces were still empty.. 2- The reception, not being on the street level, is not directly accessible by lift, there are a few steps to get there, so parents with pushchairs, please be aware!

    Clean and spacious room, very good breakfast area, great location and views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful view in Montreux!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was perfect for us as we were traveling by train and it was easy to walk to hotel from the station. A clean comfortable room, near all the action and a small deck overlooking the lake! The staff work hard to keep the grounds and hotel very neat and everyone we encountered were very friendly.

    Loved the 5th floor room offering a panoramic view of the Lake and Mountains! Very friendly staff and great variety at the breakfast buffet. Our room was a classic room and we enjoyed the atmosphere. We were very happy to have air conditioning in the room and appreciated the kettle and tea/coffee supplies. I also appreciate that they were able to accommodate my request for a high level room!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    Superb location. Tired property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The general decor in the hotel is very tired. The mattress frankly was worn out and you both rolled to the middle !! Breakfast wasn't included in the room rate so we took that as an extra....mistake. Most items were cold and one seemed uncooked. This was reported to staff and met with sorry !! The general atmosphere in the breakfast room was one of a time gone by...just worn out.

    The location of this hotel is fantastic assuming you get a lake view window. The terrace area and pool are are attractive too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    We stayed and extra few days for the Montreux Grand Prix which is every 4 years, hotel very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Carpets on the entrance need a good clean or renewing. Pillows not supportive. Duvet very heavy. Don't expect much of a 'lie in bed' the sweeper comes along the walkway about 6.45am every morning but in a place like Montreux there are plenty of things to go and see and do. Very central.

    Breakfast good choice of mostly everything. Staff friendly and efficient. Rooms overlooking the lake very good. Bed fairly comfortable. Dinner in the evening good. Central location for walking by the lake, going to the shops, getting transport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.3
    We enjoyed our three nights in Montreux, hotel not as plush as I felt it claimed to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning freestanding, too noisy to use, window had to be open to use it and street very noisy. Bathroom tired and servicing not always great. Corridors beautiful, rooms did not live up to it. Not all public areas appeared to be available to use. No offer of help with bags.

    Some staff at desk excellent. Bed comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding stay, very nice hotel and we will stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The air conditioning unit is a bit outdated and struggled to keep up, but it was not that hot so it was acceptable.

    This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and it is outstanding as always. The staff were very helpful, responsive, and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice place in Montreaux.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon was a bit clunky/noisy with the outlet going through the window.

    Lovely hotel, historic but well maintained. We ate in the garden restaurant which was also very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    If you want to experience ‘Paradise’, this is it !! Superb !! Hotel Eden Palace au Lac has it all !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying in this Hotel has been the best experience of our lives ... and it’s not only the superb lake views, it’s EVERYTHING! You couldn’t ask for more - I class this as being in Paradise. Our room on the 3rd floor, lake view with balcony, was fantastic. We fell in love with Montreux instantly and to be able to stay here is the “icing on the cake”.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    I often go to Montreux and thought I'd spend a bit more on the hotel to treat myself - Disapointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in was supposed to be at 3pm, but when I arrived, my room wasn't ready - I had to wait more than 30mins, so didn't check in until after 3.30pm. Didn't like the fact there were no kettle facilities in the room. I paid for a pretty decent lake view/balcony room, and even in cheaper hotels you get teas and coffees. The actual key to your room is pretty large and super heavy. Not practical carrying such a cumbersome object around with you all day. The positioning of the curtains didn't allow for the door to the balcony to be opened properly. The lights in my room were constantly going out - problems with the fuses apparently. The staff were pretty slow, and were a little rude - they keep you waiting around for a long time. I only go Montreux for 2 days a year and have a strict schedule, but ended up spending a lot of time in the hotel foyer as there were things wrong with my room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Just loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Yes it could have done with a lick of paint and some of the carpets replacing but that didn’t deflect from our enjoyment of the hotel

    Just loved this hotel. The room was luxurious ( mini suite, lake view). Staff were amazing and location perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.2
    This is not a palace or even 4 stars hotel, you do not get value for your money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel not well maintened, not clean, room on 5th floor with noisy ventilation system on the roof (room 522), decoration, style and furnitures from minimum 20 years ago. The Eden Palace is NOT a palace at all and the value for money is a ripp off. Breakfast was barely average with bad coffee and cleaning lady with noisy vaccuum cleaner at 8 am during breakfast on saturday. Doesn't live by Swiss standards and gives bad image of our country.

    The location and view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel with great facilities and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed staying here and disliked leaving for Zermatt

    Location, room, balcony, lake view all fabulous. Wait and concierge staff all pleasant and helpful. Great fin de siecle hotel near marche and gare, right on the water.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    The location is perfect , the staff r nice but no one carry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect , the staff r nice but no one carry ur luggage from and to ur car , u have to do it ur self and there is a stairs to go inside so u need to carry all the luggage . The hotel smell is ugly , and the furniture is quite old , i will not come back again yo this hotel and the prices is for the location only.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good stay thanks to the location and view, but there is ample room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Hotel is in bad need for refurbishing without disrupting its archaic romantic and historical value. As an example, there are several steps at the entrance that have no ramp to assist in bringing the luggage, nor the disabled up to the Lifts/Reception level. The closet and wood casing for the mini fridge as well as the in-room wood table look so cheap and ugly, they should be replaced. But the worst of all are the extremely noisy in room split AC units. Finally, the pillows unlike the mattresses are quit uncomfortable. The in-between rooms sound proofing is also inefficient including across floors (room above).

    Spectacular location & view. An excellent example of an old romantic era and its beautiful architecture. Mattress was extra comfy. Cannot say the same for the pillows. Nice and helpful staff. Bathroom was fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    The view excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The window lacked an awning. The restaurant menu could have given more choices. Needed instructions to use the room safe.

    The view excellent. Summertime - our window didn't have enough window covering to keep it cool. Breakfasts were great. Staff were helpful especially when we couldn't unlock our own suitcase. The walk around the edge of the lake was nice but how many times can you walk the same path? Not within walking distance (with suitcases) of the railway station. The restaurant staff were friendly. The balcony was a nice touch. The bathroom was super large, enough room to swing a cat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    It was good to stay there but I doubt if I will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The bathroom needed improvement and modernisation. The bath tub is narrow and the porcelain is starting to wear out. At first I thought the bath was dirty but it was wear and tear. The plug in the wash basin didn't hold the water. Luckily I had brought my own but I shouldn't have needed to use it. The carpet in the bedroom was visibly stained and needs to be cleaned. The mustard coloured carpet in the lobby and on the stairs shows the dirt. The carpet on the short flight of stairs leading up the reception from the street is filthy and gives an initial bad impression, detrimental to the rating of the hotel. The carpet should be replaced with another in a colour that doesn't show the dirt as much.

    The hotel building is beautiful and is in a prime location. The breakfast room is in a magnificent Belle Epoque style - it was like being in a stately home! I ate several times in the hotel dining room and the food was good generally. The staff were generally helpful and friendly. The room itself was spacious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inadequate parking (only 9 private spaces, so nearby mall parking was necessary). Room and bathroom standard, and condition, now easily outclassed by other comparable hotels - needs a makeover!

    Great location, and views. In-room dining quality and service. Staff efficiency and friendliness.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic location, but in need of renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is definitely in need of some renovation - the rooms and communal areas are all very tired and well past their best. Despite having one of the better rooms - a junior suite with balcony view - the bed was old and not comfortable, the furniture was scratched and somewhat tatty, and the air-con worked for about 10 minutes before stopping and flashing error signs. The restaurant terrace is a fantastic location - views out over the lake and also great for sunsets. It's not cheap however - a fairly basic meal for 4 came to around CHF250.

    Location is very central and the property clearly has a fantastic heritage and history. The staff were excellent - extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was good, and the breakfast room itself is stunning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner in room was noisy as it appeared to just have one speed. Foyer hot on arrival.

    Great location. Short walk from train station. Comfy bed, big bathroom, great wifi, wonderful view. Terrace dining & restaurant was excellent. Food was delicious & staff hard working & very polite & friendly. We didn’t eat breakfast here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible breakfast, awful coffee, adjoining room door was open so I accidentally walked into someone else’s room, slow reception not enough staff, whole place needs redecorating, very dated, a bit old smelling

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.7
    I don’t like my stay in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff - On réservation I ask for queen bed on high floor and I pay for lake view for 2 nights , but they offer me 2 beds on 1st floor . -I extend for a3rd night and I contact the reception for that ,but by chance when I was leaving the hotel on 2nd day for boat trip they told me I have to check out bec. They didn’t extend to me by mistake and if i want to extend ,I have to transféré to another room bec.they booked my room to other person ,and bec.of that I lost my reservation and payment for the trip bec.i have to move from the room. -3rd day I ask for a late check out they did not offer me even a single minute and they said I have to leave at 12 pm . ,regarding 3rd night the booking was through the hotel where the rate was like booking.com and they did not offer me any better rate .

    The location front of lake

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    A very pleasant stay, wonderful view and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is looking a little tired. Fraying furniture and old bathroom facilities. Outside paintwork needs redoing. The food at the restaurant was very ordinary and expensive. Would not recommend it.

    I loved the location and the friendly staff. Amazing view from balcony, worth the extra money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean, insects in the room, very old carpet & furniture in desperate need for refurbishment. Water dripping onto our balcony. What a shame for such an hotel that could be great. A 2 star experience for a 4 star hotel

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definatelly not a service of a 4 Star hotel. Overpriced for what it offers. Old furniture No attention to solve problems or complains at the reception. Specially the lady at the reception. Very bad service.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything was excellant except for the breakfast mishap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On checking in I was advised that breakfast was not included. However when I checked out I found out that it was included. So I missed out on daily breakfasts. Shame.

    My dinner and cocktails and appertifs were exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Lage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price for value is really not good. It smells very badly in the House we had a room in, the carpet in the entrance of the hotel is very old and the person attending us at the reception didn’t find our reservation for a while. We are discounted as we really expected something special for a Palace

    Lage

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - We tried to sit in the garden part of the restaurant when it was completely empty in the morning to enjoy our cup of coffee bought from a nearby shop and we were asked to get up as no beverage from outside can be consumed in the restaurant. - No parking provided by the hotel, no information provided to pre-book the limited parking space hotel has. - Bad value for money

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.2
    Lack of maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have say , the experience in this hotel was not so good. The cost is three time higher than normal time when during JAZZ festival. I booked a lake view room, and also asked for a higher floor. However they only provide me first ground room and a big tree in front of terrace. Earlier in the morning, you can hear hotel stuff noisy sound in the garden. And one for the water faucet was too stiff to turn off that I have to ask for help. All the facility is too old and lack ld mai ten excellent. And even no drink water in the room.if give me another chance I would prefer select majestic hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    great location I will consider staying there during my next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the internet was not fast enough

    this hotel is a classic hotel you fee that you're in one of James Bond movies, i loved the view from my room "full lake view". the size of the room, the cleanliness of the room, hotel is close to restaurants and the supermarket, the train station is a 10 minutes walk from the hotel. the breakfast was good as well

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    A jewel, the hotel retained it's old fashined charm, it felt like ' from a Poiroit era.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Evening meal : more choice would be appreciated and service was slow, when we were there. it put us off, so we ate outside. But we prefer to explore local restaurants, so we did not mind.

    Wonderful views, worth getting junior suite for extra space and balcony. Excellent buffet breakfast, plenty of choice. Very helpful and knoledgeable staff, recommended Chaplin Museum, lovely find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in the room. Breakfast although decent could be improved.

    There are a number of minor annoyances but the central selling point of this establishment is a room with a lake view. You open out your balcony door in the morning to a magnificent view. The cost of the room was the same as what I paid for business hotel rooms in Geneva (although they did include breakfast in the rate) so it represented great value for money. You feel like you are staying in an expensive hotel because of the grandeur of the building and the location. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs to be renovated. It was clean but really beaten up.

    Amazing breakfast! The view of the lake from the room was amazing. We will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    location was fantastic, We had two connected rooms with Lake...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    location was fantastic, We had two connected rooms with Lake views and we just didn't want to leave the room. The only downside was all the spider webs in all the corders. They were so big and noticeable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Position of hotel is excellent with amazing views and close to shops, casino and station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool wasn't open

    Classy grand hotel with spacious, comfortable rooms that have everything you need. Been here twice previously in Spring and Winter, but Summertime in Montreux is unreal. Lovely helpful staff on desk and rooms were spotlessly cleaned every day. Full of charm and a perfect place to unwind for a long weekend with lots to do in the vicinity.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Terrific value for the money with a great location in Montreaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good hotel for the money with a terrific restaurant, extremely helpful staff, and a location just inches from the lake. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. In addition to the hotel food there were a number of good restaurant options within a short walk. Also a grocery and wine store nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful, cared for and breathtakingly beautiful. Great stay in Montreaux
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was closed which we didn't know about but sister hotel was not far away. We didn't use it in the end. So many other things to do. Other than that it was spot on

    Personal service. Staff were attentive and welcoming plus full of information to share to help us get the most from our stay. Room Was lovely. Must choose a lake view as it is spectacular. Good was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    The location was excellent and the staff was helpful but the hotel needs to be updated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are in needed of updating and air conditioning units were not working. We also had a curtain fall down.

    We had a beautiful view of the lake from our rooms. The balcony was a great place to sit and watch people and especially to view an approaching thunderstorm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Had a wonderful weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some parts of the hotel are ready for decorating.

    Bed wonderful. Nice big fluffy towels views from balcony were incredible. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    4.6
    250ch for one room where you can hear all the another room,250ch for one sauna 1 metre x 1,50.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.for 250ch one room small ,250ch x one room where You can hear all the another room.the men reception not smile bad face,the sauna very very very small and was off the best is the garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is old but nice and clean, and staff are friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    • There was no kettle and coffee in the room, which was a real let down. As this practice is pretty common in majority hotels around the world. • The Gym id a total waste of space, it’s a small room with only a few items, and not user friendly equipment either. • The shower head cannot be raised high enough even for a 5ft 8in tall person. And the mixer tap is on the side of the bath rather than the end, therefore you end up hitting your knees during the shower. • At check out time we were told about an additional payment - the Government tax, which we were totally unaware off. In my opinion things like this should be mentioned/reminded to all guests on arrival. So that they are better prepared.

    We didn’t have breakfast so cannot comment. But rooms were comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    Amazing views, central and peaceful, nice for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is tired, dated and in need of a significant investment. The carpets were in poor condition throughout. Our room had chipped glass and a broken balcony door.

    Great location. Our room had a new bathroom and a decent TV.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets and some furnishings need some maintenance but the rooms are comfortable and clean and well appointed throughout.

    The tradition of the hotel is apparent as soon as you enter. They have worked hard to maintain the ambience of the Swiss Riviera. You simply can't beat the lakeside room views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect spring break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Massive bed and a gorgeous lake view. This was my second stay at the hotel. I love it. It’s like stepping back in time. The food in the restaurant is brilliant. I highly recommend the lamb and the Dover sole.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    The location is perfectly located at Montreux center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less breakfast choices compare to summer time. Also, that will be perfect if can provide cup or kettle in the room.

    The location is perfectly located at Montreux center. The room is clean and staffs are polite and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    OK, but nothing special..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a deluxe room, but after it really didn’t look like this.. I think, there isn’t a big difference between standard and deluxe one. Another thing: there isn’t swimming pool in the hotel, only outside in the summer season. This hotel definitely needs a renovation.

    Delicious breakfast, the balcony & the view, location..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.7
    Typical grand hotel of yesteryear, still very elegant but the hotel needs some replacemen and there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in the hotel are overdue for replacement. Mattresses are very old and not so comfy. Prices are very high - as everything else in Switzerland...

    View over the lake was great. We did not have a lake viewing room, but that would have been worthwile to get. The building was also very beautiful and old.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    As beautiful as described; memorable view and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately in the adjoining second bedroom, the toilet would not work/flush. This was reported in the evening but apparently it wasn’t considered urgent and was not fixed by the time we checked out. Fortunately we were able to share our facility with the other room (family) otherwise they would have needed a room change.

    We had a gorgeous corner room with balcony and amazing views. We loved the old world charm and atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Worth to be here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our terrace is so wonderful. The location is also great close to everything ex. Christmas market, casino montreux many bars and restaurants

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    When we arrived in our room there was a constant banging...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived in our room there was a constant banging sound like construction We hoped it would settle down and we went exploring When we returned to our room the noise was still happening. After asking reception if they could investigate they decided to move us to a better room as people were using the service elevator and this made the clunking sound. Thank you Eden Palace

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    When booking make sure you ask for a room with a view over the lake
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our requests that we wrote while making the reservation via booking.com were not taken into consideration at all. A bit outdated furniture. Our room had no view over lake or mountains, it was overlooking the garage and building right in front of the hotel.

    Located perfectly in Montreux. Comfortable beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    5.0
    *Warning* Do not expect the room in the photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly overrated. From the location, building dimensions and star rating of the hotel you would imagine a phenomenal stay. However, the reality was way below the expectations. Photos are incredibly misleading. For which you can not expect a room like those in the photos - room 121 was certainly no similar. The Belle Epoque/ old fashion look could have been charming if it wasnt old and unkept - almost felt like staying at your old great grandparent’s home from a different century, after centuries of not spotting house keeping issues. The bathroom was again disappointing, with a shower than was worse than the one I had maybe seen on a Summer Camp 20 years ago - fabric curtain included. 2017. 4 star hotel. £188 was the total charge for a room that was priced as £175 - apparently there are some city taxes to be paid on top? I would have paid £70 thinking I had put a generous price to a tatty hotel that had nothing but good location and a couple of polite and professional front desk associates handling my disappointment within 5 minutes of arriving in my room - thank you both.

    Positives? Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was non imaginative, plain boring. Suggest guests go for breakfast to nearby coffee shops where both, the atmosphere and variety is much better

    The spaciousness. The Eden is a big, old hotel. If guests expect an old building on the outside and modern facilities inside, they will be disappointed as both, in- and outside has a history and shows it. We enjoyed the Epoche atmosphere, the fantastic lake and mountain view from our room and the closeness to the town of Montreux and all it’s facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above

    No tea or coffee making facilities in room. Was given a kettle but didn't think to bring tea bags, milk, sugar,teaspoons or mugs on holiday!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    My stay was enjoyable and great, it was a fantastic vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe serve a different menu after 2 mornings

    I like the croissant very much and the room was so spacious with a clean bathroom, the staff were very professional, I will recommend this place to my friends

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    A nice hotel with old world charm in need of a bit of modernisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast was available but was cold on both occasions. Could perhaps do with some modernisation as shower system was not great with the temperature changing from hot to cold and vice versa without warning and hotel room doors had no viewer peep holes.

    Great location right by the lake. Staff very friendly and responsive. Hotel is charming with high ceilings and chandeliers and a dinning area on a terrace that overlooks Lake Geneva.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    A great start to our touring holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Car parking was a little pricey.

    Older style hotel. Lovely big room with balcony, overlooking the lake. Excellent choice at breakfast. Reception staff were really helpful and attentive. They were at pains to make us aware of the local tourist pass which gives good discounts on attractions and in restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    The boat comes right up to Montreux wharf ,you can boat trips to Chillon chateau anywhere on the lak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    old hotel right on the lake , compared with the other hotel on the lake Palace Eden is the best in Montreux we had a balcony facing the lake picture perfect location this hotel makes the lake easily accessible .,Anyone would love it 😀

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Excellent stay with very friendly staff!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was in a great location. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and very clean. Nice big bathroom as well. The breakfast had many options and everything was fresh. Would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was small and limited equipment. The rooms & decor are a bit outdated but adds to the old charm of the building.

    The views from the balcony across lake Geneva were amazing. Close proximity to town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    4.6
    Excellent location
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel does not have parking ; you need to park 200 meters away ( hourly charge starts from 1 CHF until around 3 CHF per hour for day time ; it may reach 40 CHF per day ; this calculation was explained by the parking's staff for my inquiry) I am not happy for absent of parking place it made my life miserable and I got fine for some nearby parking due to early morning free time which is followed by hourly charge you need to wake up early to pay for your parking other wise you will receive fine

    Excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dated and quite expensive for what it is. No porter had to struggle with my luggage. There was one guy on reception who was very unhelpful and rude however the rest of the guys were great especially the girls and one other guys whose name I do not have but will put in a good word for his boss.

    Location and most of the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.2
    Very bad, I will never go back to this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean less, shortage of staff, facilities ( rooms were old and very dirty, I had to change my room and they gave me another one and still dirty)

    Only the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    in the city center beside the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    in the city center beside the lake. Offer free transportation card, easy to go to all the hot sport nearby. Route 201 is steps away and could take you to the famou castle, town Vevey.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Good location, great views and lovely staff whom all spoke English well. So I didn't struggle to exp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor could be slightly brightend. Bed throws and cushions usually brighten hotel rooms p

    The view from my room was exceptional. Beautiful gardens and grounds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Location was great, right on the water and not far from the Freddie Mercury statue :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpeting all over the hotel really needs to be replaced/updated.

    Location was great, right on the water and not far from the Freddie Mercury statue :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    The hotel was very convenient and in a lovely location on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very convenient and in a lovely location on the lake. The room was nice and spacious with a lovely ensuite bathroom and super comfortable bed. We will certainly return!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    An enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Extremely noisy aircon, confusing elec points, no kettle in room. Whilst breakfast offering was fairly good, it didn't change at all over the whole week so got a bit boring. Only ate once in the hotel restaurant at night and found it extremely disappointing and overpriced.

    Pleasant room with lovely view over the lake, good location close to public transport, decent breakfast offering. The staff were mostly friendly and helpful, particularly in the breakfast room and the cleaners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Heaven on the lakeside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Location is excellent and the decor of the hotel is perfect for the historic building, extremely clean, hotel staff are very helpful and polite nothing is too much trouble. Stunning views and scenery absolutely beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    This hotel was perfect for one night in Montreux with its great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of this hotel is great - right by the lake and lots of restaurants in walking distance. The room was large and we had a little balcony facing the lake. The bed was huge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.6
    As I didn't spend much time in the hotel, I cannot say whether there were anything special
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A complete renovation.

    I have never seen such a disgusting bathroom as the one I had, the lavabo was cracked and dirty and in my opinion a health hazard. The room was no better than a 2 or 3 star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely location by a Beautiful Lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was very expensive so we walked to close by restaurants instead. I would have appreciated a coffee machine in the room.

    Bed was very comfortable. Air conditioning unit was a portable unit with the hose stuck out an open window but it worked well. Location along the shore of Lake Leman was ideal. Elevators came rapidly. Pool was small but the area was quiet for reading.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: