Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kastanienbaum Swiss Quality Seehotel 4 stars

St. Niklausenstrasse 105, Horw, 6047 Luzern, Switzerland

#36 of 69 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 673 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    The hotel reception staff are friendly and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast lady during our stay was extremely rude to us on the first time with un-known reason.

    The hotel reception staff are friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    The location is very good: close to the lake with excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very good: close to the lake with excellent lake view; 20 meters from bus (line 21) stop, can directly head to Luzern’s main train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    Okay, not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In comparison, the Burgenstock Waldhotel is also 4 stars and similar in price (slightly higher for the room I chose with a full private terrace). However, the quality (service + rooms) difference is beyond comparison..

    Pretty good hotel for the price paid, but a bit misleading with the 4 star title in my opinion.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    If the road takes us around Lucern in the future, we would definitely stay there again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    --

    Very clean and large, comfortable room, we even found a water bowl for our dog! Polite staff, great view from the outside breakfast area, such calm environment!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.8
    Lovely lake views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I inadvertently left a small handpainted pillow in the room when we left, and which I didn't notice until we reached our next destination. When I called to ask whether I could pay to arrange for this to be posted to me, the gentleman I spoke to was incredibly rude and complained that it would take him several hours to complete the paperwork, and quoted me a price of €50 to post the pillow without the interior stuffing to Denmark. I realise that it was my own mistake for leaving the item behind, however I did not appreciate being treated so rudely.

    The female receptionist on the day that we arrived was really sweet and helpful, and provided us with a lot of information on the best way to reach the city centre by bus, which conveniently stopped outside the hotel. We had booked a lakeview room, and while technically we could see the lake from our window, there was an ugly roof right in front which unfortunately detracted from the overall scenery. The view of the lake from the patio and jetty is breathtaking though. Our room was also situated extremely close to the restaurant so there was quite a lot of noise from some rowdy guests that continued quite late into the night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    An amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spider houses everywhere in the room, No AC and it was really hot, very sunny morning with no blackout in the room. The balcony with lake view was amazing but again big spider in the balcony

    Helpful staff, amazing view,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Magical View and relaxing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not in the center, but its just away from the people to relax and have the view for your self. You can reach the center by bus of car or even rent free bikes from the hotel it self. I loved this option. The view is magical again.

    Very clean, amazing staff, amazing food, magical views. near to center by car and to many activity areas, so relaxing to stay there. And for sure I will come back again for more activities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The place is located in the heart of an exclusive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room Hillside
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find anything bad about the place.

    The place is located in the heart of an exclusive residential area on Lake Lucerne. The design and the available amenities clearly reflected that. Very nice place to rest up or to enjoy the recreational facilities in the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again if the pillows were changed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in an excellent location. The view across the lake is amazing. We ate in the restaurant once, the menu is quite small but the food was delicious, and the staff were very attentive. The only complaint was the pillows on the bed. They looked amazing on the bed as they were displayed but when you put your head on them it was like sleeping on a tissue. We asked for 2 more but there was no difference so we had a good fight with them before eventually going to sleep.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    Service makes the experinence terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During my two weeks travel in Switzerland, I find this hotel most unsatisfactory. It was a disappointing experience staying in the hotel, in particular with an arrogant attitude from one male receptionist (the female receptionists are all good). I arrived at the hotel on 30 August, checked in successfully with a confirmation letter sent from one of the staff a few months ago. Before I went into my room, I reaffirm with the receptionist at that time (a lady), "Does my roomrate include breakfast?" the answer is yes, good, because it is consistent with my confirmation letter, which was sent from the hotel a few months ago. The next day, when i went to breakfast with my girlfriend, the waitress from the restaurant said my room does not includes breakfast and we (two people) have to pay 40 CHF for breakfast. Well, it is a rainy day, I pay over 200 CHF for the daily roomrate, to be honest, who really cares about extra 40?! In the evening, I just wanted to check with the receptionist about my booking again, there it comes an arrogant man. He kept saying the system does not register for the breakfast, and then I showed him the confirmation letter. He told me "well, you can tear the letter, it doesnt make any sense" (seriously, he's literally showing the gesture of tearing down the confirmation letter). This is the behavior which annoys me, and it is quite offensive. The letter, was sent from an internal staff from the hotel, was printed with title of the hotel, if the confirmation letter has no use at all, what's the point of sending it? If the information sent out from the hotel is not consistent, who shall be blamed?? I guess the answer is quite simple. Switzerland is well-known for its service, I just cannot believe the words said from the man. I continued to ask him for more clarification, he then became extremely impatient and looked into the computer and CHANGED his words.

    Good location. Nice view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.3
    The location is great and the view from the balcony is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not very professional. They also made us pay 3 Euros for ice. I've travelled all over the world and never paid for ice before.

    The location is great and the view from the balcony is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Expensive but the view is incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive, old fashioned room in a residential area. Bus or drive to the centre. Limited parking

    Pay for the wonderful view, do request a lake view otherwise it's an expensive and inferior offer vs bavaria

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Fine hotel at the lucern lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    without the high price, almost nothing. Too many group travelers, therefore a little bit loud at breakfast.

    The lakeview is astonishing. The service is good, especially the exclusive service (minibar, swimmingpool, visitingcard, etc) is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location on the lake and great view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location on the lake and great view from the balcony. The free public transport is a plus and the bus stops directly outside for connections to Lucerne. Awesome facilities and breakfast. One night was not enough!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    The view is excellent and the staff is very friendly and polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very stuffy at night and if you open the doors then lots of bugs come in. There is no air conditioning but the staff will provide you with table fans.

    The food is excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    spectacular view, lovely staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited in a heatwave. The room had a fan, but needed mosquito window shutters to allow open windows...( if not air conditioning) But maybe this was our paranoia- maybe there are no mosquitoes.... but we had been travelling round and kept getting bitten, so we didn’t want to sleep with open windows!

    We would visit again. Awesome views, good food, fantastic staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    The building is rather old and did not meet our expectations,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small for 3 people, only a little van available in that heat, the shower did not work

    The view from the room to the lake was amazing. We enjoyed the tour with the boat to Luzern. Wellness rooms are OK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice but for the price, it could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa is efficient but not really comfortable. The tiles there are a bit medicinal. The rooms are a bit small too.

    View is great and if it's sunny, it's wonderful. Sitting outside by the lake is great. Breakfast was very good and the terrace is nice. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.8
    nice view from hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very far from lucerne main town the rooms are not clean the breakfast is not good there is no air conditioner in this facility

    nice view from hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    Good view to the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner, the pillows not comfortable, bathroom space quite limited. No independent shower area, the shower has to be made in the bathtub which made the bath room wet.

    Good view to the lake. Free parking. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Our lakeview room was wonderful - a beautiful panorama, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our lakeview room was wonderful - a beautiful panorama, very peaceful. The hotel staff were all very helpful with restaurants and things to do in Lucerne.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.0
    Absolute frontage onto Lake of Lucerne -- staggering outlook...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolute frontage onto Lake of Lucerne -- staggering outlook from rooms and outdoor restaurant areas . Free shuttle into downtown Lucerne + paddle steamer at private / public wharf .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Peaceful but annoying neighbours
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge wasn’t working. Was rather hot at night during a hot summer night (only fan is available) Loud neighbours annoyed me as we shared a balcony (with a separate screen). I could hear them when they speak as they kept the balcony doors opened.

    Great location. 15 min bus ride from Lucerne train station. Quiet side of Lucerne with access to the lake. There’s also a swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Great hotel but expensive considering the room was not 100%
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double beds are not double beds but two twins pushed together. The hotel was very very noisy. Doors banging all of the time and Japanese guests we up and very noisy at 6am

    The outside terrace area. Also the girl who ran the area on the first day Rebecca was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Only if you have very low standards and expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is basically a glorified and overpriced tour bus hotel. The rooms are superficially comfortable but actually just functional. Our ‘superior lake view room’ had a (locked) connecting door to the neighbouring room with absolutely no sound proofing. The corridor was occupied by a tour group who colonised the premises and made considerable noise late at night with no consideration or awareness of other guests. Hotel staff did make some effort to calm this down. The bed itself was uncomfortable with absolutely terrible, ineffectual pillows. No alternative pillows were available, only more of the same. The room had no kettle, only a coffee machine, and hotel staff were initially dismissive when asked for a kettle. They only responded when a rocket was firmly placed underneath them, and then they were unable to produce a kettle. The best they could do was a jug of lukewarm water an hour later. The upshot of all this was that we spent a very expensive, unsatisfactory, sleepless night in a very unsatisfactory hotel. We were booked for a two night stay but checked out after one night. We made the manager fully aware of the depth of our dissatisfaction and she unhesitatingly afforded us a full refund, which suggests that she was already aware of the shortcomings of this appalling hotel.

    Spectacular lakeside setting, although this is not significant as everything in Lucerne is spectacular. Pleasant room with a nice balcony overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    We needed a weekend where we could just get away from it all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We needed a weekend where we could just get away from it all and this is the place. It's about a 15 minute drive into Luzern by car but the hotel does give you free bus passes which we used. (The ride was about 30-40 minutes). The bus stop is steps from the hotel. We liked the fact that it wasn't in Luzern, but outside the city so we could relax and be in the quiet. We took a walk in the neighborhood and it was lovely. If you are looking for more of a nightlife, I'm not sure there is any unless you make the trek into Luzern, which was fine with us since we weren't there for that.The staff was wonderful and helpful and answered any questions we had. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the breakfast was good. We could not beat the view. Our room overlooked the lake and we had a balcony room. The view was breathtaking. Watching the boats and people on the water was beautiful. One night a storm had blown in over the mountains and it was just gorgeous. Thank you for the wonderful stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had dinner in the hotel restaurant. When we went to get a table they asked if we had reservations and acted like they didn't have a table for us. There were many tables and no one came in after us. It was very strange. Then we ordered dinner with tap water. They charged us 5 swiss franc for the water. I can't believe that if we are staying at the hotel and paying for dinner that they would charge for tap water. I ordered Minestrone soup...it came as a broth with like 10 small pieces of veggies for 14 francs. What a rip off!!

    The hotel was located at the water. We loved the view from our balcony. Our room was comfortable and so was the bed! We were only 10-15 min from old town. But we enjoyed being away from the crowds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely views from our room, nice restaurant (great terrasse!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t realize the hotel was located in a residential suburb of Luzern, so no cafes or restaurants nearby. Not a problem, but just good to know.

    Lovely views from our room, nice restaurant (great terrasse!), easy access (the bus we took at the train station stops across the street from the hotel), parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    Gorgeous location on the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Hillside View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parts of the property advertised on the website don't exist, food was awful and overpriced, staff just tried to sell me on expensive excursions rather than help me with information.

    Gorgeous location on the lake

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Very nice and relaxing holiday with perfect food and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows are very uncomfortable. The roof of the 1st floor below your balcony is also unattractive. Maybe adding a roof garden would make it more appealing.

    Food was excellent. Staff extremely friendly and location was also very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    4.2
    Hope to be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small not like the photo.. very hard to move specially if you have kids Balcony not clean and full of insect .. Bed is not clean not comfort Bathroom is too small as well

    The view is great The staff is so kind and helping alot Parking with no fees and enough parking Mostly quite except during the weekend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Good, very simple, countryside hotel aside from (but close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    soundproof could be better, slightly outdated

    Good, very simple, countryside hotel aside from (but close to) landmarks and activities. Good food. Stunning views on the lake and mountains.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location with easy access to Lucerne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All guests having to eat outside due to a private function being given the restaurant.

    Excellent staff, Great view, boat pick up for Lucerne, free bus ticket.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Super friendly and helpful staff at the reception and in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Super friendly and helpful staff at the reception and in restaurant coupled with amazing view made our 1.5 week staying with our 3yo boy unforgettable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great location and awesome view to the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hillside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made an excellent choice choosing to upgrade our room to a room with a lake view. The view was absolutely stunning! The hotel is great for visiting the city of lucerne. We came by car and the hotel offers you free parking area and gave us a bus ticket to travel Lucerne. The bus drive takes around 20 minutes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    The view from the rooms is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hillside View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    water was leaking from the restaurants ceiling and they put jugs and buckets on the floor to collect water. it needs refurbishment.

    The view from the rooms is amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.8
    the view on the lake was great;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel is quite basic, although rooms are very clean; location is in a suburb of Lucerne and although it is on the Lucerne lake there is almost nothing to do at the hotel/ close by - the space around the hotel is very limited - a very small terasse in the back looking at the lake and the parking in the front. The restaurant is quite basic also and the only alternative is to go in Lucerne. the Spa (massage and sauna , no swimming pool) were closed Sunday and Monday...

    the view on the lake was great; the staff helpful, polite and very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.9
    Very nice room with gorgeous view on the lake, big size bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathtub the only weak point, it has to be renewed, shower too low and with an uncomfortable curtain.

    Very nice room with gorgeous view on the lake, big size bed and TV! Girls at reception really kind and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    The location is superb, and the views across Lake Lucerne...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is at a premium and a bit cramped - you might have to be patient to secure a place.

    The location is superb, and the views across Lake Lucerne magical (if you have a lake view). Also, the hotel has a pier where the lake tour boat docks, providing easy access to the tour and a convenient way to travel into the town. The spa facility is actually privately run, not owned by the hotel, but access is via a short adjoining corridor (No indoor or outdoor pool).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    it was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At breakfast where for the first time ever in any hotel we have stayed in we did not get a pot of coffee but only half a cup and had to find the server to get more.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Best sunrise from balcony of your room
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the lake magical and the sunrise breathtaking

    Beautiful view, amazing sunrise , and dog friendly hotel, you can take your dogs in the restaurant with you, all staff very friendly , the room is big, clean , the view from balcony magical

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    Very nice smaller hotel on the outskirts of Luzern with great views of the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a “proper” chair to be able to use the small writing desk/board

    A pleasant smaller hotel some 15 mins from Luzern city centre. Fantastic location with views across the lake from my hotel room. The room was fine, somewhat on the smaller side but catered for all needs including an excellent coffee maker, safe, tv etc. It had a small balcony and good sized patio doors so the room was light enough. Hotel staff throughout were exceptionally friendly and personal and made you feel very welcome. Hotel restaurant had some nice dishes; the terrace is amazing on a sunny afternoon and breakfast was a good selection of savoury and sweet. Excellent coffee! WiFi was good and stable Nice extra: free bus tickets into town Great walk/running/cycling route starting at hotel along the waterfront Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Our stay could only have been better with improved weather conditions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very accommodating and wanted to help in any way possible to make certain we enjoyed our stay. Location was good and about a 15-20 minute bus ride to the city center; free bus pass was provided by the hotel for the duration of our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderfull Location & Staff especially Mr Dominic the receptionist was very professional,helpful and cooperative Me & my family enjoyed to much in this hotel All the best

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too soft and smokers on other balconies made it difficult to use ours.

    Great location on the lake and terrific views, includuding from the restaurant. Staff were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Staff and hotel are nice. Beware of booking.com.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issue with Booking.com. Made reservation for 2 people but the hotel said Booking.com only reserved for one person. I was charged an extra 40 Swiss francs for the second person.

    View from hotel is amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Tranquil location with beautiful views of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have no complaints.

    The location was ideal for us as it provided a tranquil escape from the bustle of the busy tourist centre of Lucerne. The view from our balcony was stunning. Free bus passes were also available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    very enjoyable 2 night stay front of house very helpful, I will be going back at so.e
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a little tired 😫, room 201 is a over the kitchen service entrance , kitchen staff could be loud at times, banging dustbin lid and loud talking after lights out.

    Outlook over the lake was stunning, free pass for local transport very useful. Food ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    I have enquired about going back next year. I dont ever do that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not waking up the second morning to a lake view :(

    The view. Had to stay an extra night as was not too well, so we where moved to the front of the hotel, but the first night with the lake view was fantastic to wake up too. Staff were pleasant and helpful, and even had scrambled egg on the house, made for me, as i hadn't eaten for 2 days. Rooms clean and more than presentable. We ate on the second night in the restaurant, meals where nice(a bit too salty for my liking, could have held back a bit with the salt) but was made more pleasant by the 2 young staff who served us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.7
    The only reason I booked this hotel was because it had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hillside View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only reason I booked this hotel was because it had a pool. The pool was closed 3 out of the 4 days of our stay. Very disappointing.We were given a bottle of wine and a free trip around the lake but the booking was made because of the pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Too expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We was told that breakfast is extra, and we said that was ok. The morning after, half way through our breakfast, one of the staff said she did not think we should be having breakfast, because it is not included. This was embarrassing to us. The hotel was dis-organised, there was a lack of understanding between reception and the staff serving breakfast.

    Balconey.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    I would go here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Hillside
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One light in the room was broken. The minifridge was very bad. They need to put airconditioning in the room. Swimming pool was not so big and not deep at all, but its nice to have a regreshing pool anyway.

    Hotel was easy to find. Some parking spaces were tiny but others were okay. Room with hillside view had a great view and the room itself was big enough. The tv was good and you could put hdmi into it. The coffeemachine in the room was very good. Breakfast was fine, nothing special but also not bad.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    A pricey hotel which everything is just "OK" except the reception staff and the lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not so clean. The rooms are far less appealing than the photos provided from the website.

    The view of the rooms facing the lake, the reception staff, the free bus tickets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent view from lake view rooms. Worth the money!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location....Location and Location!! Excellent location on the Lake with beautiful view of the mountains around the lake! The rooms are nice, clean and has all the facilities one needs. Definitely book a room that has a balcony with Lake view!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful views, quiet location,easy access to Lucerne and attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a non smoking hotel however we were affected by othe guests smoking on the terrace, the smoke came in through our window as we were just above the terrace. We were also affected when eating breakfast under the covered terrace dining area. A dedicated smoking area well away from the dining terrace and building would help.

    Comfy beds, hotel generally very clean and quiet. Staff helpful and friendly. Stunning views. Bus pass included in price makes for easy access to Lucerne with buses every half hour just outside of hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice terrace and a small hotel beach by the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hillside View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small birds at the terrace that were eager to share breakfast with you.

    The hotel is by the lake with a nice terrace. The hotel had a small own beach, it was nice to go swimming there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.3
    Great location and wonderful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC!

    The room appeared to have AC, but it didn't work. It got very hot and didn't sleep as well because of it. The breakfast was great and the staff was very inviting and friendly. I would prefer to stay here again in the cooler months

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Switzerland road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning. The breakfast Buffett was good but there were lots of flies around due to the doors being open

    The location and view from our room was pretty. The bus stop to take you into town was right there. The hotel staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    A room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant menu was a bit limited, which meant if you ate there 2+nights in a row, there wasn't much choice, and none of our meals were particularly 'spectacular'. There was no air conditioning anywhere in the hotel, and it was extremely hot and humid, particularly at night. A fan was provided which improved things a bit. Overall this hotel was slightly disappointing in some ways, but the view and situation more than made up for it.

    The view from the balcony over the lake was beautiful, and the room was a decent size, with reasonable bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful and eating out on the terrace was very pleasant. If you don't want to stay in a 'town centre' hotel, then this hotel will suit you as it is quiet and rural, but the bus for the town centre of Lucerne leaves from outside the door and takes about 20 mins max. There is a also a public ferry service, which runs from a jetty next to the hotel, over to Lucerne every couple of hours, and makes a nice change from the bus or car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    The location is beautiful, just next to the lake, in a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room (superior double on the top floor) did not have AC, and the fan that was in the room made creaking noises when it was set to swivel. Additionally, only one of the three wings of the balcony door can be opened, the other ones are screwed shut. All of this, in the middle of summer, made for uncomfortably hot nights. The rooms also do not have accessible power outlets near the nightstands. The rooms on the top floor have sloped roofs, which made the shower a bit cramped. The quiet location of the hotel comes at a price though, as there was no restaurant even remotely in walking distance.

    The location is beautiful, just next to the lake, in a quiet village near Lucerne. The room was spacious and comfortable, and tastefully furnished. The pool, albeit small, was the perfect temperature and a pleasant place to be. The hotel has a private beach, which was perfect for cooling off in peace. The restaurant is expensive, but the beef burger was very tasty and the portion size was satisfyingly large. The rooms are nice and the view from the room was beautiful. Hotel staff was always friendly. If you want, you can take the boat to Lucerne or take a round trip around the lake, as the boat station is very near.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Great experience, with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be a bit better, and the minibar could have 2 of each if it's in a "double" room.

    Perfect location with stunning views of the lake and the Alps if you're room has that orientation. Big room with balcony, free minibar and coffee machine, good bathroom. Breakfast was good enough, the best part was to have it on the terrace. Wifi is pretty decent, good speed and works well. Bus stop right at the front of the property, and you get a free pass for the buses in Lucerne in the reception. Small swimming pool and access to a tiny beach to swim in the lake also a plus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one dislike was the quality of the towels, which was surprising for such an excellent hotel.

    Breakfast was excellent. The receptionist staff were also excellent. In particular, Dominic. He gave us advice on many occasions. We even had a free bus pass into Luzern. Our room with a lake and view of the mountains was perfect. The hotel was a little bit out of Luzern, in a suburb, but we chose it because it was and being out of the city was no problem because of the free bus pass and regular buses.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.3
    beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rudeness of the breakfast staff, very limited lunch and dinner menu at very high prices

    the location was very nice, out of the city and an easy bus ride to the city. fantastic views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for relaxation
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 Minutes by car to Luzern city center (too far to walk)

    - Quiet area, directly on the lake - Very helpful and kind employees - Free parking in the hotel (which is saving a lot of mony in Europe)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.0
    Not up to its former standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accounts have been in and penny pinched. The rooms are less well appointed and more expensive. Breakfast was glorious previously,tea or coffee served to you,however now it is self service. Not what I expect when I pay €420 for dinner bed and breakfast. The restaurant is good but very expensive. Staff at reception not very smartly dressed Will not be going back again.

    We have stayed many times before in this hotel,and thought we would give it another chance as last time it was not up to its usual standard. The view is lovely

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Picturesque Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - it seemed we were left with the scraps as empty dishes were not readily replaced. If asked the staff would happily oblige however.

    Very comfortable large room with stunning views of the lake and mountains. Bus stop immediately outside hotel with excellent links to city centre made travelling without our own vehicle easy. We appreciated the friendly and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    6.7
    A nice place at a great location that did however not meet our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hillside View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately Sauna and Wellness were closed over Xmas/New Year. As we came to know the hotel because of the Sauna, we were a bit disappointed. Instead there was some compensation with a voucher for free ice-skating in Luzern that in the end did not work out either as nobody really knew about the offer when we asked for it. All in all an good place but we found that price and service do not match.

    Great location. There are some free drinks in the room what we considered a nice detail.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location, nice restaurant and very pleasant people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Excellent location, nice restaurant and very pleasant people!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Disappointed - lakeside hotel without lake access
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On lake but no possibility to access lake to swim from hotel

    Well run business/conference type hotel - excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice and calm neighborhood, lakefront with nice view on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated room, tiny bathroom.

    Nice and calm neighborhood, lakefront with nice view on the mountains and lake. 7 minute drive to Luzern city center.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows very uncomfortable

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful view from the lake facing balcony!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff came across as a little rude sometimes

    Beautiful view from the lake facing balcony!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Unorganized staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unorganized staff. They were discussing and fight in front of customers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Bring your camera . Views are breathtaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning.

    Location. Beautiful. Free bus downtown and back. A boat comes to their dock to take you on a tour or to just take you downtown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Location view staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location view staff

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75