Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern 3 stars

Weinmarkt, 6004 Luzern, Switzerland

#18 of 70 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 726 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a great place. Our most expensive stay in Switzerland though. The hotel feels more like a 4 star hotel. Could have provided a fan in the room. It did get quite hot during our stay. A kettle to make hot drinks would have been good.

    Very clean. Hotel staff were pleasant. Comfortable beds. Room was spacious for the 3 of us. The location was excellent and near the shopping area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Definitely worth visiting again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road to the hotel is very rocky; not really suitcase-friendly.

    Location was very quiet. The room had an umbrella and coffee machine, which I didn't expect but made me happy. I'm always quite sensitive about bathrooms, and this hotel's bathroom was the best out of the hotels I stayed in Switzerland-spacious, clean and equipped with a powerful hairdryer! I'd definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Moderate hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircondition in the room felt very hot in the month of May. Breakfast was very expensive with a very few variety of items. Not value for money.

    Location was veey good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Swiss efficiency in a romantic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i asked the person at the hotel front desk for dining recommendations and was directed toward the general tourists areas where ‘pizza’ was common. I love pizza, but had asked for a Swiss food local. I can’t comment on the hotel breakfast at 19 SF. I thought it pricey, but heh, it’s Switzerland. I ate at a bakerei around the corner or one of two cafes with in a block of the hotel.

    The hotel is in Weinplatz, a beautiful square only one street off of the river, restaurants, and close to the sights without being overwhelming. It took my husband a 10-15 leisurely walk to get to the train station. A quick walker could do it in half the time. Dinner st Nix’s was delicious with a well thought out menu. Opus Also has a lovely setting with good menu but has a well sorted salad bar. (A rare treat when traveling.)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    A good value in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To avoid street noise get an inside room.

    Rooms were large and clean and beds were very comfortable. The location in the old city is great but street noise (late night drunks) can be a problem if you’re facing the street. We didn’t eat breakfast there for $20 pp since there were excellent little bakeries nearby where fresh baked goods and cappuccino could be had for $5.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable and very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the street noise in the morning. Although the street is mostly closed to vehicle traffic, we were woken up most mornings at 4-5am to the sound of deliveries, garbage trucks, structures being set up ect. Luckily I'm an early riser because the noise was seriously loud. There were a few events nearby the week we stayed so there may have been more noise than normal. Everything else was brilliant!

    I had a wonderful stay! Great location, clean room, comfortable bed and a lovely view of the wine market area. It was great opening the large windows and having a red wine on the sill. The two men at reception were friendly and very helpful! Heads up - most shops and restaurants are closed on sundays. Good day to go up the mountain!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    I like how it is centrally located in Lucerne and accesible...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like how it is centrally located in Lucerne and accesible to anywhere! nice view from the room too! bed is comfortable! good deal! plus the staff was so kind to make us check in earlier! Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    located right in the city center, very friendly and helpfull...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is extremly high. got recommended a nearby car park, but only 5 walking min away street parking fpor 24h is available for 18CHF

    located right in the city center, very friendly and helpfull staff rooms clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    lovely hotel, brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine, though the street cleaners outsidebwere a little noisy first thing in the morning.

    The staff were friendly, efficient and spoke good English. Very helpfully, when we left our cash and passports in the safe in our room Daniel did a brilliant job of forwarding everything by express post do that it caught us up the next morning, saving all our remaining travel plans.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in lovely Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on a pedestrian only street (or at least that what the signs say). We’ve seen cars circulating though. The car issue should be explained better when booking.

    Huge room, mixing old and new. Even if we didn’t use it, I have to note the humongous tv :-)) Great location for exploring not so car friendly Lucerne

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice easy hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. Hotel was good, breakfast not included in the room price. We stayed at two other hotels during our stay in Zurich and weggis and each of them had breakfast included for similar price. So don’t feel best for value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    The staffs there are quite friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chinese people really need a thermal jug in the room!!!(Hot water is very important for us)

    The staffs there are quite friendly.And the location is very good just ten minutes walk to the central station.Although it takes some time for us to find the place.Quite satisfied.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.4
    Location was great, but cleanliness could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - It was not so clean. Comforter smelled like perfume, as if it was not changed to a new sheet. Bathroom had pubic hairs on the wall. - There was no aircon or heater. - One girl day receptionist was not friendly at all, and seems pissed when you ask questions.

    Location was superb, right in the middle of the Old Town!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    excellent location,comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is a little bit expensive.

    We reserved a triple room but got a room for four persons, the bed was comfortable, the room was big and clean, service was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.8
    Would go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary breakfast was not offered - would have made all the difference.Amenities like dental kit were missing.

    Location is superb. Good rooms and staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent. Staff welcoming & very helpful. Rooms to a high standard-clean, beds comfortable. Would stay again if in Lucerne and will definitely recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    We had a fantastic holiday in Switzerland, also thanks to the comfort and location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We would have liked to have more space for clothing, especially shelving, as we only had hanging space in our room. A few hooks on the walls and in the bathroom would also come in useful.

    We particularly enjoyed the atmosphere of the old town and the square where the hotel is located, as well as having the train station so close by. The river promenade was also a couple of minutes walk away, as were a number of restaurants and sights.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would rate this hotel 2 or 1. This hotel is VERY difficult to find, even we had GPS. The lady at front desk was not welcome us. Room was small, beds were okay. Coffee machine was broken. Over prices

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were mostly disinterested in provided great service. Wifi didn’t work for half of our stay. No secure baggage storage facility. Poor noise insulation means that you could hear other guests conversations in the stairwell from our room.

    House keeping staff was friendly, room was kept clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Room was nice with coffea maker its free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View. Strategic place.coop supermarket just behind .. and asian food was all near.. aunthentic old town ... love it

    Room was nice with coffea maker its free...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Very cozy boutique hotel with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could've been a tiny bigger, but it was very clean, had everything I needed.

    Location can't be beat. Beautiful view of the square below. Very clean, comfortable bed, polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location within old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff could be more helpful, additional questions via booking.com haven't been answered at all. Not sure whom to blame, but we where actually looking for a night for two people via booking.com, the cheapest price shown for that search (the one I took in good belief) was actually for a double room for one person, which is why we had to upgrade for around 30 CHF at the hotel. Left me/us with a bitter taste in the end, I'm not used to similar pricing policies (the room is the same, isn't it?).

    Excellent location within old town. Rooms are not too big, but what to expect for that price in this certain area. Beds where very cosy, the accomodation was all tidy and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a some tea bags, instead of only a coffee maker.

    This hotel is very easy to walk to from the train station, it is central to all the sights and shopping area. The rooms are great, very roomy, beds comfortable, bathroom a good size - perfect!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    A so-so place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house keeper didn't clean the room well. There was leaves in the floor and it was still there when I left the room on the fourth day.

    The room is nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Awesome location for exploring Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location as others have said and we didn't have any issues with excessive noise. Parking is expensive in Switzerland in general but this property offers valet which makes it worth the money. This way you don't have to cart your belongings into the center of town on your own. The room was huge which was unexpected considering most hotel rooms in Europe are super small. Even the bathroom had two sinks! The shower was average so no complaints. Staff were nice and were able to answer all my questions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.3
    Great location, basic hotel, VERY noisy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was reconstruction works to a street that our room was facing when we were staying here. The noise was horrendous and we could not sleep at all. The works started about 6am and did not stop until 8.30am, they then continued again at 9am. The hotel did not offer any compensation for this. Quality of sleep was terrible!

    This hotel is situated in the old town of Luzern, beautiful cobbled streets with a fountain at the front. It is in walking distance (10 mins) from the main station, over the wooden bridge, a truly beautiful walk. The hotel however is very basic and feels like you are only renting a room from them with no additional services. The room itself was an OK size although could be been cleaner with a better, more modern bathroom. We only stayed in the hotel really to sleep so this was not an issue. The hotel room does not have a kettle or hot water. They do not provide water so make sure you bring your own.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was really expensive for valet, which is what I'd recommend given how far away garages are.

    Excellent location, though if you're coming by car it's less convenient. Breakfast looked really good, but we didn't opt for it as it was kinda spendy and we're not big breakfast eaters generally.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant hotel, would recommend, just check on street work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Street noise. The jack hammering outside our window was unbelievable. You couldn't hear yourself think. Went all day long and started again at 7 am the following morning. Wish we had know this before booking. Not the hotel's fault - but didn't make the room a pleasant stay. Only English channel was MTV.

    The location was awesome. Right in the middle of the square, and easy walking around to shops, restaurants, the river front and the lake. Walked to hotel with luggage from the train station. Upgraded to a quad room even though there were only two of us. Faced the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in a beautiful hotel, very good location close to train station but very quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived early evening and got an upgrade to an apartment. This is in another beautiful house just opposite to the Krone hotel. The apartment was really great with a very complete equipment. Just a pity that I didn't stay longer. Can only recommend that hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Super Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super Location.....our window was facing the square and market which in day time is a tourist attraction....very near to chappel bridge and in center of market area....had a nice comfortable stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location right in Old Town, a short walk from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no air conditioning and we were there in the middle of summer in a room on the second floor and it was hot. The fan they provide helps, but I would recommend asking for a room on a lower floor.

    Excellent location right in Old Town, a short walk from the Chapel Bridge and the train station. We had a room overlooking the plaza. Also close to lots of shopping and restaurants. Rooms were clean and had a small fridge. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Well located, small yet comfortable rooms with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Roadworks outside the window meant we were greeted with 7am jackhammers!

    Our family room was small but adequate. Breakfast had a small range but of excellent quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    Good location and nice room, but desk staff and breakfast cost were disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Vey noisy late into the night and early in the morning. The staff members at the desk barely looked up from their computer, and the extra cost for breakfast was high.

    Nice, clean, well appointed room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking logitics. In the site it is mentioned that you need to use valet parking. But the valet is not 24/7. So even when you can left the car in the street is not so convenient.

    The staff was very helpfull. And the location was great. Very close to the main attractions. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.9
    Lucern Altstadt Krone Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was too strong and needs a replacement. Beds need to be bit more firm and hard.

    The reception was good, breakfast was just right with good croissant and bread options. Centrally located and walking distance to the Chapel Bridge, train station and Pilatus Golden Round trip ferry pier. Excellent for families.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    4.2
    Wouldn't stay here again especially in summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a.c. so the room was very hot. Open the windows and it is too noisy. bathroom garbage wasn't cleaned out when we checked in.

    Location. View

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.2
    Lucerne old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Centrally located in Lucerne old town. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice large comfortable rooms. We had an apartment with a kitchen, living area, and washer/dryer (nice touch)! Good breakfast includes the standard continental faire. Everything you need for a nice stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor thing. The lift is small and has a full mirror on the back wall. It is easy to crash into the mirror when getting in if you are not concentrating or are wheeling in a suitcase. It needs some stickers or a poster attached to the mirror so you realise how shallow the lift is. It is ok after getting in the first time.

    We had a room on the fourth floor with a partial view. Easy walk from the station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Good standard for hotel, Enjoying with many shops around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very narrow restaurant for breakfast and table was not enough for guests. Far from the train station and I dragged the luggage on the ancient cobblestone floor at old town. Very hard and can't avoid it.

    Large and nice room for 4 persons. I got the room was bigger than the picture, Surprising for us!! The room is very clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. Many shops, Thai restaurant and market placed around the hotel because were located in old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Good little hotel in the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some bottled water in the room would be good, and a kettle! The combined coffee/tea machine is a little awkward to deal with. Although in a quiet square, weekday mornings can be a little noisy with deliveries etc (not the fault of the hotel)

    Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, location, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Authentic Hotel in Town Square of Old Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mirrored wall in the back of the lift is a hazard!

    The location is perfect on the Old Town of Lucern, the room was very clean and comfortable and the buffet breakfast (included) was delicious with many options to choose from. Staff were very froendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.1
    A few of the staff obviously don't like Asian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few of the staff obviously don't like Asian. I've witnessed twice how the breakfast server shouting at Asian guests, one of them is a little girl who was in pyjamas. She can address the issue with the parents not shouting across the hall.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is still affordable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is good BUT it is overcrowded. Several people had to wait. If I arrived for breakfast and was told there is no space and I needed to wait, I would not be amused. I time breakfast pretty finely into my day.

    The hotel is still affordable. The staff are very helpful. Order a taxi and it is there within 10 mins. The location in the old city of Luzern is wonderful; on an old cobbled square with fountain. Very picturesque. Within easy walking distance of: railway station, post office, several sights worth seeing, shopping and on Saturdays there is a charming local market with local bread, cheeses, fruit, vegetables and flowers. This market is a genuine little market not just for tourists!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Hotel Krone is 5 Star.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selections could have been better but it was perfectly fine

    The Hotel Altstadt Krone was amazing. Modern yet very cultural. Awesome, clean room and super helpful staff. When I go back to Lucerne I will only stay at Hotel Krone. Ask for room 13

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful little hotel in the old centre of Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being picky now but a hairdryer in the bathroom would have been appreciated.

    Excellent hotel in fabulous position in the old part of Lucern. Close to most sights, and surrounded by great restaurants and shops. Easy walking distance from train station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel to chill out
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit hard to park the car (pedestrian zone, needed to find how to go around) and the parking fee is 20 CHF per night, which is a bit high

    Excellent hotel, situated in the old town, from there you can access everything by foot. The room has all that was described and was really silent to sleep in.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    7.1
    Not too bad but not so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night and in the morning. You can hear the cleaning ladies are talking laud. The service of breakfast was not good. They need one more person to serve very well.

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hot water for taking shower in the morning was just...in the evening was much better. Breakfast could have abit better variety like having some hot food eg. scrambled eggs and bacon.....

    The location is great in the heart of the old city centre, 5mins away from the main train station... Staff was very helpful and nice. Room was spacious enough and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    10
    Would stay again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast was catered in and wasn't as amazing as I wanted, but my expectations were high.

    The views from our room of the fountain, cobblestone street and the beautiful architecture was a treasure we weren't expecting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.9
    The double room had a proper double bed (not 2 mattresses...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is small and gets very busy at weekends. The heating was set too high and the room was very hot as a result, so I ended up sleeping with the window open in the middle of November.

    The double room had a proper double bed (not 2 mattresses side by side).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.3
    Rude front desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the young man at the front desk was arrogant. We arrived by train from Switzerland that morning, walked from train station with luggage to hotel, he was on the phone, and already had a young man checking in when we arrived. So I patiently waited, even though I needed to use the facilities and then had another woman come in after me and he helped her first . when I mentioned I had been waiting, they mocked me as if I were an impatient American Extremely turned off by that .

    Clean modern comfortable room, with great pillows and beds... Our room had a window that opened up to overlook the town Square which was nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.3
    15mins walk from Lucerne HB
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast provided was measly. Reception staff, a lady, can't remember her name, was in a bad mood when we checked out.

    Located in the old town. Beautiful part of Lucerne to walk around. Safe at night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    WE LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS HOTEL. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED INDEED
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NONE.

    We visited 6 countries in Europe and our hotel in Lucerne (this hotel) is the best! The staffs are very nice and accomodating. Room is very clean. The housekeeping staffs does are really good job cleaning the room. My cosmetics in the bathroom that used to be everywhere was organized properly everyday. EXCELLENT EXCELLENT! The bed, pillow and blanket are very comfortable. Oh and how could I forget this hotel's terrific location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Luzern revisited for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Challenging to arrive at hotel by car as one of a group of three hotels.

    Spacious and clean room and balcony on top floor. Central Old Town location and convenient to shops, restaurants and lake side.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    Fantastic location and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was facing Weinmarkt so it could be noisy at times and especially in the early mornings when there's delivery to the shops nearby. It was very hot during the 4 nights we were there and there was only one fan available which wasn't sufficient. If we've had another fan, it would have been more bearable.

    There were 3 of us. We liked the 3 single beds in the room and the view of Weinmarkt from our room windows. The bread, croissants and latte were good at breakfast. The lady single handedly managed the tables, drinks and food was always smiley and courteous. The location was great! About 10 minutes walk from train station, would be much less if without lugguage! The lady receptionist booked us a taxi for the train station for the next morning as we were checking out. The taxi was there waiting for us even though we were 10 minutes early! Really liked the coffee maker in the room as well as the availability of ice located just outside our room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Great location and comfortable for family with young kids to get around
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We're not used to having no aircon so was a little stuffy with the fan at night. There's a coffee machine but no water kettle.

    Great location! 5 mins walk from the train station and ferry point. Near to the lake with ample waterside restaurants. 2 mins walk to the nearby supermarket. Great place to stay with young kids especially when they tire easily. We found day trips to the nearby mountains easy because of the location. Comfortable family room that sleeps 4. Very clean. Decent sized considering.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.2
    Clean, modern and friendly hotel right in the centre of old Luzern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast gets a little busy in the later hours with a very small room, so we had to wait for 10 mins, but a minor inconvenience only.

    Location is terrific. Did everything possible to make us comfortable (e.g. fans in rooms in summer are very helpful). Clean and modern rooms. Friendly staff and excellent customer service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.2
    There is coffee machine in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we stay in the room during the day the cleaining lady did not come to clean my room. I asked to clean, she only change towels and waste basket.

    There is coffee machine in the room. Good location. Nice view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    10
    Lovely new apartment just across from the hotel itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely new apartment just across from the hotel itself. Equipment and facilities of a very high standard. Very friendly welcome from the reception staff at checkin and checkout. And a great price via Booking.com.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    Sweet Spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soap dispensers in the bathroom were not refilled during our 3 day stay. I didn't realize this fact until I was in the middle of showering.

    Clean, bright, and modern room overlooking one of the market squares. We stayed at 4 different hotels while in Switzerland and this was tied for our favourite. We greatly appreciated the bar fridge and the close proximity to a local grocery store. Without these amenities we would've spent a lot more money on food. This was the only hotel (of the ones we stayed at) that had a bar fridge. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast buffet was always ample.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.8
    3 days in Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed there for 3 nights. We enjoyed the big and nice room for a family of 4. Very great location (old town) close to the central station (10 min) and the Chapel Bridge.Nice staff at the reception.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    6.7
    Great location, but austere, hot (in summer) and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very austere - almost institutional - public areas: uncarpeted, minimally finished concrete floors, plain painted walls, etc Very little shelf space and NO drawer space for clothes Noisy. Trucks start delivering to nearby shops at 6am, and lots of street noise, late into the night, from people leaving local bars As in virtually every hotel in the old town, there is no air conditioning, so windows have to be left open - Luzern gets very hot in summer - exacerbating the noise problem

    About as central in the old town as you can be Beautiful exterior Comfortable (if rather plainly decorated) room Pleasant staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Prime location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was superb, the staff friendly, and the bed (and pillow) very comfortable. My view from room 41 was gorgeous. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    Perfect location in Luzerne!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location!!! The hotel has a prime location in the center of everything. The staff is friendly and attentive and room clean and neat. We are a family of four and had a great time at this facility. I definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.8
    Great for a short stay in Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean room, good breakfast and very central. Staff were super helpful. Only a short walk from the train station and positioned in a beautiful little town square.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    6.7
    Expensive due to location , breakfast good, staff not very helpful or freindly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Secure parking charged for but car had not been moved all night due to late arrival which was a worry as the car was packed for our journey.There was a slight mix up over rooms booked and staff member was quite rude to say it was my fault and nothing could really be done as bigger room was not available. ( when we arrived it was !) ,added extra stress to our journey.

    Breakfast was very good . Location excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    6.7
    Great location, large rooms, staff with attitude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bed was inside a tiny room that had a low roof. There was only one small fan in the room that we had to share between 4 people. The staff at the front desk had attitude. They got annoyed when we were asking questions.

    The location was great. The rooms were big and clean. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent tourist hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Easy walk to all city locations. Close to train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Perfect for family. Each member get a bed. Perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Spacious room and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small elevator and no electric kettle in room

    Spacious room and comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location - in the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location - in the heart of the old town. We woke up with the sound of birds. The room was clean and big. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    guite acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy early in tne morning from the street.

    Generally good a d comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Good location, helpfull staff and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, helpfull staff and clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Location is great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water .

    Location is great !!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Good location, room and bathroom is clean and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, room and bathroom is clean and nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: