Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Lauberhorn 2 stars

Obere Gletscherstrasse 41, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#19 of 39 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 445 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room balconies provide excellent views of the north face of the Eiger. Our room was comfortable with a small but adequate bathroom. The staff are very friendly and helpful with advice about suitable activities and weather forecasts (important for deciding when to go up the mountains). Complimentary tea was available for several hours in the late afternoon and there is always access to hot water (for beverages). On Saturday night a BBQ was on offer. The food was delicious and we enjoyed dining outdoors in the company of other guests. The hotel also has homemade soup which can be ordered for a light evening meal. The hotel is too far from the railway station to drag luggage (although we walked back up to the hotel from the town centre several times when unencumbered), but there is a bus stop out the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Corner Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great with good cold cut fresh delivered bakery, and wide variety of tea. The room are clean, comfortable and with good view. The young lady who checked us in was so friendly and helpful. However, I have the feeling that the morning woman staff has shown some attitude to Asian like us. She acted totally different when American guests were in the house. Thats the only thing that made us feel incomplete about this lovely hotel. Still highly recommend for visitors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is easily accessed with the free transport card offered by the hotel. Conny is a very friendly and nice hostess, she advices the best hiking route which entrance is right in front of the hotel. Host Beni is an experienced and confident pilot of gliding, it was great experience to fly with such a professional pilot. Room is very clean, with nice view to the mountain, breakfast is excellent. It was really a comfort stay. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the hotel is quite far from restaurants

    - room was nice and clean, we had view at Eiger - breakfast was very good, fresh and local products. - staff was very friendly and helpful. - very good wifi - nice and cozy bar and lounge with magazines

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cosy and clean. The staff were really friendly throughout the whole stay. Our room had an amazing view of the mountain. The breakfast was surprisingly good, there was a lot of choice of foods and drinks. Overall, 10/10

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection wasn’t great but not a big issue at all.

    The view was breath taking, breakfast was fresh and really lovely. The rooms were clean and spacious. Owners were lovely and very very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    Amazing experience, I was a bit confused when I read the reviews but as soon as we entered the property vibes were really positive. The property is very well maintained and clean with all the amenities. I loved the way the facilities in the rooms are organised. I had a room with balcony which was facing the Eiger mountain and it was breath takingly beautiful. The property is very well located with easy access to public transport and then to regional trains. Breakfast is very nice with all basic needs and the receptionists are very polite and helpful. We went as a couple and had an awesome and relaxed time. I would this hotel 10 out of 10.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was fresh and everything that you could want. Room clean and bed comfortable, great bathroom facilities with good pressure in shower. Balcony looking out onto the mountain, spectacular views. Great bar with great selection of wine. Big ski room. Couldn't ask for more from the hotel at this price point.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff's attitude was not nice. Because we've cancelled the dinner restaturant they've helped to book because of jetlag..? Anyway most of the things were very nice but unfortunately I did not feel pleasant to stay there. I would not go back. And the view for the Eiger? You can probably be able to find it from most of accomodation spots in Grundenwald area.

    Clean and cozy. There was a bus station just in front of hotel, so it was convient to go to the centeral area, station or other places. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is only a suggestion, technically it doesn't come under what is didn't like. The breakfast menu can be improved. There were not many options to eat as such.

    Amazing view, very hospitable staff. It's a total value for money deal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lifestyle Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with a balcony but overlooked surrounding car park chalets. Only a partial mountrain view and not the full scenery one. Is a good 15 min downhill walk in to grindelwald

    Location, new bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would never go back to this place. The owner of this place was about to enter in a fight with me "the customer" when we first arrived to check in. He literally put his face in front of my face in a very rude and violent way threatining me to "get in trouble" and saying exactly "I'm the boss now!". He said this as a response to me when I reapectfully requested him to be respectful and polite to customers. When I asked him to be polite to customers, he said "we are 2 stars hotel!"!! I thought 2 stars hotel means the facilities are 2 stars, nit the quality of people is 2 stars! Also note that you are not allowed to take shower after 10 PM nithrr to walk on your room floor. Very disappointing experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no significant complaints.

    Bed was comfortable. Great view of majestic mountains outside our window and balcony. Good breakfast and breakfast space. Friendly and welcoming staff. For a small fee laundry was done for us. Very important when traveling for several weeks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They spoiled our travel Annoying situation occurs when we had breakfast. then, I expressed my bad feeling but their way to handle that problem was trying to take a picture of me to reject the review. Even the owner couple spoke German that i don't understand during conversation with me. Doesn't it suck too much?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Built from wood and every step makes a noise. But yeah, this is clearly stated in hotel's description.

    Spectacular view from the room. Great local products for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really lovely hotel just 15min walk from the main part of town so it was nice and quiet. Owners and staff were all great and very helpful with recommendation about what to do in the area and restaurants. Parking on site at no extra cost was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are smoker, can’t smoke in the balcony and after 9pm, have to change the key in the lobby if you wanna go out of building for smoking.

    Eiger view, friendly staffs, clean rooms, lovely decorations and breakfast was super nice. I would like to stay here again ;)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Following the death of a close family member (dear grandmother), we had to cut our stay three nights earlier (out of seven) than scheduled, it would be an unforgettable warm experience if the hotel would deviate a little from its rigid rules and charge only the nights we stayed. We left to the airport with disappointment.

    View of the room was wonderful. The hotel is a little far from the center but easily accessible by car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in the shower and no hard door separating this area to the room is a very poor design making it uncomfortable. But everything else was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel location, friendly atmosphere and breakfast especially Croissants and Cheese. The hotel has all the facilities for the tourists and located in amazing view of Eiger Mountain. The stay in the Hotel Lauberhorn was excellent with very friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was not as soundproof as it should have been. We could hear next doors toilet flushing from within our toilet and low voices etc.

    The breakfasts were superb. The views were lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and serviced every day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you missed the last bus, please be prepare to do some uphill walk.

    Our room have an amazing view of the Alps. Absolutely breath taking view. Nice location, slightly away from the bustling crowd of town. If you doesn't like the uphill walk back to the hotel, just catch a bus at the town. Will definitely stay here again if we revisit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kinda far from Grindelwald station, but you can take a bus from there. just need to be aware of bus schedule.

    Good view of Eiger. Good breakfast. Friendly Staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small for the money. It was a 20 minute up hill walk from town and buses stop running early. There are few restaurants in town and they are hugely expensive. Staff were polite and helpful but I did not get a sense of welcome and warmth.

    The bed was fine but the pillow was like hugging a big brick. Room was clean, modern though small. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not cooperate and feel not happy when asking them more than once. I remembered the lady whos welcomed us she was not happy to let me ask more than one answer. And she didn't helpd me about the bus that it costs me money going to busslap

    Amazing view from my room it is just breathtaking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was expecting a little bit more room amenities for the price we paid. There is no refrigerator in the room and the bathroom set-up is weird (the shower is literally in the room).

    Excellent location with an absolutely gorgeous view of the mountains. Basically, the premium price you are paying is for the breathtaking view and not for luxury. Of course, that pretty much goes for the prices everywhere in Grindelwald and the Jungenfrau/Interlaken area. This hotel is pretty much the "Best Deal" in Grindelwald in terms of affordability and accommodations. I definitely recommend just don't expect premium amenities. This shouldn't be an issue anyways as you should be outside exploring the beauty and adventure the area has to offer!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The gentlman was so kind but the ladies are not. A bit far from city center, a small shower booth, no refrigerator.

    Breakfast was nice, fresh bread. Parking lot is just front of the hotel. We stayed Eiger veiw double room, great scenary from the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    Loved the overall look and cleanliness. Great facilities for Mountain Biking. Owner's are great and the breakfast is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only regret is that I didn't stay longer at Hotel lauberhorn!

    I absolutely loved the room-- the view was amazing and the bed was so comfortable! Everything was extremely clean and the staff was very helpful. If I find myself in Grindelwald again I will absolutely stay here!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Spacy and confortable room, nice balcony and nice people, nice place. Simple good breakfast but fresh food and enough. It's on a slope just less than 10min walk from the center. The way back to the hotel can be a little bit tiring but it's OK if you do it slowly. For Swiss pricess and in the high season, it's a good value for money rate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very satisfied.

    Located near the edge of town, thus delightfully quiet with splendid view of the mountains from the front rooms, this hotel is still centrally located due to frequent complimentary public bus service to the center of town (3 stops) and immediate areas. Avoid the masses of tourists and lack of parking in Grindelwald center and consider this property seriously. Although hotel serves breakfast only, a nearby hotel (5 minute walk) recommended by the staff serves very good food including Swiss specialties at reasonable prices making the overall Lauberhorn Hotel experience an excellent one.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom has no door but only a plastic curtain. It is not a problem if you stay alone.

    The room is very clean. The decoration is modern and new. Breakfast is delicious. The pilot of paraliding is the owner of this hotel so the guests can get a cheaper price comparing with the other companies.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I personally have no complaints! But for any particular western travelers I am posting these points: The bathroom and shower were stocked with wonderful herbal liquid soaps! We loved them....but if you are a looking for the standard set of mini-shampoo bottles, conditioner, lotions etc....they are not going to be here. The beds were a comfortable, clean, fitted bottom sheet with a fluffy comforter and pillow combination. (No top sheets) The rooms did not have bulky dressers w/drawers....but instead have many shelves about to store your belongings and dedicated areas for hanging your clothing. No in- room phone, radio, alarm clock, safe etc... (there is a flat screen tv in every room....but we never turned on a tv during our 5 day stay!) No 24hr desk service. Yes, the hotel is less sound-proofed than your conventional hotels, but each room has a large "quiet" sign posted on the inside of your door to remind guests to be courteous to your neighbors....and I did not experienced any noise problems at all. In general, most people are sleeping early and waking early in the Alps!

    A delightful, small scale hotel with personal touches throughout. The Lauberhorn was clean & fresh with each room having its own distinct personality. We experienced 4 rooms during our stay. A solo (103), 2 lifestyle rooms (dble w/balcony 208 & 209) and an Eiger view double w/balcony (105). We were pleased with them all! My favorite theme was the Lemon/Lime rm 209 and the best views by far were the Eiger facing rms of 103/105, with room 208 winning for most luxurious shower!. Conni and Ben are wonderful hosts and will dedicate as much time as you have questions on where to go and what to see. It is clear that they care about each and every guest. Connie spends the entire breakfast hours every morning being available to chat (she is multi- lingual) with the guests ready to embark on their adventures. The breakfast was perfect.....and exactly what is needed for physical day of hiking the Alps. Eggs (for self-boiling), yogurts, Muesli/cereals, Meat selections, cheese selections, oatmeal, fresh fruits (sliced and whole) assortment of local breads, croissants, jams and honey. Teas (including garden peppermint or ginger tea), coffee and juices. The breakfast room is bright and sunny with a wonderful view of the Eiger! The hotel is set slightly away from the town (which we preferred) but still a very easy walk or a free bus to/from if you prefer, and the bus stop is right in front of their property. We chose to walk and did so, many times, as it was only about a 10 minute (?) enjoyable walk to the start of town. The hotel does not have any in-room safes, but honestly, it was not needed, as this is probably one of the safest hotels you can stay in! It felt homey and warm. They have beautiful b/w photography of the area and of mountain biking treks throughout the hotel. It was another personal touch to enjoy. The key system was unique. You exchange your bulky room key for a small, easy to carry key and if you arrive late...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I could be picky, but for the price & location: "I'll be back"

    Grindelwald is the real picture postcard Switzerland that everyone thinks of. View from the room was 11 out of 10 and loved sitting on our balcony just looking at the mountains & the changing colours. Well worth staying at least 3 nights in this excellent location & We used it as a base to visit Jungfraujoch having read this advice on the web: "Stay a few nights in Grindelwald (the views are worth it). Get up at 6:15am each morning and ensure there aren't many clouds hanging around. They offer a "Good Morning" ticket to Jungfraujoch (departs at 7:15am) which is CHEAPER and you BEAT THE CROWDS and the sun is perfect for pictures. You don't have to book in advance. Just buy your ticket the same morning. When I got to Jungfraujoch, I SKIPPED the "Tour" and headed straight for the 360° platform. I had about 45-60min (mid September) before the group tours got there and overtook it. Dress for cold weather and have fun :)" This was good advice, even for our mid June visit & only extra I'd add if it's a sunny day would be to depart Jungfraujoch ~12:45 and have lunch at "Restaurant Eiger Nordwand" which is 5min walk from "Kleine Scheidegg" mid train Station, then carry on back down to Grindelwald. Good safe parking & can walk ~15min to village centre have a drink or two & get the free bus back to the hotel :-)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was nothing that I did not like. It would have been nice if there was bus service in the evening . But that is no fault of this Bed and Breakfast hotel.

    breakfast was great, loved the loose leaf tea. Staff was able to provide info on hiking options. Very quiet at night. View was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was alot of noise from the room above us, it would benefit from having a carpet fitted as opposed to a hard floor. Sadly Switzerland is getting a bit pricey for us Brits, no fault of the hotel though.

    Superb view from our balcony of the Eiger and an excellent breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff, nice homely feel and relaxed, a little away from main Grindelwald (about 5 mins walk), so in the evenings there is lots of peace and quiet. Has a lovely outdoor seating and views of the Eiger. I even did the paragliding with Beni and it was an experience to remember - I highly recommend. While other professional providers will give you 10mins of flight time, Beni gives you 20 in the same cost. Loved it! One evening we wanted to have some wine and a picnic and they provided us with cutlery, ice and other bits.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival the staff treated guests with a condescending attitude, except for white German speakers, who were treated exceptionally well. Bedsheets were extremely uncomfortable, it was coarse and itchy, causing an itch that lasted throughout the day. Shower stalls in the Eiger view rooms made it awkward for friends to share a room. The square stalls, carved out of the wall like a cave, was only covered by a curtain, with no space to turn. It felt like showering at the gym. The staff did not have much knowledge of activities in the surrounding area, they gave us misleading information about the toboggan and the glacier canyon, and as well gave suggestions to tourist traps. Rules were put in place to make up for the flaws of the "hotel" facilities. The atmosphere felt more like a youth hostel or a summer camp. Guests were repeatedly lectured to not shower before 10pm, in order to avoid hot water pipe sounds at night as to not disturb other guests, the information was announced upon arrival, in the elevator, in the guest rooms, and throughout our stay. Although this didn't seem to stop anyone from showering after 10pm curfew. Room parties were also forbidden after 10pm. We were told to keep the tv volume down, and advised to get an early night sleep. Breakfast time was an opportunity to check up on the guests' plans, or to breathe down their necks and watch them eat. It felt like the people who ran the place would almost prefer residents of grindelwald to stay at the "hotel," rather than tourists. If you're not European, expect to be treated differently, as a second preference.

    The view from the balcony of the Eiger view rooms, and as well the little reading bench in front of the balcony windows. Breakfast had very good croissants, and a good tea selection. The cleaning staff was polite and kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt that this was a boutique hotel for young, active people. It seemed to be geared to cyclists. While there was an elevator, the room itself was not accommodating to seniors at all. The beds were very low to the ground and the shower stall was in the bedroom and elevated, with an 18 inch step to get in/out. No stool or half step was provided.

    Our room was pleasant with a balcony and a lovely view. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The included breakfast was typical European fare: cold cuts, cheese, hard boiled eggs, croissants, breads, cereal, yogurt.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    thebathroom were clean and great but sometimes a bit inconvenient specially when with family .. pro ably something that could be looked into .. but definitely not a deal breaker .. we are surely going back again !

    Awesome and personalized attention from the entire team .. extremely hospitable and great attention to detail.. Beni , conny and Anita were just great hosts .. great location and superb breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi. Only one device per person can access the wifi .so forget about using both your tab and phone. Also it is of poor quality. So double minus. What I also found odd was the bathroom. It is a tiny space in the bedroom covered with a curtain. The breakfast options are quite limited according to european breakfast.

    The location is absolutely lovely. It is very near to first bahn, and is at walkable distance from grindelwald main station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn't friendly. Wifi was very slow and they only provided for 2 devices free. Breakfast was unsatisfactory. No scramble eggs/bacon/sausage.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Impossible to cancel or even change travel dates without payment!!......nothing is without a price. We had the impression maximum profit for minimum effort was the Hotels mission.

    The view was very good..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say, that the only thing that I did not like was leaving, I could have easily spent another week at this hotel.

    The room was very clean and comfortable, plenty of hot water, and shower. Stunning views of the mountains.The owners of this hotel really work hard at making your stay very comfortable, and enjoyable, and have a great knowledge of the area.I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel, And next time I visit Switzerland I will book here again for sure!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    wonderful and friendly staff, stylish and original decor in the rooms with fantastic attention to detail. A refreshing change from the usual anonymous hotel rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very helpful and welcoming throughout the stay and quick to answer any questions. I stayed in a beautiful, large room that was decorated in a quirky, modern style. Would definitely stay here again, the view from the room was breathtaking!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most friendly and helpful staff. Great location, even if it's a short walk/bus ride (bus stop infront of the hotel) from the center. The location is very pleasant. Rooms are most comfortable and nicely decorated. Ski room and shoe room easily accessible from the ground floor. Incredibly breakfast with lots of local food and beautifully presented. Will definitely stay here on our next visit!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi in the room was very intermittent.

    The hotel is wonderfully located with stunning views over the mountains. Breakfast was simple but wonderful with a huge selection of locally made bread, cheese, meats and home made conserves - I would return for the breakfast alone.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were satisfied with all facets. But we had to leave way too soon. Would love to return.

    Our hosts were wonderful. Facilities were comfortable and cozy, tap beer available in the lobby. Breakfast was great, including a nice variety of locally sourced breads, juice, jam, yogurts, cheese - we enjoyed it immensely and it started the day off right. We were made to feel very much at home. Nearby two nice restaurants within a short walk. Beni was very knowledgeable about the local area, and the hotel was able to print travel passes for local sightseeing, very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a wooden house thus sound insulation is bad, in the night we can hear snoring clearly from next door, definitely nightmare for light sleeper. You'll also feel guilty to flush the toilet post 10pm. Curtain is thin and not covering the window well, so light come in early. We leave in a rainy morning but the hotel refused to send us to the station, with 2 very large luggages, we feel so bad the staff is not offering any help and just let us wait in the pouring rain, will not come back to this hotel given the service is not worth the price and you can find better choice in this area.

    The room in general is comfortable with sufficient facilities. Breakfast is good though you will not expect any change on choice. There was a quick pickup from station to the hotel, just make the phone call. Location is fine, 1.6km from the station or 15-20min walk, alternatively, you can take the front door bus but interval range from 30-60mins.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    having to come home.

    There was absolutely nothing to complain about, the beds were firm, the bathroom was modern and extremely clean, the whole hotel was modern and welcoming. areas to sit and relax plus the views were amazing. The staff all spoke English and offered assistance on our days when we asked, were friendly and not pushy. Plus the drying room was a bonus for us, when we arrived wet in our open top cars. This is an activity based style hotel... loads of info at their finger tips

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only complaint with the room was the walls which were paper thin, so every cough and doors opening or closing is noticeable. Probably the most annoying was the toilets flushing, use of the taps on the wash basin and the showers being used, which it is recommended you don’t use after 10pm for this very reason.

    I was looking for a decent price hotel in the Grindleward area, especially with Switzerland being as expensive as it is, and came across this on a hotel booking website. I opted for this particular hotel as the room was ensuite, and had a balcony with an Eiger view - other hotels were charging a premium for a room looking on to the Eiger. The hotel also offered a pickup service from Grindleward which I duly took advantage of. You can either arrange a pick up time beforehand, or just call reception when you arrive. Alternatively, you can just take the bus and get off at the Lauberhorn stop, or walk which takes around 20 minutes . The hotel is relatively small with just 3 floors, and has the beautiful look of a cosy wooden chalet. Check-in was a breeze, and the reception area was full of leaflets and brochures of activities you can do in the area such as Paragliding, cable cars etc, and more importantly menus from almost all of the restaurants in Grindleward! My room was quite spacious, considering it was a single room, and view from the balcony was simply amazing – a real pleasure to wake up to such a view each morning. The ensuite was split into three, with a shower on one side built into the wall, the toilet in a separate, but very small, room on the opposite side, and finally the wash basin further down. There was no tv in the room, but it had a desk, wifi, chair and wardrobe. The wifi was on the slow side and it is only for use with one device. The breakfast is more than adequate, in the nice dining area on the ground floor. There is a selection of breads, cheeses, spreads and beautifully soft croissants. The selection also included Bircher Museli, cereals, a vast area of regular and herbal teas, all fresh and loose. You can even boil your own eggs, just put your name on it with the marker provided, and then follow the timing instructions provided – they even have egg timers for you.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a disabled parking bay nearer the door. But this is dependent on the number of guests. But it is not something that you cannot get over

    We liked the friendly atmosphere and all the staff where very helpful. the hotel is in a very pretty spot,with fantastic views of the Eiger My wife is disabled and they did every thing they could for her, to make our time brilliant. Anybody who is disabled need not worry at all

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather unfortunately.

    Everything, the attention to detail is exceptional, the breakfast is second to none. Nothing is forgotten and very efficient. Wished we could have stayed longer, definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    I stay here for three days,the host is helpful and nice.Its convenient to take the bus to hostel.The room is love ly,clean,and have a beutiful view.You can book the paragliding here and its more cheaper,the pilot Benny is nice and professional。I enjoyed my stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not a bit issue for me but the hotel is a good 20 minute walk from the train station. There is a bus service during the day but not in the evenings if you go into the town for a meal.

    View from balcony. Wide range of food for breakfast. The hotel makes a effort to give top service to build their business. Clean and tidy. A quiet location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is up the hill from the central part of town. There is a free bus service one can take if they want to wait. If you walk, you need to be reasonably fit walking back up to the hotel. Some of the staff appeared to be friendly, others were not friendly and seemed put out when asked questions

    Beautiful views from the hotel. There is also a lawn area in front where one can sit and relax. It is in a relatively quiet area as it is up the hill from the primary tourist area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great guest house for everyone, but especially cyclists and hikers. Benni and Connie went out of their way to recommend routes, provide maps, and generally go the extra effort in all regards. Great breakfast with local products. Really good coffee. Super cool vibe. Easy stroll into town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    10 lminutes walking from center.

    The view on the eiger and its glacier is amazing. They have a cosy garden to relax and the staff is not only helpful but extremely friendly! Would go back without hesitation... 5 days were not enough!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad soundproofing (you hear your neighbors), shower and washbasin directly at the room, high price, no free water at the arrival

    Beautiful place, amazing view from the balcony, delicious breakfast, free parking

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit far from the city center, just 15' walk but on the top of the road (a bit steep slope). Nice walk though, and you are at the montains anyway :-)

    Really comfortable, nice atmosphere and very friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's hard to fault Lauberhorn. Some people may find it a little difficult to step up and down out of the shower, but that's about it.

    Clean comfortable accommodation with great views and breakfast. The owners and all the staff are very helpful and friendly.Their local knowledge of the mountains is so fantastic and great when you're trying to plan your visit.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are a few restrictions/notices for your room. The hotel has thin walls and floors and so you must shower before 10pm and be quiet when in the room. However, was not much an issue since they provide remedies such as ear plugs, eye mask, candy, etc, and you can easily meet those requests to be courteous to the neighbors. Overall not a minus, just something to note.

    The view from the balconies of Eiger are breathtaking. Truly one of the best views in town! The location is a bit up the road from the hustle and bustle, but easily walk-able in a few mins. Breakfasts were wonderful and filling. Also the lunches provided were a cheap alternative to eating out every day. Sandwiches were huge and very tasty. The staff was very nice and courteous and always helpful with your daily plans in Grindelwald. We went paragliding with Beni the owner and it was an awesome experience. I highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location with mountain views of the north face of the Eiger. Ample parking and free public bus travel down to main town, and back. Third time staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly host who can bring us to paragliding with free photos

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complains

    The location was good for us; it was a bit out of town, we like to walk and be away from the 'hustle & bustle'

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    This is just what you'd expect but better. The breakfast is amazing and a great healthy way to start the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like leaving.

    The staff were exeptionally nice and helpful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast, small room.

    Amazing view, balkony, Clean room, modern bathroom, nice stuff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hot water could have been hotter

    Good bed, great view, wonderful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room at the rear was small with no view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night

    not a very convenient location for traveler without a car.

    Nice Mt view and balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated furnishing

    Location near train station and fairly clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Eiger View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a room with a view of Eiger mountain, the view was amazing. Quite quirky hotel which works well. lovely staff and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: