Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Merian am Rhein 4 stars

Rheingasse 2, Old Town Kleinbasel, 4005 Basel, Switzerland

#43 of 56 hotels in Basel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 975 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Free minibar and coffee with machine.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Panoramic view is very good, however it was near smoking area that smell some smoke which I don't like it. There are 2 beds in the room, however the bed are very closed (not separate) to each others.

    Free minibar and coffee with machine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Staff are welcoming & helpful, location is excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not cope in the bedroom with the extreme heat with the fan provided🤨 we were unlucky it was so hot!

    Staff are welcoming & helpful, location is excellent & beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Fabulous location and hotel if you can handle the heat and noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Girl who checked us in didn’t explain anything, including wifi password, how to get to street without taking front steps etc. Travelling with mum who’s knee is chronic. Noise of an evening unbearable, right underneath our window. Most terrible, screaming bands nearly every night until about 10.30pm. NO AIRCON, OUR ROOM WAS STIFLING HOT!!!! Beware!!!

    The location was fabulous, right on the nicest bridge in Basel. Beautiful building. Most of the staff were superb, Eric in particular was exceptional and we’ve never in all of our travels had anyone come close to his attentiveness, courtesy and assistance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful location, but not if you want a good night sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air-conditioning. Loud noise from the river bank and hotel next door until early hours in the morning. Not a place to have a good night sleep on a summer night.

    The room had a great view over the river facing west on a hot summer day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    The landscape is beautiful. the location is nice. communication is bad.
    • Family with young children
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I told you I would stay with my daughter. I requested two separate beds. they did not respond to this request. two single beds. but adherent 😞 the hotel has communicated for money. but it did not communicate on the separate bed. and the beds are sticky.

    like you are in istanbul Bosphorus. the location of the hotel is nice. There is a Manor shop in the immediate vicinity.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and many bugs while windows opened to cool the room in the evenings. Breakfast too expensive (25 CFR/day/person). Limited devices on wifi and unstable power for charging devices.

    Good location close to public transportation, which was free with the travel voucher.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.6
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only slept one night in the hotel from 4 nights booking without a refund and I change the hotel for bad service..they don’t have a helper to curry the bags !!! We are in the year 2018 and they don’t have air conditioning but using fans!!!

    I didn’t like anything in the place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Good central position Easy to get to public transport Shops...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had problems with a member of the restaurant staff but the restaurant manager behaved well and sorted the problem out

    Good central position Easy to get to public transport Shops within easy walking distance restaurant on sight

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    If Only!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rated as 4star but nowhere near it. No air-conditioning, room and ensuite need updating, bed linen was stretch towelling, no porterage for heavy cases and hotel needs serious investment. A huge disappointment

    Hotel has probably the best location in Basel- absolutely stunning views of bridge and river and access to the old centre. Staff did their very best. Owners need to open their wallets and make this into the gem it should be!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    The view was stunning we had a room on the fifth floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning we stayed in July and it was very hot hard to get to sleep at night because of the heat. We had dinner at the Resturant at the hotel the food was excellent but our waiter had no personality and his English was limited. So didn’t add to the experience which was a bit disappointing as the meal was very expensive. Better value to be found else where perhaps.

    The view was stunning we had a room on the fifth floor facing the river Rhine. We couldn’t believe how stunning the view was day & night. It was so close to all the sight seeing locations. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    lovely hotel, great location
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no air condition and it was 31 degrees!!! they did have ventilator.

    the view from the room to the Rhein is magnificent! ask for a room with this view. the old city is within very short walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.0
    Awful. Would not recommend this hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely small room, especially with two large dogs. Very old fashioned with dreary decor. Had to break the law due to roadworks to get to the parking area, advised to do this by Reception staff! Very very stressful.

    The only good things were the breakfast and the view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in the centre of old town, but wouldn't stay again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a little tired, very noisy as there are bars and restaurants underneath the hotel which carried on until early morning and the biggest problem is that there is no AC and the temperature was 30 degrees! Couldn't open the windows due to the noise so a very poor 2 nights sleep.

    Super position with balcony overlooking the Rhine and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, very nice terrace on the river
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location in the centre of town, very good views of the river from the very nice terrace restaurant. Perfect for going running or walking also

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was perfectly located to everything! Staff was outstanding!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The entire staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The Manager of the hotel went above and beyond to ensure that my husband found his way to a Harley Davidson shop in Germany to which I am very thankful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    perfect for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small with no air conditioning.

    We arrived very late at night but reception was very friendly and helpful. The view from the balcony was beautiful. The restaurants both inside and out were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is on the door step of the Rhine river.
    • Couple
    • Panorama Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is outdated The beds were uncomfortable The furniture ? Wait! what furniture Did not like the pillows. They were uncomfortable & had no support. The mattress was lumpy. I would not rate this hotel as 4 Star The breakfast is below average The pillows were used as decor ??😩😕

    The hotel is on the door step of the Rhine river. Great view & location The atmosphere to the entrance of the hotel is not very inviting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Convenient and Comfortable, but a little old-fashioned
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Furniture seemed old and outdated.

    - Excellent location on the shores of the Rhine - surrounded by good restaurants - has a nice terrace restaurant/bar overlooking the Rhine - parking garage in the building - very friendly and polite staff - spacious rooms - free drinks in the minibar - very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel dreadful dining staff and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very horrified at terrible standard of meal in their restaurant.The staff or Maitre de a very rude arrogant man.We had been told we were entitled to 10% discount as hotel guests.We were given a voucher that we had left in our room and when asked for discount was refused as we didn't have voucher.After an argument I obtained voucher and we were finally given discount.We complained to the hotel management but a waste of time.Very disappointing. would not recommend anyone eat in restaurant.Disappointed no apology from Hotel management.

    Great location on River handy to town.Lovely views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.3
    Location, friendly staffs
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom and bathroom are small, it is not obvious where you can charge your devices.

    View over the Rhine is amazing , secured car park. Wi-fi is brilliant, free ferry ticket, free public transport ticket and 10% off voucher to their restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Great central location, close to tram stop, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning - room very warm despite open window - and this was April. Breakfast expensive even by Swiss standards

    Great central location, close to tram stop, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    It is a perfect location for a stay in Basel. Right on the river Rhein. Quite spectacular views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out. 1 staff so we had to wait and the customer in front was whiny so things needed to be changed.

    Room breakfast etc as expected. Overall our experience was pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location and clean.
    • Solo traveller
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, badly decorated, and the walls were paper thin. I could hear my neighbours coming and going, doors slamming etc.

    Great location and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly and found an option for parking our car despite of the fact (which was mentioned on the web) that no parking is provided. Free ticket for public transport and the ferry!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    The view is extraordinary and the staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are awful. They are paper thin and mushy. I literally used my airplane neck pillow. I would have preferred I much more dense pillow that was far bigger

    The view is extraordinary and the staff is very friendly. I really liked that the drinks in the fridge were free.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    would be a great stay for 200,- euro a night, but I was 360,- euro
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy street on both sides, and the expected view on the river Rhein was not more than a glimpse. the tram seems to run 24/7, only 1 small elevator for a lot of rooms

    great location, gluten free bread

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    3.8
    Four star rating is not justified.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In over 30 years of travel in various countries for work and holiday this was the first time that any hotel charged my credit card four weeks before my stay. Additionally, the hotel facilities are dated, as an observation there is a door leading to toilets downstairs near the lift opposite the reception, the smell emanating as you approached to get the lift was dreadful, not sure if there was sufficient ventilation or air extraction. My room 401 was not certainly a 4-four-star room let alone a 2 star I have stayed in better youth hostels than this. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. In short avoid it! There are many other good hotels in the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Great view, lovely staff, excellent for a weekend city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room itself was quite ordinary, a bit cramped. The view made it extra special though. Breakfast was not particularly good value - 25 francs per person (£20) for nothing very special. But I don't really know what the going rate is in Switzerland - eating out is generally very expensive

    The staff were lovely. We were luckily upgraded to a room overlooking the river. This would definitely be worth paying for - views from the other side of the hotel are indifferent, but overlooking the Rhine was spectacular. Location perfect for exploring Basel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn’t feel 4 star, I was told I had been upgraded, but it didn’t feel like it. Sink was almost above the toilet, shower was small

    Restaurant was nice, staff were attentive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Great city especially at Carnival time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows where not very good.

    We arrived at 4.0pm on the Thursday for an 5 night stay. We where told that we would not get any Sleep on Sunday night. We asked why. It was the start of the biggest Carnival in Europe. We did not know an boy what a Carnival everybody joined in and we had a great time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Location, clean and comfortable room with a free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillow was uncomfortable.

    Location, clean and comfortable room with a free transportation ticket. Perfect hotel to join the "Morgenstreich".

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    A convenient accomodation for a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is not good value for money is rather expensive and with limited selection, particularly to an italian.

    The hotel is just one bridge away from the heart of Basel, well served by public transports and with view on the Rhein river. In the street there a a number of pubs, bars, shops where is possible to enjoy the taste of Basel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    A good exeperience in the heart of basel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel is in a key position on the Rhein well served by public transport and numerous attractions and shops all around. Room are comfortable, though a bit spartan, but is part of the Swiss style. Breakfast is good and capuccino is excellent even for an italian.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I particularly liked the kindness of all staff in the hotel. All of them were having client-oriented attitudes, were ready to help, jumping to my mother tongue (French) perfectly. Just great. The location too is fantastic, close to the old town but with a view to it and close to nice streets with a great choice of good restaurants incl veg, organic, etc. I want to return at spring!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    Lovely hotel in a very good location. Not only is it near the old town, the area around the hotel was delightful with very good restaurants and bars. Close to both train stations too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location and well priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room is so cramped with not enough tables. We had to wait for room to have breakfast one morning. Too hot in the rooms

    Great location and well priced

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    Warm welcome and departure
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast - expensive for what you get and room is small and disappointing view

    Warm welcome and departure Good room size Free and good Wifi Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    4.6
    Find a different hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a Booking.com guest you are given the worst rooms. Ask for higher when you book and when you check in. When we asked to moved they did so but we’re clearly not happy about it. The rooms are small. The only outlets accessible were in the bathroom. One small light for the bedroom. Terrible!

    The view. And that’s it. I can not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Lisa at reception was exceptionally nice and very welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is truly very small - especially the sink.

    Lisa at reception was exceptionally nice and very welcoming. My room overlooked the Rhine river ; the Mittelbrücke was decorated for Christmas which made the sight even lovelier.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    Centrally located, but noisy and didn't get the beds we paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise and uncomfortable bed for the 3rd person which we were to have a double and twin.

    Loved the location, but it was very noisy. Staff was good, but claimed we didn't reserve a room for 3 beds, which we did, and put my son on a pull out couch which was very uncomfortable when the reservation stated a double and a twin.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    We were given a large room that was close to the docks for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of the breakfast was extremely high. We went to Starbucks instead.

    We were given a large room that was close to the docks for the river cruise we were taking. It was also convenient to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    We were given a free upgrade to an excellent top floor river view apartment. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We found the breakfast room very tranquil and the range of items available varied and enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely view, close to old town, just across the bridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of AC is a problem even in October, especially on a Friday night. Having windows open was noisy until not-so-early hours.

    Lovely view, close to old town, just across the bridge. The complimentary public transport ticket was very useful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    I love Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panorama Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brilliant location, classic small Swiss rooms, that is the way it is here., views are great and I really enjoyed the location... can't be better actually.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    The hotel and room were nice, not very modern and definitely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The most important thing was NO AIR CONDITIONING and it was extremely hot while there. They need to put on their site that they do not have air conditioning. Also, out of the three days there, the elevator was broken two of the days. However, they did let us use the room service elevator. The hotel is very outdated with no AC and rooms could definitely use an upgrade. Not a good value at $200+ a night.

    The hotel and room were nice, not very modern and definitely needed upgrading for the price charged. Staff was friendly and helpful with directions. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    enjoyable stay, easy tram number 11 from main train station and also you can then catch the 50 bus t
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the church bell rings every 15 minutes which is annoying in the morning if sleeping with doors open,

    comfy bed, asked for extra pillow which was put in room, nice location, lovely Rhine views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice location. Hot, small room - awkward to get to by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are driving to this site then ensure you check the hotels website - route map shows awkward approach to this site. We have visited three times & due to festivals etc we have had to take different routes at times. We originally booked a street view room which we have stayed in before. We were upgraded into a river view room which had a nice view but was significantly smaller with a lot less storage space. We had to put the two chairs on the balcony to be able to move around in the room. The room faces south & was boiling hot (the whole hotel is warm). A fan is provided & a mechanical blind can be deployed outside the window. No air conditioning. If you leave the door/window open at night to keep cool the two churches across the river have clocks which chime loudly every 15 mins all night.

    Nice picturesque location. 3rd visit to this site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Great setting to watch Rhine bathers float in the water!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people at the desk seemed only peripherally interested.

    Lovely setting right on the Rhine with a wonderful view. Bathtub with shower, nice toiletries, a fan (no air conditioning) in a small room, though this is stars. We didn't eat breakfast in, but had one of two dinners at the hotel's well regarded fish restaurant, Cafe Spitz.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Satisfactory
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not comfortable and pillows were completely flat. They did change them on request but not great quality. Breakfast is very poor for what you pay for it and below many other Basel hotels.

    Location on the river, close to shops and cafes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    5.4
    Road works spoil our stay, we were not advised in advance about this disturbance. Be aware😡
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was up in the attic, right below us were road works that started at 5:30. We were not aware of these road works before we booked our stay. No air conditioning which meant we needed the window opened. The lounge area is so small we didn't want to sit in it. The hotel is right on the river so we expected this area to be near the river to sit and enjoy the view. Don't expect room 309 at this moment in time 😡

    Location for Basel was great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.8
    Great Position but Feels Dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being Switzerland, nothing was cheap, from the cost of the room, breakfast, a drink on the terrace or dinner. The weather there was exceptional, at 35 degrees, but the hotel doesn't have any air conditioning. For your added comfort you get a fan in summer. There is a mini-bar with soft drinks that are free but positioned above the fridge is the safe. To open the safe you have to open the fridge to get at it.

    The Panorama rooms in the hotel overlook the Rhine and walk over the bridge and you are into the heart of the city. The room had all the basic facilities you would expect from a 4star hotel, but it was dated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    extremly satisfied
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air-condition in summer

    everything is more than perfect, except the lack of air-conditioned. excellent view on the balcony. free one-day ticket for public-transportation. much better over my expectation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.8
    The stay and the price not worth a 4 star on this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absence of air condition!!! The break down of the elevator!!! The noisy construction on the bridge

    The location - the dinner on the terrasse over the river

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    Great disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not 4star....unattractive room with little comfort,poor quality everything...none of the amenities to be expected

    The staff and the location and view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    3.3
    The worst experience in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude service, dirty place, very expensive 1.600 CH for 3 nights, awful breakfast, old installations.. Avoid it if you don't want to ruin your visit to Basel

    The unique positive thing about this hotel is the localitation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Rhein and much, much more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No airconditioning in very hot weather. (The hot weather was lovely since we could jump in the Rhein and float downstream). Noisy, but that's what you get for having close access to everything that is happening - including the wedding directly across the river. We got to "enjoy" their music and party until the early hours of morning. We could have shut out the music by closing our window, but the room was too hot without some air flowing.

    On the Rhine. Beautiful view from our room and access to old town by simply walking across the bridge. Fantastic spread of food for the breakfast buffet. Lovely staff at the desk. Bars and restaurants surrounding the hotel. Great promenade up and down the river as far as you can walk from the hotel lobby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.5
    Basel stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.No AC and it was pretty hot in Basel that week!

    1.Convenient location 2.Staff was extremely helpful in terms of providing various information and suggestions/solutions. 3.Parking on site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location. But you pay a little extra for that.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite small, though that's true of most hotels in Basel.

    The view from the river facing rooms is brilliant. The staff was courteous and very helpful. Their riverside cafe is a nice place to get a coffee and get some work done.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems they do not have air conditioning system in the room. It was not a problem for us so far since it was end of April and not too sunny. However, it may cause some discomfort during a hotter season, especially if you book a room facing the river (it is a sunny side for almost all day).

    Espresso machine in the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.3
    We ate in the restaurant Friday night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are dated and sparsely furnished but being able to lay in bed watching the Rhine flow past more than makes up for that. Only English TV channel is BBC World, not a big deal as not much time spent in the room. Entrance and lobby area not great, although reception staff very friendly and efficient.

    We ate in the restaurant Friday night. It was good overall although my husband ordered pork but was served beef. This was not a problem as he liked it anyway, we did not complain to the waiter (who was otherwise excellent) because it would have meant waiting for another meal. It was quite expensive but that is a theme throughout Switzerland. We would eat there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.7
    Between Fair and good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the breakfast was FAIR and service is not as professional as it should be. There were on the ground procedures set by staff example " Today is Sunday and I will allow you to order eggs from kitchen and not charge a fee but tomorrow we have to charge" I am not sure what this meant and why is it coming to us in this manner.

    View from the hotel was very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    The location is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panorama Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is ok, a wider selection of food and better quality would help with the steep price. Also, the hotel bar is not available throughout the whole day.

    The location is perfect! Free drinks in the mini bar (no alcohol) and the rooms with the balconies on the 3rd and 4th floor have a great view of the river and the staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    The decor of the hotel appeared a little tired especially when compared to the Krafft Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On our first night, Friday night, after an early start we found it hard to get to sleep until the bar next door had closed. This was about 1am. The coffee machine in the room was difficult to operate and not fully explained in your instructions. Most British guests would prefer an electric kettle as tea is more popular than coffee first thing in the morning.

    The position of the hotel was excellent. The breakfast was good but on both occasions one of the cooked items was missing. On Saturday morning the scrambled eggs were finished and on Sunday there were no sausages. The staff did appear to be monitoring the dishes to make sure they were replenished.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    An ideal location for the leisure traveller with friendly and helpful staff and a comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot breakfast (scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages) was luke warm even at 8am which is in the middle of the opening hours i.e. not at the end when you might expect such a temperature. The rest of the breakfast was excellent.

    The Hotel is in a perfect location for sight seeing and its riverside location is beautiful. It is on the tram line so access to the old city and museums etc is very easy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Location and Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good.

    Perfect location within a short walk across the bridge to the Old Town the public market and other sights. The hotel is located right on the Rhine and a lovely promenade along the river. The room was large and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.9
    By far the best thing is the view; book a river view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, and 'corporately' functional. Typical Best Western, and not as worthy of its 4 star rating as other city hotels. It was noisy, from trams and life on the river bank, particularly so when the hotels function room was in use. No air conditioning, so little alternative to opening the window.

    By far the best thing about this hotel is the outstanding view of the Rhine, and city opposite. it's convenient location is also a bonus.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Christmas markets
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panorama Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crowds but what can u expect a week out from Xmas.

    My room overlooked the River Rhine & the beautiful city Xmas decs made for beautiful viewing!! I was there Xmas markets and they didn't disappoint. I particularly liked the markets at Munsterplatz.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    Expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot breakfast was not good enough, scrambled egg was cold and dry, bacon over done. The boiled eggs were raw on three mornings, everything else was good.

    Location was brillant, easy to get around from there.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.8
    View View View! very nice rooms and restaurant on Rhine!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception was underwhelming.

    LOVED location and Basel. Right on the Rhine in the heart of the city. Breakfast was excellent. Room VERY nice. Get a room with view. liked having fridge and nice coffee machine in room. Thanks for the bus pass!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    6.3
    Reception is OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms to the street is very noisy in the nighttime due to many bars with outside serwing - avoid them. Breakfast is decent, but more fresh and eco products must be added.

    Reception is OK

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.3
    Super Basel for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive city

    Great location, friendly helpful staff. Easy to find your way about the city and super free tram service. You can also be in France or Germany by tram in about 15 mins. Another option if on a budget is to stay in France or Germany and travel in to Basel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.5
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    The view from the bedroom window was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meal in the restaurant was expensive and not of the highest quality

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    The shower was the smallest I have ever seen.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was the smallest I have ever seen. :-(

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.8
    Position on river, city centre, transport links.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit noisy at rear in evening

    Position on river, city centre, transport links. Lent me a swim bag to go in Rhine

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Merian am Rhein traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: