Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Moderne 3 stars

1, rue de Berne, Saint-Gervais / des Grottes, 1201 Geneva, Switzerland

#88 of 95 hotels in Geneva

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1548 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    The room and hotel didn’t deserve three star status
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and passages were slightly smelly though bedsheets were clean and the furniture was also not nice and the general get up of the room was disappointing

    Breakfast was good and the location was very good near the very centre of Geneva at a very cheqp price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, good breakfast. Ideal for a short stay in Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee could have been provided in the room.

    Great location, reception staff very friendly. Breakfast was continental but Had a wide variety and was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.8
    Hell whole.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a poop whole. Most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. Would not recommend it to anyone. Not even my worst enemy. Stay away. The place needs to be condemned.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.8
    I have seen motel rooms from horror movies that were more inviting.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dated, unclean and in poor condition. The dirtiest and most dated room that I ever stayed at.

    The location near the train station was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    will go back again. Very comforatable and easy access.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Juice in the mini bar was already used when we checked in and wasnt replaced by the cleaning staff. We did report at the reception and it was dealt with.

    Excellent location. Close to city center and information center. Loads of eating joints nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    It was very close to the station and the elevator was quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite old, the carpet in our room was very dirty and the bed was nearly falling apart

    It was very close to the station and the elevator was quite cute

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    A good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to be a bit careful while having shower, it was really easy to end up with water all over the floor.

    We chose this hotel because of the price and location. The price was 119 francs/night and the location is just great - few minutes walk from Geneva train station. The room was very clean with a little fridge. Staff very friendly and helpful. The brakfast was included and quite good. Very good hotel for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.0
    Don't recommend, should be 1* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was a really poor accommodation. Everything from the stairs, floors, room, breakfast area were really outdated and rather dirty. I was not expecting luxury for the price I've paid but this is definitely not a 3* hotel. The worse thing was the room, a pillow that you could hardly call it a pillow, the mattress was sinking in the middle with old furniture and dirty walls and doors. On top of this, the wall is paper thin and you can hear all the noise from the hallways. The cleaning staff are really noisy early in the morning while cleaning the other rooms so we could hardly sleep. The breakfast area is so small that you have to wait for a table to be cleared and the range of food is really poor with only one member of staff having to deal with everything. When we asked the waitress/chef to come and clean one of the tables she started mumbling that she's on her own and all the crumbs from the table were left to drop on the floor.

    The location of the hotel is great, city centre within walking distance of the lake and train station. Front desk staff were polite and helpful, they provided us with all the details of what we should visit and how to get there easily. Also, we received free tickets for public transport all over Geneva which was great as we could use trains, buses, boats.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.2
    The oldest "Moderne Hotel" I ever experienced
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely old hotel which is a bit of a paradox considering the name! Patches of damp on the ceiling, old doors and facilities. My room was directly facing the street, no air con and so I had to leave the windows open for air and kept waking up to the sounds of traffic. Booked last minute so paied a crazy expensive rate for a terrible, terrible experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    A simple hotel at an excellent location with a very friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit old fashioned but functional.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel provides a free Geneva public transport card for the duration of your stay which is an excellent help to explore the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Will not be booking again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Should be 2 star not 3. Holes in sheet, no kettle or mug in rooms. Variable temperature in rooms - one room was too hot and another colleague found theirs too cold.

    Location good. Breakfast generous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    A nice hotel, with excellent staff, but bad managers
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bad management, ironically, as the staff were quite the opposite. One month in advance, I had booked a non-refundable double room for 5 days. This was done by accident, as I was staying alone. Less than 24 hours after I booked, I kindly asked the hotel staff (twice) to change my booking to a single room, but the hotel's management refused. This was disappointing because it would not have changed anything in their reservation plans or room allocation, only their pockets. Legally they were right (a deal is a deal), but ethically they were not. I believe a hotel is built on foundations of hospitality first and foremost, and it isn't welcoming when management puts money above a customer's sincere request. Also, the breakfast tables are too few. Some mornings there was nowhere to sit, for some guests.

    An unusual comment, but the staff at this hotel were very good indeed. Helpful, supportive, pleasant and even entertaining at times. The location is perfect if you want to be close to the central station (bus and train), but also next to other attractions within a short walk. Area is dominated by Asian cuisine restaurants, which I like. Bed was comfortable, water was hot and strong (though no hair dryer!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value and will consider the family run hotel again when next back in Geneva
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Plumbing systems very noisy around us but typical of that type of building. Breakfast good choice but would have liked some fresh fruit and also a coffee machine in the sitting room area. No way of making a hot drink there or in the bedroom.

    Friendly staff, good position for getting around Geneva. 5th floor room overlooked quiet square at back of building. Good choice of food for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is a bit outdated. Also the power outlets didn't fit the adapters I bought in Paris. Had a bit of trouble charging our phones, laptop and cameras. Bring adapters with smaller pins if you are staying here.

    Great location, very close to Geneva's main stations. Nice staffs, good choices at breakfast. Overall a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Ideal hotel for a busy holidaymaker who likes to be out and about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A kettle in the room would have been appreciated.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was exceptionally good. location could not have been better for sights and closeness to rail and bus links. Would definitely stay there again as it proved to be good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one socket in the room! You cannot get hot water at any other time fmduring the day but breakfast. Breakfast has very limited lactose free options (by this I mean only bread and some jam and preserved fruits. The rest were croisssants, milk, yogurt, ham -of the kind that has lactose among its ingredients-, nutella, cakes, etc.). So, great breakfast, but not for a lactose intolerant person. Not even soy milk. The regular coffee was not good either, but they offered special nespresso capsules.

    Really close to the station, they offer a transportation-free ticket for 2 days (very convenient, although Geneva is a very walkable city), the breakfast is quite good (althoug quite limited for lactose free intolerants)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit out-dated. Needs refurbishing.

    Excellent location. Staff were great. The free breakfast was nice too. Hotel offers free transport card and you can borrow adapters without buying your own.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Not very modern as its name suggests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staffs, good selection at breakfast & the free public transportation pass. For the price, I think it's worth staying here.

    Not very modern as its name suggests. Power outlets are limited and I couldn't plug in the socket adapters I used in Paris.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    It was close to the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Moderne is badly in need of an update. Level of cleanliness was okay... not great, but okay.

    It was close to the train station. The price was decent, considering the location and city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we requested for a bowl and plate in the room but staff refused to give it to us. they said they did not have any when we saw plenty of cutlery during breakfast. maybe its because we didn't tip them.

    location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.6
    The hotel is five minutes' walk from the main train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was broken and had a slapdash attempt at fixing - endless amounts of slats to try and sandwich cracked or snapped bed slats failed to provide the stability you want from a bed. The shower was either at the temperature of the sun or at absolute zero, with a tiny margin for the "sweet spot" where it was acceptable for showering. Sadly, the shower head was mounted in such a way that the taller visitor had to crouch like Quasimodo to get under it (you could not take the shower off its mount), and the force with which the water came out meant the entire bathroom was flooded in a matter of seconds - hardly ideal when there is no drain for this excess water to run. The breakfast area is tiny, and made dining highly uncomfortable when a large group of visitors try to wrestle for chairs (most of which are joined together so you are eating in the personal space of strangers).

    The hotel is five minutes' walk from the main train station and an equal distance from the Pont du Mont Blanc, making it an ideal hub for all business and leisure in the centre of Geneva. Staff were perfectly pleasant and the room was warm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are a little bit slim and more pillows are required to sleep in more comfortable way

    The breakfast is very good. The staff members are friendly and the location of the hotel is perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.6
    Survived one night, wouldn’t stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelt horribly like cigarettes. State of the room has to be modernized, room was worn out, dusty, dirty, walls. Bathroom in bed condition. No hairdryer available. Eve later in scary condition - you can see electric wires, and is also very small. No safe available.

    Location was to station and main streets.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    3.3
    The concierge was lovely and really pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise from the street was deafening at times, bed small with very thin sheets, the room appeared to have not been decorated this century.

    The concierge was lovely and really pleasant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Overall, it was value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Furniture and fittings are old and kind of worn out.

    Breakfast was very good with a wide choice of food. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. Cleanliness is excellent but the furniture and fittings in the room is a bit old.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.8
    Acceptable, even good in parts but by no means value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I had Internet connectivity problems in the early morning (5am), on the laptop, the night staff were not helpful at all. It was "I don't know" and "not my problem". For what I paid for the room, it should have been his problem. Secondly, the breakfast room is next to some manager's room. He insisted on speaking to a staff member in there, in French, in a loud voice. Guests just want to have their breakfast in peace and quiet without knowing all the ins and outs of the hotel's operations or having to listen to his loud voice. I actually had to go and ask him to close his door so we could eat in peace but you could still hear him through the wall. Thirdly, if I recall, they may have advertised a full English breakfast but although a very good Continental breakfast, it was by no means full English (i.e. bacon, eggs, sausages etc.). And the hotel was hugely expensive for the quality of room.

    Proximity to centre. It was available when most others were booked with the Motor Show. Helpful English-speaking staff on reception on check-in and check-out, and during the day when there were Internet connectivity issues. Late check-out was no problem. Relaxed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.4
    Convenient location but the name is an oxymoron
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated. The room had a cell-like feel, with old furnishings and fixtures. The cockroach in the shower was an unpleasant addition.

    The location. Near station and city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    In expensive Switzerland, this was affordable but unimpressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not much "moderne" about this hotel. The bedding and decoration were very dated and kind of a strange hodgepodge. Walls are fairly thin, and at one point, I could hear snoring in the room next door.

    Great location in Geneva--not far from the train station, and not far from the lake and the Jet d'Eau. Check in and out was simple. Breakfast was fine and bed was fairly comfortable. TV was modern and had a nice selection of channels in different languages.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    4.2
    Go there if you find nothing alse in the vicinity. In all other cases, forget it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room very small and uncomfortable, doubtful cleanliness, strange attitude by the staff, convinced they had sold a single room whilst I had requested a double, very simple breakfast (we understand why it was included in the price).....

    Almost nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.1
    Met basic requirements for a few days in Geneva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very basic facilities. Beds had thin mattresses, very hard. Only one pillow provided, which was small, lumpy and very thin. Requested additional pillows which were provided the next day. Still had to fold one in half to make it comfortable. No spare pillows of blankets in room. Room was stifling, no thermostat control. Had to have window open which made it very noisy from the roads outside. Frequent emergency vehicles with sirens. Bathroom small and awkward to negotiate due to layout of toilet, bath and sink. Shower head very low, made for children not adults. Breakfast was always started to be cleared away around 9:30, even though it is meant to be served till 10 a.m. (think the serving staff wanted to go home early everyday).

    Great location and good value for money considering Geneva is so, so expensive. Staff were great, friendly, helpful and there was always an english speaking person on at the reception. Breakfast was good. Good standard of cleanliness, although worn out and dated fixtures and furnishings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Everything went as expected (I have stayed here several...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Wifi signal in our room (that was on the 5th floor) was quite weak, we also needed to reconnnect often

    Everything went as expected (I have stayed here several times before). Effective and friendly staff, great location, good breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    4.2
    Just did the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt as though the pictures in the site were misleading. Also only two electricity plugs plugs room makes it difficult. Hotel does need a bit of work and isnt as modern as the name suggests.

    The staff were amazing and service was great. Made good friends with receptionist Victor. Location was close to River and shops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    4.2
    Everything is bad only the location and the breakfast was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is old and bad used . It smells . You can hear your neighbor snoring and the bathroom very old and not practical

    The hotel is out of date . Need to be closed and refreshed . It looks like a hotel from Second World War

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value (for Geneva) basic accommodation with a good location and breakfast better than many.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would have been nice to have had option of stronger roast or espresso capsules for coffee machine.

    Bed while basic was very comfortable and breakfast better than most I have had in Geneva on previous trips. In relative terms good value for Geneva. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    In general the hotel as all one needs, nice bedrooms with a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In general the hotel as all one needs, nice bedrooms with a decent bathroom, wardrobe, heating, and a comfy bed. The location is very good, and the receptionists very nice and helpful. The decor is a bit old, and the hotel could use perhaps some new interior design. The internet could be a bit better too, it was a bit slow and irregular at time. However, having spent four days there, I'm very satisfied with my stay and the price/quality is very good. I'd recommend it if you're looking for an affordable place in the center of Geneva.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.7
    Overall I would say 6.5/10 stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was not very stable and I had to keep login in. Furthermore on Wednesday night it was unstable all the way to Thursday morning. Room has no safe.

    Location was perfect because of proximity to the train station. The reception staff early check in before official check in time which allowed me to rest before my Monday engagement.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Size of the room was good enough for 3 of us.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast good be more choices, And hotel need refurbishing everything all furniture is really old Hotel name doesn’t suit .

    Size of the room was good enough for 3 of us. Staff was friendly, and really good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Although the hotel is old, the staff were lovely, and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were quite thin so you could hear conversations in the adjoining rooms.

    Although the hotel is old, the staff were lovely, and the breakfast was good value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    "I WILL BE BACK!"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything. I think it was a very good value for money.

    although it was freezing outside, the room temperature was very comfortable and clean. I also loved the staff called Patrick and location, near EVERYTHING!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    The location was fantastic, just round the corner from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs renovating, the paint work etc. very tired

    The location was fantastic, just round the corner from the station and a couple of minutes walk to Mont Blanc bridge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is included in the price and very adequate. The rooms were clean and beds comfy. English TV was a bonus - we watched the Christmas channel !!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    Tired but quirky, nice staff and so handy for all Geneva has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place is tired, but strangely kind of welcoming and quirky. You will immediately see it is in need of a massive refurbishment. The carpets are old and worn, my room had a cigarette burn, well scorch, this suggests they pre-date when people stopped smoking in their room, lights not working but not a problem, plenty that did so room was never dark. My biggest bugbear is not just this hotel but so so many, no tea, coffee making facilities, either in the room or in reception. there is a mini bar with cold drinks, but wake at some odd time needing a hot drink, you better get back to bed, nothing doing. The addition of these facilities would have made me overlook the other stuff and made my stay much more enjoyable.

    I loved the location, so central, two minute walk to the main railway station, that means 7 minutes from the airport. The Moderne has a great location, easily walkable to most of the places and things a tourist would want to see in Geneva. If you remember that Geneva has to be the most expensive place in Europe, the cost of the accommodation is reasonable. Breakfast was filling if not particularly sparkling, but it sets you up for a day of foot slogging. I liked the fact that the Hotel has a lift, (5 floors) and that lift is so quirky in a really good way. The staff were always helpful and business like. I was allowed to leave my cases for quite a few hours after check out without a quibble I was going to put the fact that the Hotel is a little on the tired side in the things I dislike, but to be fair, that kind of adds to the Hotels charm. So this goes in both like and dislike!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.3
    Of the many hotels I have stayed in in Geneva it was the worst.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel Moderne is anything but and badly needs a major makeover. It is very hard to see how it keeps a 3 star rating - 1 would be more appropriate. Perhaps its location close to the station and the lake is a factor?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice enough hotel, very basic but safe and clean, just very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very noisy, which made it hard to sleep.

    The breakfast was great and the room was cheap. There was an elevator and the hotel was close to the train station and other amenities in Geneva. The staff were very friendly!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    4.6
    Unpleasant, owing to the rundown nature of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally rundown and squalid. Stained, worn out carpets, outdated electrical system, etc. Overall, in great need of extensive renovation and upgrading.

    Location convenient to train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.0
    Overall the central location made this an excellent choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair dryer, although an old bldg,it showed signs of needing some upgrades- paint,cosmetic type things. Bldg & room were clean. With open windows, it was noisey from traffic, but with earplugs, problem solved.

    Location near train station,breakfast,housekeeping did excellent job,front desk very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Very basic hotel for a short stay in Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the oldest hotel room i've ever seen, renovated probably in the 70s. It even didn't have a douche cabin, very basic furniture except TV, which was ok.

    We've chosen this hotel as cheapest option in the center with breakfast included. Location indeed is very convenient. 24hour reception. Very friendly people at reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    Strong smoke smell in the rooms puts me off; I will not come back to this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I asked a non-smoking room, but my room had a strong smoke smell. Room interior is outdated (not at all 'moderne').

    Good location, room price is acceptable, wifi connection in rooms is fairly good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bed frame was an antique, out of something 1950s. Not sure but maybe it's the character of the hotel.

    Very close to Geneva Central Station. The hotel is surrounded by lots of restaurants, shops and easy access to the lake. The included breakfast was nice. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.7
    great for first visit on a tight budget. take ear plugs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room eas really noisy with traffic nouse. it was not very clean.

    the staff are really friendly and helpful. the hotel is in a good location, near the station and walking distance to the Lac and old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location, nice staff, good breakfast; Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say; great value.

    Great location and price, good breakfast. Nice staff. They gave us a free card to use all public transport for free. Walk distance to everuthing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Good value, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly loud due to location, but still fairly quiet. You had to leave the key at reception when leaving, which would be fine if they asked for ID when getting it back. I didn't like that I could walk in, ask for one of the keys on display, and potentially walk in to a stranger's room.

    Great location, free travel pass included so we didn't need to pay for any transport. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Not too loud, comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location, friendly staff, but a bit shabby
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast room very cremped, when full. Mattrass not really comfortable.

    Clean. Includes public transport ticket (as, I think, is common in Geneva, but still great) Yummy croissants for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.2
    Very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have explained above.

    The hotel was very cramped.The lift was very small as well as the room and bed.No facilities in the room worth talking about.The breakfast was below standard.The only good thing about it was its location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    Centrally located Basic hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old building and furniture, needs renovation, basic breakfast, small breakfast room

    Very friendly and helpful staff, easy walking distance from the train station, most things are reachable by walk

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is very close to the city center (less than 10...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are really old, extremely basic and they smell a bit. The breakfast was poor, considering the price. The hotel is perfect if you just need a bed for the night and nothing else, otherwise you will be disappointed. 100 CHF per night is really too much for those rooms. The fact that there was not even a hear dryer in the bathroom was really annoying.

    The hotel is very close to the city center (less than 10 minutes walking distance). The staff is great. McDonalds and supermarket just in front of the building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    We were only here for one night, right in the centre of town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only here for one night, right in the centre of town the bus stop is only a 4min walk away & the train station 2min walk away, no air con but there was a fan and that was sufficient, the breakfast was decent with cereals, toast & croissants and various coffees/teas. The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome and gave us free train passes for 24 hours. We would stay here again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    3.3
    Don't stay, poor value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had no air conditioning, was dirty, I had to kill a cockroach which greeted us when we opened the room's door. Furniture is badly out of date and broken in some places, carpets look like 100 years old and totally worn out in central parts where people usually walk.

    The Guy at the reception names Patrick was excellent and provided warm welcome as well as taking time to explain roundabouts and provided all maps, tips etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Everything great except the noise outside & the too warm temps in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditioning & it was too hot in the room. Hard to sleep with the windows open & the amount of late night/early morning noise (partying) going on below at several of the outdoor cafes & bars. The street noise with motorcycles coupled with all the above made it hard to sleep even though the beds & room were really quite nice!

    Breakfast was great & the staff terrific

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.2
    Beware of the location of your room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was assigned a room facing Rue de Chantepoulet, which is extremely trafficked at every hour of the day and night. Moreover, the room was hit by the sun all the afternoon, so the temperature inside was very hot, because no AC is installed and with only one window no ventilation was possible. Taking a shower made the temperature even higher, because the bathroom was blind. So I had a room which was both very hot and very noisy. I slept over the bed and was awakened at 6.00-6.30 by the traffic although the shutters and the window were closed. I think that the rooms on the other sides of the hotel could be much better, but at the reception they told me that none was free.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Value for money. Cheap and cheerful. Quiet and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked a bit dingy, unlike the photos. Moderne? Not at all - I felt like I had travelled back in time. I saw some mould and damp in my room. Foreign hair on the towels. Our room was in need of a deep clean. Could have done with a warning about the construction site across the road.

    The hotel was located close to the station. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.9
    Centrally located hotel just a couple of minutes from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was a bit old. The breakfast room was too small for so many rooms.

    Centrally located hotel just a couple of minutes from the trainstation. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. There was free wifi and a fridge in the room. There were many tv-channels, in french, german and english.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, close between the center and the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, close between the center and the beach. Close to central station by walk too. Noisy, but it's in the center. Helpful staff, they called me about my missing baggage's arrival as soon as they received by evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Central Modern Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no gym. The breakfast was chaotic at times and food was not being restocked and the lack of staff at this time to do so.

    The location was so close to the old town. The art in the hotel. The front desk staff were helpful and their English was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    Locational benefits
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was rather warm during summer, and while the hotel provides a fan, an air conditioner would be great

    The location and surrounding area. The room was clean and comfortable. A good pick for Geneva.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.6
    The hotel is situated really close to the Cornavin train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really bad. The bed was old and uncomfortable. The small couch looked very dirty. There was no AC in the room, just a tiny fan that made a lot of noise. The room is not sound proof - you can hear cars all night long, so no way to sleep with the windows open. Hotel is in need of renovation

    The hotel is situated really close to the Cornavin train station which was really practical. The staff was really friendlyBreakfast was really good, lots of choices for food and beverages.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place for the price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mostly was fine, but the facility is a bit aging, nothing major though. The main issue maybe was the heat in the room, but nothing we could not deal with by using a fan and opening the window at night. I was not able to connect to the wireless with my mobile phone, but I think that was an issue with my phone, as I had no issue with my laptop.

    Great location, great price for the city and great staff. I also enjoyed breakfast a lot. They also provide a public transportation pass for the stay. Overall great choice for an otherwise very expensive city. The location is just perfect, close to the station, close to downtown and close to the lake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't find anything to dislike because didn't have any high expectations at the price.

    Location 2 minutes from train station, 10 minutes to old town. Price very reasonable. excellent breakfast for the money. Friendly staff. Luggage room available at check-out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.8
    Far from a 3* hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Come on, guys. Extremely nice reception and wonderful location is not an excuse for terrible furniture, old discolored carpet and dirty bathroom with broken taps. No power plugs in the room, the lamp was just standing on the table with the cable hanging just like that. Dust everywhere, terrible bed. Had to move out the next morning.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    excellent location with very basic facilities hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very old hotel and need for renovation as well as dusty floor

    location and breakfast (with fresh bread and croissants, but there is no any vegetables served)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    The location is great close to everything and they give me a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great close to everything and they give me a free card for all transportation in the city it's great for people who would like to stay for one or two nights

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.8
    Centrally Located but an old property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely poor breakfast... rooms are old & needs refurbishment.

    This hotel is located next to the central station and can be accessed by the underground causeway. Staff are friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    Excellent staff, low-grade room but great location and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no hair dryer in the room. I think the Hotel is need to be renovated. It is not worthy of the name "Moderne".

    They gave me a one day valid public transport pass for free.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    The staff was INCREDIBLE- especially Ausra!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was INCREDIBLE- especially Ausra! They were super nice and very willing to help. They made our stay that much better. Would definitely come back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.8
    What you see is what you get. Zero luxury. But basics (cleanness, breakfast, reception, wifi) are OK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy street so hard to open window (no airconditioning), room looks like school dormitory, for Geneva probably good value for money, but I had a heartache paying that kind of money for that kind of hotel...

    central location close to train station and lake, free wifi, private bathroom, OK breakfast, clean room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.7
    The location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room are too stuffy and not as clean/new as the pictures show. The facilities look a bit old and worn out.

    The location is amazing. 4 mins walk to train station, 9 mins to water fountain. Lots of restaurants and stores within walk distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: