Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Montbrillant 4 stars

2, rue de Montbrillant, Saint-Gervais / des Grottes, 1201 Geneva, Switzerland

#65 of 98 hotels in Geneva

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1840 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    4.6
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything except convenience to transportation.

    Location wise,place is great,close to all transportation. BUT, FOR A 4 STAR RATED HOTEL..THIS SUCK!! THE surrounding area is littered with cigarette butts that made me.sick, its dirty,graffitti all over,very noisy 24 hours of noise.The food for a European or American standard is not even average and expensive for such a few selection..The elevator is old and VERY TINY.THE RATING for this HOTEL ..ZERO STAR.I WILL NEVER REXOMMEND TGHIS HOTEL TO PEOPLE I KNOW..ITS NOT WORTH PAYING THE TAG.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.2
    Well-designed and furnished room in a smart hotel in a great...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First floor room on the street had some traffic noise (e.g. early morning rubbish collection).

    Well-designed and furnished room in a smart hotel in a great location by the station. Pleasant staff. Didn't have breakfast but the restaurant was good for a dinner. Good free wifi.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.8
    Fully met expectations, a welcome retreat after a hard day's work.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast a bit bland. Sausages too fatty. Could do with some fruit salad or similar.

    I've stayed here before, and it has always been good because of proximity to station and attractions, helpful staff etc. The value for money was very good this time. The wake-up calls were reliable and punctual.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and cozy hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very clean and cozy hotel. Price of breakfast (16 CHF) much better than in other more upmarket hotels. And they give you a free public transport card for two days effectively. I also got a very quiet room, so couldn’t feel that it’s next to the station at all and got a very good night’s sleep!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy. With the trains, people with their luggage on the cobblestones early in the morning. The room was small. And the people checking in at night were noisy as you could hear through the walls

    The staff were friendly. The mini- fridge was free. You received a free transport ticket to explore Geneva & tge lication was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant! super convenient, helpful staff and loved my room!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 7 nights

    only 2 outlets! had to keep plugging and unplugging lamps- hard when you are on business with laptops, etc. maybe they could add a power strip or something.

    location and room was amazing front desk exceptional

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Very convenient, very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints really. Sorry! :)

    Really convenient location. Next to main train station from which you can get any number of buses (free with the pass from the hotel) as well as trains.Good restaurants etc in the area and only 10-15 mins walk to the lake and the main attractions down there. Staff helpful and friendly. I only ate breakfast here but found that to be comparable with many business hotels in which I have stayed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. cozy rooms with a professional service, good proximity to public transportation. Will definitely stop there during my next trip in Geneva.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    Decent hotel, excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. It was very cold in the room or at least I felt very cold (I was also sick). I put the air-conditioning on almost 30 degrees but it is probably centrally controled as the temperature certainly was not so high (I would say it was below 20 C but I may be wrong). 2. There is some kind of ventilation on the roof and it is rather noisy, so if you have a room on the highest floor facing the inner courtyard, you may have difficulties to sleep there. After the first night, I told the receptionist and he immediately proposed me to change the room, which was appreciated. 3. The price - but Geneva is expensive.

    I was arriving to Geneva at midnight and leaving early in the morning, so this hotel was exactly what I needed. It is literally 10 metres from the entrance to the railway station, close to all the trains/buses and a lot of shops and restaurants. Everything in the centre of Geneva is within walking distance. Or you can use the public transport - the hotel gives tickets for the whole period of the stay for free, which is just great. I had a single room - it was cosy and had a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. I did not expect that, so it was a nice surprise. The staff at the reception were all very nice and helpful. This was my second time at this hotel. When I was staying there for the first time, some 5-6 years ago, the floors had different flora/fauna motives and the rooms had the picture of a concrete flower/animal. This seems to be gone, which is a pity.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Extremely helpful front-desk staff, who even lent me an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely helpful front-desk staff, who even lent me an umbrella. The location is excellent, since the hotel is right next to the train station and the lake is just a few blocks on the other side of it. Less than a 10-minute further walk to the old city. Tip for those arriving by car: the hotel parking is very near, just two short blocks. The first R on the aerial photo (Rue Fendt) is immediate, way before the traffic lights.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.4
    For a 4stars hotel, not worth it. Their standards are more from a 2-3 stars hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4-star hotel, the amenties were not good. 3 in 1 shampoo is not a product for a 4 stars hotel. The decoration on the walls and doors was ugly and outdated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.1
    we were not staying in the main hotel we were at the back of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room directly by the road and was quite noisy.

    we were not staying in the main hotel we were at the back of the hotel on a side street entrance. this was fine but kind of felt we were not part of the main hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    5.8
    Not satisfying experience, not really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small, facility is old fashioned

    The hotel is clean, but very small, the facility is very old fashioned,seems worse than 7 days inn in China, so I think is not worth the money I paid. The location is great and staffs are friendly and useful, but when I checked out, they said my credit card didn’t work so I need to pay cash, but Actually my credit card works in other hotels and shops, don’t know why

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location, mediocre stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco did not work so had to open the window for fresh air. The open window did make a lot of noise come into the room froom the trainstation right below.

    Large spacious room with kitchenette. Very friendly welcome and good service from the staff. Food was quite good. With generous portions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely old world hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is placed right alongside railway station, but quite at night.

    We had an attic room which was quite large and comfortable, lovely atmosphere in hotel with friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.7
    It is easy to move because it is close to the station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff said that they are in reception from early in the morning, but they were not. Therefore, the checkout was delayed. Guest room cleaning / bed making is not good. They did not renew the bed sheets (evidence: my hair was left). Bath towels were not exchanged. In morning cars ware noisy , At night drunken person ware noisy. The temperature of the air conditioner becomes 22 degrees every day around 17 o'clock.

    It is easy to move because it is close to the station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Central location yet quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was fantastic - very close to central train station. Amazingly quiet so long as don't open window facing the station. Stayed in a studio with kitchenette, which worked great for my needs. Great value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Next to the main railway station, 200 meters from the bus...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was clean, but the standard very basic and style oldfashion. Looked like being from the 80´ies, and it must have been quite a while since they last renovated. Definitively not a four star room. Lousy breakfast buffet.

    Next to the main railway station, 200 meters from the bus which takes you to the huge Conference center Palexpo. Centrally l ocated, easy and safe to come and go also late in the evening. The staff was always nice and helpful. Nice facade of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Probably the best hotel we've stayed in during our 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Probably the best hotel we've stayed in during our 3 weeks in Europe. Perfect location friendly helpful staff and great food. Would thoroughly recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Staff were really nice and responded quickly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were really nice and responded quickly. The hotel was quite basic compared to its price, but that's Geneva. I only stayed for one night and that was all what I needed for my stay. The hotel is literally outside the train station, which was very useful for me coming from the airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    LOCATION, CONVENIENCE AND VALUE FOR MONEY...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not much to dislike, really! Unless, someone has a bad day, which anyone can have. We were always spot on with our selections throughout the trip. We are not too fussy about accommodations as our goal is to do lot of travelling and sight seeing and not to stay (unless we have to) in our room. So we didn't notice anything that could be classed as (BAD!!!). Only thing that I could recommend is the Breakfast selections (the menu). We wanted to do breakfast but couldn't because there is not much on offer and we were better buying stuff from the very closely location Star Bucks and other stores.

    Location, Location, Location... this place for its price bracket is perfect! I will highly recommend it especially during the off season like in Sept till Nov. because it will be less busy. Still even in peak season, I think if you are getting a good deal on this hotel, grab it! You won't get a better location for mode of transportation, buying food (which is important as hotel and restaurant meals are expensive). Plus its less than 10 min journey (by train) to the airport. Perfect! Perfect! Perfect! Walk 10 min and you are onto the promenade (or the riverside). Walk 20 min and you are in United Nations. You go anywhere from here and it is very convenient. Old town is also on a walking distance. By the way, this is of course depends on how fit you are and how much you like walking. But still it is convenient, affordable and comfortable. What more do you want for the price you pay!!! Thanks to all the staff at the hotel. Will come again, definitely. :-)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Incredible value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had a bit of an obscure side entrance to our room but that is hardly a minus.

    The location was amazing - right next to the train station; walking distance to major attractions; the public transport cards the concierge provided were a wonderful touch. The room was very spacious, the furniture was good and comfortable. The hotel is in a busy place, yet it is quiet. WiFi is flawless. Amenities are clean and well-kept.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds only had the thick comforters you find throughout Europe, no sheets. Since it was summer when we stayed there, it was hard to get comfortable at night.

    This hotel is just a few minutes from the airport and is a 10 minute walk from Lake Geneva. It is also located right next to the train station so it makes a great jumping off spot for any trip you want to do around Europe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    For the convenience, I would recommend this hotel if you want to stay in geneva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facility is kind of old. The drainage in the bathroom is bad. The travel knowledge in surrounding areas outside Geneva from the front desk is somehow disappointed. Due to not speaking fluent English, the communication is somehow difficult in the restaurant of the hotel.

    The location is wonderful: the train station is right outside the hotel: this is a big plus. Very very convenient. It takes about 10 min to walk to Geneva lake where the big jet d'Eou. 15 min walk to old town. The clerk in the front desk is polite. House keeper did try to do a good job in housekeeping.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    larger room!

    relaxed ambiance with swiss flavor; excellent location; friendly supportive staff; clean; nice restaurant and coffee shop; the beautiful view from the room of the water jet and the mountains around the lake:)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    It's an excellent location and also has some good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the mornings the waterpipes make really loud noises which woke me up many times...the door on the bathroom wouldn't close properly so I had to just deal with it. Staff couldn't really answer my questions on the phone from my room in English but we managed after I was passed a few times.

    It's an excellent location and also has some good amenities - provided with a travel card which makes things convenient. The bathroom in the single rooms are beautiful, very modernised and warm large shower. Balcony was a nice touch and so were the bathrobes available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location. Arrived at 11 am and they allowed us to check in early as the room was ready. The double glazing windows also meant we didn’t hear a sound from the station. Incredibly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Lovely stay in Geneva, hotel OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    see above

    Tired room, v outdated decor, although clean. Air conditioning noisy, old. Had to keep windows closed due to noise of station. Bed comfy, bathroom clean. Kitchenette v basic, fridge good. Get what you pay for, I suppose. Staying in Geneva is expensive. Nice reception staff. Didn't bother with restaurant at all; looked ok but dated decor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    I had a great Experience in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air condition as sometimes I felt I had no control on it

    The room was clean, Bathroom clean and include required facilities, the bed is comfortable , TV include channels in English, French and Italian Languages, Location is perfect just opposite to Geneva Gare (direct access to the airport through the gare of Bus no. 5), Near to everything (restaurants, Cafes, Money exchange & Supermarkets), 5 minutes walk from Gare Routiere (Geneva Bus Station) & 8 t0 10 Minutes walk from the Lake and old city (shopping area), Staff was very friendly & Helpful,As all Hotels in Geneva you can get free access for many transportation types (Bus, tramway & Boat in the lake)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Great affordable location right at the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks like bathrooms are being re-done. New ones are nice older ones are tight and showing age.

    Perfect location for a night in and out of Geneva, right at main train station. Complimentary mini bar a nice touch and comfortable rooms. Restaurant on site and station has outlets for anything else you might need.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean and the hotel was overall enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location while close in proximity to the town center was unappealing. It’s right next to the train station, and to a drug rehab facility.

    The room was clean and the hotel was overall enjoyable. The breakfast buffet and room were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the ventilator system was on, it was practically not cooling the room. The bathroom door from inside was with dirt stains

    Very nice and helpful staffs Comfortable bed and clean room Very nice location. The train station is just nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful location for anyone arriving by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was expensive and not as good as we should have liked.

    Wonderful location for anyone arriving by train. Just a very short walk to the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, good value & location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking; the hotel car park didn’t appear very safe. Park in the station car park - ask the hotel for details.

    The staff went above & beyond the call of duty! Good sized studio. Great value in an expensive city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    It was pretty nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not rate it as a 4 star. There was spiderweb in the bathroom ceiling

    It was pretty nice and comfortable. Staff was nice, but the restaurant waiters seemed too busy to pay attention to us

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi need to login via SMS that wr don’t have phone no. to contact.

    All facilities are excellent; simple cooking, easy to the train station, easy to walk around.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beggars around the hotel.

    The hotel is so quirky and gorgeous. Attention to detail is amazing. It's next to the railway station but it didn't seem to matter as the whole experience makes up for it. The area looked quite rough but interesting because of it. Travelling by train would be so easy from the hotel also centre of town and the lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.1
    Good central location with clean comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were flies buzzing around the breakfast buffet. This was not good and more effort should be made to cover food. Supplies were also allowed to run low at the buffet e.g. milk, plates. Staff need to pay more attention to this.

    Good central location with clean comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location especially if using trains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with this hotel. It is an older hotel but we had no real issues.

    Excellent location right near central train station which we needed. We found staff on reception extremely helpful. They booked our day trip to Chamonix the next day for us and gave us good advice on the Geneva map as to how to find places we wanted to visit. You also get a free local transport card. It’s about a 10-15 min walk down to the lake. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant which was a good basic selection but didn’t have time for any other meals there. Our room was on opposite side to train station and quiet at night. You have to ask reception to switch your room Air Con on from a supply point in reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location by the side of the main railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather old but refurbished to fair facilities Very small bath cubicle , not able to turn and move in it without knocking into something and I am small built

    Good location by the side of the main railway station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Central in Geneva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there in a heat wave and the air conditioning in our room didn't really make it cool enough. When we mentioned this, the hotel gave us a fan which made the temperature manageable,

    Very close to good transport options, supermarket, shopping and a wide range of dining options.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Location - very good - 10 meters from railway station
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not working in room 11 and they didn’t fix it and also didn’t want to change our room

    Location - very good - 10 meters from railway station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    A wonderful city with lots to see. Despite original room problem would stay again in a double room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Studio room given didn't match picture on website - inspite of bath problem - layout made room very dark - on 4th floor in a separate building at the back of the hotel - with no access through main hotel.

    Had booked room with kitchenette - however bath sides too high for someone with a hip replacement & a "short" friend (would need steps !!) . No studio rooms with basic shower apparently. Anyway eventually given a double room with a shower. Did have a fridge & kettle so suited us kitchenette didn't have oven anyway. Room was great 5th floor 505 in the attic - great walk in showered. Fridge items were complimentary (coke, juice & water) which was a surprise. Had a meal in the restaurant which was v nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, right next to the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was useless. We ended up sleeping with all the windows open, which was very noisy. This would not be as much of an issue if it hadn’t been 30 degrees outside.

    Great location, right next to the station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    3.3
    Never Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy with trains passing late into night and early morning. Very bad housekeeping. Smells strange and feels very damp and unclean.

    Convenient to train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Hotel Mont Brillant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in a very busy section of town, which has its pros and cons.

    It was in a convenient location. The bed was comfortable. We were in a room with central air which made for a very comfortable evening after a hot day outside. The staff at this place were very pleasant to work with.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Location, staff, food was all excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite Toilet in room had very little space around it. When sitting on it you were pressed against the wall and sink was in your face.. I'm average height and build and I found it tight.. apart from that everything else was fantastic

    Location, staff, food was all excellent..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice location. A money changer nearby with great rates. Metro trains and buses are a couple of minutes walk away. Mini bar was complementary!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Great spot right next to main train station and bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expect a bit of noise at night . Air conditioning not great so had window open.

    Great spot right next to main train station and bus station. Free city transport card from the hotel. Plenty of bars restaurants close by, as well as ones at hotel . Hotel was clean and a good 3 star standard. Geneva is generally an expensive city so I found the price here very reasonable considering.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay. Will consider staying the hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked two rooms. The air-conditioner in one room did not work. We have to open the window in order to have fresh air and cool off a bit in the hot weather.

    Reasonably spacious room. Very clean and comfortable. Meet all basic needs. Excellent location that is just next to the Geneva train station. Very convenient. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Visit to Geneva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower stall too small and could use an update. Room rugs could be cleaner. Not enough accessible outlets for phone and iPad charging.

    Close to transportation and places to get meals or snacks. Walking distance from lake, restaurants and some sites. Small refrigerator in room with water and soda complimentary. Staff courteous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel adjacent to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t think much of the breakfasts, quite stodgy food, most of it laid out the night before and not a single piece of fresh fruit. We didn’t like the location because the hotel was just far too close to the train station and we would have liked to have stayed a little nearer to the lake, although it was an interesting walk between the hotel and the lake.

    The public rooms are very pleasant especially the bar with its beautiful stained glass. The staff in the restaurant are hardworking and gave good service. Dinner in the restaurant was tasty and reasonably priced. The beds were comfortable and we appreciated the aircon in the bedrooms. Parking was free in a nearby location arranged by the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Superb hotel, just right next to the station and the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was good and helpful although the service level and knowledge varies massively depending on the staff member

    Superb hotel, just right next to the station and the main amenities. Great room, I stayed in Switzerland for 3 weeks in summer and it does get very hot. Surprisingly none of the other hotels that I stayed in offers AC, so having AC in your room was a massive plus! Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, staff were friendly, in general most of...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing specific, only i have noticed that the lobby was not air conditioned while the weather was hot during July.

    Excellent location, staff were friendly, in general most of Geneva hotels are expensive especially during summer. But most probably i will book in this hotel during my next visit as i feel it was a good choice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Best holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that I didn't like

    The staff were excellent, the room was brilliant and the food was excellent. The view from room was excellent. The whole experience in Geneva was great and I would certainly come back and stay in The Montbrillant Hotel. I will be telling my friends. Keep the good work up your expertise, helpfulness and overall satisfaction from my perspective was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Ok-ish for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very noisy, when trains come to the station. I was able to hear clearly how person coughs in a nearby room.

    It have a very nice interior design Location is very convenient Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a little bit old. The whole hotel is on the old side, and it would need an integral renewal.

    The location is very good: just beside the train station, close to the lake and the bus station. At the same time, it was quiet. The person at the desk was very helpful and nice. He gave all the information I needed. As in other hotels in Geneve, they provided me with a free pass to any public transportation during my stay. And water and soft drinks were available for free in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Rooms are small but clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough light in the in the bathroom. Breakfast is rather poor and not everything looks very fresh. Staff during breakfast not always available when needed. E.g. problems with coffee machine.

    Rooms are small but clean. Bed is comfortable. Staff is friendly . Good location to get easily to UN.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Love it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast selection were only limited to breads and pastries with a little bit of rice and soup.

    The hotel is located nicely near the train station, really accessible. It got a quirky facade and beautiful interiors, and the staff are accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location!! Right in the heart of downtown Geneva and close to the central train station. I stayed in a single room for the night and it was comfortable and very tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    A hotel with excellent location and good behaviour towards the guests.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is improvable. I did not find it very organised.

    The behaviour of the reception staff towards the guests is excellent, it was impeccable. They are a professional and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Best location ever- next door to the Geneva Hbf!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location after get off the train station. It was at the back exit of the train station which is every convenience and they gave us Geneva card to tour the city. We got room 406 on the front of the hotel with balcony with locely flower basket. There is a small fridge with some free drink as well. That is exceed our expectation as it become hzndy when we walk around the city. The geneva card allow you to get on a yellow boat crossibg the lake too. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    The Hotel Location is good in Busy Area only slighty hear Traffic from my room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Breakfast could be better not in grease Bacon/Sausage for 4* Hotel that's not good Price they charge for it also Didn't Eat in Restaurant because off Price was to Expensive found the Britannia Pub near front Train Station had Steak+Drink for 24 Euros which was acceptable was really nice

    The Breakfast was not that good Bacon greasy full fat Scrambled Egg couldn't Eat tasted awfull so asked Fried Eggs which okay Bedroom was okay only small window very warm the Toilet was faulty & moved when sat on it but reported to Reception Otherwise Location was good Back off Train Station The Hotel nice but very EXPENSIVE to stay £300 for only 2 nights but then Its Geneva I Go Manchester a lot stay in City No where near that Price Cheaper that is Big City UK also

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, but a bit noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The down side, the air conditioning did not work well making the room very hot -- so I had to open the windows, which meant it was NOISY, NOISY, NOISY (loud music, people frequently shouting as they walk by, loud traffic noise) until very late at night (3 am) making it impossible to sleep. And the person in the room next door had a dog that barked.

    The hotel looks cute from the outside with lots of flower boxes, the staff are friendly, and the location is great -- right next to the train station, the bus station, and just down the street from the tourist office where they run tours. The studio contains a little fridge and table.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff is amazing and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is amazing and very helpful. Perfect location directly across from the Cornavin train station. Clean, functional room with complimentary soft drinks, juice, and water. The Wifi also worked well. Very good value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    NOPE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Found huge cockroach in the room. it seems they have it in every room, cause I found some anti insect pills. The single room was very small and not comfortable. because of my compliance, they upgraded my single room with double. double room was ok for comfort, but even single room rate was expensive for it. anyway I would not stay there again.

    Location is good, next to train station. easy to access.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    if it's within your budget, book it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little expensive but worth your money.

    Location!!! Right In front of the main train station! Receptionist from Turkey was very accommodating and kind. They gave like a free 2 day unlimited transportation pass. The stuff in the fridge were free of charge. "COMFORT" room lived up to its adjective. Room was big enough for me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable, we'd return happily if visiting Geneva in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed rather hard for our liking, room service haphazard

    Excellent location for all transport and exploring on foot. Free transport pass very convenient. Restaurant very pleasant and unpretentious with good food. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money hotel, convenient to city centre and airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are thin, you can hear noises outside the room. However, though it's near the station, you don't hear any noise from train at all.

    Very good location, free minibar, quick checkin

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Generally okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive considering hotel service and itself.

    The hotel is right next to the train station, which is very convenient to travel. Breakfast is good. A twin-bed room also has a sofa. Space is enough for a relaxing stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    4.6
    Cockroaches in a 4* hotel?
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel should never have 4 stars!! The first moment I opened door of my room (in the 3rd floor) I saw a big cockroache walking on the floor. The staff changed with me to a similar room on the 1st floor. Cockroaches would be something maybe unavoidable in a tropical country, but not in a 4* hotel in Géneve. The result was that I could not sleep well. This second room was neither very clean and there were some hairs stuck to the wall. A very bad experience, I would never recommend this hotel.

    The only good thing is the location, close to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.4
    Not so brillant any more
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Kitchenette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite noisy room at the Annex of the Hotel, in front of the Train station platform. Air conditioning system did not work.

    Close to the railway station and the City Center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfy bed, great location next to the main railway station...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not the best.

    Comfy bed, great location next to the main railway station and close to many shops and restaurants. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms very quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was clean and tidy and in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful. Stale bread undercooked bacon and very little variety of fruit. I definitely wouldn’t be ordering breakfast again.

    The hotel was clean and tidy and in a great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    The location was right next to the station, which was great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was very small

    The location was right next to the station, which was great for us as we were travelling out of Switzerland the next morning

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: