Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Switzerland hotel reviews
  3. Canton of Ticino hotel reviews
  4. Lugano hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Vezia

Reviews of Hotel Vezia This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

San Gottardo 32, 6943 Lugano, Switzerland

#28 of 47 hotels in Lugano

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 472 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic property with real character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic property with real character. Staff were brilliant to deal with. Facilities for children included pool, table tennis, outdoor chess, table soccer. Great retro 50’s diner onsite also.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    8.3
    Room very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Luna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed on a Sunday and restaurant was closed Sunday not good for a hotel. Room was very small, you need to book a room with the garage underneath the room for a good sized room. Internet is not secure no password to access.

    Room very clean. Excellent breakfast good choice, buffet style.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    5.4
    Great marketing but poor performance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room. Late reservation and arrival just for sleep with no breakfast was definitly overpriced. The bunk bed left a poor impression on the kids who sufffered from it. We didnt get to enjoy the hotel at all.

    Location is good. The covered parking under the appartment is comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    7.9
    First stop at Lugano
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found the price a little bit too high for the quality of the room. But overall we liked it and we will come back next time.

    After a whole day of driving heading to Italie we arrived at Hotel Vezia for our first stop. The hotel was easy to find and after such a long trip we, and especially our kids, really loved relaxing at the pool. The private garage was also nice (but to be honest not really neccessary) the restaurant was nice also and the personel was really helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    5.4
    Nice but far
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Basic facilities and far from the city center.

    The staff were friendly we had a problem with the air condition and the staff were very understanding and replaced the ac unit

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    6.3
    *Friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    *Wifi didn't work at all (anywhere) *It doesn't feel like a hotel, should be named as "motel"

    *Friendly staff! *Nice pool and playground area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very clean rooms, excellent location close to the A2 motorway but also easy accesible to Lugano city centre. Staff very friendly and helpful. Great food/coffee at the retro diner on site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel not far off the motorway. Easy to access and great facilities.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Great hotel after a long drive back from Zurich. Great communicaiton by hotel staff and helped us with our late arrival. Easy to find and great parking access.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.6
    Well located for Lugano visit. 50s memorabilia decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Luna
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perhaps the 50s decor was somewhat stale, but not a problem for us and "funky" for many.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great to get free bus pass to travel to/from Lugano - 10 mins by bus immediately opposite hotel. We had a comfortable room at the front. Rooms at the back are quite small. Quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    8.8
    I'v been in Lugano for a festival music and meeting car,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'v been in Lugano for a festival music and meeting car, and I was so surprise about the Hotel Vezia, that offert a great service and i like so much the vintage autenthic 50's architecture. I congrat all the hotel's staff for their autenthic way and vision and préservation of this old Motel. It was a great travel in the past. THX

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    6.3
    Almost excellent, yet some important details were ignored.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattresses were not comfortable. Didn't sleep well at all. Woke up many times during the night. Another really disappointed were the foods. If the foods weren't supposed to be American style then the dishes were supposed to have American tastes, not dried because of over cooking, or repeatly cooked, then hidden it with the barbecue sauce.

    Friendly staffs, at the reception and at the diner. Good idea of keeping the old 50's style of motel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    Wonderful place for a family to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurant closed early.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. They also spoke english well. The food was also great. The garage under your room is really convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money at Suisse standards (which is usually expensive)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi could be better, pillow could be a bit more comfortable.

    Very friendly staff. I live in Switzerland and not used to people being very friendly. They go out their way to help you out. The character of the hotel is one of a kind. Having your own parking space is great. Access to city center by public transport is a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stay in beautiful Lugano !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was very good.

    We just had a night's stay at the hotel but everything was wonderful. We had dinner at hotel's restaurant which had great ambience, food & service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    6.7
    Very friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room Luna
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very "urban" location.. on a pretty busy street with no view, and very functional services

    Very friendly welcome. Very consistent "user experience" built around the motel concept and the 1950's-60's ambiance. Very complete and varied breakfast service Good value for money in a 'high-end' resort

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    6.7
    High price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A littlle too expensive for what you get! At least the breakfast could be included in the price because it is not that great anyway....

    A crazy looking 50's like motel in Switzerland of all places.....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    7.9
    Great family hotel. We enjoyed our short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For a 50's themed 3*** Hotel it was just fine.

    Breakfast buffet was good with homemade apple cake! Altogether generous portions and very tasty cooking. Swimming pool was a real plus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2017

    9.2
    Very clean and comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect location close to the highway with nice very clean room and private parking under the room in closed garage. The bed was very comfortable. Swimming pool was nice and relaxing after a day on the highway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    6.3
    noisy and hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was hot and the air conditioning cooling was just a joke and made a lot of noisy, the hotel is closed to the main road you could hear all the cars passing through, we couldn't sleep at all the whole night.

    not really

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    7.9
    Good for an overnight stay with car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Balcony or terrass would be nice :) the view is not the best.

    Very good with secure parking directly under your room, nice pool, friendly staff, good breakfast, big plus for corner with toys in the restaurant. Aldo good with free tickets for the bus in to Lugano.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2019

    8.3
    A fun, clean, comfortable stay with a very likable staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room Luna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room was a bit cramped on space, but was adequate!

    It's 1950's dinner theme was fun and the restaurant food was good.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    7.9
    The garage parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room size.

    The garage parking.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    9.2
    Funny hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Funny hotel

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    8.3
    la cortesia in reception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room Luna
    • Stayed 1 night

    la cortesia in reception

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Luna
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator

    Staff were Very accommodating and switched our room to ground floor. Location is excellent. Close to highway and shopping and food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    10
    Great 50s style hotel with excellent quality food and funky...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Luna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great 50s style hotel with excellent quality food and funky garage parking attached to your room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    8.8
    For a motel was super nice, nice idea:)
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like the spider nets in the room and in the bathroom, otherwise super clean.

    For a motel was super nice, nice idea:)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    9.6
    there was a personal garage in which we could park the car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a personal garage in which we could park the car

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Poor or no WiFi all of our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor or no WiFi all of our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Cool rock'n roll motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very cool fifty's style. Great swiming pool. Very frindly people

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room Luna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small rooms

    Very clean and nice pool area for kids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    6.7
    Good free wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Luna
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small rooms and high price.

    Good free wifi. Free parking and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    7.5
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Luna
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fan in the small rooms was very loud. It was very hot.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful simple and accomodating Motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 1 night

    Garage underneath room, easy and fast check-in, nice pool, gelateria just across the street

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very very helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Luna
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was very very helpfull

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    6.3
    Garage for your motorcycle, friendly staff, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Way to expensive!

    Garage for your motorcycle, friendly staff, clean rooms. Average food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    9.6
    Fun Fifties
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit small for 4 people and garage roof was quite low

    The 50's theme was great. Loved restaurant and jukebox

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    8.3
    Old-fashioned hotel with interesting apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price (pretty expensive)

    Nice hotel, old-fashioned apartment with own garage-box

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    10
    It it just worth a visit!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Luna
    • Stayed 1 night

    warm welcome / cosy room and a nice little bathroom with pink walls / close to Lugano and so easy to reach by public transport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    10
    very clean and convenient esp when travelling with car (private garage), good quality, nicest stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Garage Box
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been more substantial with a wider range of warm options than only boiled eggs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    10
    Unique place ideal for motoring groups
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather !

    parking garages below the room, helpful staff and great food in a relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    9.6
    Atmosphere and friendliness of the team
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Luna
    • Stayed 1 night

    replace bath with a walk in Shower

    Atmosphere and friendliness of the team

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    10
    Private garage with direct access to the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garage Box (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Private garage with direct access to the room! Great 50's style hotel and diner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    8.3
    Clean, nice view, easy to get into centre on bus, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows were the only thing that could have been better.

    Clean, nice view, easy to get into centre on bus, friendly staff, nice pool area. A very pleasant stay.

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2015

    9.6
    Great hotel with a lot of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Great hotel with a lot of character. I was upgraded to a room with a garage, which was perfect. Room was large and comfortable with a view of mountains

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2015

    10
    This is the second time we stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This is the second time we stay. The rooms are consistently clean, staff is very sweet, pool is a great break for the kids after a long drive, the self-service drinks by the poolside are appreciated by all, comforters are very comfy. Plus the plantings are very nicely done (for those who appreciate plants). We love the place.

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2015

    6.7
    Lovely reception lady, very helpful and caring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel restaurant we had looked forward to trying was closed when we arrived. A few too many bugs in the swimming pool. Breakfast was not included. We paid more than what booking.com said we would pay.

    Lovely reception lady, very helpful and caring.

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2015

    8.8
    We booked a room 1 hour before our arrival, the staff was so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we had to leave.

    We booked a room 1 hour before our arrival, the staff was so friendly and we got this lovely and clean room. The decorations are really nice and you have to try one of these delicious hamburgers. You can also take the bus to drive into the city center in 10 min.

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2016

    9.6
    Super friendly staff, very clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Super friendly staff, very clean room

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2015

    10
    There is a small garage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is a small garage. The staff are super helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    8.3
    nicely designed rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    wifi was weak in our room

    nicely designed rooms

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    9.6
    Staff were really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were really helpful. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    8.3
    Pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows. Pool closed.restaurant closed

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff, clean rooms, good location, nice to have a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff, clean rooms, good location, nice to have a swimming pool to fresh up after our long journey

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2015

    9.6
    Overall best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Overall best

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2015

    9.6
    Great location in Vezia, next town near Lugano, free parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location in Vezia, next town near Lugano, free parking, pool, large chess. Nice family restaurant right across the street.

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2015

    8.3
    Good location ,supermarket next door .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Air con fan was no good so would suggest that gets looked at .

    Good location ,supermarket next door . Good pool , restaurant , kids cared for . Quirky

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2015

    9.2
    Staff were very helpful by all means.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    standard breakfast, but other than that, great staff and good value for money. highly recommended

    Staff were very helpful by all means.

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2015

    7.1
    The staff was friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff was friendly

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2015

    9.2
    hotel staff very friendly, good service in Hotel restaurant...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    nothing

    hotel staff very friendly, good service in Hotel restaurant staff friendly and food super. I recommend this Hotel.

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2015

    7.1
    The 50's type atmosphere with garage-boxes attached to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Furniture is a little outdated

    The 50's type atmosphere with garage-boxes attached to your room. Great service and spaces rooms.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Vezia Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: