Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Spalentor 4 stars

Schönbeinstrasse 1, 4056 Basel, Switzerland

#4 of 56 hotels in Basel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1680 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great location and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel only as parking for 4/5 cars. We were lucky enough to get a space.

    The hotel is in a great location beside the Spalentor gate to the old town. The town hall is a 10 minute walk downhill or regular trams leave from Spalentor down into the old town. You get a free tram pass for the duration of your stay. We were given an upgrade to a comfort room. Very comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient location, about 15 minutes walk to both city centre and main train station. There is also a bus stop close the hotel. Very friendly stuff. The room is decent size, with comfortable bed and AC.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.5
    Culture Unlimited Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Spalentor Gate is a great visual aid to find the Hotel Spalentor. From the Basel SBB train station we caught a #30 Bus that got us to the Spalentor stop in 7 minutes. The hotel is just across the street from the gate. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was quite comfortable and the city was very fun to Explore. The Basel Card they give you is a great help to exploring this fine city. We hopped on a bunch of beautiful trams and never got lost and got discounts at quite a few museums. It really added to our Basel experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location and wonderful value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby/bar area is very small with limited capacity for sitting down to enjoy a drink with friends. There is outdoor seating but it frequently rains.

    Rooms were large and well appointed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Not only were we upgraded to a better room before we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not only were we upgraded to a better room before we had even arrived, but our luggage was brought up to our room while we were out, and then, after being in the room for 10 minutes, a staff person knocked on the door to check if everything was to our liking! Whew! Felt very pampered. Lovely room, clean and comfortable, wonderful breakfast, extremely accommodating staff, easy location. Expensive, but so is everything else in Switzerland.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Would happily recomend and stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception/bar area small, but plenty of quality restaurants and bars available locally. Hotel is only a few yards away from the old town away, reception staff only too willing to help, secure underground car parking available on request and for a fee

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    that we couldn't stay longer.

    everything! excellent hotel in a great location. and any hotel that serves brownies at breakfast gets my vote of approval.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Lovely comfortable welcoming hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little average, could have been better. The parking at the property is limited, we were lucky and got to park on the front, otherwise we would have been directed somewhere else.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were quite big and soft. Bed was comfortable, though.

    Excellent choice. Room is spacious, very clean, and the location is great as it is just outside the Old Town. Staff were considerate and professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    A fine hotel in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    Spalentor is a fine hotel -- located in the center of Basel, sensitive staff, tastefully decorated rooms, excellent breakfast. We have stayed there several times before and will return whenever possible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Spalentor is in an excellent location across the road from the Gate of Spalentor which gives easy access to the old town. The staff were friendly and helpful and facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothin comes to my mind.

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed, spacious room. Nice personal touch with the welcome note and the offer for public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great, I specially liked the welcome note on...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no free wifi in the room.

    Everything was great, I specially liked the welcome note on the bed and the plastic duck =) Also Basel card was quite useful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice, comfortable, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear elevator from the room (did not keep me from sleeping)

    Very courteous and helpful staff, very comfortable bed, large desk and rocking chair, small things that make for a nice stay. Very well connected with public transport. Walk down to the city through Spalentor, take tram back up. Gym & pool table on ground floor, shaded space outside for drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    We loved staying here and would definitely suggest to others to stay here as well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed a bit warm in the room and breakfast area. Outside was chilly and rainy, but a lack of circulating air made it seem too warm inside.

    Customer service was excellent, attention to our needs perfect and comfort of the room was exactly as we hoped. Very central to walking the Old Town made for a pleasant day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    The room was exactly as it looked in the picture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was exactly as it looked in the picture. We just had to cross the street and we were right in this absolutely lovely town. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we took advantage of the half-price museums and the free bus ride to the train station. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel in gross Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, friendly staff, clean room with nice amenities. They offer Basel card for transportation and museum discount. Great value :) I would say Hotel Dpalentor is the best hotel in Basel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Really friendly staff, breakfast done with care and good...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative point was : the bed was really too soft and for that reason for me personally not very comfortable.

    Really friendly staff, breakfast done with care and good quality food. My room (308) was extremely spacious, really a surprise ! Neighbourhood is not too busy, nice pretty walk through the city gate to go to the center. Or take the very nearby tram. Excellent connection from there to head train station and from there directly to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Theee was not shutters and air conditioning was broke I complained during the night but none was there to help For a 4* hotel it is absolutely shocking. I got no refund just apologies and free parking sport

    Good location near old city Convenient parking for 15 CHf Nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value for the money and a lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The outside of the hotel and the inside hallways could do with a facelift, but please don't judge the book by the cover. Towels are a bit scratchy but the bathtub makes up for it.

    By European standards, our room was HUGE. 2 twin beds with night stands at each side, 2 chairs, a desk, a built in stand for luggage and plenty of room in the closet area for clothes. Lots of light and a great view of the Spalentor Gate from our corner room #103. The bathroom is a bit small but has a wonderful, deep bathtub/shower combo. The staff all were delightful, kind and very helpful in directing us around the city. Excellent customer service. The little garden with tables and chairs was an added bonus for having our locally bought take out food and wine in the evening. We received FREE travel vouchers for the trams and buses at check in. Bus #3 and Tram #33 stops are directly across the street from the hotel and very convenient for the train station and to the Marktplatz. Spalentor Gate is the top entrance to the old town with many lovely shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Great Hotel, Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location - easy to get to from the airport, close to the old town, many good restaurants within walking distance, great staff who provided lots of information and did everything they could to make our stay outstanding. Also within walking distance of the docks where our river cruise was departing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little mould in the corner of the ceiling, which we did mention to staff, so I imagine they will fix it quickly

    Huge, quiet, comfortable room with all we needed, including a coffee machine. Helpful staff, great breakfast. Location great for sightseeing. Appreciated the Basel passes very much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Proximity to centre ville was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    Proximity to centre ville was exceptional. Basel card was a bonus thank you. Bed magnificent and quiet at night. Breakfast was great but no soft boiled eggs! We would stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    An great example of the Swiss premium quality and hospitality. Not cheap but worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit expensive

    Welcoming message and professionalism at reception desk. Just perfect Furniture quality and room equipment. Very impressive Breakfast : diversity, staff courtesy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Splendid spalentor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,everything was great.

    Location is brilliant,room size is amazingly spacious,huge bed,amenities in the room,i.e. mini fridge,large tv with major English channels and the coffee machine are an added bonus,breakfast was lovely and the staff are so helpful to all your needs. All in all a great place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Great value in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Great personal feel. Very well located - close to old city and public transport, which is free with the Basel card the hotel issues. Close to the very nice botanical garden. Rooms are spotless clean, ours was renovated and very comfortable. Reception friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again when in Basel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    The staff at the reception was really competent and very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nichts

    The staff at the reception was really competent and very friendly... something very special that makes the client feel really welcome.. breakfast top level and rooms of a top level as well.. definitely my hotel on my next trips to Basel..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice friendly hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please teach the cleaning ladies not to knock on the door when the Do Not Disturb sign is up!

    Very nice small hotel, very comfortable and clean, very friendly service!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.5
    Lovely hotel in the center of town
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was a bit chaotic and the staff seemed a bit inattentive.

    We had a lovely trip. The staff was very friendly and answered all our questions. We got an upgrade for our room and it was huge and very comfortable with everything we could think of. Overall I can only recommend this lovely hotel, and we will definitely come back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom.

    Staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very spacious, bright and confortable. Hotel’s location is great, very near to the old time and well connected by trams.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice room, good size and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice room, good size and clean! Location good, short stroll to Old Town. Good transport links, bus and tram stops close by, easy access from airport. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel, we had a really nice time in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didn't like is that there are only 3-4 parking places in front of the hotel, luckily I managed to find one free spot, but I guess it would be quite inconvenient if I didn't.

    We stayed at deluxe double room which was spacious, clean and cosy with a modern interior design, small balcony and plenty of light. Bathroom was super clean, plenty of towels were provided as well as hair drier, they really paid attention on details and provided even some small things like nail file and bathing duck :) Hotel personnel was very polite and helpful. We were also given a city card for free transport and 50% discount on museum tickets. Really nice experience!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location beside the entrance to the old city area not too far out from centre great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge/bar area is a bit small and no evening meals but this didnt really bother us but may for others. The bar is small but spotless and cosy.

    The staff were excellent so helpful and friendly i hope they are appreciated . Great welcome. If im ever in basel i would stay here again free travel card for bus and tram service given when u check in and the bus stop is across the road and main station only 3 stops away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Great property at a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On first sight, the breakfast selection was limited and we decided not to do it.

    Excellent location with easy access to famous sites via Tram which stops at one minute walk - the room had good facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    beautiful clean hotel in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking not very convenient and 15chf per day

    wonderful staff, very clean room, very comfortable bed, coffee and tea in the room, quiet even when facing the street (top floor room)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Basel is an attractive medieval city but very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 nights of disturbed sleep because guest in room above ours both nights came in at about 3.30, talked very loudly for about 2 hours, went up and down in lift, paced the room, scraped chairs across the floor etc. This went on until about 5.30am.

    Hotel was spotlessly clean, room very spacious and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good selection of food at breakfast buffet. Excellent location near the old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Location was great. You get what you pay for. Basic accomodation. Good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller than expected... air conditioning is turned off in the winter months. Request a room at the back ad the road is very busy and noisy

    Brilliant location. Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Practical and pleasant stay, great reception staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived, room 103, 1st floor on the corner, was very cold. However a very kind lady from the reception quickly came and helped me to regulate the heating system and brought a small extra electric heater. Two sides of the room facing directly the street on first floor, so when it's dark outside (very early in this season) anyone can see you inside unless you completely close the blinders. No bidet.

    Staff very kind and helpful. The decor is not "glamourous" but everything is functional. Slippers, bathrobe and coffee machine in the room. Like in other hotels of the city, they offer the Baselcard for reduction on museum tickets and free transports. Tram VERY close to the room but very little noise, did NOT disturb. The area seems not interesting for visiting but is well served by public transports to reach the historic center, the station ecc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    was as good as it gets
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cant think of anything

    staff very friendly and full of smiles. Very comfortable and clean room. Good coffee in the room. Great breakfast and again staff all smiled. Brilliant location, a short walk from everything you would want to see and the free Basel card means you can get the number 3 tram back up the hill to the hotel if you are tired at the end of the day. slept peacfully and well

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor thing was shortage on breakfast food and drinks, we arrived a bit later and i.e. some juices were gone and only empty jars were there. However, that's a minor point

    Pretty much everything was great. Spacious warm room, bed is huge and soft, staff is friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    This property is impeccably clean and was recently renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is impeccably clean and was recently renovated. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious. Excellent friendly helpful staff. Fantastic location to old town.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Room was noisy due to traffic on the road outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was noisy due to traffic on the road outside. Also felt rather hot in the room and the only way of cooling it down was to open the window, which added to the noise ...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    A definite hotel choice should I return to Basel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar Service could be a little quicker. Bar could stay open a little longer.

    Friendly and efficient Check In process. Comfortable, Clean Room. Pretty good location with easy Tram connection to and from Town Centre. Several restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.1
    The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower experience is bad. The hotel is renovated nicely, but the bathroom stayed very small. The coffee machine is only for highly intelligent people ... I'm not one of them -- couldn't figure it out ... I hope it was broken :-).

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. It really adds a lot to your stay. The bed is very good, much better than in most of the hotels. Nice price for parking and good location for exploring the city. Breakfast is average at best.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    very efficiently managed hotel, good location, very flexible...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noise from the busy street outside (tram line and buses).

    very efficiently managed hotel, good location, very flexible and well organized to cater to families with young children

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Relaxing and easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An added benefit would be a bigger lounge area with a few more types of snacks. But it is a minor point.

    Friendly, helpful, cheerful staff. Excellent location, short walk into centre past many shops and restaurants, and an excellent bus / tram system if required. Pleasant, very clean room and bathroom with all amenities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Staff were so friendly welcoming, eager to help, and had lovely smiles that seemed truly genuiine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was until 10. We got there at 9:40 and the food was low and they did not top up, so we had to make do without any hot options.

    The reception staff were friendly and welcoming with lovely smiles. They truly made you feel welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    great hotel, but close to noisy street
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 issues - very soft mattress - not suitbale for my back, and noise from the street - the tramways are driving since early morning till late evening, just in front of your window - if you like quiet place, this is not for you

    very nice hotel, with fantastic staff - clean, tidy and roomy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.3
    A good hotel in a nice city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a problem with the blind in my room, which meant that the room was rather light on the first night, but this was then fixed by the staff.

    Convenient and comfortable hotel just outside the old town. Very friendly and helpful staff. Coffee machine in room was a very good bonus (though instructions for using it were not quite accurate).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel but warm rooms. Would return if back in Basel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were very warm and the air con very loud which meant it couldn't be left on during the night.

    The hotel was in a good location and very easy to reach from the airport. There were plenty of excellent restaurants within a 10-15 min stroll. The room was very nice and the hotel was quiet at night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast with a good choice of dishes. There was a tiny bar ( maybe 4 tables?) in the area beside the reception desk.Free wifi. Coffee machine in room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was the air conditioner that was broken and bring out water from it.we don’t use it.

    Awesome I enjoyed very much staying there. A super location very near to center of the city the room was clean and comfortable,the staff was very helpful and friendly,the bathroom was big and clean.the breakfast was super

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Central location, good quality and exceptionally helpful and friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel reception and lobby ought to be open later. I would suggest until midnight, to cater for late arrivals and/or for those hotel guests hoping to enjoy a "nightcap" before going to their rooms.

    Friendly staff, exceptionally polite and professional. Amanda, Muriel and Steffi were particularly outstanding and they are a credit to the hotel team. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    Staff were excellent, really helpful and a credit to the hotel. The room had everything that is needed for a stay plus more. The hotel is in a great location, pretty 10-15 min walk to town hall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Friendly and decent stay in Basel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Thin walls, so could definitely hear what was happening around the room; not an issue during the night, but something to watch out for in the morning

    Nice staff, clean hotel. Definitely decent experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    Great art trip, loved Basel. Transport amazing. Sad to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a light sleeper & the hotel is on a busy crossroads so even with double glazing and ear plugs I didn't get much sleep. Booking.com advertised rooms there from £78 and then charged £140 in low season and added an £12 transaction fee. Really?

    Staff couldn't have been more accommodating. They were able to provide special pillows, adaptors etc and they seemed to know every inch of Basel. So helpful Hotel was directly opposite the old town with amazing transport links. Trams, buses etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi fare from Airport to Hotel very expensive would have liked to been fair warned

    Clean and tidy, staff were helpful and food was very well displayed and tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    We had an outstanding stay and highly recommend this lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like!

    Beautiful, spacious, clean room; very helpful, pleasant staff; great location with easy access to points of interest (complimentary public transport ticket); good breakfast available at hotel--very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Good location and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Computer crashed as we checked out. They were unable to take cash or credit payments which was frustrating

    Nice selection of continental breakfast served on the top floor with a view of Spalentor gate if you got the right table!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, easy to get to from the Train Station and across from the entrance to the old town area. Great staff, very good breakfast, room was as expected, clean and spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent City Smaller Hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't get to have breakfast (had to leave for early flight) so don't know what it was like. As with many hotels in Basel, some rooms are small, but it is worth looking at the larger (more expensive) rooms if you have a long stay.

    Well located smaller hotel, very helpful staff, good free wifi. Rooms very well equipped and laid out. Excellent access to public transport once you are a little familiar with the system in the city. Would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area directly around Hotel not that great. Breakfast was not included in the room rate so we did not have breakfast there.

    Location was nice and quiet at night. Easy walk to old town, trams and train.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant, relaxing and cheerful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prefer electronic keys vs mechanical ones, which are harder to carry. Need for code at the gate in late hours. Was not an issue for this trip, but if I had arrived late due to a potentially delayed flight, I could not have got in.

    Excellent service at reception. Always smiling and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    All in all an excellent experience!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was kind of hard to step into the shower as one needs to be slim and extra agil. The shower glas door can not open properly and it was really difficult to handle it... wondering if other people think that way too (room 208).

    Excellent bedding, very clean and extra friendly staff. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyable and will definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only point is the pillows are exceptionally soft, but you can request a more supportive one from Reception.

    The breakfast was very good and quite a large selection, especially for a continental! The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful to a fault. Locatin is superb

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Very comfortable room! Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room, elegantly and simply decorated - very clean and updated, nice bathroom, excellent shower, good breakfast, comfy bed, lobby bar, great service, fantastic location!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Hotel Spalentor is First Class
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike!

    The hotel is the best we have ever stayed in. The staff are friendly, helpful and courteous. The room was large by European standards, extremely comfortable bed and great amenities, the breakfast buffet varied and satisfying. The location is ideal, particularly coming from the airport by bus, and for access to the Old Town and other transport needs. The free transport ticket is an added bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cant complain about anything. Balconey was a bit small.

    Very close to everything within walking distance. The bus stop is just across the road. Easy walking to walking district. The parking for the hotel is just down the road in a parking garage which was secure. If someone has a lot of bags, then recommend unloading first at hotel entrance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Super comfortable hotel in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Everything was great, driven by the helpful staff and there attitude that they wanted to make your stay comfortable. Any questions or needs were efficiently and completely answered. Had parking for our bicycles and provided all the information we needed at check in. No need to go back and forwards, and welcome drinks in the foyer were nice too. Breakfast was very good quality. Location wise you are just on the edge of the old town, prefect and easy to get to the airport too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Across from an old city gate, great location, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy walk to transportation and market place area, but just walking close to hotel for an evening walk alone did not feel as comfortable .

    We arrived by Biking River cruise and it was a fairly easy walk to the hotel. Public bus would have been simpler if we had understood the system. Across street from public transportation and one short bus ride to train station. Staff were helpful and offered us ideas of things to do since we arrived early and room wasn't ready. Basel was a nice city to visit, easy to get around and interesting things to do. It was the most expensive city on our visit. At the hotel's suggestion we floated down the Rhine and had a wonderful time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Upon arrival, they gave me public transport ticket and I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival, they gave me public transport ticket and I could also take a bike, which i did and enjoyed the ride in the city centre and along the river. Hotel is in perfect location, there is a botanuc garden next to it free for public, big flea market on Saturdays. The rooms are amazingly designed! Best hotel I stayed ever.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    Feels like budget no frills hotel but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It feels like staying in a vudget no frills hotel. In saying that,the bed is very comfortable though. Breakfast is limited. Too expensive for what we pay.

    Cleanliness and professionalism of staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Really comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices were high, but it seems typical for Switzerland

    The hotel is right by the Spalentor, and in easy walking distance of the city centre, its famous red Rathaus, and the river. The hotel offers bikes for rent, and also the fish bags so that you can swim in the river. The little room with pool table, and table football was a great way to spend an evening. Really lovely staff, and our rooms were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Modern, trendy and welcoming, near a historic landmark. Handy transport links on the doorstep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room had limited capacity seating.

    Welcoming reception staff eager to help. The rooms were stylish & beds super comfy! Great room facilities! A personal written message on a postcard greeted us in our room, which was a nice touch. A trendy hotel! City tax enabled free travel on trams & buses which were right on the doorstep! Basel's transport network is amazing! Hotel located on a busy junction but close to the historic "Spalentor" & near some quaint streets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location ,to explore Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    have to pay for parking, breakfast a little expensive , if you only need a coffee and a little cereal. but has a good selection Buffet.

    fantastic location ,great rooms, clean modern, AC, comfortable big beds,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Super friendly and helpful staff, large comfortable rooms,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness room is open to the games room which is a bit odd...

    Super friendly and helpful staff, large comfortable rooms, and located close to the river and city center.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Spalentor traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: