Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Spatz 2 stars

Obergrundstrasse 103, 6005 Luzern, Switzerland

#48 of 68 hotels in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 660 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Very happy with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everytthing was good

    Staff were really helpful and the meal in the restaurant was wonderful. situated next to bus stop to take you to the lake was very handy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.9
    Great basic place to stay with no frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately it was still quite warm when we visited, the room did not have air-conditioning, and was right next to a busy road where the traffic never actually stopped throughout the night. Having to have the window open increased the noise which otherwise the double glazing probably would have reduced. The room was bijou, the sink being in the actual room due to lack of proper bathroom. That had toilet and shower in it with just enough room to turn around in, once you shut the door. All in all, it was everything you actually needed but not much of the extra bits which make it above basic.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly particularly the breakfast staff which consisted one one man who was very busy but very helpful and polite. All the staff spoke perfect English which was appreciated as we don't speak Swiss German. The breakfast itself was buffet. A little limited but still more than adequate. The croisants and coffee were both excellent. The hotel itself was right alongside a bus stop which takes you to the city centre in about 5 minutes or if you are able to walk, a 15 minute walk into the city. All the basic facilities were present. The hotel was spotless. Helpfully the hotel had free parking which we needed. The hotel also sent us the Lucerne Card in advance of our stay which gives free travel on the city buses and discounts for many tourist sites. The restaurant looked great and the menu for meat eaters seemed wonderful although sadly we did not get chance to sample it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    A decent hotel not too far from Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and we had a lot of luggage for two small children. And no kettle or tea.

    Friendly staff and breakfast good and location good. The visitor’s pass was useful for buses and there was a reduction for tickets.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.6
    Unpleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was as much as the price at hotel Hecht in Apenzell, but wereas in Apenzell the hotel was very good, in Spatz hotel there was nothing that I can recommend it for. The hotel is located at the cross of 2 traveled roads, so it's nosy; that wouldn't have been a problem if we closed the windows, but there was a smell of fried food coming from the staircase into the room, with our door shut, of course, so if you wanted to have a little bit of fressh air, you had to leave the windows open, with all the street noice. The room looked old and used and far away from cosy. I can't recommend it.

    Easy to reach from the railway station. I only used the restaurant at breakfest, so I can't say much about the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    Hotel Spatz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no bar frigde or air conditioning as the days were hot. Only fans were provided.

    closeness to the city, easy bus access, the buses were very regular And the buses stopped next to the. train station which was very handy for catching trains.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Spatz is located bang opposite bus stop which makes it very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spatz is located bang opposite bus stop which makes it very convenient for travel. It is 5 minutes away from central railway station in bus and situated in a very nice neighbourhood of Lucern. We loved the place. Only point to know is that it does not serve vegetarian food in its restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    2 Days in Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a bit small but adequate. It was very hot during our visit and the only ac was the window.

    Good location for the city centre, 10/15 min walk to the covered bridge. There is a good restaurant out the front to the left. Nice bars and shops on the walk back from town. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    City guest card provided by hotel was super useful - it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    City guest card provided by hotel was super useful - it allow free of charge bus trips to city center. nice breakfast with delicious croissants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Happy & Soothing stay. Convenient to travel around the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My friends got a smaller room (not all rooms are that big). So that can be a slight disappointment if you stay longer.

    Hotel staff were very polite and courteous. Also the best part is that there's direct bus running from central station (4 stops away) and the bus stops exactly opposite to the place. So its very convenient from transportation point of view. The hotel also provided free transport tickets, so you can travel freely in the city without any fees. Breakfast was good (8/10). Given the hot climate in early August the hotel staff even had personal fans in bedroom. So that was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Best Experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were extremely light. We woke up at 5:30am because the sun light was right in our room.

    Service!!!! ***** extremely helpful staff and the bald man on reception(sorry) was one of the most friendly person I met in Switzerland. He helped us so much for the buses and landmarks that he actually won 5stars. Food is fantabulous. You must try the rib eye. I recommend this hotel to everyone who's in town to have fun food and a bed to sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    The stay came with a pass for free bus/train/tram...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was on a busy street, so there was traffic noise, but it wasn't too bad.

    The stay came with a pass for free bus/train/tram rides within the 10th transit zone, which includes almost anywhere you could want to go within the city (at least as a tourist). That made it really easy to get from the hotel to the center of the city (5-10 min). Our room had a large balcony with a table and chairs that we relaxed on at night. Service was helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was standard Swiss breakfast fare. There was also a fan in the room which was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location and easy transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, which we knew. They provided a couple of fans. Me and my daughter were fine but husband couldn’t sleep. On a busy road so couldn’t have windows open. No one available on reception after checkin throughout our stay

    Comfy beds. Excellent bus service right outside door five minutes into town for free. Five minutes from mount Pilatus also. Continental breakfast included. Parking available on site. Excellent WiFi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    The location is very convenient although outside of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty basic but ok for a short stay. The rooms facing the road are noisy.

    The location is very convenient although outside of the center. A free bus card is provided and the stop is just in front of the hotel. Nice breakfast. There is a private parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Good location...room and breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift...if you have more luggage...its a trouble...staff can help you...

    Bus connection to main station on doorsteps...11..14..and 20 number buses...with the right room you have nice mountain view from the window..breakfast was good...restaurant was good with sun filled glass roof...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    STAY WAS COMFORTABLE WITH GOOD BREAKFAST THOUGH
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO ELEVATORS FOR THIRD FLOOR GUESTS. CLIMBING WITH VACATION LUGGAGE WAS TIRING TOP FLOOR GETS WARM DURING THE DAY WITH NO AIR CONDITIONERS IN THE ROOM

    LOCATION FOR COMMUTING IN LOCAL TRANSPORT

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean, spacious, good locatio (a 15min walk to city centre),...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was warm therefore we had the windows open which resulted in a medium amount street/traffic noise entering the room. Simple rooms without much decoration/cosyness

    Clean, spacious, good locatio (a 15min walk to city centre), private parking at the property and very kind host. Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Price was right but there were a few things wrong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was surprisingly bare and in a state of disrepair that a good coat of paint could do wonders for. The climate is nice enough that AC isn't necessary but I tend to like it cold at night. We tried sleeping with the windows open but our room shared a balcony with a couple that were outside smoking often. The shower head clip was coming out of the wall so it was difficult to operate the shower. Switzerland is very expensive compared to many of it's neighboring countries so the price was what attracted me most. I just wish that the little details were seen to to make the stay more comfortable.

    The host was very friendly and explained that we had free use of the city bus which stopped right outside of the hotel, for the duration of our stay. We definitely made use of that both days we were there. Breakfast was amazing and the restaurant is beautiful. Parking was great. Location was good. Not too far from the main attractions. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows on the bed were like clouds! I wanted to sneak off with them ;)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent Budget hotel with added extras.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift made accessibility to rooms difficult. Bed, although very comfortable was low and really difficult to get out of due to mobility problems.

    Fabulous coffee, beautiful flakey croissants and a great breakfast spread. Bus stop at the front door. 4 stops, 10 mins to central station was excellent. Friendly, helpful staff made our stay pleasurable. Dining in the restaurant was good and the ribs were delicious!😋

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Rooms 4 star Location 5 star Food 3 star Overall 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift is not there so yiu might have to carry your luggage through stairs. Also there is no fridge,microwave, water boiler in the rooms.

    Rooms are spacious especially if you are booking a deluxe room. They also have a balcony on 1st floor if booking room for 3 persons. Located 10 mins walk and 2 mins by car from Lucern bahnof(station). There is a bus stand below the hotel that takes you to the station every 5 mins

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location tram 🚋 just outside the hotel and very helpful staff👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs 😿

    Very choosy clean small room .location is great as tram is right outside the hotel and all tram lead to main station except for number 5 the staff provides free tram card 😊😀 and excellent staff service ....definitely a great experience 👍👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    Adequate for someone traveling through.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was very spotty for my room in the attic, and although I'm very fit, it winded me climbing 4 flights of stairs. It was a bit dark too.

    It has free parking and the bathrooms were newly remodeled. Also bus stop right in front.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Made our vacation easier, large clean rooms, excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked because of the ease of parking and when we were going to check out we placed all of our belongings in the car before grabbing breakfast and checking out - well 4 cars had double parked at the front of the parking lot during the middle of the night and if I had already had breakfast and checked out, I would have had to blindly back my car out of the parking lot and into a busy road. I was not pleased with that. The clerk at breakfast didn't know what I meant when I told him and then he realized someone else had complained about it as well. But by the time we finished eating and were ready to head home 2 of the cars left so I could barely squeeze our very small hatchback into this space to leave the hotel. Hopefully they crack down on people doing that somehow! I would have not been happy to back into a busy road that couldn't been seen from the hotel parking lot. The room came with 2 fans which helped in the summer heat! Besides that - room, wifi, cleanliness, size of space, workers - everything was perfect! Oh - and our shower head in our room was insane. If you didn't hold it for the majority of the time you were showering - it sprayed the ceiling and outside of the shower! I have already recommended this hotel to friends! We loved it!

    I was in a mad rush to find a hotel for our last minute stay in Lucerne coming from Germany! Hotel Spatz had a room available for my friend and I and several things made me book! They have free parking on site that is easy to find - though my GPS wanted to take me down the wrong side of the road at no fault to the hotel - so we had to turn around to find it! The property has a restaurant on site but it was closed for the evening for a private party, which was fine because we were set on exploring and snacking in town! Check in was easy and the clerk explained the free bus passes which you are given at check in to us! I had chosen this property because of the free and easy parking but the bus passes made our entire stay! The Eichhof station is right outside of this hotel and you can take 4 different buses into the city! I can't tell you how many times we used the buses in the city! I made getting between monuments and bridges so easy! It made this Switzerland trip the easiest out of all others we have planned in the past year! The room was super clean, we had a balcony, and were located on the first floor. The views from our side room were perfect and the balcony was a hit this summer with the cool breeze at night! Breakfast the next morning was included in our rate and it was your typical European breakfast. Help yourself style and they had bread, croissants, butters, jams, boiled eggs, yogurts, cereals, granola, water, hot chocolate, coffee, and juices! I have already recommend this hotel to a friend booking a Lucerne trip this summer and will definitely utilize this property again if we come back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No cupboard or minibar in the room!

    Location was brilliant, with plenty of regular buses to the station/town centre. Also, it was well connected to Kriens & Pilatus area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location (short walk to anywhere), fantastic staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I actually found bad was the sheets were a bit too thick for the summer time (I sweated incredibly bad at night when sleeping) & the bathroom/room kept heat in (including the humidity from the shower) making it super hot. Besides that, I would definitely go to the hotel again.

    Great location (short walk to anywhere), fantastic staff, service, food, etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    The room was spacious, clean and had a good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious, clean and had a good bed. It was recently redecorated in a nice modern, neutral style. Breakfast was good, loved the crispy croissants! There was a bus stop right in front of the hotel, and with the free bus pass provided, it was only circa 5minutes to get to the citycenter.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lift in hotel, if your room is in upstairs and you have with heavy luggage, it is not easy. No air-co, keep in mind if you consider to stay in summer. Room size was ok but bathroom is extremely small. Towels were clean but a bit old.

    Location! Very easy access (by bus) to Centrum and you get free ticket for bus. Staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Really Enjoyed. Great memories....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Entertainment in the room (TV) could have customized (Guest's understanding language) entertainment.

    The breakfast was well taken cared off, with something for everyone to like and eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Location, morning breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great.

    Location, morning breakfast. Free Wifi connection, Free pass for the zone where all that we liked. The room was kept neat. The staffs where very courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    Value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator there. We didn't experience it as we came in spring but during summer it may be quite hot there.

    The bed and blanket is super comfortable. We got the family room even when we paid the standard room. Breakfast at restaurant, nothing to complain given the price but the restaurant is very pretty. The hotel sent us the traveller card on the day of our arrival, which is very appreciated as we didn't pay a single cent for transport in the city, unlike some other hotels that only gave our transport card when we check-in the hotel. We were also given a tourist guideline, with some recommended tourist attaction and free gift (from some shops).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.2
    The price of the room was too expensive for what was offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very old and needs to be updated. The bathroom was too small. The carpets on the floor didn’t look very clean. The room was very hot, and unfornately there was no air conditioning. The room just didn’t look clean because of the condition of the actual building. And I also didn’t like that it was not in walking distance to downtown Lucerne.

    The room was bigger than the typical European room size

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Our stay with hotel Spatz made our Switzerland stay wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! All was perfect!

    Every thing was excellent!! Love the location being far enough out of the city, and quick free bus for our party of 3 to go in and out of town easy. We had a 5 star dinner for my husbands 60th birthday. Truly a good experience all the way.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Hotel has great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was maybe a little on small size, but it is understandable and was not a surprise.

    Hotel has great location. Free parking place is additional value. You can take public transport (for free as tourist) or just walk (about 20 min) to the city center. Staff in hotel very helpful. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    We love Luzern!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noice from the buss, but not too big problem!!

    Breackfasr was good, misset more fruts and vegeterian food, but great over all! Great to get card to drive bus and discount for musiums etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely worth of money especially when travelling with limited budjet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift so climping up the stairs with heavy luggage isn't the easiest job.

    Nice and clean hotel near the city center and Mount Pilatus (which is worth visiting!), next to the bus stop. Spaceous room and good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    We felt very fortunate booking here. Definitely exceeded our expectations
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marcus! He was so very kind, helpful and friendly at check-in. Comfy and clean beds, immaculate bathroom, great location, excellent included breakfast. All at a very fair price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Great service and nice accommodating place near the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We received a free "travel ticket" for the length of our stay in Luzern, we could ride bus or tram in the city for free, the bus station was right next to the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Overall It was a good choice to stay here. I was satisfied with staff, breakfast and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    one thing I was a bit disappointed was there was no elevator. so we had to carry all luggage going up and down by stairs.

    The staff was so attentive and it was close enough to a few restaurants or any other attractions. we were worried about the location because it says its 15 min walk away from the train station. but public transportation in Luzern was so convenient so there was no any problem at all. and I love the breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Easy to find Hotel and connected with Bus routes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not up to standard and could do with some warm foods

    Easy to find Hotel and connected with Bus routes Friendly and helpful staff Big room with everything we needed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    Offer us free day pass for public transport during our stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Privacy is low as the blind in the room is semi-transparent.

    Offer us free day pass for public transport during our stay which facilitated us to go around the town. We left early in the morning and they made breakfast available.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Very cost effective hotel in Luzern.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cost effective hotel in Luzern. Good connection with downtown and railway station via bus (stop is in front of the hotel). Walking distance to downtown is still about 15 minutes, so you can really walk there. Very friendly staff. Good restaurant but note that it is meat/grill oriented.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Nice cozy place, not very far from the train station.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very few hot items may be something like an Omellete in breakfast would have been nice.

    Nice cozy place, not very far from the train station. Bus stand is right in front of the hotel with frequent service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    two nights in Lucerne. Free and easy bus travel. nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice breakfast. Free bus pass (for duration of stay). The bus stop next to hotel for travel to downtown train station Lucerne and buses every 10 minutes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel and staff,close to the town centre with transport stops right on your doorstep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to the 3rd floor room, the restaurant was closed on the first night although this was not mentioned when booking and a few flea bites I obtained? But I cannot be sure it was the hotel to blame only that it happened when we were there.

    The staff were friendly and the hotel very close to town either a 10 minute walk or a few stops on the tram/bus which stops right outside and is free with the card supplied by the hotel. We had a very spacious room at the top of the hotel (unfortunately on the 3rd floor and no lift). Overall well worth staying there and I would return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed Lucerne but had a problem finding decent restaurants...everyone there very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing ...it was what I expected and suited my requirements

    A little out of the centre of Luzerne but that was made easy by a bus right outside right to the centre, hotel very accommodating...the room was nice a large and we had everything we needed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Hotel was excellent place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't fault this hotel.

    Hotel came with balcony which was ideal to sit with family. The room was clean and large enough for the family. The bathroom facilities are good. Breakfast is really nice and the hotel is literally at the bus stop. The hotel also offers free public transport at part of your stay which is a great bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    3.8
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too crude, comparing to its price. Especially, the room is just by the street. The noises made by the passing cars will make you crazy to get to sleep. And the curtain is nearly transparent to the night's light from outside.

    Good location. Very near to the train and boat station. The breakfast is OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money, easily reachable, large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I suspect, that a previous guest has smoked in the bathroom.

    Very friendly and helpful personell! Bus stop directly in front of the entrance door. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Convenience with car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely spartan facility to be kind. Small room and very minimal breakfast. Not sure about value for money because all properties in Lucerne are expensive.

    Convenience with car

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay @ fullest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    1. Friendly Staff 2. Yummy Breakfast (esp croissants) & Soooper Coffee :) 3. Locality & Flexible Transport to Lucerne centrum( Bus stop is very near,In fact, we started from room, by seeing the bus timings from window :)) 4.Appreciate for considering our request and providing multiple options before we checked-in. Thank you ! 5. In Budget

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if there are electric kettle in a room.

    Staff are kind and friendly. The location is convenient to access from the Luzern main station by bus. About ten minutes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Great option for a city break in Luzern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AC but it was quite fresh at nights so didn't bother us much

    Amazing hotel for a short stay! We couldn't find a hotel in Luzern for ages as it felt they are either overpriced or super far away, and then Hotel Spatz happened to be the best option ever: great facilities, amazing location (not center-center but believe me, you won't need it - the city is just tiny and few stops by bus (6 min!) will take you to the very city center + hotel gives you free bus tickets to be used during your stay) And it was so nice to leave a car at the hotel and have a drink, so do use this option! Also, hotel staff was very helpful and nice and gave us a bottle of champaign for our little special occasion (thank you guys!). The room is not huge but enough for a short stay of two. Breakfasts were also great however no hot meals (like omelets etc)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.4
    close to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had te top room in the attic, wich was extremely hot! the windows could only open a little.

    close to city centre and the bus stop is directly in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately on site restaurant was closed.

    Friendly and helpful staff, gave us a bus pass on arrival to get into the town centre, also borrowed an adapter.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location with the buses to the city center and train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi connection could have been a little more stable though.

    Great location with the buses to the city center and train station stopping just outside the hotel. Provided with a free public transport pass for usage throughout the stay which was nice. Check in was seamless although I was a little early.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Good position, polite staff, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good position, polite staff, clean room. Very useful the restaurant downstairs. Useful the fact that they gave us a free ticket for the public transports for the days of our stay. Free parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    The staff were very friendly and helpful and loaned us an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and loaned us an plug adapter ( as Switzerland is different from the rest of Europe) and the free bus travel into the centre was easy to use and ran regularly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay... large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was weak. Connectivity came in and out.

    The owner was so helpful. Took care of my needs. Right across the street from the bus stop. Very convenient. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    OK if your passing through
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very limited and nothing special

    Ok if your just passing through. Small room meant the corners of the bed were hard to avoid bumping into. Free transport to town a bonus

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.0
    Poor hotel with luxary rate !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Area.

    Dores and windows of Room No. 14 wherei stayed was loose and falling down. No one there in the etire property from management. Very scarry. I paid CHF 180, in the city similar rooms available at IBIs at CHF 112. Reply of owner is rude and shocking like stay or get lost mail at mid night. I will never use bookings.com or spartz. I will curse myself for booking this hotel for family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    Too Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Right besides bus stops, very noisy if the window is open; If window is closed, hot and suffocating air due to no air-conditioning inside.

    Friendly and helpful Staff! Easy transportation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Location was great and staff was super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we were on 3rd floor and there is no A/C. It was very hot and all windows needed opened. Luckily it wasnt too hot outside or that room could become miserable.

    Location was great and staff was super friendly and helpful. They provided free bus vouchers for 2 days and gave us info on the city without being prompted.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was very small and bathroom would be nice if it had a seeparate door.

    Excellent location. Great breakfast ,easy parking and super friendly staff ! Definitevely would stay here again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    Good and convenient location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested for a full bed which turned out to be two double beds connected together. The beds kept getting separated. Also, I never saw the receptionist. I'm not sure if the servers in the restaurant next door are also the receptionist for the hotel.

    The bus stop is literally in front of the hotel and it only takes 5 minutes to get to the city center. Also, they gave us a free pass for public transportation for the zone that Lucerne is located in. It definitely helped save us some money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room face to main road and it can be noisy.

    The breakfast is in a bright sunny dining hall and the food is tasty. Near public transportation, easy to get to the center. And the room price include public transportation tickets.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Great place great location with a view
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain

    Our stay was brilliant at hotel Spatz they allowed us to check in earlier and check out later as our flight was at night. Healthy breakfast and great hospitality

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Satisfied customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in the room, it's nice to have a brew after a long day and put the feet up .

    The winning feature is the location, it's is a ten minute walk from the main bus and train station. The hotel has a bus stop on the door step and across the road (continue on this bus and arrive mont Pilatus) . With a tourist card stamped by the hotel, travel in the central zone is free, the buses are frequent and punctual. The room is basic and clean, fine for a city trip. Breakfast is a small selection of cereal , yogurt, eggs, cheese, bread and the best croissants . We were very satisfied .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was simple. But then it was more like supplementary.

    Staff was super friendly and nice. Even offered a power converter before we ask. Room was clean and elegant. Had a balcony. Bed was comfortable. Bus stop is right in front of hotel and is 5 stops from luzern HB on the way to Kriens.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Great Spot in Luzerne
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Complaints

    Very nice room, spacious. Comfortable beds, large bathroom. There was also a large terrace off our room, would be very nice with nice weather. Breakfast was excellent, service was friendly and helpful. There is Bus stop right out front to get into city center in just a few minutes.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Great hotel for a very reasonable price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the top floor which had 4 twin beds - and it was perfect for our family. The check-in process was very smooth, the staff friendly and we found the breakfast to have adequate variety. The information about the transportation (bus lines) was very helpful and we received passes to use the buses while we were in town. Its less than a 10 minute trip to the center of Lucerne!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    7.9
    Good location. Served our purposes for this vactation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Need English TV channels other than the news channels.

    Staff were friendly. Good breakfast. Good parking on site. Easy walk into old town Lucerne.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar fridge in room for travel basics.

    Location. 15-20 minutes walk to town. Good breakfast. Rooms are simple and functional. Kettle was provided on request for in-room tea/coffee.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.1
    Rusty bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rusty bathroom

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, good public transport at the door, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff Good sized room Excellent free public transport right outside Nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice restaurant on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice restaurant on site. Breakfast was excellent, good coffee!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent. Helped with advice and welcomed us really well.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: