Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sternen Oerlikon 3 stars

Schaffhauserstrasse 335, Oerlikon, 8050 Zürich, Switzerland

#31 of 121 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 931 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Very well located, a few meters away from the Sternen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very well located, a few meters away from the Sternen Oerlikon tram stop and the Oerlikon train station. The position of the hotel was perfect to reach the airport, as it was in my case. Plenty of restaurants, shops and cafes nearby. Rooms were clean and well accessorized. Perfect noise insulation, adequate light illumination. I liked very much having a room with balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel for a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard mattress, so it was quite uncomfortable to sleep. Not a big choice of food for breakfast although it's quite expensive. We stayed 2 nights and took a breakfast only once. If staying longer than 1-2 days I would advise to have a breakfast somewhere else.

    Very clean and quite spacious room, huge bathroom. The location of the hotel is very good. Close to the airport and city center. Just 10 minutes commute to Zurich Central Station by public transport and 10-15 minutes to the airport. We enjoyed our short stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    2.5
    I regret my choice
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad WIFI connection. Staff very rude because of a lady with a fractured arm, I unfortunately didn’t get her name. They try to save every penny, even the only one bag of tea or sugar they put in your room and you use, they will not give you a new one the day after until you ask for it and it makes you stay really uncomfortable! And they dare to ask you if you would like to leave a tip, seriously!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, clean and good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a complaint. But a fridge instead of the under-desk cupboard would be nice.

    Good location, an easy walk to the railway station, air-con a blessing in the summer heat. The room was comfortable, no problems.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.3
    The location and access to halal food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast menu, complimentary water was given to us only once. beds were not comfortable. AC temperature was fixed.

    The location and access to halal food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with helpful, friendly, and accommodating staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our 3rd time visiting Switzerland, and this was the best hotel we have stayed in this country. The staff was very accommodating - We arrived in a wohnmobile and they reserved a large parking space for us! We were so grateful for the extra care. The location was very good, and there were many places to eat surrounding the area. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, comfortable modern hotel. Would stay again.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was not open for dinner on the weekend.

    Great location- walkable to restaurants, shopping, groceries, train, bus and trams to get around Zurich. Clean and comfortable modern room. Nice amenities with air conditioning and a friendly staff. Reasonably priced. Would stay again and recommend to others.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Large room with air conditioning good for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattresses were hard and not comfortable to sleep on. Breakfast was far too expensive, although that seems to be the rule in Europe. As at other locations, we would go out somewhere for a reasonably priced breakfast. There was no mini-fridge available.

    Air conditioning was available. Most of the hotels we stayed at during our vacation did not have it, and after a hot day in the city, it was nice to have it. I liked that the location wasn't right in the heart of the touristy section of Zurich so we could see a little more of how normal people lived. Was also a short train ride to either the airport or the old town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    This hotel will be our first choice for our stays in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An ice-machine on the floor would have been appreciated.

    Big and confortable room. Not in oldtown, but with optimal public transports. Good restaurant with fair prices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    average hotel and service , not a ideal location , wont recommend for traveling families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is not ideal . anyone traveling with kids and lot of luggage might find it a bit inconvenient as it is around 10 min walk from the main station but it is like 3 mins from the tram . the location is 7 tram stops away from centrale station. We came in early morning with a 9 mon baby and 7 yr old kid... jet lagged from a 8 hour flight, requested to check in earlier, the staff pointed out the check-in time as 2 pm per bookings.com , it was disappointing that they would not even try to get it ready faster .. ended up loitering around the city and then had a drink in their restaurant just to waste time... we ended up getting the room at 2 pm .. room was clean and ok nothing fancy. we wont recommend it to families traveling with kids ..its better to stay closer to Centrale station

    its a decent hotel but nothing outstanding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    not in town but very easy to get there from hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wish it had a fridge

    This hotel is not in town , for me it was perfect because I grew up in that area and its exactly where I wanted to be , however it is VERY easy to get to town and will only take you around 15min,the tram stop is right across the street ,plus you can take a tram right from airport to this hotel , no need to pay for expansive taxi, if will take 15-20 min at the most .also there are stores and grocery store right around, the big one is called Migros ,you can get everything there ,great place to buy your chocolates to bring home , hotel room as coffee and tea maker, it has no fridge , area is nice ,safe and quiet , I look forward to going back .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice, good basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel close to Oerlikon station Perfect location if you are travelling with the train. Five minutes with the train from the airport. The hotel is not in the city center but it is easy to take the tram to city center. The area close to hotel is more if a residential area. Clean, nice basic rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    Room is more spacious than I thought.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, when I paid and was given a chance to settle using CHF and USD, yet the billing system used by the hotel charges a mark-up for payment in a foreign currency, which I’d appreciate having been notified. Apart from that, everything was fine.

    Room is more spacious than I thought.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect choice for attending an event in Oerlikon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were attending a concert at Hallenstadion, so the hotel was perfectly located for us. Easy walking distance to the stadium and the train station. The room was clean and well renovated. The breakfast might seem expensive compared to your home country, but it actually represents great value for money in Zurich.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Facilites were good, room was clean and modern
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was charged twice for my room in error. Quiet nosiey at night time. Trams outside door also start running early the following morning and are quiet nosiey.

    Facilites were good, room was clean and modern Good location close to Oerlikon train station. Stayed here as we had an early morning flight. Very good access to Zurich airport Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    coffee. although the hotel good, i considered it expensive. but that might be Zurich

    do not know about flaky pastry. should never have instant coffee in a hotel of this standing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    The light from a streetlight was coming right on the bed, which was annoying to sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    In my room, the bed was positioned so that a light from a streetlight was coming right on me when sleeping, which was quite annoying. It would be great if the hotel had darker curtains in the room to prevent that. During the night, you can definitely hear the trains from the station nearby and cars from the street, so make sure you are not easily too picky about noises (it is not loud, but it could be an issue for some people).

    The hotel is modern, very clean, and the facilities are efficient (not too much, everything needed is here)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Super location, close to Oerlikon train station and about...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    not kettle, cups, tea or coffee.

    Super location, close to Oerlikon train station and about 5-10 minutes train to airport or city center. Restaurants, supermarkets and etc. all near by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Overall, a well located and comfortable hotel, with friendly staff. I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Facilities were good for the price; we didn't try the breakfast.

    Excellent location, next to the Tram station, close to the rail station, and an easy ride into the city centre and the airport. The room was surprisingly large and was comfortable, with sofa, table and chairs. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly and went out their way to ensure we had a good stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Good for professional purpose.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not working very well. Could not hold a Skype call. Breakfast was not included.

    Clean and nice/practical design of the room. Welcoming and service oriented staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Location, easy to get downtown just in front of the tran.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing if i need to point a less good point would be The parking is not in the building, you need to walk about 3 mi. But it’s ok

    Location, easy to get downtown just in front of the tran. About 15-20 minutes to main train station in Zurich City center and some ninutes walking of the stadium to see shows its a good option.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel to explore Zurich from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, only a few minutes from a major train station. Very modern & clean inside. The room we booked was large for European standards, which was nice after a lot of travel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very clean and the beds were very confortable. The staff was very kind and helpful and they provided you with whatever kind of info you needed about the hotel/city. The location was good - the airport and the city center were easily accessible by tram/train.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    “Lesser of evils” hotel in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spartan accommodations, without some of the things you might expect at a business hotel like a mini fridge or coffee maker. Uncomfortable hard bed. Apparently we had made the reservation online for 1 person and they silently added a significant charge for a second person. Which alone would be fine, but when the day manager gleefully told us on morning #1 that the night manager had noticed a second person and silently added a charge, neither of them actually set up the room for the second person (one pillow, one twin sized blanket on the double bed) When we asked for an additional blanket and pillow, the surplus blanket seemed to have some sort of mites so we both ended up with many bites the second and third night (we were totally fine the first night so I don’t think other travelers will necessarily end up with this issue unless they ask the hotel to go fish out an extra blanket). Stern staff.

    Good location a short ride from airport and short ride from downtown. Relatively inexpensive for the city of Zurich. Very clean room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Easy access, nice quality room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Easy access from the train station(Zurich Oelrikon). You can go to Theater 11 by foot. There are lots of restaurants around the hotel, coop is also close. The room was wide and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Very nice hotel we stayed and enjoyed Zurich. People are very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was big and properly built in order to keep your luggage and still have space to move round. The bathroom was very spacious and very good working condition. It is clean and had comfortable beds. Had a little useful balcony. People were very nice and very helpful, thanks to them. Breakfast was not great. It is situated next to the Tram stop which makes it easy to commute.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! It was all good, the weather was a little rainy, but not anyone's fault.

    The breakfast was great and it would have been better to know that breakfast was an extra charge. The bed was very comfortable, good TV, internet and shower!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Our stay was very convenient to get to the train station and airport (5-10 minutes). Trains on time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Needed more space, more shelves, more working space for laptop, a bath tub (not just shower), ice for drinks or small fridge.

    The bed was great. The size of the room was small compared to comparably priced rooms in the USA but it worked out OK.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was perfect for me. It was really comfortable and clean. Very stylish. And in a great location. the parking was a bit tricky but that's about it. I would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    The room was clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed had two single duvets which was quite strange as we had booked a double bed. It would have been better to have a double duvet

    The room was clean and spacious. The hotel was in a great location and easy to get to from the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Modern design with very clean rooms. Customer service attitude of front desk can be hit-and-miss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation problems in the rooms. My room had tabaco smell entering from somewhere (ventilation duct or outside). Also, the receptionist was being extremely impolite to the customer in front of me during checkout. With that attitude she should not be in a customer facing position.

    Nice room design and very clean. Decent breakfast with options for everyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Very unhappy with reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was unfriendly and mixed up everything. I requested an extra bed and when arrived I found out that they did not notice my request and the room was just a double. After an hour of discussion they did not want to own their mistake and were saying that I must take an new room and pay almost full price for that.

    The rooms were clean and nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Staff deceived me and provided worse room instead I booked.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    windows on cross-road. noisy. tram line on the street. repair works on the street. no minibar and refregirator. Be carefull, when you book the room in this hotel looking on the web-site photos, you may not get this room when come. You can get worse room (without bath, smaller space, smaller bad etc).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.1
    Adequate but we would pay a higher rate for a better option on a future trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The initial impression was very poor due to very unfriendly reception staff member. Also the hotel was difficult to find and after a long train journey and then walking around in circles in the heat to be met with a very cold reception set us off on the wrong foot We didn't find the staff generally to be forthcoming with information or helpful and this was in stark contrast to our previous hotel in Interlaken where the staff couldn't have been more helpful

    location was convenient for public transport the facilities were clean and in good condition. the breakfast buffet was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel in Zurich
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    Pefect hotel in Zurich, not in the city center but very near from public transportation, and very near from the train station going to airport. Very nice and comfortable hotel with a friendly staffs! Thumbs up! wanna go back again! and i recommend this hotel to everyone! :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice and new though to expensive , good and reasonable priced breakfast, close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad mattresses. although everything seemed clean some places in the bathroom were not. breakfast was good but one kind of cheese was spoiled + the woman that worked at that morning was not so pleasant.

    Close to airport, nice and modern interior design, looks new, clean, nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel and room, nice surburb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for parking at a hotel is a big no no for me, especially the price of the hotel. City tax should be included in price of the hotel on the website. Driving in Zurich should be avoided.

    Sensational design and style of room. Oikerlion is a lovely suburb of Zurich.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful bedrooms
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not anything i did not like.

    Bed was so comfortable. Room decor was beautiful. I did not have time for breakfast. Would love to return again sometime

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel and very reasonable costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All very good

    I liked the direct correspondence with this hotel. Messages go direct to the hotel. Extras are available at this hotel if required eg. fridge. We liked the friendly staff and the air con as it was warm in Zurich.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was reasonably priced (CHF18 / day) but the parking spaces were very tight.

    Hotel was clean and staff were friendly. Location was great for what I needed - only a few minutes walk to the Hallenstadion.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Friendly stylish hotel with great transport links and super staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large, comfy, stylish room. VEry helpful and friendly staff. CLose to transport links to get to airport/city - the perfect location for both. Would happily stay here next time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Everything was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no complaints. Everyone likes to complain about the breakfast price, but hey, this is Switzerland (more specifically, Zurich)...one day we ventured into trying to find something around the hotel and guess what, we spent the same amount of money we would at the hotel for like 4 croissants and 2 cappuccinos...so, don't get your hopes high that you will find something cheaper...

    Everything was very good...also the location is great because you can get to downtown in 10 min with the train...you have to shell out 8,8 CHF for a day ticket...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Good value hotel close to airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is long distance from Zurich centre and neighbourhood is commercial, business district and functional, not very appealing at night.

    Very comfortable room, great bed. Helpful staff who make you feel welcome and give good advice on local facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    Modern, Simple, and Functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are a few things that sort of irked me. First off, the breakfast is way too pricey. I haven't seen the breakfast myself, but from the description of their 'Express' breakfast, I have some doubts. Ventilation in the bathroom was also an issue. I'm not exactly sure if it work at all because I couldn't hear it. However, the smell sort of sat there for a bit until it dissipated.

    The hotel was located within easy reach of public transit (you can reach the place by simply using the trams). The room was simple, but not empty. I would say the room is more functional than anything luxury. The view from the room was fantastic and the bed was decent. The bathroom was also decent, with the basics of soaps and a good shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    Very convenient if your business is in Oerlikon and budget does not allow for Swisshotel nearby
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road works in front of the hotel, bad luck. (And not the hotel's fault obviously). At least I did not wake up late !

    Room Size and wooden floor, parking right behind the hotel, vegetarian restaurant across the street (Tidbits)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.0
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They charged for parking without warning given that the car pas parked only to unload after telling me that they will not charge for the parking. It was a small amount, but bad taste.

    N/A

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.3
    Good Clean Hotel and Convenient Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady at the reception we checked-out had a forced friendly service. Meaning she was a bit cold.

    The location was great, the room was clean, price is reasonable for Zurich.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could include some more hot dishes.

    I found the hotel extremely good especially for such a good price. We had an ordinary double room. It was spacious and really clean. The beds were comfortable. I really liked the soundproofing cause I never heard any sound going from the hall.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small for three people. the extra bed was not very comfy. The bathroom door was annoying.

    The stuff was very friendly, the hotel was quite. The location near to one of the main trains stations .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.8
    nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel charged in advance the room rate on our bank card as security, although it was not disclosed; it was then sorted out after long discussions, otherwise it takes two weeks to get the money back

    comfortable room, very clean and modern

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for a stay in Zurich 10 min from airport
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast slightly expensive.

    Great location 10 min by train from the airport. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Clean and excellent rooms. Lovely breakfast. Some good restaurants close by.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel close to Oerlikon station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    No issues on this trip.

    I needed to be in Oerlikon for a business meeting and selected the Hotel Sternen from the good reviews on this site. It is a convenient 5 minute walk from Oerlikon station, which makes transport from/to Zürich airport or city centre very convenient (Oerlikon is mid-way between the two) and the tram from the airport also passes close by. My room was nicely designed, clean and comfortable, and at the time of my stay offered a better deal than several of the nearby international brands so was good value (for Switzerland, that is!). Breakfast was extra but not outrageous and of a reasonable quality. If back in the area I would certainly consider staying here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    Great hotel in North Zurich
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is a gem in Oerlikon part of Zurich. Very friendly staff that has that "family run" feel to it (I have no idea if it is, it just feels that way). Rooms are quiet and have all the facilities (although the bed is slightly spartan, or maybe "teutonic" - hard, with an oddly rugged bottom sheet and a small duvet). Staying here every time in Zurich, for a good reason, and I can recommend this hotel strongly!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    Quite close to oerlikon railway station which allows to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing, there are no hair conditioner in the bathroom. Usually 3 star hotels in Europe have it.

    Quite close to oerlikon railway station which allows to travel outside of the city. A little bit far from sightseeing and there are almost no caffe around.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.1
    Good rooms however very unfriendly receptionist
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived around 9 to 10pm and the receptionist which was working at this time was extremely unfriendly, treating me as if I would not belong there. Talked to me in an almost aggressive way. After I told her I would like to pay in advance she got a bit nicer (did she think I would not have money...?), really unprofessional and strange behavior, made me not want to return despite the good room.

    The room was very clean and had a lot of amenities (TV, good WiFi, high quality bed). The location is not in the city center, but close to public transportation.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    5.4
    Acceptable practical business hotel with bad treatment and room unpleasant team treatment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The recetipsent is not coaperatve and notpleaent even not smiling at all and roadlly behaving,,and they are the first hotel I pass through in my life worldwide asking extra bed charge if you only request one extra bellow or extra dove also the beds are not comfortable at all ,,

    Location and cleanness and restaurant are excellent,,rooms andbreakfast are very good,,safe and quait,,price is average in compare to other hotel,,there is near by super market

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast charged on top of room rate and we had to leave early so couldn't try it.

    We were allowed to check in early. Excellent location by Metro and very easy to get to from the airport. Bowl of apples to help yourself from in reception. Tea and coffee in room. Spotlessly clean. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not free.

    The hotel was very comfortable and clean. It is not in Zurich city center but you can walk to train for 5 minutes and then it takes max 10 minutes to reach Zurich central station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Our stay at Hotel Oerlikon was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although our stay was excellent, our room was not replaced with milk facilities on second morning.

    Cleanliness of hotel and room. Bedroom windows could be opened fully to allow fresh air. Bar staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel near the station shops and restaurants around,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge is a must, you get charged extra 20 Swiss francs which is not much but is inconvenient having to wait for it the next day

    Nice hotel near the station shops and restaurants around, modern decoration, quiet location quiet rooms. Complementary coffee and tea with kettle

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    4.2
    اسوء فندق سكنته بحياتي
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very road not even smiling or looking at the eye mean awhile talkining,,refusing any type of help even simple inquiry about the city, claiming they donot understand English!!!!even when we asked them for one extra bellow they said they will charg us for amount of extra bed for this extra bellow!!!this thing is the first time I faced in my life even Iam travelled almost worldwide,,the room is very very small and the breakfast is very poor من اسوء الفنادق اللي ممكن للإنسان ان يسكن فيها يتعاملون معاك كانك شحات عندهم ومتصدقين عليك وابتزازيين تخيل طلبنا منهم مخدة إضافية لان عندي مشكلة بفقرات العنق فقالو لو جابو مخدة زيادة بتحسب تكلفة سرير إضافي. وهذا الشي لأول مرة اشوفه بحياتي كلها،،الاستقبال كذابين،،وخصمو سعر الفندق مرتين من حسابي،، لاأنصح به ولن لعود اليه أبدا أبدا أبدا

    Location is approachable by bus,clean,quite,,the attached restaurant and the guy there is very kind and helpfull,,his name is marko,,I would like to thank him again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Good the hotel and service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Love place , very clean and comfortable to go anywhere

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable and very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a fridge

    Cleanliness and location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good hotel. Clean. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Good location and easy access with public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Staff was very oriented and very friendly too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast and friendly staff. Great location. Will book again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Hotel was great
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise of the football fans from the street

    Hotel was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Like the hotel and would like to stay in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Room size is good specially bathroom. It was very big size. I stayed three days with my family comfortably. Location is also excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    It's close to the tram shelter so then it is easy to go...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    It's close to the tram shelter so then it is easy to go where ever we wanna go

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable choice if one need to visit ETH
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not at the hotel

    Clean room, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location near Hallenstadion

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    The hotel staff was helpful- but Melanie G.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel staff was helpful- but Melanie G. went out of her way to make our stay great. She was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely Hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange that the Bar is closed at weekends

    Room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    The room is clean n warm with huge heater
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one staff is friendly n nice, the rest were just rude n black faced

    The room is clean n warm with huge heater

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Modern beautiful design.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Street Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern beautiful design. Large clean rooms. Perfect location for airport and close to restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: