Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Il Castagno 3 stars

Via Cantonale, 6939 Mugena, Switzerland

#1 of 1 hotels in Mugena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 369 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    a beautiful lesser known area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms on the parking get street noise and tour group noise

    good food both dinner and breakfast pretty rooms and restaurant with beams modern comfort convenient parking love this valley, would have happily stayed another night

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Lively and friendly hotel/restaurant on the edge of a thriving village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast did not start until 8am - as we were on a stopover and needing to get away, we would have preferred an earlier start. Not a great problem though

    After a steep drive up the mountainside from Lugano, we were very pleased to find a lively, good quality hotel/restaurant frequented by tourists and locals alike. The rooms were well appointed, the restaurant great ( although a tad expensive - I suspect this is typical of Switzerland ), and the breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    The garden and mountain setting was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly disappointing experience in the restaurant; service was slow at dinner and the food wasn’t as special as I’d hoped. Not a great value stay overall.

    The garden and mountain setting was lovely. The children’s play equipment was really great and the room was clean and well equipped. Parking and WiFi both good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    What a lovely place and so pleasant the staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Set up in the mountains it is a lovely place to relax and enjoy nature. It is a 30 minute taxi ride from the train station in Lugano but well with it. There is not much to do in Lugano so not much of a worry

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Our room was upgraded from double to superior, as we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the only disadvantage we can state is the location - the hotel is on the hill and it was quite a challenge to achieve it.

    Our room was upgraded from double to superior, as we were with a child, which I found very very nice. The breakfast was ok, the room was clean and a nice restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly, the dinner was very good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the ligths in the room were somewhat inadequate and I had to forego my usual bed-time reading. Visitors better be prepared for 20 hairpin bends on the way up and down.

    The staff was very friendly, the dinner was very good and there was a lot of variety at breakfast. We did not get a chance to recce the surroundings but our impression was that the hotel sits in the middle of an attractive walking and mountain biking environment. Also seems to be a good place for young families with kids.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    A family run hotel with a great restaurant for breakfast and dinner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi connection in our room was spotty but as we were roaming on our mobile phones we were ok.

    The hotel surpassed our expectations! First of all, the drive up towards the hotel was just WOW! Parking was free and easy. We were warmly greeted by the Manager/Owner who checked us in and asked if we would like to reserve a table for dinner in the restaurant. Since we arrived on a early Saturday evening and didn't fancy looking for a place to eat, we agreed to a reservation. We were not disappointed! The menu and wine list was extensive and catered for all tastes. We ordered a pizza, pasta and a game dish. It was delicious! As the hotel is surrounded by chestnut trees, chestnut is featured throughout the menu. My chestnut dessert was heavenly! The room was simple but it was clean and the bed was comfortable for our overnight stay. Breakfast was an excellent continental spread of freshly baked breads and croissants, cereal, cheese and ham, juices, fruit, sweets and any kind of coffee you like. Highly recommend this hotel near Lugano. You will be pleasantly surprised.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was richer than in other hotels. The staff was very kind, helping us with suggestions and guides for our trip (they printed for us vouchers for discounts in the Lugano area).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.0
    A great stop off or base for walkers
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Guest house in a small village above Lake Como. It has a restaurant and a bar with an attractive outside terrace and garden. The hosts were welcoming and helpful. The room was simple and clean as was the bathroom and a good size. Food was excellent at dinner and at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.8
    A nice hotel to stay for relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is just standard not fabulous as in description.No heating in the room.

    Location, fresh air , the courtyard , parking near hotel , outside terrace, furniture made of massive wood.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from restuarant for room near front entrance of hotel

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice room, good restaurant , piecefull surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor quality of wi-fi.

    Nice room, good restaurant , piecefull surrounding

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Location, cleanliness, on site restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, no tea/coffee in room, fridge in room not very cold.

    Location, cleanliness, on site restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel with a wonderful restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful dinner at the hotel restaurant and we liked the surrounding views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    5.8
    The breakfast was exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi didn't work at all.

    The breakfast was exceptional

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Touch and go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture dated, not very comfy.

    Value for money, breakfast and restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Superb!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, views, food and courtesy of staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    Bedroom a bit overheated, otherwise everything was perfect,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom a bit overheated, otherwise everything was perfect, simple, no fuss and very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keeping it short and simple (PERFECT)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Perfect and quiet stay over Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ---

    Perfect Breakfast and quiet location. We were there for the Swiss Harley Event in Lugano and enjoyed every minute of our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    The views are amazing, the hostess is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The views are amazing, the hostess is very friendly. All good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find, even by public transport. Very reasonably priced. Excellent restaurant. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.5
    + breakfast was great (ontbijt was heerlijk)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - it's not clear where the reception is in the entrance (het is niet duidelijk waar de receptie zich bevindt) - too many people sitting in the restaurant in the evening, it looks like society meeting with all members

    + breakfast was great (ontbijt was heerlijk) + bed was comfortable (bed was comfortabel) + parking place in front of the hotel (parkeergelegenheid) + nice walk routes (leuke wandelroutes in de buurt) + staff very friendly!! (personeel erg aardig)

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.6
    The most beautiful hotel i had visit in whole my trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Just nothing

    The most beautiful hotel i had visit in whole my trip All the hotel team are very cute,helpful,honest Specially Mr Aldo and the lady who served at breakfast time I recommend everyone to try this hotel because he will never ever be sorry Thanks alot to hotel team

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    - breakfast was really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - I needed to leave to get back to work - small problems with wifi

    - breakfast was really nice - surrounding nature - amazing way to get there - sweet and nice people - clean room and good bed - close to amazing places

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    Great place if you want to get somewhere out of the beaten...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great place if you want to get somewhere out of the beaten path! Nice and quiet, although we did stay in room 5 and 6 which are the most remote. Staff was very helpful! A bit of a steep climb to the hotel though.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Gorgeous hotel up in the mountains with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air con which meant that it was difficult to sleep at night although we recognise that the temperatures were unexpectedly higher than normal. Would have preferred cotton sheets and not polyester (personal choice) and the drive up the mountain was a little hairy!

    Gorgeous hotel up in the mountains with beautiful views. Food was super. Will definitely be going back here again!

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.2
    nice staff and free for cancel or change your order,the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a little difficult to driving to the hotel,the bed is too solt.

    nice staff and free for cancel or change your order,the operation time also very good,breakfast is very good

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    Big clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You first have to drive to the top of a mountain. Im from the netherlands, so that was a challenge. But it was worth it!

    Big clean room Beautiful location Really kind and helpfull staff

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    9.6
    Once you are up there, it is great.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Narrow, twisty road to Mugena but then, it's up a mountain.Plavce

    Once you are up there, it is great. However, be prepared for a twisty ride up the mountainside to get there!

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    9.2
    Staff are so kindness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet (Wi-fi) is not so stable at room, but good at the restaurant. Bit noisy at night due to children play.

    Staff are so kindness. Very clean and comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff and great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Narrow non-romantic single beds above noisy cafe and restaurant with a view of flat over roof of restaurant out to garden.

    Friendly staff and great service. Clean rooms and a great restaurant serving massive pizzas for the obese or for two sharing.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    10
    very nice hotel at a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very nice hotel at a good location. the staff is very friendly and helpful. on top you get an abundant and well served breakfast. rooms are impeccably clean and all this for a reasonable price. close to lugano for visits and leisure.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    10
    Best choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best choice

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.1
    Cow with bell nearby kept us wake at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cow with bell nearby kept us wake at night.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    the hots are very nice and helpful, the atmosphere is warm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the road to get there

    the hots are very nice and helpful, the atmosphere is warm and cosy

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    5.0
    I did not find the beds comfortable, plus it was not a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I did not find the beds comfortable, plus it was not a double bed.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    8.8
    Lovely comfortable room, nice and large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely comfortable room, nice and large. Restaurant lovely and yummy dinner. Breakfast was fantastic as well. Would recommend it happily.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.6
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.3
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very steep windy road to get to it.

    All good

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    very friendly service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly service.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    9.2
    Perfect meal, very nice personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect meal, very nice personal.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: