Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel im Schlosspark 3 stars

Schlossgasse 2, Binningen, 4102 Basel, Switzerland

Review score

Based on 578 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was super soft, definitively not good.

    The breakfast is great! The location is convenient if you want to visit Basel, it takes 10 min with a tram that stops right at the hotel entrance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Felt the room was a good size for 1 person. Stayed 2 nights, the first night we had to complain as the drain(s) in our room smelled awful. Second night they smelled better but still lingered.

    The room was smaller than expected but clean with a comfortable bed. Shower and toilet area were very good. For a 3 star hotel the breakfast was excellent. The hotel and adjoining buildings all looked good and were set in a nice location. Being a visitor we had free access to their trams which were excellent with a tram stop 2/3 minutes away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The area itself is very quiet. a) However, every night (or almost every night) there would be people shouting, talking, etc. by the hotel doors. Unfortunately, the window in our room was near the entrance and we didn't have a good night sleep. b) In the bathroom and toilet, the shelves over sinks are very low. Washing ones face in the sink and shaving can be very tricky.

    Good location. Good breakfast. Good shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception closes at 5pm so we couldn`t get an extra pillow the first night and the second night we wanted to check-out as we had to leave early but we couldn`t as no-one was there. We just left the key on the reception desk the next morning as they are not there at 6.30am.

    the location was fantastic, right outside the entrance is the tram which takes you into the city in five minutes so you don`t need to drive. The underground carpark had adequate car parking, the building was clean and the personnel friendly. The TV had plenty of channels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a little bit too soft but still ok

    Lovely well-maintained hotel & rooms Good breakfast Free tickets for public transportation Easy parking even though it is not free of charge Value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    1 - Staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. We asked for a 2pm late checkout and given the schedule of the nect guest, they said yes. 2 - Love the quiet feel of the property. It felt like we were in the country, but just 30 seconds around the corner from a tram stop, and just a few (10?) minutes by 'free with room' tram from downtown, sightseeing and lovely food. 3 - Great room for 3. The 3rd bed was comfy. Bathroom is divided into 2 rooms with a sink in each room: shower and sink plus a toilet and sink. 4 - We enjoyed breakfast with a variety of breads, cereals, plus scrambled eggs, cheeses, and smoked salmon. Yummy. Great combination.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem, was that at the beginning I was not sure which building it was exactly in the SchlossPark.

    Very nice hotel, easily accessible by Public Transport to Basel City Center. Exceptionally clean, and very polite receptionist. Breakfast was as well very rich, with selection of swiss cheese etc...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing we did not like.

    Hotel Schlosspark is really an excellent hotel, clean, well maintained and worth every CHf. The staff were friendly, informative and helpful in every way. The room was spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and the rooms warm especially as it was freezing outside (February) during our stay. The breakfast was fantastic which is always a great start to the day. The location was ideal, quiet and tranquil yet only a few seconds walk from the tram (number 10) and then into Basel centre within 15 minutes. Each guest is provided with a travel card for unlimited trips by tram around the city but also allowing for excursions further afield by train and bus. Whilst there is no bar or lounge in the hotel, that was not a problem as there are so many places to eat and drink nearby. A really wonderful hotel and we certainly will return without hesitation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent room. Comfortable bed. Wonderful staff, very helpful. Generous and delicious breakfast. Perfect location - a few quick tram stops from city centre in a quiet residential area away from the noise of Fasnacht. Great value for money. Will be back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young man at the reception who did the check-in and check-out did not seem very interested in his guests. The room price more than doubled at new year,s eve, so we did not book an extra night and we left. (they did not want to lower the price a bit).

    Nice big room, excellent bed, very clean and great breakfast, Nice atmosphere with the christmas lights everywhere. Tram right at your doorstep. Very enthusiastic and hospitable cleaning lady.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, tram to Basel right outside hotel and only a few minutes apart. Staff very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Room clean and bed comfortable. Good breakfast, selection and hot drinks good quality. Overall great value and very suitable for family's with young children. Hotel has a lift too. Basel has a fantastic transport system,local trams, trains and buses included in stay and super easy to use.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Careful shower management needed.

    changed to this better option out of town - over road access to trams (every 7 min), very nice breakfast, exceptionally friendly staff, given free tram cards, better than being in town, easy parking (at cost), very good value room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice but basic and it would have been good to have a mini bar in the room.

    Beautiful location and modern, spacious, hypoallergenic room. Hotel provided free tickets for public transportation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big and very clean! The staff were friendly and the breakat was excellent! There is a good parking.The place is quiet and very beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was conveniently located on a tram line between the Main railway station and the property which was located right next to the tram stop and was very quiet and tranquil yet only a short tram ride to the centre The breakfast was excellent and we will definitely consider this hotel when and if in Basel again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found images of the hotel presented on Booking absolutely misleading. We were inspired by beautiful ancient ambience presented there and finally got a modern room in a modern building. Promised extraordinary breakfast was also nothing out of the common. We would never choose it for this price.

    Quality, cleanness and size of the room was very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stefan at the reception was fabulous. He provided us a lot of information about the city including the public transportation tickets which provided us the opportunity to use public transportation in Swiss. Further, we left our mobile phone and Stefan emailed us and sent the phone via mail. I really appreciated the service provided by Stefan and the hotel during and after our stay. :-)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not much to dislike except the price but this seemed to be the going rate for Basel! I would have expected a lot more from a hotel outside of Switzerland for the price.

    A very comfortable and relaxing hotel within easy reach of the city centre by public transport (tram) which is free to tourists staying in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite a lot of dust around the ventilation system in the toilet; not enough shower gel for 2 nights

    Room we had was spacious, quite quiet in the evening

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked Triple room. In the description of the room it is mentioned 1 large double bed and one single bed. Double bed quality was so poor that mattresses were slipping apart. Third bed was a sofa bed not a single bed. We never book a sofa bed for our child and if it was correctly mentioned, we would have booked elsewhere.

    Location and facility was great. Staff was efficient and friendly, breakfast was good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Description on Booking.com was misleading. One gets the impression that this hotel is in a large garden/park. As rooms do not have an A/c we had to leave the window open and area under the window is very noisy including g the rubbish truck collecting at 6am leaving a terrible smell.

    The proximity of the tram station. (20M), the staff were very friendly and the room (37) was very quaint.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit complicated bathroom (this time).

    Good rooms, excellent breakfast. Rooms in older part are nicer. Excellent wifi, good parking. Trams just around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing aircondition, but big window in french style helps you in hot days.

    Very nice location, near to Basel city center. Nice design of the hotel. Friendly staff!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird Contact with Operator You Better Have a Phone to Call

    Very Clean, Nice Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    pillows to soft no choice of alternative had to fold up in half to get any support.

    restaurant on site very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is poor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows are to soft.

    Breakfast very nice. Much better than expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very comfortable room, good size, excellent location, right by tram stops with direct links to city centre and other amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the simple and elegant decor. quiet and cozy, which is perfect for resting after work.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very beautiful and clean place to stay ~ Staffs are very friendly and helpful ~

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The good information about the parking, the key system as we arrived after hours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom layout is a bit odd and dated but perfectly usable.

    Simple clean rooms with a kind staff. Amazing location!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar facilities ok but not great

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved the minimalistic and stylish design of rooms and the excellent coffee and breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, quiet, excellent breakfast, lovely staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The willows not comfortable, but I didn't ask for other types actually

    Location and personnel kindness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very nice breakfast. 10min in tram to the city centre. A few nice restaurants nearby. And tasty complementary snacks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was perfect, bathroom was big and overall very comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very modern, but also no comfortable place to sit in room.

    Great Breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was not very clean...

    there is a private parking area and a lovely restaurant!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to the castle. Large room. Comfortable bed. Great helpful staff. Hotel gives transit passes. Easy to hop on and off.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the arrival no one was there to give info

    The parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    spacious room with 2 windows with amazing view to the lake and mountains. elivator. parking inside. pool. helpful personal.good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temperature

    Great breakfast, no air con

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WI FI no access for two days mold on windows , fresh smell of paint

    bed shower

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything fine good breakfast friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hand basins did not have a plug and were difficult to use.

    Very well situated hotel- close to tram line - and in a pleasant suburb of the city

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was limited space in triple room.

    Actually friendly staff. They provided what we wanted as soon as possible. A cosy and quite place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No exhaust fan in bathroom

    Location, cleanliness, comfy beds

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Room size was great, large open space.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Wifi. Breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower made the whole bathroom wet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Historical Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place & the team. My favourite spot in Basel and a big Thank You to the entire Team!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfort, cleanliless

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Historical Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not smiling personal

    location, spacious room, we came late but the key was ready. parking place is close.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    not use to hand held shower nozzle

    bed very comfortable with nice comforters. Staff friendly.Room spacious and clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Historical Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am a frequent traveler and whenever going to Basel I stay at Schlosspark. The team and the place are simply great! Thank You!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Service, I would come back anytime!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing!

    The welcome from reception, good size rooms, warm, excellent choice for breakfast, tram stop outside and easy to visit everywhere we wanted without the car. No noise from outside.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel reception was scruffy. The room and bathroom were spacious, but 'industrial' , barn like and cold in decor. We were told breakfast was at 8 and when I said we were hoping for an early start, she said most people want a lie in on Saturdays. In the end a group also asked for 7.30 breakfast, so they said they would put it out. When at 7.45 I asked for some milk for my cereal, she said no, not until 8!!!

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you visit this place you must count with more expensive services and products everywhere

    Very quiet place, near by tram station, city tax included ticket for bus and tram. City centre of Basil is place with full of live. I can recomend to anyone to visit this palce. I was also satisfied with hotel breakfast - there were enough of all kind of food.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no air-condition. Since it wasn't hot during the period of our stay, we did not care but during summer time.... Booking had a mistake and booked a single guest so we had on pillow & one towel(that wasn't the hotel's fault but we would expect the hotel to leave facilities for two in any case, in a room the is suitable for 2 guests). So just make sure about that with the hotel

    Room styling, cleaners, location is quite near to Basel.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was so soft and comfy I slept like a baby. Our room was beautiful, big and with a huge bathroom. With a treat on the pillow as welcome. The breakfast was very complete and yummy, with fine delicatessen. And the reception lady was very sweet and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi did not work in the room but worked in the hallway and dining room.

    Very clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly. Fabulous breakfast!!

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Couple

    Nothing really

    Old house very tastefully renovated and furnished, very nice staff, breakfast room and breakfast very pleasant. Free use of garage just around the corner. Free ticket for the public transporation to Basel. Will revisit...

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Young employes during breakfest chating privately on the back of breakfest area instead of looking after guests and items missing on the table.

    Nice, lage rooms, quite place. Reception staff very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no downside at all first class

    very clean great value

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice stay in this pleasant hotel close to all facilities. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    All perfect

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small and cousy, very close to public transportation

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    le confort du lit

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Renovated old castle, very nice room, very well attended by Lena and Mirjana. Good breakfast. Very easy free public transport.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stylish hotel, calm and near to a tram station; 10 minutes away from the city

There are also 42 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel im Schlosspark traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: