Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of International au Lac Historic Lakeside Hotel 3 stars

Via Nassa 68 - Piazza Luini, 6901 Lugano, Switzerland

#19 of 102 hotels in Lugano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 796 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    The location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Landmark View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Bar fridge would be good and an iron

    The location was excellent Breakfast great Reception staff very helpful especially Paula Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in Lugano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Excellent hotel in Lugano. Historic hotel and everything was kept up beautifully. We had a renovated room with wood floors and a giant walk in shower. Very large room with a partial lake view. Room was spotless!! Breakfast room was very large and nice. Very good selection of breakfast items. Wish they had eggs cooked to order but otherwise excellent selection. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Good accommodation in the centre
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was OK, no complains.

    We spent in the hotel the only night and we came only for sleeping so in fact we did not spend much time there. In any case we were quite satisfied with the breakfast which was very good and there was good choice of meals. The hotel is near the bus stop and has a very good connection to the other parts of the city and to the railway station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    My room was larger than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Landmark View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was larger than expected. We spent some time at the pool which is really a gem. The breakfast buffet was fine and all employees throughout the hotel were courteous and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is in an excellent location, a short walk alond...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a shame that the breakfast room is a room without windows. The breakfast could be better, although there was plenty of choice.

    The hotel is in an excellent location, a short walk alond the pedestrian shopping street, or along the lake, to the main square. As we travelled by car it was great that a hotel with such a central location should also have a garage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.3
    Great location did not justify the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel décor is a bit dated in rooms. The lake could only been seen from one of the windows from my (relatively pricey) 'lake view' room.

    Great location very close to the restaurants and lakeside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Pool was great, as well as the location, breakfast and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off course hotela in Switzerland are very expensive (in general). I’d have preferred if the floor wasn’t carpeted.

    Pool was great, as well as the location, breakfast and the staff, particularly the cleaning staff and front desk. The room was very good and the bed was large even though for a single room. Loved the air conditioning !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was amazing, the location was very good to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not able to collect the booking amount directly from the credit card linked to the booking (I booked the stay for my parents which of course they did not had my credit card with them). This caused a huge trouble during checkout (running around to find cash to pay).

    The breakfast was amazing, the location was very good to visit the town and the lakeside. Even in the hotel, there was a temporary art exhibition with masterpieces of Claude Monet etc, which we enjoyed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    A lovely, old-fashioned, traditional hotel right by the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely, old-fashioned, traditional hotel right by the lake. The air conditioning was welcome, and it didn't make a noise when I switched it off, so I had a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room with Landmark View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great to have some tomatoes, salads added to the breakfast selection:-)

    The location is perfect. Very friendly staff makes this place very welcoming. We will be going there again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful property, helpful staff, very clean, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't care for the comforters with no top sheet, but I'm an American - just what I'm used to!

    Location, helpfulness of the staff, pool area, bar area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Cozy stay at stylish Swiss hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style, but beautifully preserved hotel. As everything in Switserland, parking was a tad expensive. Noise isolation from the other rooms was below par.

    Friendly, clean, beautiful. Nice swimming pool, help with luggage, very nice bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Worth saving up for the next visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent in every way including all normal Swiss high standards and also for location and car parking. If the price meets your budget and Lugano is your type of resort you cannot go wrong.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Stellar experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This stellar experience started at the front desk with the friendliness of the staff, followed by the early room check in request being accommodated and an upgrade to a lake view room which was breathtaking. The hotel was clean, had an outdoor garden area with pool. There was also a bar area where we sat for a couple of drinks in the evening. The hotel is in the very upscale shopping area of the old town and across from the lake. Breakfast is typical European with the addition of scrambled eggs and bacon/sausage. Service was excellent in both bar and breakfast area. I finally want to give Teresa high praise for satisfying my request for laundry service on short notice. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel! Many thanks from your recent Texas visitors!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.0
    Unpleasant!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They say that they accept pets, but in fact only in the room. You are not allowed to go with the dog either to the terrace neither to the restaurant or bar for breakfast or a drink. Very disappointed. They take CHF20 for day for having your pet but as I said before not allowed to have with you outside the room not even on leach. Very bad style and the staff doesn't care about your arguments just you pay for the dog!

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Summer holiday..nice place with plenty to see and do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go out to buy Swiss electric plug adapters for British 3 pin plug..Italian adapters are different. Minimal complaint really.

    Staff really pleasant and helpful. Breakfast..best of the holiday..great selection and cooked or continental; plus it ran from 7.30 - 11.30am..fantastic if you wanted a lie on. The free travel vouchers supplied by the hotel allowing free use of bus or rail in the region was brilliant..we went to the Alps for the day costing a beer and coffee. Hotel absolutely ideally placed for leisurely walk along lake front. Under hotel parking was €20 a night, but with limited space in Lugano and your car safe, worth it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Best one in Lugano
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff of the hotel and the location is the best you can find it in Switzerland. The staff is really really helpful and makes sure that you get the most comfortable and enjoyable stay in Lugano. The breakfast is the best breakfast we had in Switzerland with a very good spread. The hotel is has beautiful vintage architecture. With really nice lake views and is located right in front of lake lugano. It is very convinient from train station and lugano center. You can hop on bus number 4 and get down at piazzia luini which is the stop right outside the hotel. And lugano center is really walking distance from the hotel. The rooms are really nice and comfy to have a pleasant stay and the bathrooms are quite large and elegant too. One should definitely stay in hotel International au lac lugano for the most enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly staff and fantastic pool with garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little outdated furniture but now problem at all.

    Very friendly staff and fantastic pool with garden. Garage parking possible. Located in the city center and lot’s of coffee bars surrounding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Everything about this hotel was pleasing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything about this hotel was pleasing. A wonderful atmosphere and excellent helpful staff. The public rooms and garden at the back were something special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Staff very courteous and obliging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panorama Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think that tea / coffee facilities should be standard in every hotel. This hotel's policy is that you have to ask for a kettle etc. In addition pod machines are not expensive and could be used - as some hotels now do. No dining room. I had hoped to eat at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    A lovely place to stay and a very special hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was great, just the coffee was unfortunately the old fashioned filter coffee, which tastes awful :-( Why don't they have a normal Swiss coffee machine? The bathrooms have very old fashioned facilities and the worst part is that the shower head is not even 1 meter high in the bath!! Bathroom was rather cramped space wise. What really amazed me, is that in the entire room there is only 1 plug to use!!

    It is a very old-worldly hotel, however the bedrooms and location is fabulous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Located just in front of the lake on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located just in front of the lake on the walking/shopping street. The hotel interior is decorated with great sense of taste and style. Our room was very comfortable and totally equiped. Private garage was one of the criteria when we choose a hotel in the center where parking is usually a problem. Back yard with a pool and a lake view keeps your relaxing stay. The receptionist suggested us a restaurant with local cuisine and it completely matched our expectations (La Tinera). We hope to return to this great hotel for longer stay some time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Be Specific in Booking the Right Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The name is somewhat misleading. About one-third of the hotel is lakefront. Most of the front facing windows actually look out onto the back of another building. Upon check-in the receptionist said, "You specified you did not want a lake view room." I said I thought I booked "best available." At any rate, we paid additional to upgrade to a really lovely room. Smart hotels can guarantee a return guest or a good review by giving guests the best room available. It is off-putting to know a hotel is giving you the least desirable room in an effort to squeeze more money from you.

    Ultimately, the room we paid more for was lakefront and quite nice. The bed and bedding was exceptional. The lounge was very comfortable and served light fare. The breakfast buffet, included in rate, was very good and was served in a pleasant light-filled dining room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Location is good as it’s near the city centre & faces the Lugano lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can hear furniture dragging & guests movement on the upper floor due to thin walls. My room fittings & furniture were rather old & aged looking .

    Location is good. Breakfast spread is good. Reception staff is helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Fabulous breakfast with lots of hot food choices. Beautiful elegant hotel with lots of history. Pool area was lovely. We even had a lake view from our room!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    I woke up every day happy, anxious for breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioner was not responding fast enough to my settings on the thermostat.

    Breakfast was amazing, outstanding location, comfy beds and really good wifi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely historical hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit too dark and had too few wall outlets.

    Charming 100-years old hotel in the historical city-center. Stunning view from the balcony and a bathtub even in a single room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, would stay there again if given a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avoid rooms with interconnecting doors. We had one and you can hear talking from the next room. No sound insulation whatsoever. We complained but reception would not let us move room as "it would mean having to clean another room". We were not impressed with this. The difference between a 3* and 4* hotel I suppose. That said, last time we stayed here we did not have this type of room and was perfect.

    Nice hotel, charming, a welcome change to the normal indistinguishable hotel chains. Gardens and pool are very nice and relaxing and good for children

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    A
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is perfectly located. Right across the street from Lake Lugano. Just steps away from shopping and great restaurants. The breakfast buffet is located in a beautiful elegant room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    Good location, close to the lake and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Landmark View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather noisy unfortunately, thus difficult to sleep (bad insulation from rooms above and below)

    Good location, close to the lake and restaurants. Really nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    last stayed here 60 years ago, same family ownership, same high standards, missed my parents !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A very high standard from staff and facilities and great location in city centre, could not be better. great breakfast with very helpful staff. Best traditional Swiss standards.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Great views from an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panorama Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautifully furnished with a great view, the amenities were excellent. Hotel is within walking distance of Centro and next to a great hilltop walk. Wonderful experience overall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel, but we got a small and noisy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and outdated. could hear people and TV next door. Room faced an alley in which kitchen deliveries started at 6 am and were noisy. No electrical plugs near mirror or in bathroom. If you had a larger room and one on the outer hallway, it might be more comfortable.

    Breakfast was great. The hotel itself is lovely, bar vey comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    A great stay! Not pretentious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls a bit thin (only heard someone once). And the bed was two twin beds pushed together which I found myself falling thru one night. Overall, not enough to warrant choosing another hotel.

    Really great staff who provided assistance and help with restaurant reservations, help with booking tours, etc. the onsite restaurant/bar is very relaxing with a view of the lake. Breakfast has a lot of variety. Staff provided a nice Chicco playpen/crib for our 10 month old daughter. You can request a kettle for tea and hot water at any time. Great location on the lake and walk to many restaurants and shops (across from Louis Vuitton). Parking was very easy. Overall would recommend this to anyone traveling with kids or alone. There's something for everyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Best location in Lugano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small bathroom. A bit of a challenge to find their parking garage because you need to drive on the side walk to get to their garage. It's quite expensive too but it's expected since you're at the center of Lugano.

    Location is the best. Right next to the shopping area and restaurants. Lake Lugano is right across the street. AC in the room is good because summer is hot in Lugano.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Excellent Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful old hotel with its soft grandure still in tact. The staff were friendly and we loved the old, grand bar area. The loation by the lake and shops was brilliant!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Avoid breakfast !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    * Atitute of breakfast team ( try to avoid them extremely impolite)

    * Architect of the building * Receptionist (extremely nice and helpful) * Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    3.8
    Brilliant location, old peoples home feeling inside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the reception staff dont bother, VERY DATED Felt like a old peoples home Didnt even have a tea coffee facility in the room especially when you have kids with you Hot water very essential

    The location was fabulous

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Nice hotel, lovely lake, beautiful villages, spectacular views from the mountains in one weekend :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am used to stay in Lugano some weekends and this hotel is the best choice in my opinion. It has a little garden with swimming pool which helps in hot summer days. Everything is clean and tidied, personal is very polite and attentive, they bring your drinks literally everywhere you need them ;-) Parking is safe and underground. They have funny car-lift in the parking where you move inside and it lifts you together with the car :-) Location cannot be better, really! Main attractions are within 10 min-walking distance (by foot). It includes trains to S.Salvatore, M. Bre, boat stations to Gandria, Morcote, Melide and the city center. It was very convenient to see the city and then to take a boat and to visit nice villages around the lake. Overall, it was a very nice relaxing weekend in this hotel with a great panorama view from the room!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.0
    Very nice location, next to the lake and shop's and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old hotel with very big pillows. None of us managed to get a good night sleep. The swimming pool was fair although it looks much better in the pictures. Breakfast was ok.

    Very nice location, next to the lake and shop's and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Vibrant town, with good food and beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Landmark View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location superb, little difficult to find as set back behind what looked to be a pedestrian area. Breakfast was excellent, parking convenient and staaff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommend this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress in room was not very comfortable,

    Roberto at front desk, wonderful. Made excellent recommendations. Great location. Breakfast Buffet delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Fun in a beautiful city with nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, except we had to leave.

    A beautiful City on the side of a large lake. Many things to do each day. Hotel had a beautiful view of the lake. WE hikes, rode boats and joined the festivals each night on the main street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful short vacation experience in a classical hotel in great condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Landmark View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No in-room coffee/tea.

    Lovely and spacious room with AC and view of the lake. Friendly service. Wonderful, relaxing garden with swimming pool overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Peerfect location for a short trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room with Landmark View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the shower could have been better scrubbed (reported to the front dresk)

    We loved the old history of the hotel and the various antigues and wall histories. The breakfast was wonderful, with high quality offerings. An added plus were the free transportation offerings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location. An ok quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Landmark View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Service at the breakfast was not the greatest. - Sound proofing in the rooms was poor. - No refridgerator in the room.

    - Great location. Partial view to the lake from the balcony which was a nice extra. - Facilities were clean. Room worked for a few nights stay. - Air conditioning worked well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful hotel with history, in the heart of Lugano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't really say what could be better. Everything was nice!

    A great hotel to stay in Lugano! Ideal location, we had a lake view, and the hotel has its own atmosphere, it is over 100 years old, and although the rooms are renovated and the hotel looks rich and well maintained, they respect its history, there is a 100 year museum with very interesting items (old hoovers, old sewing machines, old letters, telephones, etc).There is even a Belle Epoque room, which we didn't have time to see, unfortunately. The building itself has architectural and historical interest. And also there is a nice swimming pool, beautiful gardens, and loats of cosy old-style rooms where you can relax and enjoy tea or coffee with a newspaper, and go back in time and thoroughly relax! Breakfast was good, and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Lugano gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panorama Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are old-fashioned but spotlessly clean as this is an historic hotel that even has its own museum.

    Great location on the lakefront with easy valet parking. My room had a small balcony with lovely view. Can walk all around the town from here and access the boat tours with ease. Delicious breakfast. The pool is a marvellous asset. Warm, friendly service - family-run hotel. Excellent Wifi (all over Lugano!).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location and lovely pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the kitchen and outdoor area of that, so was very noisy early in the morning. I'd ask fir a room away from that area.

    Lovely historic interior with interesting art and museum. Swimming pool and garden was lovely, and peaceful. Great location for strolling tbe lake front.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    4.6
    Good location, nice breakfast. Nothing else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff was a little not that professional. I had to wait more than 30 min for a small thing she could've done in 1 min. You can literally hear the ppl above you using the toilet. Some of the balconies are shared with the room next to u.

    The location was perfect. the view of the lake was so nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.3
    Nice pool and facilities but very basic room for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The classic double room seemed very budget range and bathroom was in need of renovation. No kettle or minibar in room.

    Swimming pool and garden are gorgeous, decent breakfast and nice looking hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.0
    Average at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no kettle or refrigerator. The staff would only allow us 1 key despite being 2 adults with 2 toddlers. The garage is also very tight for parking. The bed was rock hard. It was a non-smoking room but smelt like it had been smoked in for years. The outdoor pool area was not very toddler friendly with big drops a plenty.

    Great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were sometimes inattentive. To get a coffee refill I had to ask 4 times. Other front office staff on duty on other days were not particularly helpful except the lady who checked us in on day one.

    Location, room and breakfast was good. The person who checked us in was fantastic and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant visit, very nice staff, with a wonderful view of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panorama Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is past its prime by a number of years. But, it remains a classic spot. Is well maintained. And has top notch folks working there. BEWARE of taxi drivers grossly overcharging for relatively short rides (they did not have meters)-lock in price before you leave hotel.

    The staff was consistently outstanding....friendly, knowledgeable, helpful, accommodating. Very nice indeed. The breakfast offering is quite remarkable. Easy, short walk into center of old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Quiet Elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed a lovely stay...one night wasn't enough! The staff was accommodating and friendly. The outdoor recreation area with the pool, ping pong table and large chess set was a lot of fun for the whole family. Everything was very clean, and the large breakfast was wonderful! The onsite parking and proximity to the lake and the center of town were perfect!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking fee is about 20 CHF No brivecy in the room balcony Small balcony

    The location is perfect every thing is near to you The room size is big The hotel offers a car parking ( not free) The room view to the lake is great Big bathroom

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very relaxing gardens and pool area. Good children's facilities. Nice hotel in good location, more than a 3* hotel but that is reflected in the price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    We would stay here again if back to this region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Landmark View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general, Switzerland is expensive. Lovely, but expensive:)

    Very friendly staff, beautiful town. The breakfast buffet was delicious and lots of variety.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Sunny Lugano !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stay too short. Could not enjoy the International Food Truck competition from more than 50 countries in the city center within walking distance of the hotel. Would have been nice if we knew ahead of time.

    Location and the cruise on Lake Lugano to some surrounding cities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    Don't Miss The Breakfast!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a teeny hot spell and there was no air available...Opened windows made it fine.

    The breakfast room and staff and the meal were THE BEST!!! Great location. Check-in was quick and easy and that staff was very helpful, too!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    A friendly hotel in a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would suggest perhaps a bottle of water in the room and a magnifying mirror in the bathroom.

    The friendliness of the staff, great location and especially enjoyed the comfortable lounge bar and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    Good location but not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very standard with very little features and didn't deserve the high rate. Also it is located in the first floor so the view is not good.

    Near by the lake and the down town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.3
    Lake views in heart of Lugano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and the hand held shower mount was installed at my stomach. This made it very challenging to wash my hair.

    Our hotel room had a balcony overlooking the lake and Mount Bre. The room was efficient and minimalist. The bathroom was very small, but the location made up for the bathroom. The breakfast was a nice spread with lots of warm and cold choices. We are vegetarian and had plenty of choices. The hotel property was nicely appointed and had a newly installed pool. There were lots of family pictures on the wall celebrating the hotels anniversary. You can tell it is family run business by the great reflection of the staffs hospitality. We will be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.5
    Historic hotel kept up to date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really suited our needs but not outstanding.

    An historic hotel across from the lake and at the end of a shopping walkway. We didn't stay long so have no real comments. Bed and breakfast okay. Staff helped with train times.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location, great staff and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were very helpful and the hotel itself was in a great position and had great facilities. We were a family of four traveling and were very happy with this hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Extraordinary hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment.

    The room was gorgeous with the lake view. The bed was so comfortable and spacious and very nicely decorated. The bathroom had a big bathtub with a shower possibility. There was Wi-fi every where you went. Overall, a very modern facility with such a friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Loved Hotel au Lac - would love to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panorama Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being able to stay longer. But that was our problem, not yours.

    The room was delightful, even though we didnt have a lot of time we did try to take advantabe of the balcoy and the view. Beds were very comfortable - breakfast very nice (esp. the eggs!).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.8
    One block from the Lake at the end of Via Nassa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stay was too short! Could use a little refurbishing but the building has very good bones!

    Joe at the front desk was very personable and offered to show us several available rooms at the price we booked and up. We were able to select the room that we eventually stayed in. We liked Lugano so much, we asked for an additional day. We had the end room next to the pool, that had a balcony view of the lake. It was quiet being on the Church side, except when people walked along the stairs that led to the old funicular (now gone). Lovely old hotel at the end of the famous shopping street. Breakfast staff helpful and kept the buffet filled.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel to visit the historical center of Lugano
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel's wifi was not strong , but there is also available the lugano city wifi which is very fast, as an alternative.

    the place of the hotel, the lake view, the breakfast and the history of this hotel. To reach from the train station on foot is about 15-20 minutes, but to go back it is a very steep road to ascent, better take the bus (15 minutes to reach to the train station for 2,5 CHF).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    I will recommend this property however, during check in ask abt the room view.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Front Desk Staff was fantastic, very helpful. This was our second visit within 10 days and we were not happy with the room we had gotten before (the view was a wall) we were given a better room this time

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.1
    Great location, sufficient hotel. Great history of the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a standard than upgraded for a lake view ... which was visible from the balcony but from the room you looked onto another building as the larger part of the building is behind the first row of buildings. The bar staff was annoyed and rude. even though there was only about 3 people in there

    Location was superb. Nice front desk reception staff. Breakfast was really divers and good...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.5
    Very Elegant Old Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room with Landmark View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the friendliest staff. In fact no real information of Hotel or Lugano..

    The very large guest room. We had a nice view of the church and Lake Lugano.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.2
    Loved it. Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a quaint and homey bar. The drinks and amenites were great. The service was very friendly. The prices were significantly less than any place within walking distance. I would definately stop there before or after going out for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Great location, very good breakfast and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location is great, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    great old historic hotel -great area-- good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great old historic hotel -great area-- good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: