Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jungfrau Lodge, Swiss Mountain Hotel

Dorfstrasse 49 / 52, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#33 of 39 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1581 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    The place is clean and not expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No help is provided to carry the luggage to 3rd floor. The sound proof for single room is bad, I could hear what my neighbour talking.

    The place is clean and not expensive

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    We had a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator so we had to carry our luggage up three flghts of stairs. There was no air conditioning and when we opened our window we heard all the traffic on the main road into Grindelwald which the hotel was situated on.

    We had a great view. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    The view was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to have cup noodles for supper (shops closed super early) but couldnt as there was no kettle to boil the water with. Very small issue that we can live with.

    The view was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    This is my second time to stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought I was bit by bedbug (I google it, and high chance they are bed bugs.) Sometimes bedbugs are brought by customers, so I cannot say it is the hotel's fault. The receptionist was nice. He let us change the room. At least, I could sleep well in the other days.

    This is my second time to stay in this hotel. It is cheap and it is with breakfast. The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one shower in a floor. And it was hard to find..... As I used single bed with shared bathroom it was not that satisfying. Hmmm Price? It is Switzerland... so not so surprising.

    Nice and friendly staff. Idk wether it is Swiss people or those staff. Haha. They were all friendly. You pay when you check out. Nice breakfast with nice view. But there is a buiding in front of the hostel so kinda blocking your view but it is still good. Not that far from the Grindelwald station and coop supermarket. 5~10min by foot. Towers are provided. There is a sink in your room for simple washing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    The second room was spacious and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first rainy night we were placed in a room with water dripping onto a metal roof and employees smoking outside our open window!! UGH! We were moved to a much better room.

    The second room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Grinderwald visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was Central but downhill from the train station. It was rough walking back up the hill with suitcases. Just an FYI.

    Great staff! Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was okay...not a lot of choices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Jungfrau lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of any. We spent only one night, and it was comfortable enough. There was this old house smell in the air, but then the hotel is more or less old, so it was expected. The bathroom was rather bare-looking, but water was hot!

    The staff was helpful and nice. Full of smiles. Breakfast was enjoyable, too. Parking lot was right in front of the hotel, so it was really convenient, as we were travelling with our parents, and small children.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.8
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old and uncomfortable hotel. No conditioning. Furthermore, the 3rd floor absolutely has no natural ventilation. The rooms are very stuffy. Being in the room, one has to keep the door to the corridor open all the time and even at night. The carpet is dirty, the fan raises a cloud of dust. Common shower rooms are dirty. Beware to book this hotel in the summer.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Private parking. At desk one can buy tickets for the railway and cable cars.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay in the high Swiss country - well ecommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'd like to see the Jungfrau Lodge's webpage give details of the shortest route from Grindelwald station to the Lodge. This route is much shorter than the route given by Google Maps (but perhaps not suitable if you have heavy suitcases, as there is a number of steps involved.)

    A staff member drove us (and our heavy suitcases) to the station in the pouring rain - way beyond the call of duty. We really appreciated it. The view into the valley and up to the mountains was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.4
    location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we checked in on 8.16 evening. the reception was unfriendly. no smile, no hello, everything she said and did was very rigid and cold like astone. even my father who understood no English asked whether the lady was upset. i thought maybe she had a hard long day. but when i saw her one minute later, she was all kind and warm and chatty to a French couple who were checking in. this made me super uncomfortable. i am a world travller and work in service industry, i can say for sure this is not the right way to do business.

    location is good. view from mountain view room is excellent. not far from thE train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not convenient to take luggage up. Inter stood there is no elevator. Maybe something change on stairs?

    location is good. Our room can see mountain from balcony directly, feel so good and pleasant stay. Employees are kind and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Can't beat the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to report.

    Awesome view of the Grindelwald area from first floor room. Our room had a small balcony that was convenient. Short walk to train station. Blow dryer was excellent. Staff were very helpful, allowing us to store our bags before we checked in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location with fantastic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic, but OK. A vegetarian option on the half board would be a bonus, as it seems like quite good value.

    Great location, less than a 10 min walk to the train station, other restaurants and cafés. Lovely view from our window in the old building, balcony decked with flowers. Basic room but had everything we needed, clean and quiet. Staff were helpful and friendly. Parking across the street is very welcome, as it is difficult to park closer to the centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel with great value of money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Friendly staff and gave us a lot of advice and suggestion on things to do around the area - Very nice breakfast - You can borrow adaptor free of charge from the reception - Room is very clean and comfy - Close to station, around 5-10 min walk

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel with nice views, great location, good value for money, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had no problems at all!

    We stayed in the actual Jungfrau Lodge (not in the apartments across the road). This is a beautiful hotel with many of the rooms having beautiful views. The staff are very nice and helpful. The man at check-in was kind enough to loan me an electricity adapter free of charge and gave me lots of good advice about hiking in the area. The location is good, a quick walk to the train station, but in a quiet area of the town. The hotel provides a card which allows free local transport. They also stored my luggage for a day after check-out free of charge, which was a big help. I found the property good value for money compared to others in the area and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was nice, with a good selection and always stocked up well the times we were there each morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dark dismal dungeon with no daylight on the first floor of the main hotel. The iPhone camera has enhanced the light so you don't see how dark it really is. A few brighter light bulbs would help! The bathroom door was badly in need of a coat of paint.

    The staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    I love service and kindness of the staffs at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there is a refrigerator in the room, it would be perfect.

    I love service and kindness of the staffs at the hotel. They prepared breakfast we wouldn’t have eaten.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Good short stay in grindenwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk from the train station and back is a bit tiring if you have luggage but make use of the bus by finding exact times for the nearby bus stop

    Mountain view rooms give you an awesome look at Eiger.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    I went with two kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got the room in third floor but there wasn't any elevator facility available. Also there were few beers in the room.

    I went with two kids. Hotel arranged separate beds for all. Also room had nice balcony to sit out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    The property is well located and very well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was not very strong. Frequent disconnection. Secondly, We are a family for four with small kids who don’t enjoy eating European food, hence we have to carry packed indian food that requires water boiler for heating the food. That was not there in the entire hotel. The woman at the reception on the second day was too loud.

    The property is well located and very well maintained. The parking was really convenient. However there were some small glitches.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay, near Grindelwald station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought there will be shared bathroom on the same floor,a bit disappointed with that. Also there were just a roof-top liked window, not really good air circulation in the room.

    The cleanliness of the room was excellent.Everything in the room were tidied.It was quiet around at the night.Also, it takes around 10 minutes walk to the Grindelwald station,good connection to Jungfraujoch or First. The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.3
    Reasonable no frills place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view from my window, perhaps the rooms with a view are more expensive

    Breakfast good, place looks nice from the outside and good view from this part of town, actually most of town has good views if it is not cloudy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Good view from hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for 4 persons in our group. And no elevator in this hotel that a big problem on u if u have a big luggage and your got the room on top of hotel.

    Good view from hotel.We can see Eiger Mt. in front of hotel. And in this room rate included wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value in Granada
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - I didn't realize I reserved a room with a shared bathroom, but it was a short walk from my room and I never had to wait to use it - Needs some updating

    - The staff were amazing! They were really helpful and nice - Good quiet location - Breakfast was tasteful and had a good variety - Good value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    A "help yourself" Hotel, they will not help you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a fair distant away from the train station. The hotel has no lift or elevator. We were allocated rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor. We are in our 60s' with heavy luggage. No help was offered to assist us to carry luggage to our ill located rooms. Absolutely no views nor Genius perks.

    Hotel staffs were polite. Breakfast was above average.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value with stunning views of the Eiger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very adequate but a little bit too small, but overall,a minor detail.

    Stunning location, awsome views. Incredibley helpfull and Knowkledgable staff. Great value including a very nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with kind and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast runs out if you aren’t there early which is a shame.

    Lovely hotel with kind and friendly staff. We had a balcony room with a stunning view, well worth the extra. Comfy beds, really clean and tidy and a pretty hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absence of stairs in the building

    The staff was very courteous, the breakfast was superb. The hotel upgraded us to a mountain view side so that was superb as well. The hotel is situated at an excellent location nearby First mountains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    I like the breakfast, they served rice and the breakfast not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevators in the hotel. The free shuttle is not available .The hotel is quite a steep walk to the train station especially for old folks (my family members) with big luggage. We paid CHF 45 from the hotel to Grindelwald station (10 mins walk only).

    I like the breakfast, they served rice and the breakfast not only toast and bread but with variety of choice. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable room with fabulous view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been More interesting i.e. The croissants could have been warmed, the eggs not all hard boiled etc

    Comfortable room with fabulous view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow too low. Noise cannot be isolated between rooms. Big step vocie from upstairs and talking sound from rooms near which disturb sleep.

    Clean and tidy. Soft bed. Warm room with big window

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lift.

    About 7 mins walking from Grindelwald station. Lovely wood made hotel (if you don't mind a few noise when people walking on it). I booked a single room, which don't have a bathroom & toilet inside, but there is a basin inside and a shared toilet in the same floor,it‘s enough for me. A great variety of hams in the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise from woods in the corridors and steps was disturbing. They do not provide electrical kettle in rooms. They provide a relatively warm water in a flask in public area that will loose its temperature until evening when you will come back from hiking and like to have a hot tee or coffee in your room. It was good that they had one electrical kettle in public area.

    The breakfast area had a panorama view to the mountains. Although my room was near the train rail, the noise was not too much. Rooms with mountain view have a picturesque view. 10 minutes by walk to the train station,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel for adventurers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decent hotel with great value relative to the prices you see elsewhere in Grindelwald. Great hotel for those that won't be spending that much time in. O and great mountain view!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic accomodation , nothing special but then we werent expecting anything more. Great location for one nite if you want to go to the Top of Europe ! 10 minute walk to the station . Room with a mountain view is excellent , unfortunately i didnt get one ):

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    Perfect view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was cold in the room, the heating was not enough for the size of the room, though the bathroom was well heated.

    The mountain view just in front of the balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is situated very close to the main station, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a room with shared bathroom which was situated on the 3rd floor and had only a small opening on the roof-a bit depressing during the day. The shower (only one?) was pretty small and should be renovated.

    The hotel is situated very close to the main station, the stuff is very friendly and helpful and it offers a very nice buffet breakfast. Clean shared toilet facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Close to Grindelwald station. Swift reply by email. Warm place to stay. Fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator.

    Basic Single room is not a good choice as the bed is slant. I've booked the Single room for another night. The rate is CHF10 difference but the single room is much comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Good home base for Swiss fun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very outdated, bedding needs a major refresh.

    Fits in with the region's rural feel. Staff was very helpful. View would have been amazing without the cloudcover.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    2.5
    Disappointing stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to access to room. No phone to call reception for enquries. Room is not cleaned up for the next day of our stay. Heater is not working during the two night stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    I had a pleasant stay in Jungfrau Lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downside is the tv channel has no English and dinner only available for family pack. I had to go to other hotel to have my dinner as they don’t serve a la carte

    Staffs were friendly and helpful. Room was clean, toasty and spacious!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Met expectations. Friendly staff. Practical location. Necessary amenities. No frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on the second day - unfortunately, the bread rolls had gone hard and weren't as nice as the day before.

    Very friendly staff and very willing to help in whatever way they could. Breakfast on the first day was lovely. Good continental range

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Cheap, clean, comfy and cute!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff members are all very nice and professional. Cheap, clean and comfy accommodation in the heart of Grindelwald! Love the cute chalet, typical Swiss style!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Nice cozy and traditional stay at the bottom of Grindelwald mountain...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nice and cozy, felt very traditional and cute and had all the needed amenities. We really enjoyed the thick blankets and the warmth of the room. We also enjoyed seeing the snow falling down the sky at night, from our windows. Great value for money! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Thanks for the nice stay in Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a cozy spot and everything as described. Got a twin room with shared bathroom and everything was convenient. Included breakfast which was great! No frills, which made it a good stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.9
    overall very good and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we had the use of 2 shower rooms on 2 floors below , they need some maintainance on showers ,one head kept popping off the other needed a seal at connection to control valve , there was not a single hook in either shower room , to hang robe/towel, all the doors on every floor creaked and need some wd40 , not enough hanging hooks in room

    well positioned for bus and train to get around ski resort, breakfast was continental with boiled eggs , bread was very good, we were a party of 3 males and had 3 single rooms on top floor fairly basic but with sink and very reasonably priced for a top ski resort

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.0
    We had a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very pleasant stay. The hotel was good, and the all the staff was very nice. The beds are confortable. The bedrooms are warm and clean. The breakfast is simple but good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.3
    Good location and good pick up service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a bit small. Also, no lifts so had to use the staircase.

    Pick up service was convenient as well as the driver who helped a lot with the luggage. The front desk was informative and cooperative. Breakfast was nice. Good location as it is walking distance to the town as well as near to the bus stop. Lovely views from the balcony.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic scenery, competitive prices and delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is a little vague. On a nice day, it would take 5-10 minutes to walk, but during the winter when it snows a lot, it's hard to drag the carriers along. There are two types of single room. Basic Single Room and Single Room. I stayed in a Single room for 3 nights before. And this time, I stayed in a Basic Single Room for one night. These 2 types of single room is really different. Single room was well-equipped and really good, but Basic single was not. I couldn't straighten my back in Basic single room because it was like an attic. It had a low diagonal ceiling. And the room was not quiet. The hotel staff were mostly kind, but some staff members opened my room without knocking and went without any explanation. I was absolutely dumbfounded.

    The view is fantastic. Of course, it would be nice to see it from inside the room, but Basic single room are not mountain views. I stayed in a Basic single room for one night. The price of a single room in this hotel was lower than that of other hotels. I'm satisfied with my breakfast. I could eat a good breakfast every morning because there were various kinds of bread, cereal, jam, fruit, cheese, and ham. The best thing was to see Mount Eiger while eating breakfast. Warm water was in a thermos near the reception, and there were small kettles and cups, so I could drink it in the room. The facility was squeaky as it was around 100 years old, but I wondered how they could maintain it so well and keep it so cleans. It is worth it your while because of nice view (outside) and competitive price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Great breakfast for the total price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Floors and doors make squeaking noise. The only toiletry item provided is a package of hair and body wash, and the printed texts on the package flaked off in water, leaving colored bits in hand...

    Great breakfast for the total price. Good location, within walking distance to train station. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    The staff were incredible.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic but fine.

    The staff were incredible. Helped me with plans I wanted to make, they helped me with extra provisions like crockery and boiling water when requested,and they also helped when I had an incident with lost baggage in the town. They really were impeccable and unwavering in their support.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room has special smell like wood. I think it is better that smell could be removed.

    I think their facility is really nice to stay for 2 days. And also hotel receptiinists are kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Very nice and cozy hotel, 5 mins to train station and 10 mins walk to the center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Check in was fast & staffs were friendly. The room was spacious and clean, had our little balcony with amazing view. Room was warm & comfy even when it's cold outside, had a great stay. Breakfast was basic, but fresh and quality food. Need to bring your own amenities, as hotel only provide packets of shower gel & shampoo. Also, they do not have lifts, so do store the heavy luggage in the storage room, else you will need to carry them up the stairs. Hotel even helped to send us to the train station as we have heavy luggage, very nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.5
    All you could expect for the money, nice and clean and very obliging staff. Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal was ok for the price I paid but with a little more imagination it could have been better.

    All in all it was great for the money. All I needed was a clean room and I got that. I knew it wasn't en-suite so that again wasn't a problem. The breakfast was fine, I did take the evening meal which was ok, maybe a bit unimaginative but I hadn't paid much by Swiss standards. Would I go back, yes I would. It did the job.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Love this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It may be a bit hard to walk up to the station while holding a lot of luggage. The staff was helpful enough to send us to the station with his vehicle though. There's really no complaint.

    The receptionists are helpful. The view from its breakfast place is breathtaking as it doesn't get blocked by other lodges around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.1
    I had booked the roof top room of the Hotel in this site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had booked the roof top room of the Hotel in this site. I was so suprised after open the door of the room. I couldn't find any window for vantilation or changing the air. Bathroom and shower room was not private. So I changed the room at that time. The infomations were not adequate and incorrect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful village plenty to do and fantastic walks. Very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel advertises that a shuttle is available to take guest to and from the station but this was not available and we had to book a taxi. The hotel is quite a steep walk to the train station especially for older couples. Another downside is the lack of an elevator so we had to take 2 heavy cases up 2 flights of stairs.

    The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. There was a great view from the verandah and lovely decor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Redefining a cottage in the mountain!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad acoustic isolation: we could hear a baby crying for the whole night... the rooms decor is not that great. Bath towels felt small, but it wasn’t a problem.

    The view is astonishing! Great heating system and bathroom ready for a warm shower! Really close from the train station. Nice breakfast, but with not many warm plates options - unless you’re up to pay 5chf for a scrambled egg...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.5
    The room is really big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were quite low and soft. The room lighting is quite bad, it was really dim.

    The room is really big. The whole room including the toilet is really clean. Location of the hotel requires about 5 mins walk from the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Would love to return for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room on the top floor was very warm at night and there was no window that could be opened, We turned the heat completely off and it was still too warm.

    #1 location! Also, friendly, helpful staff who accommodated our very late checkin. Delicious breakfast included. Very helpful to be able to leave our car in their lot so we could do one more hike after checking out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Clean and tidy room with great mountain view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle for hot drinking water in room. Just the pillow is too flat.

    Clean and tidy room with great mountain view! Easy to go from train station. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Great stay for family with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked room with shared bathroom, however the hotel was kind enough to give us a room with bathroom which was far more easier for a family with 2 year old kid like us. Breakfast at the hotel was delicous with variety of choices. My daughter who love butter really enjoyed it. Not forgeting to mention the spectacular view when sitting by the window and enjoying breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    4.6
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water during the whole night in Autumn!! Children and I got no shower after a long hike. Room smelled bad and it's not as clean as expected or as Swiss standard. I was quite disappointed about it.

    The breakfast was good and had different varieties. Staff were friendly. The lodge locates near the train station. Nothing more..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Spectacular views of Mt Eiger and gorgeous Swiss chalets from our balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.

    We had a room with a balcony view over the greenest fields with Swiss chalets and snow-topped Mt Eiger - it took our breath away! Truly, we just wanted to sit on our balcony and soak it up.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice place to stay, at least for 2 nights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wished they had kettle provided in the room.

    the staff were amazing, polite and has the correct information and details. we stayed in a double room, facing the beautiful Mt Eiger. Perfect!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    A great spot for exploring Grindelwald.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is genuinely tiny, and there was only one for an entire floor of rooms so I can imagine it can get a little hectic in the morning (I showered at night).

    A great little property in a genuine Swiss chalet! Just a short walk from the train station and the centre of town. Rooms were clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Good value for budget travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice location (only five-minute's walk to Grindelwad banhof and bus stops). Nice view of Grindelwad villages in front of the hotel. Breakfast is O.K.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly and cosy atmosphere in the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had a room on the first floor that was directly above the kitchen access door so noisy in the morning when the staff were coming in and out to the bins.

    Staff were very friendly and cosy atmosphere in the bar. Great location. Free parking was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Convenient location, authentic Swiss style hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The older construction of the building means you can hear noise and creaks as your neighbours talk and move around, so it's a bit difficult to sleep in.

    Good location. A few minutes walk up the hill to the centre of town and the station. Quaint room with a decent amount of space. Everything was clean and tidy. It was no problem parking my rental car in the provided lot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money in otherwise very expensive Swiss town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to fault anything it would be that the shower was on a second floor and I was on third. Though it was not a big problem.

    Great value for money in otherwise very expensive Swiss town. I had a budget single room with an amazing view. Excellent for one night stay when you do hiking. Great choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    It was good value for money so i couldn't complain much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the hostel private room area, it was quite noisy at night as i can hear all the noise around eg. someone walking, someone snoring, someone talking...etc. Only one shower room per floor.

    The receptionist was very nice and helpful. Free breakfast was really good. Good value of money if you book earlier.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Will be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This was our third time staying at the hotel. Great, clean and comfortable room. Good breakfast and excellent staff, especially the reception staff who were fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant hotel and I would stay again in the future if planning to walk in the Grindelwald region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed mattresses could be more comfortable and the addition of a kettle in the room would be nice too.

    Brilliant position and close to the station, the views from the front overlooking the Eiger are amazing. Great value for money too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    It is a pity that because of the BAD staffs I could not fully like this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staffs at the reception were NOT friendly/nice at all. They show you that they are annoyed if you ask questions regarding their hotel (They are even SARCASTIC to you). It was the first hotel where I felt I am NOT allowed to even say hello. They do not greet you and give you the feeling that you should not greet them as they will feel annoyed by that. In conclusion, guests are annoying in their eyes. However, what makes me feel even worse is that I saw that staffs were nice to some people and bad to the others. They cherry-pick people that they want to be nice to(Here I would not mention what type of people they were not nice to. However, gender and the nationality seemed to matter here as a criteria for them.). I've been to several hotels and hostels in Germany and Switzerland and these staffs were the WORST amongst all including hostel staffs. Seriously thinking of writing to the hotel manager because the hotel itself is quite good and it is a pity that they have such bad staffs for their reputation.

    The view from the room and the balcony was the best!

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: