Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Jungfrau 3 stars

Fuhren, 3822 Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland

#21 of 23 hotels in Lauterbrunnen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 256 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    5.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our group was concerned because the keys didn't work very well in our room. Also, one person was able to use his key to open up other rooms! This could be a security problem in the future as we laughed about it at the time.

    Good location, reasonable priced, very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stayed in front room, bus load of travellers arriving late and leaving early next morning showed no consideration for others , were very noisy found switzerland very expensive

    friendly staff, ideal location /breakfast great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel provided room only. There was no on-site reception facility (use of adjacent hotel). Access to rooms via metal steps (fire escape?). No on-site breakfast or retaurant facility.

    The bedromm was clean and warm

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Jungfrau is a great value in Lauterbrunnen (which can be a bit on the expensive side for rooms). Andrea, at the Hotel Schutzen (where we checked in) was wonderful to work with!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The check-in was to be made at the other hotel, not at the Jungfrau hotel. No advanced notice was given in the booking confirmation email, or follow-up email. There was only a paper sign in front of the hotel Jungfrau, stating to check-in at another 2-min-walk nearby hotel. No map, so I misunderstood and went the other direction. The instruction was very poor without consideration that it could mislead the guest about the direction.

    The blanket and linen were clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is frankly mis-sold on the website, it's dirty, dingy, massively needs updating, the pictures don't tell the whole story, the pool was condemned years ago so the website should not be showing a picture of it and the fact that you have to check in and get breakfast in a different hotel is frankly unacceptable and customers should be made aware of that before taking their money. It's getting away with murder and is v expensive for what you get so I think the owners should have a long hard think about whether they believe this is fair or good value for money. IF they were honsest, I truly doubt they would. Disappointing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not friendly. We were confused as we were told we weren't staying in the place we booked. We got told we were upgraded but wow, if that was an upgrade I have no idea what we were originally staying in. We also were almost forced to pay double after we had already paid. We had to put our foot down and get it checked until they finally reprieved and agreed with us. I'm not sure what happened to hotel jungfrau but with the change of hotels all the prices got mixed up. We basically got told we were wrong even after I proved the cost on booking.com. It was very expensive for what we got and other than location I would not recommend. I'd rather go to the campground.

    Location. And breakfast. That was good. We actually didn't stay in "Hotel Jungfrau" we stayed in the place next door. Can't really report back on much else positive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    The hotel is a shell. The owner does not give a toss about his guests. The booking.com page falsely represents this hotel. I would not recommend this hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Jungfrau is an older property that needs some fixing up. On the other hand, hotels in Lauterbrunnen can be expensive, so for us, a place like Hotel Jungfrau was perfect... and room with a view and comfortable beds!

    Great location in Lauterbrunnen. Per the instructions, we checked in at nearby Hotel Schützen. Andrea was very helpful and got us all set in a room with a view of the falls. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is too dark with only one mirror light available. Stayed at 4th floor, no lift access.

    Checked-in staff offered to change us to Hotel Schützen (same owner) at the same rate. Hotel Jungfrauj looks abandoned. New place feels a lot better with breakfast included and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was basically shut down. The was no staff and no amenities available. We had to go to another hotel to check in and get the key and our included breakfast was also at the other hotel. It seemed as if they had given up on the property and were letting it deteriorate.

    The room was updated and clean. It had a good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Intermittent wifi, no hotel staff- check in at different hotel up the road, it seems that they just use hotel jungfrau for rooms. When asked if the wifi could be reset we were told that they didn't know how to fix it (although after some conversation said they would try later).

    Great location on main strip of lauterbrunnen. Had a great view in the mountain view room on second floor. View of waterfall from room! Well heated room. Great brekkie (at other hotel) and free parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management is very unprofessional and appears to be new to the hospitality industry on every level. They are very odd people who run this place. First of all they couldn't confirm the details of my room/reservation because he did not know or how to look it up in their system. Had to wait until 4pm was his constant response. Our reservation was for the Hotel Jungfrau, however we were given a room in their other property the Hotel Schuden. During our 2nd night stay, one of the odd men working there came into our room as the door was unlocked and fortunately we were awake and yelled out. He said, Oh sorry and closed the door. Very bazaar experience and place. Recommend staying anywhere but at either of these 2 hotels.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything else. The hotel's restaurant and front desk are closed giving it the impression of an abandoned hotel from a horror film. We had to check in at a hotel up the street where the front desk was closed until 4pm meaning we had to drag our bags with us for hours waiting for them to open. Our room which was supposedly one of the best was was dated and shabby. The couch was badly stained. The bathroom was dirty and the cabinet above the bathroom sink was full of dead wasps! The roof below our window looking out to the water fall was covered in rotting trash, our TV and some of the light bulbs didn't work. We ran out of toilet paper and due to the fact that they have no front desk we would have had to go down the street to get more. Also the bed was very uncomfortable and neither my mom or I got full night's sleep. All in all it is one of the worst hotels I have ever encountered.

    It's in Lauterbrunnen and the woman on the front desk was nice enough

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Staff were dreadful. Had to go to another hotel nearby to check in! No staff on site. 2. Room was extremely basic. Felt like a youth hostel.

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with a big balcony . The Hotel facilities were shut as it was off season but we had a good breakfast in a Hotel close by . The hotel was a little jaded but very clean .There was a kettle but no cups ! The television was awful very old with a dreadful picture . It felt as if the Hotel could do with a revamp .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building very run down and not as advertised but room was clean and well serviced It was for accommodation only as all devices had closed down and was being used as extra accomodation for a hotel up the road no indication of this in booking process

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was run from a neighboring hotel which made it very awkward. Since we arrived after 3:00 pm, our key and our information was inside an envelope that was left on the hotel balcony. Then we couldn't check out next day because there was no one at the desk before 12:00. I do not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like sleeping in a college dorm room. Considering the price, it was a poor use of our money. Bare bones, bed n toilet. Not even tissue in the box on the wall.

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed that we had to check in to a different property as there was no longer management onsite. We also were not told that the Jungfrau restaurant had closed down and that we would have to go have breakfast at another hotel each morning which was very inconvenient.

    The room was clean and in a good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel and reception.

    We were booked in a hotel with no reception. We had to go for check in and breakfast at other hotel. Manager was very arrogant. Wouldn't dream of going there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing

    This hotel is very tiered needs updating. This must be the worst hotel in lauterbrunnen and we probably had the worst room. It was full of coach trippers and the smell of cigarettes in the corridor. Breakfast was severed in another hotel where the staff were nice. Wished we stayed there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was situated in a desolate building. A Hotel that used to have a restaurant and a swimming pool is now only used for its rooms. Another hotel about 200m away has the function of reception and restaurant for these rooms as well. So when you arrive you are bit in shock because of this dark, unclean looking building. The restaurant that is at front side of the building looks dark, with unclean windows and looks as in a ghost town. The hotel looks badly kept form the outside. Once we had checked in at the other hotel and entered our room all this unpleasant welcome was forgotten. Most beautiful view on mountains and waterfall. It would be nice if we would have known before that the hotel looked like left from one day to the other about three years ago. The price was pretty high for a stay in this kind of desolate looking building (CHF 310 per night). The location, the room itself and the view made it all good for us. If you like a customer friendly welcome and breakfast downstairs in stead of in the other hotel then don't go here. If you can live with that, enjoy the fantastic view waking up in the middle of Lauterbrunnen.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed at the hotel 5 years ago, we were bitterly disappointed that checkin and breakfast was in a different hotel. There was a kettle but no other tea or coffee things like cups. The TV had an EU plug not Swiss so needed an adapter. The hotel had no bar or hospitality areas. Falsely advertised.

    Free wifi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have sent a long response to you separately. You must remove this hotel from your website to retain reputation. It's effectively closed (and says as much on a notice at the door), insecure and nothing works. And we were told they had an outbreak of bedbugs. And they had the cheek to charge 160 CHF! DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not comfortable. TV was not working. We asked for a double bed but it was 2 single beds joined together. There is no one at reception and you need to go to their other hotel to pick up keys. We were given a check in at 4pm and were being asked to make a check out at 10am. That's absurd!

    The location was good and a few members from the staff were nice. That's it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed, had to walk up the street to affiliated hotel for breakfast. Table on balcony was old and rusty. Pool was closed.

    Great view from the balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel feels a little bit outdated and not in a romantic way. For this price, one would certainly expect a bit more.

    Excellent location in the center of Lauterbrunnen with easy parking. View from the window was not bad. It was clean and facilities were adequate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After arriving by train at 2pm with luggage, we had to wait until 4pm to check in to our room. Check in was at another hotel, after dragging all our luggage from the train station to the hotel, we could not find the entrance, front door was unavailable. A lady from the house next door pointed us to go round the side of the building where we were greeted by the cleaner/maid, who told us check in was back down the road at the Hotel Schutzen. We walked back down the hill to this hotel but the reception was unattended. After waiting until 4pm, we checked in and found the room was not what we expected from the photos on booking.com The mountain view was partially blocked by the house next door, There was a kettle, but no no cups etc.. The tiny tiny TV, was not plugged in and did not have correct cable to plug it in. The bedside lamp on the wall fell off and there were dangerous exposed wires. The lighting in the room was very poor, the bathroom door did not close properly (let alone lock). This was not a three star hotel, more like a two star. I spoke with "Claude" who was on duty at the reception desk, on check in he was reasonably friendly, but he was not very friendly this time, and said he could not move us.

    The view of the waterfall from the toilet. The village of Lauterbrunnen itself, was very beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property lobby, reception, pool and restaurant were actually all closed. I understood that they were getting ready to renovate which it really needed. We had to check in and eat breakfast at a hotel a block away. Room was clean but everything was really old and worn. The balcony was actually the roof from the building entrance.

    Nothing really good to say about the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon arriving at the hotel, we found it absolutely deserted. The front doors were locked. The menu board was empty. There were no chairs or tables in front, like their photos show. No staff anywhere on the premises. The building looked like it had seen better days. The only information posted on the front of the building was a taped on sheet of paper explaining that the restaurant was closed, and that guests needed to check in at Hotel Schutzen down the street. Even there the reception desk was never staffed, you had to find an employee in the restaurant to check in. The hotel seems to be little more than a run-down dormitory for busloads of Chinese tourists that arrive in the evening, and leave in the morning. The carpets were filthy, the walls covered in scuff marks and dings, there were strange stains on the carpeted wall in our room, and stains on the curtains. The wifi was very bad, and didn't work at all on the upper floor. The lights in the stairway and entry were on timers, not motion sensors, and constantly turning off, making it very dark and a little dangerous. Not a welcoming or pleasant hotel at all.

    The only positive thing about this place is the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    FIRST OF ALL!!! There is no receptionist in this hotel!!! The building just holds rooms.. That's it! No swimming pool, no entertainment, no restaurant, no nothing!!!!!!You have to walk up the street 500 ft to another hotel to get your key! THANKS FOR TELLING US!!!!!!!!!!!! We, and many others were wondering what IS this place??... It looks abandoned!!! The breakfast was at the other hotel too, and it was the pits....BELIEVE ME!!! My family and I stayed at 14 hotels in 16 days, and this one was by far the worst hotel (or building!!!) that we ever stayed in!! It was an embarrassment to my family... The whole entire building including the room was filthy dirty!!! No WiFi either... We had to walk up the street to use WiFi......No pots to cook with either.. My wife had to cook with a cookie sheet.... DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND STAY AWAY FROM THIS ABANDONED BUILDING!!! IT'S NOT FAIR, THAT THE GREAT BOOKING.COM HAS TO LIST THIS ON THEIR SITE..... THE PUBLIC NEEDS TO KNOW THE TRUTH ABOUT THIS!!! This information told is because Booking.com told us to tell the truth!!! Thank you for my partial reimbursement!

    Location.....View was nice... Receptionist at the other hotel was great....SHE NEEDS A RAISE!!!!! PAY INCREASE, FOR TRYING TO KEEP EVERYTHING TOGETHER!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived to a hotel where the front door was locked - on the side of the hotel there was an open door at the top of a metal stairs going to the second floor. No one at the reception desk - after looking around we spotted a notice on the wall that said to go to another hotel three buildings away for check-in. This hotel was purchased by the owner of another hotel - where we got our key and where we had to go for breakfast. Room was uncozy - two twin beds pushed together and the bathroom left much to be desired. It needs a total makeover. Nothing has been updated and the bathroom faucet dripped constantly so the bottom third of the shower curtain was always wet to the point it was mildewy. Plus you heard a constant drip. Coming into the hotel is very dingy and uninviting. We traveled for a week - stayed in 5 hotels - we paid the most per night in this hotel and it was by far the worst.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the worst hotel experience my partner and I have ever had, including many through Booking.com. On arrival we were directed by a sign on the door to go to a neighbouring hotel, Hotel Schutzen, as there was no reception at Hotel Jungfrau. On entering our room after booking in, through the shower room, which was very outdated and unpleasant to use, we were shocked to see its sparceness, with very basic furniture, a kettle with no cups or drinks, a phone which was not useable, TV balanced on a cheap stool, curtains which did not cover the window, ugly and dirty looking throw on an old sofa and nothing at all of the quality we would have expected from a hotel booked through yourselves. There were no facilities whatsoever, no restaurant or bar, no staff on hand, meaning our only point of contact was the Hotel Schutzen, 100 meters distant, which was also where we were directed for a basic breakfast. The access to the rooms was up an outside staircase, the door at the top of which not being locked at all by staff, we felt was a serious security issue. Once in our room we could clearly hear the sounds of the other guests.

    There was nothing to like about this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel requires a little bit of TLC. Nothing a coat of paint & high pressure water cleaning wouldn't fix. Chairs on our balcony were old & unsafe. Wooden beams on the balcony were also rotten. It's a shame really it could be great.

    Breakfast served down at the other hotel was lovely and the staff there were very helpful when I asked for wine glasses & a plate. Good location as with all hotels in town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ghost hotel feel. Drab feel to whole interior. Seemed expensive for what it was, not sure how it can claim to be a 3*

    Location Breakfast adequate although in another hotel down the road Beds comfortable Nice view from balcony

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    How we entered the hotel from the back door it was really difficult for us to get our luggages up there. No elevator. I know the building is really old but getting it restructured would be really good. Plus how we had to walk for the check in and check out or anything we needed as a service to another hotel was definitely upsetting. One of the workers at the reception was rude with us and with non-european people. Definitely not for families. ما تناسب العوائل أبداً خاصة اذا معكم أغراض كثيرة، فندق تعبان وحتى السعر حرام فيه.

    The location of the hotel and the view is really good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner/manager is not on the property. There is no one to greet you when you arrive. No front desk, yet the building is always open. Check-in is up the street at a different hotel. The restaurant and pool permanently are closed. The hallways are dark. The walls and carpeting need painting and a good cleaning. The building basically is abandoned and not maintained. Check-in is later than advertised. It was at 4pm. When we requested our belongings be kept secure until check-in, they were placed in the lobby of another hotel with no one at the front desk and the doors left open. To get to our room we had to climb 4 flights of stairs. We found our bathroom was not fully cleaned. Hair was on the walls of the shower. Some bedding had not been cleaned since the last guests. There was no one to assist us at the property. Guests didn't know how to get access to their room. There was a small sign telling you to go up the street to another hotel-but the side door in the parking lot was always open so guests wondered around inside looking for help. None existed. Booking.com should remove this hotel from its site as it is not advertised as it really is...very poorly managed, maintained and abandoned.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Mountain View (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We've travelled extensively through Europe and are used to their small bathrooms (by American standards.) But this one was smaller than usual and super gross. Mold was growing up the shower curtain, the bathtub was stained and the sink and toilet were on top of each other. The showers in the camp down the street were actually much cleaner and more inviting.

    This hotel is in a great location - Lauterbrunnen couldn't be more beautiful! The view from our room was spectacular. But we were really disappointed by the condition of the room and, in particular, the bathroom. It was horrible. We stayed at eight hotels during our two weeks in Switzerland, and this one was the absolute worst. The room was sparcely decorated (actually, bed, one table, no pictures) and the bathroom was 1960's blue and looked like it hadn't been updated or cleaned since then.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself is very run down - the images do not represent the state of the hotel at all. On arrival there was no hot water and poor water pressure - over the course of the stay the water was either luke warm or very temperamental. There are no staff at the hotel itself and as such check in is at the sister hotel 50m down the street. Given the above the hotel is very overpriced for its condition and facilities.

    The hotel had a good location a few minutes walk from the train station on the main street, great breakfast (although served at the sister hotel 50m down the street).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    way to expensive for the facilities offered and compared to other hotels we stayed in Switserland and Germany. Although location was good, the Jungfrau hotel is rooms only and poorly maintained. No restaurant in the hotel. The breakfast is in an adjacent hotel. I understand the owner is Chinese. So no investment to improve the hotel is to be expected. A pity as it is the first time after many years with Booking.com that the reviews didn't match the reality. Breakfast was way below 'Swiss' standard and limited choice.

    Location is perfect. Nice view on the street side balcony. Manager was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could have been open !!! Everything was closed and will remain closed for all of 2017 ,only the rooms open . You have to walk 100 yards along the road to book in and have breakfast in another hotel . There are no staff in the hotel to contact in an emergency . The whole hotel is rubbish . I have made complaints to booking .com and have had no reply apart from the standard apology . When we arrived the booking was wrong as they only had one room despite my booking was for two rooms . This was only resolved after an hour and then the second room was a " broom cupboard " with a shower . All this had to be resolved in the hotel along the road .

    Nothing . Because everything was closed except for the rooms that were accessed by the spiral fire escape at the side of the property . Notice on the front door says amenities closed for 2017 season !!! No staff , no restaurant or any other amenities shown in the photographs on the hotel site .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Mountain View (3 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place was OK but a little run-down, especially for Switzerland.

    The location was great, right on the main road of Lauterbrunnen, near restaurants and near the laundromat.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception and restaurant are closed, check-in and breakfasts are serviced by another hotel located few minutes walk. Room was not so clean, towels are really old. To be honest - the price was lower than average in the city, but still expensive. I expect much-much more for this price. Manager on check-in was really good guy, but... check-in was in another hotel....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very tired and shabby, no staff in residence, check in and breakfast all done at a hotel 2 minutes walk away. Feels a bit like a doss house, entrance is via a fire escape left open permanently. Price is a rip off, basically same cost as a fully equipped and staffed hotel in Bern or Basel. Facilities are non-existent, but it was clean. Don't stay here unless there's nowhere else available in Lauterbrunnen, or better still go to the campsite 200m away, or get a train somewhere else!

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looked almost derelict or shut down from the outside. The reception was permanently closed and you have to book in at another hotel just up the road. The same procedure happens at breakfast. Not exactly a problem, but not what I expected. The rooms, bathroom and hallways were very tired.

    I liked the cleanliness of the room and property - it's location was perfect for walking and using the transport of the area. The onsite parking was perfect and breakfast was quite decent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service and dealings can be better(reception not available at full time). Bathroom was not that spacious.

    Good property at right beautiful location. A complete home. With nice outside view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down. One step above a hostel. Without warning or notice, arrived to find a sign saying, "no check-in here. For check-in, walk up the street to Hotel X". OVERpriced. On-site restaurant "closed for season".

    The balcony and its view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no wifi. The breakfast was passable. I didn't like the stairs to get to my room.

    The location was the best. The restaurant from the sister hotel was good. I liked the sixe of the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could use an update.

    We booked Hotel Jungfrau but were actually given a room at Hotel Schützen up the street, but we didn't mind at all. The receptionist was very kind even though she was terribly busy, and our room had its own balcony with terrific views. We sat out on the balcony at night with the waterfall right down the street and just relaxed after a long driving day. It is an older property, but clean, charming, and has a perfect location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel must be undergoing renovations or something. It is needed as it is showing it's age. We had to go to a nearby hotel to check in and have breakfast. Our room was on the top level and there is no lift. It is a bit strange to have our door open right into the bathroom. The room is ok. They provided a kettle which we couldn't plug into the socket. The tv was small and lack English channels. Worst of all is the wifi. It is not available in the room. I had to go down there to the lounge for the "best" reception. Even there it disconnects on and off and was slow. I hear many guests complaining about it.

    It's location in Lauterbrunnen was good. Short walk to Staubach falls. There are lot's of restaurants around and Coop the supermarket. The train station to go up to the mountains was also within walking distance. Parking was right on site and free. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Lifts in the Hotel.

    The views from the Hotel are great with Balcony facing the waterfalls and the snow peaked mountains. The Check-In was very smooth and the room allocation was very professionally handled by the Reception Desk. Special Thanks here for the extremely cooperative, friendly and courteous approach of Ms Andrea and Head of the Breakfast arrangements who helped us in every possible way. We have come back with two new friends from Lauterbrunnen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is now owned by Chinese interests, and the restaurant and bar were closed down. Every night a bus load of Chinese would come in and would leave very early in the morning making heaps of noise, making sleep impossible. I would not recommend this hotel.

    The room was fine, and the hotel was in a good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looks tired, but clean. We stayed in a room of four ( is has each door inside for a double room and 2 Single bed ) with balcony but the door could not lock from inside. So we just locked those 2 doors inside and put one luggage at the main door. I know it is save but no one nows what could happened.

    The bed were ok, quite comfy. The water pressure in the bathroom was very good. The view from the balcony is spectacular

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Appreciated washcloths and complimentary breakfast. Great location. The check-in desk attendant was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is run down. Checked in at a hotel down the street. Halls were dimly lit. Had a small balcony outside the room with paint chipping off the railing.

    Price and location were right.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel along with the Hotel Schutzen is now operated by a Chinese management company which caters to Chinese tour groups. The Chinese flag is predominantly displayed in front of the Hotel Schutzen and the cook is from Beijing. The Hotel Jung Frau has no staff on site except in the laundry and contrary to the pictures on the webpage, the restaurant is closed for the year. The chairs on our balcony were broken (one was unusable), the table was dirty and rusted over, and the oder in the bathroom was so noxious we had to close the door when not in use. Overall, the hotel is in dire need of renovation. The facility was the only disappointing aspect of our stay in Lauterbrunnen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a little inconvenient to have the staff situated at a hotel down the street. It would have been better to have had hotel staff on site, but the inconvenience was minor.

    We were upgraded to the family suite since the room they had set aside for our reservation for 4 was not adequate for 4 adults. The suite was spacious, comfortable, and clean in most respects, other than the outside balcony. The location was fantastic, right in the center of town and within close walking distance of both the train station and the Staubach Falls. We had a beautiful view of the Falls from our bedroom window. We also greatly appreciated the staff, a very sweet, helpful Hungarian lady. She was kind and gracious in tending to our questions and needs. Also, the breakfast was very good and the coffee superb!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property a bit old and not well maintained. Only one typical Chinese staff around on and off. Things were beginning to breakdown. Broken light bulbs, wall outlets do not accept TV plug (no adaptor.) Check in and breakfast managed badly by another hotel nearby. Clients missed schedules because no one was there to run the breakfast jobs. Clients had to look for staff to get things going.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess the owner of this hotel is Chinese, very small bathroom and some old and unsafe facilities. A sign only in Chinese at the breakfast hall: only one egg each person, very ironic!

    Location is good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is an older facility in need of some updating. The wi-fi worked on and off. The lighting in the common areas and the room was not very good. We had requested a double bed and had two twins. There is no one on site as this property is jointly operated with the hotel a few doors down.

    The property, while dated, was very clean and we received daily maid service. It is in a good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could have been little more friendly. Not all of them. But some were sort of cold and came across as unfriendly.

    Location. Location. Location. With an excellent view of the Alps from the balcony. Small but comfy and clean rooms. This is my repeat stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was traveling with husband but double bed was actually two singles put together and bar in the middle was uncomfortable. Property was a bit dilapidated. Bathroom ceiling leaked from room upstairs.

    Location was perfect for hiking activities in the area, our room had a balcony with a view of the waterfall. Staff was friendly and breakfast was included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel Jungfrau could best be described as "basic". You get a relatively clean room, a bathroom, breakfast, and parking. You do not get: accessible staff; lighted hallways; wifi in the whole of your room (it worked on the left side!); or immediately-available hot water. The hot water was usually ok, but one night after waiting 15 minutes for the shower to warm up with no luck, we tried to find some staff to get help. No staff existed in Hotel Jungfrau; instead you're directed next door to their other location, where breakfast is served, so we trudged up the hill. However, it was after 7pm when this occurred, and so that location too was unstaffed. There was no phone number posted or given to us for help after-hours, so we were unfortunately resigned to waiting until the next day for hot water. Thankfully, on returning to Hotel Jungfrau, the next tour bus had shown up, so one member of the staff had turned up to check everyone in. However, this staff member was willing to help, but shower repair wasn't his wheelhouse and he couldn't direct us to a different person. We were able to get him to fix the shower, but it was an ordeal. Speaking of tour buses, it's pretty clear that they're running this hotel and its partner Hotel Schutzen as a tour group factory. We stayed for six nights, and in that time at least four tour buses came through, each for one night. Management's ability to churn through these guided tours is actually impressive. Which is fine, except that each tour group would leave around 7am, and start making noise around 5:30am.

    Hotel Jungfrau served our purpose of being an economical base for hiking in and around the Bernese Oberland. The breakfast was pretty good, and had a TV showing livecams from the top of the surrounding mountains. The room was big, the bed was comfy, and the balcony & view were nice. Lauterbrunnen was perfect as a base for hiking in the Bernese Oberland.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small but served our needs.

    Stayed at Hotel Schützen, this didn't bother us at all. This hotel is two doors down from the Jungfrau and run by the same people. The room was comfortable, clean and we had an amazing view of the town and waterfall. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic like any small hotel. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would book again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one pillow per bed and it appeared quilt and pillow were feather based which is a problem for me. Large stain on mattress. No cups in room yet there was a kettle . We had to go to other hotel to get Cups and staff seemed bemused . TV lounge had Coffee machine and large sign saying coffee was free to guests between certain times but there were no cups and machine didn't work. Staff didn't fix it when we reported it. Large groups staying on two of the nights yet no staff present on site for most of the time. We were woken about 6.30. a.m. both nights by people pounding up and down stairs :(. Carpet in entrance hall obviously dirty. Glass panel in entrance broken and replaced with a bit of plywood - very shoddy looking - a pity as hotel looks so nice online .

    Lady in Hotel Schutzen where we had to go daily for breakfast was wonderful. Room bright and airy and location was brilliant in every way.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection kept going in and out. With the view we had though we did not mind. Mainly just needed it to look up train and bus connections. The shower water was also very cold and sometimes took up to 10 minutes to heat up.

    The view from the balcony of the room was wonderful! We could see the waterfalls and mountains. Early Saturday morning we heard what sounded like a hundred cow bells going down the Main Street of town. Staying here was a really good experience. A laundry mat was also very close to the hotel. Wish the restaurant to the hotel was open during our stay. It was closed until June. The town only had two restaurants we could find open for dinner at the end of May. Breakfast was pretty basic but worth it. Some croissants, meats, cheese, cereal, and hard boiled eggs. We were also able to drop off our bags before check in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in - no reception at the actually hotel Room cleanliness - hair in bed, cobwebs Hair dryer - no protection so the heat wires could burn you Furniture- really dated, old and you get one flat pillow. No amenities like tea, etc to go with the kettle. Noise - allowing late check ins for groups who would be extremely loud at 1 in the morning.

    The view The reception and breakfast lady was really sweet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have like gluten free bread for breakfast but it was a minor thing.

    The view was outstanding. We moved the beds so we could gaze at the waterfall. Claude the manager was so helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a rather old place and it appears they have let a lot of things go. It was a bit inconvenient to check in/out and have breakfast at a hotel a block or so away.

    The location is great and the Lautterbrunnen valley is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievably rude manager. Less than 24 hours before arrival sent me an email informing us that we would be staying at the Hotel Schutzen (the sister hotel) which gave us no opportunity to cancel in advance. In the end we were made to feel like an inconvenience to him for staying in the Jungfrau like we booked. There was nothing in the small print to suggest that we might be requested to stay at the hotel Schutzen. The room was attrocious. The electrical outlets were broken, the bed uncomfortable, the TV didn't work, the shower was awful. The restaurants at both hotels (Jungfrau and Schutzen) are both closed. The pool (at the Jungfrau) is closed. There was nothing to suggest this on either booking.com or on their website. The manager clearly uses both his hotels for block bookings of large tour groups of Asian tourists. They arrived at 1am and were incredibly noisy. They also awoke at 6am for trips to the Jungfraujoch. They were able to take breakfast at the hotels for the early morning trip, but this was not available for 'regular' guests for whom breakfast started at 7:30. This is not a hotel. This is a bad hostel. It is in no way deserving of a 3 star rating and I feel cheated out of a lot of money. I have never felt more unwelcome at a hotel anywhere in the world. Disgusting. A vile, rude manager who doesn't deserve business.

    Nothing. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given a room at a different Hotel than we booked. We booked the Hotel Jungfrau only to find out that it is under renovation and we would be staying at a different property. Seems like they should have known it was under construction and alerted us that we would be staying a different hotel before we booked it.

    Comfortable room in the center of town, easy walk to train station and waterfall trail.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no reception in the hotel, in fact there is no stuff at all.You have to get a key to enter the building at the place next door. That is not a big deal, but during the night we were waken up by some scary sounds, as if someone tried to burgle the rooms. In the morning we found the entrance door broken and covered with blood. Apparently one of the tourist forgot or didn't manage to get the key and he had to break the glass door to enter the building...Not the best possible experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very dirty and the heating was too high. The hotel overcharged chf100 from the reservation and I don't suppose this mistake would have been noticed hadn't we realized it.

    Breakfast was well served and the receptionist was very nice to let us keep the car parked at the hotel premises past check out time.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a great location with good parking, close to the train station, shops, restaurants, laundromat and our room had a lovely view of the waterfall. The room was comfortable, clean and a reasonable size. Lauterbrunnen is a lovely village and a great place to make as a base for all of the attractions in the region.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: