Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kreuz 3 stars

Hauptstrasse 27, 4718 Holderbank, Switzerland

#1 of 2 hotels in Holderbank

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 141 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Despite of its small size and rural location, this hotel gives an impression of well-managed business, rather than a small family property. It is ideally clean even under very high Swiss standards. Rooms are refurbished in a modern style. Restaurant on site is good, but a little bit upscale and pricy even for Switzerland; however, there is a more budget place literally next door. Location is very good for hiking with plentiful trails in the surroundings; several of them start from the hotel's door. If someone wants to see major Swiss cities, travelling by car, this is a very attractive location as well: Basel is 30 min away, Bern 45 min, Zurich in about 50 min. On arrival we got a free upgrade to a bigger, very spacious room; this of course was a very pleasant surprise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely warm and friendly welcome. The whole place is exquisitely decorated and the room is spacious, clean and well appointed. The owners and staff are superb - they genuinely make you feel like they've been waiting all day just for you to arrive!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Another outbreak of the revolving Swiss shower heads.

    Perfect for what we needed, an overnight stop, lovely area, would have been nice to have more time to explore. The building was really well done, a historic shell, renovated to a high standard. The hotel was well run and the breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of air conditioning in the heat of summer. The room was facing a Main Street of the small town so occasionally a loud vehicle would drive by. The Windows had to be left open due to the warm weather.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dislike.

    Everything is first class. Super staff, lovely rooms and excellent food! We have been staying here for a number of years now and our stay never varies - always excellent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit difficult to find in the dark. Brakfast was Ok

    Quietm and in the mountains yet on a good road. Big room. Lovely bathroom. 15 mins from my work there.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing when you get there but as mentioned by a previous guest there is 2 Holderbank's with the same street name in Switzerland, so remember to use the Zip code on the Satnav

    Excellent hotel, with large room and comfortable bed, breakfast is very good and included in the price. Staff are very friendly and accomodating

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, we loved it.

    Probably one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in. The staff were so helpful and friendly, the food good quality, the family room we stayed in was very comfortable with a balcony. A really lovely hotel that is obviously run with great pride.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was built on top of a 270 years old farm house and transformed into a fabulous hotel. Built with the finest materials, outer room was excellent. Clean and beautiful. Great place!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were a bit too hard for me and room at the front was a bit warm and there is no airconditioning to control that. Wifi signal mostly fine but dropped sometimes for no obvious reason.

    What a gem this place is! Great location in a breathtakingly beautiful part of the country, though not as wellknown as the Alps further south. Fantastic staff, very polite and very helpful. Excellent restaurant for dinner and also breakfast was very good too. Will defenitely come back when in the area next time!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a beautiful quiet little village, a classic old style hotel with modern rooms and extremely tidy. The little things like the play area and the horses next door made it a lovely place to stop while traveling through.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Great service, big room - comfortabe bed, fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to point out ...

    cordiality of the staff, room furnishings, good restaurant menu, the structure's quiet despite being on the main road.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room and excellent food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy weather vane on top of the roof

    Room was fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Exceptionally well appointed. Decor and finish incredible. Really friendly staff. Would love to go back and stay longer

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swiss prices in restaurants in and local.

    Very spacious room. Quiet location -yet acceptable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, food and staff perfect as always!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, we loved everything!

    Everything! Really nice and very clean hotel! Staff were superb and the young waiter who served us was incredibly polite and eager to practice his English with us! We will definetly return here on our way back to Italy this summary as it is a perfect stop over

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    We loved everything. Ample parking space in front of the hotel. The room is very spacious for a 3-star hotel, which is very rare in Switzerland.The lobby, the restaurant, the hallway and rooms are decorated with taste and look even better than in the low-resolution pictures shown on Booking.com. The view from the balcony is amazing. Extremely clean everywhere. And we felt welcomed and were given personal attention from the moment of arrival. Dinner was excellent. Hiking trails start in front of the hotel. We'll definitely come back in the future.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom a bit old fashioned. Kitchen closes early (like everywhere in Switzerland).

    Very nice staff. Family-held hotel, well managed, convenient (if that is the area you want to go to).

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Switzerland is very expensive in general.

    Very friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Quiet location. Excellent restaurant for dinner. Antique clock in hallway will be turned off upon request.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was fantastic although a fan or ideally air conditioning would be welcomed.

    We chose this hotel while driving back to the UK from Italy and selected it because of its great reviews. Well, I can assure you that the reviews were justified. We were running late due to a traffic problem and called ahead to the hotel to say we would not get there until 11pm we were assured this would not be a problem. On arrival the owner greeted us and someone showed us to a newly refurbished room. The room and beds were excellent for our family of five, everything as new and tastefully done to an extremely high standard. Breakfast in the AM was simply perfect. One thing that struck us was how clean this hotel was - just mint. the kids had been off WiFi for a few days so they would have happily stopped for days! We will be back and plan on using this hotel every year on our outbound and return trip to Italy.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    carefull, there are 2 cities with the name Holderbank in Switzerland with also a same street name Hauptstrasse !!!!!

    very nice room very friendly reception very clean

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the past five years we have been staying at Hotel Kruze twice a year on our way to Italy. We always look forward to our stay, the hotel and staff are very welcoming, the rooms and food wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Group

    The staff and hotel manager (lady) was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. This was the best customer service i have ever received

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were incredible...helpful..

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    comfort and food

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is perfect. Very nice beautiful old Mill. Very clean, good beds, super breakfast and perfect hosts. Can't get any better...

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Hotel Kreuz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: