Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Sorell Hotel Krone This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Marktgasse 49, 8404 Winterthur, Switzerland

#8 of 18 hotels in Winterthur

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 733 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    9.2
    Great and memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Got there in the middle of a festival, had to enjoy it around the clock but that’s what it means ‘a central location’

    It’s right in the city center, very close to train station. Friendliest personnel. Very good facilities in the room. My praise to a great coffee machine in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    9.6
    We'll come back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The welcome at arrival with the glass of cold tea. The smile of the hostess, and the way she leaded us to our room and showed us everything. They upgraded us from simple room to "de luxe" room without any "price upgrade". The breakfast was fantastic and very well waited. The next day we could leave our luggages for quite a long time. Really, everything was perfect in this very calm and cosy hôtel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    10
    Great option in Winterthur. One of the best price/quality hotel in Switzerland I have stayed in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fantastic chocolate croissant is killing my diet.

    Second stay. Still great. Price is reasonable for Switzerland. Great breakfast, polite staff at reception and efficient staff for breakfast. I actually use it as an "airport hotel" as the train from Winterthur to Zurich airport takes only 10 minutes. This is exactly what hotels should feel like in Switzerland. Small but well designed, clean, good quality food, not overpriced and helpful smiling staff. I think the management from many other very average (or bad) hotels in Switzerland could learn from Sorell! Will stay again on my next trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    Appreciated the hotel very much
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, great stay. Small technical problem with the elevator in the morning but anyway, its only 3 floors Nespresso machine in the room had an issue, which seems to happen often in other hotels as well

    Close to the train station. For Switzerland, great price/service/quality. My room was modern, comfortable and nicely renovated. Efficient check in and solid breakfast. The ladies at the reception and serving breakfast were very professional and smilling. Will go back if in Winterthur.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.6
    Superb hotel in great location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel bar could have been open on Sunday afternoon but it wasn't a real problem as there are plenty of alternatives in close proximity.

    The bedroom, recently refurbished, was excellent; well equipped, tastefully decorated and much bigger than the room rate promised. The bathroom was equally as good. The bed was large and exceedingly comfortable. The hotel is only five minutes' walk from the train station and perfectly located in the town centre yet although the room overlooked the pedestrian shopping area, was very quiet at all times of the day. All staff were friendly and attentive at all times.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    10
    Very personal approach and kind staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very personal approach and kind staff. Servis was beyond my expectations. The room was also very comfortable and clean. I liked the personalised postcard that waited for me in the room - it is very rear that someone would use handwriting these days:) Small gesture, great impact! I would highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    10
    I'd stay at this hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great location, friendly staff, clean, comfortable, good breakfast, each room has a coffee maker (excellent!) so you can enjoy coffee or tea (free of charge!). Wonderful place!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    10
    A jewel in the middle of Winterthur!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was amazing and the rooms are comfortable. The location is easy to reach, especially if you are coming by train. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    10
    This was the nicest place we stayed on our entire trip. Will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult, as is usually the case in the city center. But the staff helped us and we eventually found it.

    Very luxurious accomodation. Super friendly staff - very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    9.6
    nice hotel directly in the pedestrian zone, not even 5 minutes walking distance to the train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    extremely nice staff, welcoming you with a "Punsch", they offer different kind of pillows, in the rooms are also USB-sockets, large TV, comfortable and large shower, good breakfast directly in the pedestrian zone - in December directly at the Christmas market The price is high but that´s Switzerland

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    10
    I have stayed in Hotel Krone several times in the past and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have stayed in Hotel Krone several times in the past and have always enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. After the renovation earlier this year the rooms have reached a 5 star level and are extremely comfortable. The staff is very thoughtful and friendly which makes my stay in Hotel Krone very pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2017

    10
    Excellent historic hotel in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to fault! Exceeded our expectations.

    Upgraded to a suite on arrival! Location is 10 minutes walk from rail station. Historic hotel in city centre that has been fully upgraded internally! Nothing to fault on our 1 night stay. Coffee machine in room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location, superb breakfast, near to shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lift is very old but rooms are newly furnished.

    Staff are very personable. Bed is very comfortable and the breakfast spread is good. Even champagne - that's the bonus! Excellent location, easy access to shopping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel right in the heart of Winterthur
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A beautiful hotel at an excellent location right in the city center. Very helpful staff, freshly renewed, nicely decorated and well equipped rooms. Very comfortable beds. An excellent restaurant in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    9.6
    The room was clean and nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi sometimes lost connection. The breakfast was good but I missed having some cream cheese/philadelpia and regular bread cheese

    The room was clean and nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    7.5
    This is a lovely place to stay in the heart of Winterthur.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was impossible to find with our GPS and the receptionist on duty was unable to give clear instructions

    This was a lovely boutique hotel situated in the center of Winterthur

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    10
    Lovely little and luxurious hotel, great location and a great price !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel facade needs more illumination at night. The hotel facade does not seem to include the brand name Sorell Hotels. No view from room 222 - just of the building opposite which houses offices. Lovely windows in the room but be prepared for street noise at night if kept open... not a lot - after midnight the little alley was very quiet - but a church bell woke me the first night every hour on the hour. Got used to it by the 3rd and 4th nights.

    Lovely, friendly and helpful staff. Beautifully newly renovated room with a luxurious feel. Beautiful new bathroom with real rain shower. Excellent television though very few English language programmes. Super fast internet service - the fastest I have ever seen in any hotel. Immediate area of the front entrance as well as the rear entrance interesting and attractive. Excellent location. Excellent price compared to hotels in Zurich... just 22 - 23 minutes train from Zurich downtown, barely 10 minutes from the airport by train. Definitely worth looking at !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    10
    Highly reccomend, wish we stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel! Everything from the lobby, to the restaurant to the room was very nice, and the decor was great! The beds were extremely comfortable and had the option of a pillow menu for those that have a preference. The bathroom was great with fantastic rainfall shower head, most relaxing way to end the day! Staff were all extremely nice and helpful. The room was great, and the handwritten welcome card was a lovely gesture, the small details did not go unnoticed; from the rubber duck, to the Rituals Bathroom products to the card left by the room attendant, all very nice premium touches. Cannot fault anything about our stay or the hotel, I just wish we were able to stay longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay at the Hotel Krone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All the staff were really friendly and helpful, communication was excellent. The family room was big enough for us and our two children. Breakfast was always fresh and absolutely divine. Absolutely loved our stay there and will definitely return when in Winterthur again. The hotel is near everything- park, train, bus, shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    9.6
    The best hotel in Winterthur
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I loved the breakfast, which had gluten-free options for me (bacon, egg). I'm really happy that the hotel uses Sirocco tea! This is by FAR the best bagged tea I've ever had in Switzerland or otherwise, and having it served for the breakfast (AND three bags in the room!) is absolutely delightful. AC was cold as it should be, and the room is amazingly dead silent if you close the doors and windows thanks to the new renovation. This has to be my favorite hotel room ever when it comes to noise isolation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    9.6
    New modern well equipped hotel and room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aircon did not work. Contractors fitted new aircons and did not connect properly. Probably all sorted out by now.

    New modern well equipped hotel and room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    5.4
    Never Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had the misfortune to spend 4 nights at the Sorrel Krone in Winterthur Switzerland during the heat wave of June 15 to 19. On the night of the 15 June the room temperature was 290C and the air conditioning (A/C) in my room was not functioning. I was advised by reception that the fault would be repaired by the afternoon of the 16 June. On returning to the hotel in the afternoon I asked if it had been fixed and was told no but assured it would be working by the 17 June. On the night of the 16 June With windows open and a large fan blowing full the room temperature was above 260C. As you can imagine trying to have a restful night sleep with temperatures of 260C windows wide open and a fan blowing all night was impossible. During the nights of 17 and 18 June with windows wide open and a fan blowing the room temperature remained at 250C. I was informed that the reason the A/C was not working was due to local regulations that require the fitting of some kind of regulator/controller to ensure it is only operational if the outside temperature was below 200C. It did seem to be odd that the A/C was operational in the rest of the building.

    Nothing was outstanding it was what is to be expected for a hotel of that rating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2017

    5.8
    Cold Water!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Keine Heise Wasser! Everything in the lobby was under construction, our room was new and nice BUT NO HOT WATER....I had a bad cold and I needed to wash my hair with lukewarm to cold water. And no other room was available to switch too and shower in....this is not fair to make available a new room and not have hot water... a one week stay and no hot water!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    9.2
    Very nice location for a freshly renovated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator broke down but the staff was able to limit the impact of the situation, they were very helpful and even provided for a free drink to apologize for the unexpected annoyance

    Great freshly renovated rooms with a lot of technology equipment, many USB powered ports to charge the batteries of the many devices we have today

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    9.6
    Great for business trips.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The personal was very professional and extra nice. The room was recently renovated, so there was a bit of paint smell, but no problem. Amazing shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    9.2
    good value, good for business travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com did not transmit to the hotel that there would be 1 adult and 1 child. The bathroom had only 1 set of towels.

    room well-designed for business travelers.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2017

    8.8
    Warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is currently being renovated so corridors and even parts of our room were not fully finished.

    Warm welcome. Excellent breakfast. Central location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2017

    7.0
    Pleasant but not memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lighting in bathroom very poor. Drinks in bar outrageous?39 Swiss francs for two gin and tonics,I thought I had bought the bottle! I think they are doing building there, so the Hotel was empty .we used to stay there in early 2000 but I think it was privately owned.

    Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Personnel was very pleasant, with warmful welcomes! The hotel is very nice, very well situated in the town and very comfortable. The hotel is now renovating itself so I'm looking forward to come again to see how this can get even better! Maybe an extra star?!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2016

    9.6
    Well worth it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was all good. I did not find an English speaking channel on the TV. But to tell you the truth I did not look that hard, there was so many other things to do.

    The staff were friendly and accommodating. The coffee was great. The bed was comfortable and I slept well from the first night. The position was fantastic, 2 blocks from the train station in the centre of town with shopping museums and city sights at your doorstep.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    6.3
    Impersonal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive for what you get. Only one hot dish available for breakfast, but many cold items (breads, meats, etc.). No tea or coffee making facilities in room. Stuffy room - if you open a window for fresh air there was no security - no bars on window. Of the many times I walked past Reception, no one said hello. Overall, quite an impersonal experience.

    Very helpful gentleman on Reception at check-in. Central location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2016

    4.6
    awkward and annoying
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air conditioning or air flow, had to leave window open with easy access to a next door balcony not associated with the hotel. at least they left a portable fan to use. a mosquito got in and I had 3 bites one morning. no available plugs near the bed. outlets were awkward-but there was an extension that I moved. small room. poor remodel throughout with every entrance having a different height due to floor changes. I just found it awkward and uncomfortable for the most part.

    the staff was competent and helpful. but the cleaning staff rearranged my stuff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2016

    9.2
    Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I found the cost of my stay rather expensive - but that's Switzerland!

    The hotel is very clean and comfortable and attractively decorated. The staff are really helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2016

    7.5
    Bteakfast & staff members are excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The 2nd bedroom has very dangourace ceilling for adults to walk arround the room! The Room temperature was too warm & pillows were too flat.

    Bteakfast & staff members are excellent!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2016

    9.6
    I liked the overall friendliness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think they would be well advised to put a no-slip floor in the shower. I had no problems but it was slippery when wet and soapy.

    I liked the overall friendliness of the staff. The room was utilitarian but clean and comfortable. As I spent most of my time with friends or exploring Winterthur, I was not interested in a luxury hotel. It met or exceeded my expectations , however. I would/will gladly stay there again on my next visit to Winterthur.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and clean hotel with excellent restaurant in the heart of Winterthur.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is clean and orderly in an ideal location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.6
    All the staff were lovely people and couldn't be more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, it was great.

    All the staff were lovely people and couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    Excellent location, nice decor, very friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location, nice decor, very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Interior design is superb

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    All is Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All is Perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    8.3
    The bed sheets were not changed.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed sheets were not changed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.6
    Excellent service and location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had Trouble turning the ac on

    Excellent service and location. Was greeted by a personally written letter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.6
    The room was slightly oberheated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was slightly oberheated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room had been renovated-was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything about our stay was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    9.2
    Great location comfortable room easy walk from station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good location easy walk from station. Staff friendly and helpful. Melanie on front desk was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't get to spend more time there !

    Welcomed with a smile, very comfortable and high standard rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    9.2
    Comfy bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfy bed. Nice warm room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money (with special pre-booking rate))
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location in town centre, good breakfast, friendly staff, quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    10
    Neat, tidy, cozy and calm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Neat, tidy, cozy and calm. Especially wonderfull breakfast and good location in the shopping street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    10
    Comfortable and valuable stay in Winterthur
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice, just enough stylish, cosy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, so far the best in Winterthur.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel, so far the best in Winterthur.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    7.5
    Personal top - Management flop
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Management

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    10
    Great central location close to railway station
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic bed lovely shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Apples for free in the reception
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could have been better.

    Apples for free in the reception

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    10
    Wow !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Family run business and high level standards

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    9.2
    They could minimize their waste somewhat, shampoo bottles...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They could minimize their waste somewhat, shampoo bottles etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff, great location, very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff, great location, very comfortable beds. The coffee machine in the room was a life saver.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    10
    A must to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air condicioner not so easy to use

    Everything perfect

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2017

    7.5
    Easy to walk to ..
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There appeared to be more charges that i was aware of

    It was close everything i came for

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    8.3
    Complete Facility /clean /comfort / good staff
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning not working Breakfast not varity

    Complete Facility /clean /comfort / good staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    9.2
    Nicely renovated rooms, central location in the old town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking limited, access to hotel only for loading/unloading

    Nicely renovated rooms, central location in the old town, near train station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    9.6
    A great weekend in Winterthur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At night it was really warm in the room, which made it somewhat difficult to sleep

    Everything was great we felt catered to, nothing to be desired

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2017

    8.3
    Winterthur pick
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast service was superb.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location; helpful staff; wonderful buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2016

    7.9
    excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was quiet noisy

    excellent location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2016

    8.3
    Traditional and clean
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in the single room was a little bit narrow.

    The building was fantastic. The room was clean. Breakfast was also nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    8.8
    Visiting Winterthur with my eleven year old daughter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Visiting Winterthur with my eleven year old daughter. Nice hotel, nice staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2016

    5.4
    Room reminds me of a student hostel: loud, no ventilation, small bed. In short: way overpriced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room and too hot

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2016

    8.3
    A location is very convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A pillow is too thin and flat.

    A location is very convenience. Locate in old town near train station and shopping street. Breakfast is fine but hot coffee is very nice.

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly staff;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I walked past on the first try when looking for the hotel because I didn't look far enough up - then you see the crown sign.

    Very friendly staff; I had problems connecting to the free wifi and the problem was solved immediately. Delicious homemade Bircher Müsli at breakfast!

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2015

    7.1
    Great Staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Room 402 towards Marktgasse is very noisi in the early morning, starging at AM 06:00 due to shop cleaning and street cleaning.

    Great Staff! Good breakfast. Excellent Coffe, helpful regarding special requests.

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2015

    9.2
    Great location in the middle of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    An extra pillow pet adult would be good as they are very soft/flat but really not a big deal.

    Great location in the middle of the old town. Loved the bells ringing and we landed in the middle of the organ festival which was lovely. Great family room with two bathrooms. Staff were excellent and friendly when we needed an extra bed. Good value for money (although Switzerland is still much more expensive than France or Italy) with a beautiful breakfast included in the room price. Our room was in the roof so we could step out into it and look down to the street. Very quaint for a hotel.

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2015

    10
    The breakfast with bacon and eggs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The milk for the coffee at the breakfast was hot and not cold. One lamp in the room did not work

    The breakfast with bacon and eggs TV in the room Very nice bathroom

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2015

    8.3
    The staff was very helpful and could not have been nicer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The staff was very helpful and could not have been nicer. The building is also very old and interesting, located in the old town area. Breakfast was excellent and something to look forward to every morning.

There are also 37 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sorell Hotel Krone Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: