Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Wellness Hotel La Ginabelle 4 stars

Vispastrasse 52, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

#66 of 317 hotels in Zermatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 291 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing staff, attention to the guest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggling here!

    The staff could not do anymore to help, I checked out at 10am, spent all day skiing, they then gave my access to spa for shower and change before my train home! Beautiful hotel overall!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Ski holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Alpine Loft Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked all. If I had to make a remark it would be to add a coffee / tea machine and have a lamp directed at the table in the junior suite.

    Breakfast, location, dinner, dining facility, staff, owner. Just all was excellent, very professional both by the the owner and the staff. Congratulations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    A wonderful balanced accommodation that covers all weather eventualities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to find anything negative

    Great welcome with excellent Reception and portering. Spacious warm clean and comfortable accommodation. Cosy lobby and sitting room with glowing fire. Delightful bar. Very Swiss breakfast with a cooked option also available and included. Brilliant access to a good value ski rental and the free Zermatt ski bus to access Klein Matterhorn or Gornegrat and actually only a short walk to the Sunnegga lift system. At the end of the day an immaculately clean indoor and exterior 34 degree swimming pool and spa to loosen any aching limbs after walking or skiing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.3
    The fact that the Spa center was closed should have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the Spa center was closed should have been made clear by the hotel when we made the booking. This was quite disappointing and we experienced it as a bit deceptive. The pool was open as well as two hot tubs and saunas- but the the rest of the spa was closed entirely. We had a very large family room with a kitchen but there was no way to boil any water not even to make coffee or tea in the room. We asked for a pan but we told that we could not make tea or coffee in the room. The kitchen was thereby completely useless!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Matterhorn Heaven !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Absolutely fantastic stay from start to finish. Excellent location and facilities. The trip up to Gornergrat was expensive but worth it. Zermatt itself was fine with plenty of shops and eating places.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful and a view!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was fabulous so quaint and full of character but yet so high end and comfortable. We would go back for sure in the summer again or in the winter. We love this hotel and zermatt!!!! Amazing view of Matterhorn from our rooms!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Enjoyed every day, perfect place to stay, relax & so close to the Matterhorn - will return soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!!!

    Liked everything about this hotel, the staff, the room (with terrace), the breakfast was good & full of choice, the view of the Matterhorn, the wellness centre including the pool (34degrees) ... A perfect place to stay - would return tomorrow & stay longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    EVERYTHING WAS BEYOND WONDERFUL!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    EVERYTHING WAS BEYOND WONDERFUL! We had best view in town and great amenities at all his hotel! Wonderful breakfast, fabulous spa and sauna facilities, large rooms-surpassed our high expectations!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Just a paradise!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    100% satisfied!!! Good price. Good rooms, services and facilities. Nice breakfast + luxury and clean spa & swimming fool were included without additional charge. beautiful restaurant and garden. can see Matterhorn at the garden in front of the hotel. one night sleep with bird and sound of running river. Only two minute by walk to the cable-car station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Superb find !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Lovely tasteful hotel, very classy room and comfortable bed with choice of 3. Pillows. Superb pool and jacuzzis and food excellent. Fantastic view of the Matterhorn from our balcony,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    3.8
    Overrated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed to catch the Glacier Express at 7:52 but the hotel did not want to serve breakfast before 7:30. So we had only a few minutes to have breakfast, but when we went out and prepared to take the shuttle to the train station, the shuttle was not there (we reserved it!). Eventually we missed the Glacier Express! Although the hotel claimed to be family friendly, I think it is over rated, especially for travelers in spring and fall (which are not the most popular seasons). The play room was not organized, all the chairs were on the table, and the toys were packed. The pools were not open until we asked and waited for 15 min. The staff did not understand English well. Before the trip we called and asked what to bring. They told us to bring heavy winter clothes (I doubt if they understood what we asked) but it turned out to be very warm, and we did not use most of the clothing we brought. (It was a pain to bring them) The room was outdated, and the kitchenette was not working at all. Many lamps could not turn on. There was no microwave and we could not microwave the bottles for our 1-year-old baby. Also, the wi-fi was not working at all. HONESTLY, I don't recommend this hotel for family travel.

    The pools are great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Return visit lived up to previous excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    More wines by the glass.

    Family run. Staff, comfort and position all excellent. Opposite ski rental and ski bus-top. 200 metres to Sunneggabahn lift. Food lovely. Very friendly. Lovely swimming pool and spa which is great after hard days skiing. Nothing is cheap in Zermatt but I think this is very good value for all the good things you get. Breakfasts are great. The dinner option is good value for Zermatt. We have already discussed our next visit either in the summer or skiing again next year.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel and Spa in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big beautiful rooms and hotel was close to train station. Great spa and friendly staff. They also held our luggage after check out so we could still explore before the next train.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location, facilities and food with very professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cannot think of anything.

    The Hotel's facilities (with special reference to the spa/swimming pool) are excellent and the food (half board option) was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.3
    Exceptionaly good staff service and 5 star food. But very rud owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the rudeness of the hotel owner. In one evening when we started our lunch he sent over two of his staff to let us know that the price of lunch just went up. This had only applied to us, and we didn't receive any justification of the requested change. Of course we didn't agree, since we had the hotel confirmation of the price. He didn't belive us so we had to show him two emails of confirmation. Very rood of him that he put us in this situation. I think that he might prefer western tourists more than eastern.

    The lunch was extrodinery, also the staff was very helpful and joyful. They have the best restaurant and staff. Great experience.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    7.9
    NIce spa hotel but not quite up to the standard of some of it's competitors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps because it was the beginning of the season some of the staff seemed a little unpolished and it's a little way north of the centre of town.

    Generally very good. NIce room. Good breakfast. Good Spa. Pool indoor/outdoor is nice for a spa pool but is too small to swim in.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Mainly the friendliness of staff and the food excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Mainly the friendliness of staff and the food excellent. The owners took a particular interest in their clients which made you feel they cared.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent food - both breakfast and dinner were of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although towels were changed daily, they were rather thin - thicker and fluffier towels would have been more in keeping with the overall very high standard.

    Excellent food - both breakfast and dinner were of the highest standard and very tasty, and served by the most friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice SPA & but service quality is below expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were in general nice but it seems like they have to do too many things in parallel. We had to wait at the reception desk 5-10 minutes before check-in since the receptionist was preparing drinks at the bar for the other guests. When we went for the breakfast in the morning, we again had to wait for staff to clean the tables for us before we sit. They were not ready.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful facility with a very nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    Very beautiful and clean facility with a very nice location. I have requested them to give me a good room and they gave me a room with Matterhorn view. They treat children very good with separate setup is set at the breakfast for kids and they have a really nice play room for kids as well...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    Super hotel, enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean, spacious, well designed room. Super spa facilities, great breakfast and friendly, helpful staff. Would have preferred a full double bed rather than two singles but was not not too much of a problem.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel, lovely staff and a fantastic "Swiss" experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved everything about this hotel, absolutely stunning! Fantastic location with a very short stroll to everywhere, great view of Matterhorn and a beautiful clean well kept room along with friendly accommodating staff. Lovely spa with nice grounds to sit and enjoy the views. The most beautiful place to visit and this stunning hotel just added to the whole experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    quite poor breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panorama Family Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    quite poor breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction next door

    Great rooms and very good staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor wifi

    Good breakfast. Clean room. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for families with childeren
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb breakfast and ideal location for families with childeren

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed it look forward to the next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly boot room

    Wellness facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    We will re-visit Zermatt, and stay at Hotel Ginabelle. We have found a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have a single complaint.

    The staff were so helpful, polite and courteous. Everyone was so genteel, it was a very pleasant experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Good location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi in the room is not well

    Good location and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff The location Swimming pool Bikes Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Good view and good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi in room is not good enough. We need to be in front of the room so that the wifi will be worked.

    Good view and good staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Did not work in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection

    Did not work in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View could have been better.

    Very nice location. Good facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Good place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con. No kettle.

    Location. Facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice but not for off season
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was not open and no masseuse. Was sole purpose of trip too

    Nice rooms and view. Very clean and a great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Breathtaking Matterhorn View
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panorama Family Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matterhorn view, outdoor pool, coffee, cake and live piano time, chocolates surprices, breakfast room, personnel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Everything was just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Everything was just perfect!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Looking forward to coming back for a longer stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complains here.

    We loved this hotel. The staff were very helpful. We didn't realise there as a pickup from the station to the hotel included!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The spa facilities were also great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Great spa, comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great spa, comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast! We definitely had a wonderful stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Location ,view , room , pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was great Room size fantastic and comfortable Pool great View of Matterhorn unreal

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    9.6
    The spa and sauna area were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Man what can I say it would be too insignificant to mention.

    The spa and sauna area were awesome. There are really strong jets at different stations in the very large pool that is one half indoors and one half outdoors. It was fun to go between in and out. Plus there were two large hot tubs and a decent size dry Sauana and hammam. Also - the afternoon tea was incredible. A live piano player, three different kinds of cakes (the apricot and the rhubarb were favorites) and fresh whip cream to top.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    7.5
    Friendly, close to train station and ski resort, price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    my biggest complaint is that they advertise their spa and outdoor hot tub but the hot tub is only open for 2 hours in the late afternoon early evening and they aren't flexible with opening it or keeping it open for guests. Big disappointment because I stayed there only for the outdoor hot tub and didn't even get to use it.

    Friendly, close to train station and ski resort, price

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.3
    Nice swimming pool with warm water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No flexibility and improvisation skills shown from some stuff members. We booked the breakfast the day before, but the restaurant hasn't been informed about it. Therefore, we haven't received any extras for kids and a special kids couverts. What was even worse, was the reaction when I prepared to take with me one croissant and a piece of bread with two slices of ham: "It is forbidden to take food out of restaurant! I will tolerate it today, but never again!". I did that, because my 5-year old son hasn't eaten almost anything, as he was feeling a bit sick and I knew that an hour later he would have asked for something to eat. After complaining to receptionist, we were treated much better the next day, but a bad feeling still remained. Just two weeks before, we were at a similarly sized hotel in Chamonix (Grand Hôtel des Alpes), where not only that it was ok to take some food out, but they even prepared sandwiches for us and wrapped them to take away. There is still room for improvement, learn from the French! You could also offer pancakes at breakfast.

    Nice swimming pool with warm water. Very helpful taxi driver. Very nice room. We got a room facing the river and from the balcony, there was a very nice view of Matterhorn. The bed was very comfortable, with a choice of pillows - though you need to ask for them first, as they are not provided in the room. Shower cabin was a bit small (room 301), but we used showers in the SPA, anyway, so no complaints here. We had a perfect weather, which made all the experience even nicer :)

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    7.1
    We loved the location, restaurant staff and breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked the room with Matterhorn view and double bed.. When we arrived we have got the room without Matterhorn view. After we asked the staff to correct the error we received the small room with "Matterhorn View". It means we barely could see the Matterhorn from the 1st floor balcony when we leaned over. The double bed consisted of two beds put together. They were on the wheels, hence they moved apart all the time. Definitely not 4* beds and mattress.

    We loved the location, restaurant staff and breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is conveniently located in car-free Zermatt, a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is conveniently located in car-free Zermatt, a few short blocks from the train station. Our room had a nice terrace and a great view of the Matterhorn. The staff was friendly and proactive. The spa is modern and occupies two levels: the lower level is for adults only and the upper level is for families. The family spa has sauna and steam room and a marvelous, indoor-outdoor pool. We had dinner at the hotel every night of our three night stay. The food was wonderful, the menu is kid friendly and the wine list has a good selection. We highly recommend this property for families traveling with kids but are not prepared to give up luxury!

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    8.8
    The overall impression is great, a lovely place with polite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was far too hot in our rooms, even when we turned off every heating spot. The WiFi was slow, really slow (I mean, even for a simple e-mail).

    The overall impression is great, a lovely place with polite and efficient staff. It was quiet, warm and after ski they offer you a free tea with some desserts. For breakfast they offered a variety of cheese, ham, vegetables, cereal, salmon etc. Plus, they have a good choice of different hot dishes. SPA is amazing, 4 different saunas, shower with essential oils and massage - I can't recommend enough their massage. P.S. They offer you to change your original pillow for an orthopedic or a natural one. I would advise you to change for anything you like, because the original one is weird.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    8.8
    I really liked the quality of the hotel, rooms and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The heat in the bedroom, heating was on so hot and we were unable to turn it down had to have the windows open. I was disappointed that the outdoor pool was not open all day, it was only open an hour and a half.

    I really liked the quality of the hotel, rooms and the location.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    6.3
    The hotel staff was very rude they were not very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel staff was very rude they were not very accommodating and the rooms did not get hot water

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    The location was terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location was terrific. The staff was wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff. Was easy to check out, ski and come back to change before leaving. Beautiful woodwork in the common areas.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.2
    Very good service, friendly staff, good installations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very good service, friendly staff, good installations

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.5
    No wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wifi

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, great spa area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast too expensive. Coffee station in the lobby would be a great addition.

    Beautiful hotel, great spa area.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.6
    Everything was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee station from 6am-8am in the lobby would be nice!! Breakfast too expensive!!

    Everything was great!!

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: