Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Prairie 4 stars

Avenue des Bains 9, 1400 Yverdon-les-Bains, Switzerland

#6 of 6 hotels in Yverdon-les-Bains

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 352 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Zero complaints

    Where to begin... 1) We got there soaking wet in our hiking attire after spending 2 days on a hike in the nearby mountains. We knew we must have looked rather exhausted and a bit out of place at a 4-star hotel. Despite these circumstances, we were accommodated by a super friendly receptionist who, having worked there a mere 2 weeks, gave us the perfect rundown of the hotel - she even found the time to recommend nearby sites for outdoor activities. Since we arrived too early for our room to be ready, we were able to leave our luggage at the reception, could change into more comfortable clothes at a public bathroom, and got a discount deal for the local thermal bath. 2) Although the building is not the most modern looking, our room was spacious and beautiful. It had everything one needs for a restful stay: a comfortable bed, bathroom with shower, TV, free WIFI, a cupboard, chairs and a mini bar. 3) Despite the current maintenance works on site, we didn't hear any noise that could have robbed us of our sleep. 4) The breakfast buffet was great. Everything was fresh and there were all types of food people look for in a healthy and delicious breakfast. 5) There's a convenient bus stop right outside the hotel grounds which brings you to the city center in no time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A big chunk of the hotel is in renovation. The hotel is charming but the rooms are "old fashioned" in terms of now closet space, beds (need a renew, my was sagging for both stays) and lack of ventilation or air conditioning (which is essential when, as was the case during my stays with over 30C temperatures). Breakfast was a bit meager. A few more "salad and veggie" offers on the restaurant menu would be welcome. Although the kitchen is quite good the restaurant service staff seem in a constant panic which I found distracting. A bit overpriced for my purposes.

    I stayed for two nights on two separate occasions. The grounds and terrasse is gorgeous. The hotel staff were quite friendly and helpful. The chef of the restaurant is good and the meals are appropriately priced. A good place to relax in the garden under the old trees and sip cool drinks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unable to get into the hotel late at night cos night manager not around. Breakfast was not bad but was very limited

    Style , decor and cleanliness were spot on

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside looks fancy, inside its just your above aveggae hotel. The 'spa' was just a small bath and the hamam was out of order.

    Bed was comfy, hotel was close to town and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in loft and no air con or fan. Bit of a way from old town but good bus routes

    Good choice at breakfast. Lovely gardens. Family room had separate room off ours for our son

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had aircon but no one else in our party had it.some rooms had fans but some did not

    Staff very friendly. Food at the wedding in the function room was excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit outdated rooms but overall very nice.

    Nice place, very professional staff and excellent customer orientation. We liked overall staying. Excellent restaurant - highly recommended for visiting.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    > Jacuzzi did not work > noisi room > poor breakfast >> table wss not properly set by 09:00 o clock. > I expect for a 4 star hotel, good quality which the hotel does not provide but compared to the ammount we paid was ok.

    Rustical house

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con in the bedroom or a mosquito screen to keep out the bugs at night. The restaurant staff didn't know how to use the boiled egg machine be and it does don't work very well. Not good to have chefs arriving at 9am for cooking breakfast.

    The staff were very helpful and phoned us twice as we left a jumper behind, really making an effort to contact us.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particularly

    Lovely spacious room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was okay.

    Very nice location and easy to reach. Stuff is nice and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was fantastic and very clean.the bed was very comfortable. I loved it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff. great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was not very friendly, but helpful :) Hotel is pretty old and there is no AC

    Pillows are ok

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was noisy and old but clean

    The Food is great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice hotel in a park, center but quiet. Staff helpful and professional. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive but you expect that. N Switzerland.

    Lovely location, staff helpful about nice places to go to swim.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is quite run down in rooms. Smelly carpet, noisy bed, renovation needed to give a reason for the room prices

    Good location, nice building from outside

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booked a superior king size bed, got a superior twin... Asked the reception to get a king size bed, they replied that it's only available in standard room... The receptionist told us we will have a free aperitif for the inconvenience but she forgot to transmit the info to the colleagues... At breakfast the lady welcomed us saying you still have 15min for your breakfast... Poor service quality.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good food although expensive menu!

    Very friendly staff, always helpful Room was fine, quite basic but then the price was excellent for the late booking.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    hot at night without aircon no kettle in room

    bits and bobs in room eg soap, slippers, dressng gown, showercap, got a great deal for the room close to the amazing beach bit of the lake (1 mile)

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wages in Switzerland are 3 times what they are in the UK result things are very expensive. Food in hotel uber expensive e.g. £60 for basic chicken and chips and a few veg, nothing special about it ....nice but ! Extensive brunch on Sunday £50 each.

    Lovely hotel in very nice grounds. Next to park, great for kids or dogs to run off steam. Lovely staff. Very near Thermal baths. Lids just down road.Why you ask, well unless you are very well off you might need it!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    None.

    I checked in much earlier than expected and I am happy that my room is all set and ready. Thanks to all the staff for granting my special request.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We came back at night around 1:30, but we could not go in to the hotel, 'cause night auditor was sleeping...

    Everything was great, except for the story at midnight...

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water in the jacuzzi was cold :( The room was not fully equipped as in the description of the room.

    The quiet and peace. We were the only guests in the spa facility.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom are not very easy for special needs people

    The staff is very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good English spoken from all of the staff Restaurant food was excellet value Room & Facilties were of a good standard

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It can be really expensive

    Great location close to the Neuchatel lake, fantastic staff, very nice rooms

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    near the beach, near the town

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was way too hot in my room on the 3rd floor

    The settings and the restaurant

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom is not very practical for a handicap person

    The kindness of the staff

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Hotel La Prairie traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: