Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel La Prairie 3 stars

Route de la Prairie 34, 3963 Crans-Montana, Switzerland

#16 of 27 hotels in Crans-Montana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 442 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and good food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a little old-fashioned and the bidet leaked. but it was clean.

    The pool and the lounge were very nice. The room was not very big but sufficient for 1 night. It had a large terrace shared with other nearby rooms but nice. The beds were quite confortable but it was hot, unfortunately (no AC)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful views, friendly staff, warm and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were a little bit dated and the swimming pool was a bit cold but we still managed to go for a swim! It was quite a steep walk up to to the town but all downhill on the way back down!

    Beautiful views, friendly staff, warm and comfortable facilities. Breakfast was good and evening meal in the hotel was very pleasant. Family room was a proper adjoining room rather than 4 beds in one room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice atmosphere and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room relatively small. With small effort/investment, the hotel could improve the convenience of the hotel. Such as placing the shower at the propper height so one does not ahve to limbo dance to wash hair.

    Nice atmosphere and very friendly staff. Since we were there for a sport/work weekend, out of convenience we ate in the hotel restaurant 2 nights. The food was very good. When my wife had a knee problem the staff gave her an anti-inflamatory cream and told her to keep the rest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, good for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms were hot and it was somewhat difficult to control the temperature.

    This is a lovely little hotel, which has been owned by the same family since 1930. The three sisters who run it are charming. Clean and comfortable, with a shuttle to get you to the ski lifts! Good food, and the reception area has games for kids après-ski.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    We were disappointed with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would not recommend to stay at this hotel if you do not have a car and want to go for skiing. They offer to pick you up or drive you but for limited windows of time which did not match our train schedule or ski times. Also, breakfast is very disappointing compared to other similar hotels in Switzerland. Staff was not very friendly or proactive.

    Very good room size for family. Nice area on the 1st floor to hang out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent view from the mountain view rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast, although they were kind enough to make omelets on request.

    Excellent view from the mountain view rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. Cute dog (Shea) to greet visitors.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    A relaxing, attractive & welcoming hotel, close to the centre of Montana.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The over the bath shower was too low.

    Relaxing and friendly hotel with comfortable lounge areas and attractive restaurant with good variety of menu choices. Spacious bedroom with very large comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. Montana centre is a short but steep 10 minute walk away. Shuttle transport is however available on request. We would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Quiet environment away from bustle of Crans, center of Montana, but close to both, excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Again: need to offer of scrambled eggs; better croissants; freer flow of coffee.

    Breakfast was satisfactory, Croissants could have been better, flow of coffee could have been faster, and scrambled eggs would have been appreciated. Bed on the other hand was super comfy!! location quiet, and very convenient, esp. if one likes walking. Hard to go wrong in a paradise like Montana. Dinner very good and competitively priced; very good local wines offered. Very friendly service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    Clean, friendly and cozy hotel in Montana
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is not quite in the village center. BUT there is a free shuttle provided by the hotel from early till late. So it does not matter much.

    Clean, friendly and cozy hotel. The staff is very helpful and kind. If you miss breakfast time (like we did :) you can still enjoy some goods from the buffet and complimentary coffee and juice till noon. The hotel is an older one but was renovated very nice. The restaurant food is good and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    Best choice of stay in Crans-Montana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow too soft. Room for 3 adults a bit tight.

    The extremely friendly staff. The gorgeous view from our room. Breakfast. The thick and fluffy bath towels.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable bathroom, very clean, comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed to place my diabetes medication in the fridge as I need to have it with me at all times, however there was no mini bar in the room as per description. There was a party at the lobby and there was a lot of shouting and loud music until another guest went down yelling for them to be quiet. At 1 am I managed to get some silence.

    Comfortable bathroom, very clean, comfortable beds

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.2
    Great Clean hotel, with friendly staff, in a quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A menu in English would have been useful. Room service of food with options like snacks (ie toasties, chips, pizza's) and at a reasonable price, would have been great. Coffee/tea and a kettle in your room was something i thing would have been great.

    The free upgrade. Everyone was very friendly, always had a good morning (be it in their own language). The hotel was extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and fresh with good choice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful carefree stay in Crans-Montana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendliness of the staff. Various help, assistance and advice received. Quality of the meals - breakfast and dinner. Complimentary shuttle rides, e.g. to ski rental, ski lift, concert. Value for money. The three sister owners are wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Stay at the Prairie Hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only dislike, The Wifi was too weak and slow in the Bedrooms and you have to go to lounge or lobby for good reception

    The Family like atmosphere, dogs accepted, well placed, good Restaurant definitely would return great place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic (south facing) view of the mountains from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A short (uphill) walk to the center of town - but this is more than fair given the reasonable price for this room.

    Fantastic (south facing) view of the mountains from the balcony, very quiet room, generous seating area in the room, separate shower and toilet, 2 pool tables in the lobby area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    5.8
    Comfy little room in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast offered was not many, very simple croissants. No Bacon, eggs were hard boiled only. Very less than ordinary.

    Parking inside a garage & the room was comfy & clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Welcoming and helpful reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Welcoming and helpful reception. Lovely place to stay, bonus was free pass on ski lift to top of mountain.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    It was a place with very little noise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really in the center of town.

    It was a place with very little noise!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Best hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything specially the staff work there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.5
    Excellent. Very nice part of the world. Will definitely revisit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking bit of a lottery. But sorted out once we were shown underground parking areas

    Room very spacious with large balcony and very comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Short but pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very dark

    Stayed just a night. The staff was very nice and made us feel at home. The room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Well situated hotel - great view, very personable staff and clean rooms. Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were really great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Very Comfortable and clean room with very relaxing view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    mix up with booking of double/single room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    mix up with booking of double/single room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect mountain hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean good WiFi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Had a nice short stay in Crans-Montana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a nice short stay in Crans-Montana

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay, we will repeat soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Wonderful stay, we will repeat soon!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is in short supply

    Very friendly staff Free shuttle to/from ski lift

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff. Perfect value for money. Good position. Cosy old style hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable, didn’t mind the short walk to town, and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very clean, staff helpful and happy to drive us to ski lift, if required.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    It was great and I will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Friendly Stuff Great Bar Very cosy chalet feeling

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    The room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. The bar and the restaurant. The staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    A location where to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very kind staff. Nice lounge and very quiet place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very difficult to find a parking space The restaurant was very expensive

    Friendly staff Very nice location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    The room was beautiful and the service was dope.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception has strong dog smell, I suggest they might want to wash the cute dog more often

    The room was beautiful and the service was dope.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.6
    Great short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff brilliant, picked us up and dropped us back to the furnicular. Dinner excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.3
    Short and sweet experience at La Prairie.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom amenities too limited.

    Very cosy environment and overall great ambience. No frills but it has the comfort of a home. Very friendly staffs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room ever so slightly warm but no real issues. No other criticisms at all.

    Fantastic hotel, great staff and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Helpful and friendly staff. Excellent food from a good a la carte menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing unassuming

    Friendly and accommodating staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent attention to detail all around. Wonderful family hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    5.8
    Rather nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a bit rusty. Food is not great.

    Rather nice staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Excellent recovery after discovering a mistake during booking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Chalk for the pool table for a week

    Excellent recovery after discovering a mistake during booking

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.6
    We look forward going again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was extremely kind and helpful, we really felt like being home. Thank you to all the staff!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Different types of milk for breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Different types of milk for breakfast.... like almond, hazelnut,pat for example would be nice as well as dark bread, healthier.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    8.3
    Family owner hotel with nice & warm touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pasta seems a bit oily. But steak is good.

    Staffs are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    The staff were very friendly and accommodating and did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating and did everything to make our stay comfortable. The room was large, spotless and with a nice view of the Alps. Enjoyed a nice dinner with great service in the restaurant and a good breakfast the next day. Will definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    7.1
    The hotel is located in a nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The price is too high for the room with mountain view. Our room was on first floor and we couldn't see any mountain because the trees are quite tall actually. It's not worth staying in such a room. Besides, the internet is very slow.

    The hotel is located in a nice area. The staffs are friendly. The food, I mean the dinner and the breakfast, is good.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    8.3
    We like very much the friendly atmosphere of all the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    An additional chair for the kids would do well... :-)

    We like very much the friendly atmosphere of all the staff and the hotel owner and the "family touch" of the hotel. We had "a small emergency" with our 2 years-old daughter just after had been arrived and found a quick and pragmatic solution. Our daughter liked very much the hotel pets, the cat "Noisette" and the beautiful labrador. Very tasty lunch and diner!

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    We liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    We liked everything. The breakfast was great; everything in the room was clean; the location is also ok: ten minutes walk to the cable car (there is a transfer to the cable car from\to the hotel, but we preferred to have a walk) and restaurants (although, we ended up having dinner in the Hotel La Prairie restaurant which was great and not expensive). The personnel were welcomy and responsive. If we come to CM again, we will definitely stay at HLP.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    7.9
    The staff we excellent, very helpful and easy to talk too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was a little on the pricey side and it would have been nice to have a sauna.

    The staff we excellent, very helpful and easy to talk too. It was a nice and relaxing family hotel we all enjoyed it very much. It's a little out of town but great for the forest and cross-country skiing. I have some very enjoyable walks exploring the area. It is clear those who work and run the hotel care about quality, it showed in everything from the Chrismas ornaments to the dinner. Careful selection and a personal touch seem to be everywhere. Our dinner was a prime example it was clear the chef and his/her team care about what they are doing and the quality of the food they serve beyond the preparation but down to the quality of the ingredients. It's a very well run, refined hotel, not posh, not fancy, well run high quality refined. We will be back again.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.6
    The room had everything I could want -- a fabulous view onto...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I would suggest is adding a magnifying mirror in the bathroom.

    The room had everything I could want -- a fabulous view onto the Alps, comfortable bed with outlets next to where you sleep for plugging in all the gadgets we always have, nice bathrooms, and very helpful staff -- they even gave us rope and a cutter for securing some things onto the roof of our car.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    8.3
    The size of the room was huge and the staff was great,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bad thing was the restaurants hours could have been longer being it's nothing much to eat in the area especially at night

    The size of the room was huge and the staff was great, didn't speak good English only one female staff member but they still treated me great and was as helpful as possible

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    7.9
    Very friendly and helpful staff : three sisters are the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff : three sisters are the owners-managers and one of them (+ their staff) are always available to make things go smoothly. Private parking (no extra cost) and free Wi-Fi in rooms and lobby. Short walk or ride from center of Crans and/or Montana. Recommended!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    friendly staff rustic but updated excellent dinner high value good location lobby area large with many comfortable places just to relax

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    10
    The staffs are really very nice and cooperative.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staffs are really very nice and cooperative. They are very very friendly..

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    7.9
    Nice breakfast and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Expensive for a 3 star, but I guess it is crans montana.

    Nice breakfast and very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    8.3
    Smiling receiption and kind help.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    English not popular.

    Smiling receiption and kind help.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    Attitude was excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Quite expensive but perhaps that's Swiss. Even off season

    Attitude was excellent. Very helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    Large room with nice view toward south and its high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large room with nice view toward south and its high mountains. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    9.2
    The staff are some of the best I've met anywhere in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are some of the best I've met anywhere in the world. So friendly and genuinely helpful

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    10
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wonderful location. Satff is very helpful and friendly. Would like to come back again :)

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    View from room fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View from room fantastic.staff made us feel welcome like part of a big family.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    8.3
    Great view of Swiss Alps from balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great view of Swiss Alps from balcony

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfasts could be more varied

    Friendly staff

There are also 42 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: