Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Bären

Im Holz 370, 3804 Habkern, Switzerland

#3 of 4 hotels in Habkern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    The location quite and peaceful only chose if you want to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Connectivity from the hotel to Interlaken is poor no public transport available after 7 so only choose if you can complete your activity before 7 which is difficult and also it does not has a typical facility of a hotel should be ok for trekkers

    The location quite and peaceful only chose if you want to enjoy the village setup in a foreign country

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    There was some sort of music festival that i could hear from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some sort of music festival that i could hear from my room going on until 3am. Guests from the hotel i guess were there so very noisy when they came back as the doors/walla are very thin.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    Owner not bothered. Tried to overcharge me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tried to overcharge me for a child @ SFr 40.00 per night. Booking.com intervened and then they recalled an email confirming a price of SFr 20.00 and then apologized. Initially they were very stubborn. The owner never bothered to smile or greet and was not pleasant during our entire stay. Except for the location, I would not recommend this place.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    Despite a few negatives, I enjoyed my stay here. Staff were friendly and room was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are very thin, and there was a family who rented the rooms on either side of me who would leave both their room doors open and their kids would run around screaming whenever I was in my room and it would go on until about 23:00. Beware, bathrooms and showers are shared with everyone else on the floor! There was never a wait for either for me but I’ve never had to do that at a hotel before. And, despite cleaners coming to bring new towels, I don’t think the sheets were changed at all during my week long stay. Breakfast was okay, except the door was left open so there were flies all around the restaurant and all over the food. Reception is inside the kitchen so it’s not really clear where you have to check in/out.

    The views from the bedroom were beautiful, you can see the mountains. The staff were very friendly with any questions I had. Also, the bus stop is right next to the hotel so it’s easy to get into town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    2.9
    Pathetic. Creepy. Scary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you're a tourist, stay away from this place. The place has creaky floors with paper thin walls. There was literally no light at night, flies kept buzzing in the room, no fan or iron provided by them on request. Couldn't get any sleep at night. My body kept itching from sleeping on their sheets all night long. Never for once have I experienced that. A creepy guy came knocking on our door early in the morning and even tried to open the door (scary as hell!) and when asked what he wanted he said he had a problem and he wanted a hair dryer. We booked this place for 2 nights and we took our luggage and left this creepy place first thing in the morning after staying for just one night. We barely got any sleep and still we were out by 6:30 am so you can only imagine how bad it was. Didn't care for their breakfast or the money we would lose for the booking on 2nd night. I have never had worse experience of staying at a hotel. It was a blunder to live in this place. There is a store right across from it and the guy working there was rude as hell. Gave a coffee when I asked for latte and refused to give me latte even though I offered him the difference. He mentioned he was glad that I was not staying in his shop to drink the coffee. Well, I was just glad that I was leaving his stupid place and the creepy hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice place very clean but no service to clean the room ,comunal toilet 🚽
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast yogurt ,cheap salami ,bread, fruit ,milk ,juice plain croissants 🥐 cereals ,inside the room for 4 days nobody was changed nothing except the rubish

    Very clean place and the bar girl nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    2.9
    Bad choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all I did not realize how far from Interlaken Ost this was. We had to take 2 buses to reach the train station. This was not indicated in the description of property. Secondly there was no heater in the room which they advertised. Third because we had to share bathroom facilities, we had to get out to a dark hallway each time. When we leave the light on to prevent falls, someone always turned it off. They must install sensor lights for our safety and convenience. They serve breakfast from 0800-1000. They are not considerate in early departures for clients who need to leave early since bus schedules only run every hour.they refuse to give packed breakfast. We missed 2 breakfasts. Lastly they are very stingy in the toiletries. They gave us 2 miniature bottles of shampoo, no soap for the sink in the room. I will not recommend this place to anyone!

    Sorry did not like any aspect of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.4
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost no soundproof.. You could clearly hear people in next room and especially if they are loud, good luck sleeping. Floor was also creaking even with tip toes.

    Bed was comfortable. Shared bathroom but never had to wait.. it was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.0
    Good and bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price. Thin walls means you hear every snore. Pillows very uncomfortable

    Good quality continental breakfast. Location is very beautiful, but if you need to get the bus to and from Interlaken it is very expensive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    Good for value if you have a own car
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much used to have shared bathroom and toilet facilities but it was ok, not hot options in breakfast like boiled eggs etc.

    Great view, good staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    2.9
    AVOID ROOM 104 AT ALL COSTS!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointing. We travelled to Interlaken specifically to visit the memorial erected to remember the 21 young people who perished in the canyoning tragedy 1999. Our good friends son & his wife had not long been married and were 2 of the 12 Australians who died. Our friends were involved in having the memorial erected with the town & Rotary's help. First problem was that the location is incorrect on both our GPS's also it is not correct on the Google map on Booking.com. When located we parked in the car park but had to walk around the building up and down stairs to find reception. A young lady came down from the laundry to lead us into the bar which was reception. Not the warmest welcome we have ever received. We then returned back around to near the car park up and down stairs with our back packs to find room 104. On opening the door we were in a small portioned room with a double bed and cupboard. Bed was against the wall with mere mm's of room to get to the bed head which was under the window. Next there was a quite a big room sparsely furnished but with a fridge, little kitchenette (no cooking) and en-suite. On lifting the lid of the toilet we were greeted with a toilet that had not been flushed. We checked our sales contract (Booking Confirmation) and decided to ask the Manager where was the Patio and Mountain view. She first asked what was a patio, following 2 definitions she advised that room did not have a patio or mountain view. We asked if we could have the standard double room as defined in the confirmation. she advised room 104 was a standard room and we were just unlucky to get it. It is the only room that did not have patio or mountain view in the hotel and the hotel was full. We pointed out that this is false and misleading which in this day and age is not acceptable. She tried to point out it was our fault as we had room 104. We gave up to avoid an all out dispute and tried to access the WiFi in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    4.2
    The place of the hotel is close to Interlaken, and there are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel Small room for 2 persons Smelly hotel Expensive

    The place of the hotel is close to Interlaken, and there are a mine market close to the hotel .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.0
    The landscape is good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location problem: it is not in the interlaken, but it is in another region besides interlaken which is 15min by car or 30min by bus. If you have the car, it will be better. No valid visit card: if you live in the interlaken, you can get the visit card which can take the bus free or more discount in many place. But in this hotel, you can not have this benefit unless you do not care it. Money payment problem: It is not a happy process when I pay the money of hotel. I met a problem with my credit card, it ask me input the PIN code all the time, I try several times, but it failed.The old waitress ask us pay the euro money cash, most important is that she ask me pay the same euro value 220, but the Swiss money is also 220. She refuse change it even the swiss money is cheaper!

    The landscape is good enough. I ask the hot water several time,they are glad to give to us. We feel it is warm in my heart.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.3
    Not for families with children !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room compared with the price . They are not clear about the children policy they charged us 140 SF for two kids on 4 nights while it is not written in the booking policies so we could get better hotel and more near in the city with same price. No TV Breakfast only cheese and Jam no varieties at all as same as everyday no egg even. It is more like a house that if the neighbours walk you can hear their steps loudly.

    Location is calm and near to Interlakin city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.0
    Was about 15 minutes outside of Interlaken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was overpriced. After parking we had to walk around to the front of the building, takes stairs into the building. Right before the stairs there is a large dip in the sidewalk, then had to go through the building, up more stairs out of the building and down some more stairs. Although the property says the rooms are nonsmoking, absolutely everyone was smoking. . So the place smelled bad. Was very overpriced. The rooms were depressing. We spent over $300 a night for 2 very small rooms. Would not work for a family as the max capacity of the rooms that we rented was 2 in each room. The bathroom was very small.

    Was about 15 minutes outside of Interlaken.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Strongly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last bus ends at 7pm and if you go back lately you have to take the taxi costing around 44chf.

    Lovely staffs with patience, and I do recommend you to stroll around the mountain, locals are welcome and the view is stunning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    İt has a very good location and view .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    İt has a very good location and view . Quite comfortable stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very happy

    Ideal

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    Location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom small.

    Location great. Food excellent.Staff great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Location was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Common toilet

    Location was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    The staff, the cleaning, architecture, location, view and.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, the cleaning, architecture, location, view and... + the reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    3.8
    View is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is far, Very small toilet Very Simple breakfast

    View is beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff was amazing and helpful and the breakfast view is...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You must have a car, if your plan is to visit Interlaken.

    The staff was amazing and helpful and the breakfast view is just amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    The view outside the hotel is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows and duvets are not comfy

    The view outside the hotel is amazing. Its like youre living in a different world :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    The "bear" in Habkern is a great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all - especially the peace and quiet of the small village.

    Good solid food choices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    It is a nice, cozy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to pay extra for my 9 yrs old kid. I was not happy about that

    It is a nice, cozy place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Shared bathroom, has an Excellent location and quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, bathroom shared by floor.

    Location, scenic and quite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean

    Nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Superb location, wonderful stay experience in a typical Swiss village..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same breakfast menu for the next day...

    Great place to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely chalet style hostel in beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have use of a shared kitchen facility and refrigerator

    Comfortable room. Great breakfast which was included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Pleasurable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Amazing staff and beautiful place. The best service I have ever experienced!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast at the next door tea room was perfect.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very narrow and duvet very heavy.

    Breakfast at the next door tea room was perfect. Large choice from the baker. Very quiet place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    2.5
    I would not suggest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. I have booked for 95 CHF but they charged 140 CHF 2. No Wi-Fi in room 3. Very bad Staff Behavior 4. Worst Breakfast

    Hill View

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    4.2
    I won't return for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much squeeking! Small bed. Not really clean room.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    nice with little problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room didnt have refrigerator the room didnt have suitable shampoo the room didnt have tv screen

    fantastic veiw lovely property

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Good bed, good location directly at bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor soundproofing

    Good bed, good location directly at bus stop. Value for money! Great for hiking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.3
    Twisting road hill climbs were a problem for my 1 Ltr car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Shower and Toilet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful vistas but quite isolated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of public transport into Interlaken was very expensive

    Views & breakfast included

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Great breakfast, friendly staff, really cool area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    2.5
    الشقه واسعه نوعا ما
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Every thing was bad No privecy one day the owner enter our room while we are sleeping from the palckony door it does not locked and when we bocome angery she said this is my house you can go and find another house We did not complete our accomplished Also it has many insects The balckony has not privecy

    الشقه واسعه نوعا ما The apartment is alittlebit large

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    The lady who owned the place was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all... One advice the hotel is in the mountain and its good to stay here if you have your own transport... else u will depend on public transport which i not too frequent

    The lady who owned the place was very friendly and helpful. We really had a good time. We had a seperate garage for our motorcycle parking... Very clean and very good view from hotel...

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    7.9
    the owners were very helpful and friendly, they offered to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is located far from center of Interlaken, the only bus that connects the train station run until 7pm, afterwards you have to take a taxi up the hill which costed nearly 40 chf

    the owners were very helpful and friendly, they offered to do laundry for us for only 5 chf! The breakfast tastes amazing too!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.2
    The owner couple were super kind and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    we needed to take a bus until 7:00 pm; it was the last time to go up from Interlaken station. But it was no matter for us because, we always felt tired before that time.

    The owner couple were super kind and nice. They brought us all we need before we ask them. The place, Habkern was silent and cool. My sis and I had such a wonderful time in there.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    9.2
    the location is super .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the wooden hause always zlzl when you walking

    the location is super . and they introduce some nice place for us ,we also book the lunch there for local food

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    10
    The owners were beyond friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing

    The owners were beyond friendly. They couldn't do enough for you. The view from their property was gorgeous. We have stayed in Interlaken before but staying higher up the mountains at Hotel Baren In Habkern was SO much better ! The food they prepared in the restaurant was excellent as well. The bus runs hourly so it was very convenient. It is so quiet there we slept like babies. The owners even gave us a fancy coffee maker to use for our week. We excepted our trip to be an 8 out of 10.....hotel Baren and the owners made it a 9.5 out of 10!!We could go on and on.......vielen dank to the owners!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.3
    Owners were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owners were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.5
    Location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi, noticed towels are not replaced daily.

    Location and staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    very clean, good location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there was some vehicle noise from the main street early in the mornings

    very clean, good location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    10
    The location and views from this hotel were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and views from this hotel were superb. The owners were very friendly and the apartment was very well equipped.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.2
    Proximity to interlaken but being in the alpine meadows...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Proximity to interlaken but being in the alpine meadows meant you could relax after a days sight seeing

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.3
    Location was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hot water didn't last super long but still a great place.

    Location was great! Super close to Interlaken and cheaper.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Guests also reviewed these properties: