Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Le Grand Chalet 3 stars

Chemin de la Source 2, 1854 Leysin, Switzerland

#4 of 19 hotels in Leysin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 325 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Le Grande Chalet is a wonderful place to stay in the mountains. Our room definitely had the WOW factor with amazing views from the little terrace. We just kept wanting to sit watching the scene all day! We only stayed one night as part of a road trip in Italy and Switzerland but we wished we could have stayed longer and had brought our walking boots with us. We would happily come back and also recommend it as a great place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.6
    Great location!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet Junior Suite Family with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too rustic for my taste. Lighting and bathroom in the room was truly disappointing. It was extremely hard to take a shower without flooding the bathroom floor. Awful! Lifting was almost non existent. Breakfast was also very limited in choices. This hotel needs some major updates.

    Great location!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay with a great view. Absolutely recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Junior Suite Family with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A Bidet in the bathroom would have been a great enhancement.

    Great breakfast with lots of choices. Offerings were mainly fresh and homemade. Spectacular view towards the high mountains of Valais. Room was comfortable and the staff was very very firendly and helpful. Dinner was also great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Great Views and Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet Junior Suite with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food for dinner and breakfast were lovely. Staff really friendly, the lady on reception was great. The views were amazing. Room was big, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    An amazing place with wonderful atmosphere, very nice staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    An amazing place with wonderful atmosphere, very nice staff, lots of beauty inside and outside, located in a pleasant village with lots of facilities around. We would love to come back again and again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice room with view, few hiccups on detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Junior Suite with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Restaurant was full so we couldn't eat there even Though it's huge. Was surprised they didn't have a small table for 2 or hold anything back for guests. -Breakfast had barely any items left when we came down at 9:15. No croissants or hot food left, juice also ran out. Nothing was replenished over next 45 minutes which was dissappointing before a big day out hiking. Felt very disorganised. -lastly, I included in booking we would be celebrating my girlfriend's birthday that weekend, no mention of even a happy birthday which was underwhelming. -mini fridge in room would be a nice addition for suites

    -Amazing views -Spacious rooms, nicely decorated in traditional chalet style. -close to train station -nice hiking path behind hotel, 20 min hike to village

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Didn’t want to leave. It’s my second stay there. The location, the air, the quiteness, the view.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay there could have lasted longer)

    Love the view from balcony, the interior is so cosy, beds are very comfortable and I love the wood carving on the ceiling. And the lights behind and above the bed. These things cozy it up for me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too many parking spots

    We loved the hotel style and the amazing views from our room. It is located in a quiet village at 1450m! Perfect spot to get some fresh air and relax. The jaccuzi is small but nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Super!
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room North
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi is pretty good.I can'T help to enjoy that.Room is clean.And hostess helped me to purchase the stamps.She is helpful.It was A big pity that I could not stay longer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Cozy Hotel for a relaxing stay combined with mountaineering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is really great. Unfortunately, the walls were very thin and every word spoken in the neighbouring room could be heard. Also there was a party going on in the village and the bass could be heard til late at night.

    The owners are super friendly and eager to give advice on the various activities around Leysin. The hotel has a nice, cozy feel to it with loads of wood in and around the house. The jacuzzi is perfect to relax after a day in the mountains. The dinner (lake fish) was very tasty. Good breakfast too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great stay with amazing views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did have quite a bit of trouble finding the room. There is no marker on the trail/path that you have to take to get to the hotel. It was pretty snow covered and we struggled for 30-45 minutes to find our way to the room, with two backpacks and two roller bags in snow covered streets while it was snowing. We were a little disappointed to see the breakfast was cold meat, cheese, and bread. There was also some very watery eggs that we didn't feel were safe to eat. We were hoping for a heartier breakfast, but we loved our stay overall at the Grand Chalet. On a side note, there was no mini fridge in the room, but it was cold enough while we were there, that we just chilled our drinks outside on the balcony and that worked fine for us.

    We loved our stay at Hotel Le Grand Chalet. We had a room with a balcony and the view was absolutely gorgeous. We also enjoyed the hot tub while we were there. We walked up and rode the cable car up and back down before we left and would definitely recommend that as well. The front desk gave us a coupon to use before we purchased tickets so we were able to receive a discount. Definitely do this while you are there if you aren't going to ski so you can still see the view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get to if you arrive by train. You have to clamber down a muddy path to the narrow road. If its snowing its dangerous

    Staff very helpful and polite. Lovely breakfast. Clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    Staff were great food was awful breakfast very good best boiled eggs ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water from shower over bathroom Evening food very poor and expensive Location very out of town Lighting in room very very dark No tea coffee facilities in bedroom

    The beds were comfy and the staff were exclellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Great place to stay even if you don't ski.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Chalet Junior Suite with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about this hotel

    I definitely recommend this hotel, the staff and owners were so welcoming and friendly. Even my little dog loved it! My room was super comfortable with a great view. Will definitely go back for another stay, worth every penny and the jacuzzi with the breath taking view was with out a doubt the best part of my stay. Highly recommended hotel for sure, thank you!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely chalet, would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet Junior Suite with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have had dinner in both evenings at the hotel, the food was good but it could still be a little bit improved. The breakfast offering could also be extended.

    This is a very cozy, nice chalet, with a beautiful view, lovely mountain, Swiss style and rooms, nice staff. Very nice lounge and outdoor hot tub.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    warm, cosy, wooden chalet hotel with friendly staff, good food and amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet Suite with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    tea making facilities in room, but didn't really need them!!

    fab views, great walk down through the town with sledge and free bus back up running every hour. Amazing views pdf mountains from the room, friendly and great breakfast every day and food at night good too, our 3 yr old loved it and we all relaxed very quickly, would recommend highly, great wooden Swiss chalet hotel feel - authentic and peaceful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Great place, Grand chalet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Corner Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great balcony. It would have been nice to have long chairs i.o. chairs to enjoy it better!

    Lovely, charming & cosy place. Nice restaurant, terrace to enjoy the view. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Cozy chalet on top of ski village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since the hotel is on top of the village getting there by car is no problem, but walking up and down to the village is difficult, takes a long time.

    The hotel is a real chalet on top of the village, the rooms are clean and fresh, the view from the balcony is gorgeous. There is a cozy hall with a small bar and a fireplace - which we didn’t get to see in action, it would be nice if it was lit up in the evenings after dinner. The staff was friendly, the restaurant was good, breakfast was wonderful. If you plan on skiing/hiking in Leysin I would highly recommend this hotel. The lifts are not far, the slopes in Leysin are ok for both beginners and intermediates (we found the red runs to be nicer than the blue ones).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Warm and friendly staff will make your stay in this mountain chalet a delight. Beautiful views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of a challenge to find this little mountain get away if you're traveling in the dark. Best to do the drive in daylight.

    Wonderful views of the surrounding mountains in this alpine location. Warm hospitality, great breakfast and a true desire to see their guests enjoy their stay, both in the hotel and in the surrounding community. Good times!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    I didn't realize I booked a North view room until I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room North
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't realize I booked a North view room until I was in the room. It was dark with a small window and I didn't have the chance to admire the beautiful view of the South View rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful view. They could improve their customer service and opening hours of the hot tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet Suite with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very stingy with bathroom products. No soap or shampoo. Just one bottle of shower gel. Girl at the reception was not very welcoming and talked on the phone constantly.

    Excellent views. Great hot tub (if you can manage to use it during the opening hours, which are very limited).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Cool, authentic Swiss building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corner Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in the rooms so made one downstairs and took it to the room, which we unexpectedly got charged for. Also, no soap/shampoo in the bathrooms.

    Cool, authentic Swiss building. Friendly staff with big rooms and beautiful views. Make sure you get a mountain view room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in Le Chalet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Adding up extra hot food would been excellent to the morning menu.

    we love the spacious room,bed was comfortable and surprised to see a full double bed without partition.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Best place in Leysin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Raclette de Freddy : too expensive 44chf per person and how it is presented with your own coal oven it looks nice but it's not really efficient. I still think the real raclette with the half meule and heating from the top much better.

    The location The nice decoration and set up a lot of work and taste has been put in each area of the hotel. There is a cosy feeling right from the time you step in ! We loved the outside terrasse with the jacuzzi! The restaurant offers really good food and not too expensive (except the raclette ) and the wine price is also affordable so u can have a lovely diner without being ripped off ! Really did appreciate that ! No need to leave the hotel everything is right there ! We loved our stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Very friendly and accomodating staffs always ready to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and accomodating staffs always ready to help. We had the opportunity to enjoy a free upgrade and a complimentary late check-out which we really appreciated! Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    A 3 star hotel with 5 star service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff made me feel at home, they are always smiling and will go out of their way to ensure your comfort. Their attention to detail is amazing. I could go on about each member off staff from the reception to other waiters to the director of the property, because each is nicer than the other and only want to serve you. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    9.2
    Leycin-Hotel Le Grand Chalet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room North
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect taking into consideration the location and the reason we where there. The shortage of parking near to hotel was a small issue when the place was crowded but you will not be disappointed there is always a place for you there to park even if it is few meters away from the hotel. Just wear your smile , take a good company with you and visit the place . Enjoy a nice glass of wine in the veranda with the spectacular mountain view and enjoy your vacations.

    The Hotel is recommended for families , friends and couples who love tranquility and mountain ski. The location is fantastic , the hotel staff very friendly and the environment is warm like home. The breakfast is satisfactory and well served from early hours till 10:30 in the morning. We have not tried the restaurant service and food as we were moving around and usually we return late at night back to the hotel. In any case If you love nature and you want to fill up your lungs with fresh oxygen then this is the place without any doubt. If you visit the place it is also recommended to have your own car or at least rent one.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.2
    Romantic Grand Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room North
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was in between 2 train stations and with large luggages, walking over the snow was quite an inconvenience. If this was located next to a train station and the ski rental location, it will be 10/10.

    Absolute romantic to wake up to a beautiful sunrise in front of the mountains

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.9
    Great location and stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been good to have been told that the walk from the Grand Station to the Hotel was a snowy uneven path which we needed to find in the dark. Also as we arrived around 9pm, we hadn't been told to book at the restaurant. It would have been good to have known in advance. Apart from that, we had a great weekend.

    Great location and stunning views. The menu was diverse at the restaurant and the staff helpful. We didn't get a chance to check out the Spa or other hotel offerings as we were there for only the weekend. The train ride back was stunning. So if you are planning on going there, take the train. However depending on luggage, get transportation organised from train station to the hotel. Apparently the taxi is around 10 CHF.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, stunning views, warm and welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Chalet Junior Suite Family with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location, stunning views, warm and welcoming atmosphere, incredibly comfortable bed. Could not have been better!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Welcoming and up to date
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best in Leysin.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Cabane
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Cabane

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    I will go back
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room North
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most charming in a good way

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything was easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was easy Hot tub with a view Room with balcony with view over the valley

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    we just ended up spending the nights in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hardly any options for breakfast, very small room, beds were uncomfortable

    cosy and personal

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Location, view, staff, massage 👍🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, view, staff, massage 👍🏻

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Great staff, very nice place and beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, very nice place and beautiful view. We will go back very soon! Thank you!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel, dream holiday, hope to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room North
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautifull view from the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifull view from the balcony

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Using the spar would have been awkward as it's access via the lounge.

    Food was great. Plenty to eat for breakfast. Staff were helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Very pretty and nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking on the road treacherous with ice.

    Very pretty and nice hotel. Quiet. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    A place to feel good😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corner Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Jacuzzi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful location and house style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room too small.

    Wonderful location and house style. Good breakfast. Long check-in schedule (till 11pm).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    The lighting in the room was poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room North
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was poor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Delightful breakfast and the best rooftop in all of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Corner Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delightful breakfast and the best rooftop in all of Amsterdam!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Amazing excellent wonderful magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    Amazing view, balcony set up with banquets Wonderful friendly staff. May you feel at home. Gorgeous place. 10 starts

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Location view staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking in public areas

    Location view staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Junior Suite with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view of the mountains from my toom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    amazing views and jacuzzi!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    amazing views and jacuzzi!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Clearer map (Google is at fault!) on suitable routes from rail station(s).

    Very friendly staff. Excellent food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    The room is small but nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom too small.

    The room is small but nice. The restaurant is good with nice view and the Raclette is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous stay...loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Junior Suite with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    directions to and from the town and station...to say up or down hill not really enough

    everything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Open jaccuzi Beautiful location Very hardworking and lovely staff I loved the decor of the hotel And ofcourse the food was lovely

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.5
    Nice breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Chalet Junior Suite with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone's hair on the woolen blankets

    Nice breakfast. Helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    Its a very cosy and comfortable Hôtel with a great view AND very kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Chalet Junior Suite with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The jacuzzi outdoors is amazing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    Cosy chalet with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room North
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot tub overlooking the mountains is simply spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Nice atmosphere in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with excellent views over Leysin and the surrounding mountains and valleys, nice atmosphere, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.6
    Stunning view, pretty decorations, wonderful restaurant, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Need to climb from the train station but very much worth it. Trails were muddy at the time, maybe a brush at the entrance will help avoid soiling such a nice place.

    Stunning view, pretty decorations, wonderful restaurant, and best of all the very welcome atmosphere. We didn't want to leave the place.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    9.6
    Staff are very welcoming and homely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Walking to and from hotel with young teenage children and skis from the bottom of ski lifts each morning and evening can be tiresome. there is a shortcut or two but you have to time it with the closing of the baby slopes.

    Staff are very welcoming and homely. Hot tub jacuzzi. Food. Views from the front of hotel. Breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    10
    A wonderful Swiss chalet located high above the village ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was absolutely nothing not to like !

    A wonderful Swiss chalet located high above the village , the views were spectacular. The staff were exceptional and always offered hints about making our stay the more enjoyable , the food was fantastic and the lounge bar with fireplace was a great place to be after a day skiing.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    9.6
    The setting, the ambience, the quirkiness - all excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only little things - perhaps more information in the room as to the facilities and all the things one can do.

    The setting, the ambience, the quirkiness - all excellent. The staff are really helpful and do a great job! The breakfast is superb - great eggs and bacon plus amazing breads and cakes... simply excellent. The ski room is really useful and handy.

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    10
    2nd visit after 5 yrs and can't wait for next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we couldn't stay for ever

    2nd visit after 5 yrs and can't wait for next visit. The family and staff have worked hard on improving what was already perfect.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    Staff were friendly, helpful and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I want this to be seen as a helpful comment. New duvet covers are required. Mattress not that comfy. Hair dryer did not work

    Staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. Good breakfast selection Good location with stunning views

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    The staff were outstanding and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff were outstanding and very helpful. I was travelling with my parents and 2 children aged 8 & 12. The children were made to feel so welcome and the food was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Absolutely gorgeous hillside retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A little far up the mountain, if you don't actually know Leysin and want to go there, you may find this a bit out of the way. Also, be careful with booking on booking.com, because the rooms aren't accurately described which made for a bit of a tough welcome for us. Once we accepted the error, though, we loved our accommodations.

    Absolutely gorgeous hillside retreat. Staff was attentive and friendly. Great breakfast with the most amazing views.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    6.7
    The breakfast was great and the view from the balcony was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The description of the room wasn't clear. Don't book a room unless you ask them about it by email and they contact you back, which they didn't do and the room was nonrefundable. The way to the hotel was difficult since it's up the mountain.

    The breakfast was great and the view from the balcony was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.8
    We love the uniqueness of the Grand, it's slightly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We love the uniqueness of the Grand, it's slightly quirky character is enjoyable. The views are stunning, the balconies well situated and the lounge area and bar are comfortable and friendly. Great staff too!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    8.8
    Nice, chalet-style decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location. Hotel is on top of a big hill and it is a long and hard walk up from the village/bottom of the lifts. It's not too bad on the way out as you can cut accross a bit off piste and join the baby slope. On the way back, if you are early enough, you can get the magic carpet to the top of the baby slope but even from that it is a significant up hill slog.

    Nice, chalet-style decor. Restaurant, with fondue and raclette. Good breakfast spread. Outdoor hot tub with lovely views over the mountain and town.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    5.0
    Staff acceptance of pet - original welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very excessive price for a small room - noisy children (we asked for a quiet space but had children running around the corridors making lots of noise) - overlooking the jacuzzi!!!

    Staff acceptance of pet - original welcome

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.6
    Lovely friendly family owners, beautiful decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely friendly family owners, beautiful decor. Hot tub fabulous.excellent dinner and hearty breakfasts pre-skiing. Thx!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.2
    Ubication
    • Family with older children

    Beds and towels

    Ubication

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Great location, amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, amazing view

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.0
    Splendid view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Splendid view

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    5.4
    Nice classic chalet feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location not very central, limited facilities, bed linen and towels need updating, breakfast room cramped

    Nice classic chalet feel

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: