Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Les Vieux Toits 3 stars

Croix D'Or 20, 2068 Neuchâtel, Switzerland

#16 of 19 hotels in Neuchâtel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 435 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.4
    Poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was never cleaned. The trash can was not emptied. The water glasses were not replaced or cleaned. The bathroom has mold or mildew in the grout.

    Quiet and good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely getaway that feels like vacations somewhere in the South.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe the fact that you cannot enter the premises prior to 17.30.

    A rare gem slightly above the hustle and bustle of the towns and the lakefront. Feels like being on vacations in the Provence with the swallows, the lavender, the vines, the fountain in the center of the village. Lovely entrance with lots of space and cozy feel. Rooms are cozy too, a little antiquated, but just enough so to make them romantic. The welcome and the service were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Great place if you want to be away from the crowds - also a good base for walking in the Jura.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been helpful to know that many restaurants in the area are closed on a Monday evenings. Also, most local restaurants seemed quite expensive. There is a cafe at the local sports club 10 mins walk from hotel and we also like the Funicular Buffet 10-15mins walk.

    We really liked our stay here in quiet traditional part of Switzerland. The breakfast was good for us, although there were no cooked options if that is what is important for you. We had gone to this area to do some walking in the Jura - and we had some beautiful walks despite the weather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Charming location, stylish lobby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing, no vegetables at all. Also did not like that my room had seperate toilet (no soap was provided), even though bathroom was inside. Half of the room has ceiling at ~180cm.

    Charming location, stylish lobby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    All in all (due to friendliness of local people who helped me to find the Hotel) quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The address for car navigation device was wrong and made me a lot of trouble to find the Hotel. I couldn't get anybody on phone number that was written on internet.

    Historical view of the house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    Amazing hidden spot and house is full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit old and awkward

    Amazing hidden spot and house is full of character. Friendly staff and great place to sit next to the fire place. Super comfortable beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.0
    It should be noted that this is located in a very small...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A hairdryer and kettle would have been appreciated. Also please note that you cannot check in until 17:30 much later than most hotels!

    It should be noted that this is located in a very small village outside of Neuchatel with no restaurant and no facilities close by. The staff were friendly and helpful enough but no tea / coffee making facilities and no hairdryer proved a bit of an issue.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.8
    Quirky but tired B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet for my particular room is outside the room. Shower is mounted at chest height Water in hot tap is tepid Bath is the smallest I ever saw No dining facilities - this should more correctly be termed a B&B. Some of the decor is rather tired. Location is rather out of the way.

    Location is stuffed with character (like walking through a medieval Swiss village) Some of that is reflected in the hotel Generally clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    L’ambiance parfait!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi speed is not so good, but I observed all of Switzerland has a thing with internet speeds, so I think is a generalised situation.

    Very polite owners, it’s a family business and has a really good atmosphere in order to enter in mood of local architecture. I suggest it from other more “cold” hotels that doesn’t put you in the mood of the region. You really feel like living in the city! I wasn’t traveling for vacations but for work but I was surprised for how good it was.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.5
    just one night, meeting up with a friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom was dated, narrow entrance to tub with toilet immediately adjacent.

    Building was a bit dated and dingy. Breakfast was good. Not much to choose from around Hauterive/Neuchatel, so this was one of few choices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Quaint little B&B that serves as a good base for exploring around Neuchâtel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is not much around the accommodation in terms of shops or restaurants but if you have a car you can just drive to Neuchâtel. We enjoyed using the common area downstairs but as it's a small B&B you have to be mindful there are other guests in the house.

    Such kind hosts and a very cozy little place to spend some time with friends. Though not as hyped as Neuchâtel, the village of Hauveterie has some really gorgeous architecture and very quaint vibe with excellent view of the hills.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.4
    The proprietor reached out by email and provided the door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprietor reached out by email and provided the door code and the bus route to get to his spot. This was a lovely gesture. Upon arrival I tried to take a bath but there was no hot water. I was too jet lagged to address it that night which was a huge mistake because it was part of a larger electrical problem, the heat, the wifi, even the electronic door were sluggish or nonexistent. Then when it was fixed in the morning, the proprietor failed to advise me. I was sitting in my room waiting in vain. Bottom line: my room was cold and I was miserable for the first night. I had Room 2, without a view, but I booked last minute. I thought that booking.com indicated breakfast and all taxes were included in the price but this was not the case. The room was well appointed and large for a single with a big TV. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The only electrical outlets were the two-prong Euro style, so bring an adapter! The plumbing was ancient and the ceiling has a small amount of damage in the bathroom and a stain in the bedroom. I doubt the sink has been cleaned in a year. It was *caked* with chalk or toothpaste; something white that coated my fingertips when I made the mistake of touching it. I left it cleaner than I found it. The 12 fr. traditional petit dejeuner I paid for was delicious and very reasonable given local prices which are astronomical. But I have to be honest: to go without hot water for 12+ hours -- they should have offered me a discount. Hot water is non-negotiable. For a comparable price I could have stayed at the Hotel BeauRivage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.5
    The rooms were really cute and the whole hotel has a sweet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning in rooms, and for our room the toilet was in a shared hallway. Be aware that this place is not in the downtown area and you have to take public transportation to get anywhere.

    The rooms were really cute and the whole hotel has a sweet, quaint feel to it. The breakfast was great, and it was nice that there were options of when we could take our meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    It was quaint and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options in the hotel were expensive ($12/person) and seemed to be just a continental with some coffee and bakery but we did not try it so I could be wrong.

    It was quaint and cozy. There are not a lot of rooms so service is personal. The public beach and marina along with a restaurant are down the hill via stairs that feel like they've been there hundreds of years. There are several restaurants within walking distance as well as a patisserie with bakery and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Quaint little hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are small, kept hitting my head on some areas of the ceiling (Roof).

    Close to G&CC Neuchâtel. Quaint little hotel, very clean. Had to leave every morning early, could not test the breakfast! Staff got up up early on last day to at least get me some coffee!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Balcony and entrance and exit direct to room from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony and entrance and exit direct to room from balcony. Very old and beautiful building and location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Very quiet and genuine location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very quiet and genuine location. Some rooms have new and renovated bathrooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washroom need a little update

    Very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    super :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to say

    very nice location, the hotel is super cozy and has a great bar. the staff was impeccable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.7
    Quaint village location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a refurbishment especially the bathroom.

    Large quiet room able to open the window. Local rustic appeal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Fairytale hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing historic hotel with very specific warming atmosphere like in a fairytale

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Delightful smal inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet little boutique hotel near Neuchatel. The owners are friendly and helpful. The town is lovely and interesting. Transportation is close by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    comfprtable bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    uncomfortable bathroom

    comfprtable bedroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was great! very helpful. The place is great. A bit far from the center but the conference I attended was closer so it was ok. Very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing stay in Neuchatel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small, basic toiletries. Would not classify as superior room.

    Quaint property in a good location if you have a car

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Haute rive comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee in room, no refrigerator

    Warm welcome

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Affordable with friendly stuff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    House is very old...

    Good public transport connection. Friendly stuff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Like a bed & breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Laundry service, restaurant

    Like a bed & breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    7.5
    Welcoming and very helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi didn't work, which was frustrating as I needed to work in the evening and couldn't.

    Welcoming and very helpful staff. Charming building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.9
    No Wi - Fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Wi - Fi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    5.4
    no warm water for bathing in the evening and very little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no warm water for bathing in the evening and very little soap and second night no soap at all !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    8.8
    Hotel has a well-stocked bar but no restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel may be closed soon for building work.

    Hotel has a well-stocked bar but no restaurant. However at least two good restaurants are within walking distance. It is not in the town centre but is easily accessible and good for walks or generally admiring the view.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.9
    Nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice and helpful staff. If you do not want to be in the city and instead want be close to nature this is a good place. Only 10 minutes with bus to the city center

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.8
    Super friendly, made me feel at home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was excellent for me as I knew the area, but it is about 15 mins from the centre of Neuchatel, so you will need transportation...

    Super friendly, made me feel at home!

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    8.8
    Charming room under the roof, picturesque view down to lake,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi intermittent in upstairs room, small shower such that I keep bumping the control knob

    Charming room under the roof, picturesque view down to lake, quiet neighborhood

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    5.4
    Friendly staff member (originally from Zurich).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very poor wi-fi, and as that was necessary for us, I had to cut short our stay by one night (I originally booked 2 nights), but still had to pay for the night that was cancelled. No restaurant nor laundry facilities.

    Friendly staff member (originally from Zurich). Free parking on premises.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    9.6
    The room was super cosy, calm and very clean, the bed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was super cosy, calm and very clean, the bed was very comfortable. There is a small bakery and the auberge as well as another small restaurant nearby. It is easy to reach by car, enough parking spaces available. I highly recommend that place!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    9.2
    Great large room with a private entrance and balcony.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very poor lighting in the bedroom and very limited breakfast selection,.

    Great large room with a private entrance and balcony. Super clean and very friendly helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Position in small square very near to bus stop with buses...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Position in small square very near to bus stop with buses every ten minutes to Neuchatel. Good breakfast with very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and quiet

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed collapsed

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.8
    Relaxing ambiance with historical charm, very friendly staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Relaxing ambiance with historical charm, very friendly staff, lovely off-the-beaten track location.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: