Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Marmotte 3 stars

Hannigstrasse 47, 3906 Saas-Fee, Switzerland

#18 of 130 hotels in Saas-Fee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 296 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    n/a

    My husband and I really enjoyed the view from our room, comfy bed, sauna facilities and wonderful breakfast - the staff was very accommodating and friendly. We received all the maps on arrival, discount for the ski hire from the local shop and all the information we could possibly need! We had the most amazing time and will certainly come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little out-dated interior, located at the end of the village so 15 min walk to lifts

    Very clean, good breakfast, friendly staff, ski locker at ski-lift

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Being ripped off on our meals, especially when we told reception we would eat at the hotel every night, which is half board, but on one night when we came down for dinner, they told us the restaurant was full, it appeared that customers who came in from the outside were given preference, which we found disgusting, because they spent more money than we did. But at the end of our stay, we found they had charged us full price for all the meals we had, that was also disgusting. I could go on, but what's the point.

    The hotel was quiet nice, and close to the centre of the village, and the hotel gave us a guest card for most of the gondola'S.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything in particular...

    Staff was very kind and helpful eager to fullfil each reauest. Room was comfortable, clean and warm. Breakfast was excellent and fresh! Warm and friendly atmosphere throughout the hotel made me feel more than comfortable. Transport from the hotel to the ski lift and to the Parkhaus by hotel's vehicle was very convenient!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    > The staff was impressive: literally everyone we interacted with was nice and helpful, and always with a smile on their face (unlike other locations in Saas Fee) > Breakfast is exceptional (quality and freshness of produce, variety, speed of replenishment, staff, etc everything was perfect) > Although the hotel is not far from the slopes and there is even a shuttle bus near by, the hotel has a storage place for equipment right next to the slopes, which makes it extra confortable > We also enjoyed the big terrace and nice view a lot

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds Ok but only one pillow provided.

    Martin and Annett are super friendly and Helpful as are all the staff. The village Ski bus stop is one minute from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pick-up at the bus station could have been offered, as well as help with carrying luggage

    the food, the restaurant, the single room which was actually more a double, the location and the staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Undoubtedly the best hotel to stay in Saas Fee. - I’ve stayed at quite a few! - Nice sauna in the spa. Decor is beautiful, family that runs this hotel are perfect hosts, their professional attention to detail and comfort is first class. Very comfy cosy rooms and comfortable beds, very tasty breakfast and restaurant as well. Location ideal and within walking distances to everywhere. I would thoroughly recommend this lovely place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very kind and helpful as well. They drive you to the parking and the skilifts which is quite convenient. Also they have premises at the bottom of the slopes to store skis and shoes after your ski session. The breakfast is very good, good quality and good choice of products. I would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were absolutely delighted with our stay here. The staff and owner were absolutely fabulous... We arrived very early and were offered a coffee whilst we waiting 5 min for the owner to arrive. We could get changed and leave our luggage and were then driven to the ski lifts. The room and leisure facilities were very clean. We had a brilliant stay - would really recommend this place. We will certainly book again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    super helpful staff, excellent breakfast and an unbeatable view of course on the Alps. We also liked the interior design of the hotel (vintage chic) and the overall tidiness.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was simple with a strange mix of furniture.

    We only stayed for one night prior to a hiking tour. The hotel is well located in car-free Saas Fee, in walking distance from the garage. We liked the friendliness of the staff and the food - excellent quality, although a bit pricey, but this is Switzerland.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel states to have a parking. Whole Saas Fee is without car access and there is public parking at the entry of the village. Yes staff from hotel will collect you with electric car, but stating that there is a parking at the hotel is not true. Didn't like pillows as well, but I presume it's everybody's own preference.

    Staff was extremely friendly. Felt welcomed all the time. Location quite good, close to the main street of Saas Fee. Breakfast very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, great restaurant, comfy bed!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff, super-comfy beds, spacious room, great views from the balcony, lovely interesting decor throughout and great fried eggs!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sauna suite was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pickup shuttle could use some refurbishment.

    The owners are a lovely couple who made sure everything is up to expectations.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy / not much sound insulation (small problem)

    Staff View from room Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotels I have been to in my life

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrambled eggs and omlette

    Breakfast could contain more fruit.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast, wellness area, service to the lift/bus, ski lock room, very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awesome staff, very clean and nicely decorated room, wonderful breakfast buffet, ski locker room next to the lifts

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    free shuttle service offered; friendly, helpful and service oriented stuff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice decoration. Good food, nice breakfast. Sauna was ok. Bring- service with a small electro shuttle was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the place is clean and comfortable. the staffs are very friendly and welcoming. Good breakfast. would love to go back

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Exellent serivce, got ride to the lift forth and back, very nice stuff, always a smile for you, will def. visit them again on my next visit.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't find any.

    Excellent value for dinner with delicious food. Great hosts make you feel at home.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and flexible staff Clean and good quality

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Park free town

    Friendly staff, feel like at home, clean, not expensive

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hosts are excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent Cuisine! Great Views

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Attitude of staff excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was amazing! The view from our balcony was beautiful. The staff and owners were very kind and helpful. I highly reccomend Hotel Marmott!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and welcoming hosts and staff. Excellent breakfast and good quality evening meals. Comfortable rooms. Best value hotel in Saas-fee.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to say.

    Great hospitality from hotel owners doing their best to serve all clients, being friendly with all of us. Traveling with a disturbing child is not always easy; but they made us feel comfortable about it.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    We arrived early and were able to check-in at 8.30 in the morning with no problem and got a free coffee on arrival. Very friendly people. They gave us and a few other guests a ride to the ski lift and access to their locker at the ski lifts to leave our skis and boots overnight, in order to go straight into the apres ski.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owner of this hotel is super nice and very helpful. This small hotel absolutely has what-so-called "small town charming". I had a very nice stay in this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything was good - and there was literally nothing i didn't like

    The owner (and chef) was extremely friendly. At the restaurant, he tends to each table, and makes everyone feel welcome. He offered me a ride to the ski lift and rental place. I found the rest of the staff similarly friendly, and would definitely book this place again in any future visit!!!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The atmosphere and service was excellent. Fantastic environment in and around the hotel. The staff was service minded and helpful to ensure the best experience.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms in the hotel were spacious clean and very comfortable. The staff were friendly & nice. Special thanks to Martin. I had dinner & breakfast, very delicious!

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    I would highly recommend this hotel. The owners and staff were very friendly providing wonderful service. The breakfasts and à la carte menu in the restaurant were fabulous. (The restaurant is very popular!) Our room was spacious and comfortable with a nice balcony. We would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Like some other guests, I cannot find any fault. Really feeling like visiting friend rather than a guest. Any unexpected can happen, to ensure a pleasant stay outside your own country, don't hesitate to book this hotel.

    This hotel changed our bad traveling day to a nice pleasant stay. We went there by Glacier Express, but on the way we headed to, there was accident on the rail way(kind of machine blocked on it). The Glacier Express staff told us we needed to go back another way and changed train at Chur and Zurich. Finally, by helped of Glacier Express staff arranging the train and called to hotel to inform time we will reach there and cancelled our booked dinner at the hotel. We reached Saas Fee bus terminal after 21:00!. 4 hours late from the time we made appointment through Booking.com. My daughters got carsick but my husband got worse from bad bus driving (very fast on several curves in the dark from Visp to Saas-Fee. didn't expect this in Switzerland!), he vomited and couldn't walk by himself. Martin was very calm after waiting for us outside bus terminal(it was snowing) and waited until my husband could move and helped him to walk to hotel's electric van and to our bed in the hotel. He told me to call him any time to his mobile phone in case of emergency. I found that the hotel upgraded our room from double room with extra bed and balcony to be the family room with balcony( 3 bedrooms and long balcony that all 3 rooms can open and sit outside) without more charged. Two big chocolate bars for my daughters were prepared in the room and made them smiled sweetly in spite of feeling carsickness!!. We had dinner on the second night. Beautiful arrangement, very delicious, big portion (seemed too big for Asian like us) with good price.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pillows were extremely flat.

    The hospitality and flexibility of Annette and Martin was excellent. Extremely service minded, which is rare in Switzerland. The food in the restaurant was great, especially the chocolate soufflé. Very proactive approach of the staff, to ensure the stay was pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were excellent, so welcoming and friendly, they really made us feel at home. The food was amazing, we enjoyed an excellent New Years Eve meal. We both loved the spa area, very clean and well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sadly couldn't eat in the hotel in the evening. Food looked great, but restaurant fully booked. Would have been good to know that we needed to book early in our stay.

    Hotel Marmotte exceeded our expectations of comfort, cleanliness and breakfast. But what really made it special were Anett and Martin. They were incredibly helpful and always happy to take us to and from ski lifts and car park in their electric taxi. As another reviewer has said, more like we were visiting friends rather than paying customers.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was excellent & very beautifully presented. Owners very pleasant & helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good breakfast, free shuttle to parking terminal, well sized room and bathroom with a tub and the kindest hosts!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing at all.

    Nice and Simple breakfast. We were always served with a choice of an egg dish.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect service and amazing food!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice dinner nice staff nice location

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -

    Pickup Service at the Station. Skiroom at the lift to the mountains. People were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The food is excellent!

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The most amazing hosts and fabulous breakfast. Would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to visit again.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Car parking charges in Saas Fee are high, but it does make for a lovely car-free resort.

    Hosts are a lovely couple who really make you feel at home.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    Very friendly and helpful owners and staff. Situated close to village centre (but quiet). Evening restaurant food top notch.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    That we only had 2 nights and it is fully booked for Christmas and the New Year.

    Family opwned business with that personal touch.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our hosts took great care of us, genuinely making sure we had everything we needed at all times, just an amazing service! :)

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The friendliness of the owners

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Affordable price, delicious breakfast, friendly owners, central location at Saas-Fee

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing.

    everything including bathtub rather than shower only and required form of eggs for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff, good breakfast selection, nice mountain views from the balcony, very clean, WiFi worked perfectly. Room and bathroom large.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness and helpfulness of both the staff and owners. The very good breakfast and an excellent first class restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really nice service. Staff where incredibly accommodating. Also the wellness area is a bonus!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Browse Hotel Marmotte traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: