Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Matterhorn Focus Superior 4 stars

Schluhmattstrasse 131, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

#12 of 317 hotels in Zermatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 434 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    VERY helpful staff — especially when my wife left her...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unless you want to use the cable cars, which are right next to the hotel, it is a 10-minute walk down to the village with only a few restaurants along the way. (Only breakfast is served at the hotel.) Good shuttle to & from train station. Can take cable cars to connect everywhere, and we don’t *shop* much at all, so this location was perfect for us.

    VERY helpful staff — especially when my wife left her passport & money belt behind! Great breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    We rented a Matterhorn facing B room which I think was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House A/B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At night other people can see into the room with the lights on. Also the toilet didn’t have a separate room so you have to draw all the curtains in the bathroom for privacy. The shower head kept twisting around to spray all over the room and wouldn’t stay in one position.

    We rented a Matterhorn facing B room which I think was the best value for the price. We had a beautiful view from our room with a balcony. The room was very modern- all glass windows and a glass bathroom in the middle. Amenities including the pool and spa were great (pool an indoor component connected to outdoor with a view of the Matterhorn).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Cosy hotel with scenic views and wellness facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the warm welcome and attentive care from the staff, plus the wonderful setting with scenic views over Zermatt town and the Matterhorn. The cable car to Matterhorn glacier is right next door. The spa and warm pool are very therapeutic after a sporty day out. There were complimentary tea and pastries to enjoy in the afternoon. Once you step in, it's all about relaxation, comfort and health! Do hope to return!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Neautiful hotel design, friendly staff, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House A/B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great hotel in all respects except one. We booked a room with "Matterhorn view" in house A/B but the main view from the room is actually the cable car pilar which blocks the view of the mountain.

    Neautiful hotel design, friendly staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Loved it will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House C
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren’t very comfortable

    Amazing location, pool and spa area was incredible, the staff are very friendly and provide afternoon tea which is a bonus

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Everything was amazing, the staff was very accommodating and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House A/B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little outside of the town but still central and well worth it for the Matterhorn view.

    Everything was amazing, the staff was very accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Interesting and unique decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the very end of town so convenient to some lifts but not as convenient to restaurants in town.

    Interesting and unique decor. Great breakfast. Knowledgeable and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Matterhorn view from room/balcony, well designed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House C
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from train station but that helps me more quiet/comfortable stay and it doesn’t big matter as pick up service from/to train station is available.

    Matterhorn view from room/balcony, well designed and clean room, warm welcome for arrival

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    suck room 205 and none cha
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am totally DISSATISFIED with my room(room #205). As you can see from the pictures, I stayed underground-like room with grass view. I didn't expect this room paying CHF 300(over $300) per night. they lied to us first, we were the last ppl who checked in so that is why we got the worst room. but it was not true, we saw some ppl with luggage got on the hotelcabin from the station while we walking around the cityafter checked in. second lie was there will be no checking out guests bcuz they are all staying more thn to nights. And the third lie was when we were asking to change the room becuz we saw some ppl check out and we know there are several vacant rooms. she said she is not in charge of but it was not true bcuz I heard that she is saying on the phone that she'll holding room with Matterhorn view for some guests.

    poor, spa

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved everything. Would just want to have more options for room service. Everything else was fantastic and staff were brilliant. Had a lovely stay l!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Property is super design and well decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dom Roof Suite with Matterhorn View House B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bar staff had no experience and was a bit lost. Toilets in the spa area had old stains. But I guess this isn’t their usual standards. I would definitely recommend the hotel!

    Property is super design and well decorated. The front desk staff was super nice. Nice hotel in general.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous apartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Focus Roof Suite with Matterhorn View House B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- Matterhorn was covered in cloud - accom made up for it !!!

    Gorgeous apartment!!! Great view and Staff were all lovely -and the pool and common areas were relaxing and inviting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with perfect views of the matterhorn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House C
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved that the location is off the main road with the best view of the matterhorn. The staff was super friendly and welcoming. The hotel has an amazing indoor/outdoor pool and is a 1 min walk to the lifts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Unforgettable hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Focus Roof Suite with Matterhorn View House B
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Everything was so great! Stunning with the Matterhorn view. The best hotel I have ever stayed. The best thing I should be admired is the service min of all staffs. The other things that very impressive is the special service, i.e free high tea buffet everyday and welcome drink! I won't go anywhere but stay at the hotel all day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay in Zermatt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the Hotel design. Beautiful pool and nice sitting area. Breakfast was a standout ... nice range of foods and great tea and coffee. Staff were helpful and knowledgeable. Room was nicely appointed. Hotel location handy next to gondola.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location with unobstructed views of the Matterhorn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with unobstructed views of the Matterhorn. The rooms are very unique, with ceilings no to floor glass walls and other artistic touches. Staff is super cool, and go above and beyond to assist. Our young kids had a great time here as well. Highly recommend the royal and Matterhorn suites.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing mountain hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the stay we had in this hotel, although the cleaning staff were not always thorough with the room. Breakfast had an okay selection but little variety and no local produce, which we were missing a bit.

    Staff were helpful, attentive and generally very friendly. The location is stunning, absolutely unforgettable. The room was spacious and had huge windows to allow us to wake up to the best view. The hotel has a very modern concrete and steel design with cozy accents, definitely not the traditional chalet-feel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    The room and facilities were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SKYLIGHT Double Room with Ceiling Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and facilities were great. Absolutely perfect. What made this hotel standout was the little extras, freidly staff, free fruit, free tea and treats for happy hour. And the spa facilities were great. Definitely would go back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    An unforgettable stay. 1 of the best hotel experience I have
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SKYLIGHT Double Room with Ceiling Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed & pillows were too soft, resulting in stiff neck for me

    Excellent service! Away from the main Street & I loved it that way- away from the crowd yet accessible with just a 20-min stroll. Afternoon tea was a treat! Loved the skylight window!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    I'd go back in a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SKYLIGHT Double Room with Ceiling Window
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dark as there is no over head lighting. We did not have a room with a bath, but the spa facilities make up for this. All in all not much to fault.

    The hotel is beautifully designed and full of interesting features from local craftsmen. The breakfast was excellent. Staff were always warm and friendly and packed us a lunch to take on the train on our final day at no extra charge because we left before breakfast started. The location is very good - right by the lift station up to Furi (so no need to lug skis a long way). The spa facilities were a welcome add on at the end of a day out on the slopes (although the pool is not quite big enough to swim in and not quite warm enough to sit about in). All in all an excellent stay, highly recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our time at the hotel. Staff were excellent. With a full kitchen it would be excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is a little drive out of town, which is only an issue because there was poor weather for the few days we were there and we were travelling with kids and Focus Hotel has no dinner service. So, apart from ordering takeaway there is no option to stay in and eat.

    This hotel has beautifully designed rooms, the staff are highly attentive and knowledgeable about the mountain. Many good, casual restaurants are nearby and of course a lift up the mountain is at its doorstep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Magical Christmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House C
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff was amazing and the hotel extraordinary. An unobstructed view of the Matterhorn with Gondola adjacent to the hotel made for a magical experience with spa to relax in during the evening, this is the place to stay in Zermatt.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    I had booked a normal room and while checking in I had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had booked a normal room and while checking in I had a look at the DOM suite and paid little extra to upgrade our room. The view from the room was excellent (direct view of the Matterhorn from my balcony). There was even a fire place in the room and a standalone bath tub. Breakfast was great. The best part of the property is the swimming pool, which open up to the nice view of the town and few mountains.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Focus Roof Suite with Matterhorn View House B
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably the best hotel I've stayed in. Perfect location next to lift station. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Amazing breakfast and fantastic view of the Matterhorn

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    An adventure in wonderland, with cosy and beautiful accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SKYLIGHT Double Room with Ceiling Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool outside could have been a bit hotter

    There was nothing not to like about this wonderful hotel, the location was perfect right next to the ski lifts, the spa was great, the staff were incredibly accommodating and sat down with us everyday to advise us how to beat explore the wonderful village of Zermatt.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    Beautifully and modernly designed hotel by local artist Heinz Julen. Very well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Matterhorn Roof Suite with Matterhorn View House A
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell inside the "Light therapy room" in the spa wasn't very pleasant. Can improve on provide more food variety and fresh fruit and egg menu during breakfast.

    Go for the Matterhorn Roof Suite, there's breath taking view from the room balcony and love the way set up the fireplace, easily light it up even you are kids, a very thoughtful and warm touch. Very friendly pick up service to and from train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SKYLIGHT Double Room with Ceiling Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really nice and considerate. I would like to extend my utmost gratitude to them for making my stay a memorable one. The personal touch is totally unparalleled and it’s the best I’ve experienced...ever. Of course, I love the design of the hotel too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House C
    • Stayed 2 nights

    water cooker missing in the room to make tea breakfast the same every day

    very friendly staff rooms in House C with great views towards the Matterhorn very comfy rooms great wellness area and massages free afternoon drinks and snacks; good breakfast cosy lounge area location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.8
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House A/B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty woodern floors, No A/C or way to cool the room. No windows only door. Room was just too hot constantly. Based on this the hotel is too expensive for a comfortsble stay.

    Location and Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Amazing view of the Matterhorn, very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House C
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pictures on Booking.com are a little bit misleading if you end up in the corp C - or B, I guess, I'm not sure, i'm referring at the old building. I think the newer buildings corps are much more modern design wise speaking, but the room we end up in is just refurbished ordinary room with a very nice terrace and an impeccable view.

    Amazing view of the Matterhorn, very nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Walks and wellness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House C
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's quite expensive, but not overpriced as such as you do get a lot for you money here. Zermatt is just an expensive destination overall.

    Location is great, the view on the Matterhorn is amazing. The hotel has a quircky design and lies on the edge of the centre of town, but everything is walking distance. Cable car into the mountains next door. They have a free shuttle service to the station which is very handy. Our room was wonderful, comfortable beds and nice seating area and a terrace with the great view as well. The breakfast is very tasty and plentiful, lots of choices on offer. They also have free afternoon snacks, tea and coffee, very nice when you come back from a walk or skiing trip. And finally, the gorgeous wellness area, with indoor-outdoor pool, sauna, steam room and other facilities and relaxation area, all beautifully designed. Staff is very friendly and organized.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Amazing place in Zermatt, would 100% stay there again if I head to Zermatt again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 50 with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say that there is nothing that I did not like.

    This hotel is amazing. It has a lovely atmosphere, great breakfast and also the rooms are superb, comfy clean and very relaxing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.6
    We absolutely enjoyed our stay and would come back in a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House A/B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls of the room were all mirrored glass. We were told that at night you couldn't see through them at night but we tested it out and it was completely see through when lights were on at night, so there wasn't a lot of privacy in that regard. There also wasn't any air conditioning in the rooms so with the sun coming in the windows all day, the rooms really heated up. Our room had no windows that opened so we had to leave the door open most of the time, which didn't feel super secure.

    The views from the hotel were great! It was also nice to be off the beaten path away from all the very busy tourist areas. We loved the staff, very helpful with everything from booking reservations for restauraunts, to helping us figure out the gondola system. My boyfriend also forgot his swimsuit and they kindly had extras to lend out. The spa and pool were delightful and super nice to enjoy after long days of hiking. They also greet you with a welcome drink upon arriving at the hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Incredible- wish it were longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 50 with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Amazing, beautiful property and incredible staff. We forgot our passports in the safe and they shipped them to us express post- no problems. Thank you so very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Reach out and touch the Matterhorn!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Matterhorn Roof Suite with Matterhorn View House A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the entire experience.

    Everything was world-class. I cannot say enough about this hotel. We were in Europe for 3 weeks and this was hands down our favorite stay. The room was exceptional. No detail was missed. The staff were helpful, knowledgeable and polite but not intrusive. The facility was impeccably clean. I could not have imagined a better stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful Relaxing Luxurious Friendly Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House A/B
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The croissants where so soft! Breakfast was amazing! So much comfort and leisure to chose from. The pool was relaxing and warm. Was great to have a cup of tea around 3pm and swim in the afternoon looking at the mountains. Beautiful comfortable room with a fluffy soft bed. Loved having a bath looking out at the mountains. Slept with the blinds open to see the Matterhorn early in the morning. Beautiful sight to wake up to. Great location, great experience and great staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous breakfast buffet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous breakfast buffet! Exceptional Swiss efficiency and cleanliness. Spectacular view of the Matterhorn from the room and balcony. Very short walk to Furi lift and on up to Klein Matterhorn. Highly recommend this wonderful hotel to discerning guests!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Bed was really comfortable, staff were very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would have loved if there was a hot tub as well. We tried booking a shuttle from the train station but never got a response and had to walk, which was unfortunate. Used the email from booking.com, which may have been the problem. Also, we thought we booked a view of Matterhorn, turns out it was Zermatt village, upgraded for 20 CHF which we thought was reasonable! Unfortunately it was cloudy and we never got to see the matterhorn completely -no one to blame for that :)

    Bed was really comfortable, staff were very friendly and accommodating! Lovely pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • SKYLIGHT Double Room with Ceiling Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little far from the train station.

    Fabulous room and very friendly and helpful staff, gave us great advice for the Matterhorn trip. althought the weather was not good during our stay, we didn't see the amazing view of Matterhorn, we still had a very pleasant time at the pool and spa. The extra bed for our daughter is on the attic and she was so excited about it. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Best Stay in Zermatt... totally worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved the property and it was designed beautifully.we got a beautiful 2bed apt room. Highlight was the staff they were the best. The little handwritten welcome note gave such a personal touch .Christine and Gerald showed us the way to the room and explained in detail and also advisedon places to eat. Loved it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Hotel perched above beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coverings for bathroom window. European showers always seem odd to me, in that they leak onto the floor, and this was no exception. Pretty long walk from the train (but you can use the free hotel shuttle!)

    The views through the all-glass walls were stupendous. Room and decor showed a unique flair. Breakfast was very nice. Staff gave us great attention and advice about how to make the best of our short stay. Use of stone, wood, and metal lent a sense of luxury to all the furnishings and floors. Lots of storage space and a lovely layout to the room in which to relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    The staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SKYLIGHT Double Room with Ceiling Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little things like some blinds of a roof window did not work, or light bulbs should be checked a bit more regularly. Otherwise nothing to complain. Really.

    The staff was excellent. Seen the same attitude only in Japan. Well done!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Super ho liao!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 50 with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised in booking.com that hotel has laundry facility which is not true.

    Super friendly, knowledgeable & helful staff. High level of cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    AMAZING VIEW OF MATTERHORN
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Suite with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night

    amazing view of Matterhorn from room ...swimming pool was great and hotel even offer us rental of swim wear without any charges...great location as just beside the cable car to Matterhorn and only approx 15 mins walk to Zermatt central

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Amazing stay!! Loved everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House A/B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door is the only thing that opens (no windows open), so it got a little warm unless you opened up your patio door.

    We stayed here for a couple nights on our honeymoon and loved it!! The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and welcomed us with a glass of wine on our arrival! They had also decorated our room with rose petals and made it very special for us : ) The rooms are beautifully designed with a very modern and luxurious feel. Our patio looked right out at the Matterhorn and we enjoyed in-room nespresso cappuccinos every morning with that view! Breakfast was amazing with lots of variety and very good quality. They even offered a complimentary "afternoon snack" with sandwiches, pastries, and drinks every day from 3-6 in the lobby for hotel guests! The pool and spa facilities are also excellent and were fun to enjoy. The location is not right off the main street by the train station, and you will have to walk a bit to get around, but on arrival and departure the hotel will pick you up so you are not lugging any bags around. It's perfectly located next to a ski lift however, and was extremely convenient when we took advantage of Zermatt's summer skiing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hospitality and great decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay longer! Wish I had taken Matterhorn view room. That I didn't get any chance to critique the place! Distance tad away from the centre but it's a 5-10min walk to the station and centre

    - Attention to detail. Right from entry, guests are made to feel at home and welcome. Quick check-in and then welcome snacks (daily from 3-6pm) - Good pool and spa facilities like sauna and steam bath - Had 3.5y old with us and they had kept baby soap, bathrobe and slippers for the kid. Loved their attention to such minor details. - Friendly staff and very helpful, cheerful and smiling - Attended to all requests promptly and made us feel special

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Great place to stay if your going to Zermatt...............
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoyed it all - maybe the rooms could be a little bigger but it was more than comfortable.

    The staff were excellent, really made you feel at home and nothing was too much trouble for them. Location great right next to cable carts and a short pleasant walk to the town centre. Breakfast was very good, had plenty to choose from and facilities were great - excellent pool area both indoor and outside. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Zermatt - we really enjoyed it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Design hotel, only meters distant from the Gondola. Friendly staff, good breakfast and a ski deposit in the underground. The access to the road and to the gondola is through a tunnel. and they also provided transport from and to the Bahnhoff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    Nice and cosy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • SKYLIGHT Double Room with Ceiling Window
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but there are plenty of choices in the area.

    Lovely and cosy hotel. Amazing location near the ski lift. Very nice and helpful staff. Highly recommend

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House C
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, super friendly staff attentive to every wish of their hotel guests. They suggest excellent restaurants and book things and check things for you. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel, convenient location for skiing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds are a little hard for my comfort. The location is ideal for skier convenience, however the rest of downtown Zermatt is a long walk away in the cold.

    Staff is exceptional, particularly Kristina who helped us book restaurant reservations for every night we were there and our wonderful porter who cheerfully picked us up at the train station. We arrived the day before Christmas and they even set out a little Christmas present with chocolates and peanuts to our room. What a wonderful place! My only regret is that we did not bring our bathing suits to enjoy the sauna and pool.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.6
    Exceptional place to stay in Zermatt!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dom Roof Suite with Matterhorn View House B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional hotel. The staff were great and happy to help in any way. The facilities including the pool/ spa area lovely.. Drinks and complimentary snacks around the fire in the afternoon. Our room was amazing with a view of the Matterhorn. Good location to town and the cable cars.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    Will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms feel a bit outdated, not enough power outlets. My biggest issue was that there is no walk in shower and the bath had cheap plastic curtain. Shuttle service has a bit strange hours of operation - from 9 to 19, ideally it should've been from 7 to 22.

    Location - to meters to the ski lift. Friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic mountain views. Bar, good spa, indoor pool. Although not new, still one of the best hotels in the area for skiing/snowboarding. Ski passes can be bought at the reception.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    10
    Could not Fault it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House A/B
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have recently come back from staying here and I honestly could not recommend this hotel enough.The staff were fantastic and the hotel was perfect. We had a deluxe double room which looked out on to the Matterhorn, the view was beautiful.Staff were very accommodating and even leave hand written cards when they welcome you on your stay. all facilities were available and we even used the outside pool when it was snowing. I would like to thank all the staff for such a perfect stay, we will definitely be back soon :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    10
    Excellent location, modern and clean rooms with great views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, great views of Zermatt and the Matterhorn, free access to the pool, steam room and sauna. Free pick up and drop off to Zermatt train station. Breakfast was great and coffee was complementary and the stuff was really helpful and polite.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    UNBEATABLE VIEW
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House C
    • Stayed 1 night

    FAR AWAY FROM DOWNTOWN BUT EVERYTHING IS FAIRLY CLOSE IF YOU LIKE TO WALK

    THE DECORATION WAS LIKE I HAVE NEVER SEEN BEFORE, SUPER ECLECTIC,SUPER COOL. VERY CONFORTABLE AND PRACTICAL. THE VIEW OF OUR ROOM WAS UNBEATABLE, THEY HAD SNAKS, FRUIT AND SANDWICHES IN A RESTING ARE MOST OF THE TIME . BREAKFAST WAS VERY ENTENSIVE AND SATISFYING . I REALLY WANT TO RETURN TO ZERMAT AND TO THE SAME HOTEL TWO STEPS AWAY FROM THE CABLECAR WICH IS VERY CONVINIENT,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Me and my husband was had best honeymoon ever from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my husband was had best honeymoon ever from matterhorn hotel , the view from was breathtaking, the pool . The check in time was very smooth . Thankyou Hotel Matterhorn and staff . Defiantly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Simply fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SKYLIGHT Double Room with Ceiling Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievably outstanding stay. It was so wonderful that we changed our travel plans to stay an extra day. I can't say enough good things about it. It was the highlight of our three week trip to Europe. Gerald (sp?) is a treasure and he helped us with everything and gave us great advice for restaurants and things to do. Heinz Julen designed the interior--amazing results. I also felt like I was in a James Bond luxury setting.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SKYLIGHT Double Room with Ceiling Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of a single complaint. :-)

    Eveeything!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Views are amazing, great rooms, fantastic design, cool spa,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Focus Roof Suite with Matterhorn View House B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice is limited

    Views are amazing, great rooms, fantastic design, cool spa, very friendly staff, outdoor warm pool with mountain view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.5
    A relaxed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the hotel had a restaurant 🤗

    Very helpful and relaxed staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House C
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    excellent view, very kind and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House A/B
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room temperature too warm

    excellent view, very kind and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Gorgeous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite 50 with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing

    Gorgeous place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Got a good view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • SKYLIGHT Double Room with Ceiling Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Got a good view room. Staff are friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Very good swimming pool:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many loud kids

    Very good swimming pool:)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - even the weather was great!

    Wonderful views, good location, great brrakfast, fantastic staff. Could not fault anything - perfection!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Very helpful and friendly staff, the location and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and friendly staff, the location and the wellness area is great too. We will come back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    It's a family oriented hotel with very kind and professional staff we would definetely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    pillows and matresses.

    Cleanliness, excellent breakfast, friendly staff, wonderful views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    view is awesome and enjoy the room design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View House C
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    view is awesome and enjoy the room design

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Focus Roof Suite with Matterhorn View House B
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking price per night for the car

    Location.. renovation.. respect.. hospitality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Great location and stunning building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Zermatt View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor pool could have opened earlier during the day

    Great location and stunning building

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    The spa is just amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SKYLIGHT Double Room with Ceiling Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room

    The spa is just amazing !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Matterhorn was in front of us after we woke up.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Matterhorn was in front of us after we woke up. Very nice facilities and staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Amazing location and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • SKYLIGHT Double Room with Ceiling Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and caring. Best service by far.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: