Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Meierhof 4 stars

Promenade 135, 7260 Davos, Switzerland

#42 of 48 hotels in Davos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 278 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.0
    Never a 4 star hotel, very dated and poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To arrive after a long day in the saddle to be told the spa facililities were closed for renovation was disappointing. We then found no drinks in the mini bar or tea/coffee making facilities in our room so we showered and headed to the bar. 15 minutes waiting to be served a beer and then was told the restaurant was closed due to a coach party that were staying.

    Not a lot.....

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    I was very happy with the room, food and staff but was quite upset that I couldn't use the facilitie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the position of the pool and spa as i couldnt get there as i am disabled. I could only just manage the few steps up into the hotel. I feel I should have paid a reduced price as I couldn't use the facilities.

    I liked the way I was treated by all staff and the friendliness of everyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.3
    The room was big with wood furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not interested in making the guests welcomed. Reception often not attended. No support available for luggage and even more, you need to go yourself to search for trolleys in the hotel. Old trolleys that barely move. The hotel needs renovation - it charges however in the same range as other much nicer hotels that we’ve been in Davos. The fitness comprises of one bicycle and one equipment for strength training and are placed into a dark and rather dark hall. The free parking on site are actually few places therefore you need to go for the paid parking, either hotel or elsewhere.

    The room was big with wood furniture. Good quality beds. Nice swimming pool. The sauna and steambath are of ok but do not provide any experience/ atmosphere. Walking distance to Parsennbahn.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.0
    Invest money into renovation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed in this hotel 3 times (starting from 2006). Last visit was Jan 2018. Frankly speaking the hotel requires total renovation! Last time I lived in single room. Interior of the room was like a used time machine and moved to 1980 . Breakfasts could be more interesting: add fishes. Dinners are normal. Rooms are without sleepers and bathrobes. SPA and swimming pool are olds.

    The major advantage of this hotel is location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel, not comfortable mattress
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress are far too soft, and in our king size bed there were actually two single mattress next to each other

    The hotel is spotless , excelent sauna and swimming pool. Good breakfast and tasty dinner

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    I'm convinced of this hotel. It was not my first and will not be my last stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was a intensive smoke smell in the room (my fault not to ask for a non-smoking room)

    the excellent location of the hotel the clean, comfortable and quiet room the excellent meals the friendliness of all staff and of course the outstanding service-price ratio

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    2.9
    SUCH SERVICES AND ATTITUDE ARE A REAL SHAME FOR A SO-CALLED 4* HOTEL IN A TOP RESORT IN SWITZERLAND
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -NO 24-HOUR FRONT DESK. For after 10 pm, we were given a key to enter through the garage, about 200 meters away on a side street separated from the hotel by another building (with very concise verbal indications). On the first evening, after we went around the hotel on a drizzle, we called the hotel's interphone and we awakened 2 people from the staff who were somewhere in the hotel but they were sleeping and felt very disturbed! After entering the garage, after a long sinuous path up and down, you reach the reception where you have to serve yourself with the room key! -VERY POOR VALUE FOR MONEY. The hotel DOES NOT HAVE 4* SERVICES and is old, non-renovated -WI-FI IN THE ROOMS DID NOT WORK, only in the reception area -NO MINIBAR in the room, only an empty refrigerator, which in one of the 2 rooms did not work. The room was smaller than 20 sqm, cramped, obsolete furniture. The bed was not long enough. NO COFFEE-TEA FACILITIES in the room -They DID NOT REPLACE THE TOILETRIES and sometimes not even the toilet paper. There were NO BATHROBES in the room. On the first day we did not get towels for the face. There was permanently a sewerage SMELL IN THE BATHROOM and in the last 2 days even a urine smell (room 409) -THE ATTITUDE towards us was from the beginning lacking in politeness and kindness. It was obvious the difference between the way we were talking and we were treated, compared to other tourists. Maybe because we were from Romania or Eastern Europe. It became even hostile, after we made complaints to the front desk about the services. Receptionist Andrea was always arrogant, rude and even verbally aggressive, speaking on a raised and yelled voice. One morning when my wife arrived to breakfast and wanted to sit in a certain part of the room, a waiter did not let her and told her to stay elsewhere, but shortly afterwards other tourists came and let them there. Such things have made us even feel humiliated.

    -Breakfast ok but nothing special -Small parking lot (outside where is free), but we were lucky to find one parking place all the evenings -Supermarkets nearby

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Old hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stripped off the bar fridge. There were reference to free drinks in the fridge but the fridge was removed. Felt like being accommodated in a reduced staff room.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    5 Day Ski break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff do their best, but there's not enough of them. Various items are reaching the end of their life -some past it for a 4* hotel. Basically, not enough money is being spent on the hotel - both in terms of all the items and sufficient staff - a real shame as this could be an excellent hotel.

    Bedrooms extremely well insulated against internal noise => very quiet. With windows shut, minimal road noise in a room near the front. Bedroom clean and well presented. Hence a good place to sleep, especially for light sleepers. Good location, by bus stops and close to the main lift. Breakfast adequate but nothing special - I didn't eat here at night (for non-hotel related reasons).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.9
    Swimming pool where you actually can swim.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one reception. Check in/out can take forever if you're unlucky and have to queue behind 2 or 3 people. Just one small elevator per house. You hardly can squeeze in 3 people, constantly in use. Long walking distance from garage to your room,if you stay at the front house, not convenient if you're travelling with lots of luggage.

    Swimming pool where you actually can swim. Freshly pressed Orange Juice at breakfast. Nice, big rooms, even if you go for a regular one. Rooms at front house (there are two built into one another) are above main street though, so forget wanting to sleep with open windows at morning.Nice breakfast buffet, not too big, but everything you need.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    3.8
    overall a bad start to the season for this hotel could have been a lot better attention paid to deta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no mini bar in the room until complaint raised, no coffee or tea making facilities in room. booked a massage only to have part of it down to lack of communication from staff. rooms generally ok but bathrooms need up dating

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel in Davos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is fantastic, front desk is very helpful. The bus station is just in front of the hotel, 2 stops to Davos Dorf, 3 stops to Davos platze. Very impressive stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    8.8
    Great deal for summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant service is very slow. We have been waiting for almost 1 hour, sitting there without eating anything... just wait for our main course.

    Great location, nice breakfast, summer guest card is provided, fast internet. Amazing deal for summer!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    5.8
    Location, close to center and public transportation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old room, not very clean, we had a lot of bugs in the room, spiders; the furniture was old, from 70's, bathroom the same! To reach into the room, you take a small elivator, where can go max 2 pers without louggages, the go on basement and take one more elevator! Max 3 stars hotel!

    Location, close to center and public transportation!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    5.8
    Not good for travelling with baby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really poor for travelling with baby. Hotel room was miles away from main reception and restaurant; lift too small for buggy so made getting around hotel with baby even more difficult; wifi didn't work in our room; door to balcony was broken and at one point was hanging on one hinge; one of the receptionists wasn't very friendly or helpful (the other slightly older lady was lovely!) - not a bad place but just not the standards or service level I expect of a 4 star hotel so pretty disappointing

    Good breakfast and location; large room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Very friendly staff, big room with large windows, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and some furniture need a little renovation

    Very friendly staff, big room with large windows, quiet. Cleanliness was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    Really good structure, the emploies are really kind and...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    largest room, more comfortable bed.

    Really good structure, the emploies are really kind and availalbe to give you information about the city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.9
    The hotel staffs were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staffs were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    7.9
    Clean and cosy hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No charger for electric cars. The hotel should contact Tesla Motors Suisse to apply for a Tesla destination charger. Like many Swiss accomodations price/quality is a bit off compared to surrounding European countries.

    Clean and cosy hotel. Friendly staff. Free upprade to a larger room.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    9.2
    Buitiful location, buitiful building of the hotel,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Buitiful location, buitiful building of the hotel, flowers on windows and in front of the hotel, friendly personnel Exellent place for meeting with friends

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    7.1
    Very clean and comfortable room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just all seemed pretty average for a 4* hotel. Stayed here a few years ago and absolutely loved it but this time I just wasn't so impressed. We hadn't been warned that you needed to give advanced notice to use sauna, there were no robes in our bedroom; receptionist was fine but just not particularly warm and welcoming

    Very clean and comfortable room; good powerful shower.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location. The friendly and professional staff. The balcony with breath taking view. The town and Schatzalp Hotel and surroundings, for Tomas Mann "Magic Mountain" book fans delight.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.3
    Davos guest card, helpful staff, nice view from window...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening meals could be more flavorful

    Davos guest card, helpful staff, nice view from window &balcony, close to lifts & free busses, pleasant dining atmosphere,

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    Location is on main street, next to bus stop and within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No A/C, no toiletries except for soap, Breakfast has limited selection and when items run out they are not replenished, some staff seemed indifferent.

    Location is on main street, next to bus stop and within walking distance to many points of interest, spacious rooms.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    7.1
    The location is great: the hotel is in a main street (easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed in our double room was furnished with two clearly distinct, unbound mattresses forming a very annoying gap in the middle of the bed. Would be prefect for a quarrelling couple. That's certainly inappropriate for a four-star hotel. Hot beverages are not offered in the rooms — instead, as a major favor, tea and coffee are served in the lobby till 17. On such an occasion, a receptionist (he later said his name was Tillmann) nullified the positive impression made by his colleagues. At 17:05, when tea and coffee were still in the lobby, he told us very arrogantly that we were too (which is five minutes) late and that they could not provide us with two extra cups, which were urgently needed for dinner. This kind of service looks extremely pathetic, not to say appalling, for a four-star hotel. The hotel managers could drastically improve the situation by and informing the receptionist of the notion of customer service… or by getting a couple of spare cups.

    The location is great: the hotel is in a main street (easy to find), Parsennbahn is nearby. The facilities (the bar, spa area and swimming pool) are really decent. The hotel is clean and neatly furnished. The Wi-Fi access was free, as opposed to the information provided here. The check-in routine left a positive impression of the staff, who were really friendly on that occasion.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    7.5
    The food could have been better and dining room service was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The food could have been better and dining room service was very slow. The wifi doesn't work on the third floor. We had two rooms on different floors and had to go to the room on the first floor to get wifi. The third floor room was beautifully refurbished- I'm sure the other rooms will be redone to the same standard. Our stay was very comfortable but the dining room service needs to improve before I would stay there again

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    7.9
    Food is TOP !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi in the room is crap (and then I am very optimistic in my comment). Wi-Fi in the lobby is perfect.

    Food is TOP ! Friendly service, ideal location.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    7.1
    nice and helpful personel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    terrible beds housekeeping at 4pm?? very old and ugly room equipment - not 4star at all very pricy for this level of hotel WIFI was not functional at all

    nice and helpful personel decent food excellent location

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.2
    very good service!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It would be great if the hotel have small facilities such as shower cap or cotton pad.

    very good service!

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    9.2
    Close to Parsenn and easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very soft beds.

    Close to Parsenn and easy parking. Breakfast with big selection!

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, nice Spa area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, nice Spa area.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    10
    very friendly staff, clean and comfy rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly staff, clean and comfy rooms

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Good location, friendly staff, spacious room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location, friendly staff, spacious room

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff at the reception.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    7.1
    Great mountain view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of servicies due to technical problems at stay time.

    Great mountain view

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    10
    Located close to Parsennbahn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Located close to Parsennbahn Free Wifi Room is nice and clean Breakfast buffet

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    10
    I had a nice holiday on this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a nice holiday on this hotel. Reception staff was very helpful. Clean room. Sumptuous breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    9.6
    Very close to Parsennbahn, nice spa area, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very close to Parsennbahn, nice spa area, friendly staff, large breakfast choice

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    10
    Wellness area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wellness area

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: