Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Metropol Hotel 4 stars

Elisabethenanlage 5, 4002 Basel, Switzerland

#16 of 56 hotels in Basel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 393 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Style Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The price is high but....is Switzerland....

    It is a perfectly located hotel and the transport in town, from and to the airport is free. The bus 50 from the airport is going every 12 minutes to train station and the hotel is 2 minutes walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Style Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike about the hotel

    Nice large, quiet room, lovely and clean, nice and cool which was great in the 28 C heat. The breakfast was very nice, lots of choice. The location is perfect. I'm also always happy when there is access to UK TV channels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    4.6
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the room was large but pricey. The bathroom closet was placed in an odd place which was very uncomfortable and tub as well was uncomfortable to use.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    I was very happy to stay in Metropol for 3 days
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - i was more than satisfied with everything!

    The location is super good - very close to the main train station, you can walk everywhere from there. The hotel is very clean, cozy and comfortable. I felt extremely well while sleeping there and spending my time in the shower. Cannot complain at all - the comfort was beyond my expectations! And the personel was extremely welcoming - i felt like at home. All my questions were answered immediately and all necessary help was provided in all matters. Perfect hotel for a business trip (or holidays).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Great little hotel for a weeekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negative feedback!

    Great value for money, easy to get to and we loved the fact we got free travel cards and discounts to the Kunstmuseum! It was great from start to finish and we would definitely stay there again if we came back to Basel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Worth visiting again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    received complimentary mineral water only two days the soap container (bassin) was never refilled

    smoked salmon friendly breakfast lady reception staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent accommodation . Lovely small city to explore . Christmas markets great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Style Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All went to plan so no complaints.

    Excellent location - so close to the station and trams. Nice walk in to the centre . A ver pleasant and well kept hotel. Breakfast simple but plenty and the dining room on the top floor made it lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Excellent all round stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To park the hire car you had to Mount the kerb and pavement To get to the parking space.

    We have a allergy to pet fur and this was the only hotel we could find that didn't allow pets. If you know of any other hotels that do not allow pets, Please let me know thanks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Stayed here a couple of times; would not hesitate to go back next time in Berne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Style Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comment.

    Staff are super friendly and helpful. Location is great, easy with tram crossings, 5 minutes from the Gare, easy walking distance to many sites. Room is very comfortable. Good and simple places to eat nearby. Parking on site for an extra fee, very close to highway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Would return here next time in Bale, no doubt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comment.

    Staff very kind and professional. Super location, 3 minute walk from the gare, easy start/stop location to many buses and trams. Nice breakfast, comfortable rooms with double windows so blocks out the house. Do not have alot of hotel parking but can reserve in advance and the spaces are right in front of the hotel and super easy. Close to some simple eateries near the gare.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made our reservation through Booking.com, and booked about 3 months in advance as it indicated rooms were limited, yet one week before we were due to depart the room was offered £100 cheaper. So searching nearer the time to depart may give you a better price. Enjoyable

    Offers a good selection of food at breakfast. The Staff were helpful and friendly. Would certainly recommend it. Excellent tram service to get around Basel and visit the sites, and it was all free. The hotel on arrival give you passes to use whilst staying in Basel. We used the Airport Shuttle bus to travel into the City Centre, so easy and was approximately 5 Swiss Francs per person. Bus 50.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.9
    Convenient hotel for station and trams.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No evening meal - no facilities. Only a continental breakfast at extra cost.

    Good location for transport. Good basic accom. but would not rate it as 4 star. Staff were very helpful. Since we are elderly and have difficulty with stairs, it would have been helpful to have been warned of steps into the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Beyond my Expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a couple and we were provided with 2 single beds that was pushed together, and they moved and separated easily.

    Staff,cleanliness, location, a budget hotel with great value for money and excellent Internet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    10
    We liked almost everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Style Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special.

    We liked almost everything. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Arrived early in morning and was checked in smoothly. Hotel location is quiet and very convenient - Less than 5 minutes' walk from train station. Old town can be easily reached on foot, although we were given free transport tickets and could ride on the trams. Requested courtyard room and was really quiet. Style room was spacious, modern, clean and well-kept. You need not haul your luggage up the flight of stairs to enter the hotel - just push a button on the left of the staircase to call the reception and the staff will come down to take you up in a lift which is actually behind a door on the right.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.2
    Good quality hotel with excllent buffet breakfast and very convenient for the main railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Style Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed mattress a bit uncomfortable

    Excellent buffet breakfast whilst enjoying panoramic view of Basle Well equipped room with large double bed and good shower 2 minutes walk from main railway station Easy walk (10/15 mins) to historic city centre

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    9.6
    A pleasant hotel in a very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A pleasant, no frills hotel which is only a couple of minutes’ walk from the main railway station, trams (I’ve never seen a city with so many trams and the hotel offers complimentary tickets) and about ten minutes walk from the old centre. No dining room but it can supply room service from the Italian restaurant next door (check that the menu in your room is what is actually on offer from the restaurant; mine did not quite match) and it has a breakfast room with a splendid view . My room was comfortable, faced the park and had a bath (always a bonus for me). Very pleasant staff. There are stairs to the entrance but if you ring the bell they will help you and there is a lift from the garage entrance.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask on more than one occassion for more tea bags and were made to feel guilty for doing this.

    The location of this hotel was superb.We were greeted by the news that we had an upgrade.The free breakfast was very good and the breakfast room gave a panoramic view of the city.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location for exploring Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was well worn and really needs replacing, could also have more than 1 pillow on the beds as standard.

    The location was perfect and the breakfast was ample and delicious. The staff were fantastic and very attentive, I would stay again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    All in all a very pleasant stay, I would have loved to stay a few more days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For my liking I would have liked the room a tiny bit warmer, I felt that if the temperature would have been just like it was in the reception it would have been just right.

    Great location, comfortable beds, spacious room, lovely warm and powerful shower, nice choice of breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Definitely coming back to Metropol Hotel if I ever come to Basel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    10
    Great location, friendly staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went there by car and getting to the hotel was a bit tricky with a confusing turn, but it's not the problem about the hotel rather how the streets are designed.

    Location is excellent: very close to the SBB Basel Station and easy access to the city on foot or with the tram. The staffs were all very friendly and helpful. There are a few parking spaces in front of the hotel, and it seems they have more spaces in a parking garage. Parking fees apply but it is cheaper than the whole-day rate at a public parking space.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were bizarrely reluctant to give a new room keycard to replace a lost one. No hot food at breakfast.

    Fantastically convenient, very comfortable, everything we needed. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.3
    Excellent little hotel for overnight stays.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, close to the main station. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable beds and little extras, such as free bottles of water in the room, chocolates in reception, etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    Quite a nice hotel, but not the best for that price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms looks quite basic, actually there are hotel that are just a bit expensive but looks much nicer the hairdryer could be more powerful

    breakfast is served on the 8th flood, so you have quite a good outlook to the city location is 3 minutes from SBB

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    The staff was so helpful answering our questions and helping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was so helpful answering our questions and helping us secure a ride to the Rhine River for our cruise. The young man at the desk even helped us with our luggage. The breakfast was very good; great selection.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.6
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel which is in good location just round the corner to the main station and tram stops. Bars, restaurants and shops nearby too. Our room was spacious, comfortable with good quality furnishings, clean and quiet. When we arrived by car, we stopped momentarily outside the hotel and within minutes a young lady greeted us with an umbrella (light rain) and very kindly offered to carry all our luggage and bags and assist us into the hotel. Some were heavy so I carried some of these. We were lucky to be able to park in one of the limited parking spaces in front of the hotel which has lift access. The other young lady on reception was very polite, knowledgeable and efficient and gave us a map of Basel and informed us of the places of interest. The hotel gave us complimentary tram tickets for our time in Basel. Unable to comment on breakfast as did not have this there. From our arrival to our departure, all the staff were very friendly and polite and made us feel welcome and should be commended on their professionalism. Basel is a nice city to visit and we would definitely stay at this hotel again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.5
    Free two day ticket for city transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free parking at site, 25 Euro for public parking near Central Station.

    Free two day ticket for city transport. Breakfast at the top floor. Cleaniness.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    8.8
    Very close to main railway station and ideal for a short stay in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Proximity to railway station, friendliness of staff, view from 8th floor where breakfast was served, free travel card for the tram and airport bus. Bed comfortable, extra pillows available on request.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.6
    Nice place and very kind host she is very helpful woman she...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place and very kind host she is very helpful woman she advise us for many thing We arrived late and she offered us many groceries for free Thank u kristena

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast for 15 fr, insane :( Noisy Small room Pillows

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Efficient and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Style Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant in hotel.

    Excellent location for walking around Basel downtown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Outstanding staff , kind , pleasant and really there to help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding staff , kind , pleasant and really there to help with anything .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location, very near to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is small, and it is very pricey.

    Good location, very near to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Small, efficient hotel near train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Smooth check in, room upgrade and friendly helpful staff. Close to train station and tram interchange.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Thank you very much for your kindness!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you very much for your kindness! My birthday trip starts great because of you, Isabelle! I definitely book a room again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Worth returning to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Style Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy, but to be expected of such a centrally located hotel.

    The helpfulness of the staff and the excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Great place to stay !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking space is limited so reservation is needed.

    Friendly staff, great location near city center. Good breakfast on 8th floor...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Wifi connection very slow
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Style Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi connection very slow

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.5
    I would come back and visit the place again and I recommend the the hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's quit and relaxing place

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Very nice bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location near the city centre and Central train...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location near the city centre and Central train station. Lovely breakfast and very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not good.

    Breakfast was good. Servise was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    perfect
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Style Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it is a nice hotel and a nice service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Very convenient location, just outside the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient location, just outside the train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in Basel!
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff could have been more attentive.

    Friendliness of the staff and very convenient location. The room was very comfortable and silent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.6
    Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Breakfast included

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.6
    The people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.1
    Good hotel near to train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good clean rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    9.6
    Cost of breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of breakfast. No lift or ramp to reception

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.6
    A great base in Basel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    zero

    everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location, not obviously handicap/pram friendly, comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • First Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service wasn't ideal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff really helpful and welcoming fantastic location just next to trams and railway station Breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    perfect location close to the rail station and not far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    perfect location close to the rail station and not far from the city center Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel close to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.5
    Convenient, pleasant staff, fairly quiet
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no airconditioning!!! just standard fan (hot)

    position excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.8
    Basel stay over
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi, noise from neighbouring shower or bath. Poor breakfast.

    Good staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay in Hotel Metropol
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Style Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some hot food at breakfast perhaps.

    Helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly accessible hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Style Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No control on aircon. Little storage space in bathroom.

    Very accessible. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast venue.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    10
    Location was fabulous;
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Location was fabulous; close to trams which we needed to get to our conference each day. The hotel also provided a travel card giving us free travel for the week; such a great thing to have. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great with a wonderful view of the city. Would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All wonderful.

    Great location. Lovely welcome from reception staff. Rooms were very comfortale with tea and coffee making facilities. Great soundproofing. Excellent all round. Well done to all the team.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    10
    Incredibly friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I tried for three days to think of a singe negative, but failed. This is a fine hotel.

    Incredibly friendly and helpful staff. With perfect Swiss attention to detail, everything was in place: hooks to hang things on, surfaces to spread things on, fantastic bed. Also, they had a cable TV setup that included BBC 1!

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    10
    Excellent comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negatives

    Excellent comfortable hotel. Close to main station and other public transport. Free travel ticket for the city for tourists was a big bonus given that Switzerland is a little pricey. Staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. They provide assistance for example offer of umbrellas if it looks like rain. A very pleasant stay. Room size adequate.

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    8.8
    P0sition, free mobilty ticket, cleaness,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price is too high, two nescaffee bags /day/room are not enoug and the explaination of the reception is hilareous: the hotel can not afford 4 free bags of nesscaffee!

    P0sition, free mobilty ticket, cleaness, facility for coffee and tea

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    Clean, nice staff, good location, other than street noise...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Refrigerator not on and never worked during stay. Free wifi limited.

    Clean, nice staff, good location, other than street noise (close the window and it goes away) the facility was quiet during my stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    Great location, nice room, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, nice room, friendly and helpful staff. You get a free local transport ticket on check-in, which meant free bus ride to the airport, great!

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    9.6
    Close to the main station, trams, a small park with a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Opted out of breakfast at CHF17 per head but apparently the views over the city are great. Road noise if you open windows, but typical of city hotels.

    Close to the main station, trams, a small park with a great cafe, as well as the usual Starbucks, McDonalds et al. Hotel is very friendly, with good rooms and very comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.3
    Central location with facilities to park cars safely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bar area would have been nice

    Central location with facilities to park cars safely. Staff very helpful. Lovely breakfast on 8th floor with great views.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location for exploring Basel and area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Road noise with window open, but typical for a city centre location.

    Excellent location for exploring Basel and area. Staff very friendly. Good size room for a city hotel with TV, desk and a powerful shower. Nice view over the adjacent park.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.3
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much dislikes, functional and well run. Not somewhere to go if you want luxury or views From room.

    Excellent staff. Requested early check-in and got response straight away that it can be arranged. Arrived earlier than check in time and staff still do their besttbest to get us into the room asap. We got room at the rear so it is quiet. Location is convenient and The park opposite is a delight. Overall very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    10
    The exceptional staff made our stay in an unfamiliar city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a mix up about parking that was quickly solved.

    The exceptional staff made our stay in an unfamiliar city less daunting. Yvonne at reception and the young Nepalese man at breakfast were extremely helpful, in fact all the staff - the manager were extremely accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    8.8
    location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    exchange rate for Canadian $ misleading from Booking.com Higher price than advertised on their site. I plan on contacting them when I return. Beware when booking confirmed.

    location and staff

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    10
    It's close location to the station and airport bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    It's close location to the station and airport bus The amazing breakfast The comfortable and well appointed rooms The very helpful and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast on the 8th floor with a panoramic view over the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I asked for cream with my breakfast coffee and was served warm milk instead.

    Breakfast on the 8th floor with a panoramic view over the city. Staff were always available and pleasant, but not pushy.

There are also 44 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Metropol Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: