Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt 4 stars

Matterstrasse 9, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

#56 of 317 hotels in Zermatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 155 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely 4 star, family run hotel in beautiful Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zermatt is stunning and everything is expensive - but to sit on your hotel balcony and see the magnificent Matterhorn is a wonderful experience - just do it!

    Everything - well furnished, spacious, comfortable, very clean, great view, great location and staff were exceptional. Really good relaxed vibe about this place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff allowed us to early checking in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Especially nothing.

    Staff allowed us to early checking in.They were very helpful and kind. Location is very good(nearby railway station). Bath room (equipment and water pressure ) was very good. The view from the terrace was breathtaking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable Alpine experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like having leave. I had a short stay and felt very comfortable here, only wish I was staying the whole week to enjoy more treks.

    Delicious breakfast with superb views of the Matterhorn

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    It was a marvelous place to stay. I love this place! I'll be back! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All is good during my stay.

    The room with Matterhorn view is totally worth it. I was able to capture some nice photos of the Matterhorn during sunrise and sunset, without stepping out of my room. It's an amazing feeling to wake up and see the Matterhorn right outside the window too. The hotel owner and staff are very warm and friendly. This is the second time I've stayed there as I felt treated like a family. It indeed feels like a home away from home. I'll be back to visit them when possible :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Magnificent Zermatt hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Graet room with view to Matterhorn. Stefanie was so welcoming and accommodating. Brilliant pool and spa - with views too! Room was comfy and had a great tv. Free shuttle from train was excellent. Loved staying here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Good on everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Good on everything. Perfect location both close to train station and the point for seeing the Matterhorn sun rise. Didn't try the swimming pool which was shame for this time. Will stay here again for my next trip to Zermatt

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    A sense of comfort and well being.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great attention to detail and general friendliness. The staff noticed that the bathroom light flickered and changed it without us having to mention it. My son loved the large pool and we enjoyed watching the snow falling from the warm Jacuzzi!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Most important features were the location and the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's hard not to like Zermatt!

    Most important features were the location and the staff. The hotel is maybe 2-3 minutes from all transport facilities including the main rail station, the underground furnicular and the cog wheel train. The young lady at the desk was terrific in recommending a fantastic hike on the mountain!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Cosy place, Great location, Welcoming Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely staff. Great location. Great view of Matterhorn from dinning/breakfast lounge. I went there for my birthday and I requested a BD set up through booking.com. The staff done a really nice table arrangement for us for dinner, offered us free glasses of champagne followed by a very tasty BD cake. All perfect!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful vacation in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to many options for the breakfast, short program in the spa area, a little bit too expensive

    Location, very clean hotel, hospitable staff, beautiful mountains

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    I had a wonderful time at hotel metropol and look forward to staying there again next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None. I did not encounter any issues.

    The staff are very friendly, helpful and polite. The bed is very comfortable. I had a good sleep every night and it was a very pleasant stay throughout.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.2
    I can't imagine staying in a better place in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Mattress was too soft for my back (had to sleep on the floor two nights). Also, pool hours were too short (just till 8pm). Breakfasts, identical every day, got a bit monotonous by end of week. Overall the crowd was mostly old/retirees which I didn't mind but it isn't for everyone.

    Location was fabulous, much prefer being close to downtown (4 mins), Sunnega (3 mins), rental place (2 mins) and the rail station (5 mins), than being close to Furi and far away from everything else. Staff was great and very attentive and wonderful owners. Property is really well cared for and everything is thought about. We really liked the ski room, which ski resorts worldwide should copy. Pillows were the best I've had in ages.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pathway to hotel needs some work

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and helpful I am diffidently coming back thanks for the amazing time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Great Staff and near to main train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were really kind , friendly , helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Matterhorn mountain view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    I had a wonderful stay. I will definitely book this hotel for my next visit to Zermatt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None.

    Spectacular view of Matterhorn from my room! Friendly staff and great breakfast! Conveniently located.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    excellent place to stay in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    could decrease the prices a little

    excellent location, very friendly staff and good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    peaceful and majestic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location, breakfasts both v good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.4
    Not what I expected at all from the photos on their website, seemed like an old people’s home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food. Pillows. Sitting area. Spa

    Not a lot

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice traditional hotel in the center of Zermatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice traditional hotel in the center of Zermatt. Friendly owners.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Top experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top experience. Very nice and helpful staff, clean rooms, superb wellness area and great food. Everything exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    facilities (pool, terrace, etc)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i had to carry my luggage up the stairs to reach the front/entrance

    facilities (pool, terrace, etc)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Great matterhorn view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast

    Friendly staff and great matterhorn view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Cant beat the indoor pool with view to the Matterhorn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive

    the indoor pool and the spa. Closeness to ski lift. The view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very friendly staff providing an excellent service. Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.2
    Great location and fair price (for Zermatt)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and fair price (for Zermatt)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could be more confortable. All the rest was fantastic!

    Location, Personal, Shower

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location, very nice swimming pool with view on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet is limited.

    Perfect location, very nice swimming pool with view on Cervin, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very welcoming, good location and excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staffs and convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettles for hot water.

    Staffs are so helpful abd friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Very Nice owners!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very Nice owners! They updated my room from a single to double with balcony. The room itself was perfectly clean and very cozy. I liked the SPA area with the pool, sauna and jaccuzzi. The breakfast was rich with lots of choice. The hotel is very conveniently located - very close to everythhing - station, lifts, shops- but was quiet. I would be happy to come back again.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.3
    Didn't like the pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the pillows. They were too shallow and too soft. I think these are good pillows for Swiss people, but being a non-Swiss, not used to this type of pillows. A pillow menu would have been nice.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    9.2
    1) Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1) Breakfast was ok but I would expect more variety

    1) Perfect location 2) Friendly and helpfull Staff 3) Great view of Matterhorn from room and spa area

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    10
    The location is very near the train station in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is very near the train station in the heart of beautiful Zermatt. The hotel will pick you up and drop you off at the station. We had a junior suite with a large balcony right in the small river running through town. When on the balcony we had a beautiful view of the Matterhorn. Bathroom was spacious and well supplied. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff is great and always willing to help with tour advice. Breakfast was included and had ample choices. They also allowed us to order own cooked to order eggs and other choices. Excellent! We did not utilize the pool or spa but they looked great.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.6
    The hotel staff/owners couldn't have been more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was a little expensive, but everything is in Zermatt is. Be prepared for high food cost in the village.

    The hotel staff/owners couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. The rooms/bathrooms/and pool area were clean and well maintained. The proximity to the lift station was ideal. Wonderful village to walk around.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    10
    Excellent place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent place to stay! Ideal location between Sunnega and ice rink, just couple minutes walk both to ski lift and all shopping, supermarket and restaurants. Nice and clean room with Matterhorn view from sunny balcony. But the most important was their amazing staff and excellent attitude and attention of owners to all of us!!! They were so helpful to book a ski instustor a week before our arrival in high season; when our son was ill, they brought us all tea making facilities, made all doctor's appointments, and were ready to serve lovely in-room lunch everyday, even at a very short notice. They were so patient when our baby daughter cried so loud during dinner in hotel restaurant. They were so kind to prepare nice gifts to all children for Christmas, New Year and even for our son's birthday! They even prepared child-size bath robes for our kids! And always so kind, so nice, so friendly! Thank you very much for everything!

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff, great location (near the ice rink and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the steam room was out of order.

    Very friendly staff, great location (near the ice rink and easy for bus to lifts) and lovely spa. Transfer to and from station was excellent. Well equipped ski room.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.2
    indoor pool and sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hot water scalding hot.

    indoor pool and sauna. Wonderful owner always looking after guests. Very nice breakfast with to-order eggs. Great Matterhorn view from the pool! Heated bathroom floors!

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff, nice little balcony off our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Notification on how to get to hotel, ie taxi transfer...didn't know you couldn't drive there until I got dirty looks and yelled at...sorry.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, nice little balcony off our room, nice clean bathroom, you can't beat the view for breakfast!!

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    8.8
    - free transfer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No

    - free transfer service - nice breakfast - clean and big room - awesome view with the Matterhorn in our room. - good location 5- 10 mins walk from Zermatt HB.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    The hotel is very near to the station, you can reach there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is very near to the station, you can reach there within 3-4 mins maximum. There are a lot of shops, restaurants and supermarkets around the hotel. The stuffs are friendly and helpful. There service is nice and they have a great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.3
    Location good, close to the station and main road but quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location good, close to the station and main road but quiet apart from the roar of the river. Staffwas incredibly helpful, caring and sweet. Went out of their way to connect with us. Spa area very nice. All slightly dated but lovingly run.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    We loved staying at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved staying at this hotel. The location was great, the breakfast was excellent, the rooms were large, the pool and spa area were a great extra and the view from our room was amazing. The staff were by far the best part - nothing was too much trouble! I also recommend eating in the restaurant at night. It was one of the best meals we had while away.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.9
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice hotel. Staff was wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    location and services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    location and services

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.6
    Best location for Materhorn view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best location for Materhorn view. Staffs are quite friendly.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was great. Swimming pool has a great mountain view.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.6
    No hot dishes on breakfast buffet *except self boiled eggs*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot dishes on breakfast buffet *except self boiled eggs*

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    the view from our room was awesome, the location is also 10...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    room needs air conditioner in summer,,

    the view from our room was awesome, the location is also 10 min walk from station, staff was very helpful

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    The ferfect view of swimming pool ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The ferfect view of swimming pool ; nice location near by the station; nice service,they drive me to the train station,;ferfect view of breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    View of the Matterhorn from the spa and breakfast table.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    View of the Matterhorn from the spa and breakfast table.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Excellent service and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent service and friendly staff Good location

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    We could clearly see Matterhorn from our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    We could clearly see Matterhorn from our room

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.5
    Could not stand up in shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could not stand up in shower. Room 418 not a good room if you are 6-1 tall.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: