Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Motel des Sports 3 stars

Rue du Forum 15, 1920 Martigny-Ville, Switzerland

#5 of 10 hotels in Martigny-Ville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 791 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Oldenhorn (3132m) in Glacier 3000 area was our destination. Objective achieved :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have nothing to complain about.

    We arrived late (23:00) it look like it was closed, but the keys waited in an envelope with all the necessary information. Its very nice place to stay. Free parking place. Nice views, nice neighborhood - ancient Roman ruins and amphitheater (we didn`t know that before - travels educate). Breakfast in the French version but in the form of a buffet, so you can eat your fill. Delicious baguettes and croissants. Inexpensive, comfortable in a beautiful area. I recommend and would gladly come back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Relatively cheap but dont expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could have been cleaner. The building seems dated esp the facilities in bathroom. Secure parking was mentioned in description but we had to park our motorcycle just outside the door. Seemed ok safety wise.

    Relatively cheap and easy access. There are several restaurants nearby. Was convenient for us to visit the mountain passes around.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Good place for viewing the scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is more a climbers location but nothing wrong with that.

    Great location and a pretty little town. It is a motel and not luxurious but it very much serves it’s purpose.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely everything was perfect room location view of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything was perfect room location view of the castle and mountains next to the most fabulous public pool breakfast staff would not hesitate recommending this place best value for money in Switzerland

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    nice room, good location and value, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only 1 towel in room on arrival but staff brought more immediately on notifying. Plumbing a bit odd as could not obtain cold water from the cold tap in the morning. it only ran warm in my room. Not a major issue.

    Old style motel with friendly welcome and short walk from pretty town centre. Motorbike could be parked off road by the motel; not secure but not too visible from street. Pleasant room and good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Everything was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, but the coffee situation at breakfast was a little confusing. They put out a big pot of drip coffee with the breakfast buffet. I don't like that stuff, so I asked for a proper coffee from the machine. One day, I had to pay for it. The other day, I didn't. I've stayed in quite a few hotels in Switzerland, and it seems that the norm is that breakfast includes a proper coffee (especially when the Booking.com description says "Good Coffee").

    Everything was great. Hopefully the mini-fridges will be working next time (they told me they were remodeling, so the mini-fridges weren't operational at the time I was there). Location is super (easy to walk to the center). Free parking is a plus. Beautiful views from both sides of the motel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Typical Motel. Bit dated, but nice place to stay for a couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bit dated - but didn't think it mattered!

    A typical 'Motel'. But with UK TV channels! (We were happy to discover that as World Footie, Wimbledon and Poldark were available!!) Room and bathroom were clean, comfortable but dated. We had a fan in the room and 2 chairs to sit outside. Bed was comfortable. Staff were helpful at arrival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Excellent, and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a motel just off the city centre, I wasn't expecting too much, but the location and the experience were way better than I expected. Very handy to walk to the centre for dinner, and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Even though it's just a "Motel", the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though it's just a "Motel", the location and the quality is just perfect. The beds are super-comfy and clean, and you have a nice view on Martigny. Close to village center and the sport facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Martigny - clean, convenient and excellent price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The listing on Booking.com mentioned a kitchenette - apparently only on apt has this.

    Clean, spacious room, with very comfortable beds, a large bath/shower room. Very helpful and friendly staff, they even brought a small fridge to the room to keep our beer/food chilled. A decent breakfast, with juice, cereals, fresh bread, croissants. cheese. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Well located, basicly for short stays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A big natural bottle of water at the bar 6CH :( Bathroom needs some reforms.

    Very well located. The rooms are quite comfortable, but should be reformed. Breakfast is very good: bread, croissants, jam, yogur, butter, cereals, juices.. i don't understand people that don't like this breakfast only because there isn't hot food and meat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    A useful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find the hotel if suggested route followed. You just need to walk straight down the road from the station through the sort of pedestrianised central square and it's off a short road on the left.

    Breakfast included!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facilities on the room - but that seems to be the standard across Switzerland.

    Close to town, helpful staff, great value for money. Close to mt blanc express!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Would stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, clean room. Bathroom was basic but clean and plenty of hot water. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Cold breakfast with various options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice place close to the ski pists
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to add in this line

    Place is optimal for going ski, located very convenient. The parking place for free is very good as no many places have this advantage. Breakfast included was also great option.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    Parking just close to the door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though smoking now is prohibited, the room seems not to have been remediated since smoking in the room was allowed. The smell was very apparent,

    Parking just close to the door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    3.8
    Horrible
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the hotel and when we arrived there was no one in the reception. The person that is in-charge of the checkin is also responsible for the bar/cafeteria area, having no personal to receive the guests in between 11am and 2pm. Checkin is at 2pm so we decided to come back later to be received then by someone without issues. We are traveling with two small dogs and we were told no fee was charged for them. When we got to the room the first impressions were good, quite spacious and seemed clean. The next day we went to have breakfast and to be quite honest is the most incomplete hotel breakfast I have seen. There is bread, croissants, coffee, milk, jam, butter and orange juice. There is also a weird looking bowl with yogurt that looks like has been there for a week, same with the cereals. There is nothing warm, no eggs, no bacon or any sort of ham, no cheese, etc...so the bread will be with butter or nothing at all. We left the hotel for the day and we placed the “please make the room sign” in the door, 6 hours later when we got back the room was done but the toilet paper was missing. I headed to the reception yet to find there no one again, so I called the person that was in the cafeteria. I educatedly requested toilet paper just to be confronted with the person telling me they don’t clean the rooms everyday so there is no point of me leaving the sign at the door. She also reminded she wasn’t charging for the dog fee, so this gave her the power not to clean the room. I went there just to request toilet paper and got told this out of context. I reminded her that I just came for toilet paper and that I prefer them charging for dog fee if that is what stops them from doing their job. This was onto a bad start. The three days that followed no one cleaned the room, until the moment the cleaning personal came to ask if we wanted the room cleaned and we said yes.

    The most uncomfortable pillows i have ever had.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Motel des sports is a perfect value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Motel des sports is a perfect value for money. The place offers a convenient stay- close to the center. The rooms are spacious with all necessary amenities. The breakfast is good.. with nice coffee! If you are traveling for work, the wi-fi is excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Great quiet town decided to stay 2 nights instead of 1 - did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great quiet town decided to stay 2 nights instead of 1 - did a day trip to the Matterhorn which wasn't toooo far :) Room was large enough, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Last minute late arrival. Friendly and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late at night and they were waiting for us. Breakfast was great. Staff friendly. Room clean and comfortable. We walked From train and a little hard to find but not too far.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    6.3
    good location, let down by a few things
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy party until early hours and when guests returned to rooms you could hear every word outside and in adjacent rooms. Could hear man in loo, obviously not very well, in next room Still awake after 1.00am due to all this. Not strictly hotel's fault in a way, but soundproof rooms is, especially at 80 a night excl breakfast. They tried to take money on my credit card the morning before I arrived...it wouldnt allow it and maybe now I am travelling with a blocked card. Since I am here for a while this could become a big problem. No idea why they tried to do this as Booking guarantee the room anyway. Food costs high e23 for thai single course. Breakfast not included in 80 swiss francs room cost.

    It was ok Thai food Good, safe parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    8.3
    Overall a good place to stay and close to many attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the room had a kettle and coffee making facility. The bathroom could have been cleaner.

    The friendliness of the staff. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    On via francigena route by bike so ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Excellent Martigny stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee in room

    Cleanliness of room and linen

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Good bed
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Every pleasant stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every pleasant stay there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Convenient option in the Via Francigena.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious room and bed was confortable. Pleasant location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    I would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was Big and close to places to run. Beautiful area! Hi to nearby Cassel and Wine feels 👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice place for a short stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are very helpful, I asked to save my bag for a week, no problems. Also all other things are good: comfort bed, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Functional, restaurant, big bathroom and a nice terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can t really complain about anything.

    Functional, restaurant, big bathroom and a nice terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Fine for overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of maintenance outside

    Able to park car outside front door of bedroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed.

    Great location. Clean. Comfortable. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    the bed was very confortable, breakfast to start the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Centre of town and walking distance to the swimming pole, train station, shops et museum etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Great property's
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great property's

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place. Only here one night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Basic but cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Easy parking and good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    3.3
    terrible hotel. no basic necessities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no towels. no soap

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Will go back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility of payment

    Breakfast nice facilities bed comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    super location- easy walk to old downtown, very reasonable rates

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good bed. Friendly staff, big bathroom. Excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfy rooms with ni e staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy rooms with ni e staff. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    very very easy to park
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no meat for the breakfast

    very very easy to park

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    ok for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the guy in the reception was not welcoming

    near the highway

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Very friendly personal both reception and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly personal both reception and restaurant. They waited for us as we arrived late night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Room and comfortable and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow on the bed

    Room and comfortable and quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Reception gave me a room with good internet access after I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception gave me a room with good internet access after I had seen poor reviews of wifi. The Italian restaurant nearby is excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location and nice price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Good value for convenient location in Martigny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was dirt/dust on a number of surfaces in the room and bathroom.

    Quiet location. Reasonable breakfast. Close to centre of town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    When I come at 9.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I come at 9.50 the don’t give me the breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    4.2
    good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi

    Wifi connection sucks, so point of improvement

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    -basic breakfast but everything fresh/warm
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -outdated rooms

    -basic breakfast but everything fresh/warm -good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Good place to stay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whereas the room was clean, the shower was mouldy - disgusting and unhealthy!

    Simple place, but ok for one night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Valido
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Niente drink x Genius

    Pizzeria eccellente li vicino.Sandro efficiente e cortese

    Stayed in September 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.3
    Easy to find from the main road, good parking outside room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really, though the location was a longish walk from the centre of town.

    Easy to find from the main road, good parking outside room, swimming pool, food available in restaurant and excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    5.0
    Dining hall is right next to the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dining hall is right next to the rooms. The room had windows - no fan - no ac 100 degree day and since the feont window faced a courtyard everyone could view the interior. The bathroom window doesn't align with the front window so it was stifling. Everyone had their windows open due to the heat and all the clatter from the dishes and noise from diners were loud.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    5.0
    They had no Wifi despite your website saying that they did.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They had no Wifi despite your website saying that they did. There were dirty old plasters on the floor in the room which was unacceptable.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.6
    A very short walk from the centre in a quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very short walk from the centre in a quiet location. The room was comfortable with a big bathroom. Overall it was great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    Super-friendly management that also provided me with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast buffet was OK but nothing special.

    Super-friendly management that also provided me with excellent travel advice.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    9.2
    Space, Price, Comfort, quiet, Parking, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I would expect better swiss cheese for breakfast.

    Space, Price, Comfort, quiet, Parking, good breakfast

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: