Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Motel One Zürich This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Stockerstrasse 61, 1. Zurich Old Town - City Center, 8002 Zurich, Switzerland

#25 of 126 hotels in Zurich

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3816 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    10
    Atmosphere, clean rooms, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There isn’t a kitchen so no food on premise other than light snacks. Breakfast is served but not sure what it entails as we didn’t have it.

    Atmosphere, clean rooms, great location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.6
    It was realy excellen!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was realy excellen! Location is pefect! Rooms are clean and fresh and there is very nice bar! Thank you and hope to stay in your motel soon again!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    great value, great location and great price, great communal areas etc.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no check out to settle final bill. As an international traveler - everytime I had coffee / drinks or decided to have breakfast it was a separate charge on my credit card....which also means an international transaction fee and exchange rate conversion every time. Which costs more money, than having one bill at the end.

    great value, great communal spaces etc

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Excellent location, great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Excellent location, great price!! The bar was beautiful and so relaxing. Staff were so friendly and the rooms were fantastic. Spotless and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    Very trendy new concept hotel in Central Zurich
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location is very central. The one concept is you do not pay for the facilities you never need for short stays. So no telephone, no room service no restaurant but the hotel is very trendy with very new and concept style. The building is historical. Very good price when compared for the other Zurich hotels. Will stay again

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel, with friendly staff, there are staff who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A beautiful hotel, with friendly staff, there are staff who speak Spanish, the Hotel has a perfect location, walking to the main streets, in general very happy with my stay at Motel One

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, a few minutes walking distance from the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel, a few minutes walking distance from the old town. Common spaces warm, spacious and well designed, comfortable and clean room. Smiling and professional staff. High standard, though they call it a budget hotel (with a hint of understatement?). Surely not cheap, but rates are quite fair considering that ultra-expensive city.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    5.8
    No value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the amount we paid the rooms were small. We were woken up by the cleaning staff. We were told that breakfast was till 10:30 and when we went down at 10 they said they would take everything away. We didnt have enough to eat though we paid the full amount for breakfast separately from the room.

    The staff were helpful though some didnt seem to know Zurich very well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was extremely accommodating, the staff was very kind, and we were very pleased with our stay! We appreciate the effort they made for our one night stay and will recommend the hotel to our friends.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely recommend it and will come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When you take a shower the water is everywhere in the bathroom.

    Quick check-in, good style in whole hotel, comfy rooms, very quiet, good breakfast, great lounge.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.1
    Conveniently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed and pillows were hard (not good for my neck) Bathroom door would automatically (and annoyingly) close shut Learning staff at reception should learn basic procedures before attending (saying my room was a king but with a smaller bed, rather than straight forward advising room booked not available and offering an upgrade or discount), saying they don’t have power adaptor before checking (and they do) - just not acceptable

    Conveniently located Simple, clean rooms (albeit on the small side

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.9
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No kettle provided.

    Helpful staff. The hotel complied with our request for a room nearer to the lift when we went back to stay at the hotel after we came back from Lugano.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    9.6
    The Perfect Birthday Weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price paid I believe the breakfast could be included. A small fridge in the room would be a nice to have.

    I really loved the hotel boutique style in a very traditional building. Everything was clean and and well maintained by a lovely staff. The breakfast was great with local cheeses an home made breads well presented. Good location. Not in the middle of the busy shopping area. Only two blocks walking distance, though. My room had the view of the hotel patio area. No noise at night. Perfect for a long weekend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone for their Zurich sojourn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue we had was lack of signage on one side of the building (it is on a corner) and as we were in the car we took some time to realise which building it was. If I had looked at the photos beforehand I would have picked it.

    We really enjoyed our stay at Motel One. It is in a great location, trams nearby and train station easily accessible. We were at the end of our trip and the weather turned bad so we were very happy to while away a few hours in their funky bar in front of their fire (screen). Service was excellent with the staff extremely pleasant and all went out of their way including giving us an early checkin. Breakfast was very good and reasonably priced which was great for Switzerland.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    So many tv screens with the same fake fireplaces (lobby-bar-rooms) There was no mini bar in the room. The bar is 24/7 but has only 2 types of toast. I would like to have some more facilities (maybe a spa or a gym)

    Great location.Very quiet hotel in general.Super clean .Nice and fresh breakfast (16F/person) . Very gentle staff ready to help you anytime.Super cool lobby bar 24/7 with great alcohol list and very tasty chocolates.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    8.3
    good location!
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no kitchen on premises and I could not eat something hot despite my late arrival

    clean, well-located without unnecessary phone, spacious room with high-ceilings, sockets for the phone

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    7.9
    Good for one night in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soulless. Very dark in downstairs area. Room small but adequate. Little storage or hanging space and very little surface area. Would not want to stay more than one night. Incredibly long walk to room along endless corridors. Difficult to find a way down the stairs if didn't want to use lift. Rooms looked out on eachother. No inner curtains. Had to keep heavy curtains drawn for privacy.

    Clean and good location. Check in and out easy. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with great attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very well appointed hotel with stylish finishings. No mini bar and no room service which was just fine by me. Lovely room, lovely bar, great community area and staff were very friendly. USB ports in the room. Greeted by a tv with movie if a fire place which gave a cosy feel. I would stay at one if their properties again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    10
    Simple and comfortable stay at Motel One Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the bar was a bit unfriendly but nothing big to mind.

    Big rooms, good location with connection to Line 13 and Line 8 (13 heads to the main station), great value for money, especially for the breakfast. The staff at the reception was very nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is a short walk from the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The air conditioning didn't seem to work and the room remained warm even after turning the temperature down.

    The hotel is a short walk from the train station. Its very clean and well maintained. I've stayed here before as well and will continue to stay here for business.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.6
    value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good Beds and a super location, fast elevators and great staff, all quick and clean. Of course not a Grand Hotel, but all the needed things for 1 or 2 nights.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    9.2
    Unassuming exterior - lovely interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower head too close to wall and not very adjustable. No wash cloth in bathroom. Drapes did not seem to fully close.

    Welcoming front desk. Beautiful decor and rooms. Very attractive bar. Very good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    In the Heart of Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Many of the Superior rooms had adjoining doors to neighbors which was uncomfortable from a noise level standpoint. We asked to change rooms and the request was granted.

    Location of hotel was excellent for both shopping and business needs. Heart of Zurich. Property itself was modern, clean, and we'll appointed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    5.8
    was good but it doesn’t cost much to place a tea cattle with few tea bag and AC on 4th floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mini bar wasn’t there which was okay. But tea cattle with few tea bags n coffe packs is much needed after a long journey at room. Further more if you are staying on floor 4th , it’s hot and we needed AC . In case of opening windows , noise and mosquito bite was strange for me.

    Cleaning and location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    5.4
    Beware of the word "MOTEL"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a longish walk to neiderdorf not as close as advertised and the area around was dead. not a single bar or restaurant for atleast 500 m. booking.com and the hotel website advertised air-conditioned rooms but when we got there it wouldnt work. There are no telephones in the rooms so after going down 4 floors to ask about the aircon we were informed that the hotel turns of their air-conditioning from October and we should crank open a window if we needed air. This was ridiculous because the tiny room got really warm in the 20 degree day weather. And this should have been clearly mentioned at the time of booking. To make matters worse were given a room on a floor where everybody but us had a balcony and our single window opened up into this common balcony with planter dividers. Which basically meant that everyone could look into or room and we were up till all hours while the people in balcony rooms sat outside our widow and smoked drank and talked till the middle of the night. I would never recommend this place to anyone.

    Bad experience.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice lobby and clean hotel clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To enter the main door there is some stairs and no stroller access. That made it difficult to enter the hotel lifting the luggage at check in.

    Very nice lobby and clean hotel clean room. Very quick check in and check out. Helpful staff. Nice location in the center of Zürich..

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    8.8
    Definitely not a Motel, but rather a superb Hotel in the heart of Zurich!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything bad about this stay...

    The hotel, while not directly in the city center, is very close to the city center. I discovered that the Hauptbahnhof is only a 20 minute walk. Furthermore, the hotel is located directly between 2 tram stops (200m in either direction), with one tram stop having a train station as well; this made getting around very easy! It was also down the road from Lake Zurich, which made an afternoon stroll in the park a delight! The staff were friendly and helpful; big shout out to Sophie and Kerstin who helped resolve an issue on my bill! Property was clean; the room was comfortable and allowed for a good night's rest after a busy day of touring! I also thought the hand soap, and the bath and shower gels had very delightful scents, that always left one feeling sparkly clean after using them - nice touch! Breakfast had a good selection, and I was always greeted by a friendly waiter on arrival! Very enjoyable experience!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.3
    Good to spend a budget night in Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge, coffee, tea in the room. No air conditioning (it is installed, but seems was disabled) and couldn't figure out how to turn air in the bathroom. Kinda was expected for such price.

    Room is very clean and bright. No foul smells. Overall impression - its even more than 3* In the shower - hot water is tricky, sometimes disappearing. Breakfast... well maybe it really worth 18 CHF in Zurich, but we didn't take it, the choice is not very wide.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    9.6
    A pleasant surprise with the hotel service, aesthetics, vibe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ordered drinks from the bar one night while working on the big table by the breakfast room. We were tracked down to pay the bill immediately. Has to be a better way of doing this. However, this one incident did not deter my great experience here.

    A pleasant surprise with the hotel service, aesthetics, vibe and design. Staff was extremely nice, courteous and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    6.3
    it is in the main part of the town, k so you can walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was too small, no refrigerator and the double bed was not actually a double bed. it was two single mattress put together to make a double bed. other then this all was very good

    it is in the main part of the town, k so you can walk to the bus station and the main train station. I highly recommend the breakfast it is worth every penny.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    9.2
    Cool design, comfortable beds and super clean!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Gluten Free or dairy alternatives on the breakfast options, had to go to Hiltl for breakfast. oh well... but would be great for motel one to implement, it is 2018!

    Cool design, comfortable beds and super clean! warm friendly staff and very well organized! Loved the location, it is walking distance to city center or 2 stops on a tram yet quiet at night which i appreciate. There is a yoga studio and a wonderful full service fitness park with a spa within 5 minutes walking. The lake is also just a few blocks away.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    8.3
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff at the bar, she is not really happy when we asked for hot water. maybe it is a tough job for her to give us hot water, or perhaps hot water is very expensive in zürich, but she has to give it to us for free.

    the design of the whole place which give you a very modern feel. at this price in Zürich, it is actually a good deal. the location of the hotel is good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    5.4
    Very long corridor walk to get to room, great to get fit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic room, no view, no phone for contact with reception, no English TV, no fridge or kettle to make coffee or tea, really an odd place with 634 rooms, only facility a bar downstairs with expensive drinks. Directions given by reception to get to airport when leaving by train proved to be very inaccurate, they said ten minutes away, took me 45! They really didn't know Zurich streets which I found unusual

    Very long corridor walk to get to room, great to get fit.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    8.8
    Motel One can be a good option if you don't have a high expectations like a 4 or 5 stars one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No trolley way to get in to hotel, have to carry up the heavy luggage through stairs. No mini bar, no fridge and even water cooker. The air conditioning took longer time to cool up the room. At the beginning we thought it isn't working. Seems visitors had a problem to find the toilets from the lobby and bar, which are underground, we have to go down with lift.

    The location, easy to reach many places with subway or by walk. Many restaurants, bars and shops are few minutes walk distance. Modern decoration and designs. Beautiful bar. We did have problem to get up because the bed is so comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    9.6
    Great location and amazing price for what you get compared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location and amazing price for what you get compared to other places in Zurich. It's marketed as budget hotel, but the room was very big and comfortable, the bathroom and all facilities were very clean. And you can rent some scooters for free to go around town!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    7.1
    Good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just a little comment on the toilet / shower room. I’m a very small person and the toilet/shower room was too small for me, so i can only imagine people bigger than me move their way around the toilet/shower room. I have no complaints though

    I enjoyed my stay. The room was very small but well appointed and very comfortable. The price was not too bad compared to other European hotels ana as Zurich being extremely expensive, hotel price is acceptable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I know it's supposed to be a budget hotel but a kettle wouldn't go a miss.

    Staff excellent hotel in a great location and very clean and tidy. Bar area was nice and rooms are a good size just what you need for a few nights stay. It's in a quiet part and since Zurich is pretty small you can get everywhere quickly even by foot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    9.6
    This will be my hotel for future visits to Europe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the modern, clean design and the high ceilings in the room. Thanks to the nice design and good layout, the room, although small, did not feel cramped. The hotel could not be located better: in the heart of the financial district, close to the shopping and the beautiful old city and the lake, The breakfast was great,, the service courteous and efficient. And the price was very reasonable. What's not to like?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    9.2
    The lounge and bar area are attractive and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room overlooked the courtyard where people smoked. Groups of people talking there off and on all night could be heard in the room.

    The lounge and bar area are attractive and comfortable. Good breakfast at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A refrigerator in the room would have been handy for medication. The air conditioning worked on the first day but not for the rest. We resorted to opening the windows.

    The staff were very professional. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    9.6
    We would definatly reccommend this hotal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar and bartender were SUPERB. The Room and beds were wonderful. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was EXCELLENT. and...great Kaffee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.8
    Thank you so much for making our short stay memorable......safe , relax and gentle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is better.... things could be more better if they could set an electrical kettle / coffee/ tea and a refrigerator. at least facilities to make your coffee.... other than that everything is simply beautiful... Home made burger place and the bar next to hotel also a benefit... the best BURGERS....

    The colours and interior design made me feel so relaxed, happy and cool.... Bed is so comfortable... long length heavy curtains given a majestic look while protecting the coziness of the room... everything is perfectly done... after a long day ( excursion/ sight seeing) you feel you are at your cozy home... in centre of the ZURICH ... walking distance for lake... opera house. city centre.... finding a nest... is SUPER.... only last minute i noticed the beautiful setting in there back yard to relax , to have nice chat.... beautifully done area... but i missed it.... the interior design of the whole hotel is the most attractive thing i found.. we defiantly stay here.. if we want to stay in the city centre....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.8
    Overall impressed and would pick this place again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom small with limited space to dry oneself after a shower, and with the room overlooking a courtyard and therefore itself over looked by other rooms on the other sides we had to keep the curtains closed during the day because these were no net / day curtains

    Welcoming staff. 24 hours cafe / bar. Good location. Decent sized room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    3.8
    poor front desk experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    poor location ,very bad staff on reception sami and Daniel are worse Sami didn't know how to deal with credit cards and he let me waiting 40 min, I was so tired , they should had training first before dealing with customers ,and The other one Dainal he was very very rude and un polite lady staff was better room are very smelly and too let are not well cleaned . far from metro station .

    bed was comfy but room was smelly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.5
    Modern and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No coffee & tea or fridge in room. Shower causes bathroom to flood. Glass screen has gap under it. 😡

    Modern and comfy. Lovely facilities - lobby lounge, bar & resturant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    Enjoyed the bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bit more varieties of snacks.

    Your Bar Staff was fantastic and very helpful!! Dennis, Fatih, Paulo and other staff members of the bar, who's names escape my memories right now, were awesome!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    Ideally located in the old town within walking distance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really couldn’t find anything we didn’t like about the hotel. It describes itself as a budget hotel so things like tea and coffee in room which we would have liked are not provided. But not expected at the very good room rates we paid.

    Ideally located in the old town within walking distance of the lake a main attractions. Easily reachable from the airport (30 mins) by train and tram. Extremely friendly and helpful staff on reception and beautifully decorated rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    10
    It’s a very nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    It’s a very nice place to stay. The hotel is in a building however when you enter into it you will find it’s a designed and very charming place. The hotel is located close to the center. Easy to find restaurants and shopping mall.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed Zurich and our stay at Motel One!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit of a walk from the train station, but we enjoyed the walk. We could have taken a taxi if we had wanted to.

    The facility was newly renovated and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was expansive and delicious. The staff were welcoming and anxious to meet our needs. We enjoyed the room, the lobby, and the staff. The staff provided two excellent recommendations for restaurants, where we enjoyed dinner during our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    10
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Better than expected. Comfy room and bed. Good value for money given how expensive zurich is. 24 food and drink service. I didn't have an adaptor and they gave me one for my stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing!

    Stayed here for one night after going throughout Italy for two weeks. Motel One Zurich was one of the best hotels we stayed at during our entire trip. I was a bit concerned when, after booking, I saw online that they were referred to as a “budget hotel,” which was again reiterated by hotel staff when checking in. I was a little nervous but this hotel was great! The rooms and common areas are exactly as pictured online. The room was immaculate, from the dark carpet to the white tile in the bathrooms, everything was spotless. The hotel is huge and there was a large group from a conference in town, but we heard nothing from our room at night. The location is great (close to tram stops, and a grocery store), the staff was great and there is a legit bar downstairs that is open 24 hours a day. I could not recommend this hotel enough!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very large hotel... we had the furthest room from the lobby and it was pretty far!

    Our room was nice! Very clean and stylish. The bar was also nice... we had a few drinks there and enjoyed them! I would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great with Motel One Zurich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great with Motel One Zurich. Staff were very helpful and nice, suggested us restaurants near by. Location was fantastic, didn’t even need to take a taxi throughout our whole stay, we were able to walk around everywhere. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.6
    Absolute Bargain!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    When you book at Budget Hotels, you look for bare essentials; but in essence you are getting luxury of a mid-range hotel at an absolute bargain. Rooms are comfy with all essentials. Few mins walk to the Central Station and the main squares - you wont need to worry about transport. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.6
    Trustworthy & reliable sums up Motel One rather nicely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As is usually the case with Motel One, breakfast is not a particular forte. I would suggest visiting one of the neighbourhood cafes or bakeries instead for your first meal of the day. Traditionally, rooms are not particularly spacious but still quite comfortable and accommodating.

    Motel One's mission to provide good quality accommodation in the very heart of European cities at reasonable rates is perfectly exemplified by MO Zurich. While certainly not the fanciest hotel in downtown Zurich, this is a nice place to stay, especially when planning a short city break. The hotel does not feel low-budget in any way, despite being quite attractively priced in comparison to accommodation elsewhere in Zurich. The old city, main street shops, the lake, as well as a number of Zurich's gorgeous parks are all within walking distance, and access to the hotel couldn't be easier, with numerous trams stopping just around the corner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.2
    Great modern property with comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a no-frill hotel, but is very modern and has a chic look to it. It looks like it has been remodeled recently. The rooms were very modern, clean and comfortable. There is no room service, mini bar or even a phone in the room, but that was not an issue for us as we never use those amenities anyways. The location was good. It was a quick ride from the train station, about a 20 minute drive to the airport (no traffic) and a 10-15 minute walk to old town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room is located on the ground floor. It’s very confusing that we had to take the lift to 1st floor and then walk the stairs down to the ground floor.

    Room is very clean and moderate. Location is convenient with buses just around the corner. We arrived around 11am and the staff allowed us for early check-in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was quite expensive for what you got but it was nice.

    Perfect location and the room was nice and clean. The bed was large and comfortable and the shower was strong and powerful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Close to everything, very comfortable room and modern, air conditioning. Great breakfast with a lot of variety. The pictures you see on their website is exactly what you get.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    This hotel is fantastic!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For me - nothing!

    This hotel is fantastic - they tell you at check in that it's a budget hotel and therefore doesn't have a mini bar or restaurant - these are both things that I personally don't require. The hotel is a sure fire 4 Star, great breakfast for about £15 pp and great restaurants close by and a short walk to old town. Was recommended to me and I will also definitely recommend. Staff are exceptional!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable Caffeine free :( stay in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    access to tea/coffee in the room (or in the foyer)

    I know that this is a "low cost property" - but access to coffee/tea in the room was sorely missed!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are a bit small, no refrigerator or coffee machine available in rooms. But as the reception explained, for a low budget hotel these services are not available.

    Cleanness, nice staff, comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    10
    Cannot think of a single negative about this hotel. Great choice for an expensive city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was excellent.

    This is a remarkably impressive hotel in the budget category. Staff is friendly with superior training. Rooms are extremely comfortable and quiet for sleeping + functionality (wifi, shower, safe, etc). Excellent re-design of an historic post office. It is a few extra steps away from the most famous tourist areas, but plenty of trams or simple walks to get there. Upside is plenty of interesting more affordable restaurants in the neighborhood, plus a Migros supermarket with take-away down the street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    The hotel was so cute and stylish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was so cute and stylish. It appeared to have been recently remodeled. The bar and lounge on the first floor was a great place to relax or hang out. The room had everything we needed and was very comfortable!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect modern and central location for your Zurich visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the juice at the breakfast bar was a bit watery so maybe the machine should be checked? Nothing else to complain about :).

    The location is perfect and close to great restaurants and points of interests! The hotel is pretty new and very modern. I see people compare it to a Marriott or other 4 star properties but this concept is different. No mini-bar, no phone on the room. All questions go via the front desk and if you want a drink or to eat something you can do so at the bar that is open 24/7....with many choices. We had drinks there in the evening. The reception, bar and breakfast area are always fully staffed so it was good to see the visibility of staff. A total recommendation for your stay in Zurich

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    Nice location, 15mins walk from the HB station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice location, 15mins walk from the HB station. Can walk to reach most of the destination. The room, facilities, and staff are GREAT. Really enjoy the staying.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    5.8
    Hotel was expensive for 5 days and did not include breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Bath. Could do with a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities. Also iron and ironing board. Very basic room could do with dressing table and mirror to put toiletries on as bathroom is tiny. No restaurant.

    Location was good plenty of trams beside the hotel. Beds and pillows were comfortable. Nice shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.8
    Pleasantly surprised - good vibe and design
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee maker in room would be great. More food options or a list of nearby restaurants would be convenient.

    I was pleasantly surprised. While the hotel doesn't have frills like a restaurant (they do have a bar and breakfast) or coffee makers in room, it was modern, well decorated and convenient. I didn't get to enjoy the outdoor area but it was beautifully done. While I like a few more conveniences when I travel for business, I'd stay here again for a personal trip. Oh and breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.1
    Good stay, with some minor caveats.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom is functional, but very small. I mean, not so small as to be uncomfortable, but very little space to put your things or hang clothes. Very few English channels on the TV (which is the case for most European hotels). Breakfast is not worth the extra money, just walk to the nearby restaurants or coffee shops and have a super breakfast for one third of the price.

    The standard room was comfortable, but small. The windows can be opened, which is a plus for those that like to sleep with fresh air. The roads are quiet, so no chance of having your sleep disturbed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.5
    Clean, nice, streamlined motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about. Not the best value for money I suppose but it's Zurich - maybe it is good value for money by Swiss standards though,

    You get exactly what you pay for. Very streamlined and very professional motel. Clean, small, all the basics in place. Bed - comfortable, windows - soundproof, bathroom - clean and practical. I especially liked the sustainability aspect - i.e. there was one big soap bottle, not the one-use ones wrapped in plastic. Good wi-fi.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay in center of Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee/tea in the rooms would have been nice.

    Very clean, recently renovated hotel. The lounge areas and the bar were wonderful. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is just simple and standard.

    The staff are very friendly. They even gave us free drinks at the bar due to the birthday of my partner. The express check out is good and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.6
    Overall great value near the best parts of Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were spacious and comfortable, though the bathroom design was a little strange. Bar staff was extremely sociable and knowledgeable about local spirits, and made for an excellent experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant Hotel bright modern decor and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Limited catering facilities, would be enhanced with more than just breakfast availability

    Very pleasant Hotel bright modern decor and very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location to Lake and Main shopping area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    9.6
    Loved location, staff and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish there was an inner hotel phone system...to call front desk or friends in other rooms

    Liked the modern feel, simplicity, small but very efficient bathroom...very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Motel One Zürich Traveler Photo Gallery