Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mövenpick Hotel Egerkingen 4 stars

Höhenstrasse 12, 4622 Egerkingen, Switzerland

#1 of 3 hotels in Egerkingen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 576 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • SLEEP Queen
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is located in the city center such a great location you can walk just about anywhere

    It’s such an interesting hotel all the rooms I’ve stayed in our nice clean and comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that the waiters were already cleaning during the breakfast at 10.10 - 10.30

    I loved the pillows and the bed !! So comfortable !! The bathroom is beautiful !! The restaurants are very very good !! (restaurant is a little too expensive). Wonderful breakfast ! It is very silent during the night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like passing a strip club on the same street as the hotel. It’s stuck between the classy hotel and a grocery store and is very out of place in my opinion, but I never saw anything bad.

    The hotel is very nice and well done. The staff was extra friendly and spoke English. They set out a water bowl and a bowl with treats for our dogs along with towels just for them. The room was very comfortable and clean. It was a little small for a family of 4 with 2 dogs, but it was just fine for one night. The bedding was comfortable and it was a quiet hotel. The location off the highway was convenient. The views were beautiful. The coffee in the room was very, very good! The hotel chocolates were delicious and a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Is really sad that I must as guest pay for hotel parking and for example why is not included in room price , you must pay extra and visitors has 2 hours for free; Chaotic restaurant.

    good place , nice view from hotel , nice staff, near to city and atractions .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's ok.

    It's the second time we were here for a few days. Everything was as we expected, we will come back with pleasure whenever we have works in that region.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • SLEEP Queen
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to absence of thermostat in bath room during shower experienced very big changes in shower temperatures from cold to very hot! Many locals like the restaurant and bar, no place for hotel guests!

    It was low season, so very quite room. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking cost 7 CHF.

    The hotel is very conveniently located near the Autobahn, but up on a hill and away from the noise. The staff were friendly. The room was comfortable. We brought our dog, a lab, and had no issues.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park has lots of Tesla charging stations but only one for other electric and pug-in hybrid cars. And that one has no Type 2 plug = cannot be used for majority of non-Tesla, electrical cars. I made that comment already at a previous stay but nothing has improved since. Bar was closed even though supposed to be open until midnight. Breakfast room was very crowded.

    A nice, large hotel, well maintained and well managed. Close to the motorway but not noisy. In the middle of greenery with nice view until the alps. Extensive breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. Efficient check-in and check-out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant very good but expensive . You have to pay to use their car park - but hotel is located up a hill and it is no use to anyone else).

    Very friendly FO staff. Also the italian girl at the bar in the morning who served me the coffee was very friendly., and the personal talk in italian language.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not like the fact we had to pay for parking - a very large car park and in my opinion if you are staying there your parking should be in with the room price. I understand charges for visitors

    Visiting family so location is excellent, rooms were very clean and comfortable and staff were extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our children (9 and 11 years old) were a too old to use the lowered sink and toilet in their half of the family room which would is perfect for <6 year olds. The hotel may wish to check the ages of the children and allocate rooms differently.

    Excellent location for visiting Bern, Zurich and Basel assuming you have a car. Great breakfast with good selection and high quality food. Parking was secure and included in price with a number of charging points for electric vehicles. Room was spacious and hotel quiet. Good service from staff at reception. If you have hot weather like we did, a great tip for the family at the end of the day after tours Swiss towns is to go to the Strandbad at Olten and let your kids enjoy the diving pool and even swim in the river.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way overpriced! We drove extra distance simply because the room was air conditioned, so that was nice. For the price, you would think breakfast would be included, nope. That was very expensive as well. You had to pay to park. The room we selected was larger and had a larger bed than the one we received. The bed only had one pillow, lol. We had to call the desk to get an additional towel and pillow. Again, why just one pillow and towel in the room? The staff we nice but I would not repeat.

    Parking was easy. HOWEVER, you have to pay to park in the parking lot. There is a gate to get a ticket. To make matters worse, this is not a shared parking lot with another business, this is solely for the hotel, which is insane. It's not like the hotel is in a city center with no parking. The bar was open late and they have good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wellness. Fitness center in the basement with no view.

    Very nice staff. Great bed. Slept very well. Liked that there is a fitness center. Good food Mövenpick style and a lovely view from the terrasse.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed comfort was so so. also there was that weird smell in the room, like chewing gum. probably an air freshner. I would have preferred to rather have no smell at all. I opened the window but that didnt help too much.

    Very friendly FO staff. Also the girl at the bar in the morning who served me the coffee was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to be careful of the room they give you : if you ask for a quiet room, they will put you at the back BUT avoid at all costs rooms on second floor above the kitchen areas as they are extremely noisy till late at night !!!

    Nice staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiting time at the restaurant in the evening was a little long, given the fact that we counted 4 waiters and only 15 guests in the restaurant incl. ourselves.

    Beautiful and clean room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserved room with two single beds but only available at arrival was with a very narrow double bed. Paid a nice price for the privelege not to be able to sleep.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for a stopover en route through Switzerland. Very easy to access from the motorway, but still very quiet. Very helpful and friendly welcome.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, ONE pillow on bed for two people, ONE bathtowel, NO toiletries but a stupid rubber duck is provided (in a room with no bath!). Guests would prefer cotton buds and shampoo/conditioner in their bathroom to a useless toy duck. I cannot believe this is a 4* hotel.

    Can't think of anything to recommend

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ..Restaurant very good but expensive (and price of a bottle of water was ridiculous!). You have to pay to use their car park - but hotel is located up a hill and it is no use to anyone else).

    Options for free alternative pillows very useful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather expensive

    Nice and comfortable next to the motorway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booking and final invoice was´t 100% same like parking is free for Hotel clients and breakfast fees 3 category.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No thing

    Every thing excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To change room at check-in (10pm) because bedsheets and pillows were not clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff, very good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast buffet, very comfortable familyroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lonely place, could room

    nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be cleaner. Room are small.

    Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive breakfast. No free parking available nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very noisy and I couldn't sleep either of my two nights. I don't recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No pool.

    Comfortable and spacious room, wide selection of foods for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet room and very good restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Swiss perfection!! Room, breakfast were great and of high quality! And very friendly personnel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tesla Supercharger and amazing breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in seventh heaven with the salad evening buffet and breakfast buffet! Beautiful outside terrace for enjoying evening drinks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in fact a single room with a French bed. No space on one side of the bed and no light switch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good comfortable motel, close to the highway before the bifurcation Gotthard-San Bernardino. Faraway from the centre,but it hosts three restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke smell in some of the rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very friendly, very clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 pillow per bed & duvet not even big enough for 2 children :/

    Great food, quiet, good gym

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soap except for bottle to squeeze at a height well above the reach of any normal human being whilst in the bath

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although good Expensive breakfast

    Clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic 2 Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is the only item that's too expensive. The mattress is a bit hard and scratchy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast overly expensive. Paying for the parking when no other options were available...

    Good comfort in a classic movenpick hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, pillows, bathroom

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception took 260CHF upfront from my Amex account -'as a reserve' - but this showed as a confirmed payment on my statement

    Good views and plenty of parking

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stuff at reception asks additional fees /150 chf plus/. If i hadnt money for it , i could sleep outside. The employee wasnt very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking was not free of charge.

    Location: Close to the motorway, but very quiet. Perfect for a stop-over to your way to the south. We had a junior-suite, which was very spacious, with 2 bathrooms. Good bed, everything was OK. Staff was very friendly. Dinner was very good, but as it was Switzerland, it was expensive. But our son received a voucher for a free ice-cream in the restaurant and it was a very good one. Breakfast: you could choose to have the buffet, or order an egg-meal at the table.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You really need a car to get here. Public transportation is no option (which was no problem for me this time).

    Staff did everything to make a (very) early check in possible. Room space and quality of bed perfect. I had a full work day in the hotel using the free Wifi and available coffee facilities. The pasta restaurant offers value for money

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a bad experience, but the prices for breakfast are a bit high for what you eat.

    In general terms, a clean and friendly hotel with very comfortable accomodations.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Excellent location, very quiet. Close access to highway. Shops & restaurants close by. Confortable beds, excellent food, friendly staff. Liked everything.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    A little bit pricy

    Very nice fitness room, cosy beds, good restaurant

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I don´t pay 26 sfr for a breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Best what you can get

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    NA

    everything was perfect

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy neighbors, smell of food in the corridor, because of food brought in.

    Location for the purpose of my trip

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I do not expect mold between the bathroom tiles and at the showerhead, especially for this price in a Movenpick hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were initial given a lower grade of room to the one we had booked however this was quickly corrected after I raised the issue.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast buffet was expensive, paid parking in a hilltop hotel

    friendly staff even at late check in, beautiful room at excellent price

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a very nice day when we arrived and there was no pool or outside lounge space

    The choice of places to eat

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All was great

    The staff and the room

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cost of Breakfast, slow wifi that drops all the time

    Staff, location, views, cleanliness

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Guests also reviewed these properties: