Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Murtenhof & Krone 3 stars

Rathausgasse 1-5, 3280 Murten, Switzerland

#6 of 14 hotels in Murten

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 402 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel in Murren with great restaurant options and outstanding hiking and activity options!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great!

    Great location in the mountain village of Murren! Nice breakfast buffet and helpful staff. Really enjoyed the area and using gondolas to get there and up to the top of the mountain!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    We had a warm welcome and a most enjoyable short stay in this lovely hotel in beautiful Murten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the restaurant staff were still undergoing training - polite and friendly, and efficiency will hopefully improve. There was a jazz band playing outside our window which made it difficult to have a relaxing evening.

    Excellent location, nice room and good food - a really good breakfast buffet. We were pleased to have a room fan and underground car parking as the weather was extremely hot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish I had known to ask for a room facing the lake view. Our room faced the street and there was quite a lot of traffic noise. It was hot and we had to leave the window open. It did stop later in the evening though.

    The breakfast was fantastic, best so far in Switzerland. Fabulous views, Facilities all good. A place to safely store our bikes under cover.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.4
    Great little old town to visit.....sleep somewhere else.....I recommend Bern!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel isn’t air conditioned and the concentration of outdoor bars and restaurants in the immediate area make for a difficult combination. The room was much too hot not to have the windows open and the loud parties didn’t end until after 3am. When the last of the party left, they sang the Macarena strolling down the street.

    Location is convenient for touring the old town area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel with kindest staff in a pretty old town by the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room space was just adequate and bathroom was very small. This was compensated by the comfortable bedding and the views, as well as the renovated bathroom facilities.

    Beautiful hotel in a very nice little old town on the lake side. Staff was extremely kind, friendly and helpful before and during the stay. Dinner at the hotel restaurant and breakfast were very good, enjoying also the magnificent views of the lake. Room was nice with a great view, though not so big; the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was very small, but well equipped. The hotel has its own closed parking (on payment) and a few parking spots on the street (for free); there is also a public parking nearby, but it is also possible to park on the street, if you buy a ticket.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Incredible lake location in old historic village of Murten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there during heat wave, only $$$ suites have AC, but staff got us a fan.

    Incredible lake location in old historic village of Murten. Great breakfast, helpful and friendly staff. Amazing room and roomy bathroom. Near Avenache Roman ruins and museum. Easy walk from train station- we will definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. Superb and ample breakfast to suit all tastes and restaurant also excellent. Very comfortable nicely decorated hotel, great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    All our needs were accommodated. Great breakfast, great comfort. We will go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant has a great view over the lake, unfortunately, in the evening the restaurant room is reflected on the glass window and the view cannot be fully appreciated.

    We had to leave the premises early on Sunday, and the hotel allowed us to have breakfast much earlier than breakfast time, and all was fully prepared for us! We particularly loved the lounge - great range of complimentary teas and coffees in a very comfortable sitting room. We stayed hours to chat here in the cosiest atmosphere. Staff is very kind, they made us feel as part of their family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay in charming quiet central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very basic and because of the CHF exchange rate seem overpriced for what they are. This is obviously a problem for the whole Swiss tourism industry, not just the Krone.

    Good central location and easy to unload outfront even though the road was being resurfaced during our visit. We arrived late and so none of their own parking space was available but parking in the local City park 100 yards away was easy to find and make work with a special hotel rate of CHF 12 per day. The staff were charming and the stay was enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    after a several city trip, we enjoyed a comfortable stay here and felt relieved to be warmly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient location; clean, cozy room; elevator; beautiful view of lake; excellent breakfast (beyond expectations); welcoming hospitality throughout our entire stay. Restaurant meal for dinner was fabulous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice place that is what it seems to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good for what it is and quite comfortable overall.

    Nice location and view of the lake. Wi-if worked well, TV was good and plenty of channels. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel in a good location but they charge very high prices for tap water at their restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very disappointed that the restaurant charged 8 swiss francs for a liter of tap water (because I did not drink alcohol for religious prohibition reasons). There was no charge for tap water if you drank alcohol. I have travelled extensively all over the world and I have never been charged extra for water because I did not drink alcohol. I thought this was unreasonable and they should change their policy or at least make the cost of the tap water reasonable.

    Excellent location. Nice hotel. Friendly staff. Beautiful views from their restaurant overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    A short break in Murten
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The safe had a mind of its own and you should remember it has a time action delay if you take too long to enter the code. The air conditioning was not quite as effective as it should have been but it was warm throughout our stay. A taxi is recommended if you arrive by boat at the quay as it can be quite a climb with luggage.

    A friendly hotel in the main and the staff on reception were extremely helpful and courteous. We were upgraded to a suite which was spacious and comfortable with a great view of the Lake. Breakfast is well served with a good range of produce. It is ideally situated and is an easy walk from the train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice place but challenging parking
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice places. Friendly staff. Nice room. But parking your car in this area is very challenging

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Reception staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drink prices very high

    Reception staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    View from the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the restaurant. Solution for bike parking. Welcoming staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice place, nice staff, outstanding scenery, but aircon missing in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room definitely too warm

    Super helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place - we will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is not as good as you should expect it Missing a bar / lounge are for the last drink

    Great place - we will come again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    We loved the ambience of the old hotel and the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the ambience of the old hotel and the restaurant was outstanding. Great location inside the city walls.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice view on the lake
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit small.room

    Nice view on the lake

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic breakfast with amazing view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.5
    Nothing special - except to be at the center of Murten which...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special - except to be at the center of Murten which is a very nice small city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Exellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Lovely town with wonderful accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very slow to wait on us. And, then, slow to let us pay.

    The view was pretty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    4.6
    Everything just seemed a bit shoddy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything just seemed a bit shoddy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    I was enjoying my stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    location and hospitality

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.8
    Nice stylish Hotel in the Heart of the lovely little City of Murten
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice stylish Hotel in the Heart of the lovely little City of Murten

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.2
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view across the lake from our room cannot be beaten. Nice meal at the hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Excellent Hotel in the Beautiful City of Murten
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful view of lake. Delicious dinner at hotel restaurant. Good sleep. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    6.7
    Brake fats amazing, very very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old fashion room, bathroom very very old. We need to pay an extra to have the lake view

    Brake fats amazing, very very good. Great food well displayed

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    10
    Loved the location, the very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room and bathroom were a bit small.

    Loved the location, the very helpful and friendly staff. The view of the lake was amazing and the breakfasts were so delicious while enjoying the lake view. We had a delightful dinner on Sunday evening in the dining room, which is a great contrast to the rest of the hotel. Try the tartar!

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    8.3
    Very good breakfast with fresh orange juice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No dark curtain in the room.

    Very good breakfast with fresh orange juice. Although it is a little "old-looking" in the common areas, this is not bothersome. The hotel is clean and feels familiar.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    4.2
    Located in a nice old town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurant or bar open in winter. Bedroom is of a type you expect in a 2 star hotel. It has the 1980 comfort instead of 2016.

    Located in a nice old town

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    8.3
    Friendly and helpful reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was old with little charm, the room would benefit from new furnishings and paint.

    Friendly and helpful reception. Room on second floor had wonderful lake view, was clean and comfortable enough with an updated bathroom. The included breakfast was fine.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    8.8
    Great place for tourism wineyard, cycling and running around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pictures of the room let believe of a boutique hotel but it is really standard design Restaurants around are really pricey

    Great place for tourism wineyard, cycling and running around the lake Room with a stunning view on the lake

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.9
    Very nice staff, amazingly huge room, very nice bathroom,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The look of the stairway is very poor, should look much more exciting to fit the gorgeous external look of the building.

    Very nice staff, amazingly huge room, very nice bathroom, stunning view at the lake.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    8.8
    Loved the view and the location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My bed was too soft / had a hole. Probably would'nt have been a problem had I not already had a sore neck.

    Loved the view and the location. It's literally right next door to the castle, overlooking the lake.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    We liked everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One small comment: My mattress had a definite depression which made it hard to be comfortable on my side. This was in 357 and the mattress was nearest to the bathroom. I think it's time to replace the mattress.

    We liked everything!!

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    8.3
    Fantastic location in historic town centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shame bar and restaurant in hotel closed in winter. Even though bars and restaurants nearby many are also closed mid week.

    Fantastic location in historic town centre. Good restaurants nearby. Hotel well equipped. Room was great. Staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful breakfast with a great view over the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful breakfast with a great view over the lake. Old town location with a lake view. Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.2
    In the very heart of historical Murten with magnificent view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the very heart of historical Murten with magnificent view on the Lake.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    9.6
    Location within walled village of Murten was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location within walled village of Murten was perfect. Parking on grounds and excellent 4 course dinner in their restaurant a plus.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    10
    Very nice buffet breakfast, beautiful views of lake from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice buffet breakfast, beautiful views of lake from terrace, breakfast room and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    Hotel staff were excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Hotel staff were excellent! Restaurant was wonderful-our waitress was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    7.1
    Excellent buffet breakfast, beautiful lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel outdated, room stark

    Excellent buffet breakfast, beautiful lake view

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    8.3
    Great location, lovely view, friendly staff, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, lovely view, friendly staff, good food

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Wonderful roo, fantastic dining, and helpful staff with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wonderful roo, fantastic dining, and helpful staff with great personalities!

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.6
    Excellent staff and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner menu was pricey.

    Excellent staff and service. Great room with view of lake. Great location in center of village.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent location. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.2
    Fabulous view overlooking the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous view overlooking the lake

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    9.6
    everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: