Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel National Zermatt 4 stars

Matterstrasse 39, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

#73 of 350 hotels in Zermatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 286 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing :)

    We were upgraded to a larger room which was nice surprise at the end of a long walk on the Haute Route. Also given a free drink at the bar, and Toblerone on leaving. Swimming pool was a reasonable size - didn't get to try the sauna/massage area. Good central location, close to the Sunnegga funicular, the main shopping street & the railway station. Breakfast had lots of options, including a cooked meal & you could have as much as you wanted. Nice view of the Matterhorn from the bedroom window. Good price for all the facilities, especially in Zermatt !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent hotel with view of Matterhorn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could be warmer.

    Comfortable family room. Excellent breakfast buffet. Staff very polite and helpful. They were very accommodating for our dog. Someone always brought him a bowl of water. The hotel is directly across from the cable car to Sunegga so it is perfectly located for hiking, etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Hotel staff was attentive to our needs and could anticipate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Things can always be better..... but if you cant point out any major inconveniences faced, id say thats pretty good .. pls keep up the good work. OH Yes.. only 1 suggestion.. if there could be a few more options for vegetarians .. in breakfast...

    Hotel staff was attentive to our needs and could anticipate our requirements over the 2 days. simple things like breakfast choices or the receptions staff providing the info required. i applaud the management for instilling such care and concern in the team.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Welcome drink, staff, great location, excellent spa,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of a tower crane in front of Matterhorn, not expected when booking online (room type "Matterhorn view ") 3-course menu (39chf) below expectations (chicken, rice and red beans , probably catered for a group of japanese tourists)

    Welcome drink, staff, great location, excellent spa, cleanliness. Few points to improve, not far from perfection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Fitness room was convenient but small

    -Great quality of service -Awesome breakfast -Very clean Wellness center (sauna, hamam, jacuzzi) -Dynamic massage was very good -Good restaurant -View on the Matterhorn

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful time in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My 2 children loved their own bedroom in the loft, spacious room. Cleanliness is good, and we enjoyed the pool and spa facilities. Can’t fault the location, just a stone throw away from the Sunnegga station for skiing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Had a great time and will return here again when we come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A bit more variety on the dinner menu would have been nice, but they even packed us a going away box lunch for our early departure. Wonderful place.

    This place is great to spend a ski holiday. Location is amazing, hospitality, comfort, and charm. This place has it all. The breakfast was wonderful as was the pool and spa. Definitely recommend. View of the Matterhorn was amazing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    It has been wonderful, and plan to go back as soon as possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was nice

    Excellent hotel, service excellent, rooms confortable, spa excellent, food excellent. The kindness of the people at the reception and all over the hotel is very appreciated, they are always ready to help

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    nice hotel but too expensive. very nice staff, all of them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Jackquzze and showers in the gym was much lower in quality than expected from National hotel, water in jackquzze was not hot, no person to help or assist . not any place to even hang the towel in the shower area and gym. expected much more in these area close the gym and jackquzze too early.

    Breakfast and staff were both very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Many thanks to the receptionist team Leorea and Trace sry if...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options were limited from my point of view.

    Many thanks to the receptionist team Leorea and Trace sry if spelled the names wrong but they made us at home. Good restaurants recommendations from them as well. Thanks to Alexis for taking care of us at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Memorable and comfortable with charming friendly staff who really go the extra mile.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were a bit thin , not very soft and fluffy . It would have been nice to have a buffet of deserts and cheeses for dinner rather than just one for the table d’hote menu.

    Pillows were superb soft and full and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel with friendly staff in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The sauna etc didn't open until 3pm - I wasn't skiing so would have been nice to be able to go in in the mornings while the kids were out.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Everything was done quickly. It was just across the road from the main entrance to the trains and ski-lifts so very handy for the kids (who were skiing). We were picked up and taken by the porter in their electric car when we arrived (taxis can't drive into Zermatt) and left so transfers were easy. It was maybe 5-10 minute max walk to any restaurant in the town. Breakfast was good with a varied choice. We had lunch a few times - definitely recommend the club sandwich. Kids loved the skiing and all agree that we will be going back next year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    they provide shuttle to and from the train station, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    they provide shuttle to and from the train station, the staffs were friendly and helpful. the hotel location is very good, walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, right in front of Sunnega Station. our family room is very comfortable, not to mention the breathtaking view of Matterhorn from our balcony. And the breakfast every morning was the best we had in Switzerland.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    I booked this hotel based on the reviews I had read.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel based on the reviews I had read. I am happy to say this was a fantastic pic. The hospitality was 100% and I have not one complaint! We were trying to get there only to find out the train had been suspended due to all of the snowfall. Andrea at the desk kept in constant contact with us regarding how to get there… We had to stay in Brig the first night because no transportation was available and Andrea found a hotel for us and booked our room. (No charge for missing the night in Zermatt) It couldn’t have been any easier. Furthermore she directed us to finally arrive by helicopter 70$pp, so fun! We had a wonderful stay!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    This is an excellent hotel offering a very high standard of service in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is an excellent hotel offering a very high standard of service and excellent facilities. It was also in a perfect location in the village near the lifts and transport but also very quiet in the evenings for uninterrupted sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent and will recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walking distance is a bit further from train station. But there is transfer to train station when we left. Certainly a plus point. TV has no English shows so there is nothing for those who could not understand German and French.

    View of Matterhorn is perfect if you get the right room. Reception is courteous and helpful. Welcome drink and hot face towel were pleasant surprise. Espresso machine in room was great. Balcony was nice with relaxing chair to view the Matterhorn. Slippers and bath ropes were also really great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Overall happy with the hotel and would be happy to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half of the wellness centre was closed while we were there. Also rooms too hot (apparently a problem with the heating that is going to be fixed next month).

    5 minute walk into main town street. Right opposite lift to sunnegga. Very nice food at hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None!

    The hotel was very nice. Staff very helpful and friendly. Hotel was about an 8 min walk from the train station but the hotel also offers pick up from and drop off to the station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    They charged in my credit card aproximately USD 30,00.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They charged in my credit card aproximately USD 30,00. I don´t know the reason and they didn´t tell me in the check out it was being charged. I had spent just one night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Best peaceful place to stay with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Specialy and the most thing got me is the kindness from the hotel Manager who was so helpful with the guests and the all staff starting from the Shattle driver from the terminal station to the hotel and the other staff in the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel close to the Sunnega lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dining room could have been run a little better......what happened to the excellent Llorent? He used to run the dining room very well but appears to have left?

    Very good location right at the Sunegga lift Excellent Bedroom Excellent Breakfast Excellent Spa

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was big and clean but a bit 'old style' . Train passing by but was still very silent despite really very close.

    Great location, very central, everything walking distance (shops, restaurants, train station) and right in front of one of the 2 ski-way leaving from the village. The staff, including the manager, was amazing: so well prepared, genuinely there to make your stay absolutely perfect in every moment, and always smiling. A big well done and thank you to the full staff. Common areas, bar, restaurant and spa definitely nice, cosy and high level. Breakfast had great variety of stuff and all very high quality. Was just a long weekend but we felt it like a real holiday thank to this place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    8.8
    Ski vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant too pricey, even for Zermatt. Not excellent and we paid a full price buffet but we're told no more hot dishes available. This was a very low point.

    Best location and great helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    7.5
    Far too expensive for what is on offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not good value for money. The rooms are dated, although the bathrooms have recently been republished. The decor really needs updating. Also make sure you don't get a room facing the railway track or like us you will have to deal with noise from the railway line from after 5.00am.

    We liked the restaurant and the waiting staff. We also liked the wellness center.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.2
    Super enjoyable stay in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, a little bit of renovations would be nice, especially in the room. It is very clean, the tv is great but the carpet and the style is a bit oldish. No big deal.

    The breakfast is amazing and the staff super friendly. The spa is great. The ski facilities are very good and the location just in front of the gondola is incredible. It is also 5 minutes away from the train station and the city center.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    8.8
    Great location at Sunnegga base
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could benefit from some upgrades. The keys are large and heavy so a bit annoying to deal with but not a huge deal.

    Our room was a good size; note that some panorama rooms are on the first floor so the view was not exactly what we were expecting. Facilities (bar/ lounge area, breakfast room, etc) were nice. Spa was a nice added bonus after skiing. Location can't be beat, especially if you are planning to ski at Sunnegga (the lift is across the street!). Double sinks in bathroom a bonus!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel but resort is now becoming so expensive it is beyond the reach of most people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of buying anything in Zermatt is now becoming ridiculously expensive and soon only millionaires will be able to afford visiting this resort

    Standard of service at hotel was top class - cannot fault it

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was luke warm, room was very hot and no top sheet.

    Our stay in zermatt was amazing! The hotel added an extra night for us at late notice at half the price advertised on booking.com. staff are all very friendly and will do anything to make your stay wonderful. Room was big, cookies were a nice touch and we even got a little box of chocolates on our way out as a honeymoon gift. Views were amazing! Highly recommend

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Location was excellent and the staff was very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids bed were not comfortable

    Location was excellent and the staff was very friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Awesome Experience. Clean, Big rooms, Awesome view from Balcony, Breakfast and very nice reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    All good, but quite expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Staff service mind, welcome drink, bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff, the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful breakfast!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing, informal. Fab location for accessing the ski slopes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    swimming pool could have been warmer

    Friendly staff, location, food, big room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    SPA
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bathroom size

    SPA

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    As expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine

    Good beds. Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.7
    Over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t find it value for money

    View from room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Friendly staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staffs. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful! Will return to Hotel National Zermatt for future visits!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Clean rooms, great service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Central, near the chairlift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Central, near the chairlift. 6 Star vide of matterhorn from your own room. Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    foodExcellent for break

    transportation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    view was awesome, staff was extremely helpful, room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    view was awesome, staff was extremely helpful, room was spacious and convenient. pod espresso maker in room. excellent service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    Good trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa , swimming pool is vey poor and small

    Staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Very close to train and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to train and pool.spa out of order

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Service, wonderful Barbeque evening

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice place in Zermatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpfull staff! Good food, great view from the balcony and a nice pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Staff are so friendly , excellent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Staff are so friendly , excellent view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Replacement of included room service items could be without...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Replacement of included room service items could be without request.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.9
    Great traditional hotel even if bit dated accomodatiob
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room bit dated

    Staff, location, restaurant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    The location was terrific!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    6.7
    Hotel staff all very nice ! Would return there if rate a bit lower . Nearly $500 was very high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pricey and my son's bed was extremely hard and he did not sleep well

    The spa was enjoyable , breakfast very good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    The room is nice and people are very nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is nice and people are very nice and helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great area for after the day activities with Sauna, pool, spa, and various cold and hot showers and foot baths. Across the road from ski lifts

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast and the spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very friendly

    Breakfast and the spa

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    should have more vegan options in the restaurant menu

    ambience & friendliness

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot and bed was uncomfortable.

    Convenient location. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.6
    Great restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant! Chef is doing miracles with the traditional cuisine.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.6
    Location, staff and spa were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food and complementary breakfast were good, but could be improved to a 5-star level

    Location, staff and spa were excellent. After a full day of skiing, there is nothing beter than a v short walk back to the hotel and a full spa treatment. The fact that the spa is included in room rate and the quality of it really makes the holiday!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    The proximity to the ski lifts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    NOTHING!

    The proximity to the ski lifts The superb staff The ski room and the complimentary ski services the buffet breakfast AND more and More WE liked Everything!

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    10
    We liked everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We liked everything about this hotel. We sent our luggage from Zurich airport train station to Zermatt station the day before we arrived. We informed the hotel and the bags were in our rooms we got to to the Hotel National. On our arrival we were collected at the station and delivered to the hotel. We were warmly welcomed with hot towels and a welcome drink of our choice. The rooms are large, with very comfortable beds and wonderful views of the Matterhorn. The cable TV has a reasonable number of English speaking channels which included one with films. The swimming pool and spa area is beautiful and so relaxing. Breakfast each morning was an amazing feast. The food was very fresh and varied. The staff is the highlight of this hotel - everyone was incredibly friendly and attentive, without being intrusive. I would like to thank Mike and his team for the attention they gave to my daughter after injuring her knee while skiing (not seriously). The staff made sure that she was cared for appropriately. I hope we can return to the Hotel National again. This is a truly beautiful hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    8.3
    Availability of welcome drink, spa and massage services, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The in room deco has not been modernized to latest standard.

    Availability of welcome drink, spa and massage services, and advance arrangement of ski coaching services. Close proximity to train station and ski lift.

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    9.6
    Super friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was a bit limited and by 10am the eggs tasted like plastic.

    Super friendly staff. Impressed by the "sock washing" and "boot disinfecting" services. Unique and goes above and beyond expectations.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    There was a hanging heart on our door that was a welcome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although we did actually have a view of the Matterhorn, it was obstructed somewhat by another hotel - can't win them all!

    There was a hanging heart on our door that was a welcome sign when we arrived. Reception was super friendly and helped with our luggage. Great to have a balcony. Very clean and modern with robe and slippers and nice toiletries. Can walk to the hotel from the train station. We were out for the day and when we came back the lights were dimmed and our beds turned - I was really pleased by this! We left very early the next morning and were given nice breakfast bags. Would very highly recommend this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    This was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It seems nudity is allowed in the Spa (seems rather common in Spas in Switzerland), which may be a problem for many cultures I am sure. If this is a problem for you, I suggest you confirm this with the hotel before booking!

    This was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, hotel is well located near the center of the village (5min walk) and across from one of the main gondolas. We loved the facilities in the Spa, with Jacuzzi, saunas, heated pool, etc. We can’t wait to come back!

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    First the location the panoramic view from your room.
    • Family with young children

    Only one thing like other hotel bus they don't wait for there guests at the station u have to call and inform them then they will come.

    First the location the panoramic view from your room. The staff was very corporative n friendly as my daughter was at ease with them. Rooms were clean and tidy.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    9.6
    We got a room upgrade to a lovely duplex suite - which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A minor point - too many and confusing lighting systems which took some investigating to work out how to switch off.

    We got a room upgrade to a lovely duplex suite - which was fabulous - and had a good view of the Matterhorn. The staff are very welcoming and looked after us very well. The bar and sitting areas have invested heavily in sheepskins. The hotel is very convenient for the Sunegga and Gornergrat uplift systems - though not for the uplift to the ski area above Trockener Steg, so I tend to choose it for summer rather than winter visits.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    We just stayed overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We just stayed overnight. The friendly welcome and the ambiance made us feel at home right away. We did enjoy thoroughly the wonderful spa area and an excellent massage. Early morning we got a clear view of the Matterhorn from our balcony.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    9.6
    The receptionists are very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The receptionists are very friendly and helpful. Location of the hotel is really great and only few steps away from the Sunnega Bahn. Soon after we arrived, welcome drinks were served, and my husband really loved their coffee! All amenities are amazing - from the spacious and well-maintained room, to the relaxing garden terrace, as well as the lovely indoor pool. This hotel has truly made my husband experienced luxury in his special day! All the best Hotel NZ!

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    Excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Maybe if a pack is provided for guests with a list of all the English channels. I had to trawl through over 300 channels to locate them/

    Excellent breakfast! Couldn't get enough of it. Great customer service from all the staff: they made me feel welcome and valued. Nothing was too much to help with. Frits, chocolate and water provided free of charge as well as transport to and from the station. English channels available though signals could be lost sometimes. I really enjoyed staying there.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    I took my mother to celebrate her 80th birthday in order to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None.

    I took my mother to celebrate her 80th birthday in order to make her wish (to see Matterhorn) come true. For our surprise, the room was upgraded (provably for this special occasion) to the suit room with the best view! This hotel has got everything; good email communication, good location (good access but quiet and best matterhorn view from the rooms!), tasty foods (we enjoyed "swiss BBQ"), great facility, excellent cleanness and great comfort but the best of all was their unbeatable warm hospitality!! No doubt,Hotel National is the best hotel in Zermatt and we thank them to give us such a beautiful memory.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    The bed was super comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food selection in the restaurant.

    The bed was super comfortable. The spa part of the hotel is very nicely done. The attentiveness of the staff was outstanding! Best service received in Switzerland ever. We will surely come back!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    We really enjoyed staying in Zermatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We really enjoyed staying in Zermatt. It is the best choice to stay in the Hotel National Zermatt. Fabio from the front desk is really really helpful and friendly. He always greets us with his lovely great smile. He always preforms professionally. Once we arrived the hotel, he gave us very good suggestion to visit Gornergrat for the lovely afternoon. He is a really good staff of the hotel. He answered our questions patiently and clearly. Thanks so much for all the staff from the hotel. Looking forward to stay in Zermatt in the future.

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: