Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Olympia Hotel Zurich 3 stars

Badenerstrasse 324, Aussersihl, 8004 Zürich, Switzerland

#114 of 121 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1737 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Paid WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No air conditioning so closed window blinds during day and used room fan at night due to high outside temperature in June.

    Very close to two tram stops with direct service to the main railway station and city centre. Area has numerous restaurants and supermarket across the road. Self service breakfast (extra charge) was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - no room service - Hoping they can offer a transportation cards

    - the location - Fan inside the room for the hot days - Room furniture - Internet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "Street view" room was extremely noisy. No air conditioner. The cheap fan was broken and working like propeller aircraft. We didn't use it at night. Our room was very stuffy and bad smelled. Also the pillows were very thin and uncomfotable. No glasses. No soundproofing at all. There was limited space in the bathroom.

    Good location. Tram stop and supermarket are in a few steps. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotels in this region are all over priced so it`s difficult to "score" in the UK or most other Countries this standard hotel would be a third of the price cheaper

    Staff were great , location fine , room comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No A/C in room. Only small and noisy Fan. Room needs renovation. A lot of noise from the street and from other rooms. Receptionist not very welcoming. No luggage storage Breakfast poor (but cheap)

    Location near the tram. Bathroom was small but clean and comfortable. Clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noisy room due to thin walls ; basically you can hear neighbours talking and on busy street with cars and trams.

    Good location, clean rooms, fair price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately , there is no any utensil in the kitchen. If some utensil and hot water pot can be provided , this place would be an awesome place to stay.

    Nice Apartment with 2 bed room , kitchen and big bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was there in late May and it was 25 plus degrees outside. The only ventilation is in the bathroom and the room gets really really warm.

    Close to tram/bus station and the room is clean in general.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little hard. Only a 15cm mattress on a solid wood base (not even slats). Breakfast was excellent - but we were not able to try it the first morning and see if we liked it - we had to decide sight unseen on booking in for all the mornings we would be there. Bit of a risk - but it did turn out okay.

    We were very pleased with our choice of Hotel Olympia. Easily reached by tram (15 mins) from Zurich's main train station. There are a supermarket, takeout food and reasonably priced restaurants within easy walking distance (5 mins). The hotel breakfast is optional (extra cost) and very good value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel a bit far from the city center but there are several trams next to the hotel. My room looks at the street despite my request for a quiet room.

    convenient transport to the airport, tasty yogurt and jams at breakfast. free fruits and candy at the reception. wifi is paid but there are a free PC at the lobby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not to easy park the car around for a long time(more than 2hours), hotel has only 6 own parking spots

    Extra space and terrace, 3 minutes to the tram stop and grocery and cafe

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As such nothing was bad however room n bathroom size were bit small. Overall very good hotel and will surely stay again if will plan for Zürich trip

    Perfect location.. 1 min away from Tram station .. very informative and friendly staff .. Indian travellers can find Indian restaurants nearby :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really rude. Room was not ready untill 2 pm. When we questioned the staff at the reception, he was quite rude and told us he can’t help it if 68 people check in at 11 am. Ironically we were the only one checking in at that moment. I would advise hotel manager to advise its staff to have some courtesy towards its customers.

    The property is really good. Linen was great. It was quite spacious. Property is quite close to supermarket , tram stop and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are not at all well maintained. The photos were certainly deceiving. They could certainly use some thorougher cleaning. And Wifi not being complimentary but requiring 1 CHF? Unheard of!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the wifi. You have to pay for each account you use. Not necessarily expensive but tedious.

    Surely the room. Spacious, clean and good looking. Location was really nice as well as it was really close to the tram station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not included and no kitchen/cooking facility. Not even a kettle for making a coffee/tea.

    Large living room and a nice balcony to sit outside. Outdoor seat would have been perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The experience is good,clean room with good facilities,the location is 15mins tram away from the main train station, some staff do not speak English,but the service is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room's carpets could do with some TLC. There were some bottles and cigarret buts left in the balcony

    The breakfast was very good, staff was very friendly and the variety of food was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room might have been a little on the small side, but we were looking for a clean convenient place to stay, not entertain the queen.

    Not the Taj Mahal, but a good value for the price. Within 1/2 block of local tram station to get around economically. The staff practically walked us to the connection and this made getting around Zurich very easy and saved a ton on cab fares. The bathroom was very roomy with a large shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some shelving projected into the rooms at adult head height...need to be careful. Windows didn’t have restricted opening so need to be mindful if you have young children . No cutlery nor implements nor crockery if you get a kitchen with your suite.

    Only 4-5 mins by tram to the Main Zurich HB train terminus by tram. A CO-OP store opposite and a few other shops and restaurants close by. Good breakfast if required. Clean spacious Junior Suite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sink was outside the bathroom/toilet room.

    Great value for money and very useful location for the stadium where there was a football game we attended. There are also direct tram connections to the city centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! This was the best experience ever

    We really liked it that the hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff was extremely helpful. We could keep our luggage free of charge after check out and could even wait in the hotel reception until it was time for our bus. This really saved our day because we had a LOT of luggage and it was a rainy day. This is very unusual for a hotel and I highly commend the management and staff for these facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the location of the hotel walking distance to tram station and some restaurants . It’s quite expensive the rooms as maybe due to Easter but surely I will come back to this hotel .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was a bit dim at night and we were not used to it on the first day but it got better subsequently. Even though there was a kitchen, there wasn’t really any kettles or items that we could use and we had to go to the lobby to get hot water.

    The room was big and cosy with several rooms and a bathroom with bath tub. It had a kitchen and every room had a TV. This was good as it allowed us to have small gatherings in the kitchen during meals and the multiple TVs allowed us to watch the different channels that we preferred. It was relatively easy to get to the hotel as well and it’s breakfast and customer service was good. Moreover, there was a convenient store opposite the hotel which made it convenient for us to buy things that we needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish that fridge and a water kettle were in the room.

    Size of the room and bathroom. It was clean. Breakfast options were good. Wi-fi worked nice & fast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Had a night stop over in Zurich and found the Hotel close and very easy to get to the Airport..just 30 mins by train and bus. Also got an upgrade which I appreciated and loved. Very clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given 2 single beds instead of the requested double bed and were unable to change the room when this was reported. When checking out The receptionist (a man with dark hair going grey) was extremely rude and spoke quite aggressively, it was stated that we had not paid when checking in despite this not being the case and then he criticised his colleagues, there was no apology or professionalism.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff are ok but some of them are very rude, we were about to go out for sight seeing, he stopped us and said that “ you have to give the key to me every time!!!” And when we checked out, we ask them that can we pay by credit card? The staff at that shift said that “ cash, card, whatever I don’t care, up to you, for us, money is money” that’s very rude! It’s not funny at all, the hotel should train your staff to respect the customers more!

    Close to the tram stations, very good location and easy to find the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms were very small; it's very difficult to move inside ( for example not enough space between the wall and the bed and the bed and the window..). The wardrobe in the rooms (single and double) is tiny!!!! Wifi isn't free...and it's incredible!! I stay in different parts of the World and everywhere (also in the hostel) it's free. There are no safety boxes inside the rooms. The car park is in the street and cost 25CHF a day and the Property, if you need one, impose you to sign a discharge of responsibilities.....My uncle forgot to buy a bottle of water and want to buy in the Hotel: at first they asked 9 CHF for it...he doesn't have CHF but only € (euros) so at the reception they asked to pay €10 told him that was the policy of the Property.

    The cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested for double bed as me, my wife and five years old son. We were three but they gave us two single beds.That was so uncomfortable and you must provide Microwave oven,electric kettle and toaster.As we were family so these basic necessities must be provided.Otherwise everything was ok.

    Staff was very cooperative and friendly.Easy approach. Easy to go anywhere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't realise they were going to pre-authorise my debit card so I pretty much paid twice as the money won't be back in my account for another week. This is the only hotel this has happened while being in Switzerland. Location is quite far from the city and most sites.

    Big spacious room. Great value for money! Warm and cozy with a lounge and a fridge. Check in isn't at 11am though (booking.com isn't correct) it's at 1-2pm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a very shabby property with very poor insulation, you can all the time hear noises from next to you, room above ur room. No one can sleep in this hotel, Poor property, Poor services

    Nothing,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was extremely cold in the night and the heating was off almost all time. in the morning we woke up because of the squeaky floor of our upstairs neighbour - i was 100% sure there was someone sneaking in the room, so loud was the noise. parking costs too much for a place on the street, you should pay for internet, even if only 1 chf, but still, come on! the last raisin was the fact that the terminal for credit cards wasnt functioning correctly. i saw three rejected cards in a row, so we ended up paying in cash in euro, 20 euros more than it was expected at the moment of booking. when i came home the next day i saw that my money are still put on by the hotel and i had to call and specifically ask to solve this problem.

    relatively clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The underground parking is 2 streets away from the hotel. There is only one key for the parking, so I needed to go back and forth with the key everytime when I needed to go to my car. The lavatory is in the room and the bathroom is really small.

    The hotel and the room was really clean and perfect location for my needs. The receptionists are freindly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When i had a booking issue with them through here - and called them to make sure the issue had been resolved - the lady i spoke to was totally unwilling to assist on the phone. It was an issue that would have taken no more than 1 minute to solve and confirm but she kept saying that i have until 6pm or my booking will be cancelled. Upon calling Booking.com, they contacted the hotel and resolved it all but wasted far too much time. Shower/Toilet is very cramped and the shower curtain barely contained the water which went under the door and onto the carpet in the bedroom as the door had a 1in gap at the bottom.

    The hotel is only a 5-10 min walk from the Zurich Hardbrucke train station - do not try using your phones map to find the walking directions as it sends you in a much longer direction. You can walk straight down the main road and take a left at the tram station roundabout. The tram stop just outside gets you into the centre in no time at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware of the cash payment. The hotel exchange rate is 1usd or 1eur=1 chf. They told us that our bank card,/with which we granted a resertavation/ is invalid /may be in order to pay in cash/and when we came we pay with the same card,which was accepted by the hotel post terminal .

    The hotel is located on 15 minutes travel by tram to the old center. In 50 meter is located the tram station, on which there is cash desk for buying of ticket to the town of Zurich and surroundings. The car parking is located on 150 meter away on the hotel, but there is a possibility to park for some minutes direct in front of the hotel for check-in and taking or leaving of luggage.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no free wi-fi in the room The rooms are quite small and the carpet is quite old

    The staff is really friendly. It's easy to get there with the tram U3 from the Central Station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is certainly room for improvement: - I was missing some vegetables for the breakfast. - The heating was not working very well. After pointing to the issue, the personnel was not of much help (they advised me to turn it on, which I of course did) - noise: trams under the window on one side but what was worse: noise from other rooms during the night (somebody was watching a sport game in the TV) - I'm not sure if it makes any sense to change the towels every day

    - A relatively good price for Zürich. - Clean bathroom and shower. - Very close to the tram stop - Friendly staff - Coop (a grocery) just on the other side of the street, open until 22:00

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was farther from the train station than we realized and we ended up using the tram to get back and forth to the city center and that added to our cost for the stay. Not really within walking distance especially with luggage.

    Older property but quite adequate for our needs. Unremarkable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet was extremely small, which made me feel a little uncomfortable. Washing sink is located outside of toilet which is quite strange. The room was arranged in an illogical manner (TV is put in the corner instead of right in front of bed). It is located quite far from city center.

    The beds were comfy, the price was very good (given an expensive city like Zurich), the hotel was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not so comfortable, rooms small, but the location, staff and breakfast made up for this. Everything was very clean.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Decent breakfast for a budget hotel, and good value if you pay the night before.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel room was noisy had two hours sleep the first night the person in the room above was making a lot of noise, reception asked him twice to keep the noise down however he did not, the floors are floorboards and therefore the noise is very bad. They moved us to another room however still in the room above a lot of noise was heard. We recorded this. Booking.com do not really help and wish to solve the issue. The Manager at the hotel give us a slight reduction but this does not make up for the lack of sleep and upset this caused.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially we were told wifi only in common areas but the solution was to buy a data card. Turned out to be satisfactory.

    Central location Convenient store nearby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slop for luggage transfer in the entrance of the hotel, nobody assist with the bags transfer! Very noisy, you can hear the voice of next rooms. TV channels are so boring.

    Good location with good breakfast, near to public transport just 150 meters from tram stop no. 2&3. Internet was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You have to pay for Wifi, except the Indian guy who was at the reception the others had no empathy, little rude some times. No weighing scale to way the luggage for an immergency.

    It was a convenient location and the room was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Location is only around 3km from Central Bus station and can also be reach by tram. Tram shelter only 200m from the hotel. Room and breakfast are good! staffs friendly. I like the way it is

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I opened the window on to the side street, traffic noise was noticeable at busy times. Free wifi was not included with the room cost, but was available for CHF1.

    The hotel is located on a busy road about 10 minutes by tram from the Zurich railway station. The lake & old town area were easily accessible by tram. There are restaurants nearby & a Coop supermarket just across the road. The helpful check-in person allocated me a quiet room with a window on to the side street. This hotel was very reasonably priced when compared with other hotels in Zurich. My room had a comfortable double bed, spacious ensuite bathroom, & luggage storage space, was very clean & proved to be an economical, & convenient place to stay in Zurich.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed had bedbugs! We had to get antistamine cream to ease the itchiness and swelling from the bedbug bites. The reception agent was very unprofessional. We booked a room type labeled "Double bed or two single beds" and he gave us two single beds. We asked if there was any room with a double bed available and he started saying that his job is to fix our mistakes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room was not comfortable.

    I choose this hotel because it was cheap. Its location is good. But the double bed in the room was a small one. Room was also small. The sink was not in bathroom but near the bed. room was not comfortable but enough for 2 people. I don't suggest this room for a couple with a small child.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedrooms could be sound proof. My room was close to the elevator, we could hear people in the other rooms, maybe from different floors, we could hear the cars in the street. The bathroom is super small, toilet and shower in the bathroom with sink in the bedroom. If you are big you will have problems changing your clothes in the bathroom. A little far from the city center, but close to public transportation.

    The receptionists were very kind. A little far from the city center, but close to public transportation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A general face lift of the rooms

    The Hotel is a little bit dated, But other than that it was great. Our room, number 50 was excellent. The staff were great too, thanks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked the apartment in this hotel assuming I can prepare fresh breakfast/ tea/ coffee in the morning. But the hotel didnt offer any utensils or crockery so the kitchen is useless. Hotel is expecting the customers to bring their own utensils even if you travel from abroad which is ridiculous. Secondly, it was cold in the month of September but the heaters were switched off. When I requested to switch on the heaters, the lady on the reception refused to do so saying this isnt a winter time in Switzerland and I shouldn't feel cold. This property is quite old and has got lot of insects like spiders. I wont recommend this property to anyone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are specious enough. Easily acessible through public transort as its on the main street. Tram no 3 from Main station is running every 7 to 10 minutes so reaching hotel is no problem at all. Overll nice stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No aircon, but would probably normally not used. The weather was extremely hot, the 2 little 15 Cm desk fans provided were not really doing any good.

    The location and the price for this hotel was excellent considering the high cost of accommodation in Zurich. It wasn't the latest and greatest accommodation, but it was clean and spacious. The breakfast was of high standard

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No free WiFi, CHF 10 breakfast not worth it, no bread, bad coffee, faulty toaster etc. They have to improve their breakfast big time.

    location (as it was pretty close to the main station)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We are a family of four with college-age children. We checked in late but were happy to get the room on the top floor and it was good for the four of us. The location is not in the center of the touristy area, but it was close enough. There is a Coop down the street which we walked to at night and felt very safe. Our room had had a nice view and two bedrooms. The hotel is older, but the linens and bathroom were very clean and that is the most important thing to us! The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The front desk was cordial. Breakfast was available, but we had to catch a flight. It was a good value for a night in Zurich.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast may be include more items

    It's a good feeling that staying at home, very worth staying for 4 adults, toilet and both fecility very spacious and comfortable living room with kitchen complete fecility, totally awesome

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was just overnight staying and Cristina upgraded me the room -single to double, that was great, because I spend most of the day in Zurich , returned to the Hotel late evening , very tired, took the shower and enjoy good movie on modern flat TV. Bedding was just amazing, will stay here again if I 'll be in Zurich again. Irina P.S. Candy near the reception - nice tasty.

    I didn't pay for breakfast in the Hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You need to arrange additionally for WiFi access. It takes around 25 minutes to reach the center on foot.

    The receptionist was really nice, as if he came straight out of a comedy movie. The room was tidy and clean. It takes you 25 mins to get to the center on foot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The settee was dirty. There was no kettle or fridge. Staff weren't very helpful and not that approachable. The balcony was dirty and had no chairs or a table to use. Restaurants nearby were of poor to average standard and did not appear to cater for gluten free or other special dietary needs. The hotel is located too far from the centre of Zurich and train station, therefore cost us a lot in taxis. We will not be returning to this hotel.

    The shower was good and beds were clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great family rooms, super friendly and helpful staff, clean and close to public transport. Have stayed many times at this hotel and will stay again!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee was a poor standard the walls were thin so it was easy to hear my neighbours in the next room

    The bread was very good, croissants very good friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Far from the central train station. Very noisy all day and night. There was no conditioner, and it was hot in the room, because you couldn't open the window, because of the noise.

    Big and comfy room, with a small kitchenette. Clean bathroom, comfy bed. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit out of the central area, but worked just fine if you got a car. The room is just fair for the price we have got. There was a kitchen for our family room, but the kitchenette had to be asked from the reception, could be nice to have them ready in the the room.

    The Supermarket across the road is huge and nice, so you can find something to eat. The staff is helpful. The car park is right at the doorstep and convenient. Anyhow, we got suggestion to look for the public parking space in front of the hotel which is FREE after 8pm till 9am. We found one and did not have to pay for the parking at all! Great! Thanks for your nice suggestion^^ PS The welcoming swiss chocolates at the reception was a really nice treat ^0^

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a little warm (around 30C) and it had no ar conditioning (only fan).

    The hotel is well located, close to tram station. Bedroom is good also, well distributed. Breakfast is paid separetely but it is totally worthed it!! Very good!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedre Værelse. I feel that I was cheated, because the I expected much better rooms and facilities for the amount I paid: CHF 155, 144, and 78 for 3 nights!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, can get VERY HOT in summers. No tea/coffee facilities. No extras, what you pay is what you get. Internet is 1CHF a day.

    Value for money. For the price it is ok. Location is great, 10mins tram to city centre/Lake Zurich/Bahnhofstrasse/HB station. Several Tram goes right past the property and nearest stop is 2min walk away. Supermarket Coop right opposite. 2-3 eating joints/pubs/restaurants within 3mins walk. Residental neighbourhood on the street next to property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reduce the breakfast rates ! They should give it as complimentary.

    The rooms were a tad too costly but were neat and clean. Good staff , especially the lady at the reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strongly recommend the management to teach some customer service mannerisms to the Male Reception Manager who was very rude, non-informative, non-accommodate & biased & discriminating based on nationality for anything that we asked. Check-in time was 11am & we reached around 1pm and he still took 1hr to check us in claiming rooms not ready and finally gave us rooms on 2 different floors although I had wife, 2 kids and aged Mother with me :(

    Absolute clean bed sheets (dry cleaned) and well kept hotel facilities & lady reception Manager at night who was kind enough to warm & give milk for my infant son & hot water for the tea in the late evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We requested a change of room..very small bed against a wall,stuffy and noisy.The staff were helpful and a suitable room was arranged

    The location near tram stop and supermarket across the road

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad area, maybe unsafe, very noisy, this should have no stars and certainly not 3 stars, old smelly building, more like a dilapidated motel! How come Bookings totally misrepresents this hotel more than the usual.

    Large

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very small, and the room was a little on the hot side. Breakfast looked to be on the expensive side, so we skipped it.

    Good location, right on two tram lines.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very unkind staffs. I think they do not know the way to greet with customers. They tried to withdraw the payment from my card in advance before my arrival. My card company said to me 'it is already approved', but the hotel said to me 'it is failed'. When I heard that in check-out, I am embarrassed and upset. As I have no enough time to catch a train to go to the other city, I think they should have told me about that in check-in time. Even though I swiped my card one more, I am worried if it is double payment.(I will check again after coming back home.) In the situation that I did not know what to believe, I felt a staff's attitude was rude, pusing me nervously. I think I did not nothing and no fault. I just tried to understand the situation during the short moment. I was really really angry and am also now.

    easy to catch a tram to the train station. clean and spacious room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Empty room,no fridge, no air-conditioning, very small room and the TV was out of work.

    It was horrible hotel I ever stayed.I wonder why this hotel is called *** because it deserves zero star.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid WiFi (3 connections for 1 CHF).

    Friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms, Coop opposite the hotel, tram/bus stop 200 m away (takes 20 minutes to reach Zurich BH station).

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Olympia Hotel Zurich traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: