Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Opera Zürich 4 stars

Dufourstrasse 5, Seefeld, 8008 Zürich, Switzerland

#35 of 122 hotels in Zürich

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1376 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Really loved Zurich! We hope to come back some day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior Plus
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area and hotel is mostly filled with business travelers rather than leisure. The hotel doesn't have a bar or even mini bar in room. You have to go across the street for a drink.

    The bed was big and comfy. The location was really good. Close to trains, trolleys and lake. We really enjoyed walking along the lake, it was so close. Quite a few restaurants and plaza by the Opera House was nice. The employees were very helpful and friendly. They couldn't be nicer. The bathroom and shower were good size.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    The front desk staff were very friendly and forthcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts are too small for 2 persons with big luggage. We had 2 medium size luggage and we had to cramp into the lift to go up. The bathroom is rather small but otherwise clean.

    The front desk staff were very friendly and forthcoming. The room was very clean and cosy. The 24 hour coffee, juice and candy at the hotel lobby was a very good gesture from the hotel. The staff were very helpful in answering all our questions and helping us out for train schedules.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    I loved the smart room where you get a mobile phone with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Smart Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have the smallest rooms I have ever seen in my life! A 14sqm room are you kidding me?

    I loved the smart room where you get a mobile phone with unlimited data and calls to Europe and some other countries, absolutely genius. Staff was very knowledgeable as well and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    A great stay in Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a bit hard but otherwise the hotel was very good.

    The hotel reception was excellent and they found an early checkin room for us at 7:00 after a long flight from Australia which was very appreciated. The location of the hotel is excellent almost in the centre of Zurich.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location! Location! Location! Easy and direct access to lake, Old Town, trams. Staff spoke good English and were very friendly and helpful. R,oom was clean , omfortable and a good size.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel Opera Zurich recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Superior Plus
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar in hotel but this was not a problem - one across the road in sister hotel.

    Excellent central location. 2 minute walk to lake and 5 minute walk to the old town. 20 minutes to airport vis tram and train. A very easy and direct journey. Staff spoke good English, were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Patrick (the front desk concierge) was amazing—knowledgeable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the rooms are split in two with tiny elevators for each (maximum fit 2 people with luggage or 4 people very intimately) Parking is cumbersome and expensive (35-45 francs/night unless you find free white zone overnight street parking)

    Patrick (the front desk concierge) was amazing—knowledgeable, friendly, and very helpful. Facilities in the lobby were very welcoming with a nice lounge, free coffe/tea, cucumber water, and candy. They also offered outlet converters to borrow free of charge. Bedding offered was one of the best we’ve ever had in a hotel of this range—clean, good quality linen and fluffy down comforters. The hotel is renovated but a little on the older side.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Worked out perfectly- very comfy & excellent front desk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff very knowledgeable about train travel and sights - also tips on transportation within Zürich. Liked 24-hour coffee and tea absilBle and nice “living room “ setting to meet with family etc

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as nothing

    Location is perfect. short steps to the Lake Receptionists are so professional and helpful I had a big room which had an amazing view of the Lake with the two windows station is not really closed to the hotel but not far as well walking distance of 25 mins passing through the lake and the downtown of Zurich Hotel honors put a lot of noticed effect to make it like home when u arrive there is coffee and tea for free in the lobby as well as refreshment

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Opera Zurich - the hotel that just keeps on giving
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Opera Classic
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked the culture of giving that the hotel provided. The free mobile phone was a very nice touch, and the size and standard of the TV was great. I especially liked the the helpfulness and the cheeriness of the staff. A case in point was I asked at the desk where I could buy local plug adapters and instinctively, I was loaned two from the desk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.8
    The staff were very helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding was not comfortable. The room is very small for its value given the way they advertised it.

    The staff were very helpful and kind. The location of the hotel was good (if you have a car). The hotel was very clean and neat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and extremely helpful staff. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast and room service were excellent with a good variety of options to choose from (including vegetarian and gluten-free).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Excellent stay close to the city center and Zürichsee, but dont take a car to get here!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is a bit complicated. There is a parking house close, but it is very expensive, and in the close area you have short term- max 2 hours- parking plots.

    The room was very eclectic, we really liked the clever home system for shades, lights and sounds, it was very easy to use. The room was calm, and clean. The staff was polite and always helpful. The breakfast was great, coffee-excellent, and during weekends you can take your morning meal until 12:00!:)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition was very hot And the pelow is flat vey flat more than flat was trouble Self service for the bags and luggage

    Location was perfect Clean Not bad at the end

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Small rooms - lack of fitness/ facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was overbooked, so they moved us to the “sisters hotel” across the street (also 4*) Very small room. No gym on site. Payable fitness option. No occasion to take a shower after Triathlon. “Couldn’t care less attitude from one of the staff members when asked shower options.

    Location very close to the lake in nice area of ZH

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Opera Classic
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room size is small room and bathroom cleaning need to be improved

    Location is excellent near the train station and the center mini bar is free friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Location, nice lounge with refreshment drinks, room was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift, got hit by the manual door a couple times 😔

    Location, nice lounge with refreshment drinks, room was clean, nice air conditioning during the hot days

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location - terrible internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet did not let us open an Google related websites such as Gmail or Google Maps on 4 different devices with different OS. This alone is a very good reason to never stay at the hotel. I need Google Maps more than anything on a vacation to plan my days. And they worked perfectly when we connected to other networks around the hotel.

    The location is excellent and the rooms are very clean and nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Unique experience with outstanding staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff especially the reception staff is amazing. The nicest lady upon knowing it's our honeymoon gave us an upgrade to a room with a lovely balcony and spread rose petals and flowers around the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Add more pillows. We only had one pillow.

    Loved the location. The restaurant at companion Ambassador Opera Hotel is among the best In Zurich. Great food and service. This place is a winner! Thanks, Lynn Lindsay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff at the reception is very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the breakfast room, it is to close to the entrance of the hotel and not really cosy

    The staff at the reception is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    The location of the hotel was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location of the hotel was awesome. Within walking distance to everything in the city. The room also included a smart phone, which made getting around the city easier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Overal very nice experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double bed a bit small especially since it was right against the wall.

    Location was great. Near train station, and nice neighborhood to walk around. Hotel was lovely and quiet. Staff very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Staff were lovely, room was spacious, bed was huge and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel isn't inexpensive, but then, no hotel in Zurich is inexpensive.

    Staff were lovely, room was spacious, bed was huge and comfortable, bathroom excellent. I wish I'd had time to go for a drink on the roof terrace.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not cheap, but what you’d expect for this quality in this location.

    Everything - great location close to the lake and city. Comfortable lounge, spacious air-conditioned room, excellent service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Our son’s graduation was the reason to visit Zurich, & This Hotel was perfect, & will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s nothing not to like!

    Great location, quick check in, very comfortable bed, would certainly go back again. Staff extremely helpful, quiet location even though it’s close to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed Zurich. There was a lot to see and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Supior room was a bit small and pillows were not comfortable. Bed was too small and against the wall. Made it difficult for one person to get out of bed.

    Location definitely a plus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely boutique hotel in a great location. Great price for Zurich, too.
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very hot when we first arrived in the afternoon, because of the full sun on the windows, but it was easy to cool down once we shut the electric blinds & curtains & turned on the AC.

    The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. Checking in and checking out were both quick and easy. The location is perfect: a block from the lake; just a couple of blocks from the Opera tram stop; and an easy three or four minute walk to Stadelhofen train station. Plenty of cafes, restaurants, theatres and shops within easy walking distance, too. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small, but the shower was great, and the products are quite nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    The hotel has been one of the best that I stayed.
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The not well functioning air conditioning and the bath room was rather small.

    The location is perfect, you can find everything nearby the hotel. The staff was excellent and helpful. Good breakfast. I can’t wait to go back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Location - proximity to to the lake - rooftop bar - quality of food
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Putting up a construction site next door

    Location sunshine facilities in the lobby Loved the free mobile with access to maps, timetables etc. Great roof top bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    location, proximity to the lake, superb weather
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Opera Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The construction going up next door

    Great coffee and tea facility in the lobby, location, free mobile phone with maps, timetables and so forth on it, roof top bar "THE VIEW", excellent food at restaurant Opera and good wifi throughout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Very romantic and central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was amazing!

    We stayed in Hotel Opera for 3 nights over the weekend and had an absolutely fantastic experience. We stayed in the smart room. I emailed the hotel in advance before our arrival and asked if they could make a birthday cake for my boyfriend as it was his birthday that week and they agreed to do it straight away without any hesitation. The room itself was amazing, we loved the coziness and comfort of it. It was great to experience the smart room which allowed us to change the lights to different colours in the room and to also turn on music to play in the background. The experience was so romantic. The staff were fantastic as well, they were always at hand if we needed anything and were always so friendly and professional. We also loved how we could avail of the free tea and coffee facility at the lobby of the hotel, this was a really nice touch! Overall, we had an outstanding and amazing experience at Hotel Opera Zurich, we would definitely recommend it to everyone who's looking for a nice central hotel in Zurich. Definitely will stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good location, nice and clean room with balcony,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air conditioner

    Very good location, nice and clean room with balcony, parking is not on tha place, but two public parkings available, in the proximity

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful stay in a high quality ambiance yet exuding a homely, unpretentious setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of any. the breakfast was a bit pricey, that is what we felt.

    We liked the general ambiance a lot, and also the great informality of the staff which gave us the feeling of repose we were looking food. The breakfast was on the expensive side, but the quality of what took were all uniformly excellent. The ambiance of the breakfast room as well as of an adjoining coffee room where very good quality coffee and tea were avilable throughout the day added to our feeling at home. Will certainly stay there in our next visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Very helpful personnel, close to many sights and activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air condition had poor performance in warm climate. Had to keep windows open at night, sirens and loud exhausts woke baby on more than one occasion

    Very helpful personnel, close to many sights and activities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Amazing location and very quiet at night so we could get...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps at the entry made it tough to get the suitcases in side. Should have a slope to make entry easy

    Amazing location and very quiet at night so we could get peaceful sleep at night after a long travel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    We stayed in the Smart Room the experience of the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Smart Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was poor compared to the it's price.

    We stayed in the Smart Room the experience of the room was really good. The room itself was clean and the stuff always willing to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Super location and excellent staff!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditionee didn’t work in our room and it was quite stuffy and hot unless you kept the windows open

    The staff very very good . Right by the lake and opera. Central to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    The hotel is in a good location, close to the Lake and Old Town and the #4 tram is around the block.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just avarage The staff was quite nice Fruit cheeses and breads were just ordinary and nothing in Zurich is inexpensive but the breakfast was the only thing about the hotel that was disappointing. Very nice front desk staff/helpful and sincere. Nice touch with complimentary coffee and tea. Pleasant and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Very nice smart efficient functions via ipad control.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Smart Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too cold. No late night room service.

    Very nice smart efficient functions via ipad control. Bed very comfy. Staff super helpful. Location cannot be better!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in a small but tidy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For being the second-best room category availabe, the room was rather small - wouldn't want to guess how small the 4 lower categories would have been. The Nescafé instant coffee could easily be substituted by far better nespresso/lavazzo capsules or similar.

    Comfortable bed, very clean and tidy, sound-proof and well-working climate control. Staff at the front desk is very friendly and the free orange juice and lemon water are additional and welcome treats.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    A lovely little clean and comfortable room in a fantastic...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I had, pretty as it was, had zero privacy in the bathroom. Just glass between the loo/shower and the rest of the room. So if you're alone - fine. If you're a couple - check first!

    A lovely little clean and comfortable room in a fantastic location. Very friendly and helpful service. Breakfast wasn't included in my rate, but I was happy to discover Tibits just around the corner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of you may find as no big deal, but I got upset when cleaning lady throw our Zurich guide away in the first day. Pillows are tooooo soft, even they have double pillow, still tooo soft. I expect at least one of them to be harder. Elevator is too tiny, me and wife and a cabin size luggage with carry bags were like cirque du soleil inside.

    Hotel is at good location next to Opera House. Everything is in 2kms radius which requires no vehicle. Room is big enough and comfortable. I'm almost 2 meters tall so size of the bed is important matter to me which gives no heartbreak I can say. I didn't use but this hotel provides you a cell phone with free calls and internet with a powerful city guide. And you can take it with you during your day. This is something cool for people afraid of roaming costs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Short but sweet visit
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival in the room, first thought was small. But the bathroom was so positive that the small room was not an issue. Breakfast was also good. Location brilliant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location , friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small as of the majority of hotels in Europe but clean .

    Location close to everything - Migros supermarket , the train station and tram are all a few steps away , front desk staff very friendly and helpful , special thanks to Derya , Angelina and Aura , they made our stay memorable .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, allowed early check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, allowed early check in. Great location and the 'Handy' phone which we could take from our room was brilliant for using the internet and maps while exploring Zurich. Excellent to have good coffee available in the lobby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    6.7
    We both liked the fact that it was close the centre of town and shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Superior Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinning staff were very rude when we first arrived that morning (had only just book in and were a bit hungry and they seem to be more in a hurry to but things away than allowing us to have a good breakfast.) they were much more friendlier for the rest off the stay .

    Enjoyed the coffee ,the bed was comfortable . The staff at the reception counter were very friendly and helpful ,a kettle in the room makes a happy wife (as she can make a coffee when ever )

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location of property, great value for money & the friendliest staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfy but the bed is a bit too compact for two people, like you can hardly sleep comfortably.

    The staff was super supportive and friendly. They had excellent recommendations for places to eat and went the extra mile to make reservations for us too. The location was a Big plus, everything was walking distance esp if you love to stroll by the lake. We stayed in the Opera classic room and loved the lake view balcony in our room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    The location is great ( a morning or evening walk/run...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great ( a morning or evening walk/run near the Lake is the best option). The staff were more than friendly and the room was nice and really clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    the area where the hotel is located, very central, close to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    the area where the hotel is located, very central, close to public transport, to the lac, to the center of the city, shops etc., large room and bed - everything excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    This was a return visit for me, but so convenient, just behind the opera house.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast at Sf 28 is quite expensive, but then this is Switzerland. No such thing as a cheap meal!

    Birchermuesli at breakfast! The rooms are comfy if not over spacious but there's a small balcony with chair and table, for use in spring/summer. Staff was gracious and welcoming. Perfect location just behind the opera house.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.5
    great location, very comfortable, disappointing service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at reception very disappointing, one person only working like a trainee. We expected that a hotel of this standard would keep a few tables for hotel guests at their restaurant and have some sort of service available until midnight, that was unfortunately not the case.

    Hardware impeccable, software soso... Comfortable rooms, excellent mattress & bedding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Best value for money of all Zurich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rarely I found a better value for money. Rooms were clean, complimentary stuff definitely appropriate and staff was very helpful. Breakfast is a bit expensive but of excellent quality. It can easily replace an expensive Swiss meal! Absolutely recommended to whoever travels to Zurich for either business or leisure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Poor nights sleep but otherwise nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and pillows were unbelievably uncomfortable! There was just 1, small pillow each which had no support, head just fell through. Woke up with terrible neck pain after a difficult night sleep. When we mentioned it to the staff at checkout, she just stared at me blankly and didn't say anything. The Handy-phone they put in the room beeps at random times at night (1am with a 'lets explore Zurich!') which is lovely, but not when you're trying to sleep...

    Liked the location and the room was well kitted out - the bathroom was super clean and it was nice to have a bath. Our room had a pretty nice view across to the Lake (through a gap in the buildings! so wouldn't be in every room) which was lovely to see in the morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice size rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had two rooms, one facing the street, one facing the parking. Both a bit noisy. The room and hotel, although charming, could be updated a bit. Pillows were awful, either too flat or too bulky. Lift on the old side of the hotel is very small.

    Nice size rooms. Good selection of English tv channels. Nice front desk staff. Good wifi. About a five minute walk to the old town, very close to the tramway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Great facilities, amenities and staff. The location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was too expensive for what were offered compared with other hotels in Zurich.

    Room facilities and amenities were high quality. The location was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Opera Hotel is elegant, friendly and comfortable with a modern TWIST in walkable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing! Loved all aspects of this property and next time when not alone, will just book a larger room.

    Love this hotel, and so did my cousin, a Zurich native, who visited me there. We were able to enjoy tea in the lobby and staff was helpful for assisting us for our touring day. Room was super small, but bathroom was very large and newly renovated. Bedding lovely, bed comfortable, and Mini-Bar was also nice. Hotel is very well located near Opera House so top restaurants and bars are walking distance. Airport is 13 kilometers, so plan 30 minutes to travel there from hotel. Also, bonus: they gave me a local telephone so I could call my family.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel in a great location. Ideal in every regard.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is delightful. It has an old world feel but with modern twists. The staff were incredibly helpful. The walk-in shower was fantastic. Breakfast was a delight. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.8
    The view was amaising.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Around 11 in the evening we discovered water dropping from the ceiling in the bathroom. It was unpleasant as it was not possible to wash teeth or to do other things in the bathroom without geting wet. We called the reception. They could not do more then to bring us more towels to put on the floor that the noise of dropping water does not irritate us during the night. At check out I was told that hotel manager will contact me and will offer some compensation. It was really not nice excpiriance. 5 days has gone but no one contacted me and I was charged full price.

    The view was amaising.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    An enjoyable stay with many good points ------ just spoilt for us by the "bed"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately we found the bed too firm and disliked having a waterproof cover over the mattress which made it very uncomfortable for us so that we were unable to sleep

    Friendly helpful staff and good situation of hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misleading description by Booking.com. The room was described as for 1-2 people. The hotel cosiders it a single, even having only one duvet, one set of towels, one pillow, and one drinking glass. One could not walk around the bed. The hotel had no suggestions for restaurants.

    Close to the Christmas markets and opera house, beth of which were beatifully lit. Also, close to transportation that takes one to other markets and the train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel near the Stadelhof place/station and close to restaurants and bars and the lake area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    No European sockets fit for my computer.

    The location of Hotel Opera for connecting to the train to the airport is perfect. 3 min walk to station and then 16min by train, every 30 minutes there is a direct train. Hotel also well located for area with Christmas markets. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Staff extremely kind and collaborative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready at the normal time of check-in (we had to wait more than 1 hour) but the staff did all the possible to help us enjoy our time waiting - and they succeeded :) the elevator is really tiny and old but just a detail, the rest is perfect for the price payed.

    Staff extremely kind and collaborative. Great location (100 mt from the Opera House and walking distance from highlights of the city). Comfortable bed and silent room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Recommended place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Opera Superior Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't need the free mobile phone with data plan that guest can bring out. It's a good option and could be useful for some. Maybe put that as an option and reduce the price of the room for those who do not need it.

    The location is great! Near the train station and convenient. There's a comfortable lobby to wait for friends, check-in and with some free refreshments. The staff were very nice and helpful. Good free wifi access as well with good connectivity

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    2.9
    Overall would recommend this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Classic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t great .

    Very good well placed hotel, excellent reception staff especially Cornelia, Breakfast not the greatest for s hotel of quality. Overall would seriously recommend it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    Warm,helpful staff with comfortable clean rooms in a perfect location for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were amazing, friendly and very helpful in respect of telling us how to get to the top sights and providing maps etc. In addition the breakfast is good and the rooms are very comfortable. We even got an upgrade which was both unexpected and lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice and cool.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    Again and again the team of Booking and the way you managed a problem I had with a reservation has been really NOT professional. Definitively a bad experience

    Clean, well equipped. The bed is fantastic as well as the furniture. The room is small but very cool. Team of the hotel polite and prapared.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable stay in the heart of Zurich. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    It is all you need: friendly service, comfortable rooms and very convenient location. Nothing luxurious, nothing below what you expect. I highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Great location, great service but you can have a good breakfast much cheaper outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were disappointed that the room wasn't ready when we arrived at 1330 and we were told we'd have to wait a few hours. However they gave us vouchers for a free drink at the sister hotel across the road. Check out was also slightly messy as they split the bill into three between the card I'd reserved the room with and that of my husband who was paying the bill - they did ask as we checked out which card they should charge to, so maybe technology is to blame? Everything else was great.

    Great location - there is a station five minutes walk away with direct train to the airport and two minutes to the main station,. The hotel is by the lake and five minutes walk from the Altstadt. Reception was very welcoming, but see below for check in comments. Room was light with plenty of storage and a safe; when we needed an ironing board late evening, it was brought up immediately. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as we baulked at the CHF23-28 cost - there is a great breakfast place 30 seconds from the hotel, called Tibits, with great food and service. Hotel offers free water, tea and coffee in the lobby and also in the room, which is a lovely touch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Would definetly come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place of the safe is too low, my dad stayed in the hotel as well and if you have back problems its not so comfortable to be leaning down every time to reach your stuff. And the fact that there is no courtain or actual door to split toilet, shower, room or sink. One small courtain would do I guess if you're travellingwith someone else than your couple. Everything else great!

    Everything was great! Location, staff and the design of the plce loved it! Great idea of the iphone to take around the city for guests to have internet, really comfy for couples!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Helpful staff, nice room, comfortable bed, great location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible pillows ! Breakfast expensive at CHF28, chose to eat elsewhere. Hotel is non-smoking but we had a distinct odour in our room.

    Helpful staff, nice room, comfortable bed, great location for Zurich film festival

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    A great find, staff wonderful , the smartphone feature was over the top. Perfect Zurich stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very helpful staff, superior buffet breakfast... A FREE smartphone with apps for the visit, with ability to make international calls, for free, a great unadvertised perk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    On the photo on Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Classic Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the photo on Booking.com shows that they have a restaurant at the top of the hotel. However the restaurant was on the next building. + it was not a restaurant, it was like a bar. There were not anything to eat, just drinks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, excellent staff and gorgeous room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Opera Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of the breakfast was very expensive, and thus I opted for eating in places around the hotel, which were more affordable and very good. Indeed, it is located 1 block from several bakeries and places that have coffee and tee.

    The hotel is perfectly located 5 minutes from the center of the city, which include main attractions such as the old town, boat trip and transportation access to everywhere in the city and to take trains to travel outside Zürich. Staff was very nice and the room looked gorgeous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    We planed just short " city escape" and have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Opera Superior
    • Stayed 1 night

    We planed just short " city escape" and have been surprised with upgrade to the best suite- spacy and with a nice balcony. Very nice and polite team members. Thanks Jessica for upgrade chance and very welcoming meeting. Coffee and tee in the lobby are really good. We could also stayed longer with late check-out. We'd love to come back, even without upgrade.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Opera Zürich traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: