Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Osteria Ritrovo dei Passeggeri

Via Vellano 16, 6583 SantʼAntonio, Switzerland

#1 of 1 hotels in SantʼAntonio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 194 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    The owner was very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is beautiful, but not easy to get to. The room was very basic and small. There is no option than to have Dinner at the hotel.

    The owner was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Over all it was a nice stay and enjoyed our selves.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was not working. I think we used up all the data. Could be that it was a mobile device that had a data limit.

    We arrived very late and was still there and got us all settled.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    unexpected finding for Bellinzona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked the friendly, informal and family-friendly atmosphere at the osteria; beautiful setting of the mountain village with lovely views; the original, natural and essential furnishings; we appreciated the care and attention directly from the owner of the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    This is a particularly unique accommodation.
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing I disliked. Admittedly, the property is slightly off the beaten-track but I travelled up and down to Bellinzona centre for four days; the average time was 22 mins. Well worth the trip also for the views!

    This is a particularly unique accommodation. The proprietor, in addition to be extremely hospitable and helpful, has a particular passion for sustainability and the retention of the traditional cuisine of the valley. You will not find any industrialised ingredients in the excellent dishes: all are composed of local produce. Whilst I was there, he was busy preparing conserves and juices from the fruit on the property. I had stayed at the Osteria during a period of back treatment in Bellinzona. The bed was perfect to suit my condition! One has to appreciate that the Ritrovo is an Osteria, so do not expect the usual large menu of a traditional chain hotel/restaurant The menu is limited but delicious. I stayed for three nights and was extremely satisfied. There are nice touches such as emergency provisions in the bathroom. I would certainly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    2.9
    Overall poor and overprized
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is poor, the beds old, the bathroom poor, the Food very poor. The owner charged five S,Fr. for the use of Maestrocard, which I never experienced before. Far overprized stay and food.

    THE matrasses were ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.4
    I would not recommend this place despite the great views. Too much of a pain to stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the expensive rates! It'd be better to pay more to stay in the town of Bellinzona. Driving up the hill to the place is windy, narrow and one lane wide at times. Difficult but manageable with a 9-passenger van. Parking was down the hill from the hotel, down a single lane, steep, narrow lane. The host was rather rude when showing us where to park saying "it's not that far of a walk". The only food to eat is provided by the owner and his prices are way overpriced for mediocre food. Again, better to pay more to stay in the town center and then have more dining choices. Owner was also very rude when checking out. The city taxes had risen since I booked my reservations and he was imposing the new rates. Not my fault that rates went up. I was supposed to be guaranteed the rate at the time of my reservation.

    The view from the terrace was beautiful. Rooms were small but clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Old hipster finds great spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have stayed longer.

    Loved the view! Enjoyed the company. Good supper on patio. Quaint village with water fountain on curve. Watched lightening behind mountain and the rumbling thunder was a symphony. Alan parsons project ok. Prefer Some older music! Luciano is a cool dude.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful view on the mountains and the lake, top dinner and breakfast, perfecto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed one night in this nice osteria, the view on the mountains and the lake is wonderful. We had diner and breakfast there, both were delicious! The people were really nice and smilling :-) It's a really good value for money place, try the breakfast and dinner if you go there, both are done with top quality local products.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.1
    nice location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi didn't work in rooms could hear the other tourists talk in their room bathroom wasn't clean room was too cold, they didn't heat at night even though the outside temperature was 5°C

    nice location very good food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    The perfect home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit harder to get but the view worth it

    This is the perfect place to stay in swiss. Luchano is the perfect host. He is nice , will help you plan your trip , will cook for you (try the cheese phoundo) and will provide all your needs. Room are desecnt and have a nice view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.8
    Swiss Character and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great host. Nice bed and room full of character. Home made food available on premises. Recommend the homemade osso bucco. Great atmosphere to chat with fellow travellers over a meal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    10
    Relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an accommodation with a style and character. Romantic and very quiet place with extremely helpful and friendly owner. It was really a pleasure to stay there although just for one night. We will certainly come back one day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    8.3
    Nicely restored pension with a perfect view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building is right next to the road. We had a room on the road side. Luckily there is not much traffic on the road, so we slept perfectly.

    Perfect view over Lago Lucarno, friendly staff, building nicely restored with eye for detail.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    9.6
    An oasis of peace and tranquility, a gem, a business that deserves more visitors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a problem for short stay but bathroom facilities basic, and no hanging space in bedroom.

    Amazing location, views, and walks.Owner an incredibly friendly and interesting man, who couldn't do enough for us! Food freshly prepared and cooked to order and very tasty .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Stayed for 1 night, because we still had to drive 550KM and didn’t want to go further
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The showers

    The place was very cozy, but the beds were a bit outdated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.8
    Looks old and outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks old and outdated. WiFi on rooms downstairs doesn't get good connection.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    Overall a good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drivning up there.

    Very cosy and genuine!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    Very friendly and communicative host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and communicative host. It was a very charming stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    8.3
    A mountain retreat ten minutes from the motorway.
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wine with dinner was expensive.

    Property is full of character and interest. Host is friendly and informative.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    Gorgeous view and some lovely hiking just a few yards from the front door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.8
    Best view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view was spectacular! Owner is funny and entertains. Fondue was perfect. Room is homely and cosy.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    Fascinating place with brilliant views and very warm welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little tricky to find in the dark!

    Fascinating place with brilliant views and very warm welcome

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    7.5
    Quaint property with a charming little girl!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a fair drive up the mountain but that's not really a dislike.

    Quaint property with a charming little girl! We really enjoyed our stay and the owner and Andy were excellent. We had a great dinner and were entertained by the owners little one.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    You are in a timewarp, in a traveller's inn from a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of its own parking but you can find it on the road or in the public space below. No trouble. An interesting drive up a twisty narrow road from Giubiasco, which some might not like. I found it part of the fun.

    You are in a timewarp, in a traveller's inn from a previous age, perched near a hairpin bend on a mountain road, far from the modern world. The host is absolutely charming and welcoming. The room was old-style but spotless. A perfect resting place. Simple, home-made food, with a delicious apricot ice cream. Incredibly low-priced for Switzerland.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    6.7
    Host extremely friendly;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exchange rate of CHF against EUR means that cost is about double of equivalent or better facilities in France or Italy. We stayed there because of the long distance we had to travel during the day. Now knowing the route it would have been much cheaper to have gone the extra hour into Italy.

    Host extremely friendly; tremendous location with great views. Height means noticeably cooler than in valley.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    Our host was very congenial and cooked a lovely dinner for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only issue for some might be the drive up a winding hill and there is limited parking. But, it was a lovely quiet location in a small village with a view.

    Our host was very congenial and cooked a lovely dinner for us.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    you are guest in a familiar environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    you are guest in a familiar environment.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.3
    A simple hotel, but a magnificent location and a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A simple hotel, but a magnificent location and a very helpful owner

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beds were a bit hard, but not too bad. Pretty standard for Europe.

    Wonderful view! Excellent host, very friendly and welcoming

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    Spectacular views : well worth the drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spectacular views : well worth the drive Host was happy to cook just for us!

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    8.8
    Great stay nice laid back little b and b with a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great stay nice laid back little b and b with a great location in the alps.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    6.7
    Pleasant terrace, old charming building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Meal seemed overpriced, no view from room

    Pleasant terrace, old charming building

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.8
    being made to feel welcome and being served food as if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing bad to say

    being made to feel welcome and being served food as if members of the family

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34