Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parkhotel Schoenegg 3 stars

Dorfstrasse 161, 3818 Grindelwald, Switzerland

#8 of 39 hotels in Grindelwald

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 236 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Everything was just superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visitors can take local bus from the train station to the hotel (just a two-stop trip). Would be great to know about this beforehand.

    The mountain view in the room was stunning. The staff was friendly, nice and helpful. The food, both breakfast and dinner, were excellent. Sad that I didn’t have enough time to visit the spa. Would love to stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    It’s very nice hotel with mountain view .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no coffee machine in the room and no refrigerator

    It’s very nice hotel with mountain view .. the breakfast is good and the room service too. And the recipient was very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little uncomfortable and it’s hard to sleep without air conditioning but I don’t think any of the hotels in the area have air. The view and location made it all worth it. Absolutely gorgeous scenery from the rooms.

    Location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel in the best Grindelwald location with super nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t have AC and if we opened the windows or the balcony flies came inside the room. It was not too warm, but definitely one night was a little too much for us, and we live in Miami, so we know when it’s too hot to sleep comfortable. Also the beds make too much noise every time you turn.

    Room was very spacious. Quiet . The complimentary breakfast was excellent, very good coffee and very comfortable. Nice restaurant with beautiful views and the staff super nice. Our room had a balcony with views of the mountains.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    I love the complimentary breakfast buffet and evening drink...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the complimentary breakfast buffet and evening drink which make my honeymoon trip more pleasant. The room is not equipped with air con. Yet, the staff advised us to open the window and even lend their fan for our use for a night. They are really helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant place to stay, would definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is amazing, staff is super helpful, very kind! Located near cable car to First, near ski and snowboard rental places. Food in hotel was very good, a lot of variety!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Charming Hotel with great personality, awesome staff and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms looks dated, mattress needs to be upgraded, pillows were really flat but staff was kind enough to provide us with extra pillows. The cleanliness and great staff made up for these shortfalls though. Overall great experience, will return again if I visit Switzerland again.

    Dinner was excellent, do pay for the dinner option. Stayed for 3 days and the food was changed everyday, also had 3 options for dinner for the mains, 1 meat, 1 fish and 1 vegetarian. All the staff was extremely helpful even the dog named Balut who greets everyone who comes through the front door. Very pleasant stay in this charming hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Most beautiful place we've ever been and a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Breakfast and dinner were excellent and even better that it was included. Great view from the balcony of the Alps. Friendly staff dog to greet you when you arrive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money and a nice, family friendly, welcoming place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unlike most rooms, my room had carpet, which I really don't like. Also the bathroom could use some updates and the shower is not suitable for elderly people but maybe other rooms are better! Quite possibly I got the worst room because I was traveling alone.

    Super friendly, forthcoming staff and cute dog. View is amazing. Pool is also nice and with great opening hours.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Great Hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dislikes.

    This is a family owned and run hotel. As guests we were treated like family. As an example, we were invited to a hotel employee celebration. This is definitely one of the friendliest hotels we have stayed at. A really, really great place. Rooms were very clean, staff was friendly, and location was great. To my surprise dinner was also included in my stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to say here, except sauna could have been turned on earlier.

    Excellent pool and unisex sauna facilities were great. Views all round from our room of the north face of the Eiger and other mountains stunning. Five course dinners excellent quality and value. Would recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    The journey to the resort was too difficult with three changes on the train from Geneva airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    my shower head did not work and no one came to repair it after complaint. The breakfast there was no fresh fruit all tinned except melon! Dinner in evening was not good and no variety for the starter which was salad.

    My room was clean and the staff were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic views to mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel need to improve spa facilities and elevator, every thing else is perfect

    Fantastic views to mountains, free parking space, nice swimming pool, good breakfast collection, close to cable car to go up to mountain

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Excellent!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing of significance.

    The hotel was in an excellent location - close to the town centre (inc station & cable cars), but set back in a quiet area with good parking & amazing views of the mountains. The staff were exceptionally friendly & helpful, the service was excellent & the food was superb. There were many little touches that made it a special experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    One of the most memorable hotel stays ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got used to this, but there is a tradition of sitting at the same table throughout your stay. I have mixed feelings about that, because if you don't get a spot with a favorable view on your first day, you're stuck there for the rest of the visit (and the views are unbelievable). We rolled with it though--it was a minor irritant and I'm not sure we would have liked a competitive process each evening for the window tables either.

    This is the friendliest group of hotel staff I may have ever run across. They evidently care about their professions and genuinely seemed to enjoy interacting with the guests. When they heard we had to leave early the following day and would miss their fantastic breakfast, they made sack lunches for us instead. Would stay there over and over.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.2
    Not worth the money, very simple room, impolite reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Reception staff were impolite and not helpful. 2) Accommodation was very simple, no coffee tea in room, no electric kettle, no safe. Not worth the money.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic Short Stay in Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi is not secure which could be relatively easily fixed. Open wifi networks are no longer satisfactory as we need to be able to safely log into bank accounts while on holidays.

    This is a fantastic little hotel. The staff without exception provide a very high level of service without being pretentious - you are made to feel like a truly valued guest. The rooms are comfortable. The indoor pool is quite large and great to relax in after a hard days walking in the alps. Definitely take the half board option. The evening meals are very good and the wine is reasonably priced. Little touches like transporting you to and from the station, and complimentary ice-cream and cake in the afternoon make the difference. The very friendly staff on reception can print out all your tickets for the mountain railways, gondolas and cable cars- so no need to queue for tickets at the ticket counters. The lunch boxes are good value and allow you to sit somewhere nice beside a lake or steam and have a snack. Truly a memorable experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities in rooms may need to be updated.

    It was a beautiful hotel surrounding by mountains and flowers. Many details in the hotel showed the efforts of staffs to make this place very comfortable and charming. Location was good as well: 1 min walk to Firstbahn station and 10 mins walk to the train station. The hotel provided a shuttle bus between the hotel and train station so it was not a problem. Finally, staffs and services were sooooo professional and nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Grindelwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV has very few channels, and only 1 or 2 in English. (However, there was a nice lounge with comfortable chairs in which to read, and also for 2 nights of our stay, there were street events going on, which entertained us.)

    This is a well run hotel with very helpful staff and a nice location near the centre of town. The meals provided were delicious and of high quality. The room was comfortable and we had a beautiful mountain view from our room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Excellent location to hike, ski and enjoy the alps!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great l, no complaints.

    Great location with views of snow capped mountains from balcony. Kids loved the pool and hot tub, which were both very nice and large for an indoor pool. Service was great, as was included breakfast. We I dinner there one night which was a good deal and also very nice service and excellent food. I dinner there one night which was a good deal and also very nice service and excellent food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Perfect service and staff at a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I only wish the bed was a bit more comfortable and not separated to 2

    Perfect location and a very very good service at the front desk and the restaurant We really enjoyed our stay and felt like at home due to the kindness of all the hotel staff Most definitely will come back soon!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Fabulous weekend- perfect hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We only wished the room had been a little bit bigger, but it was spotlessly clean and very comfortable.

    The service at the hotel was excellent, couldn't fault it in any way. Great location and excellent value for money.The breakfast and evening meal options were fabulous, a great choice. My husband and I felt the hotel staff went out of their way to make everything perfect for you, it was the personal touches like asking how your day was and offering free afternoon cake which made the stay very enjoyable. We have stayed at the Sunstar hotel in Grindelwald last year but this hotel offered far more and was much more friendlier. Spa and sauna area was also very nice, especially the jacuzzi with the Eiger view! Fabulous, we will definitely return!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Superb Hotel and Wonderful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing can be improved upon.

    The staff was fantastic. Everyone was exceptionally helpful and kind. The hotel location cannot be beat. We really enjoyed the hotel's extra activities and themed dinners.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.2
    Overall very good stayed and will definitely go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought we have asked for a family room but they didn't receive our request and charged an additional cost for extra bed for a 6 years old kid, no matter if your child is staying in your bed or not. So be aware when booking for family.

    The free use of the pool, sauna, stream room and free transferred to and from local train station. The breakfast have a good selections to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    10
    Just returned from 4 days in beautiful Grindelwald .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Just returned from 4 days in beautiful Grindelwald . Hotel was amazing, staff were really friendly and helpful. Great location. Spotlessly clean. Lovely homemade ice cream/ cake in the afternoon . Will definitely be staying here when we return.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.9
    Good selections for breakfast, the room is quite basic, must...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ugly bath shower curtain, the room needs to update the look.

    Good selections for breakfast, the room is quite basic, must go to the indoor pool and enjoy the sauna! Close to the First Cable car, easy access to every attractions.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    10
    Parkhotel Schoenegg - the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of a thing

    This was our second time staying at the Parkhotel - we enjoyed it so much in 2012 that we had to return this year. The location and view of the mountains is spectacular - we had a large balcony overlooking the street with a mountain view. The room was clean, modern and spacious. The included breakfast was extensive, and we decided to eat dinner in the hotel both nights - very good chefs! The staff was extremely helpful and polite, and they picked us up at the train station and took us back there when we left. We hope to get back to the Berner Oberland again someday, and this will be our hotel!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    5.0
    Service is fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No refrigerator in the room Only Dove shower cream available in the bathroom- even no shampoo The mattress feels like a extrabed Must have checked that it was garden view - and garden view includes parking lot from 1m square window The information book in the room states that swimming pool opens until 9pm but when I went there at 8.30pm it was already closed. Too overpriced

    Service is fair. Food is good. Close to cable car to First.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    10
    A room with an amazing view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was disappointing but that is our view of Swiss cuisine generally and if you like Swiss cuisine it's not a problem.

    View. Bedroom. Swimming pool. Lounge. Staff. Unsurpassed view of The Eiger. Extremely helpful and cheerful staff. A fabulous view from the jacuzzi and swimming pool. Central location in town, near shops.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Everything was perfect. Beautiful loaction , courteous staff. Wonderful experience. Spl the bar guy Mr Roy . He was really helpful .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Half board was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swiss quality hospitality. Staff was polite and service minded. I had the half board and the dinner was great! Great taste and generous portions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Great staff, excellent kitchen, fantastic location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in Grindelwald with fantastic mountain views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view of the mountains, easy on site parking, easy walk to town and restaurants. Nicely updated rooms. Very quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel, Great View
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great helpfull staff, good dinner

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Great place! do try the C and M cafe around the corner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    double bed rather than twin would be comfier

    lovely view and great location in grindelwald looking right up at the jungfrau.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    My family have now been visiting the hotel for 5 generations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My family have now been visiting the hotel for 5 generations. Fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Happy, friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinners could have been more interesting

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Excellent location, staff, amazing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, staff, amazing hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Disapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition, no mini bar, no iron, no coffe machine, no way to use the small place with miniature desk to sit and work.

    Location,staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Views were stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Views were stunning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Very helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hospitable staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    nice place. near to the cable. Stuff was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the swimmong pool was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Super friendly family Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been with a more variety

    Staff are very friendly, smiling and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really enjoyed my staying in the Parkhotel Schoenegg! Many thanks for all comfort!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.8
    amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Brilliant location Free parking and free wifi Warm swimming pool Staff are friendly Breakfast gut Close to the First station

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    kindly staffs, clean&cozy, The room has nice view. close to Grindelwald BGF(First), free parking lot.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Will be back fantastic trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather

    The position of hotel The staff attention to detail

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Service is the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no free cafe or hot water boiler in room or lobby.

    Good service and very fast and polite reply in email. Water is very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    10
    Good location with Lucky price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    good location and closed to First cable good staff and I have a lucky price but this hotel very careful and treat with excellent property.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    8.3
    Staff v friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was good but not great.

    Staff v friendly Location Spacious rooms Shower

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.6
    1. Great location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room with Balcony and Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    none never nothing

    1. Great location and view (within 7 minute from grindelwald station on walk) 2. Very kind staff 3. gooood service.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great leisure facilities especially after a days skiing. All meals were fantastic. The elevated position of the hotel provides stunning views of surrounding mountains.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    9.2
    As many guests have said before, it's the staff who make...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice to be able to make a cup of tea/coffee in the room, and some toiletries would have made the bathroom a little less utilitarian.

    As many guests have said before, it's the staff who make this hotel exceptional. They were all very courteous and helpful, without overwhelming. Before I realised room service wasn't offered, I was happily brought a cup of tea up to the room. The ski & boot storage facilities were perfect, and to be walking distance from First lift was great. Breakfast was also extremely good.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    10
    The room and facilities are extremely clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hot water for drinks in rooms would have been nice but you can get it in the bar so it is not a big problem.

    The room and facilities are extremely clean. The hotel is just 3 minute's walk from the First Cable car station. Management and staff are extremely helpful, offering transfers to/from not only to the train station, as well as to the emergency clinic when we encountered a small ailment in the family. Food is wonderful and extremely value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    9.2
    The hotel and especially the staff were excellent and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    absolutely nothing

    The hotel and especially the staff were excellent and showing huge interests in their customers - giving it a nice personal touch despite the hotel being relatively large. The hotel is in excellent location with immediate access to the First bahn and in walking distance to the rest of the Grindelwald main village.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    6.7
    Grindelwald is beautiful, though it can be a bit of a...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I wouldn't say we had a 'bad experience,' but for nearly 300 USD the value for the money was quite low. I know and understand Switzerland (and particularly this area) are expensive, but I didn't feel like I got anything for the money. They breakfast was average, the rooms were poorly lit, and they have the shampoo in a squeeze bootle hanging from the wall (the same as in Ibis and other type properties). It just didn't feel like anything special for that amount of money. We spent almost half the amount an hour and a half away, and stay in a 4 star that was recently renovated. For that reason, I really can't recommend that people stay here.

    Grindelwald is beautiful, though it can be a bit of a tourist trap. The staff was lovely, and generally very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    Lovely comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower wasn't perfect. Building work right outside our window from 6.45 every morning wasn't ideal either.

    Lovely comfortable hotel.. Huge bedroom. Perfect location 10 minutes from the main train station, next door to the cable car to First and in the heart of the village with all the restaurants shops etc

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Nice welcome by hotel reception with early check-in and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing particluarly. It is a place to stay again if I visit Grindelwald later.

    Nice welcome by hotel reception with early check-in and gentle response all the time during stay. Facility renovated recently enough to enjoy the apls-glaciers from room terrace. Pool and jacuzzi are in a very good condition.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    The staff are the friendliest, most accommodating of any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wish i could say nothing as we absolutely loved this hotel but the quality of the dinner wasn't good apart from the salad and cheese. We would definitely recommend the hotel for the staff and view alone, but suggest going elsewhere for dinner.

    The staff are the friendliest, most accommodating of any hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. Every one of them from the front of house to the dining room - nothing was too much trouble and they even looked after our young dog so we could go out for the morning without him. We received a free upgrade to a room with a mountain view which we appreciated very much.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.6
    Friendly helpful, every detail was a pleasure to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a little firm for my choice.

    Friendly helpful, every detail was a pleasure to help. Excellent family feeling, lovely little extras, excellent food. Will visit again

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.6
    while pricier than I usually pay, this was a very lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    not really bad, but dinner was just okay compared to everything else.

    while pricier than I usually pay, this was a very lovely place with a great spa and the most spectacular view from the balcony room. Service at meals was great and front desk was helpful. Family owned place for over a century - you could tell - owner introduced himself at dinner - great!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.5
    I enjoyed the good food at the restaurant: fresh vegetables...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sometimes I experienced impolite attitude of staffs, especially at the restaurant. Hope it was only my own misunderstanding.

    I enjoyed the good food at the restaurant: fresh vegetables and other various menus. The views of Grindelwald from the window were also excellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    A lovely, family hotel with generous and accommodating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A lovely, family hotel with generous and accommodating personnel. Location was superb so were the amenities. Supper and breakfast were excellent as well as the employees working at the hotel dining room. We'll be returning for sure to enjoy its hospitality again.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    8.8
    Half board including dinner and breakfast were really great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Half board including dinner and breakfast were really great! Free hotel shuttle to the train station was good and convenient. Fast WiFi. Receptionists were all nice, kind and willing to help. Very good service. The view to see the mountains were awesome!

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    10
    We booked this hotel for a ski break and it was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave :-(

    We booked this hotel for a ski break and it was fantastic. All the staff were really nice and it is no wonder they won the friendliest hotel in Switzerland 2014. There is nothing that we could suggest to improve this hotel. The food was amazing and the waiters were fantastic. The home made crisps were a real treat at the end of a long day skiing. You also get to know the owners of the hotel who take great pride in delivering a first class service for their guests. Great swimming pool and hot tub with a fabulous view of the surrounding mountains. Well worth upgrading to the mountain view room. All in all a perfect place to stay and a great holiday!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    7.5
    Service in one week was decreasing in service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Service in one week was decreasing in service. First you could´t help being served and staff overwhelmed by presence and the last days when clients changed it was even hard to get the next part of the menu and you had to wait or assistance. It was still ok but very big contrast from beginning to end.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    10
    Everybody that works at the hotel was 110% helpful, flexible...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    That we had to leave...

    Everybody that works at the hotel was 110% helpful, flexible, warm and friendly. It was a true pleasure! The hotel itself is very well located and beautiful (inside and moreover - the views!) Food is DELICIOUS!! for food lovers!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    10
    Looking for a hotel in Grindenwald? Look no further!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Looking for a hotel in Grindenwald? Look no further! This is an amazing value for the money!!! Great food, diligent staff, perfect location for a family ski trip!!! Next to First Bahn ski lift - the area that is perfect to ski with small kids.

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    10
    The hotel is extremely well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is extremely well located. All the buses run close by. Easy access to the cable car. The staff at the hotel were all friendly, helpful and most pleasant to deal with. The owners have a definate influence at their hotel meeting guests on Sunday nights with a drink on the house and home made chips. Definately worth another visit.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quite a distance from Männlichen cable car and ski bus was not frequent or reliable when we used it. But no complaints about the hotel at all.

    Very friendly and helpful staff; hotel appears freshly renovated and is in very good condition; large pool and pleasant spa area. Excellent evening meals if you are on half board. Very close to First cable car. Parking directly in front of hotel. Mountain view rooms have excellent views.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    8.8
    General atmosphere in hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    General atmosphere in hotel. Manager and staff very nice.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    7.1
    Staff friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit too old fashioned

    Staff friendliness Very reactive to our requests

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    Location, breakfast, restaurant, parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, breakfast, restaurant, parking

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    10
    Staff was very friendly and responsive to needs and desires.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Staff was very friendly and responsive to needs and desires. Food was excellent

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: