Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel-Pension Marthahaus 1 stars

Wyttenbachstrasse 22a, Breitenrain-Lorraine, 3013 Bern, Switzerland

#7 of 36 hotels in Bern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 953 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very good. With a lot of choice and value for money. The hotel offers a free transport ticket in Bern and it saves a lot of money! It is located very near to the bus and tram station. There are 2 bathrooms each floor and are very clean. There is shared kitchen on underground floor with all essential kitchen equipment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    I wish more hotels were like this
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    While there is a (smallish) lift inside the building, one has to go up a flight of stairs first.

    This is a very no-nonsense, everything in its right place type of hotel. It’s not luxurious in any sense, but it will have what you need where you need it. The bathroom is well laid-out with shelves where you can put your things, a neat shower cabinet with fully-closing doors, the beds are good, the Wifi doesn’t require any silly registration. There is also a common guest kitchen, should you prefer to prepare your food yourself. It might have been Martha herself who efficiently checked us in and did a white-glove inspection of our room to make sure it was as clean as could be. Breakfast is cold cuts, fruits, and such. The Easter eggs were a bit of a surprise though (as well they should be). A particularly nice touch was the free public-transport card we got—in the event we simply walked around the city (which is eminently doable), but it was good to know that we could just hop on any tram or bus without having to figure out how to buy tickets. We got tips and suggestions for good places to see and go to; the Botanical Gardens are just a few blocks away and just the thing for a hot summer’s day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean. The staff allowed us to change our room because of very loud construction noise. They were very nice in explaining directions and use of public transportation. We were given a free tram pass so that made it easy to get around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Great Value for Money! Walking distance to the Bern Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't aware the parking at the hotel was so limited, so I didn't book it in advance as I should have. Because of the concert traffic and the fact that the hotel in so central, plan accordingly if you're going for a big event. It took an extra 25 mins to reach the hotel in the extra heavy traffic.

    I booked the room as an overnight after the Foo Fighters at the Stade de Suisse. It was a perfect choice because it was midway between the concert and the old town. So we could walk to either in about 20 mins. So we could avoid drinking and driving all together. We were able to go to the after hours bars after the concert until 4am! The hotel even had a free transit card, together with a discount blue zone card for my car! Breakfast was simple but enough. All you could drink coffee. Thank you to all the nice staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money hotel, close to transport - 15 mins walk to the train station. Checkin was very friendly and a free transport pass was offered. Enjoyed a varied breakfast with fresh fruit options. A coffee station was available after hours. Local restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel,friendly staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is spacious, included three beds, probably the family room. Two shared bathroom on my floor. The hotel located in residential area, its quiet at night. The welcoming staff is friendly and patient to introduce me the sites for sightseeing also provided me a free transportation card. The breakfast was excellent, variety of fresh food.I will choose the same for next visit!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    clean and simple with friendly staff and good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, short walk from train station, good breakfast. Room was simple, clean with comfortable bed and a useful desk and the wifi actually worked, even on the 5th floor. Shared bath was very clean also. Good value for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just one woman at the entrance was a little grumpy

    It was clean , close to town, near bus/tramway, 3 mn from the main station, great breakfast, quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Great location, only 2 stops on the tram to the centre -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location, only 2 stops on the tram to the centre - which the hotel provides you with tram tickets for free. The hotel itself was super clean. We had a room with a shared bathroom, and it was spotless!! No hassle at all. Also, free hot drinks whenever you pleases.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    A bit basic, but very nice for a short stay in Bern.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sharing a bathroom (did not run into anyone, but it was a bit uncomfortable to need to dress yourself before entering the hallway to use the toilet at night)

    Location, staff, free breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furniture in the room was not so comfortable and part of the cupboard was locked. The toilet and bathroom were shared but it was not a big issue for us.

    The winter days that we spent in this hotel were cold and snowy so free coffee and tea that the breakfast room offered us day-round were so kind and timely! The hairdryer was also for free and the breakfast was very nice home-style. Wi-Fi was very fast. Personnel was super friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Spot to Relax
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would say, the lighting options and location for plugs in the room would be great to have more, but the lighting was barely used by me, and having the plugs away from my bed was probably actually good for me in the long term sense of me getting off my phone. :)

    Great room, with reasonable "swiss prices", and wonderful views of the rooftops of Bern. I especially enjoyed the many jam options for breakfast and friendly and helpful staff. You can have tea and coffee at all hours! An ideal spot for the minimalist craving swiss standards of comfort.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    The bed was nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was nice and comfortable. We booked a room with shared bathroom as there was nothing else available. I have a phobia of shared bathrooms and this bathroom was immaculate!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    very nice hotel, good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice little hotel a short stroll from the Bern old city center. It has all what is needed for a comfortable stay in Bern, including a guest kitchen in the basement. Friendly and helpful staff. My room was on the third floor, clean with good natural light, next to the (shared) bathroom. Simple and sufficient. And the paintings on the hotel walls are absolutely lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    Good time in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    should have more toilet and the lift is really tiny, a bit expensive tho

    Quite central, only 2 or 3 bus stop from Bern main train station (bus 20), free pass for bus and tram . Room is comfortable, quiet, breakfast is good with generous ham, bread, butter, cheese, tea, cleaning lady is quite helpful. Very near to the bridge so I had chance for early run and caught the dawn, amazing experience !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.7
    Average accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator extremely small, location for arrival was far from train to walk.

    It was average accomodation for 2 nights. Bus ticket given upon arrival, concise info on getting around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Very nice breakfast;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price seems a bit high, but given that some of its proceeds help low-income people, that's okay. Rooms could use a bit more decoration.

    Very nice breakfast; very clean; good bed; very nice bathroom; in nice residential area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Clean, decent, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom shared by whole floor. Unsecured and spotty wifi. Room safe costs 1 franc per use.

    quiet street, balcony, the breakfast buffet was pretty typical in assortment, good on quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Thank you, we'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little light, just breads and Jam

    Very clean, great value, really friendly staff, centrally located, only an 2 min walk to public transport and 3 tram stops into the city centre, or a short 10 min walk

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    The staff made us feel like family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes

    This property is in a very nice location. Easy access to city transportation. Bern, currently, gives free transportation passes to hotel guests. Staff was superb. Everything about this hotel was clean, neat and orderly. My grandaughter loved the breads, croissants and chocolate.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about this hotel.

    Friendly helpful staff. Free tea coffee available.Quality. Free train or tram card.Bathrooms very clean. Comfortable bed.Outside tables and chairs . Modern kitchen.Everything in too condition.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.4
    Ok for a night for somewhere walking distance from Bern. Pricey though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought it was expensive for what it was. Parking was just a space at the side of the road with nowhere to chain the motorcycle to. Signs asked guests not to smoke whilst sat at the tables outside the front of hotel but guests did anyway, which meant the smoke and smell came into our room which was above.

    Easy to find. Staff on the front desk were helpful and polite. Walking distance to the centre of Bern, albeit a long walk and uphill on the way back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I opened the window during night because it was very hot inside but the window was half open able so it was still very hot. Some flys (even bees!) entered into my room while the window was open. I had to do something with the bee in the middle of night. It was tiring...

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Great location, clean, helpful and spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there in the middle of summer and as it does not have air con the room was warm until very late (but this seems common in Switzerland)

    The room was large. The hotel has a great communal kitchen which means you can save money by cooking yourself. Great breakfast free coffee all day and free public transport

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Marthahaus is in a great location, easily reach by tram or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is slow once we close the doors of our rooms.... but everywhere else the wifi is fast

    Marthahaus is in a great location, easily reach by tram or bus from Bern city centre... the rooms are clean and comfy, toilets cleaned everyday... the breakfast is generous... free coffee and tea 24 hrs really make us happy... wifi is fast except when you are in the rooms(3rd floor)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Cosy room but very noisy room flooring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wooden flooring in the room was too noisy. I was too concern that I am disturbing other guests late at night every step I walk.

    Cosy room and comfortable bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Basic hotel, ok for short stays
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk is uncomfortable to work at. Wifi is ropey and needs a speed upgrade. Breakfast limited need more variety. Shower cubicle is too small.

    Very nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Too far out of the heart.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far out of the heart. I prefer staying closer to action and old town. It was immaculate though and well presented. For the price though I would have preferred more. I didn't like that our balcony backed on to an apartment block and they could look on to you and you could hear the children etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The breakfast was very good. In our request of booking.com we let them know that we follow a vegan diet and so they gave us some vegan options for the breakfast which was very nice! The staff at the reception was very helpfull and the service and our room were excellent. Very clean everywhere and also the 24-hour free coffee-service was very pleasant!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was super helpful! Pointed out all the key spots on our map and gave us access to free public transport Everything was exactly like the photos and rooms were very clean Breakfast was great! So much to choose from

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Traditional Swiss charm at an affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent European buffet breakfast; great location - so close to the main railway station and so quiet; inclusion of a free public transport ticket for the duration of our stay; balcony overlooking a lovely courtyard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    2 night stay at Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Took room with shared bathroom. An experience that I would not like to repeat but it was not a fault of hotel as it was clearly mentioned at the time of booking.

    Hotel provides the free passes to take public transportation within the city, free wifi, breakfast and luggage storage facilities.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    We'd stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Clean, quiet and comfortable accommodation with an excellent breakfast. Free tea and coffee available all day, as well as a guest kitchen. Easy to reach by bus no.20 from the railway station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    Clean and well-run
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices do seem high for a shared bathroom single, but there's really no way around that. It's Switzerland, everything is pricey.

    It's a clean, well laid out and efficiently run place. Granted it's a 2-star, in Switzerland, but the rooms were comfortable and well-maintained. And the (shared) bathrooms were clean and large.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    6.3
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge, safe or drinks facilities in room, although ground floor coffee machine and basement kitchen available free all day and night.

    Clean. Decent location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    9.6
    Great value - Clean, simple, quiet, well located and safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only challenge for me was the shortest route to the city involved a large set of stairs which made a bit of work to climb with my rolling luggage.

    Excellent value for the money. Extremely clean and comfortable. As a single woman traveller it was a great choice and just a short walk to town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.3
    A very good simple hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower cubicle quite cramped, no comfortable chair in the room, breakfast room noisy (all hard surfaces).

    Nice breakfast. Useful travel card for all Berne public transport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.2
    perfect location, close to city center, free pubic...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to complain about

    perfect location, close to city center, free pubic transportation, the staff was very helpful, free coffee and tee 24h/day

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.3
    Great Place to stay in Bern
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pension Marthahaus is newly renovated and nicely equipped. It is more like a Bed and Breakfast, so simple, but with great value for money. Rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is great, its location is central.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    Absolutely perfect! Such lovely people working there I found!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing I can say is about the pillow! Not overly comfy but it was fine.

    Greeted with such lovely manners and English. Really helpful and such a great location. Short walk to center

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    affordable and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy walking or public transport access from the city center. Despite no bathroom in the room, the common bathroom was just next door and very clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly and welcoming service, including the lady in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slices of tomato/cucumber/paprika could make the breakfast even better.

    Very friendly and welcoming service, including the lady in the breakfast area. Transport ticket for bus/tram came as an extra nice surprise. 24/7 warm drinks available in the breakfast area, one day also a fruit basket to pick a fruit. Wifi not only in theory but also in practice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.6
    I like the breakfast the most.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the breakfast the most. It's included for our booking. This is the best breakfast I have had among the hotels I stayed in Swiss. Simple but with more choices of the cheese, cereals, fruits and drinks etc~ The room is comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Good location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location.Very good staff.They gave practical information about the light show, about restaurants and museums.Good coffee and tee during all day and evening.No advance payment, but there is a ticket for transport in Bern.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.2
    Good choice in bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady in the reception was very kind, she helped me to schedule the route for travelling in bern, gave me suggestion and offered me big bowl for dinner. It was quited nearby, with a supermarket which is good for food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.8
    Pretty clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can get to attraction spot like old town by foot if weather is fine but it is true hotel is a little far away from town centre. So, you may need to use public transportation. Facility, especially elevator, is out of date.

    Pretty clean. Hotel is in resident area. So, it's rather quite. Staff is friendly and you can get a free of charge Bern pass.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    The staff was very helpful in every way! Comfortable and affordable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was a good place to stay in Bern. The other options were way too expensive. This was a 12 minute walk to the old town, but not too bad. We also took advantage of the free public transportation that allows you to travel all over Bern. The hotel was comfortable, clean and affordable. A great option in Bern unless you are loaded with cash!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.9
    Good central position for Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception attendant when we checked out was a bit abrupt.

    It was in a central position for access to Been and it was clean and comfortable.Also the lady who welcomed us made us aware of the transport pass for free travel in Been, and gave us one.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location - just 4 min to bus station (free with the guest card provided by hotel) and public transport in Bern is very convenient. Nice breakfast. Clean room. No individual bathroom as expected but there's a sink in the room and it's very convenient to me already. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Absolutely Wonderful Hotel, Great location and Brilliant customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was looking for a cheap and simple hotel in Bern for a one night stay, and opted for this based on its low rate and relatively central location. Breakfast was also included which was an added bonus. The hotel is just a short bus ride from the centre, or you can walk there in 15 – 20 minutes. On arrival I was welcomed as a long lost son returning home by the extremely helpful lady at reception. She was more than happy to answer all my questions on what to do, how to get around the city and then showed me to the breakfast area where you can help yourselves to as much tea and coffee, water and fruit as you like at all of hours of the day and night. My room was on the small side, but had everything I needed, especially since it was only a one night stay. There was free wifi in the room, and faster than a lot of other ones I have come across. There is also a desk and washbasin in the room, with towels provided. The shower and toilet are in the corridor, but these were amongst the cleanest communal ones I have seen anywhere, and I never had to wait. There is a toilet on one side, and a toilet with shower on the other side of the corridor. Breakfast was on the simple side, but still adequate with a selection of breads, cheeses and cereals. There are also 2 coffee machines, a myriad of tea bag flavours and fruit also. On checking out I asked to leave my bag at the hotel, which they were more than happy to do, and it was put away in a secure room until I returned to collect it.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    7.5
    Wifi didn't work in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didn't work in the room. And everything in Switzerland is expensive, so just because this hotel is expensive, it doesn't mean that it was that good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.6
    pleasant and a great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location a bit far for walking to and from old town.

    Comfortable, quiet, clean rooms and bathrooms. Nicely decorated breakfast room with delicious buffet. Pleasant staff allowed us to store bags after checking out.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Everything was very clean, bed was very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was very clean, bed was very comfortable. The hotel is close to city center, you can reach it with a short walk. Breakfast is very good and the staff is super helpful! I would come back here if I'll visit Bern again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Great location, quiet, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After our arrival we have recieved cards for free public transport which proved to be very helpful (for our legs). The hotel is located in a quiet place and has very positive athmosphere. We also appreciated all-day free cofee and tea which we had every evening on the hotel terrace. Very good choice and we can recommend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    9.2
    In Bern for Gurtenfestival
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was overall a very nice little hotel. I have zero complaints.

    The help at the reception was excellent. On point and generous. Bed clean and comfortable, breakfast exquisite, coffee tasty and room altogether very cozy. I will definitely choose Marthahouse again when I go back to Bern. 👍🏻 the lady at the check in (Eloïse, Elise, or something similar) was super friendly and super helpful!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.6
    A great place to stay in Bern
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Veeery slow Internet.....

    A very nice place with a good Swiss breakfast. Close to the city center, railway station and the university and it is relatively cheep (as for Bern).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.9
    Good location good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us good guidance to sight seeing and transportation. Location is a short tram ride from train station and sight-seeing. It is in a pleasant neighborhood. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast had a good variety.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    Helpful, accomodating personnel, easy access to public transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very welcoming and accommodating, providing lots of helpful advice about where to visit and how to use public transportation. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location, helpful staff, make sure you prebook your parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room overlooked the internal courtyard which can be a bit noisy

    Great location easy for the city. Good breakfast. Pre booked on site parking was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Internet doesn't work at all.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet doesn't work at all. Internet room with computer not updated sofware - impossible to use sbb.ch or google maps...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice friendly staff Good breakfast Clean rooms Good location close to Tram and Bus stop

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    clean, quiet, friendly staff, easy to reach the centrum by...
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    shared bathroom

    clean, quiet, friendly staff, easy to reach the centrum by tram

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.0
    Adequate facility far away from city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was erratic and unreliable Room was quite small Room was very warm

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Good to stay place in Bern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best location, very friendly staff and clean and nice rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    ood value and very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff Lovely breakfast - even zupfer on Saturday!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    A bit loud at night in the courtyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit loud at night in the courtyard. Music and loud talking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff, and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise

    Staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Staff, cleanliness and the breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff, cleanliness and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast and super clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have blinds and in windy nights they crash constantly with the walls, so that it's quite loud.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Coziness
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coziness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Great location, perfect choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints :)

    Fluffy bed, wonderful staff, great complimentary breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central , walking distance to old city . Quiet to relax. the breakfast provided was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent! Convenient and quiet location. Comfortable bed. Very clean. Great breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    absolutely delightful in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free bus pass to boot. Cute simple design. Super staff and luscious breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel-Pension Marthahaus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: