Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ROESLI Guest House

Pfistergasse 12, 6003 Luzern, Switzerland

#13 of 15 B&Bs and Inns in Luzern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1514 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning for hot days, the balcony was directly in front of a bathroom of the next building, the sink didnt work properly and the furniture was a little dated

    Excellent location in the center of the city, close to everything and a short walking distance from the main station. Place was regularly cleaned, staff were friendly and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location, they were happy to store our bags as their...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small. Window/door half opened onto the roof, previous occupants had obviously been smoking and had thrown all there butts onto the roof. No coffee/tea making facilities and none available elsewhere in hotel. The price was alot higher than quoted on Booking.com.

    Great location, they were happy to store our bags as their check-in time wasn't till 4.00pm/1600hrs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    2.5
    In the web is said they offer parking but they dont, the man...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the web is said they offer parking but they dont, the man in the reception suggested one parking that was supposed to cost arojnd 12 CHF per day, it costed 25 CHF

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Location is super.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is too much for the size and facilities of the room for 4 person. Not even a kettle in the room apart from few plastic glass. More of a dormitory for 4 ppl. Plus they asked for 10 CHF to keep our luggage .

    Location is super. At the heart of the city but rooms are on the road and first night we couldn't sleep because of the shouting of ppl in the street. Stuffs were very friendly, they allowed to checkin 3 hours before.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the price. Looks like a hostel rather than guest house. All the photos shown are in their other hotel and you might need to go over there to enjoy the same.

    Location is great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Lovely place in Lucerne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to the Hotel. There really isnt anything not to like! There is a lovely pool, its right next to the lake (about a 2 minute walk, we could see it from our room), the location is in such a nice safe area with parking 2 minutes down the road (if you are staying a few days make sure you pay for a "season pass" with parking it is cheaper, this is done in the parking building). The room isnt the flashest but given the price and the location its perfect. The guy who checked us in was really nice and gave us heaps of helpful tips. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.8
    No elevator and it has putrid smell when we came in
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had no elevator. We had to carry our huge luggages up 3 flights of stairs. We are approaching 60 and it was really difficult.

    The location was close to the train station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are dirty the sink did not even have a stopper. the view is terrible right under the room was peoples house the where up all night talking Very noisy no air conditioning the room was like a sauna PLEASE PLEASE do not stay there . I had booked for 2 days but moved out the next day early in the morning as we could not take it any more. The smell also was like smelling a toilet . You have to go to the sister hotel just to get into the guesthouse . Very confusing ! The swimming pool is a joke . you had to go to the main hotel . Final comment just awful

    Their was nothing one could like

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    2.9
    Except location there is nothing in the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are size of match boxes. Pictures are misleading Roof is just at your head and fans don’t work in summers

    Except location there is nothing in the property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    We liked the main hotel which even had a small pool and here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roesli Guesthouse is of very low standard. We had a very small room. Our only window was opposite the guest bathrooms of a nearby restaurant, which were situated on a terrace right in front of our window. The bed was too small for two people; furniture was really worn out and probably from a second hand store 20 years ago. There was no air condition and due to the position of the window we could not open it during the night. The temperature was between 32 and 36 degrees Celsius most of the time. We were lucky that the staff gave us a room in the main hotel Baselerhof on the next day. Here the rooms were acceptable for a 3 star hotel. But lack of air condition remained an issue. We met exactly 3 receptionist of whom 2 were extremely helpful and sweet and 1 was really grumpy. There is no value for money regarding Roesli guest house.

    We liked the main hotel which even had a small pool and here the price value ratio is justifiable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    The staff was nice and good, perfect location
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not clean, and it’s so so hot, we didn’t sleep all the night, and we left the hotel at 7:00 in the morning because of the hot. The room for 5 was small

    The staff was nice and good, perfect location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    3.3
    I Will not recommend this hotel, neither in the location nor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Will not recommend this hotel, neither in the location nor the facilities. The room is quite small, no air conditioner, no any other facility and not clean. Extremely hot in this summer , even we borrowed a fan from the front desk , it’s still much hotter then the outside. Location is not good. More than 15 minuets from the train station. And lady , booking shows 300CHF but why charge 320????in total, not worth at all!!!! Do not chose this one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.0
    The location is perfect, just half a minute walk to Lucern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not very clean and for some reasons the fibre flooring started to smell so bad after our first day staying there.

    The location is perfect, just half a minute walk to Lucern lake

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.4
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was massively too hot even with fans, totally suffocating. When we complained the staff said they knew about it, we got little sleep and we were extremely hot and uncomfortable

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    This hotel is in the center of the town and at a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am not sure it if per night cost is bit high. I understand that Switzerland is a bit pricey.

    This hotel is in the center of the town and at a very beautiful spot! It gives you an opportunity to experience a real European old town! It is very close to the train and bus stations and all cool cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.7
    Awesome location, small, hot room, expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were on the top floor in June and it was hot. There is no air conditioning and there is only 1 window so there was no way to get air into the room from outside. We loved the area but the heat just made the stay miserable. If you are here at a different time of year this place may be ok. We opened the window the first night and there are no screens on them, a bug got into our room and my son had bit marks all over his body. We had to go to a pharmacy and get some ointment because they were bothering him so much.

    The property is in a great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not included :-( Room could have been a bit more spacious. No elevator if your room is on upper floors. View from window was not so great as such

    Room was comfortable. Staff was really helpful. It is close to Lucerne station. Just about 7-10 minutes walk or you may prefer taking bus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location - easy walk to the train station and old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location - easy to walk to from the train station. Clean, safe area to stay. Easy access to the old town across the numerous bridges. We enjoyed our stay at the Guest House. We traveled as a family of 5 with younger children - the room was adequate for our stay - we didn't spend much time at the accommodation - but it was clean and tidy and very central to everything we wished to see. It's not luxury - but we were there for the sight-seeing not to spend time in the hotel. I would stay again and recommend for value for money, tidy and easy walking to everything. Little shops selling breakfast and coffee on the doorstep. Supermarket at the main train station - only 5mins away. Our children enjoyed the swimming pool after long days sightseeing. They were happy to store our luggage on departure day whilst we continued to look around. Beautiful city - everything so clean and pristine... felt like we were on the movie set of a Disney movie! Highly recommend a day trip to Mt Pilatus - the Information Centre at the main train station has very helpful staff who can help you plan your day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Basic lodging in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was hot, no AC or fan. Cost high for such a basic accommodation but price reflects desirability of this area in Lucerne.

    Excellent location in relation to train station and old town center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Love the location but room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough plug points for the whole family to charge their various devices. The air conditioner was weak and old. No way of changing the temperature to our liking. For a family room there wasn’t enough closet space. Wifi was free but weak in the room though stronger in the bathroom, which was odd.

    Location was excellent, close to the old city and eateries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Well-situated, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in room (this seems to be common in Switzerland). The room was extremely hot when we went to bed but luckily it cooled off nicely during the night. The pillows are extremely high. No iron and ironing board available, had to go to hotel laundry room to iron shirt.

    Don’t know why but we were were upgraded from the guest house to the main the hotel. The check-in staff, which is the same for both locations, was very nice and helpful and was able to direct us to sights and give us restaurant suggestions. Enjoyed having a pool, hot tub and an outdoor terrace with bar service. Walking distance to many restaurants, bars, cafes. Not the fanciest nor most modern hotel but it was pretty good for what we paid (by Swiss standards). 10-minute walk to train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location as it was a short walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Octuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location as it was a short walking distance to the old town, the tourist spots, the river bank where good restaurants are, and the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    Location to old part of city and tourist attractions is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room for a family, very hot with no air movement, tried to keep windows open for air but very noisy all night into the morning. Not a good place for a family.

    Location to old part of city and tourist attractions is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    3.8
    Location is good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is totally rude! Only one guy shiraz was helpful! The rooms are pathetic! Very small and very hot in summer time with no Air conditioning

    Location is good! Thats it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    Great location, but do not expect much
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room itself is a value for money category, so do not expect much, just basic equipment. There was some mold in the bathroom, the water was running slowly and weakly in the shower. We found a cockroach on the room's wall, which ruined our night's sleep.

    The location was perfect: just a few steps away from the center. The towels were changed every day and during our stay the mattresses were changed to brand new ones.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Rooms were spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fan was running very slow. Our room was overlooking the pool and there was continous noise from some guests who were drinking and speaking aloud.

    Rooms were spacious. The bathroom was clean and spacious too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street is very noisy from pedestrian voices echo even late into evening and early morning trucks who deliver to shops in street. TV is fixed so can’t put volume up so couldn’t hear anything. The shower did not drain.... no minibar fridge to keep things cool... roomy was stuffy.... couldn’t tilt windows so when open it was very noisy... no a/c.....no lift....the Rösli is just an overflow for the Baslertor and is not manned by anyone. Compared to other accommodation for the same price in Switzerland this was not good.

    Location was relatively close to main railway station and Chapel Bridge

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    The check in is made in the hotel in front of Roesli.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a fan, but maybe during summer the room would be a bit warm.

    The check in is made in the hotel in front of Roesli. When we came for check in, they said our room was in this hotel, not in Roesli, but for me it was good. It was nice room and the hotel located in the center (close to the wood bridge).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was bug nightmare. So many big ants, they ate bread, water even almost walked into my laptop. Termite and some unknown bugs kept fining into our room. We slept with worries and fears.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect city centre hotel for us : one adult, + two adults, + two adults withe baby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Struggling up 3 floors with luggage and no lift. Not that we did not like it, but it is best to understand the main hotel with reception( and pool) is across the road, and then once checked-in you get into the Roesli Guest house with electronic tag keys.

    There was a wide range of nearby cafes that did breakfast - the hotel did not, but no problem. The quality of the beds, bedding, room fittings, shower, were all first class. The free swimming pool was a real bonus. Walking distance from the station. The central position in the town was great ( but not if you are travelling by car). There were dozens of restaurants within 5 mins walk. The bedrooms in the 'guest house' all had extra chairs that could turn into single beds, so ideal for groups or family value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    3.8
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C, not allowed to eat in room, want to nickle and dime you for everything. No refrigerator, basically a place to sleep.

    Room size and terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location in the center of town
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast available at the hotel; no airconditioning it was very hot; shower and toilet together in tiny space and wash basin in the room.

    Great location in the center of town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Quite a central location, you can find almost anything you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked Roesli, but the check-in happens at Basletor hotel (3 mins walk from Roesli). Apparently they ended up giving me a room at Basletor.

    Quite a central location, you can find almost anything you need within couple mins walk in all directions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff and good restaurant and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind of a ghost town during off season. Pillows very flat and beds are rock hard! They did bring us more pillows though

    Nice staff and good restaurant and breakfast. Views from our room were amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Location! Comfortable Enough Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had no issues- no elevator.

    Excellent location, just around the corner from the water and restaurants. Parking was near by. Room was comfortable enough for the family and at a good price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was not very helpful. Not a happy to see you kind of expression. The rooms were not in good shape, but to be fair it was clean. Also you must note there is no breakfast available at hotel. But there is a great cafe across the street with a very cheerful waitress. That made up for it.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    2.5
    Not exceptable and not at all money worth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very deem light, no refrigerator, for tea and coffee maker they charge extra five swiss Fran's, very rude evening receptionist men, absolutely not friendly and not at all helpful, even though room.are not smoking room was smelling a lot. No.hot water also in bathroom. They just said sorry for. it.

    Nothing money worth compared to price. All the more receptionist tells you next time book hotels and not roseli guest house if you want better service. Very rude.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Location, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn't have a lift. It could get a little noisy in the room due to the fact that is a old house made of wood and if the people in the room above are not concious of that.

    Location, staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    Location of property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room on 2nd floor without lift is so difficult with luggage . Not even tea coffee machine provided. I don't think is worth to visit again the same place

    Location of property

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Great room in typical Swiss style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Payment for parking my car (in a separate parking) cost for me half of the room price.

    The hotel is located in the most center of Luzern, the interior of my room was incredible, old fashioned.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Location is good, hotel is clean, although old
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs renovation, room was quite stuffy, a lot of bugs and no mosquito nets. In the hotel there is a message that you cannot cook in your room or even eat in your room due to hygienic reasons, which I found very strange. I should be able to eat my own sandwich in the room I am paying for. Room had no teapot (waterboiler). Walls are a little thin, you can hear everything your neighbors are doing

    Comfortable bed, sink in the room, not in the bathroom. Overall clean. There is an elevator. Hotel is right at the center of town, close to all the landmarks, station is a 7 min walk, a few nice bakeries around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    We actually stayed in the sister place the Hotel Baslertor .
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about

    We actually stayed in the sister place the Hotel Baslertor .We were moved there presumably because the Roesli GH was full. Staff wonderful and excellent comfort plus a lovely terrace thrown in for good measure. The area of the city of Lucerne is beautiful with many very good eating facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Just okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room felt quite old and cheap, window looks into someone else's balcony, TV in strange position

    Very good location, clean, shower and toilet were quite good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    Overall a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is very far from the Center almost 15-20 minutes to walk. No bus stop we found near. They didn't mention that they have another property without lift. So be careful while booking with them.

    Nothing it is just a hotel like every other. Though the staff was providing us a space where there is no lift, after requesting he then provided with a room where there is a very small lift.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Ruesli Guest House
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very small. Found some mold in the wood in first room. Management was able to move me to a bigger room which was acceptabe.

    Loved the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, super close to the Altstadt, you can do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, super close to the Altstadt, you can do everything on foot. Big room, not so big bathroom, but very clean. Very comfortable. No breakfast in the hotel, but many options around. Good price, considering the prices in Lucerne are high.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    The location was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy rooms, couldn't sleep in the night as there is no sound insulation and whenever the upstairs or next door room tenants were walking, opening doors, talking etc it felt as if they were in our room!! Hotel staff at reception didn't inform us that we were entitled to the Luzern visitor card, which gives free access to public transport. We learned of this card both in the 2018 Luzern visitor guide and in the tourist information office, apparently offered by all hotels in Luzern. At first the hotel would give us only a temporary pass. Then, on a later day when we went to buy a ticket for the cable car at the tourist information, the hotel claimed they were no longer participating in the scheme. The tourist information phoned the hotel, then told us to return to the hotel, who would have to give us enough money to purchase day tickets for the public transport.

    The location was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    4.6
    Except for Drita (thanks so much) this was a terrible hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The skinny medium height guy who was in the desk area when we first arrived was the worst we’ve experienced in travel. He screamed at us angrily. He scared us so terribly we wanted to leave. This man should not be working in the hotel industry. Terrible first impression of the hotel. Also, the room carpet should be cleaned well after each use.

    We liked Drita at the front desk. She was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Quite disappointed with this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator which made it difficult with luggage. Sheets on the bed needed to be replaced. On checkout we were charged 5CH for for a bottle of water that was on the desk when we checked in. I thought it was nice of them to give us water after the tiring climb to the room. my mistake!

    Location was great! Very close to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The placed we booked and the place we actually stayed at were completely different. We booked the guest house across the street but they had us stay at the hotel which was significantly smaller.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.4
    Horrible experience to find it and then found no lift we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Horrible experience to find it and then found no lift we had to carry our baggage to 3rd floor one by one.

    Horrible experience to find it and then found no lift we had to carry our baggage to 3rd floor one by one.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pics on booking.com didn't match the actual rooms. Can't really understand why since the rooms where actually quite pretty...please update them :)

    Very central but still easy to reach by car Good value for your money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle to make a cup of tea would have been nice. 3 flights of stairs were a bit of a challenge with heavy bags.

    Great location. Very comfortable beds. Family room for 4.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    5.8
    Location is great, very close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was dirty My room was in the lowest floor,.You could hear every time a person walk up and downstairs and every time a person walk in the rooms and use bathroom on the top bedrooms

    Location is great, very close to train station

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Cozy, clean and quiet pension few steps away from the Old City, excellent value for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For your attention: the reception is in the hotel across the street. Also, the room does not have any kettle, you are not supposed to cook there or even boil water. The two mattresses on the double bed wouldn't stay together, probably one big mattress instead would be better.

    We stayed in Roesli Pension for 3 nights in March, out of the high tourist season. This is why we could not use their summer swimming pool. The property was not too crowded, yet still maintained in excellent order. The room was warm and cozy, with charming wood structures of the historical building. The sanitary facilities, however, are state of the art. The bed had four small extra pillows, which added more comfort. The room had two windows, one towards the quiet street. The pension is located in the historic part of the town, just a few yards from a medieval wooden bridge crossing Reuss into the Altstadt (the Old City). The location is brilliant, 500 meters from the main railway station and the lake shore. Plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants within 5 minute walk. The staff we met demonstrated great professionalism and excellent English possession. They gave us a free ticket for all municipal transport for the entire length of our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Value for money. Perfect overnight spot for a family without high expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV didn't work very well, kept turning off and hard to change channels. There was a bad smell coming from the toilet. Not very fancy interior, but it served its purpose. A spot to sleep and hang out.

    Great location. Good price. Very clean. Value for money. Surprisingly quiet. Good temperature in room. Beds were comfortable. Big pillows. Wifi worked flawlessly = happy kids.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was very central and close to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and you hear everything. There is no lift so taking our stroller to the 2nd Floor was a challenge!

    The hotel was very central and close to the old town. The check in is across the road and the staff are super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Very central and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their was one particular staff member that chose to ignore us when we tried to check our luggage in. We waited for 20mins before he even acknowledged our presence.

    Location is right next to at least 5 restaurants of good quality. And very close to the old city and station. Very easy to get around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location with good service .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location with good service . The reception was knowledgeable, she provided us a lot of local information. The hotel was close to the city center and it's just 5 min walk from the train station. Highly recommended for this.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.5
    The room is tidy and comfortable, its a great stay, they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is tidy and comfortable, its a great stay, they offer a free transport card in which its totally free to take any kinds of transport in Lucerne, in which saves us a lot of money, its a 15 minutes of walk away from the train station and around 20 minutes of walk away from the old town, pretty convinient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice as the room was, the location is what really sells it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude staff and hidden pricing (city taxes are not mentioned until you actually pay). But to be fair neither of those things are unusual in Switzerland.

    Nice as the room was, the location is what really sells it. Lucerne is a real postcard city, and this hotel is right in the middle of everything you'll want to see.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.9
    It was great solution for family of 4 people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ok but bathroom was to small for 4 people staying in a room.

    It was great solution for family of 4 people. Big room, not far from the center, good price

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor was simple but decent for the price paid.

    Located 10 mins away from the main station. Convenient place to stay for exploring Lucerne. Rooms were spacious and clean. Was not able to check in early but allowed to leave luggages at the hotel. A free transport card was given for the duration of stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    The staff were amazing, very friendly and easy to deal with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge, no kettle or tea/coffee. Pillows were terrible - bad nights sleep.

    The staff were amazing, very friendly and easy to deal with. Very helpful Location was excellent Room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was helpful. Roger was waiting for us outside the hotel so that we could find the hotel easily. My sons loved the bunk bed. The location of the hotel is strategic too, nearby the old town, the train station & the bus stop. It’s just that initially we booked for triple room because my sons are I used to sleep in one queen bed and my husband in one single bed but apparently the hotel requires a quadruple room, and the additional price was quite pricey/3 nights. Other than that, else was good. Recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.4
    Great price, just a bit dated and grungy; but I might stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a bit dated. The bedding was thread bare. The rooms have not been updated since the late 80's with matching paintjob. The wifi was sluggish. The property advertised free breakfast, not true.

    The location per price was fantastic. It is close to everything and for a good price. The staff was pleasant. You can open up your windows and see the river. There are great restaurants within a short walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    The young man who help us to check in was really nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But the man help us to check out was soooo rude and out of his mind. I do not know if he was drunk in the morning or something but he was like a psychopath. He is the only person like this who we have met in our trip.

    The young man who help us to check in was really nice and gentle. The room was clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    Come at 11-12am to avoid dealing with the old man checked-in staff if you want to check-in earlier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The morning checked-in staff.

    We came at early morning and were about to ask whether we could put our luggages before we check in at expected time but the response we got from the checked-in staff - an old-little man - was so so gross: yelling and nagging guests. It ruined the day where all Swiss people we met are very friendly. However, except for that, everything was okay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    This place is amazing and comfortable, only lack of certain facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place doesn’t have any pantry or any facilities to access to clean water and hot drinks

    The bathroom is spacious, the room is comfortable for two. The whole place is clean and the property is located near to the main station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.4
    Improve the reception mentality be more hospitable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Change your receptionist staff unfriendly spoil the whole stay with his rude responses i am repeating guest i loved ròsli but not your recepcionist mentality

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.3
    Everything was fine except for the mold growing on the ceiling of the bathroom. It is a health risk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom ceiling had mold growing on it. This is not only unsanitary, but also a health risk. The low cost does not excuse the mold.

    Fantastic location. For a refundable deposit, they lend you a parking garage access card so you can park your car. Excellent price if you just need a place to sleep and nothing else.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.1
    Affordable hotel right at the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in is not in the ROESLI Guest House, but in other hotel just in front. There is no personal at the ROESLI. You have to use a card to open the street door. And if you lose the card there won't be anyone to help you after 12:00 pm. There is no elevator in the building. They didn't give us the free transportation card for one day, as they should. The bed linen was a little bit "old fashioned". When we left the hotel we ask if we could leave our luggage there for some ours, and they told us that after 12:00 am it is free, but after that we had to pay 12 CHF per room, so we left everything in the station lockers, which are quite cheaper than that.

    The best is the location of the hotel. It is right in the city center and at a short walk distance from the train station. There is a pastry/bakery just in front in which you can have breakfast for a normal swiss price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.4
    Will not return there. For families, stay in a more luxurious hotel as it's probably the same price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Historic properties are great, but there no excuse for dirty carpets and completely worn out rooms. The handle came off the inside of the door, the internet connection was lousy and the cable TV non existent. Don't get me wrong, we don't stay in hotels to watch TV as it's a beautiful city, but when you have young children, it's not always practical to stay out too late. Expensive for family rooms with no additional benefits. Charge CHF 50 extra for each child but just a bunk bed. No coffee making facilities, no breakfast....expensive for a family room, yet in my opinion this was backpacker standard...I stay in hotels a lot...this was the worst...I expected better.

    The location was central.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.3
    Great location, nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very cheap platform bed and the wood slats kept coming out of place and causing the bed to collapse without hardly any movement on the bed. My husband climbed onto the bed from the end instead of the side and the whole headboard end of the bed came off the floor and into the air. Fyi....we are slim and not heavy people. It was very cheap.

    Great location, nice view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was quite outrageous, for 12 hours we paid 35CHF. The front desk man was EXTREMELY rude.

    The location was perfect. Distance to the parking garage was also very close.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: