Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fontana Passugg 2 stars

Riedwiesli 4 / Quellenweg, 7062 Chur, Switzerland

Review score

Based on 183 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.0
    Very secluded in a quiet peaceful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a hard time finding the property.....that could be the fault of our GPS. You have to go down a very narrow road - we actually turned about because we didn't think we were on a road, it was more like a path! When we arrived the owner told us that he would be late coming back to make us breakfast in the morning because he had to look after his son and he didn't get up that early - and so we had to forego the included breakfast because we needed an earlier start. He adjusted our bill about $10 for the final charges. We didn't see a single soul other than him when we checked in and then he left to go home for the night, leaving the front door unlocked....felt a bit insecure when we felt we were the only ones there.

    The owner/operator was very friendly and kind. He was very helpful in providing ideas for us for dinner and the ordering of a pizza.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Perfect family run hotel to stay for Bernina Express tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We decided not to take risk because it was winter and park down the hill. But it has nothing to do with the hotel. Walking up was just 5 minutes

    Very nice location and a good romantic alternative to standard city hotels. Very nice owner who does everything on his own and accommodates quickly. We had a great family atmosphere of a private pension, not hotel. Well selected breakfast menu. Realistic price for Switzerland

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    2.5
    nothing was pleasant, awful hotel
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is impossible to drive up to hotel, it is necessary to walk uphill 300 meters. The breakfast can not be given in general. Owner of hotel not sympathetic, angry and greedy. when you appreciate it 300 francs will draw from your card and you do not awake the nobility for what!!!! Very much I do not advise there to go.

    nothing was pleasant, awful hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Friendly host and beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The property is surrounded by natural beauty and the views are amazing. The rooms are clean, warm and cosy. The host is very friendly and goes out of his way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfast is plentiful with a selection of cheeses, meats, jams, breads and yoghurts. We ate at the restaurant at the bottom of the hill, which was very nice. Would highly recommend staying here!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    A memorable night and I would happily stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lights work on a motion sensor which turns them on when you come out of the lift. Great when you're heading to your room. Not so great when you're heading the other way and wandering around a deserted hotel in darkness.

    A very unfortunate set of circumstances highlights the difficulty of a family run hotel, especially when one breaks a leg! I arrived late and was greeted with the sad tale and informed that I would be the only guest and would be alone for the night. A discussion about breakfast arrangements was happily settled and I was shown my room, the breakfast facilities and a crash course in how to use the coffee machine. The place was spotless and very comfortable, the room itself seemed very spacious with a very small bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Neat hotel a bit out of town - nice and quiet.
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neat hotel a bit out of town - nice and quiet. A bit tricky to get to, the bridge is very narrow although it is written in the notes. The owner is very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    A very nice out of the way hotel with a great and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one there when I got there. However everything was laid out on the reception desk quite well. An envelope with my name and booking info was on it as well as a room key. I will definitely use this hotel again in the future!

    Great staff and reasonable location to downtown and a fantastic restaurant at the bottom of the hill. A 3 minute walk at best.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.2
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been more breakfast options, but understandable due to lack of occupants of hotel.

    Our group of 6 arrived at this hotel to find we had it entirely to ourselves. Access to the hotel was via a strip of road that our taxi would not drive up. it was a 10 minute walk in the snow (and the dark) which we saw the humour in. We were greeted by the hotel owner and he was lovely! He even ordered us a pizza for dinner and brought it himself to our room. In the morning he called us taxis, made sure they would arrive at the doorstep and even argued with them about the price to ensure we got the best price. The views are incredible and the hotel feels very secluded. A traditional Swiss hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.9
    Good for one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms aren't the prettiest and the beds weren't very comfortable, they squeaked a lot.

    Checkin and checkout were both easy and the breakfast was really delicious - there was even homemade apple juice! We also enjoyed the view from our room very much.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a it out of town, so need a car or take a taxi. The day we were there, the restaurant nearby was closed, lucky we had enough snacks from the days travel for a dinner.

    Really good friendly owner, and very comfortable and a great breakfast. Lots of room to explore.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.1
    Clean B and B 'hostel' in our view, prepare to look after yourself, take a kettle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More like a hostel than a hotel, eg reception area not staffed, no fresh towels or beds made etc. Communal area outside bedrooms for tv with large table which was used for eating takeaway food. Buffet Breakfast ok but poorly organised, eg waiting for food items to be re stocked and little sign of staff.

    Fabulous views, lovely clean room. Nice walking area with good bus service to Chur.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Final approach up road interesting but ok.

    Comfortable and basic. Great breakfast. Great welcome and service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Really comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Really comfortable. Dirk is a good host. Thank you Dirk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Super friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving way up to the house is a bit narrow. Be careful with larger vehicles.

    Super friendly hosts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, it’s not accessibly by bus.

    The hotel was excellent nice view of the mountains, we only stayed 1 night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful, I wish we were staying longer, we will have to come back some other time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view. Beautifully removated hotel. Great guy running the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    the best value for money in the region
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    absolutely amazing breakfast buffet was included in the price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Warm welcome from staff and the view was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road on the way up to the hotel was too narrow and lack of lighting.

    Warm welcome from staff and the view was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    6.3
    Little contact with the host. We met him briefly in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable place to stay but secluded. We arrived after dark and left early.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    funny stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    no punctuality :)

    funny host, very specific atmosphere :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Great friendly service and excellent facilities in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    . Service, facilities, shower, cleanliness, breakfast, beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful views;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful views; delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.3
    Secluded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dificult access road. Not enogh parking.

    Secluded

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice stay for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 People)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in can be earlier, and there is no wifi connection in the room.

    Very nice cozy room, clean bathroom

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Romantic getaway perfect for riding scenic train
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow road

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    5.4
    clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to access to the house with 250m uphill road,public transport frequency is less,no restaurants nearby,no host or receptionist turn up

    clean

    Stayed in September 2016

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: