Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Phoenix 3 stars

Untere Wiestistrasse 11, 3920 Zermatt, Switzerland

#61 of 317 hotels in Zermatt

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 528 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one soft pillow for each bed. I like my pillow to be thick and little hard. So I folded the pillow to make it thicker so I could sleep.

    Great breakfast which exceeded our expectations. Very friendly staff. Little far to walk to the town center. But if you don’t mind to walk about 15 minutes then the location of the hotel shouldn’t cause a problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had one cool night and one hot night (despite open windows) as the outside temperature fluctuated quite a bit during our stay. Would have liked a fan. As it was our last night we didn't inquire further, so maybe we missed something in the room that might have helped.

    We had an excellent stay at Hotel Phoenix. Laurence and Denis were very nice, they even flagged us down in the town to say hello. The room was impeccably clean, comfortable, and quiet (we were shocked as there were plenty of other guests and local construction). Breakfast was excellent, with lots of options and fresh bread. The fruit salad was very good. I stayed in a much pricier hotel in Zermatt last year and Hotel Phoenix is just as good. I can easily say that it exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is well-prepared with warm hospitality. Good breakfast here. The deluxe double room with Matterhorn view is unforgettable. It is very nice to have a chance to stay here. Very outstanding service !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV can only be switched on/off and channels changed when you stand right in front of TV. Not possible while in bed. Hotel staff does not actively inform you about it. You only find out when you ask for new batteries assuming that it is due to old batteries that you cannot work the TV.

    Super breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was wonderful, the staff is great! All spoke English and were great about accommodating their guests. They had a great ski room, and allowed us to store our bags while we skied on our departure day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was within easy walking distance from everything in Zermatt. The room and the view were fantastic. The breakfast was a feast. The staff at the desk were very friendly and gave us lots of useful information. They let us use the showers after skiing all day before catching the train - the whole stay was brilliant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be useful to have extra cushions for the bed in the room because they were too thin so we would have needed two each.

    Beautiful room and bathroom, great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! I really enjoyed the hotel!

    The bed was really great, breakfast was amazing and the surroundings are beautiful. We booked a room with view (3rd floor) and highly recommend that. Next time I want the glass curved window room in the corner!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The underfloor heating was superb when you have been out in -5 degree temperatures. However, there was no discernible way of reducing the temperature, so it became very hot at night, too late to speak with the front desk and ask for help.

    The location was perfect and the staff were excellent, very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good - reachable by 10 mins walk and it gives you stunning view. The staffs are very nice and always will to help with everything including your travel info. It’s the one I recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is bit walk from the train station and the walking street, for us we need a taxi for we have big luggages.

    Our room is big and clean, and nicely decorated with large window (with the Matter Horn view) the staff and owner are very helpful and welcoming. Good selection and high quality breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel next door had construction going on and it was a little noisy during the work day. It is quite a walk from the train station. We were in Switzerland to hike, anyway, so no big deal, but if you were elderly or out of shape, you would need to take an electric taxi.

    Excellent breakfast. The assortment was diverse and very high quality. The breads were exceptional and the granolas were unique and delicious. The breakfast space was meticulously cared for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be good, when hotels have a breakfast facility, to give guests access to tea and coffee making throughout their stay. This was not the case here but not a major issue.

    Location, staff and breakfast was excellent at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived with my 21 month old son, who sleeps on the floor in a pop up portable crib, we were told that we would have to pay CHF 40 more (25%) to stay in a deluxe room because we only booked for two people. When we explained that he sleeps on the floor and did not need any additional space or bedding, they explained that it was a safety issue. That since the beds were two separate single beds, that they could come apart if he slept in the bed with us. Guess what the deluxe room had... two single beds. Most of the staff was friendly after the initial issue, but then... at 7 am, we learned that the construction next store was right outside our (deluxe) room. The crane operator for the construction was literally standing on the terrace outside of our room. Right outside our window. So after charging us more to put my son on the floor than the cost to get him across the Atlantic, we were woken up by loud construction and a man literally right outside our window. It's a shame because the place has a lot of potential, but they treated our family quite unfairly on our stay.

    The breakfast was very good and got the day started off right. The view of the matterhorn from the room was absolutely stunning when there was not a crane in front of it. The design of the room and the hotel is very cool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great!

    The rooms were cozy, the balconies and views are amazing, it's somewhat removed from the hustle and bustle of the main street through Zermatt, so it's so much quieter but still so close to everything (within 5 minutes walking). Breakfast was incredible, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - I can't say enough about our stay here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very warm welcome .Lovely room with view and balcony .Really nice and warm ,very clean .Just loved the look of the building and the ambience .Would def recommend it .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very bright and comfortable, we love it! Although there is a building under construction and it's close to our room window, but we still can see the Matterhorn every morning. The distance from station to hotel is about 10 to 15 mins, really close to the Main street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower had to be used as a hand held shower - but otherwise the bathroom was lovely.

    The view was worth every penny - it's a stunning view of the Matterhorn. The staff were very supportive and friendly with good English. The room was very comfortable, though I'm not sure the TV worked - but not likely to have had anything in English anyhow. The location was superb - close to town centre and bus stop.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The male staff who made us feel uncomfortable when he turn down our request. He totally shows what unrespect is! What a pity!

    The female staff who is tall and thin with short hair in front desk, I think she is the owner. She is very nice to everyone. We feel her passion everytime we met! She is one of the reasons make me visit again, she makes there feels like home! The room is cozy which has a wonderful Matterhorn view, bed is good, breakfast is amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we stayed here, there is the engineering next to the building from 7:00, a little bit noisy Also the owners are kind of "serious" to us (Asian) ..maybe can be nicer will be better

    very clean and perfect breakfast !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complimentary coffee for guests outside of the breakfast hour would have been appreciated.

    We really enjoyed our stay! Christine at reception was very sweet. Room was cozy and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was the best we've had yet on our 2 week vacation abroad. Kudos!! We felt VIP with the name card at our table. Short walk from everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heavy construction was happening right next door and was loud and not nice to look at, but that isn't really within the hotel's control of course. Unfortunately the southern facing terrace as seen in the property's photos was also under construction so could not be used. That was disappointing.

    Beautiful newer property with great modern/rustic style, excellent breakfast, rooms were clean, comfortable and having a balcony with a view of the Matterhorn was very nice. Staff was also very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was hot and we had no ability to turn it down.

    It was brand new and very clean. The breakfast was the best part from eggs to local cheeses and fruit with yogurt. Amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed for 4 nights with my wife and my 10 months old daugther. We loved our stay at this hotel. The owners were extremely helpful and kind. The room was very good and it had everything we needed. The hotel is perfectly located... I'd totally recommend this hotel and I'll stay again at this hotel next time we are visiting Zermatt. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a pity there is a new building under construction which impacted a lot the view of mountain.

    Good service facilities, helpful staff. View of mountain

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey for the service/facilities offered.

    Nice hotel located in a quiet place not for away from the train station. Nice breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Views can be obscured by construction right in front of the hotel.

    The hotel is very clean and energy efficient. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My sister and I stayed at this hotel for a short visit to explore Zermatt and its surrounding mountains. The hotel is within short walking distance of the main station and is also close to the cable car to the peak Sunnegga. The three staff members we interacted with on this trip were all very friendly and helpful. Our double room was clean, comfortable, and had a nice balcony. The bathroom was more spacious than we expected and had very good water pressure. The breakfast had the biggest variety of cheeses we have ever seen at a hotel breakfast-- actually a very big variety of options in general, but we were most impressed by the number of cheeses on offer. This hotel was wonderful and if we ever return to Zermatt we would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No heat in the room, got a little chilly in morning.

    Lots of food in a cozy room with owner supervising. The view from our room was wonderful , could see the Matterhorn, but right now there is construction next door so some people did not have any view. Location is good, just a couple of blocks from city center. Liked the modern feel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel Phoenix is a small (so not too crowded) hotel in the centre of Zermatt, only a 5 minute walk to the stations. The rooms are beautiful and the cleaning service is perfect. All members of the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast offers you a lot choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Staff were very warm and welcoming. The place is modern with a traditional alpine feel. Very clean, comfortable room. Excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Room was modern, spacious, clean and had good a/c. Despite being 2 doors from breakfast room, it was quiet. The breakfast was outstanding with plenty of hot and cold choices, fresh fruit, large cheese selection, scrambled eggs, etc....this was easily the best breakfast I encountered in 4 weeks of touring CH and Italy. There was even a host to greet one in the breakfast room and explain the use of the coffee maker ! Staff was helpful, though they did neglect to mention the modern fitness facility located in the bottom floor (though with all the area's hiking options, I didn't need it !)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We decided to go for the Matterhorn view room, and of course this mean extra money spent, but still we are so excited about it. But then a few days before our arrival, we received an email saying that a construction is going on around this property. Since we're already in the middle of our holiday trip, we do not have any other options. And still we are hoping things are not that bad when we reach there, but when we check into the room, huge disappointment. There is this construction right in front of our window, so there goes our Matterhorn view. Sadly enough, there is nothing that the hotel can do about this..nor any compensation given.

    Nice room with modern facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sadly building work was going on next door, but not the fault of the hotel and it will be finished by the winter. We stayed at room 506 which had an excellent view of the Matterhorn and will have a better view of the town also when the crane is taken away.

    The breakfast was superb, great variety and buffet style.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection can do better....

    Property is situated further from the main Zermatt town which is quieter. The property owner & staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was a little weak in the room, but really not much to complain about at all.

    Excellent Staff. Very helpful, especially with our later arrival. The breakfast is great, ranging from cereals to various types of cheeses/breads, jams with fruit and meats plus hot breakfast options and a coffee machine that I gave a workout. The hotel itself it modern and well styled. It appears they take great pride in the place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think all of Switzerland is expensive so compared to Europe it's an expensive place to stay. As for Switzerland I think it is a great deal.

    I felt the property and the staff were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't think of any. It was a perfect stay for us.

    The breakfast was really good. We made an excellent decision to stay at this hotel. The view from the room was breathtaking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing missing in the entire town are public washing machines.

    The town was charming and had lots of history. Restaurants were wonderful. The hotel staff was amazing! Relaxed in the common area with a beautiful fire, view, wine and complimentary homemade cake! Outstanding!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manage(or owner we not sure) of hotel not hav service mind. We read hotel policy from booking.com that child under 2 years old is free of charge and hav to notice hotel before if need baby cots because it's limited number. Anyway because we don't need baby cots so we didn't notice the hotel before that we have baby. When we arrived hotel, they said with unwilling face that we should tell them before that we have 1 child too and they have to charge us 40CHF more whether we want the cots or not because it's the SWISS law. Anyway this is the third SWISS hotel that we visit, no any hotel said that. When we ask the hotel front why booking.com webpage declare the hotel rule that childen under 2 is free of charge, they could't answer us, just said that the manager ordered them to collect money more and we have to pay anyway. We're very upset for their response. Pay money or not isn't the problem with us but how you serve your customer is more important. We expect more for 4-5star hotel. We were impressive with SWISS people service mind that we met around the road / many hotel receptions / or even apartment that we spent 3 night on interlaken. But we would't recommend your hotel to our friend for sure.

    View from room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a small niggle, but the room was very warm at night,we usually had to leave the balcony door open for some time, it seemed to be underfloor heating.

    Staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temp control (our only issue) is an issue in the rooms. Heated floors mean no thermostat, and we all found the rooms too hot. Then again, all of Zermatt (surprisingly) seems to have too-warm indoor settings, despite the strong outdoor culture. No sheets on bed - just a down comforter w/slip sheet that leaves you quite warm. We had to open the sliding door to the patio at night to get the room cool enough to sleep, and then it took testing to find the right opening size. (Outside temps were around freezing - 0C/32F for most of the nights.) As with all relatively modern hotels in Europe now, room key must be inserted into slot inside room to power everything, including wall sockets (for charging); so be sure to charge your electronics at night when you are there.

    Excellent, very friendly and helpful staff. Clean, modern inn. 100yd walk to the ski bus stop and ski rental shop.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely small, modern hotel with super-friendly staff, very clean and nicely decorated rooms (elegant combination of wood and stone), delicious breakfast. We stayed in a standard double room, the view of Matterhorn from the balcony was stunning (we were very lucky with the weather). It takes about 8 mins to walk from the train station. We travel with our two doggies (golden retrievers), worth to mention that they also received a lovely welcome from the staff :) Would definitely like to stay there next time as well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was a very cute, modern hotel, that was close to everything. What I really liked about it was the boot dryer and ski storage right as you walk in. The main tram is also just a 5 minute walk. Town is a short 5 minute walk. However, if you are bringing luggage you will want to arrange a $5 pick up/person with the hotel from the train station. We didn't know that and paid a $17 taxi for a 5 minute lift. Excellent breakfast, very nice room and staff. Would love to come back again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. I was sick for a couple of days while at the hotel and it would have been nice to have the facilities in the room

    The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was more than ample with a wonderful selection of cheese too

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No major complaints. The shower cubical was very small and accidentally moving the temperature to cold gave a bit of a fright!

    The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, it really did feel a family home rather than a hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, i would say that the luggage room can be reached by anyone inside the hotel, not by just the staffs. So i was a bit worried as I left my money and expensive stuffs in there. So my suggestion here would be that you dont leave valuable things in your luggage if you have to leave it in the luggage room.

    - The English-speaking female staff is very helpful about everything. - The room is very clean and new. Though it is not spacious but big enough for two big luggages to lay down with some room to walk in there. - The bathroom is like 4 or 5 stars hotel which is super clean and spacious. - The location is not far from the main station but you will need to walk up and down a small hill to reach the hotel. If travelling with adult people with big luggages, it could be a small problem.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have more choices, it was good but for great food in Switzarland it could be better.

    Room was a good size and from outdoor patio we were lucky to see Matterhorn one morning. Great and very comfortable mattress, my sister is allergic to down and staff was very accommodating to change her bedding to no down.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea facilities in the room but may request hot water from reception - need to bring your cup/flask.

    Clean and comfortable room with view of Matterhorn from balcony. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff. within walking distance to train station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish this property had a steam room &/or hot tub, but otherwise it was great!

    The staff was extremely helpful and accomodating! The breakfast was really nice as well.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it strange that the bar area was not open, but perhaps that was because it was the end of the season.

    Some rooms had great views of the Matterhorn and were spacious. Good breakfast selections. Friendly, helpful staff who spoke English well. Was not located right in the centre but we could walk to trains, gondolas, shops, restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested room with Matterhorn views, however room was side on and mountain could only be viewed from edge of balcony.

    Friendly helpful staff, beautiful, clean and well-maintained rooms, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location. Room modern, clean and comfortable Breakfast just delicious with great selection of cheese, fruits, pastry. Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On phone staff mentioned that pickup and drop off shuttle is included from train station but when we requested drop off we were asked to pay for shuttle.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was kind of basic for Europen standard, not many choices, but it was full with hot and cold choices so served its purpose.

    After traveling in Switzarland/ Itally for 2 weeks this was the best bed I slept in. Very nice quiet hotel but just minutes from main part of town. We had a room on the ground floor with view on Matthron from patio and we were lucky that on first morning clouds have cleared and we saw the whole mountain - great view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too soft.

    It was the best stay in switzerland for the whole trip. Staffs were very helpful to explain us on our questions and also handful to reserve us a famous restaurant in town. I recommended everyone to stay here if you can walk uphill for almost 1 km (approx 9 mins). Live it and wanna come back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle or coffee facilities in the room ( the bar area had tea & coffee which they charged for ( not appreciated) even ice had to be asked for ( if someone was available to give it to us) no bar fridge.

    Nice modern rooms good location reasonable price for Zermat

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could walk to the hotel from the electric bus station. Otherwise it will be 5CHF per person.

    Full breakfast and incredibly clean. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints. Lovely place to stay. Bit of a walk from the train station - 10 minutes or so. Not too bad, but a bit hilly.

    Delightful place to stay. Good breakfast. Nice rooms with comfy beds and duvets. Up to date. Note that bookings.com notes only ethernet wifi connections in rooms, but wifi is available throughout. We'd stay there again, should we be passing through.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No refrigerator in the room.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast and great location. The bathroom was perfetly clean as well. Would like to stay again if we would go back.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was nice but a little small--I bumped the temperature nozzle a couple of times, which made for an interesting shower!

    The staff was so helpful in giving recommendations on outdoor activities. They also arranged for an emergency doctor's appointment and took care of us. The breakfast was also delicious!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Summertime trip: Really helpful staff with lots of tips about when was best to go up the mountains during our stay (they had already checked the weather for us). They were also great at making it clear which breakfast food had allergens in, and offered soya milk without being asked. Rooms were comfortable, and it is in a quieter part of the town, while still only being a 5 minute walk from the centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit far from station, but though we had many suitcases that was not a problem for us.

    Staff are very friendly and nice. They also upgraded our rooms for free. We had beautiful view of the Matterhorn. Breakfast was good. Rooms are very clean. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The splendid location slightly outside the town centre offers the guest calmness still with a good view of Matterhorn. The contemporary design of the rooms as well as common areas was really fresh and appealing. The breakfast offered a broad variety of opportunities for all preferences. The room had comfortable beds and a well functioning AC.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    View from the room of the Matterhorn was incredible, particularly at sunrise (didn't have to leave the bed!). Breakfast was above standard as well... Staff is outstanding

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Manager was rude ( We have a 2 year old Child who was in a new place and understandably was not very keen on eating her breakfast, so we asked the staff if we could take a little something (as a back up) in case we needed on our way to the mountain. The staff were very kind and said we could take them but didnt have boxes or anything (And so we got ours (if you have a baby you are bound to have travel boxes- size of 5X5CMs each, You can't pack a whole meal in it!! - parents would know what I am talking about). Then the manager/ owner showed up and said 'normally we dont allow this' , but since you took it you can keep it with a harsh tone. (like I wanted her mercy for a few pieces of fruit and 2 pieces of mini croissant-- we were paying 180CHF a night for 2 adults and child-- I sure hell can afford to buy food for my child' . This and other instances just showed that this hotel was only after money and didnt care about guests. I understand that the purpose of a hotel is to make money, but their Job is also to be hospitable (You can atleast fake it) and thats why this industry is called Hospitality Industry. As for me I will certainly visit Zermatt and Matterhorn regularly as the area is lovely and I can reach it by a 3 hour drive. But certainly not this Hotel. ( BTW this is the only time I have written a review like this after being with Booking.com for more than 5-6 years and I have stayed in different ranges of places but none so blatantly arrogant.. and I bothered to write this review since the hotel had a 9 rating which was the reason why I booked it)...

    The Hotel was built in 2009 so fairly new and modern

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no refrigerator, no water, no glass for drinking water. only 1 set of shampoo/conditioner/body lotion provided during our two nights stay. confirmed with their staff 1set will be provided even stay for a week...

    Breakfast is good

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some construction in the area and it was noisy at times.

    We loved the modern design of the room. The bed was really comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful and clean. The breakfast was fantastic. Staff were very professional and really nice. The location was really good. It wasjust a great place! It had great value for the money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a great time, I asked for a Matterhorn view room on my reservation and they upgraded me. The room was big with a beautiful view. Breakfast was very good as well, typical swiss buffet. Personal was also very kind and helpful. I did an early check out since I went for a hike, they let me shower and lend me a towel after I came back. Excellent experience!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that we did not stay longer.

    Our rooms (top floor, facing the Matterhorn) had fabulous views off the balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb hotel in a great location. Friendly, knowledgable and very helpful staff. Felt like staying with a family not a business.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Matterhorn View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bacon available for a cooked breakfast

    The room was fabulous. Breakfast excellent, staff extremely helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of different bread and chees for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Matterhorn View from the Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could offer some different pillows as the ones provided were very soft

    Amazing staff and facilities with the best breakfast buffet in the world!

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: