Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Piccolo Hotel 3 stars

Via Avvocato Buetti 11, Muralto, 6600 Locarno, Switzerland

#9 of 41 hotels in Locarno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 699 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to a traffic jam I would be arrive too late in the hotel. The hotel called me to check where I was and then very kindly explained what to do. So friendly, it made my day despite the long traffic jam :-).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hospitality and sense that you are a part of family. Delicious breakfast included in price. Fine touch of old furniture, suitcases etc all over the place to give you a sense of Good old times

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly? I have nothing to complain about. If I had to be really picky, the walls are a little thin and you can hear people coming and going from their rooms (at one point it sounded like someone was coming into our room though that wasn't the case).

    My friend and I came here over a long weekend and couldn't be happier with our stay! The front desk is great - very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was really good: they offered quite a good spread with eggs, bread, cereal, meat, etc. Very yummy and I found myself looking forward to it each morning! I love the decor here - it's quirky and fun, and each floor has its own theme and decoration. It's located a five-minute walk from the train station and even fewer to a few bus stops, so very convenient when you're coming in from elsewhere. Would definitely come back if I'm visiting Locarno again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical of Swiss buildings: Thin wall. You can hear what is going on outside of your room. But this is not that much of a problem if you have respectful neighbours.

    A cozy hotel located at a good walking distance from the station and in a quiet area. There is also a bus stop (line1 & line311, stop Croce Bianca) near the hotel, easy to commute. The best part of this hotel is their very friendly, welcoming and nice staffs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, smallest I have seen ever! Heating unbearably hot. Eggs at breakfast were charged an additional 5chf, not cool!

    Reception staff extremely helpful and diligent. Located within 4 mins of the train station. Nice outside terrace to have a drink and snack. Excelllent Wifi coverage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    This is a wonderfull little place in a quiet residencial area although close to the railway station and everything else. You can start hiking from the doorstep. Exellent breakfast and staff. Recommended.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor is a little dated. Could smell cigarette smoke coming from the neighbouring room.

    Good breakfast with good quality and choice. Comfortable bed with proper down pillows (not the foam-filled ones you usually find in hotels). Quiet location. Little quirky touches in the hallways and stairs that give the hotel character.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sweetness and cozy environment of this hotel definitely makes you want to come back. It was a lovely experience, with such a short walk right from the train station. Very comfortable, staff amazing.

    Breakfast, room, staff, everything was really wonderful. Enough choices in the breakfast for a nice start in the day. Maybe some fruit at the breakfast would be nice, or scrambled eggs, but it was really good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit warm in the room, however it was really warm everywhere :)

    On the second day I had to leave earlier, and I got breakfast served before opening time, which was really nice. The staff were really kind and welcoming with explaining everything. In Ticino you also get a public transport ticket during your stay, from the daily tax which is really incredible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this at short notice to extend my holiday in Switzerland. Because of the Moon and Stars pop festival, Locarno hotels had been fully booked for several weeks before - luckily this became available, presumably as a result of a cancellation. I found this to be a very pleasant place to stay. It is about 8 minutes walk from the station, in a quiet residential road. The hotel interior has nice bright decorating touches, with a theme to each landing. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, especially when I had to leave before breakfast on my last morning. I was also given helpful information on arrival. My small room was very clean, and had a mini fridge, TV and fan. The bathroom had a hairdryer and was also very clean. There was a good choice of food at the Breakfast buffet. In summary this was a very nice place to stay, and I felt lucky getting a room here during a very busy period. (if you are visiting during the Moon and Stars festival, there is a great atmosphere in the town - even if you are not going to a concert).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Might have been nice to be able to get a bottle of water (say) as no shops in the immediate area and hotel all closed at 8.00 p.m.

    Very friendly helpful staff, comfortabel clean room with towels changed daily. Good enough location 10-15 mins from lakeside, restaurants, station etc. Fine view over the lake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though the property has a/c, there wasn't any in our room. We liked the location, but it did mean that when it rained hard, we had to take taxis to restaurants for dinner, which weren't cheap.

    The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. Our stay included a free Ticino card that gave us free travel on local transportation and discounts, which was great. The included breakfast was lovely. Nice quiet, convenient location. The hotel decoration (done by the owner and his girlfriend) is adorable. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay again when I come back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a short distance from the hotel, but not too bad.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. It was a nice, cozy hotel located in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very confusing by arriving by car. Lot of recent one way that GSP don't know ( 2017 version). Room hot in the afternoon but cool down at nigth.

    Staffs excellent , very helpful.They speak French, German, English, Italian. Room is correct but clean , bed comfortable. Breakfast fantastic with all you need for a good start. Good cafe .Very close to central plaza ( 5 minute walk)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Nice hotel located close to the city center and really close to the lake. The room was really nice and clean. The staff was really helpful and friendly. Free parking next to the hotel. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everyone was very welcoming and happy to provide information on what to do and where to go. A nice touch was the shared table set up for solo travellers...a great way to meet people but no pressure if you didn't want to do that. Good selection for breakfast....and all fresh which makes a difference

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have appreciated some tomatoes or cucumbers at the breakfast, otherwise no complaints at all.

    Just as I like it, a real key, no stupid keycards you must shove to a slot on the wall to get the lights working. Windows that can be opened, no humming a/c, just a fan and electric radiators that can be turned on and off as you wish. After too many hotels planned by idiot engineers this was a relief. Clean, cozy. Sympathic staff, peaceful location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We especially enjoyed the personal attention at this small, adorable hotel. The breakfast was exceptional - the homemade fruit and muesli and yogurt cereal was divine!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic but freshly made. Homemade jam & muesli was very tasty. Quiet location & very homely hotel. Would highly recommend if you want somewhere close to the train station but still close enough to Locarno town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot, even for September. Yet there was a fan in the closet that saved the day

    It's a very charming hotel within walking distance to the train station, the lake and the central square

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty close to the town center, quiet location, train station is near. Friendly and helpful staff, nicely designed interior. Delicious breakfast — the choice is not huge, but all the products are of very good quality and very tasty

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little bit outside of the main town but you can easily walk to the lake in 7-8 minutes and get to the main part of town in 15-20.

    Excellent service, staff was very helpful, for example, when we asked about good local restaurants, immediately provided good suggestions and secured a table for us on a busy evening.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very satisfied with the hotel. It was clean, beautiful, the staff was great and very welcoming and polite, the breakfast was excellent. I would book it again if I visit Locarno more.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    limited parking spots (only 5 reserved for the hotel)

    Extremely well located - 5 minutes from Locarno train station and walking distance from Locarno city center; breakfast is excellent; staff is extremely pleasant

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Staff was extremely helpful, the room was very clean & quiet. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Breakfasts very good bed confi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location. room with a veranda, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice little hotel. Not far from the railway station. The breakfast was excellent, and the people are very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel ambience is good... Staff was very helpful and supportive.. good breakfast too..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent and calm location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water tap was difficult to turn on.

    We liked the breakfast , decor of hotel and friendliness of staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast 👍🏻 The cosyness of the room Cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good and the property is well managed. Bedding good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel Piccolo was perfect, the room, the breakfast, the helpful staff. Would definitely return. 😀

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Staff very friendly. Very good breakfast. Rooms clean & beds comfortable (2 pillows per person). Drinks very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very nice staff! Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel - very warm and friendly - excellent breakfast - great staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room without Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably dark lit street going up to the apartment

    The cool decor

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Comfortable large bed and good sized room. Breakfast choices very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mosquitoes in the beer garden

    Lovely lake shore breeze through the French windows in the evening

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    But, the wifi is unbearable slow.

    The location and the staff are terrific.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airco, was very warm in the room

    Close to town Good beds Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location quite close to the station, good and complete breakfast, good customer service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find parking area.

    Clean room, good staffs, easy access to city

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our stay was wi-fi out of order.

    The location is very good, close to the centre and lake, easy to walk. Hotel staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no airconditioning but room was well ecquipped.

    Staff were really helpful, friendly and obliging.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didnt work in Room

    Staff was very friendly and spoke a lot of languages.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only drawback is that the rooms have fully covered carpets on the floor. Would be nicer with wooden floor.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I felt very welcomed and enjoyed the stay. The reception area, bar and lunchrooms were extremely fresh and nicely decorated. The breakfast was excellent. A place that I for sure will return to and can highly recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I couldn't meet the check-in time but the staff was kind enough to arrange it. (though I need to wait a little bit in front of the hotel)

    Staff was very friendly and breakfast was very nice. Great location to access train station.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have loved it more if it were more towards the lake. It is easy to climb down to the station from the hotel but for getting to the hotel you need to avail the bus for two stops, otherwise it's a stiff walk up the hill.

    Overall it was really good, room was fine, breakfast was nice, really liked the stuffs, they were cool and provided very nice suggestions on old city and dinner plans.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THE BRAKEFEST AND THE HARD WORK TO FIND THE HOTEL. THE LOCATION IS FARE

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    -

    Very nice and helpful owner, great breakfast and 5 mins walk from train station.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice location - close to the train station Good breakfast Clean (twin) room with small balcony, refrigerator present

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not much

    Very helpful staff, did whatever they could to help. Great service. Very helpful with gluten free breakfast which was marvellous.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: