Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Prealpina 4 stars

Route de Chardonne 35, 1071 Chexbres, Switzerland

#2 of 2 hotels in Chexbres

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1803 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    3.3
    Lake Geneva view was the only good thing about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has no life.. I swear it is really scary hotel.. eco every where..after 8 no hotel staff at all .. not even security.. no resturant.. pictures aren’t true..

    Lake Geneva view was the only good thing about it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk up from the train station was very steep!

    It had a fantastic view from the balcony of the lake. It was a spacious and comfortable room and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice, comfortable matras, absolutely stunning view.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some facilities could be bettter, like adding an ATM, install a/c, replace physical keys by keycards, and so on. But all of these won't definitely spoil the fun!.

    Nice, comfortable matras, absolutely stunning view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.2
    looks like the hotel is for hosting seminars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    looks like the hotel is for hosting seminars Small rooms, no air con, horrible traffic/train noise when open window The shower was broken, the staff was apathic about that and even didn't appoligize

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent views, friendly staff, good parking facility, quiet and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Individual Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the price for what I ate was high.

    Prefer to have fruit, like a banana but not available. I'm more a cold breakfast eater. The view at breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    Only the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff not helpful and they don’t change bed every day and no AC in hotel it was so hot the daggers 29c also the breakfast only egg and cheese and some fruit

    Only the view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms on the top floor get very very warm in the afternoon during summer. No aircondition or fans provided.

    Good breakfast. Peaceful location/surroundings. Beautiful view of Lake Geneva.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.4
    Very poor sleep quality and would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staying here is like being in a huge echo chamber - mainly due to the lack of sound absorption - and resulted in both nights we were there getting a VERY POOR/NON-EXISTENT SLEEP. Laminate floors everywhere magnify the sounds at night. No air conditioning (which we knew when we booked) also means there is nothing running to help mute sounds. A wedding on Sat. night in the -2 and -1 lower levels was extremely loud and went on until 1:00 a.m. It sounded like they were right next door to us up on the 4th floor. The 2nd night there was a very loud child next to us. We made management aware of all of this. They did comp our breakfasts but it really did not make up for the lack of sleep. Really too bad. Would not stay here again.

    The staff tries really hard and the view of Lake Geneva is gorgeous. Unfortunately, some physical things about the facility could not be overcome, resulting in this low rating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic location with stunning views from suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location overlooking the lake – suite very comfortable and worth the extra for the balcony and stunning view. Car park a bonus. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.0
    Beautiful Views of Lake Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was modern but small and dark. Very little lighting and almost no counter space for toiletries. There is no coffee service in the room, just an electric kettle with tea. Fortunately I had my own instant coffee. At this price point, I would expect a mini bar in the room.

    This was an older hotel that had been recently updated and our double room with lake view was modern and spacious. We also loved the balcony with two chairs and table for coffee in the morning and wine in the evening. Views were gorgeous. Staff was very helpful and provided an ice bucket each evening. We also appreciated the large free car park. I can't comment on the restaurant as we did not take breakfast at the hotel. We were up early to visit Chillon Castle nearby - gorgeous, don't miss it and Montreux is also nearby. Great location if you have car! Our ride to the airport on Lake Geneva was also convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic views, comfortable and specious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is overpriced for what it is, however, the view over the lake is very nice. The second bed (sofa bed) was quite squeaky, so my child did not sleep very well on it.

    Fantastic views, comfortable and specious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location with a beautiful driveway through the woods.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not enough rails to hang towels.

    The beautiful views of the vineyards, lake and Alps. Very quiet and spacious room. The sofa and 2 padded chairs (rare to have 2 chairs in a room) were very comfortable. The balcony with table and 2 chairs were well used. Quaint hotel exterior typical of the area, but modern inside. Chexbres, nearby villages and vineyards are interesting places to explore.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Modern , comfortable hotel in relaxing, beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath shower cabin was a bit small for me.

    Beautiful location on a hilltop amids of old , big trees overlooking the Lac Lemon. Comfortable, spacious parking right in front of the hotel. Friendly, cheerful staff. Suwper quality furniture, designed with taste. The hotel offered free Handy phone with unlimited calls and internet data use during our stay. This mobile phone was a great gadget to use for getting about places on foot and by car, too. Perfect , tasty breakfasts with super caffee and juices served. Impeccable cleanliness . The beds , the linen, the towels are of top makes and condition. Attentive room servicing, cleaning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture can be renewed.

    Breathtaking view. Glad we stayed in Chexbres. It was very authentic and joyful stay. Amazing breakfast! Totally worth 18 CHF. Spacious room with a beautiful balcony. Nice bathroom. Pretty garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    A 2-star hotel they try to sell as a 4-star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel have no restaurant. They have a self service fridge next to reception with some soft drinks and snacks but at 20:00 the staff put a locker on it and then go home. So from 20:00 there is no way to get anything at the hotel, not even a bottle of water. They also lock the terrace at the same time so from 20:00 you have to stay on your room. The room we rented was a family room on the 5th floor but the elevator just went to the 4th floor, after the we have to carry the baby buggy and all the luggage up the stairs. The room had no balcony. Outside the hotel it's dirty and the garden is messy with a old cigarette buds. The kids playground is a danger zone. This is rated as a 4-star hotel and that is for me a mystery. This could be a nice 2-star hotel at the best, but how do you motivate the other stars.

    There is a nice view and the staff was nice and helpful the hours the were in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay with amazing view on the lake
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No mini bar in the room, surprising for a 4 stars hotel. Really few hangers, not many space to organize clothes. Bathtub without shower curtain.

    Fantastic location to rest. Amazing view on the lake from the balcony of the room and from the private garden of the hotel. Free underground parking. Kindness of the staff, always happy to help. Coffee machine and kettle in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Not a 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot say it was a very bad experience but I will not go back. Reasons: hotel "modern oldish" style which means its modern but cheap furniture & not well maintained, the room furniture was broken leather sofas peeled off, in the restaurant plants were almost dead. The restaurant is closed only opened for breakfast, very small reception. People who worked there were nice and the location is perfect but in my opinion is only a 3 stars and a hotel just to sleep.

    People who worked there were nice and the location is perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    staff was great-really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was broken several times. There is no lift up to 5th floor. There was no air circulation in our room- with #windows closed it was really stuffy. There is no food (resto) except the big fridge with wine and snacks.

    staff was great-really friendly. the view was exceptional. the parking was convenient. it was very clean. family rooms are really big and nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location, dissappointing facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room in 5th floor only have small window and no balcony - hard to benefit from the advertised "balcony of Lake Geneva". If you think you have a glass of wine on the terrasse, you will find out that there is no restaurant and no bar. They only cater for breakfast or for banquets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Good stay without food .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room number 110 was very small for a double room I had booked 3 Double Lake view rooms the room number 104 was a good size room, room number 111 was ok size room but room number 110 was very small for the same price it was for single person not double. One more minus point their Resturant for dinner & lunch was closed only breakfast was served for lunch & dinners we had to go to the village which was good 10 minuets walk . According to staff the Restaurant is working only in high season that is June to October this due to staff politics. They have one of best locations and view .

    Great Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel to relax and unwind in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side is that the hotel doesn't do food or have a bar. The food is only available for large corporate events, not to go grab lunch/dinner. Its a shame as they have such a lovely restaurant view!!

    Perfect location. Amazing views from the balcony. Very quiet town, but is perfect to wind down and relax in! Will definitely go back and stay at the same hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel with amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We booked a room with lake view. Very beautiful! The room provided kettle, tea/coffee. The staff was really helpful. We borrowed an adapter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not offered to be helped with the luggage and there is no mini-bar in the room (a fridge with drinks and coffee in the lobby)

    Really nice hotel with amazing views. Price is a bit high considering there is no breakfast included. Hotel is really clean. Without a car not so easy accessible but its worth the drive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Hidden Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No swimming pool.

    The view from the junior suite was absolutely breathtaking. I am yet to find a better view over Lake Geneva. Also, the rooms were super comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Great view. Brutal breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pathetic. Cold wet scrambled eggs and cold sausages. Unacceptable for $30..00 Canadian. Didn’t eat breakfast just passed on it after we walked out of restaurant. Other than that hotel was great had a good sleep

    Fantastic view. Well worth the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Stunning location in a beautiful village in the Lavaux vineyards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here twice but there is no residents' lounge and seems more suited to conferences and meetings. The bedrooms are spotless but very small and have only one small hard chair. We end up sitting on the beds because of lack of space or comfort. The breakfasts are very expensive.

    The location of the hotel is beautiful, overlooking the lake and mountains. Breakfasts are lovely with fresh fruit, Swiss muesli, cheeses and plentiful supply of Swiss breads and the best croissants. Each bedroom has a small balcony with stunning views and a table and seats. Housekeeping staff keep the rooms very clean and refresh rooms and provide clean towels daily.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    clean room, comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would be nice to have small refridgerator in the room, with or without drinks. and milk/cream for the (instant) coffee/tea. very minimal toiletries.

    clean room, comfy bed. the pictures are SUPER wide angle and make rooms look larger than they are

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Estonishing view from the room. Great value for money. Ideal for those who travel by car. We booked family room with lake view, the room is huge and view is breathtaking!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    All in all a nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini bar in room and complicated mini bar and coffee system in the reception area (open only while staffed, nespresso coffee machine did not accept credit cards so cash only)

    Very kind and friendly staff and attentive. Bed very comfy. Called by hotel immediately after booking to finalize family bedding arrangement

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location for those that love walking in the vineyards
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Individual Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The difficult walk from the station to the hotel. A pick up service from the station to hotel would have been excellent. It is only. 900 metre but steep uphill To little maps and tourist info available at the hotel,

    I loved the views and the great location. The beds and cushions were really comfy. A balcony is always fantastic as I like having coffee outside. It was great that one had a kettle in the room to make your own coffee; Lavaux free travel pass was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Absolute bliss!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no restaurant at the hotel. This would be ideal if there could be one. It's very quiet so it makes sense why there isn't one.

    We booked the junior suite and it was beautiful! The view is really worth the upgrade! The hotel is clean and modern. It is really good value for money. If you need time to relax - this will be a perfect stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel with lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bigger quantities of food during busy times at breakfast. It would also be great to have a restaurant onsite.

    View, size of the room, which was also very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Was a really good time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the brekfast in the hotel does not worth spending money. There is nothing to choose from, only if you like to get at least a sandwich for breakfast so you can make it there, otherwise better to go somewhere to eat localy.

    We enjoyed there a lot, fabulous views from the balcony, always warm and clean room. Plenty space in the car park, and it is a very good location for those who likes traveling and exploring everything around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.3
    The hotel was nice but some huge flaws that didn’t make it enjoyable. I wouldn’t return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose this hotel to relax, there’s not too much around so we literally wanted to chill out. The English channels do not work so we couldn’t watch TV (staff pretended to try and fix it but looking at reviews this has been a known problem for months). And we also couldn’t use the plug sockets as they are the strangest size. We have stayed in 5 hotels on our Swiss trip now and hadn’t experienced this. This was also a known problem after phoning reception but they had given their last converter away (apparently). So I couldn’t charge any appliances, charge our phones, style my hair, or watch TV. First world problems I know, but this is what I paid for. Also, the large window in the bathroom is not covered so the lucky people in the house opposite get to see you in all your glory whilst getting in the shower.

    The staff were friendly and the room was fine. The view was amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Great view from our nice room overlooking the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not included and a little expensive for what is offered.

    Great view from our nice room overlooking the lake. Super easy free parking. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was tricky for us having a small baby that there isn't a restaurant for evening meals but the hotel recommended places in the village so take away was no problem.

    The location is everything we wanted from a trip to Switzerland, beautiful views from our balcony. The staff at the hotel were amazing, very helpful from the moment I booked and had some questions and needed extra provisions for our baby. We really loved it and would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Breathtaking view to Lake Léman, vineyards and the Mountains !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate dinner at the local reastaurants. the reasturant not to far from our hotel we decide to walk. But ...going uphill to the hotel after dinner specialy after a bottle of Wine .. hmmmm 😌

    View from our room facing to the lake Leman, very relaxing place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Was good and fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That there is no bar or a facility to drink something during the day or in the evening

    Hotel is located on the hill, from where the Lac Leman can be seen super!! Fantastic location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    A room with an amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do at night. No bars or resturants close by

    The view from the room was breathtaking!!the hotel was in a very nice location between Montreux and Laussane but you need a car to explore and enjoy your stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel and breathtaking views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not included. Everything else was fantastic.

    The hotel was beautiful, clean, and had the most fantastic view overlooking the lake. It's on top of the hill and we had just beautiful views. Very friendly staff. They gave us a bus pass for free train/bus transportation in the area during our stay. We loved it! They gave us a small hot water pot in the room too for coffee and tea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Good location - very little atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    If the hotel is not full (and it seemed quite empty) it would be nice to be offered a room with a view rather than one without. There was no option to pay more for a room with a view when booking and it seemed that better rooms were available but left empty.

    The hotel is very nicely located - decent sized rooms, excellent bathroom, and very comfortable beds - just all felt a bit clinical and the greeting from reception was a little frosty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    The location was a perfect place to relax, but convenient enough to travel to adjacent towns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Location was excellent with amazing views of Lake Lucerne amidst vast wine vineyards. Staff helped us with suggestions of activities and restaurant options and gave us passes for free bus, train, and metro travel throughout our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Would return tomorrow if I had the opportunity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clearer directions on where to find hotel.

    Everything. Fantastic views from dining veranda and from outside breakfast room. Very peaceful. Staff excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Great stay by a magnificent lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no guest lounge nor bar that did not worry us at all but it may have if there were more guests wanting these facilities

    One of our primary reasons for choosing a hotel is ease of finding it and parking . The Prealpina was perfect inthis regard. The staff were great in all respects and the room (102) and bathroom had been recently renovated and were excellent and we had a very good size balcony overlooking the east end of the lake. The downside is that because the owners are concentrating on conferences and weddings and the like, their is no lounge for hotel guests nor is there a bar. The upside of that management decision is that we got to sit in the main dining room and the general balcony space overlooking the entire lake and drinking our own wine. From our point of view the hotel was great. The local village has a choice of restaurants and Lausanne was an easy 15/29 minutes drive in one direction and Montreux ( and the train to the plush ski resort of Gstaad- a fantastic trip and the Chillon castle)is only 17 minutes away by car. We enjoyed a great stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Parking was very convenient, and there were great views of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is an expensive area, but the hotel is quite reasonably priced.

    Parking was very convenient, and there were great views of the lake from our room. The room itself was modern, clean, and comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly and helped with restaurant recommendations and reservations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    The view from the room was beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was all great.

    The view from the room was beautiful! We were able to walk to a wonderful place for dinner. The entire experience was top-notch!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.4
    Not satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The picture is different as with the real room type. I booked the family room but when I arrive they give me a room which is much smaller,especially the window is not a window but a very small skylight. The manager gave me the reason that she can not put all the pictures on booking.com so she chose one of the room type to upload. They gave me 30 CHF discount in the end but I'm not satisfied,won't stay here next time.

    Good service and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Lovely quiet location high up above the lake, with beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant does not live up to the location and indeed, this was the first time in my life I have ever returned a meal (meat was inedible). They appropriately replaced it, but the second dish (fish) did not taste fresh either, so I only ate the vegetables.

    Lovely quiet location high up above the lake, with beautiful views. Very nice room with a great balcony. Front desk staff were friendly and nice to my dog.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely location and hotel but not quiet at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Lack of minibar and AC in the room (which you would expect from a 4 star hotel) - Not a quiet hotel at all: on Saturday there was a wedding (the restaurant was closed), on Sunday there was a very noisy helicopter flying back and forth from 7 am till noon (apparently it happens 6 times a year as they are spraying the vineyards but with the lack of AC it was impossible to close the window not to hear it) and on Monday a huge group of tourists arrived (impossible to get a spot during breakfast).

    - Comfortable bed (even though made of 2 single matresses it was made in a way that you could not feel it) - balcony with beatiful views to the lake (we had a side room, upper floors have nicer views) - amazing location, great starting point to discover the nearby vineyards - kettle in the room - delicious and rich breakfast. Very helpful staff member serving breakfast, he did a good work to ensure there was always plenty of food and drinks. Lovely terrace with view to lake. - Free parking. Plenty of parking space, they even have underground parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Great room with beatiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing view on the lake Leman from the balcony! The room was clean and had everything we needed, beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.0
    On the 4th floor with out a lift!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact it was not mentioned that it's 96 stairs with no lift with suitcases it's a challenge

    On the 4th floor with out a lift!!! It's not a hotel it's a room in a building Location was great. Was not easy to find the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Clean and modern hotel with great views of the lake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed one night

    The best thing of course is the view. The other consideration is that the hotel was cheaper than hotels in Montreaux and Vevey. The distance between the hotel and these cities is only a few kilometers.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Good place for relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No body helps in carrying your luggage

    The location is very good and close to the tourist facilities in Montrox, vevey and Luasanne, the room is well equipped

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Good place to visit lake Leman
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were in a really hot day in summer and our room was an oven. We couldn't stay in there between 12am and 8pm and even was hard to sleep. This is only a few days in the year but this ruined part of our stay

    Is great to wake up and have such a clear view to the lake. Is close by car to all the cities of the Lake: Vevey (5 minutes), Montreux, Lausanne... The room cleaning service was wonderful and the restaurant has a good variety of high quality food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous location with fabulous view and lovely comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No climate control - wasn't a big problem for us but could be uncomfortable in very hot weather. Minimal storage (wardrobe/drawers) in some rooms. Restaurant only open Tues-Sun for dinner during certain months

    Comfy bed, amazing shower and fabulous views from the balcony

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    The view from the hotel is worth it the trip! I definitely want to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from this hotel is just amazing! We enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace with the stunning view on the lake and the mountains to the fullest!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Short but sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with excellent vista and furnishing would be great during winter, but ours was a summer visit and would do well with some form of cross ventilation or air conditioning. We returned too late the evening after a day out to request a room change. Besides we loved the view and room comfort was otherwise great.

    Friendly helpful service reception, bar and dining. Fantastic views & village walks. Recommended: close to Montreax with easy frequent train transport from quaint station. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful weekend getaway. Stunning lake and Alp views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Liquid soap bottles are fixated to wall, which is nice. But the pumps for the liquid soaps didn't work, either in the shower or by the sink. Didn't love the smell of the soap either that much -- rosemary?

    View was magnificent. Splurge for a room with a terrace and lake view, it is breathtaking. Quiet and peaceful. Two bottles of water in the room, super comfy linens and mattresses. Staff professional. Nice strolls and scenery around the hotel. 15 minute walk to Chexbres. Nice breakfast with view of the lake. Easy jaunt by car to Vevey, Montreux, fun tourist destinations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent views from the hotel but pity about the lack of air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately it was a very hot evening and there was no air conditioning in the room - didn't sleep very well :(

    Fantastic location and secure parking on site

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    What a view...what a poor renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is located in an historic building on a fantastic location .... but how poorly can one renovate ... the style is cold, cheap materials were used like laminate, plastic and aluminium, such a shame... We were there on a Monday and the resto as well as the bar were closed. In hotel with so many rooms I find this unacceptable. So much more you could do with this hotel ....

    Stunning view, fantastic location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    3.8
    disappointed with the room!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we entered the room was not cleaned to professional standard, the sheets had stains on them, the chair's cover was ripped apart and hanging, the curtains was pretty dirty, the stains of mosquito's blood on the wall that previously been zapped!!! the Tv remote was not working and had to ask couple of times for the new battery, the reception told me to go downstairs and get them instead of sending someone to the room. even the telephone in the room was not connecting to the reception!!!! I was so mad, at first I wanted to leave and book somewhere else so bad but I had to leave in the morning to another city that I could not be asked after I have arrived pretty exhausted! had a rough night though! the queen bed as I was requesting was not queen and they have just put two single bed together!!! very uncomfortable actually. I have requested and paid for lake view but instead I got side view from balcony. they said to me, sorry you have checked in late and all other rooms are full!!!!

    The view from the restaurant was amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.5
    Great STAY!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no AC in the rooom (as I am very often in the FR part of CH - never been so hot like this time :-), no fridge...

    The holiday - it is not only the hotel, it is also the people, hotel staff! ...and you will be very happy with it!!! Thank you very much for the wonderful stay! I have to make my stay shorter and it was not even not problem co cancel it at the last day of my stay..... No money charge!!! I LOVE CHEXBRES!!! for eat the Restaurant Lion d'Or! Best regards to you!!! michal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous location, but a bit corporate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Annoyingly, the restaurant was not open until the first week in July, which was a tad inconvenient.

    Marvellous breakfast. Extraordinarily healthy and lots of it and superb quality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Hot and noisy but great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and a very loud wedding disturbed us until late. Second stay but can't imagine that we would return.

    Fantastic views across the lake

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Moment de serenite
    • Solo traveller
    • Individual Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    they have no resto, so needed to go somewhere else for dinner...overall had good impression and feeling about the hotel. definitely will be back!!!

    the view from the breakfast room and their garden!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located about 10 miles or so from Montreux, you either have to take cab train or bus . The time I was the train was to this town was not in service . After 8 pm or so buses r usually hard to get as well , you either have to pay for cab or uber which costs about 60$ each way . It's much better to buy hotel in montreux town itself to avoid all these transportation problems . Plus there are no bars or restaurants near this hotel . Hotel is very beautiful tho and staff is very friendly .

    The hotel is beautiful and the view is absolutely breathtaking from the room . Spacious and clean room , friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    A room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The views from the property are stunning! The hotel was renovated to a high standard, with bright, large rooms (some with balconies) in a convenient location close to Montreux, Lavaux and Lausanne. Guests have access to a free travel pass which allows free transport (train and buses) in the area stretching as far as Lausanne and Montreux/Villeneuve. Very convenient, environmentally friendly and fun!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.8
    Great views, but no a/c
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning! Was very warm and uncomfortable in the room. Had worn out furniture.

    Great views!!! Awesome view of the lake and vineyards. Friendly staff and easy walk from the station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable modern hotel with superior lake and mountain views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator access on the top floor. Must take stairs down one floor to access it.

    A very quiet location with fabulous views of Lake Geneva and distant mountains. Excellent breakfast with awesome croissants. Free train passes were great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Superb view from room of Lake Geneva, mountains and UNESCO vineyards but with limited facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be aware of steep uphill walk back from town. No restaurant even for breakfast. No bar. 4* hotel rating but no dressing gowns, slippers, very sparse toiletries, no fridge. Basic garden setting. No space in bathroom for own toiletry bags had to use the floor.

    Superb view from balcony room of Lake Geneva, mountains and UNESCO vineyards.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.9
    Amazing view with top cleanliness and professional and friendly staff
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant for dinner or lunch No Bar for aperitif or late night drinks No entertainment or music No shuttle No pick up or drop off for hotel guests to train station or closest township with or without cost No taxi rank at hotel or at train station - uphill walk back to hotel with rain difficult without transport

    awesome buffet breakfast Amazing view Fantastic vineyards and cellars in the local village Great tea and coffee making facilities in room Cleanliness extraordinary Good room size and rooms with balcony are a bonus Great garden area for families and friends Friendly and professional staff Uber available from Lausanne More a functions and events hotel Good restaurants and bars in Chexbres Villages Hire car required Train only leaves every hour fromChexbres Village Good cost for proximity to Vevey/Montreux/Lausanne and Chateau de Chillon

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    GREAT LOCATION WITH GREAT VEIWS OF LAKE AND VINEYARDS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO RESTAURANT AT PROPERTY, NO ROOM TO SIT AT DESK ON CHAIR - BECAUSE NO SPACE BETWEEN END OF BED AND DESK,( DESIGN FLAW), POSITION OF HAIRDRIER AKWARD DUE TO GLASS SHELF TO CLOSE( DESIGN FLAW). THESE ARE MINOR CRITISIMS THAT DIDNT SPOIL OUR STAY BUT ARE A CASE OF DESIGNERS NOT LOOKING AT PRACTICAL ISSUES WHEN BEING USED BY GUESTS!!

    THE PROPERTY WAS CONVEINENTLY LOCATED& EASY TO FIND, IT HAS GOOD PARKING FACILITIES, ROOMS VERY CLEAN AND NEW, VEIW SPECTACULAR ACROSS LAKE.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel, unbeatable views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing not to like about this hotel.

    This hotel is AMAZING. The view is unbeatable. The facilities are fantastic, rooms are clean and recently refurbished. The value for money is probably one of the best I have ever come across. We had one night booked and came back for our last night as we were just so impressed. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel, and definitely recommend the Chexbres/Lavaux area as opposed to the city centre areas of Lausanne or Montreux or even Vevey. Can't speak more highly of this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel was great I would highly recommend but I wish they had a restaurant.

    Prealpina is a marvelous hotel! We enjoyed are stay here and wished we had booked for longer! The views from the hotel were unbeatable. The staff was fantasic and made lots of recommendations for our stay even with the rain!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Amazing location, best veiw and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, unbelievable view, amazing atmosphere,I think it was the best you could get for about £400 .I add some photos from my room balcony .

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: