Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Résidence CityZen 3 stars

10, Rue Sismondl, Paquis, 1201 Geneva, Switzerland

#27 of 49 Holiday rentals in Geneva

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 644 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    Love that the apartment has all the basic facilities and is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's located in the red light district which makes for a fascinating experience, and my friends and I didn't mind it at all. I would however perhaps think twice before staying here with my parents though!

    Love that the apartment has all the basic facilities and is spacious enough!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.7
    It was a handy location to the Lake and the attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in the red light district and you had to walk through it each time you went out. It was very noisy in the evenings. The kitchen was not well supplied with glasses and cups and there was no coffee machine.

    It was a handy location to the Lake and the attractions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Good facility in borderline dicey area
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is on the edge of the red light district with girls on most corners and doorways. Very noisy all-night bars are directly across the street. But, saying that, if you walk out of CityZen and turn left, in 50 metres you come to a cross street that is completely different with nice restaurants.

    Nice, clean basic room. Good location in that it is close to the lake and restaurants. High end hotels costing many times more are a couple blocks away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Cityzen of Geneva
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is awkward, in red light zone. Not recommanded for family stay. Few guys always there in front street in hangout mood. If you enter from lake side its better.

    Room has very comfortable bed. 2 AC unit makes it perfect room temperature. Kitchen with electric oven, microwave, electric kettle, iron, safe box, all found as described. Rooms are spacious, 2 tv set. Double bed and a sofa is good for three people. Everyday they clean the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    Noise from dusk till dawn. Lots of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was impossible to sleep on the room that faced Rue Sismondi: lots of noise during ALL night - even that our room was on the 5th floor. To be honest, the room that faced the interior court was silent; but since we were 3 people one of us had to suffer the shouting, music and racket from the people that were on the street like they owned the city. Now we understand why the hotel reception closes by night! Maybe it was a warm Friday August night and during the rest of the week / year this is different. Maybe if you can retreat into the interior room you didn't notice the problem. But surely for us was a terribe stay, never to repeat.

    Friendly staff. The air conditioning did a good job during a hot day

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.1
    Despite the location, it's the best value in Geneva.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had lived in Geneva before so thought I knew that the red light district was relatively safe and fine to stay in. What I didn't realise is that this hotel is absolutely in the middle of the 2 streets that make up the main red light district. There are people selling on the street 24 hours a day. We were 2 men and a woman so didn't get bothered but I wouldn't recommend this place to solo women.

    Despite the location, it's the best value in Geneva. 250m from main train station and 250m the other way to the lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    An excellent base for enjoying Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Helpful staff at reception. Good sized room with balcony which had a table and 2 chairs for sitting out. Central location near station and close to restaurants offering various types of cuisine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Quality / price ratio excellent for this location in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For us was OK.

    Quality / price ratio excellent for this location in Geneva: close to the station and very close to the lake. Personnel and cleanliness outstanding. We stayed in an apartment small but nice and with a kitchenette well equipped where we prepared breakfast and sometimes when we arrived very late dinner. We had no problem with the people activating in the red light district area and if you do not want to pass close to them approach the hotel from Paquis street. Conclusion: Best location in Geneva at this price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable with easy access to the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is at the edge of the sex trade stroll, so walking to the hotel you may pass prostitutes standing on the street corner. However, they don't bother anyone, and staying there is much less expensive than staying at a four- or five-star hotel right on the lake front. Overall, good value for money.

    I enjoyed having a kitchen and living area. Hotel is just a couple of blocks from the train station and the lakefront. My room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    A great introduction to Geneva; we shall go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much storage. A cafetiere would have been useful.

    Lovely helpful staff. Not the most salubrious district but convenient for station, restaurants and lake. We didn't have the breakfast available for 10 francs but it looked good value. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout is weird: the toilet/shower room and the kitchenette/sink room are between the bedroom and the living room.

    Location is very central, close to the central station and the lake. Check in was fast and easy. The rooms are sparkling clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    So so
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tv reception not great, sink was blocked. Kitchen poorly stocked. Strabnfge layout with toilet between bedroom and kitchen. Not sure I would stay again.

    Central location and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Convenient and recomendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow! This hotel was one on the best we stayed in this summer! We only slept there for a night but we were impressed with the cleanliness, comfort, security and the WIFI. It’s in the center, near the Geneva lake and about 5-7 minutes walking to the train station. We were advised not to use one of the streets near the hotel if didn’t want to see the “women” because the red neighborhood is behind, so we didn’t do it and we always walked the other side. Everything else around the hotel is clean and safe. French is the language you hear the most.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location and bad location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location and bad location. Central close to train station and lake, but also in the heart of the Red Light District. This street at night seemed especially sketchy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    A good night's sleep
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was dissappointed with the location because of the bars and night life that made me reluctant to go out at night.

    The rooms were very clean and quite comfortable especially the bedding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    It served the purpose for my overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud and Noisy patrons along the streets.

    Cleanliness. Location is quite good except that it appears to be in a red light district. There was a good Lebanese restaurant nearby which served delicious food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location - except the road we were on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was in the red light district....however sitting on the balcony watching all the coming & goings on was entertaining. Minutes from the lake and. Cafe culture.

    Cleanliness excellent..comfy sofa bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    3.3
    One of the most forgettable and unpleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible attitude of the staff. No responsibility.

    Air condition not working. Room on 6th floor and not accessible by elevator. Attic floor so room with sloping roof and over heated. Rude staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Big apartment with interesting view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I did not like was the fact that the room tripled in price the second day because of a conference somewhere that I had no business with. Triple the price makes you feel cheated whatever the reason.

    Great hotel. Ample space inside. Nice Living room. Good bed excellent shower. It is not a problem it is partly in the red light district, even for a female travelling alone. Quite safe and easy to walk around. I did like the fact that the Bedroom was in the back and therefore Quiet enough when you would close the kitchendoor. the front of the street is very busy with pimps and loud customers at the terrace of a café opposite all through the night. The ladies work during the day as Well. If you exit the hotel on the left (no redlight district) if you turn to the right there are lots of ladies to wave at.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in the red-light district can be off putting. However had no problems and was aware of its location before going.

    It's a nice relaxing place to stay and the staff are friendly and always willing to help. During the booking I asked for a room on the upper floors and they were more than happy to accommodate this request.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place, great and friendly staff, great location (it is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place, great and friendly staff, great location (it is in a "red light district" but absolutely no issue but may not be ideal for families)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    That was my second stay in Hôtel Résidence CityZen.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area could be a bit noisy also in the evenings, if this bothers someone.

    That was my second stay in Hôtel Résidence CityZen. Main advantage: best value for money in Geneva and I think I would choose to stay there in the future, if available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent apartments, just right for our small family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sex shops at one end of Rue Sismondi are a bit seedy, but these can be avoided by walking the other way, if you want to.

    Excellent apartments, just right for our small family. Thank goodness for the lift as we were on the 5th floor. Staff at welcome and check-out were great, and the apartment had everything we needed for a weekend. Very centrally located within easy reach of lake, restaurants, public transport, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for Geneva if the downsides don't bother you.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do be aware of the location in the red light district. It's somewhat confronting to see women sitting in shop windows, and probably not for kids. It was also noisy with I think the same man spending most of both nights I spent there shouting below my window.

    The apartment was well provisioned, spacious by Geneva standards, and clean. The bed was comfortable. Staff friendly and competent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, clean, but a little noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, clean and comfortable, but the hotel is in the midst of the busy redlight district, which meant it was noisy at night (so I didn't sleep as well as I might). Next time I would insist on a room at the back of the hotel...

    Great apartment, great value, immaculately clean and a lovely central location, albeit right in the middle of the redlight district, which made for some interesting questions from my two young daughters!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Location awful but great apartment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    t the location was terrible - right next to a sex shop in the worst street in geneva. Not a place you want to walk around alone as a woman.

    The flat was great - ppl nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice clean hotel close to the railway and bus stations, close to the Lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was not so good, aspecially for kids. The choice of food is poor. Advise to eat in a cafe - to have some hot meal - either eggs or porrige. And the street, were the hotel is situated, is a little bit scary. But the price is nice, so it is not a big problem, if you travel with your husband.

    the rooms are big, everything is clean, the beds are comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    The apartments are very comfortable - really good size, well...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartments are very comfortable - really good size, well equipped kitchen, clean and well maintained. have always been pleased by my stays there - and apartments are cleaned everyday - not always the case in these aparthotels!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Good stay and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking facilities were not given even though mentioned on the website..We had to roam for half an hour for finding parking spots.

    The rooms were quite spacious and easily 4 people can live..the sofabed is quite big. Rooms were clean and had all the necessities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Red pill or the blue pill?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lively outside in the evenings, but it has never caused me any difficulties. Turn right from the hotel, nightlife; turn left, quiet life.

    Good location, 5mins walk from the railway station, but on the edge of the small red light district. Don't let that put you off; this hotel is great for medium to long stays, with above average space for the price. You don't even have to worry about room keys because it has code entry.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Very Noisy with no sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the drug dealers that played their trade outside the hotel that lasted until 7am each morning was incredibly loud and prevented all members of our family from sleeping. The staff were polite and helpful and moved us to another room but this was just as bad and we were still unable to sleep. Such a shame, the staff and rooms were very good. We wouldn’t use this hotel again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Excellent value, lovely kitchenette was a bonus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A strange smell upon entering the room: disappeared after we moved in

    Kitchenette with fridge pots and pans was incredible for our stay! We love to cook and eating out in Geneva can be very expensive!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Really great for longer stays
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and not as loud as you might think in the red light district. But having stove & microwave was a life and wallet saver for a long visit. Super comfy bed too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    We booked this apartment for a one night stop over before flying home which was a perfect choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Area a little busy and noisy at night

    Spacious apartment with separate bedroom completely private from main room. Very comfortable beds. Crisp clean linen. Adequate kitchen utensils. Central location. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.7
    Worth of value but noisy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in red light district. And at night people were shouting downstairs (drunk) it’s was too noisy.

    The sofa bed is very nice. And the room is big enough and it’s very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    First visit to Geneva and it exceeded our expectations overall. Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Even though it was in the red light district it wasn't difficult to ignore it. Noisy at night but as the bedroom was at the back and after closing all the doors, it did not disturb our sleep anytime.

    Bed comfy. Wonderful pillows. Warm bedroom appreciated during cold weather. Housekeeping every day was very good. Reception staff had good English and were very helpful. Good tourist advice. Easy transport and very local. Doable walk to train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money, not a nice area but very friendly staff and clean, comfortable place
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area. Breakfast very basic. Maybe an idea to put a coffee machine in the apartment?

    Geneva is rather expensive. This was the best value for money I found. The staff was very friendly, the apartment located near the train station, however in the area with prostitutes, even if we felt safe, it is not the best area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Decent hotel in very central location. In red light district but price reflects this. Good value.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As others have said, the location is in the red light district which was a bit off-putting, but it is only on the immediate street and it did not feel unsafe outside. The bathroom arrangement in the apartment was a bit odd - you have to walk through the bathroom to get to the bedroom - so probably best for guests who know one another well!

    The apartment was a good size, quiet, comfortable, and clean. It is extremely well situated for the airport as it is only a 5 minute walk from Geneva central station so it it very easy to get to it from the airport on a direct train. We paid extra for the breakfast which was perfectly adequate, with good coffee. I will happily stay here again on my next visit to Geneva.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Excellent apart hotel in a great Paquis location, close to everything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although not a problem for this particular visit, more kitchen utensils are needed: chopping board, bread knife, cheese grater, colander, garlic squeeze, an extra pot, salad bowel. Washing up liquid. Am sure would not have been a problem to provide but better there in the first place.

    Comfy bed, good selection of English-speaking news stations on TV, even though is an apart hotel, fresh towels AND cleaning, bed-making done every day! Super clean apartment. Good internet access, very friendly and accommodating staff. Great location. Was my 4th stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    Home away from home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be prepared for the lively nightlife outside (five minute walk from the main station, through the red light district), but it's never been a problem for me. Get over that and it's my favourite place to stay in Geneva.

    I hate giving this place a good review because I want to keep it all to myself! Stay away, you won't like it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Room was update, very modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Room was update, very modern. Location very close to train station but actual location is on street like red light district, not good to bring kids here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    The apartment was beautifully clean and the decor was modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located in the red light district and the men and prostitutes were noisy throughout the night which interrupted my sleep

    The apartment was beautifully clean and the decor was modern. The staff could not have been more helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    Satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in time was limited. I arrived Geneva after 9pm and had to check-in at Hotel Admiral to collect the necessary keys and pass code. The toilet/shower room is located in-between the bedroom and pantry. If you are using the toilet/shower room, you will have to lock the bedroom door and the pantry door.

    Location. Clean bedroom and a spacious living room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    Nice if you don't mind the red light district
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in the red light district and the street is full of prostitutes. For the same reason it is noisy at night. There was no heating and the nights were cold.

    The room was clean and comfy. Being at the top floor, it had a lovely terrace. The small kitchen was helpful. The location is close to railway station and lake.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.8
    A place for experienced travelers who do not mind living in the middle of the red light district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is no place for families to stay. It is in the middle of the red light district. The nights are noisy, the streets filled with garbage that goes with this kind of district.

    The hotel is in walking distance to the train station and only a stroll away from the lake. The rooms are simple but spacious (if you leave the door from the bedroom open, that is).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    2.9
    I would never stay here again and suggest nobody else does either.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was in the red light district of Geneva. Location was very unsafe. I felt uncomfortable my entire stay. The hotel attempted to double charge me for the room.

    Was able to book last minute

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    nice place within a walking distance of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    design of toilet as it was in the middle between bedroom and living room

    nice place within a walking distance of everything. great and accommodating people in reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    very nice and calm hotel, very nice staff, but bad location, in the hearth of the red light district
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location of the room is in the very middle of the red light district. I wasn't expecting that and being a woman travelling alone, I must admit that in the evening I didn't feel safe.

    the room was clean and very quiet. The staff was extremely nice and smiling.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.8
    Rooms where to a good standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location wasn't good as outside you had prostitutes on the street corner and on the same corner was a sex shop. Not an ideal place for family. Nice hotel bad location. Parking wasn't available for the hotel directly. They do give you a card which reduces the cost of parking.

    Rooms where to a good standard. Staff was friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    The residence was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no 24 hour staff at the location. Check in is difficult if you arrive after 4 pm. Neighborhood is not safe, not family friendly. Street in front is very narrow, hard to get in and out.

    The residence was clean and comfortable. Location is close to the attractions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.0
    Lots of space inside the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely not recommendable for family with kids. It is situated in the middle of the red light district of Geneva even if located the station and the lake

    Lots of space inside the rooms. new rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    The room was very clean which is something I pay attention...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet with shower was located in between the bedroom and the living space which we were using for bedroom with the sofa bed so it wasn't the most convinient thing especially with 2 young childrent. Perhaps not all apartments are like that. It would also have been useful if they provided sponge and washing liquid for the plates. Also while location is really good, that street up to the point of the hotel is full of sex workers. A lot of them!!

    The room was very clean which is something I pay attention at especially with the kids. The kitchennete was very handy and the fixtures and fittings very modern.The shower was very big and the sofa bed was really a double bed. We arrived when reception was closed but the've sent us all the codes and it was really easy to get in. Location wise is very closed to the centre and within 5 mins walk from Gare d Gorvanin and shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money solution.
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The residence is in red lights district and I was wondering if the area would have been safe enough. Actually if you approach the hotel through Rue des Pâquis you basically almost avoid the red lights area.

    Good value for money solution. Apartments are not big, but clean and comfortable. Convenient location to visit the city, we could easily walk everywhere. Close to train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.7
    Staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of the apartment..its awkward, you have to pass through toilet going to the room or back. Location is not ideal with children

    Staff were friendly. Room is clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.3
    Close to the railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in the red light district of Geneva. Not suitable for family with kids. I felt safe walking in the area, but it is sad to watch the people there. I preferred to use Rue des Pâquis in stead of Rue Pellegrini-Rossi to enter Rue Sismondi where the hotel is situated.

    Close to the railway station. Many good restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location near everything clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I never had any complaints and my holiday was amazing.

    The hotel was very central and in walking distance of all the tourist attractions and transport. As mentioned in other reviews it is situated in the red light area of the town but my party never felt unsafe walking near the hotel and we were coming back late at night. The staff were all friendly and helpful with information when asked. The room was equipped with everything we needed during our stay. Our room was cleaned every day and clean towels too. Little tip for Switzerland look into the Geneva Pass. It Allows you to get free entry to many museum and sightseeing attractions and was great value for money. To gain entry to the hotel you require a code number we arrived after the reception had closed for the night but we had been emailed complete details on how to enter the hotel and there is a sister hotel just round the corner which would help.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.3
    I do not recommend for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I said above. Night clubs region.

    We do not like the location because of it was on the night clubs region. There was lots of every kind of people on the street.It was not for the families.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Rooms were very clean and maintained well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very clean and maintained well. Red light district was outside the door almost but at no time did we feel uncomfortable. The hotel is situated perfectly for tourism and transport is easy and accessible,. Woukd recommend the tourist passes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.3
    The hotel is located in the center, near the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located on the love street. It's not pleasant to walk through this street to the hotel.

    The hotel is located in the center, near the lake. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.3
    Extended stay hotel located in the heart of red light district
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two main concerns with this property: 1. it is right in the middle of the red light district. While not unsafe per se, it is definitely an uncomfortable walk to get to the hotel front door past scantily clad women 24 hours a day, and dozens of men keeping watch and leering. I would never let my family stay in this location. 2. the air conditioning units leak like crazy. I used all the pots, pans and towels in apartment to catch the water all over the furniture and floors - but there was no evidence that the hotel administrators were attempting to fix the problem

    This Hotel is a basic hotel designed for extended stays. The mini apartment is a series of EXTREMELY small rooms (some so small that I couldn't extend my arms straight out without banging into the walls). The rooms include a sitting room, mini kitchenette (stove top, hot water kettle, dishes), bathroom stall, and bedroom. It is austere, but functional. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Huge, apartment style with cooking equipment, refrigerator and microwave. Near in the train station,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The red light district but it's not bothered us, only if you go out you will see them

    Huge, apartment style with cooking equipment, refrigerator and microwave. Near in the train station, grocery and tourist attraction. You can also find many restaurant around the area. I love the balcony as well. And free public transport given by the hotel..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    3.8
    Awkward and shameful experience for family traveler
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were traveling with 2 young kids.This property are in Redlight area with full activity of prostitution. Many sex shops are around. Throughout night it is noisy with bad elements rom around.not at all recommended for family traveller.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Well accommodated room in a very active area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As evangelical Christians, we found some activities directly outside our room that did not agree with the teachings of Jesus H Christ. let's just say Mary Magdalene would have found some like minded colleagues here... But it was all good clean fun

    Great location and great breakfast in the heart of Geneva red light district. Great to watch the homies on the street hussling the passers by and the ladies in short skirts from our little balcony. Interesting locationm. But really, the rooms are large and clean and there's nothing wrong with this place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Exiting Experience in Geneva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot stay with families for longer duration as the hotel is close to Red light area.

    The property is good and very close to the train station. The rooms are small but they are neat and comfortable. Staff are good and helpful. It is a good location for a couple of days.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Conveniently located and good value for Geneva
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in red light district of Geneva. However, as three women travelling together we did not feel uncomfortable walking around the area at all. And felt very safe in the hotel. If you approach the hotel from Rue de Paquis you avoid walking through the main areas where the prostitutes are very visible.

    The property is conveniently situated a few minutes walk to the lake. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, as was the receptionist at the sister hotel Admiral when we had a problem whilst CityZen reception was closed. The apartment was comfortable and fairly well equipped. Air conditioning was useful as it was hot during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Was pleasant and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel rooms were very nice. The staff were very friendly and always had a smiling face. The room was also comfortable. The Hotel location was not the best as it was next to the red light district. Sometimes it was loud and sometimes people were drunk and kept making noises

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.3
    Separate living space to bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly odd arrangment walking through bathroom to get to bedroom

    Separate living space to bedroom. Having access to kitchen facilities. Very convenient to the lake, old town and public transport

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    a place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is between the train station and the lake , the staff are nice and rooms are clean i could highly recommend this hotel especially for groups rooms are large

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is surprisingly clean to Geneva standards and the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Doggy neighborhood, prostitutes on the street day and night....wasn't a comfortable feeling to walk home after a business dinner. The breakfast is very, I mean very very limited and they have only 2 tables for I guess 10-12 rooms

    The hotel is surprisingly clean to Geneva standards and the rooms were also comfortable in the size. The hotel is better than expected and is suitable for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel. Friendly staff. Near the main train station but super scary street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is in the red light district. Scary. Esp at night. We also got a call from strangers - they called he room. They may have been calling the reception because they were inquiring about the hotel rates. Super scary.

    Very good room size. The hotel is very near the main station. Wonderful! The staff were friendly. They provided info in advance like to room number, codes etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    A beautiful apartment room at very fair price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything there.

    We rented two apartments.They were spacious, nicely furnished and very clean. The whole place was cozy and we felt like home. The breakfast was plenty and tasty, every adult, kid and teenager appreciated it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.2
    Everything was perfect, as usual (it has been the third time...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No complaints, other than a somewhat small apartment but it is Geneva, baby. :)

    Everything was perfect, as usual (it has been the third time I stayed at CityZen). Special thanks to the staff who was friendly, helpful, and professional.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, affordable stay in Geneva
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Reception is only open certain hours, so check beforehand. Otherwise reception is available at the Hotel Admiral, but they knew nothing about us when we required something to be delivered via DHL, despite even sending them an email in advance.

    Very nice apartment hotel with own kitchen. Conveniently situated near the station, close to major supermarket and close to the Lake Geneva, but also right in the centre of the red light district.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    3.8
    Good size one bedroom apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beware: This is the prostitutes neighbourhood, although not too far from main train/bus station. Not recommended for family with kids. No reception staff after 1600 hrs; have to check in at different location on a different hotel/street. Furnitures is outdated. Very few glasses available. The description of meal plan provided by Bookings.com leads you to believe that you have to pay (again) although you have already paid for the breakfast. Underground Parking is off site, but you get a discount if you ask for it at the hotel.

    Good size one bedroom apartment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Es lo que esperábamos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the neighborhood cos there are some sexshops and night clubs in the same street. However nobody borered us.

    The hotel is really well located. It is confortable enough. The staff helped us a lot.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: